View Full Version : Which eL team do you dislike (hate) most? And why?
Seeing as it cropped up in another thread. BTW, its a public poll so people can see your choices. Also, it would be interesting if people gave the reason for their choice as well.
06/07/2005, 5:59 PM
I don't see a poll Éanna.
06/07/2005, 6:03 PM
Now I do. My apologies. :D
I don't see a poll Éanna.
Yeah I had a bit of hassle putting 22 clubs onto it. sorted now
Hmmmm...so many to choose from... ;)
Can I get back to you on it Eanna? :o :D
I just voted :) Shels get my vote anyway for the following reasons, some of which may or may not have a reasonable basis, some of which may be historical, but all of which are factual (IMO ;) ):
Oily Byrne, Poison Dwarf Fenlon, Dermot Keely,The Bakers, their "crowds"
that assistant manager fella, the ballboy with the red face, Owen Heary, Dave Rogers, Ollie Cahill.
Following that: Continuity Home Farm, thought they're hardly worth hating, followed by Bohs and Kilkenny. I hate watching Longford, but I like them as a club
Hmmmm...so many to choose from... ;)
Can I get back to you on it Eanna? :o :D
i would have thought there would have been no contest for a rovers fan.....
But we all know that not every Rovers fan thinks the same...
At this moment :D , I would probably pick Pats...
06/07/2005, 6:16 PM
But we all know that not every Rovers fan thinks the same...
At this moment :D , I would probably pick Pats...
Pats? Have I missed something or is there any reason why a Rovers fan would hate them above Bohs and Shels right now?
1 9 2 8
06/07/2005, 6:18 PM
Got to be Shams
It's a personal hatred I suppose.. :o
It's probably down to me living in the Pats 'catchment area' of Clondalkin etc..
06/07/2005, 6:19 PM
Shels for a number of reasons, firstly and most importantly, they way they play .... crap thug football, on a parr with hoof ball, not good to watch and will not raise the profile of the league.
Secondly ... they continually nagging and petty whinging all the fúcking time. Always seem to threaten court action when they sometimes could be clearly in the wrong. This really damages the league in my opinion.
Thridly, The backroom staff, because the are poor winners and even poorer losers, in god name, give it over, why does it always have to be a pantomime.
Fourthly, some of their players are unreal, their 'tactics' are just brutal to watch.
Five, This may not be Shels fault but gonna say it anyway. Even when the sun is shining, they fail to turn out in numbers .... what is going on with these people, any other club in Ireland could capitalise with the success that they have had but Shels, you wouldn't even notice. Lads game of the season, Shels V City in Tolka and Shels won the league, i was in the bar and you'd swear someone died ..... unreal !! :eek:
06/07/2005, 6:27 PM
Don't really hate anyone to be honest, but if you put a gun to my head, it'd be the team that Paul Doolin's currently managing. Sorry Drogheda! :)
06/07/2005, 6:33 PM
Following that...Kilkenny
Unusual one - any particular reasons?
06/07/2005, 6:34 PM
This is how I rank the 22 league clubs in order of preference (i.e., 1 = Favourite, 22 = Shamrock Rovers.)
1: Dublin City
2: Bohemians
3: Limerick
4: Kildare County
5: U.C.D.
6: Shelbourne
7: Waterford United
8: Drogheda United
9: Monaghan United
10: Athlone Town
11: Galway United
12: Kilkenny City
13: St. Patrick's Athletic
14: Bray Wanderers
15: Cóbh Ramblers
16: Dundalk
17: Finn Harps
18: Derry City
19: Sligo Rovers
20: Longford Town
21: Cork City
22: Shamrock Rovers
Positions 7-15 are basically neutral (inoffensive teams towards whom I have no specific antipathy.) The hatred cascades in exponentially descending order from 16-22.
Any reason that we feature quite so strongly?
Unusual one - any particular reasons?
cup game a few years back. they just ****ed me off
Gerrit
06/07/2005, 6:40 PM
Eanna, few names missing there. I can imago some Sligo fans would like to vote Galway (and vice-versa) but Galway is just not in the poll :eek:
As for me: I don't really hate any club but Anderlecht. So in Ireland, everybody's my friend :) If I must pick a name I'd say Pats because of the rivality with Shels, but "hate" is a too strong word in this case.
06/07/2005, 6:41 PM
I don't hate Rovers. Let's just say it's an easy antipathy.
As to why, words fail me, but here's (http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b359/050705/srfcmater.jpg) a clue. Charming, no?
06/07/2005, 6:42 PM
If I must pick a name I'd say Pats because of the rivality with Shels, but "hate" is a too strong word in this case.
I've seen you make this mistake a few times Gerrit. The word is rivalry.
1 9 2 8
06/07/2005, 6:44 PM
I can imago some Sligo fans would like to vote Galway
Eh nope couldn't give a fcuk about them Shams or Harps would be top of our poll :eek:
Gerrit
06/07/2005, 6:44 PM
Ah, thx for correcting :)
06/07/2005, 6:49 PM
Any reason that we feature quite so strongly?
Sheridan as a Dublin City supporter is clearly ochlophobic. Your 10,000 strong Rebel Army travelling support scares the cr*p out of him
PS Sheridan, I'm glad Derry City feature so highly in your list, its another reason to make me feel good about myself when I wake every morning.
06/07/2005, 7:08 PM
I've gone for Longford, ever since they got promoted they've just ragged my t!ts since...maybe something to do with the fact it took us 3-4 years to beat them... :o . Also they'd bore the sh!te out of a corpse.
maybe something to do with the fact it took us 3-4 years to beat them... :o . maybe you'll have the same luck as we did. couldn't beat them for ages and then started beating them all the time
06/07/2005, 7:15 PM
Sthey continually nagging and petty whinging all the fúcking time.
Thank the lord you live in a utopia of reason and grace down there in Cork :eek:
For me it's Bohs, for many reasons, but the main one is quite simply as they've been our main challengers for the past few years. Others include the BSC, the child beating, wannabe prícks. The next being the fact that the club choose to do nothing about said child beating, wannabe prícks, despite the fact that they clearly know who they are and they even openly post on their forums, I wonder if that's to do with the fact that they're usually the ones spending money in their bars and most of them seem to be members of the club?
Also their fans are the most bitter hate filled obsessed bunch outside of da real capital (tm). If you read gypoweb on most days you'd be mistaken for thinking it's a Shamrock Rovers/Shelbourne discussion forum, so I return the favour by being the most bitter and hate filled obsessed anti Bohs man around as much as I can.
Supersaint3
06/07/2005, 7:20 PM
Shels... Title-stealing, no fans, arrogant, double standarded, rotten to the core club....
well said my good man :)
Supersaint3
06/07/2005, 7:28 PM
well said my good man :)
Why thank you sir! :D
06/07/2005, 7:33 PM
Thank the lord you live in a utopia of reason and grace down there in Cork :eek:
Slash ... i know, i think its great .... just another reason why Cork is the best spot in Ireland .... i was going to say Europe but that would be getting ahead of myself !!
Da Real Rover
06/07/2005, 7:41 PM
Eh nope couldn't give a fcuk about them Shams or Harps would be top of our poll :eek:
To be honest i really didnt give a sh!t about Galway but this year with all there bickering and wannabe big club sh!te i have a real dislike for there fans. Remember them on about how they were going to bring a bus load to Sligo and 4 of them turned up, that sums it up for me. If not them its gotta be either Harps cause of the rivalry or Shels cause i really dislike the people in control of the club. And there attendances are an absolute disgrace, our last home game we got more than them and there the champs and we're still playing in this graveyard.
Da Real Rover
06/07/2005, 7:45 PM
16: Dundalk
17: Finn Harps
18: Derry City
19: Sligo Rovers
20: Longford Town
21: Cork City
22: Shamrock Rovers
Positions 7-15 are basically neutral (inoffensive teams towards whom I have no specific antipathy.) The hatred cascades in exponentially descending order from 16-22.
Just curious, why are we so low.
06/07/2005, 7:47 PM
... their fans are the most bitter hate filled obsessed bunch outside of da real capital (tm).
Part-timers will always think like that about real fans. :D
06/07/2005, 7:48 PM
Why would ye give a sh!t? Its Sheridan FFS!!
06/07/2005, 8:10 PM
Bit of needle from 2003. Plus, Connor is beginning to p*ss me off :mad:
Fear not, though, I'd support you against anyone else in the bottom six, and you'll make worthy champions this year.
Why would ye give a sh!t? Its Sheridan FFS!!
I daresay that's precisely why he gives a sh1t.
PS: Who the f*ck are you? :confused:
06/07/2005, 8:11 PM
It's got to be Finn Harps, probably cos it's a local derby and I always hated/disliked them from a very early age:D . Also no offence to ye, but I hate Donegal ;)
EDIT: If I had to pick a second and third then it would be Shamrock Rovers and Galway United in that order ;)
06/07/2005, 8:19 PM
I noticed several Sligo fans have expressed a secondary dislike for Shamrock Rovers. Is this anything more than resentment for competition for the right to be called Rovers?
06/07/2005, 8:20 PM
I daresay that's precisely why he gives a sh1t.
PS: Who the f*ck are you? :confused:
Well lets be honest Sheridan from reading alot of yer posts on here, you just seem to hate the world full stop - very grumpy, very grumpy indeed ----> :(
06/07/2005, 8:28 PM
Well lets be honest Sheridan from reading alot of yer posts on here, you just seem to hate the world full stop - very grumpy, very grumpy indeed ----> :(
Can't argue with that. :)
06/07/2005, 8:30 PM
I noticed several Sligo fans have expressed a secondary dislike for Shamrock Rovers. Is this anything more than resentment for competition for the right to be called Rovers?
Yes. We are the real Rovers and in a few months/weeks we will be the only Rovers, when the Shams go out of existence ;).
06/07/2005, 8:32 PM
Looking at the voters for a minute there I thought Patsh had voted for Cork :D
I picked Shels because they're arrogant.Simple as.Im not too keen on Bohs but at least their directors and management do their job professionally.
I picked Shels because since I was a kid supporting my team, al the negative memories were somewhat to do with Shels.The League Cup lioss in 95, Tony 'where is he now' Sheridans wonder goal against us, and their fistful of fans taunting us in our own stand when they were winning a match in their horrible nasally pungent accents.
Thats not even mentioning Oily or Nutjob.
Rebal Boy
06/07/2005, 8:46 PM
I picked Shels too. The main reason is because Oille Byrne is just a pure ****** :mad: and I don't understand why Dublin clubs get such poor crowds. The population of Dublin is huge and with a population like that every Dublin ground should be packed to the rafters on Friday nights. Dublin City for eg. they get less then 150 at their home games and half of those fans are from the away team. How can a club surive on that. :confused: Its a shame IMO. I often go to Cobh Ramblers matches and they get poor crowds too. The only way hey would get big again is that they get promation within the next year or 2. I really hope they do.
It has to be Shels really.
So many reasons.... Ollie Byrne, Heary, Fenlon, Collins, Rogers and all the other knackers who are involved with Shelbourne.
They have hardly any fans and the few that they do have are dreadful. They are jealous of the Rebel Army.
The club is just rotten from the top down....
06/07/2005, 8:58 PM
I love how everyone hates us for poor crowds when our average attendence is always only significantly lower than Corks and far higher than alot of other teams.
ccfcgirl
06/07/2005, 9:01 PM
I love how everyone hates us for poor crowds when our average attendence is always only significantly lower than Corks and far higher than alot of other teams.
:confused: :confused: :confused:
06/07/2005, 9:06 PM
:confused: :confused: :confused:
What he means is that Shels have the 4th highest average attendence in Ireland not too far off 2nd and 3rd either. At least it was until recently.
06/07/2005, 9:22 PM
i had nothin against galway till dis season but they keepin comin into our forum&talk absolute bull$hit&str8 up lies
It's been interesting seeing an artificial rivalry formed before my very eyes on here this year. :p
06/07/2005, 9:40 PM
I voted for Bohs, they just get under my skin when they play us.
Does any1 have a most liked club in the EL after the 1 they support, or is that for another pole another day?