View Full Version : Rovers scum do it again
Shelsman
22/06/2005, 7:57 AM
Shels fans invade the pitch after EVERY game, and when we do it we are hooligans?
But Shels are the home team, and they probably don't make their way over to the away supporters to goad them. Let's face it, Shels ( and most other eL fans ) are harmless, Rovers have a significant gouger element in their ranks.
Roverstillidie
22/06/2005, 8:56 AM
But Shels are the home team, and they probably don't make their way over to the away supporters to goad them. Let's face it, Shels ( and most other eL fans ) are harmless, Rovers have a significant gouger element in their ranks.
but we dont make them chairman :D
el punter
22/06/2005, 9:00 AM
If you look hard enough there is a gouger element everywhere. It's a leaguewide and societal problem as I said before.
Shelsman, lets just say - by some bizarre freak of nature - that you had become a Rovers fan rather than a Shels fan. How would you now propose that Rovers deal with what you say is 'their gouger element'?
And as a Shelsfan that you are, how do you react to Olly Byrne's behaviour and the alleged racial abuse of one of your former stars? Do you care about the league as a whole or just that we all acknowledge that whatever misdemeanours Shels do, Rovers do worse?
Walk a mile in another man's shoes and all that....
There is also a suggestion in your post that its ok for the home team to invade the pitch???? Have I read this correctly?
Shelsman
22/06/2005, 12:02 PM
And as a Shelsfan that you are, how do you react to Olly Byrne's behaviour and the alleged racial abuse of one of your former stars? Do you care about the league as a whole or just that we all acknowledge that whatever misdemeanours Shels do, Rovers do worse?
I ( and a number of other Shels fans who post in foot.ie ) am unhappy with Byrne's behaviour and have been for a long time. As far as I am concerned the guy is a muppet. Clear enough? :eek: :D :) :p
Roverstillidie
22/06/2005, 12:22 PM
so basically what you are saying is that even when shels misbehave, its rovers fault.
and yes, your fans (and come to think of it your players when they score) have run at us and taunted. but we dont care and dont react. the rovers fans followed the players up to the tunnel which happened to be where you 'fans' sit. a mere conicidence.
22/06/2005, 12:43 PM
the rovers fans followed the players up to the tunnel which happened to be where you 'fans' sit. a mere conicidence.
Why didn't they just walk away when the players were gone.
Juz the Hoop
22/06/2005, 2:51 PM
Lets look at this logically.
Over the last month Ollie has came up with stories about us and suggestions about what should be done to us. Also Shels are league champions and went 1 up early on. We were down to 9 mine and Shels had McKeown giving themevery decision he could possibly give and it was in Shels back yard yet we still prevailled and won 2-1.
It was a highly emmotionaly charged occasion and some people (mainly kids) decided to release that by going out onto the pitch. The first bottles were thrown by shels fans even some of the reports stated that. That football taunting goes on. Sure didnt Rogers celebrate his goal in front of us not his own fans the other nite.
It seems to me that Shels fans are trying to build this up to cover the disgraceful behaviour of their chief executive on friday night.
JUZ
22/06/2005, 2:53 PM
It seems to me that Shels fans are trying to build this up to cover the disgraceful behaviour of their chief executive on friday night.
I'm not covering up what Ollie did,thats not my job and tbh i'm not that disgusted either
Juz the Hoop
22/06/2005, 2:58 PM
I'm not covering up what Ollie did,thats not my job and tbh i'm not that disgusted either
Can you imagine what the reaction would have been if the shoe was on the other foot and Roddy had have attacked ollie?
JUZ
22/06/2005, 3:04 PM
Can you imagine what the reaction would have been if the shoe was on the other foot and Roddy had have attacked ollie?
Not much of a reaction from me,i wouldn't be that suprised with what Collins does these days and it not my job to react to anything to do with Ollie.In my eyes he will always be OLLIE THE GREAT
Juz the Hoop
22/06/2005, 3:09 PM
Not much of a reaction from me,i wouldn't be that suprised with what Collins does these days and it not my job to react to anything to do with Ollie.In my eyes he will always be OLLIE THE GREAT
I didnt mean reaction from you as an individual. Youve seen all the hullabaloo about us over the pitch invasion im just saying if it had been the other way round there would be a huge outcry.
D2 Red I have to have a serious chat with you bout your views on ollie byrne ;)
JUZ
22/06/2005, 3:20 PM
I didnt mean reaction from you as an individual. Youve seen all the hullabaloo about us over the pitch invasion im just saying if it had been the other way round there would be a huge outcry.
D2 Red I have to have a serious chat with you bout your views on ollie byrne ;)
If we would have won our fans would not have went over to the Rovers fans and thrown bottles,as far as i'm concerned it was rovers fans threw them first.
I would really like to have that chat,as we are probably the only 2 EL supporters in the Pearse st area.
Sorry about the wait on the replys,my computer just keeps knocking off.
Juz the Hoop
22/06/2005, 3:34 PM
If we would have won our fans would not have went over to the Rovers fans and thrown bottles,as far as i'm concerned it was rovers fans threw them first.
I would really like to have that chat,as we are probably the only 2 EL supporters in the Pearse st area.
Sorry about the wait on the replys,my computer just keeps knocking off.
I meant if roddy had have attacked ollie the outcry would have huge. Ollie wouldnt have shut up about it.
D2 Red ah cmon, Shels fans threw missiles first. From where I was the first missile came from the new stand.
Yeah too many barstoolers around Pearse Street unfortunately.
JUZ
Roverstillidie
22/06/2005, 3:46 PM
as far as i'm concerned it was rovers fans threw them first.
I .
well in that case....
my apologies :rolleyes:
dont let the facts get in the way of a good rant!!
22/06/2005, 3:54 PM
I meant if roddy had have attacked ollie the outcry would have huge. Ollie wouldnt have shut up about it.
D2 Red ah cmon, Shels fans threw missiles first. From where I was the first missile came from the new stand.
Yeah too many barstoolers around Pearse Street unfortunately.
I wouldn't give a ****** if Roddy attacked Ollie first,Ollie could say what he liked about it and it still wouldn't have made a difference to me.As i said in regards to Football,he can do very little wrong in my eyes.
I was in the Very middle of the new stand and a bottle flew past me and missed a kid by about 2 inches then i saw a bottle being f*cked at the Rovers crowd.I can't say anymore than that because i didn't see anymore than that.
Juz,If you ever want to have that chat,you know where i am or you can contact me here..........We are a dying breed.
Shamrock Rovers as a club,the only thing i can say is F*CK'EM
23/06/2005, 3:30 PM
You know, I sometimes wonder how Rovers' idiosyncratic conception of culpability might have been manifested throughout the ages, had their spiritual progenitors enjoyed access to the internet.
Date: 2/9/1939
Subject: Wehrmacht scum do it again!
I'm sick of these f*cking tossers, yet again they violate the sovereign soil of another country with impunity, while the international community stands idly by. Surely, after their invasion of Poland, it's time for the world to respond?
What invasion? Cop on, it was a bit of handbags at worst. If you insist on leaving your borders largely undefended, what the f*ck do you expect to happen? :rolleyes:
Are we to endure this hysterical over-reaction everytime a few lads' over-exuberance spills beyond our own borders? Just look at the ridiculous fuss that was made over that Sudetenland non-event. I'm sick and tired of being confronted with these sour grapes just because everyone knows we're the world's best master-race and we'll be in London within 3-4 weeks (FACT!) Get over yourselves. :rolleyes:
Keep on Heiling.
As a neutral observer of these alleged events, I can confirm that the Wehrmacht are entirely blameless in this instance.
I witnessed the invasion in the company of some German mates, and only after the Poles responded to these mass incursions by unaccountably defending their own territory did the Germans return fire in self-defence. If anyone wants to discuss my neutral views on this subject, I can be contacted at wannabe@puppetregime.sk.
Next up in the series: Hoopus Maximus explains why the Roman conquest of Carthage amounted to little more than "a few youngfellas throwing shapes."
23/06/2005, 4:13 PM
:D :D
where's post of the month disappeared to ;)
town73
23/06/2005, 5:42 PM
Rovers not welcome at Flancare: www.longfordtownfc.com (http://www.longfordtownfc.com)
23/06/2005, 5:45 PM
Rovers not welcome at Flancare: www.longfordtownfc.com (http://www.longfordtownfc.com)
Good decision to an extent,should have gave a few to the Supporters club
23/06/2005, 5:55 PM
Oh dear, oh dear, what a truly terrible decision by the culchie Bohs. Couple of hundred disgruntled Hoops drinking in your two-bit town. Brilliant security strategy. :rolleyes:
1 9 2 8
23/06/2005, 6:15 PM
Talk about over reacting :rolleyes:
23/06/2005, 6:24 PM
Sets a terrible precedent for the rest of the League and smacks of double standards. I wonder what the motive is here as you were happy to host a load of Linfields worst lot in the Setanta and after all the racist abuse and sectarian sh*te they came out with there wasn't a peep out of Longford Town, it was the decent Linfield fans and the club who had to come out and condemn their own fans.
Wouldn't it have been better to wait until after the outcome of the League investigation is known?
23/06/2005, 6:35 PM
:D :D
where's post of the month disappeared to ;)
Couldnt agree more. FCUKING BRILLIANT :D :D
Eh, what are bogford at :confused: - this isnt on
Dr.Nightdub
23/06/2005, 7:29 PM
Great post Sheridan! :D
Can't figure out Longford's knee-jerking at all. Sequence of events seems to be:
- League announce enquiriy into incidents at three recent matches, which involved Shels, Bohs and Rovers twice each
- Gerry McDermott publishes hysterical rant
- Longford ban Rovers
Haven't noticed anyone banning Ollie.
seansouth
23/06/2005, 7:29 PM
I have to say, fair play to Longford for this brave decision.
Great precedent set for every other club in the League, for too long the scum element in the Rovers fanbase has been getting away with too much.
An absolutlely ridiculous decision from Longford. The security up there are muppets, they've stopped the Rebel Army bringing in TIFO flags loads of times because the could be considered weapons.
I think the FAI should clamp down on this crap now, we can't have clubs going around banning away fans.
I hope the Rovers fans go to Longford anyway. It should be interesting to see the culchie stewards try to stop a load of boozed up, ****ed off Rovers fans from gaining entry to the ground! :D
I assume Ollie Byrne is now banned from Flancare too??
23/06/2005, 8:43 PM
I have to say, fair play to Longford for this brave decision.
Great precedent set for every other club in the League, for too long the scum element in the Rovers fanbase has been getting away with too much.
............then you'd be happy to see Ollie locked out of every ground in the country then.
Good, glad we're agreed.
What? Its different with Ollie you say?
He has the best interests of the club at heart.
Oh, okay then. I'm sure he means well, he just has a bit of trouble controlling his temper.
The complete duplicity and hypocracy of some of the Shels fans on this site is unreal.
Come on. Its not like this is unexpected. Oily knows where every fan lives & would probably ban from Tolka if didn't follow the club line.
Are Longford entitled to just ban a group of fans?
23/06/2005, 9:49 PM
You know, I sometimes wonder how Rovers' idiosyncratic conception of culpability might have been manifested throughout the ages, had their spiritual progenitors enjoyed access to the internet.
Next up in the series: Hoopus Maximus explains why the Roman conquest of Carthage amounted to little more than "a few youngfellas throwing shapes."
Fair play Sheridan, that is superb :D
............then you'd be happy to see Ollie locked out of every ground in the country then.
Good, glad we're agreed.
What? Its different with Ollie you say?
He has the best interests of the club at heart.
Oh, okay then. I'm sure he means well, he just has a bit of trouble controlling his temper.
I love how you've asked a question, answered it for him, then called him a hypocrite for the answer you gave him. F*cking superb, well done.
23/06/2005, 11:09 PM
I love how you've asked a question, answered it for him, then called him a hypocrite for the answer you gave him. F*cking superb, well done.
Thanks.
So come on then, Rovers are thugs but you're leader isn't. Thats the position of most of the Shels fans on here, at least have the balls to defend it.
23/06/2005, 11:27 PM
Thanks.
So come on then, Rovers are thugs but you're leader isn't. Thats the position of most of the Shels fans on here, at least have the balls to defend it.
No, no it isn't.
Read the Shels fans posts in this very thread on Olly, it isn't difficult.
Stop making up stuff, stop inventing stuff people have said and then having a go at them over it if you can.
23/06/2005, 11:31 PM
Longford are a disgrace. Who the **** do they think they are to do this? If their security could do their job without causing trouble, this probably wouldn't have been an issue. The fact that the knuckle-draggers they employ for crowd control seem to **** people off for fun might have more to do with the problems the last time rovers were there. I would seriously consider going up to the game to support rovers on the night, just to make the point :mad:
As was said already, are we to assume Oily will be banned too?
23/06/2005, 11:57 PM
No, no it isn't.
Read the Shels fans posts in this very thread on Olly, it isn't difficult.
Stop making up stuff, stop inventing stuff people have said and then having a go at them over it if you can.
You just don't get it. You started this thread entitled "Rovers Scum do it again".
Many of us think it should be entitled "Shels scum does it again", because thats what he is, plain & simple.
A repeated history of bullying, assaulting & threatening opposition fans, officials & players over the past decade plus, not to mention the constant whinging, litigation & undermining of the League.
Face it, he is the public face of Shels & so long as he remains that you have an absolute brass neck crowing sanctimoniously about the behaviour of any other clubs fans, players or officials.
24/06/2005, 12:00 AM
You just don't get it. You started this thread entitled "Rovers Scum do it again".
Spotters badge
Many of us think it should be entitled "Shels scum does it again", because thats what he is, plain & simple.
So because Ollies done something, that means you can't comment on anything else? Nice logic.
A repeated history of bullying, assaulting & threatening opposition fans, officials & players over the past decade plus, not to mention the constant whinging, litigation & undermining of the League.
Indeed.
Face it, he is the public face of Shels & so long as he remains that you have an absolute brass neck crowing sanctimoniously about the behaviour of any other clubs fans, players or officials.
bullsh*t. The actions of Olly don't make me any more or less entitled to comment on people and cars getting hopped on by scumbags after a match. Stop talking sh*te and read what I've said about Olly in this very thread.
24/06/2005, 12:11 AM
The same could be said of any team.
Roverstillidie
24/06/2005, 9:52 AM
In relation to the bogford decision, farcical.
Wasn't sure could if i could make the game anyway, but i will certainly be there now.
Security costs too high? Well on the grounds you will have more rovers fans going than have ever visited flancare before on principle, you will need to hire extra goons, even if it is to try and keep us out. and if they keep us out, very little traffic will move down the strokestown road.....Marvellous decision really.
There was the one incident when a steward got hit (back) last season when we tried to switch ends, but we have played there twice since with no problems!
an extremely cynical move by the bog bohs.
how do the longford fans feel on this.
24/06/2005, 10:09 AM
im not happy with the decision because i dont like to see HONEST fans, who go to support their team, getting punished for a handful of rowdy fans. its just not on.
I think it's pathetic, reactionary nonsence. The cup game showed that it can pass off no problems with proper segregation and proper stewarding, with the away fans informed of what's going on.
It's a damning indictment of our stewarding and the Longford Gardai imo.
I mean if it was Garda call, then it must only be because they'd got bored of watching any trouble, as they've never actually got involved and earned their overtime anyway.
Student Mullet
24/06/2005, 10:42 AM
and if they keep us out, very little traffic will move down the strokestown road.That sounds a little bit like you're making a threat, surley no rovers fan would cause disruption outside a ground?
That sounds a little bit like you're making a threat, surley no rovers fan would cause disruption outside a ground?
Sounds to me that they'd protest blocking the road. A threat maybe, but don't think necessarily a threat of violence. Peaceful protest fine imo.
Roverstillidie
24/06/2005, 11:41 AM
That sounds a little bit like you're making a threat, surley no rovers fan would cause disruption outside a ground?
no im not, but we may walk slowly away from the ground if not let in. just to be arkward like!!!!
rebs23
24/06/2005, 11:54 AM
Is this for real? More bloody agendas here. Do Longford owe Ollie something?
It really is getting farcical all this overhyped nonsense about handbag hooliganism in the EL. I have said it loads of times but it used to be a lot worse but now since we have the Internet & forums like these every little incident is blown out of all proportion.
This is just ridicoloous.
By the way can someone change the title of this thread to Ollie does it again!
26/06/2005, 6:49 AM
Longford are a disgrace. Who the **** do they think they are to do this? If their security could do their job without causing trouble, this probably wouldn't have been an issue. The fact that the knuckle-draggers they employ for crowd control seem to **** people off for fun might have more to do with the problems the last time rovers were there. I would seriously consider going up to the game to support rovers on the night, just to make the point :mad:
We've been banned from travelling, full stop, for no specific reasons. It's an outrageous, disgraceful decision, which sets a very dangerous precedent for visiting fans of any club. In all my time watching LOI football, I have never heard of a decision to ban fans from travelling to a game. I am shocked that a club that is (used to be) a role model for other NL clubs, could stoop as low as to ban away fans from their ground, regardless of who the club is. :eek:
The trip to Longford is personally, one of my favourite away trips of the season. The town is nice, the people are friendly, the ground is great, (by LOI standards), and Longford are one of the few clubs who choose to play at home on Saturdays. Unfortunately, at the first Longford-Rovers league game there last season, there was a minor incident at half-time, when a couple of stewards prevented some of Rovers' fans changing ends. Nobody told our fans beforehand that it wasn't allowed, so some fans were not happy with the situation. The stewards totally overeacted and a handbags scuffle ensued. When we first went there, the stewards controlled the crowd in a professional manner. Then you couldn't change ends at half time. Then you couldn't go to the shop for a tray of chips and a drink, at half time. Then fans were pushed around by incompetent stewards and police there, creating avoidable problems. Now, our fans have been banned. :mad:
Longford might like to preserve their "family" image, but with respect to Longford, the majority of Rovers fans who go to our games are, literally taking full responsibility for keeping the club afloat. If kids can't be brought to Longford-Rovers games at FP, due to one minor scuffle in 5 years, then where do you draw the line? Will other clubs' fans be banned from attending FP for drinking, swearing, or chanting which may have the odd F-word thrown in, in case it upsets kids? After the recent incidents in the CG, will Bohs fans be banned from attending Bray-Bohs games? If so, where will it end? Like I said, this decision sets an uncomfortable, and dangerous precedent for other clubs' fans. We hope that the action taken by Longford Town will not be repeated elsewhere.
In this country, we really struggle to get people to go to NL games. The league needs big games, and it needs big crowds. This appalling and ludicrous decision will do nothing for the league's image, and will do terrible damage to the previously good relationship that existed between Longford Town and Shamrock Rovers. Longford used to be a role model for other clubs. Unfortunately, they have now sadly created a terrible reputation for themselves, as the only club in the league to say "AWAY FANS MAY NOT ATTEND". I would strongly recommend fans of other clubs to bear that in mind, when it's your turn to travel to Flancare Park. :mad:
First of all Eanna and Cork fans- your own stewards are nothing short of a joke, their treatment of Harps fans who'd spent the whole day travelling to get to a game and some of whom were retired older people was atrocious. I mean what did they think 9 fans were going to do, and what was their problem with our megaphone. In general where stewarting exists it tends to be heavy handed in this league, and that applies at many grounds, not just Finn Park. Either you tend to have people who are doing the job for free and are less likely to get involved at all or you have people hired in who tend to be over zealous and heavy handed.
I think the Longford Town FC view on this is pretty much 'Why should we spend thousands on security to accomodate a few hundred Rovers fans?'. At a time when so many clubs are in financial dire straits I do have a certain amount of sympathy for that view. It may be that the security rating the FAI passes down for the game means that Longford choices are either to pay the money for the security or keep Rovers out. Surely however some compromise could have been reached with Rovers regarding arrangements for the game.
However, the decision is a PR disaster for the league, and it could get a hell of a lot worse if Rovers fans react to it. And I don't think Rovers are entirely blameless in this, in general they seem to be more concerned with pretending everything is other people's fault always- but ultimately they do have a bad element- I mean every incident can't just be people making it up to get at Rovers. If fans of Rovers (and other clubs) didn't have a history of causing hassle at and around games then this situation would never have arisen.
joeraki
26/06/2005, 11:35 AM
How many thousands are LTFC spending on security ? I've seen figures of €7/7500 on their forum. Seems way over the top. Stewerts get paid €10 an hour, with 4 hours work max. 50 at the very most is probably way more than is needed, thats €2k. 20 of those probably do games every other week so its an extra €1200. As for the Garda, not sure how many you'd need, but the rule for the GAA is 1 Garda per 1000 people. Any other dog, horse units and riot police can be all left outside in case of trouble. Any Garda outside the ground at KO the club doesn't pay for.
anto eile
26/06/2005, 5:49 PM
Is this for real? More bloody agendas here. Do Longford owe Ollie something?
It really is getting farcical all this overhyped nonsense about handbag hooliganism in the EL. I have said it loads of times but it used to be a lot worse but now since we have the Internet & forums like these every little incident is blown out of all proportion.
This is just ridicoloous.
By the way can someone change the title of this thread to Ollie does it again!
sensible post
anto eile
26/06/2005, 6:02 PM
Sets a terrible precedent for the rest of the League and smacks of double standards. I wonder what the motive is here as you were happy to host a load of Linfields worst lot in the Setanta and after all the racist abuse and sectarian sh*te they came out with there wasn't a peep out of Longford Town, it was the decent Linfield fans and the club who had to come out and condemn their own fans.
Wouldn't it have been better to wait until after the outcome of the League investigation is known?
thats a very good point
as for D2 red. your stupidity deserves contempt
anto eile
26/06/2005, 6:05 PM
a:
Come on. Its not like this is unexpected. Oily knows where every fan lives & would probably ban from Tolka if didn't follow the club line.
b: Are Longford entitled to just ban a group of fans?
a: true.a mate of mine (shels fan) hates olly byrne but cant really voice his displeasaure (even from the relative anonymity of shels web) as jabba would be straight onto his phone. hes done it before,rang my mate up to give out to him :rolleyes: ollybourne is a football hooligan
b: they could hide behind catch-all terms like "management reserve the right to refuse admission" blah blah. but it could be challenged successfully imo
anto eile
26/06/2005, 6:06 PM
Fair play Sheridan, that is superb :D
but his answer was hypocritical.