View Full Version : Cork AUL 2021/22
fruice
22/05/2022, 9:30 AM
From what I heard a suspended player was playing when he shouldn’t have.
Then they received a few walks overs and that decided the premier a title race.
A few teams after downing tools early in a few divisions does show some teams in a bad light as a result.
Jason Bourne
23/05/2022, 2:46 PM
Fair dues to Coacford for winning the Prem, an in fairness fair dues to Grattan for pushing them all the way. Bit like the Man City league win , it was more special because Liverpool pushed them to the end .
Delighted that those 2 teams will contest the Aoh , quite fitting really. I hope they get a good crowd. The 2 of them have been a credit to the Aul this season.
Iv never quite come across a division like the Prem this season with all the walkovers an then teams just unwilling to play their remaining games.
I suppose we can attach a lot of blame to covid , but the clubs really do have a lot to answer for.
Well done to UCC , Killumney an all the rest for keeping going.
fruice
23/05/2022, 4:53 PM
Fair play to both Grattan and Coachford obviously Coachford get the spoils but fair play to Grattan pushing them all the way.
Did Blarney St pull the plug again?
Jd2793
23/05/2022, 5:15 PM
Iv never quite come across a division like the Prem this season with all the walkovers an then teams just unwilling to play their remaining games.
I suppose we can attach a lot of blame to covid , but the clubs really do have a lot to answer for.
its a complete shambles whats gone on with the walkovers. makes a mockery of the whole thing.
23/05/2022, 5:55 PM
its a complete shambles whats gone on with the walkovers. makes a mockery of the whole thing.
Several of the League Cups in the Leister Senior League gone the same way,think you're in trouble if you do it in the league though.
Jason Bourne
23/05/2022, 10:55 PM
It's a bit like Dad's army , people trying to be taken seriously , surrounded by those who can't take them seriously.
I take no joy from it, its a sad reflection of how far the Aul clubs have fallen in the national standing.
Play it out
24/05/2022, 9:16 AM
Are the clubs having to pay fines for walkovers still?
Where are the deducted points to match?
fruice
24/05/2022, 11:07 AM
The rules state €150 fine, 3 points awarded to the other team & a 3 point deduction to team giving the walk over
Dr. football
24/05/2022, 7:38 PM
I think fines might be waved this season over covid, so teams might have been exploiting it giving walk overs with no fines etc.
presume be back for next year hopefully things get back to normal with refs and teams actually having players!
also believe Blarney Street are gone, so that’s Dunbar, Glen Celtic, hibs (rumour to be reforming with Merging south coast) Cloughduv gone.
assume be few more Central? Glenthorn b ? Boscos b? All gave lots of walk overs
fruice
24/05/2022, 8:25 PM
Ya a lot gone any reasons for teams folding? the Blarney Street one is mad Cup Finalists right in it for promotion and then gone with 3 games left surely they could have kept the show on the road for week or two more.
I’ve heard of at least 3 new teams joining next season so this will hopefully add to the whole thing.
Jason Bourne
24/05/2022, 11:01 PM
In fairness we should look to the positives. People disappoint ya every day of the week. Keeping going builds character.
Runthechannels
25/05/2022, 9:41 PM
Lads let's get real the Aul is now nothing more than a pub league. Teams folding all over the place, absolutely atrocious pitches it's a bonus if u have an astro as a home pitch. The interest in this league is gone, the likes of coachford are better off out of it, You see city teams especially in pre season with there big squads spouting how this is there year by Xmas they can barely get 11. It's been going on with years and unless something drastic happens Aul be no more in Cork, I give it three to four seasons max... Its so sad to see, as a former player in the league I wudnt go across the road to watch an Aul game these days. Munster senior league are miles ahead and I'd put my house on it coachford, and a few more clubs with a decent set up and underage teams will land themselves in there.. They be daft no too
Play it out
26/05/2022, 3:38 PM
Are these old teams returning, B teams?
fruice
26/05/2022, 6:41 PM
The 3 I’ve heard are new teams from the county
Play it out
26/05/2022, 8:50 PM
Likes of Imogeela and Kilmichael struggled this year. Hopefully they go into 3rd Division.
Jason Bourne
26/05/2022, 11:01 PM
The Aul has turned into a bit of a joke.
Because its clubs have turned into a bit of a joke .
Because its people have turned into a joke.
It's not the Aul or the Clubs are at fault , it's the people in the Aul an it's clubs are at fault.
Time to look in the mirror an see it for what it is.
Blaming old mens faults for younger mens failures.
Leagues , an clubs are run by people , leagues an clubs dont let people down, the people let people down , we are where we are because lads just gave up caring as much as our dad's an grandads cared .
If the last thing we do is too admit that, Better it be an honest parting shot.
Rant over I'm done.
fruice
27/05/2022, 10:15 AM
Great post Jason one of the best on here for a long time.
To run clubs takes a lot of time and effort no matter the standard of the team.
A lot on here are quick to cast blame and sure some goes to the AUL but the majority is with the clubs and players.
Some of the carryings on that goes on particularly at this stage of the season is mad.
The AUL have lost a lot of that big clubs and thus this has lead to a drop of standards.
What’s left is a few decent clubs,up and coming clubs and a few very strong teams in various divisions and then the rest just make up the numbers.
Every club should feel they have a chance of winning something and if a relegation helps achieve this well and good.
The problem with the strong teams in the main when the going gets hard or they weaken due to age or loss of players.
They either disappear or reform in the 3rd division and stop the progression of small clubs and thus this makes it harder for the smaller clubs to progress and as a result they can be lost before they ever get going.
And to be fair to they AUL what can they do they are losing teaMs each year they can hardly saY no to new teams.
It’s a fair mess.
Jason Bourne
29/05/2022, 10:31 PM
Let's be completely honest here.
Me , I'd rather start with the bare bones, except the fact we are at rock bottom.
Start looking up as a league.
Football has to have a place where it starts in Cork , the Aul is an always has been that. Maybe I'm a romantic.
95% of the Aul fulfill there fixtures, the 5% , we have to accept an try to embrace an help improve.
Fxxk me lads but im tired of Knockin, what iv left I'm supporting from here on in.
Sink or swim
Hacker
30/05/2022, 8:10 PM
Lads any results from the AOH??
Have the semis been played yet ?
Jason Bourne
31/05/2022, 5:12 PM
Fri 3rd of June 7pm ko;
AOH Cup Final;
Coachford v Grattan Utd, Turners Cross, T McCarthy, T Thompson, B O Reagan, and B
Noonan.
latte2012
31/05/2022, 6:04 PM
The Aul has turned into a bit of a joke.
Because its clubs have turned into a bit of a joke .
Because its people have turned into a joke.
It's not the Aul or the Clubs are at fault , it's the people in the Aul an it's clubs are at fault.
Time to look in the mirror an see it for what it is.
Blaming old mens faults for younger mens failures.
Leagues , an clubs are run by people , leagues an clubs dont let people down, the people let people down , we are where we are because lads just gave up caring as much as our dad's an grandads cared .
If the last thing we do is too admit that, Better it be an honest parting shot.
Rant over I'm done.
Some great points there. It’s easy blame the AUL and let the players off the hook. What can ya do when ya have teams that have supposedly some of the best talent in cork junior soccer giving up after they have a tough couple of weeks? How easy would it have been for the some of the country teams to fold like bweeng and kilmichael and they having horrible seasons? The lads that stuck with them clubs should take a bow. Shame on some other lads for some of the bigger better teams.
Jason Bourne
31/05/2022, 10:45 PM
110% right
LetItLong11
03/06/2022, 10:31 AM
Anyone know what the story is with Greenwood and Castleview playing a playoff in Premier A? Obviously AUL must be bringing a 3rd team up with teams folding but seems strange its just not greenwood when there was 2 places and 10 points between the two teams
Hacker
03/06/2022, 9:26 PM
Any results fromthe AOH ??
SteveSilvermint
04/06/2022, 8:10 PM
110% right
Bad or not coachfords achievements this year must be recognised great season a double of aoh and premier not to be sniffed at ..congratulating all involved nothing there to stop them really
Great club some great people involved the Murphy s are mad football men
goal-achio
05/06/2022, 10:36 AM
Unbelievable season, miles ahead of everyone else but fair play to grattan too who themselves had a great season. Who can catch Coachford next year
Jason Bourne
05/06/2022, 12:05 PM
Coachford have had a great season. Have to tip your hat to them.
Coachford an Grattan stood out from the rest an to be honest made the league an the Aoh a proper game to the very end.
Shades of City an the Pool.
They pushed each other to succeed .
Coachford won the league an Aoh an Grattan finished runners up an won the Mossie.
That's fair.
Coachford will go again next season, Grattan will strenghen . So it will be interesting again no doubt.
Hope it finishes out well for everyone.
The Aul is nothing if not interesting.
08/06/2022, 7:52 PM
Coachford will go again next season.
Really? Are they not confirmed as gone?
Play it out
11/06/2022, 5:55 PM
Very hard for those third division teams, a ridiculous amount of games they are playing in the next week or so unfortunately.
goal-achio
12/06/2022, 7:49 PM
A fella told me today Coachford were gone to the MSL, is there any truth in that? That would be a disaster for the AUL
Play it out
12/06/2022, 8:10 PM
People in Coachford have said they won't be moving, have seen a lot of clubs go up and do nothing. They like competing for the AOH.
I heard yesterday Rockmount have secured two of their players now.
Jd2793
12/06/2022, 8:22 PM
People in Coachford have said they won't be moving, have seen a lot of clubs go up and do nothing. They like competing for the AOH.
I heard yesterday Rockmount have secured two of their players now.
exactly what rockmount need , more players.
fruice
12/06/2022, 9:34 PM
My understanding is Coachford are going no where
LetItLong11
13/06/2022, 1:18 PM
It was in the Echo that MSL are not taking any further teams in the season coming. A big boost to the AUL as there would have been potentially 2 or 3 teams leaving even if Coachford were staying put. I wonder did the AUL make an arrangement with them
JaketheSnake
13/06/2022, 5:07 PM
My understanding is the MSL are taking no more clubs ?
fruice
13/06/2022, 8:47 PM
That could be true.
But basically what I heard was some clubs that have gone have felt that the grass isn’t always greener on the other side
JaketheSnake
14/06/2022, 6:51 PM
That could be true.
But basically what I heard was some clubs that have gone have felt that the grass isn’t always greener on the other side
Would those be the clubs who have folded their senior teams?
SteveSilvermint
15/06/2022, 9:53 PM
It was in the Echo that MSL are not taking any further teams in the season coming. A big boost to the AUL as there would have been potentially 2 or 3 teams leaving even if Coachford were staying put. I wonder did the AUL make an arrangement with them
Coachford defo staying and all their players are why would they leave great people right through the club management are a credit built a machine most if not all would go through a wall for them ..team of the year will sweep the board Murphy s lad doing particularly well
Jason Bourne
15/06/2022, 11:02 PM
In fairness , having a good season is one great thing . Appreciating others have had a good season is a greater thing.
Coachford an Grattan , bit more to the Aul than the 2 of them. But in fairness to both excellent application through the season.
Loz Zarcos, Killumney , Grangevale ,UCC,Shandon , Banteer to name a few , all have had incredible seasons.
Some leagues will of had to play 18 or 20 league games to win or be promoted , an won a cup.
Trying to compare one to the other , let's not cheapen ourselves.
The Aul is made up of the sum of the parts, not the some ;)
Play it out
16/06/2022, 9:36 AM
Definitely some teams had a great year.
Still a lot of teams taking their ball seriously and end up at the business end of the season.
Next year's divisions be very interesting.
Probably can't have as big if a third division again.
A few teams coming into the league will have to go into third. Few teams folding as well. Wouldn't be surprised if a lot of teams are moves up.
fruice
16/06/2022, 1:35 PM
You would have to imagine there will be a re shuffle of the divisions.
The 3rd division will be too big as was seen this year it’s still going that’s 11 months as the first games were in July last year and with preseason it will have been over a 12 month season.
Clubs will be moved up it might not suit some though but the standard will level out after a season or 2.
The problem is clubs pulling the plug they should be told if you pull the plug you can’t come back for at least 3 seasons.
Jd2793
16/06/2022, 2:43 PM
talk is msl are restructuring the 2nd division must be a few heading back to aul from div3 msl
Play it out
16/06/2022, 6:29 PM
I doubt any clubs would be coming back to AUL from MSL.
fruice
17/06/2022, 10:28 AM
It’s maybe 2nd teams coming back that’s the speculation I’ve heard
Jd2793
17/06/2022, 12:41 PM
could well be with some first teams dropping to junior msl? see no reason why theyd make a 20 team 2nd division in snr league.
latte2012
18/06/2022, 4:37 PM
talk is msl are restructuring the 2nd division must be a few heading back to aul from div3 msl
Why wouldn’t they just go Munster junior league instead of going back to the AUL? Can’t see many teams coming back to AUL tbh especially with the mess this year with the fixtures.
ExplainThis
21/06/2022, 3:59 PM
I think it's fair to say one of the biggest issues that needs addressing is the referee shortage. This exasperated the fixture backlog massively. Can you blame players losing interest when a fixture is posted, and next thing your told just before the weekend game is off, how can fellas plan anything around that. A consistent fixture list with less cancelled games would help no end. Hopefully it's something that is being addressed, any talk around it?
fruice
21/06/2022, 7:42 PM
To be fair that’s not exclusively an AUL
problem although they are getting 3 extra refs this situation
Hacker
23/06/2022, 1:54 PM
Anybody know the motivation for Coachford to remain in the AUL?
To be fair they are leaps and bounds ahead of Gratton who are probably the best of the rest.
Dr. football
23/06/2022, 2:17 PM
To be fair that’s not exclusively an AUL
problem although they are getting 3 extra refs this situation
They finished with just 4 refs!
Heard massive fee increase coming. but from talking to a few refs who have packed it in, it’s more to do with the politics off the pitch the the money or the abuse they get.