View Full Version : Weekend Fixtures April 30th to May 3rd

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

CorribsideSteve
30/04/2021, 8:00 PM
I always hear it as Dan dork when he says it.
The consensus seems to be, that in any case, he's incapable of simply pronouning it like a normal person.

redarmyfaction
30/04/2021, 8:05 PM
Shams not looking great in Ballybofey, the pitch is not helping them.

30/04/2021, 8:07 PM
Wexford's sub keeper sent off for conceding a second penalty.

So they're down to nine men and have an outfield player in nets. And 35 minutes to go.

This must be one of your more remarkable LoI games tbh.

That's mental. I've never heard of that happening before but no doubt it has somewhere.

30/04/2021, 8:08 PM
Gas thing is the third foul was a definite red, but the ref gave a second yellow.

Unfortunate on the keeper; absolute hospital pass of a backpass, but I guess in hindsight he should have prioritised not fouling over saving the shot.

CorribsideSteve
30/04/2021, 8:10 PM
Zahibo should have gone there I thought. Lucky boy.

30/04/2021, 8:36 PM
7 subs in the second half in Wexford, including a long delay for the second penalty/change of keeper.

Lino indicates one minute of injury time at the end of it. Gotta love that little tradition!

30/04/2021, 8:39 PM
Meanwhile in Tolka, injury time has seen three goals and a red card.

joey B
30/04/2021, 8:45 PM
no goals in 4 games for us now and a clanger from the keeper tonight again,worrying..........

Finlay Harp
30/04/2021, 8:47 PM
We are starting to make needless mistakes. At this level you get punished. Early season optimism starting to fade.

Jack B
30/04/2021, 8:48 PM
Harps have let us down there.

Made up for by Bohs though. Great craic.

DCSIL
30/04/2021, 8:49 PM
Great result, wasn’t expecting much but let Bohs pressure us and hit them twice.

NeverFeltBetter
30/04/2021, 8:50 PM
Treaty conceded an equaliser, which was apparently the signal for the, by now, patented "end with 10 men" tactic to secure the point the hard way.

sulywaterfordfc
30/04/2021, 10:24 PM
We’ve been a basket case of a club for majority of the years I’ve followed the club. But every week this season we seem to be hitting new heights. Utter shame, there’s some young talented players at the club. The **** they’re going through is a disgrace. Huge sense of anger tonight among fans.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
30/04/2021, 10:25 PM
Great game in Drogheda this evening. Thought we probably deserved to win it in the end but still happy with a draw. Some serious young talent on display in John Kenny and Killian Philips both only 17 and 18. Big futures ahead of them.

A cracker. Thought we were the better team for the first hour but ye definitely finished stronger.

Calcio Jack
30/04/2021, 10:34 PM
Rovers tonight equalled all time league record for successive undefeated matches (30) - not bad for a team that is playing poorly etc.

Whom do we share the record with ? you won’t be surprised to hear it’s with Ireland’s all time most successful club as we last achieved this during the 1920s

Dalymountrower
30/04/2021, 10:38 PM
Got what we deserved tonight.Failed to take 4/5 good chances.
Derry will finish above us this season.

30/04/2021, 11:45 PM
Delighted to get out of Harps with a win tonight, as always. Not a great performance but we made a couple of chances and thankfully we took them. Watched the Pats game before and it was similar - they looked a bit blunt but took their chances. It'll make next week's game interesting now with two sides grinding out wins.

sbgawa
30/04/2021, 11:49 PM
deserved the win , thought dylan watts and gaffney had great games.
On to Waterford Monday.
Keith Long must be wondering whats going on

lofty9
01/05/2021, 6:55 AM
Got what we deserved tonight.Failed to take 4/5 good chances.
Derry will finish above us this season.

It'll click for Bohs, still creating chances. We on the other hand I believe ve, have failed to score from open play all season and we have created very little. Delighted though with the points!

trevy
01/05/2021, 7:04 AM
Ridiculous carry on from the management at Waterford to only name 3 players on the bench. Were they trying to make a point about how thin the squad is? Kevin Sheedy said after the game the under 19 players he could have picked wouldn't be protected by match officials so he left them out but last week he said it was a great experience for the young lads to be on the bench! There's still no sign of Brian Murphy.
A local journalist and Pat Dolan in the Star wrote articles complaining about what is going on this season there.

CSAD
01/05/2021, 10:29 AM
Looks like pineapple as suspected spoke FAAAAAAR to soon on Derry City.

01/05/2021, 10:41 AM
What - because they're now two points clear of the drop with their own fans still worried about their form, they're as good as they were a decade a go?

Right you are so

ToberonaTornado
01/05/2021, 10:47 AM
Ridiculous carry on from the management at Waterford to only name 3 players on the bench. Were they trying to make a point about how thin the squad is? Kevin Sheedy said after the game the under 19 players he could have picked wouldn't be protected by match officials so he left them out but last week he said it was a great experience for the young lads to be on the bench! There's still no sign of Brian Murphy.
A local journalist and Pat Dolan in the Star wrote articles complaining about what is going on this season there.

jUST when we thought Dundalk were the only crisis club,here comes Waterford to rip our mantle away!
This was the team sheet from last night. Telling -

https://scontent.fdub3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-0/p526x296/180372289_150194153778707_6153644061573290408_n.jp g?_nc_cat=110&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=pNZpxScGfaYAX8jPETb&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub3-1.fna&tp=6&oh=c773f2dbf20f82b2d74ffa41824c4d21&oe=60B2636A

Jack B
01/05/2021, 10:59 AM
Looking forward to seeing how they try to somehow blame Pats for this predicament.

CSAD
01/05/2021, 12:22 PM
What - because they're now two points clear of the drop with their own fans still worried about their form, they're as good as they were a decade a go?

Right you are so

1 month on you’ll be like “they are now only 8 points clear”...

You really should purchase a time machine when they become available, you seem over your head in love with nostalgia.

01/05/2021, 12:29 PM
Thought a draw was a more fair reflection on the game in Finn Park last night, if I'm being honest. Neither side really deserved the win, and 2-0 was especially harsh.

Although, death..taxes..and Ollie Horgan getting sent off for asking to speak to a referee..

01/05/2021, 12:35 PM
1 month on you’ll be like “they are now only 8 points clear”...

You really should purchase a time machine when they become available, you seem over your head in love with nostalgia.
None of which has anything to do with your original suggestion that the LoI is as good as it was in the late 2000s. I think almost all posters here - Derry fans included - will happily accept it's not.

01/05/2021, 12:39 PM
Thought a draw was a more fair reflection on the game in Finn Park last night, if I'm being honest. Neither side really deserved the win, and 2-0 was especially harsh.

Although, death..taxes..and Ollie Horgan getting sent off for asking to speak to a referee..

3 penalties and red card Hennesy has now given against Harps v Rovers in 2 games. Seems Ollie's main gripe was that he awarded a free to Harps, there was a stoppage but to restart the game he gave the free to Rovers? Which they scored the first from. Rob the Ref is going to get Ollie properly angry with him one day!!

01/05/2021, 12:45 PM
3 penalties and red card Hennesy has now given against Harps v Rovers in 2 games. Seems Ollie's main gripe was that he awarded a free to Harps, there was a stoppage but to restart the game he gave the free to Rovers? Which they scored the first from. Rob the Ref is going to get Ollie properly angry with him one day!!

History between Ollie and Hennessy goes beyond just that cup game. He's made a balls of games with us on more than one occasion.

He gave a free to Harps, rightly or wrongly, and then protests from Rovers players had it overturned, was all apologies to Rovers lads, and didn't offer any explanation to Harps.

sbgawa
01/05/2021, 1:26 PM
If u watch it back it was 100% a rovers free, but he did point the other way first for sure. Wonder the lino have a word ?

mcgonigle
01/05/2021, 1:27 PM

Takes a lot to out **** show us this season but Waterford are managing it. And very little talk about it in the media. Whereas if someone farts in Oriel there are multiple articles and podcasts about it.

You'll get some coverage this week but probably only because you played us and Rovers.

Things look bleak at Waterford, only naming two outfield subs and then not using them with a trip to Tallaght on Monday seems crazy.

01/05/2021, 1:38 PM
Its completely weird, like there is an agenda to run down the club or management making a point to owners. Either way most of that same 11 if not all will be playing 2 full games in 3 days with 2 outfield subs not to be used. Unless there is a battle of wits in te dressing room and Sheedy is doing the whole we will manage without the dissenters even if we have to play short on numbers. Stretched by an improving Dundalk and then a visit to the champions is poor timing for WFC, perfect timing to show some fight though and take points of Rovers... any time is good for taking points off rovers lol

01/05/2021, 2:27 PM
Takes a lot to out **** show us this season but Waterford are managing it. And very little talk about it in the media. Whereas if someone farts in Oriel there are multiple articles and podcasts about it.
Fair point actually. Probably helps that the Dundalk issues are more understandable - the manager was the AC Milan summer camp manager, which is a great soundbyte - and ye went from champions to relegation form almost immediately. But still. We had two subs two years ago against Harps (and won :) ) and that was because we'd had players leave and had a big injury list. I don't think anyone's left Waterford (Murphy aside, kind of). Is it just injuries? Or was the squad too small to start with?

01/05/2021, 2:46 PM
Fair point actually. Probably helps that the Dundalk issues are more understandable - the manager was the AC Milan summer camp manager, which is a great soundbyte - and ye went from champions to relegation form almost immediately. But still. We had two subs two years ago against Harps (and won :) ) and that was because we'd had players leave and had a big injury list. I don't think anyone's left Waterford (Murphy aside, kind of). Is it just injuries? Or was the squad too small to start with?

But Sheedy opted not to call up U19s as he did last weekend. At minimum its a chance to get some of those players some minutes at senior level so still strange behaviour.

01/05/2021, 2:49 PM
Yeah, that's strange. I think there's an element of making a point in it when you do that (and I think it was the same at UCD to an extent, for whatever reason) There's no reason not to do it like, even if you've no intention of bringing them on.

sbgawa
01/05/2021, 2:59 PM
Kinda crazy making the 11 play the whole game and not making subs.
Hopefully they will be knackered for Monday in Tallaght :)
If he doesnt think the 19s will get protected on Friday he can hardly play them on Monday.
Although those Dundalk lads are a bit rough in fairness compared to the Rovers lads

placid casual
01/05/2021, 3:39 PM
If it ever snows in Donegal, Harps could make a fortune turning that finn pk pitch into a ski moguls location, as the pitch is all humps and bumps. The lack of recent rain didn't help the game for either team, and Rovers just had to battle their way to 3 points. Glad to see Joey back, but the midfield places remain up for grabs, in my view.

01/05/2021, 6:54 PM
Olly Horgan judging by his antics in Bishopsgate should have being sent off in that game. Love the man but by god he can be melodramatic!

oriel
01/05/2021, 7:54 PM
That 2020/21 Europa money won't be paid until after the final, probably next month, so wouldn't be part of 2020 accounts

Correct, the €3.2m or whatever the final figure was earned from group stages in 2020, will not be paid until much later this year.

On the weekend games, def a good chance for some clubs to make a lot of progress, if we Longford that will 3 wins on the trot, then home to Sligo, so things can change quickly.

Still say we have left it too late for the league, but more hopeful now of euro qualification (which should have been min requirement) and top 3 should be well achievable, maybe even second place who knows.

sbgawa
01/05/2021, 9:29 PM
when the money is paid is irrelevant, it will be in the 2020 accounts,
Can we stop the nonsense on this.
i actually dont give a s h 1 t one way or the other but the simple accounting facts are ABC

Jack B
01/05/2021, 9:51 PM
What were Cobh at tonight?! 4-0 loss and 3 of them penos.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/05/2021, 11:13 PM
when the money is paid is irrelevant, it will be in the 2020 accounts,
Can we stop the nonsense on this.
i actually dont give a s h 1 t one way or the other but the simple accounting facts are ABC

Correct

trevy
02/05/2021, 7:41 AM
There are a lot of injuries and Kyle Ferguson is suspended so the Waterford squad is really down to the minimum. There has been so much controversy caused by them so far that some fans think Sheedy and Newell want to be sacked and paid off so they can head home.

02/05/2021, 4:14 PM
There are a lot of injuries and Kyle Ferguson is suspended so the Waterford squad is really down to the minimum. There has been so much controversy caused by them so far that some fans think Sheedy and Newell want to be sacked and paid off so they can head home.
Maybe they're just *****s and this is how they behave?

02/05/2021, 6:25 PM

Yeah read weird interview with KS in sun today . He wont put out full bench until the refs get their act together! Talk about having a strop!

02/05/2021, 6:51 PM
Here's the link for that - https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/6932011/waterford-kevin-sheedy-naming-three-subs-loi-officials/

That's a bit mad tbh

NeverFeltBetter
02/05/2021, 7:27 PM
That's one of craziest things I've read about LOI anyway. We want favourable referring decisions or we won't name full benches?

02/05/2021, 10:11 PM
requires some luck too?

sullanefc
03/05/2021, 6:12 AM
Whereas if someone farts in Oriel there are multiple articles and podcasts about it.

As a City fan, with no love for Dundalk, I have found the media obsession with Dundalk weird as well. Like the manager situation. Shane Keegan was clearly the license holder to sign the team sheets but wasn't really the manager. The media were obsessed with it.

It's not the first time it has happened (City have done it) and it won't be the last with the daft pro license regulations.

But no noise about Alan Matthews at St Pats? Why aren't the media jumping up and down about that? Is it because they are all mates with Stevie O'Donnell?

03/05/2021, 6:57 AM
As a City fan, with no love for Dundalk, I have found the media obsession with Dundalk weird as well. Like the manager situation. Shane Keegan was clearly the license holder to sign the team sheets but wasn't really the manager. The media were obsessed with it.

It's not the first time it has happened (City have done it) and it won't be the last with the daft pro license regulations.

But no noise about Alan Matthews at St Pats? Why aren't the media jumping up and down about that? Is it because they are all mates with Stevie O'Donnell?
Because Pats were honest about it I guess.