View Full Version : CL & UEFA Cup Draw Official Thread

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

24/06/2005, 12:29 PM
If Bohs win the Intertoto Cup :D , what round do they go into?

24/06/2005, 12:30 PM
Good draws overall, I think - can expect to do better than last year anyway.

Shels should beat Glentoran, with the main reason for that being that the NI league doesn't start until September, it seems. Can see a win in Dublin and a draw in Belfast.

Longford should beat Carmarthen - again, Welsh side out of season, so hopefully a win and a draw there.

Cork v. Ekranes is a tough one. Ekranes top of the league by nine points from the team who's won the last five leagues... Still, Cork have shown they can beat decent teams in mid-season (Malmö), so maybe a win each here, with Cork to shade it. Longford being seeded and Cork not has worked out well, as I don't think Longford would have won through in the same tie.

That'd be 4 points, or a coefficient of 1.333 - matching last year with all three clubs through to the next round. Probably optimistic - law of averages says one club is going to fall - but decent draws all the same.

One vital question though - will RTÉ show Shels v. Glentoran or Liverpool v. TNS? :rolleyes:

24/06/2005, 12:30 PM
well then, just buy a ports jersey and jump on the plane ;)

Gerrit
24/06/2005, 12:32 PM
with all due respect Gerrit. Shelbourne's progress in Europe is far more important than your stinking holiday to places like Kazachstan, Georgia, Azerbaijan or Armenia. :rolleyes:

Speak for yourself. Football to me is about atmosphere and romance, not about results or progress. Maybe for the majority of fans it's about victories and trophies and good level of play, for me it isn't. The whole atmosphere surrounding the game is much more important to me than the results or level on the field.

I know most people think otherwise, but I do have the right to my own opinion and to express it in a polite way. And that opinion is: this is really disappointing.
I don't think I said anything offensive or insulting by just saying I was hoping for an exotic trip.

fosterdollar
24/06/2005, 12:32 PM
One vital question though - will RTÉ show Shels v. Glentoran or Liverpool v. TNS? :rolleyes:
That really should be a no-brainer but i see where you're coming from. They'd do well to remember they're an Irish Public Service broadcaster.

fosterdollar
24/06/2005, 12:33 PM
I don't think I said anything offensive or insulting by just saying I was hoping for an exotic trip.
Gerrit, i think your choosing the wring time and place for announcing that.

24/06/2005, 12:34 PM
That'd be 4 points, or a coefficient of 1.333 - matching last year with all three clubs through to the next round. Probably optimistic - law of averages says one club is going to fall - but decent draws all the same.

I'm hopeful of that. There can be no excuses, all three sides espically Longford and Shels will be expected to progress, and I'd fancy Cork in their game. On reflection, Longford being seeded and Cork not has potentially worked out very well for us.

So I'm hopefull for a good co-efficent score in the first round this year, anything beyond that is a bonus.

What was the co-efficent score that we're going to lose now? As in the one five years ago?

crc
24/06/2005, 12:34 PM
Ekranas Stadium (http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/lithuania/panevezys_aukstaitija.shtml) 10,000 Capacity, similar kind of place to Turner's Cross. I honestly have no idea how good they are, but Lithuania have a summer season, and Ekranas are top of the league by 9 points. FK Ekranas Home page (http://www.fk-ekranas.lt/index.php) (scroll to the bottom for the table)

Gerrit
24/06/2005, 12:35 PM
well then, just buy a ports jersey and jump on the plane ;)

Not the same. It's all about romance to me. I have been to games yet where most people wouldn't even know the teams existed, and enjoyed those experiences. However, going to Kazachstan with a team you love and joined by fellow fans and friends, that's different than going to Kazachstan to see a team that you don't like that much and where you know nobody. I just was hoping for making a real football travel of a lifetime now that I for once have the chance to travel with a club I like, so that's totally different than if I'd make the same travel with Portadown.

Oh well, hopefully we can quickly get rid of Glens and then go to Romania, then we've got a real journey after all.

crc
24/06/2005, 12:36 PM
Gerrit, i think your choosing the wring time and place for announcing that.Are you doing an impression of the guy from 'Allo 'Allo? :D

seansouth
24/06/2005, 12:37 PM
I have some experience of going to Carmarthen, I used to visit a college friend over there. Fly Dublin to Cardiff or even Bristol, much of a muchness really.

If you fly to Cardiff there is a really regular bus from the airport to Cardiff train station, then train it to Carmarthen.

If you fly to Bristol, again, the airport os not too far from Bristol Train Station, about £5 in a taxi. You can prob train it all the way to Carmarthen from there

Carmarthen is quite near Swansea accommodation wise, but there is a lot of B&B's in the town itself, but there is also a College with a lot of student living space. It might be worth investigating?

Longford should beat this shower, they were nearly relegated from the Welsh Premier the season before last.

At least EL weekly will have the higlights. :(

What was the co-efficent score that we're going to lose now? As in the one five years ago?
1.666 - Bohs' year when they beat Aberdeen and Kaiserslautern... :(

Still, if we can match that this year, we won't be moving up for next year, but we'll have a very solid base to build on for the next three years. Can rubber-stamp our seeded status in the First Rounds and build towards getting a bye to Round Two in future.

fosterdollar
24/06/2005, 12:39 PM
I sink so.

24/06/2005, 12:40 PM
1.666 - Bohs' year when they beat Aberdeen and Kaiserslautern... :(

Still, if we can match that this year, we won't be moving up for next year, but we'll have a very solid base to build on for the next three years. Can rubber-stamp our seeded status in the First Rounds and build towards getting a bye to Round Two in future.

Thought so :(

Yeah I'd be delighted to just match that for those reasons, we've been worried about loseing that year for a while now so if it's replaced with another one around the same level that we get for another five years we can really progress from there.

24/06/2005, 12:42 PM
That really should be a no-brainer but i see where you're coming from. They'd do well to remember they're an Irish Public Service broadcaster.

Just emailed them demanding it to be shown. I'd be an idea if everyone did this.
However, I'm reckoning that even if RTÉ don't show it, TV3, TG4 or Setanta will.

24/06/2005, 12:43 PM
I wonder would BBC NI be interested in it?

Someone will show it, the combination of the fact it's a north south match and the interest Shels got in their European run means I'd be amazed if it wasn't shown, even if it's RTE we're talking about here.

Dazzy
24/06/2005, 12:44 PM
Did TV3 not try and compete with Shels last season by showing a Utd game on the same night, doubt any of the games will be shown.

24/06/2005, 12:45 PM
Did TV3 not try and compete with Shels last season by showing a Utd game on the same night, doubt any of the games will be shown.

They did, and advertised it on Eircom League Weekly :rolleyes:

Got beaten 4:1 on the ratings though.

24/06/2005, 12:46 PM
I wonder would BBC NI be interested in it?

They show one domestic match a year, the Irish Cup Final.
They struggle to broadcast Northern Ireland matches even. Can't see them showing this one.

24/06/2005, 12:48 PM
Got beaten 4:1 on the ratings though.
That's the amazing thing with eL games - they always do so well on the ratings (wasn't it Bohs v. Pat's beat Man Utd v. Stuttgart a couple of years back? The eL highlights show beat the English highlights show for ratings on RTÉ too), yet the stations still never bother. I assume it's just that much cheaper for them to take the feed from Anfield than to set up their own equipment in Tolka/The Oval... :(

24/06/2005, 12:48 PM
They were showing live scraps of the Glentoran - Linfield league match at the end of the season.

Dazzy
24/06/2005, 12:49 PM
I think it is that there too ****ing lazy to set anything up! Even tho ratings show a demand for games to e shown live on TV.

24/06/2005, 12:50 PM
That's the amazing thing with eL games - they always do so well on the ratings (wasn't it Bohs v. Pat's beat Man Utd v. Stuttgart a couple of years back? The eL highlights show beat the English highlights show for ratings on RTÉ too), yet the stations still never bother. I assume it's just that much cheaper for them to take the feed from Anfield than to set up their own equipment in Tolka/The Oval... :(

That's exactly the problem, if they didn't have to bother setting up and paying for their own cameras at the games showing them would be a no brainer.

Partizan
24/06/2005, 12:51 PM
Longford's draw in Wales makes our Cup final defeat even more galling given our current predicament. :(

Its tough at the bottom but then again I'm used to getting a kick in the balls.

Good luck to all teams.

24/06/2005, 1:33 PM
i think we should start sending a few emails to RTE and TV3 to show all of the European games. An early petition would do wonders.. contacting the last word and newstalk might help. its such a sorry state of affairs that we cant even see our own clubs in Europe

Sonic
24/06/2005, 1:49 PM
An absolute dream draw cheap trip and potential 2nd round in the bargain.No more excuses from Town fans lets go beat the **** outta them :p ;)

24/06/2005, 1:50 PM
What a draw! Dream come true!

swinfordfc
24/06/2005, 3:08 PM
Great draw for all irish clubs now get into the next rounds - hope bohs win tomorrow too :D

24/06/2005, 5:03 PM
Shels really need to find form (preferably after the league game against Derry) if they're gonna progress past Glentoran. Longford HAVE to beat Carmarthon, Vaduz was forgivable ( poor form, first Euro appearance blah, blah) - losing to Carmarthon won't be. Cork have a great chance, they're in great form - capable of a draw away (or even a loss by the odd goal in 3, and a win at home. This was a great draw lads, Corks is the only "iffy" one.

jorge
24/06/2005, 5:03 PM
No more excuses,no more excuses if you loose it will be an embarassing so please dont let it happen.

24/06/2005, 5:06 PM
Ekranas beat a team from Luxembourg (one of the worst leagues in Europe) 3-1 on agg. in the QR1 of the UEFA cup last season. They beat a Norwegian team (Odd) 2-1 at home in the next round but were beaten 3-1 in the 2nd leg. They don't seem a bad team and are also in a summer league so Cork have it tough.

http://www.soccerway.com/results/index.php?a=c&c_id=118

Also:

Steaua owner Gigi Becali said: “The draw is a sign that we’ll have good luck this year and I think that we are 90% qualified for round three.”

Midfielder Sorin Paraschiv agreed, saying: “We got a lucky draw.”

Didn't Split say something similar last season? :)

24/06/2005, 5:14 PM
Shel$ and Longford have no excuses for not progressing. Longford in particular should start contributing some co-efficient points.

Hard to know what will happen with Lithuanians. If we can keep our form should progress but may be tight. We will definitely get some coefficient points anyway.

24/06/2005, 5:29 PM
Cork go to the Balkan... I'm so jealous :(

That's the Baltics.

Good draw for Longford. Cheap travel expenses, easy for away fans and should be won by them. Their form has recovered as of late. I'll be very disappointed if they lose.

As for Cork. I don't know what to say. Lithuanian football is a very unknown quantity to me. As someone remarked, probably better Cork were unseeded from an LOI point of view. Longford got a tie they should win and Cork have a better chance of beating the seeds than Longford have with all due respect.

24/06/2005, 5:29 PM
Steaua owner Gigi Becali said: “The draw is a sign that we’ll have good luck this year and I think that we are 90% qualified for round three.”)
Becali is a notorious crook (think Ollie Byrne x 10, if your imagination has the capacity), I'd pay very little heed to his utterances.

It would be foolish to make a definitive prediction about Shels vs. Glentoran, my hunch is that Shels will just squeak it.

Cork will progress if they restrict the margin of any defeat in Lithuania to a single goal.

The relevant authorities should advise Longford (politely but forecefully) against booking a return trip should they fail to win both legs of their tie.

Lux Interior
24/06/2005, 5:38 PM
Shel$ and Longford have no excuses for not progressing. Longford in particular should start contributing some co-efficient points.

Hard to know what will happen with Lithuanians. If we can keep our form should progress but may be tight. We will definitely get some coefficient points anyway.

Some of the arrogance on here is breathtaking.

Didn't the Setanta Cup teach you anything?

24/06/2005, 5:49 PM

I actually voted that Shel$ will lose to Glentoran BUT shel$ will be Red Hot favourites & Glens underdogs. If anything the Setanta Cup should suit the favourites as cannot be caught cold.

Longford have underperformed in Europe especially at home. TNS will be even minnows to Longford. TNS is so small not even on the map ;)

crc
24/06/2005, 6:07 PM
TNS is so small not even on the map ;)
:D :D :D

Right, I'm off to the match. :ball:

Soper
24/06/2005, 6:10 PM
Caermarthen is an easy match, a really easy match.If Longford dont win, then I dont know, that would be ridiculous.

I think Shels will have to play VERY well.Perhaps they may need strengthen just in case.

I thought that this season, Cork would have a good run in the UEFA cup.I still stand by that, but I would be more confident if they perhaps looked at adding a replacement for Doyle.

That's my 2 cents.

ShelsTim
24/06/2005, 6:54 PM

The arrogance is mainly based on the Setanta Cup. The NI teams played well enough, granted, but any eL team in form would walk over them. If Shels don't improve their form they will lose, but on an off-day I would expect a win.

Gerrit
25/06/2005, 3:16 AM
The arrogance is mainly based on the Setanta Cup. The NI teams played well enough, granted, but any eL team in form would walk over them. If Shels don't improve their form they will lose, but on an off-day I would expect a win.

Don't be overconfident. The three NI teams all three had better results than the three EL teams, just look at the results and goals scored. Blaming it on our summer league could be the case if Linfield one but the other two did not well, if all three of them outplayed the three ROI participants it may be a real indication that the leagues are much closer to each other than taken.

I saw the NI cup final, level was not that great because Ports overpowered Larne, but then again certainly not less than some EL games I've seen.

Shels are favourites, but if we think we will easily push Glens aside we're making a bad mistake: underestamating. it will be a close one I fear...

25/06/2005, 3:50 AM
Shels should beat Glentoran, with the main reason for that being that the NI league doesn't start until September, it seems. Can see a win in Dublin and a draw in Belfast.

Longford should beat Carmarthen - again, Welsh side out of season, so hopefully a win and a draw there.

Cork v. Ekranes is a tough one. Ekranes top of the league by nine points from the team who's won the last five leagues... Still, Cork have shown they can beat decent teams in mid-season (Malmö), so maybe a win each here, with Cork to shade it. Longford being seeded and Cork not has worked out well, as I don't think Longford would have won through in the same tie.

Shels will have it tough against Glentoran, I don't think it's a good draw for them. It's a derby match, it'll attract adverse publicity, and they will find it intimidating up there with the timing of the game, and so on. It will be close, but Shels might edge it with the return game at home.

Cork won't have it easy against the Lithuanians who will be in-season also, and match-fit. Again the second leg at home may prove decisive for them, if they do well away. Don't know about Longford tbh. You never know which Longford will turn up, the side who wins cups, or the one that surrenders meekly to the perennially weakest side in all European competitions; i.e. unfit part-timers from the Swiss SECOND division. If they can't beat them, then they probably won't beat a Welsh team either.

As for Gerrit the globe-trekker, he was quite prepared to dodge gunmen, bombers, and shariah laws in Armenia, Azerbaijan, and Kazachstan, so he must be the only person in Ireland who's wetting himself over the prospect of a trip to... Romania. :rolleyes: As dull and boring as it gets.
Cue history lesson on the inhabitants of all the above countries. Before you start, I and other posters here are really not interested. We only want to see our European representatives progress, not to be told that in x place 100 years ago, there were..................... :rolleyes:

Gerrit
25/06/2005, 4:01 AM
As for Gerrit the globe-trekker, he was quite prepared to dodge gunmen, bombers, and shariah laws in Armenia, Azerbaijan, and Kazachstan, so he must be the only person in Ireland who's wetting himself over the prospect of a trip to... Romania. :rolleyes: As dull and boring as it gets.
Cue history lesson on the inhabitants of all the above countries. Before you start, I and other posters here are really not interested. We only want to see our European representatives progress, not to be told that in x place 100 years ago, there were..................... :rolleyes:

Fair enough, all I did however was telling my opinion, which I'm entitled to. I don't think the opinion was in any way offensive.

And yes, i look forward to going to Romania. Never been there, and both Steaua and their home city look quite interesting. I do look forward to it yeah.

I also like to see Shels progress, believe me. I just say there are things I find even more important. Think it's not forbidden to prefer football romantics rather than bare results ?

25/06/2005, 8:13 AM
shels can give glens the biggest monkeying they ever got in Europe and win both legs. We have a far better team and the summer league is a big advantage no doubt about it.

The N.I league is a poor cousin of the E.L (and thats saying something). Shels never took the Setanta Cup seriously but Europe means far more to Shels than any northern club.

We need to go for 2 wins out of 2 for our co-efficients. It is more than possible.

I think it will be ok to play in belfast on the 13th July but we beat them 2 or 3 nill i expect a few bricks thrown at our bus on the way home with the PSNI looking on doing nothing.

The 2nd round qualifer is going to be one tough cookie. I dont know if we can realistically beat them. It would be magnificant to get into the 3rd round again !!

Lux Interior
25/06/2005, 10:39 AM
shels can give glens the biggest monkeying they ever got in Europe and win both legs. We have a far better team and the summer league is a big advantage no doubt about it.

The N.I league is a poor cousin of the E.L (and thats saying something). Shels never took the Setanta Cup seriously but Europe means far more to Shels than any northern club.

We need to go for 2 wins out of 2 for our co-efficients. It is more than possible.

I think it will be ok to play in belfast on the 13th July but we beat them 2 or 3 nill i expect a few bricks thrown at our bus on the way home with the PSNI looking on doing nothing.

The 2nd round qualifer is going to be one tough cookie. I dont know if we can realistically beat them. It would be magnificant to get into the 3rd round again !!

There's an air of 'Linfield' about this post which, like most of their ramblings, is based on an over-inflated sense of self-importance.

Why don't you hold your hands up and accept that despite all the arrogant postruing prior to Setanta, your team were a not the 'world-beaters' people were half-expecting? I think, unlike some EL fans, IL fans see Shels for what they really are - a small club who have been bankrolled to a few trophies in recent years and therefore have no fear when playing them.

And I'm looking forward to this "biggest ever monkeying" being handed out next month. Let's not forget, Glens have only ceased playing 6 weeks ago and after a three week break have been training four nights/week with pre-seasons starting this Saturday. If Linfield can roll over Shels in their own back yard, I can't see why we - despite the mitigating factors just listed - can nick the draw I think we'll just need after a narrow win at our place. Of course, it could go the other way because that's how close the sides really are.

And how does Europe "mean far more to Shels than any Northern club"? What, you stumble through a couple of rounds in one year and that qualifies you as some sort of local Euro flag-bearers? B.oll.oc.ks!. I suspect that European qualification means as much to you as it does to me or fans of any other club in the hat. Ditto players and club, especially for Glentoran FC - a club with a European pedigree, Shels can only dream of.

And I take umbrage at your "stone throwing" allegations. Will there be a 'special welcoming party' - like Blues had - when we play in Tolka? Seriously, leave this sort of doom-mongering to the likes of Tony Fearon and let's enjoy the occasion for what it is - the respective holders of the Irish League and Eircom League titles going head-to-head in the Europe's top competiton.

Oh, and Glens to win narrowly :p

25/06/2005, 10:58 AM
what a load of cóck. obviously you havent a clue.

Nothing is a subtitue for competitve games. You can do all the training you want but it doesnt make up for playing matches that count. Same goes for friendiles.. they are all meaningless.

Your out of season and were starting to gell together.

Our squad is far better than anyone in Glentoran FC. There is no substitute for class !

Glentoran play in a mickey mouse league with only 2 or possible 3 teams of any 1/2 merit. I wouldnt inflate Glentoran FC to "pedigree".

I hope we make a real example of Glentoran.

The setanta cup was in its first year. Shels only had a new team, we were at pre-season so I wouldnt read too much into that.

We might as well be playing in Bagdad but , we will go ,

Lux Interior
25/06/2005, 11:07 AM
what a load of cóck. obviously you havent a clue.

Nothing is a subtitue for competitve games. You can do all the training you want but it doesnt make up for playing matches that count. Same goes for friendiles.. they are all meaningless.

Your out of season and were starting to gell together.

Our squad is far better than anyone in Glentoran FC. There is no substitute for class !

Glentoran play in a mickey mouse league with only 2 or possible 3 teams of any 1/2 merit. I wouldnt inflate Glentoran FC to "pedigree".

I hope we make a real example of Glentoran.

The setanta cup was in its first year. Shels only had a new team, we were at pre-season so I wouldnt read too much into that.

We might as well be playing in Bagdad but , we will go ,

Let's look at it another way. We were at the tail end of our season, going for a bigger prize, 50-odd games already played and we have to play these 'irritating' cup games midweek. So I "wouldn't read too much into that" either .... jaysus, I'm beginning to sound like you with a litany of excuses and evasions.

Erm, of course we're out of season and there is no substitute for competitive games which is why I used the term "mitigating factors". :rolleyes:

Suggest that you have a limited grasp of reality, son.

"Bagdad" (sic) comment duly noted. :rolleyes:

25/06/2005, 11:17 AM
at the end of the day, shels are going to win this tie. Be it over the two legs or in both games. You have nobody :D

Buller
25/06/2005, 12:11 PM
this is quite entertaining! please feel free to continue!!! ;)

steveyg2004
25/06/2005, 12:13 PM

You not taking the Eircom League seriously at the moment then, or that Cup competition Derry trashed you in???

You are a complete and utter arrogant arsehole, I pity you and your heritage-less, history-less, root-less club.