View Full Version : 2022 Kits
24/01/2022, 4:26 PM
I think UCD used to buy them in for E50 a pop - and that's a few years ago now, so add another 5/10 quid today maybe? It's mad how expensive they are.
Then the ones you don't sell are kickers. If you buy, say, 50 @ E50 and sell 40 @ E60, then you're down a hundred quid even though you've sold 80% of what you bought
24/01/2022, 4:42 PM
This will all sell more than even the famous Dublin City jerseys :D
I bought one of them for peanuts in Carrolls after the club had gone bust. The collector in me is still pleased. :)
24/01/2022, 9:54 PM
Metallica attended a Dundalk game in the 80's while touring Ireland, Jeff Buckley too, Rod Steward called uo to Oriel and had his photo taken outside the ground during the 2016 EL campaign, there are a good few famous passed by the place and legends that played on the pitch. Maybe we should dabble with images on jerseys too......
Not specific to Bohs, how much profit would a club make on a €60 jersey?
Can very significantly and so can the terms of the deal.
O’Neills in the past have had deals structured so that the club only get any profit on jerseys upto a set number after which it all goes to O’Neills, I don’t think this is the case any more.
Any tops bought directly through O’Neills will return a signifcantly smaller profit % to the club than any purchased through the club - this applies to both online and in store.
There could be some difference in Bohs arrangement as I believe there is some sort of charitable aspect to it?
Jack B
24/01/2022, 11:00 PM
I want "the fella in the green and white shirt" fella on our third kit this season.
placid casual
25/01/2022, 1:54 PM
In regards to the bohs bob Marley shirt, what % of the profits from any shirts sold will go to the Marley estate?
My guess would be substantial, given their history of protecting the image rights of Marley with enormous zeal.
EatYerGreens
25/01/2022, 3:26 PM
In regards to the bohs bob Marley shirt, what % of the profits from any shirts sold will go to the Marley estate?
My guess would be substantial, given their history of protecting the image rights of Marley with enormous zeal.
Would expect so too. But I'd also expect the uplift in sales that results to still make it worthwhile for Bohs. A small percentage of a very big pie is very likely to be better than a bigger cut of a much smaller pie.
The PR they're getting off it alone is worth it anyway IMO.
D24Saint
25/01/2022, 4:28 PM
The Marley family seem to be making more of the these type of deals. There is a Bob Marley coffee brand now id imagine there are other products out there with his name on them.
25/01/2022, 8:39 PM
Would expect so too. But I'd also expect the uplift in sales that results to still make it worthwhile for Bohs. A small percentage of a very big pie is very likely to be better than a bigger cut of a much smaller pie.
The PR they're getting off it alone is worth it anyway IMO.
Are there any Bohs fans about to remind us of the value involved again?
EatYerGreens
26/01/2022, 10:30 AM
The Marley family seem to be making more of the these type of deals. There is a Bob Marley coffee brand now id imagine there are other products out there with his name on them.
Yeah. They did a weird branding deal with Xerox to create a range of Bob Marley computer printers as well. Though apparently the whole thing went down badly, as they kept jammin'.
2 Year Contract
28/01/2022, 8:39 AM
New rovers jersey: https://twitter.com/shamrockrovers/status/1486745825053069313?s=21
Will be a big hit with the Brits due to the 6 poppies on the chest ;)
New rovers jersey: https://twitter.com/shamrockrovers/status/1486745825053069313?s=21
Will be a big hit with the Brits due to the 6 poppies on the chest ;)
https://i.kym-cdn.com/entries/icons/original/000/001/248/cannotbeunseen.jpg
2 Year Contract
08/02/2022, 3:48 PM
New Harps home jersey. Have to say I like it, massive improvement on last years yoke
https://twitter.com/finnharpsfc/status/1491079610011815941?s=21
08/02/2022, 4:27 PM
Well worth the long wait. Beauty of a jersey, bespoke too, so won't see some random conference side in the same template.
D24Saint
08/02/2022, 4:33 PM
New harps shirt is nice. The Rovers one isnt badapart from the sponsors logo.
total hoofball
08/02/2022, 4:45 PM
New Shels away is out, I'm in two minds about it not as nice as last seasons navy but it has all of last season ticket holder names subtly printed on it which is a cool touch
https://shelbournefc.ie/shels-thank-fans-for-support-in-pandemic-with-new-2022-away-kit/
joey B
08/02/2022, 4:51 PM
New Shels away is out, I'm in two minds about it not as nice as last seasons navy but it has all of last season ticket holder names subtly printed on it which is a cool touch
https://shelbournefc.ie/shels-thank-fans-for-support-in-pandemic-with-new-2022-away-kit/
Nice touch and great idea from Shels
Big fan of the Harps top,not a stock Joma effort which is good…
ontheotherhand
08/02/2022, 5:14 PM
Love ours. Shame about the sponsor. Regardless of the industry involved it's just an ugly logo that ruins one of our best looking jerseys in years.
Harps is fantastic and that's a class touch from Shels. Fair play.
08/02/2022, 6:32 PM
Between this and the wood in Clare, Shels are waaaaaay better than Bohs at being Bohs.
sbgawa
08/02/2022, 6:33 PM
Brilliant idea tbf and will probably result in a good few extra sales, who wouldn't want a their own clubs jersey with their name built into it...either for yourself or your kids.
2 Year Contract
09/02/2022, 11:16 AM
New Bray jersey: https://twitter.com/braywanderers/status/1491375383195058176?s=21
Cabinteely owners really setting the tone to Bray fans with that sponsor, also don’t think it’ll sell to well without any sleeves ;)
09/02/2022, 8:21 PM
New Bray jersey: https://twitter.com/braywanderers/status/1491375383195058176?s=21
Cabinteely owners really setting the tone to Bray fans with that sponsor, also don’t think it’ll sell to well without any sleeves ;)
That collar is terrible!
gufc4life
10/02/2022, 9:02 AM
New Galway United home kit for 2022
https://twitter.com/ONeills1918/status/1491407796918706178/photo/1
sbgawa
10/02/2022, 9:06 AM
New Galway United home kit for 2022
https://twitter.com/ONeills1918/status/1491407796918706178/photo/1
Thats really nice
Kiki Balboa
10/02/2022, 10:00 AM
Maroon and Gold is a gorgeous combination for Galway.
Cork jersey is also one of the best I seen in the League of Ireland.
Some very nice jerseys in the First.
10/02/2022, 7:20 PM
Maroon and Gold is a gorgeous combination for Galway.
Cork jersey is also one of the best I seen in the League of Ireland.
Some very nice jerseys in the First.
Any link to Corks new jersey? We have launched our new home jersey which is one of our better efforts in a long time imo.
oriel
19/02/2022, 10:23 PM
Have to say I didn't like the Derry jersey last night, the two white prominent stripes on the front is not good, now I know its a throwback to a previous 80's top, but still don't like it, almost impossible to read the numbers at the back also.
While I'm at it, I don't like the home DFC jersey either, same as last year, horrible black central stripe, classic all white for me please !!! Umbro training gear is good, but our home jersey is just awful, the red one is lovely though, now that's a belter. Not a huge fan of the sponsor either but P6 were never going to turn down twice what Fyffes offered.
Overall Umbro just seems to be a cut and paste template job.
20/02/2022, 6:03 AM
Was hard to see the numbers on the Derry shirts and was also mentioned by Adrian Taaffe on LOITV. Yeah it would be nice to get a plain white strip after all the years of tinkering with designs.
20/02/2022, 8:12 AM
Same with Rovers' kit on Friday. Didn't think squad numbers printed onto stripes were allowed tbh. Will almost certainly need a new kit for Europe
D24Saint
20/02/2022, 8:34 AM
Same with Rovers' kit on Friday. Didn't think squad numbers printed onto stripes were allowed tbh. Will almost certainly need a new kit for Europe
Fairly certain that UEFA have stricter rules on this than the LOI. Afaik if you have a jersey with stripes you need to place a white square where the numbers go.
20/02/2022, 8:46 AM
Yep. Same in the Premier League too (and before that too I think). Bit surprised it's not the case in the LoI tbh
20/02/2022, 10:44 AM
Nah sure the done thing is refs just get teams to play with with the jerseys inside out.......
20/02/2022, 10:47 AM
I actually had to do that once in the UCD Superleague. Two teams turned up with identical green and white stripes. It was surprisingly effective!
20/02/2022, 5:22 PM
That new Derry home jersey is it not the same as the 96/97 jersey? Or am I wrong?
Fairly certain that UEFA have stricter rules on this than the LOI. Afaik if you have a jersey with stripes you need to place a white square where the numbers go.
Celtic def have a large white square with numbers for euro games, stripes / hoops prob same criteria.
sbgawa
20/02/2022, 7:26 PM
Rovers also had a large white square in europe
sulywaterfordfc
21/02/2022, 12:29 AM
Have to say I didn't like the Derry jersey last night, the two white prominent stripes on the front is not good, now I know its a throwback to a previous 80's top, but still don't like it, almost impossible to read the numbers at the back also.
While I'm at it, I don't like the home DFC jersey either, same as last year, horrible black central stripe, classic all white for me please !!! Umbro training gear is good, but our home jersey is just awful, the red one is lovely though, now that's a belter. Not a huge fan of the sponsor either but P6 were never going to turn down twice what Fyffes offered.
Overall Umbro just seems to be a cut and paste template job.
Dundalk seem to be the one club each year where fans have regular complaints. They get a raw deal tbf it’s the one Umbro kit that appears to be down the bottom of the list the past couple year. Based on experience over the past 5/6 years whatever about the design but the gear itself tends to be good quality. The away shirt last year and home shirt this year for us are gems imo. Away shirt this year tho is poor. Any other colour would have been better/nicer then orange 😷
The Dundalk home top is just horrible, such a lazy effort by Umbro, i wouldn't think the sales were high, but the new red away one is class as mentioned before.
Watched LOITV for the highlights, how did the ref allow the Shels keeper to wear that Blue top while Pats top although used white top had blue sleeves / shoulders? (nice away jersey to be fair).
There used to be a rule on shorts clashing too but maybe that was in the winter seasons and only for a short time, but I def remember Bohs wearing white not black shorts in oriel park at times, noticed this on Friday both Dundalk and Derry had black shorts.
2 Year Contract
22/02/2022, 8:01 AM
Watched LOITV for the highlights, how did the ref allow the Shels keeper to wear that Blue top while Pats top although used white top had blue sleeves / shoulders? (nice away jersey to be fair).
Because the keeper jersey in question has orange sleeves/shoulders. Wasn’t close at all to being a kit clash, easily distinguishable in person and on tv looking back
Nah Nah Nah Nah
22/02/2022, 8:22 AM
Third kit released so Pats can play in their home jersey for a change on Friday. Nice enough.
https://srfcdirect.com/sligo-rovers-third-jersey-adults/
Because the keeper jersey in question has orange sleeves/shoulders. Wasn’t close at all to being a kit clash, easily distinguishable in person and on tv looking back
No, far too much blue and on a dark / rainy night, GK top should have been changed.
2 Year Contract
22/02/2022, 10:08 AM
No, far too much blue and on a dark / rainy night, GK top should have been changed.
Ok Mr.Buttimer ;)
22/02/2022, 12:51 PM
Third kit released so Pats can play in their home jersey for a change on Friday. Nice enough.
https://srfcdirect.com/sligo-rovers-third-jersey-adults/
Beauty in the eye of the beholder and all that, there's worse designs and a lot worse Dundalk efforts but the unnecessary motif just looks like a dinner fork!
2 Year Contract
13/04/2022, 4:39 PM
I see Dundalk have released a new jersey that will be worn once, in this weekends match and then auctioned off for charity. https://www.sportsfile.com/id/2207680/
Pretty lazy stuff from Umbro given it’s an old template from a pats jersey released 6 years ago https://www.sportsfile.com/id/1163967/
Design aside, it’s for a brilliant cause with the sponsor being a Motor Neuron Disease charity
13/04/2022, 7:14 PM
As a one off I'll let Umbro off the hook for this one. I'd say that a series of templates were possible but this one picked by the charity/club for minimal cost. I like the idea though, better than €x per league cup goals for example. That its a local charity rather than a Dublin based childrens' hospital may even be acceptable to the odd non Dundalk fan here!
sbgawa
14/04/2022, 7:58 AM
Single use clothing is terrible for the environment the Bohs fans wont be happy with this.
14/04/2022, 7:31 PM
They'll not notice, too busy trying to sell carbon credits to St Pats (twice).
I see Dundalk have released a new jersey that will be worn once, in this weekends match and then auctioned off for charity. https://www.sportsfile.com/id/2207680/
Pretty lazy stuff from Umbro given it’s an old template from a pats jersey released 6 years ago https://www.sportsfile.com/id/1163967/
Design aside, it’s for a brilliant cause with the sponsor being a Motor Neuron Disease charity
Sure that' umbro all over, just look at the polo tops, Pats red, DFC red also, same top but diff crest, even their zig zag efforts same for Rovers in green, DFC in white, Pats in red etc etc etc.
One word for Umbro in LOI, boring.
I don't see Dundalk staying with Umbro, both their deal and the 'popular' Bet Regal are up end of season, both will change I would think.
PS its for the Shels game on 22/04 not tomorrow v Sligo, the one off jersey.
Derry City FC
Treaty United
Bohemian FC
Galway United
in the tops for jerseys. Comhghairdeas!
https://www.balls.ie/football/online-jersey-reviewer-league-of-ireland-507814
EatYerGreens
26/04/2022, 11:59 PM
Derry City FC
Treaty United
Bohemian FC
Galway United
in the tops for jerseys. Comhghairdeas!
https://www.balls.ie/football/online-jersey-reviewer-league-of-ireland-507814
Madness !
I like that Galway away shirt myself, but the neck is so feckin small on them :eek: That's something O'Neills have a habit of getting wrong some times - neck sizes that don't match the body size of the shirt. Daft, as it stopped me buying it.