View Full Version : Weekend Fixtures April 30th to May 3rd

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

sullanefc
03/05/2021, 8:16 AM
Because Pats were honest about it I guess.

Ah, that's ok then... lol.

trevy
03/05/2021, 10:22 AM
Maybe they're just *****s and this is how they behave?

Maybe. They wouldn't go to a meeting to discuss the Brian Murphy situation and refused to take training that day. Newell being sent off and suspended twice in a few games shows his poor discipline. It could a tough day in Tallaght today.

sbgawa
03/05/2021, 10:29 AM
Maybe. They wouldn't go to a meeting to discuss the Brian Murphy situation and refused to take training that day. Newell being sent off and suspended twice in a few games shows his poor discipline. It could a tough day in Tallaght today.

The last team that came to Tallaght expecting a tough day were beaten by a Gannon goal in the 95th minute.
Rovers need to start winning with a bit of style, we cant keep winning at the last minute.
Winning by 2 in Harps is a good start

NFF-Fotball
03/05/2021, 1:13 PM
That's one of craziest things I've read about LOI anyway. We want favourable referring decisions or we won't name full benches?

They’re acting like a Pub League team.

Self fulfilling prophecies and all that.

D24Saint
03/05/2021, 1:46 PM
Des Curran and Mick Cooke doing the Drogheda v Bohs game. Great to have a proper commentator like Curran on watch LOI.

joey B
03/05/2021, 1:53 PM
Drogs V Bohs is a poor enough game, alot of tackles flying in though...

03/05/2021, 1:56 PM
The last team that came to Tallaght expecting a tough day were beaten by a Gannon goal in the 95th minute.
Rovers need to start winning with a bit of style, we cant keep winning at the last minute.
Winning by 2 in Harps is a good start

It really does seem to be the sort of trend for a side that is just relentless from 0 to full time and get those winners. Dundalk have won titles on those undeserved injury time goals. Especially 1st round of games quality isnt the be all as teams look to settle. As a number of Rovers fans have observed, its midfield that needs sorting with Bradley unsure of the best combo, the rest of the side is settled enough so maybe enough to win a league without hitting cruise mode.

As a City fan, with no love for Dundalk, I have found the media obsession with Dundalk weird as well. Like the manager situation. Shane Keegan was clearly the license holder to sign the team sheets but wasn't really the manager. The media were obsessed with it.

It's not the first time it has happened (City have done it) and it won't be the last with the daft pro license regulations.

But no noise about Alan Matthews at St Pats? Why aren't the media jumping up and down about that? Is it because they are all mates with Stevie O'Donnell?

Dundalk are the media darlings, SRFC the referees and FAI. Be it good or bad the messing around at Oriel Park has people intrigued, especially with the recent success and money spent/earned. Living off the 2016 success and winning leagues by playing ball and tripping over crisp packets!!

D24Saint
03/05/2021, 2:22 PM
Nice goal for Bohs.

Jack B
03/05/2021, 2:33 PM
Cracking goal from Bohs in an otherwise dreary affair.

Some interesting officiating in the game, swear I saw them give an offside against Drogs in the first half after a back pass from a Bohs defender. Confused looks all around.

DCSIL
03/05/2021, 2:41 PM
But no noise about Alan Matthews at St Pats? Why aren't the media jumping up and down about that? Is it because they are all mates with Stevie O'Donnell?

Pats have a few fans in the Media circles so they’re not going to criticize their own. And then you have the likes of that Dodge Clown on Twitter.

Dundalk have been successful, someone will always look to shoot them down. I think Cork have had the same short term issue in the past? But nobody really cares.

Jack B
03/05/2021, 2:53 PM
G'wan Drogs.

D24Saint
03/05/2021, 2:53 PM
Late drama in hunky dory/tayto/United park.

Straightstory
03/05/2021, 2:56 PM
Dog's dinner of a game at Drogheda, despite late drama. Very poor quality all around.

Jack B
03/05/2021, 2:57 PM
In fairness lads I think you're viewing the managerial set-up thing in isolation when it's the bigger picture of the general mismanagement of Dundalk at board level that is the overarching reason for it being reported on so much. I mean there are also many Dundalk fans in the media who have covered it so I'm not sure you can pin that as any kind of valid reason either.

2 Year Contract
03/05/2021, 2:58 PM
Good result for bohs avoiding a defeat this week. I think they should have enough to stay out of the bottom two

Calcio Jack
03/05/2021, 3:01 PM
Assume Sheedy will come up with another form of protest against Referees not protecting opposition players from his his players ....

Big chance missed today by Rovers to substantially improve their GD ; still nicely placed going into round 2

Straightstory
03/05/2021, 3:06 PM
Re. Bohs - I'm pretty sure I saw a 'Free Palestine' hoarding when I watched their highlights v Derry last week. Does this this contaravene UEFA guidelines on political slogans: 'Equipment must not have any political, religious or personal slogans, statements or images...For any offence the player and/or the team will be sanctioned by the competition organiser, national football association or by FIFA".

placid casual
03/05/2021, 3:11 PM
Facile victory for Rovers over the shambles that is waterford under sheedy. Hopefully Greene's injury is not too bad as we'll need him against pats at the weekend.

Great for this squad to get the record for most league games unbeaten. Hopefully that record can be extended another few games anyway

Boez.🤭🤭🤭👍

joey B
03/05/2021, 3:12 PM
Re. Bohs - I'm pretty sure I saw a 'Free Palestine' hoarding when I watched their highlights v Derry last week. Does this this contaravene UEFA guidelines on political slogans: 'Equipment must not have any political, religious or personal slogans, statements or images...For any offence the player and/or the team will be sanctioned by the competition organiser, national football association or by FIFA".

It says ''Visit Palestine'' I'm pretty sure....

Kiki Balboa
03/05/2021, 3:14 PM
Thought that Drogheda-Bohs game was enjoyable.

Fantastic goal for Bohs. Worth rewatching it.

I thought Georgie Kelly would be a good LOI striker when he was with Dundalk, but can only imagine he will be a First Division player next year.

Bohtastic
03/05/2021, 3:15 PM

It says Visit Palestine. Not quite the same, your lengthy UEFA quote doesn't apply then.
Not sure why you're spending this match thread on this tbh.

Calcio Jack
03/05/2021, 3:16 PM
It says ''Visit Palestine'' I'm pretty sure....

That’s ironic as I doubt very much that your average Bohs fan either hipster or non hipster would be able to find Palestine on a map

Straightstory
03/05/2021, 3:20 PM
Fair enough. I got it wrong.

Bohtastic
03/05/2021, 3:21 PM
That’s ironic as I doubt very much that your average Bohs fan either hipster or non hipster would be able to find Palestine on a map

Not really relevant.
Certainly not relevant to the match thread?

sbgawa
03/05/2021, 3:21 PM
Nice not to be waiting on a last minute goal.
Very disappointing to see Farrugia go off after only coming on with another injury, cant catch a break.
Burke was very wasteful that could have been 5 or 6 at least.
Important point for Drogs to keep their momentum up, that late goal moved them 2 places up the table.

SeanDrog
03/05/2021, 3:36 PM
Someone call the Guards as there’s been a robbery in Utd Park! .... Drogs were so flat, passes not connecting, virtually no attacks and keeper kept kicking it out ... we were just not tuned in but we still somehow managed to steal a point in the 93rd min. Hopefully it was just an off day after so many matches for a part time side and we will be back up to redbull levels for our Waterford match.

Calcio Jack
03/05/2021, 3:48 PM
Not really relevant.
Certainly not relevant to the match thread?

True....

ontheotherhand
03/05/2021, 3:48 PM
In fairness lads I think you're viewing the managerial set-up thing in isolation when it's the bigger picture of the general mismanagement of Dundalk at board level that is the overarching reason for it being reported on so much. I mean there are also many Dundalk fans in the media who have covered it so I'm not sure you can pin that as any kind of valid reason either.

Spot on. Nobody will be talking about the Pats situation in ten years whereas the circus that Bill is leading will be talked about for generations. Even the hiring of FG was bizarre and then you throw in Perths dismissal, the Braveheart and dugout telephone nonsense....it's been comical to watch but I do feel for the few Dundalk fans on here as it must be tough to take. For it all to happen at a club who had it all at their feet makes it far more newsworthy than any other situation in the league. Even Waterford pales in comparison.

thebronze14
03/05/2021, 4:52 PM
Thought that Drogheda-Bohs game was enjoyable.

Fantastic goal for Bohs. Worth rewatching it.

I thought Georgie Kelly would be a good LOI striker when he was with Dundalk, but can only imagine he will be a First Division player next year.

Even in a different division he'll find some way to score against Harps!

03/05/2021, 5:00 PM
Longford two up against Dundalk already. Wtf is going on there?

SPXcyan
03/05/2021, 5:01 PM
Brutal defending and goalkeeping there!

Asterix
03/05/2021, 5:03 PM
Dundalk should have stuck with Abibi.

Dalymountrower
03/05/2021, 5:10 PM
Someone call the Guards as there’s been a robbery in Utd Park! .... .
When there's a burglary every week and the same windows are left open every night with the householder helpfully erecting a sign pointing to "swag here", I dont think the Gardai may be too interested.

joey B
03/05/2021, 5:13 PM
This Longford/Dundalk game is fun!

boynemunich
03/05/2021, 5:32 PM
Worst Drogs performance of the season so delighted to get a point in the end. We created nothing. Hopefully its just tired legs after a fairly busy schedule, we could do with getting the likes of Kane and Dinny back for the next run of games. Bohs are a funny side this year, as seen from their goal today they are well capable of playing great football but at the same time also a bit of liability. Dawson Devoy best player on the pitch my a considerable distance today.

sbgawa
03/05/2021, 5:38 PM
Jeez Cherrie with two absolute howlers against Longford.
I cant figure out how the first one went in....did he think it was going wide and left it?

03/05/2021, 5:43 PM

Seem to remember Athlone's keeper getting done for match rigging at the same ground for something similar-ish.

(Not suggesting Cherrie is throwing the game of course - just it's the same kind of howler)

2 Year Contract
03/05/2021, 7:18 PM
Can’t beat a late goal, Pats get a deserved point at the showgrounds. Big result to knock Sligo back 2 points as well thanks to a 95th minute Bermo header. There were actually only 4 added on but a double sub from Pats legend Bucko along with time wasting got us an extra 40 or so seconds to grab the goal.

I can only imagine how much hair was pulled out by Dundalk fans during their game. If I was Brian Murphy I’d be on to Jim Magilton straight away and offering to sign in the summer for four figures a week minimum

sbgawa
03/05/2021, 7:27 PM
Can’t beat a late goal, Pats get a deserved point at the showgrounds. Big result to knock Sligo back 2 points as well thanks to a 95th minute Bermo header. There were actually only 4 added on but a double sub from Pats legend Bucko along with time wasting got us an extra 40 or so seconds to grab the goal.

I can only imagine how much hair was pulled out by Dundalk fans during their game. If I was Brian Murphy I’d be on to Jim Magilton straight away and offering to sign in the summer for four figures a week minimum

id agree with you on Murphy but id say Abibi is on a decent wedge and Cherrie as he was a last minute desperation signing im sure managed a decent deal for himself. Could be the most expensive number 2 and 3 keepers in LOI history.
Judging on cherries performance tonight JM may decide to throw Abibi back in and just stick with him no matter what happens until the summer

DCSIL
03/05/2021, 7:59 PM
I like Stephen Alkin but does he want to get into bed with Ollie Horgan Tonight.,

SeanDrog
03/05/2021, 8:34 PM
Oh harps just gone 1-2 ahead ... would this be their first win in the brandywell?

DCSIL
03/05/2021, 8:35 PM
Higgins Out!

Bohtastic
03/05/2021, 8:37 PM
Well... it's a different experience watching others conceding late goals.

Finlay Harp
03/05/2021, 8:49 PM
Go on the wee part timers!

NFF-Fotball
03/05/2021, 8:50 PM
Oh harps just gone 1-2 ahead ... would this be their first win in the brandywell?

Pretty sure it is - can never remember them doing it previously

thebronze14
03/05/2021, 8:55 PM
I enjoyed that

sbgawa
03/05/2021, 8:56 PM
Huge result for harps.
I have zero doubts that harps will be staying up this season but getting points on the board early will give them the belief to push on and aim higher.
Longford and an imploding Waterford look odds on to be bottom two at this stage

03/05/2021, 9:02 PM

I think they won before in the LC.

Hard to disagree with the result tonight. Harps were certainly the better team for lots of the match, and took their chances.
Ourselves on the other hand, looked panicked on the ball, made some basic passing errors, and when we actually created chances, failed to take them.
We're crying out for some more experienced players in the team, but they won't come until the summer (if at all).
Still, it's an improvement from where we were a couple of weeks ago, and with Waterford's apparent collapse, relegation seems less of a concern.

joey B
03/05/2021, 9:03 PM
Played well and deserved to win,Derry missed 2 guilt edge chances in fairness to them but I thought we were full value for the win,important to get back on track after a sticky spell....

D24Saint
03/05/2021, 9:06 PM
I enjoyed that

Understatement of the year that one I’d say. I enjoyed the game , it was great to have three games to look at today.