View Full Version : Rovers scum do it again
I think the fine thing was probably just made up by Brian Lennox (who's not exactly known for telling the truth) in order to make people think they'd be hurting the club by going on the pitch.
Thats a low comment. I would suspect there is a rule but that the fine almost never imposed. Brian Lennox said he had 3 year play to win the league all signs are good. Said last year would get to 1/4 final of Inter Toto Cup & we did. As long as that record continues & he keeps funding City what more can we expect...
[QUOTE=Slash/ED]Well done the Rovers fans tonight, proved Ollie wrong about you being scum :rolleyes:
Never a true word spoken!! Not a simple thing done to stop the pitch invasion about 3 stewards on the whole stand. In fairness bottles thrown in both directions but no doubt how it all started!!
saw digs thrown to and almost one at their own roddy collins as he tried to get them back!!!
not saying this about all their fans but the selected few should learn to f3cking cop on!!
19/06/2005, 8:23 PM
olly byrne is a football hooligan!
At least you recognise one of your own
19/06/2005, 9:50 PM
I think the fine thing was probably just made up by Brian Lennox (who's not exactly known for telling the truth) ......
Pretty sly Colm, sneaking that in. :rolleyes:
I guess you think that constant repetition will makes it true.
Well, it doesn't.
joeraki
19/06/2005, 9:59 PM
Would it not been easier for these blood thirsty hooligans to just go around the side of the riverside and into the new stand, seen as people say there where f all stewards and the garda done nothing. Why bother hop 2 fences to get at someone when all you had to do was talk a short walk around to the riverside. PS How many Shels fans where hurt in the ground ?
Pretty sly Colm, sneaking that in. :rolleyes:
I guess you think that constant repetition will makes it true.
Well, it doesn't.
Chill out ffs, it was only a throw away remark to try and outline the point I was making. As usual though, the same people jump down the throat of anyone who doesn't bow to saint Brian. :rolleyes:
I'm only speaking from my own personal experience and dealings and I firmly believe that I'm 100% correct in that comment. None of you can prove me wrong because I have witnessed a number of incidents of blatent lying to mine and other City fans faces. If people don't like that there's not much I can do about it and it's a bit unfair to dismiss me like that when you haven't had dealings with the man or witnessed any of these incidents.
Ok, I'll shut up now as it's pointless.
TheOwl
20/06/2005, 12:44 AM
I'll try and put things as simply as possible here.
1. While all clubs have their share of troublemakers, Rovers seem to have a significantly higher proportion than anyone else, and the club should identify and try and rectify this problem.
2.Ollie Byrne has done a lot of good things for Shelbourne FC, but some of his actions in recent years have been totally and utterly unacceptable. He should do the honourable thing and resign before he completely loses the respect of the Shelbourne fans, who for obvious reasons, are the only set of fans willing to recognise the good work he has done. As things stand at the moment though, his attitude is poisonous to the growth of the club.
Any Shels, Rovers or indeed fans from any EL clubs want to dispute either of these points? Because it seems people are running around in circles here, when I reckon that if everybody looks at things rationally they will come to the same conclusions.
Clones Road Cas
20/06/2005, 8:24 AM
Well Done to the Owl. A fair response. A number of clubs have problems with fans, our biggest is not having enough. Rovers have had the worst section of fans, While also having some of the most loyal, well behaved and long suffering. There is a need for the club to sort these idiots out.
Ollie is a thug, short and simple. I know for some Shells fans he has done a lot of good for the club. But his continuous contempt for the game and for other clubs, officials and fans has no place in any professional game,.Its time for him to go or if he wont, its time for VERY heavy sanction by the league.
Gareth
20/06/2005, 8:39 AM
Its bad enough to have to get use to losing every week but I am sick to the teeth of having to trawl through mountains of posts on the interweb that rarely even go within a mile of the actual game. The Owl got it spot on there. I think that at the moment Shelbourne Football Club need to relax a bit and stop picking fights with every team in the league. Our clear lack of dealing with issues normally is only giving supporters who are bang out of order something to hid behind.
Drumcondra Red
20/06/2005, 8:47 AM
Would it not been easier for these blood thirsty hooligans to just go around the side of the riverside and into the new stand, seen as people say there where f all stewards and the garda done nothing. Why bother hop 2 fences to get at someone when all you had to do was talk a short walk around to the riverside. PS How many Shels fans where hurt in the ground ?
The stands were segregated by fences, which the Gardai and stewards obviously thought that was good enough, not think about the pitch as a route!!!
redgav
20/06/2005, 8:54 AM
Everytime some streaker or fool runs on the pitch duringa International match ,the FAI are fined €50,000 by UEFA. thats why stewards sit on stools facing the crowd (well,supposed to anyway)
Same deal for each league and organisation.Fines obviously aren't the same magnitude but they are the rules.
The last city shels game , the 2-0 , there was at least 8-10 youngfellas ran to the city fans at the end to give the fingr ...these type of incidents can inflame things and are meant to be prevented .Having some fella mention it over the half wqorking pa system isn't enough.There are more stewards at Tolka entrusted with keeping an eye on away fans than there are keeping the home fans (an oiley) off the pitch
Gareth
20/06/2005, 9:03 AM
Young lads are always running onto the pitch. They tend to be little *******s who think its great. To stop them your need the entire pitch surrounded by stewards. If you want to get on the pitch, be it Tolka, Turners Cross or Croke Park, you will. Until we introduce snipers.
As for pitch invasions :), a few young fellows compared to the entire Rovers support is a little in the way of a slightly poor comparsion. :) But I am not even going there cos I am too disappointed to have lost to give a toss about Rovers support.
Anyways for **** sake lads, I know its rich coming from a Shels supporter but I'm mad for a little discussion on the games and the actual 90 minutes action for a bit rather than "you fans pointed angrily at us" bull**** talk. :)
Young lads are always running onto the pitch. They tend to be little *******s who think its great. To stop them your need the entire pitch surrounded by stewards.
Not true. Those kids do it cos the other kids are doing it. The fact is you never even attempt to stop them so they probably don't even know its not allowed. Why are there no pitch invasions at Turners Cross or Dalymount? Do they have hundreds of stewards?
redgav
20/06/2005, 9:29 AM
Young lads are always running onto the pitch. They tend to be little *******s who think its great. To stop them your need the entire pitch surrounded by stewards. If you want to get on the pitch, be it Tolka, Turners Cross or Croke Park, you will. Until we introduce snipers.
As for pitch invasions :), a few young fellows compared to the entire Rovers support is a little in the way of a slightly poor comparsion. :) But I am not even going there cos I am too disappointed to have lost to give a toss about Rovers support.
Anyways for **** sake lads, I know its rich coming from a Shels supporter but I'm mad for a little discussion on the games and the actual 90 minutes action for a bit rather than "you fans pointed angrily at us" bull**** talk. :)
I suggest that you should try take in a few Shels aways (its the summer holidays soon :D ) and you can see that thats does NOT happen at other grounds .The only ground that this noticeably happens at is Tolka .
And its not just a few either. As for the objects being thrown .Didn't the same happen when Dolan was going into the Lego stand last season .......both games
As for football discussion,how can we chat about football ,unless you were at the carlisle on friday to watch some ;)
20/06/2005, 9:30 AM
I have real sympathy for the genuine Rovers fans.
A dark cloud has been following you for a few years now.
I wouldn't wish your situation on anyone.
You must accept though, how the rest of the league has had enough of the continuous controversy and disorder which surrounds elements of your club.
I really don't know what the best solution here is.
The easy option would be to expel you but it would be naive to think that your most troublesome "supporters" would no longer pose a threat to the rest of the league.
Gareth
20/06/2005, 9:39 AM
I suggest that you should try take in a few Shels aways (its the summer holidays soon :D ) and you can see that thats does NOT happen at other grounds .The only ground that this noticeably happens at is Tolka .
And its not just a few either. As for the objects being thrown .Didn't the same happen when Dolan was going into the Lego stand last season .......both games
As for football discussion,how can we chat about football ,unless you were at the carlisle on friday to watch some ;)
I'm a bit old for the awl summer holidays you speak of and I have been in nearly all the league grounds. Are you in Tolka every week thou? As for where this is leading me, I am not going to defend stewards. Throwing of objects is not exclusive to tolka!!! Nor is people coming onto the pitch.
i have met a lot of genuine rovers fans and but there is that chav/scumbag element at the club but what id like to know is what are they doing to root out that element ? anyone know?
redgav
20/06/2005, 10:05 AM
I'm a bit old for the awl summer holidays you speak of and I have been in nearly all the league grounds. Are you in Tolka every week thou? As for where this is leading me, I am not going to defend stewards. Throwing of objects is not exclusive to tolka!!! Nor is people coming onto the pitch.
The inserted smiley should've pointed to my comment being lighthearted .
I never said it was exclusive to shels but I felt your initial reply was a bit too bláse.
I go to Tolka often enough,not only for City games ,seeing as I live in swords ,I usually tag along to some of the Dublin derbies and by far the worst offender is shels (re people on the pitch) , every game I go to at Tolka it happens.
Whats happening at shels tho?? Oiley acting the thug ,players not getting on ,bouncing cheques....seems alot happening off the field affecting on the field
Can't believe there was fenlon out chants after the game
20/06/2005, 11:29 AM
There was only one hooligan in Tolka Park on Friday - Olly Byrne. The man is a disgrace and should be thrown out of football.
As for the scenes afterwards, yes a load of Rovers kids got on the pitch - which they shouldn't have done - but it was purely to celebrate a massive win for us. The bottle throwing was started by the Shels fans in the new stand.
These are the facts - you can throw all the mud you want at Rovers but it's Shelbourne and their pathetic Chief Executive and juvenile fans who need to take a long, hard look at themselves.
20/06/2005, 11:32 AM
I wasn't at the game, so can't really comment, but you seem to imply that Rovers don't need to take a long hard look at themselves. You are spot on about Ollie, and indeed correct if the throwing did start from the New Stand, but let that not detract from the fact that Rovers need to address their scumbag problem quite severely.
Jaime
20/06/2005, 11:39 AM
Obviously wasnt at the game, and didn't see it on TV, but from speaking to fans of both clubs, would tend towards the view that it was just exhuberance on the part of the Rovers fans. After beating Shels 2-1, it just doesn't really add up that Rovers would take a couple hundred people onto the pitch looking for some serious aggro. Taunting, yes, but so what? We all have to take some taunting at some stage. After Bobby Ryan scored for us to win the league at Tolka, we went onto the pitch, and as that's where (Subbuteo Stand) the tunnel is, truth be told there was taunting and plastic bottles were exchanged (but started by Shels fans, as if it makes any difference). Bottom line is no-one gets hurt, and no-one should get their noses out of joint, except the usual frothing at the mouth moral brigade.
Gareth
20/06/2005, 11:39 AM
I've never sat in the new stand. If the people in that stand were throwing bottles at people, well then they are ****ing idiots. Personally I sit in a part of the main stand that is pretty much the same crowd for years and they are older. Never seen a days trouble were I am. To be honest trouble was never even an aspect of the game until recent life in the eircom League.....
Jaime
20/06/2005, 11:43 AM
I've never sat in the new stand. If the people in that stand were throwing bottles at people, well then they are ****ing idiots. Personally I sit in a part of the main stand that is pretty much the same crowd for years and they are older. Never seen a days trouble were I am. To be honest trouble was never even an aspect of the game until recent life in the eircom League.....
How long are you supporting the league? There are Bohs / Rovers fans who could tell stories about bother in the 70s, 80s and 90s. And not just involving Dublin teams either.
Gareth
20/06/2005, 12:03 PM
How long are you supporting the league? There are Bohs / Rovers fans who could tell stories about bother in the 70s, 80s and 90s. And not just involving Dublin teams either.
I am supporting Shelbourne 15 or 16 years. In the time I have been supporting trouble was a rare thing at games for me, now i wouldn't be going to bohs vs rovers etc, but shels games. I would have sat happily with opposition fans and never once crossed my mind to worry about them. Just my experience.
jagman
20/06/2005, 12:12 PM
hes quite clearly a pats fan, theyre hardly the most sympathetic bunch towards Rovers are they ffs.
docs neatral pov was an accurate and fair assessment. now stop whinging like girls just because shels are freefalling down the table..and into huge debt.
olly byrne is a football hooligan!
why would i be whinging because shels are freefalling?
20/06/2005, 12:44 PM
There stewarding situation at Tolka is by a distance the worst in the league. There are kids on the pitch after nearly every match whereas it's rare to see anyone going on the pitch anywhere else. Bohs have an orange netting that they put around the edge of the pitch to keep people from climbing on. Why can't Shels do the same?
20/06/2005, 12:47 PM
There stewarding situation at Tolka is by a distance the worst in the league. There are kids on the pitch after nearly every match hwereas it's rare to see anyone going on the pitch anywhere else. Bohs have an orange netting that they put around the edge of the pitch to keep people from climbing on. Why can't Shels do the same?
It's a point that's been made by the fans probably a million times by now and nothing is ever done and unfortunately that probably wont change.
Ollie Byrne has done a lot of good things for Shelbourne FC, but some of his actions in recent years have been totally and utterly unacceptable. He should do the honourable thing and resign before he completely loses the respect of the Shelbourne fans, who for obvious reasons, are the only set of fans willing to recognise the good work he has done. As things stand at the moment though, his attitude is poisonous to the growth of the club.
It is very difficult to argue with that. His actions before the game were pathetic, absolutley pathetic, and it's given the Rovers fans something to hide behind as they as ever ignore/play down and flat out deny the actions of their own fans.
At this stage, as you said, he could fast become detrimental to the growth of the club.
Speranza
20/06/2005, 12:50 PM
As more of a lurker than a poster on this forum i am sick,sore and tired of trouble being reported at a Rovers game and the same few Rover's fans coming on and blaming the opposition fans. Almost every ground in the country has seen the scum element in your support yet you choose to blame garda/stewards/other fans e.t.c. Get a grip and for the good of the league and the future of your club admit you have a problem and get rid of these scummy hoods.
anto eile
20/06/2005, 3:04 PM
Anyways for **** sake lads, I know its rich coming from a Shels supporter but I'm mad for a little discussion on the games and the actual 90 minutes action for a bit rather than "your fans pointed angrily at us" bull**** talk. :)
and thats what happened, rather than a hooligan army bent on mayhem, gareths take on it is accurate
anto eile
20/06/2005, 3:10 PM
why would i be whinging because shels are freefalling?
my post was maybe a bit unclear,it was directed at shels fans, as for you saying that dr nightdubs point of view was biased,i disagree.hes a pats fan,he im sure dislkikes both Rovers ,shelbourne and gypos.so is unlikely to be biased towards Rovers, (or any other club)
anto eile
20/06/2005, 3:11 PM
It is very difficult to argue with that. His actions before the game were pathetic, absolutley pathetic, and it's given the Rovers fans something to hide behind as they as ever ignore/play down and flat out deny the actions of their own fans.
what actions????overexuberant celebrations yes.rampant hooliganism i think not :rolleyes:
20/06/2005, 4:20 PM
Pasted from shelsweb
After the security debacle of Friday night and reading through the comments on same I just want to add my bit.
The pitch invasion and what went on inside the ground has been covered by many people. However I had to endure a gauntlet of sub teen and teenage louts down Richmond Rd. to my car. My car was then surrounded by these louts who, while shouting obscenities, proceeded to jump on the bonnet and bang the windows and roof.All this while their elder peers looked on and laughed. At no time did I answer them or make any remarks. It was the most terrifying night at a football game that I have ever endured. I am in my 60's and it appears that my sin was that I was wearing a Shels jersey and was therefore deemed a 'soft' target.
As a longtime supporter of League of Ireland football I looked upon the demise of Rovers and their loss of Milltown as criminal. After my encounter with their so called 'fans' I have now changed my mind. The sooner the better this club is kicked out of football, the better and safer for all.
I'll say yet again I was viciously asaulted, kicked and punches by Rovers scum. If it wasn't for my mates and other Shels fans intervening I could have easily been beaten
Of course, it was the other teams fault. It didn't happen. It was the gaurds fault. No scum at Rovers at all etc etc etc
Shelsman
20/06/2005, 5:06 PM
End of the day, Shels are facing financial ruin
Don't you mean Rovers ???
Shelsman
20/06/2005, 5:11 PM
I find this whole thing laughable. Fair play to the Rovers fans, it seems to me like they just celebrated their victory and rubbed it in a bit to the Shels fans
Surely this ( pitch invasions ) wouldn't be seen in the best leagues in Europe? I thought we were all in favour of trying to improve the league ......
No doubt about it, there is an element of Rovers 'Fans' that are scum and only go to high profile matches to cause trouble. The rest are probably harmless enough.
BTW when people say that the 'club' ie Rovers should sort it out, well, the 'club' doesn't really exist anymore. They can't afford to throw fans out / ban them because they are at rock bottom.
joeraki
20/06/2005, 5:20 PM
However I had to endure a gauntlet of sub teen and teenage louts down Richmond Rd. to my car. My car was then surrounded by these louts who, while shouting obscenities, proceeded to jump on the bonnet and bang the windows and roof
I made a comment about the events. Yes I did report it to the Garda. They asked me if there was damage to my car and could I identify the culprits. The answer to both was no
What was he driving, a tank ?? :rolleyes:
Da Real Rover
20/06/2005, 5:36 PM
What did Shams really do that was so bad, they went onto the pitch and celebrated there win with the players. Bottles were thrown from Shels fans at first and were thrown back. Does this mean that either club have a rampant hooligan problem, hardly. We had a pre season friendly with them and they were no bother. When people here of an incident involving Shams they suddenly jump on the moral band wagon and condem the 'scum' who follow there club.
1 9 2 8
20/06/2005, 5:52 PM
Got to agree with Da Real Rover. He without sin throw the first stone or in Shels case bottle
The problem was a few hundred gathered down at the Shels end after the players went off and continued to sing and jeer in the direction of shels fans. Mostly hands waving about and plenty of 1 and 2 fingers on show. Chanting about something I couldnt make out.
Im not really aganst them being happy and when you are bottom and beat the Champions you should be happy but not carry on like they did.
?! :eek:
I've supported Rovers for 16 years now and I know of far more serious things that Rovers fans have done - few and far between though - than waving our hands and singing and jeering the opposition... :rolleyes:
Dr.Nightdub
20/06/2005, 7:38 PM
The problem was a few hundred gathered down at the Shels end after the players went off and continued to sing and jeer in the direction of shels fans. Mostly hands waving about and plenty of 1 and 2 fingers on show.
Wasn't it Ollie himself who established (in the District Court) that using one's fingers is an acceptable means of indicating the score to opposition fans? ;)
20/06/2005, 10:25 PM
Pasted from shelsweb
Of course, it was the other teams fault. It didn't happen. It was the gaurds fault. No scum at Rovers at all etc etc etc
Of course. And that chap was just asking for it. In fact, he made them do it.
Imagine being 60 and want to go to a football match? Against Rovers. In a Shels jersey. The sheer audacity of it!
21/06/2005, 12:52 PM
Hilarious thread. We win deservedly. Harmless pitch invasion at the end which can be clearly seen on tv. One paper reports that shels fans started throwing bottles at the Rovers fans with plenty of eye witnesses as well.
The main reason Rovers fans went to the new stand was simply to follow our players off the pitch.
Ollie is the biggest cancer on the league but no all you Rovers haters have to concentrate on this non issue. He attacked Roddy from behind like the cowardly, convicted criminal that he is. FACT.
Will I mention the shels fan in full gear behind us at the ballybough end who shouted out "Rutherford you black *******"? This was witnessed by the Rovers fans present. Yet you had shels fans at the game saying stuff like this and calling us scum?!!! Incredible.
This a club who allowed in dozens of union jacks for the linfield game despite the setanta cup ruling that no national flags be allowed. This a club that played a HOME European tie in england FFS.
Jaime fair play for seeing some sense. All fans have taunted or been taunted. Its part of the game for those of you who are too sensitive.
I relished the final whistle friday cos I knew it would send those pathetic Rovers hating no lifers oily and fintan cassidy into an apoplectic mood. Even the cops who took down our banner "OILY IRELAND'S BIGGEST HOOLIGAN" were embarrassed. What a complete scumbag.
And we, with no ground and bottom of the league, had more support there than the defending champions. Truly pathetic. TBH at this point I have more respect for boez! :o
21/06/2005, 1:20 PM
This a club who allowed in dozens of union jacks for the linfield game despite the setanta cup ruling that no national flags be allowed.
AFAIK there was no such rule, it was rumoured briefly, but never put in place
21/06/2005, 1:22 PM
Will I mention the shels fan in full gear behind us at the ballybough end who shouted out "Rutherford you black *******"? This was witnessed by the Rovers fans present. Yet you had shels fans at the game saying stuff like this and calling us scum?!!! Incredible.
Fair enough,it's an absolute disgrace and your man should never be allow into a football match again.At no point should be people be discriminated against beause of their colour,nationality or Religion.
This a club who allowed in dozens of union jacks for the linfield game despite the setanta cup ruling that no national flags be allowed.
Now hold on,does this not seem a bit hypocritical.
And we, with no ground and bottom of the league, had more support there than the defending champions. Truly pathetic.
And that's just a lie,you lot should have stuck with the original idea and as opposed to going to Tolka,gave your money to the 400 club and then we would not be having this argument.
el punter
21/06/2005, 2:37 PM
Lads, the in-fighting on this board about who's fans are to blame over each increasingly frequent incident is pathetic. You're missing the big picture. It's not a problem for Rovers, Bohs, Shels or any one club. It's a societal problem at base level, and above that it's a problem the LEAGUE faces.
Now, we all submit to this forum, presumably, because we care about the league. We would all like to see bigger crowds, bigger games, better facilities, exciting European runs, colour pictures in the papers, big build ups to big games.
This league cant grow while a prominent sector of people attending these poorly attended games behave in a way that is threatening to other spectators. Let's put our heads together and work on solutions to this issue which pervades in the league instead of the childish one upmanship flooding the forum.
How do we get the message to these people that our football league is not an accepted vehicle for their thuggery?
Football fans go to football matches, thugs go to prison.
Let's get to work on the real enemy.
You're missing the big picture.
Maybe the small picture is more important. At Bohs, there is a competent stewarding system, where the stewards hold up orange mesh the length of the stand after the final whistle. Result; no pitch invasions from that side of the ground. As Shels fans have repeated though, their club doesn't listen to them when they insist on the need for competent stewarding.
21/06/2005, 4:08 PM
Sorry Jamie but i have to disagree with you on the competentcy of Bohs stewards.As an away fan in Dayler i found the stewards to be sh!te.Would Pats and Rovers fans agree with me on this or is it just Shels fans these stewards treat badly.
I've always found the stewards in dalyer very good tbh
21/06/2005, 5:54 PM
Yee should borrow some of our stewards,the best dam stewards in the league ;)
21/06/2005, 5:57 PM
Hilarious thread. We win deservedly. Harmless pitch invasion at the end which can be clearly seen on tv. One paper reports that shels fans started throwing bottles at the Rovers fans with plenty of eye witnesses as well.
The main reason Rovers fans went to the new stand was simply to follow our players off the pitch.
Ollie is the biggest cancer on the league but no all you Rovers haters have to concentrate on this non issue. He attacked Roddy from behind like the cowardly, convicted criminal that he is. FACT.
This a club who allowed in dozens of union jacks for the linfield game despite the setanta cup ruling that no national flags be allowed. This a club that played a HOME European tie in england FFS.
Jaime fair play for seeing some sense. All fans have taunted or been taunted. Its part of the game for those of you who are too sensitive.
I relished the final whistle friday cos I knew it would send those pathetic Rovers hating no lifers oily and fintan cassidy into an apoplectic mood. Even the cops who took down our banner "OILY IRELAND'S BIGGEST HOOLIGAN" were embarrassed. What a complete scumbag.
And we, with no ground and bottom of the league, had more support there than the defending champions. Truly pathetic. TBH at this point I have more respect for boez! :o
Well said and your dead right about the union flags they didn't let any irish flags up :rolleyes: there is something wrong there.
Roverstillidie
21/06/2005, 8:06 PM
I'm lost here.
Oily Byrne physically attacks the manager of the club his side are due to play.
$hels fans throw missiles at celebrating Rovers fans.
Shels fans racially abuse sparky rutherford
And some red tosser comes on here and calls us scum?
Have I got the broad gist of this?
And the really quality is people join in.
This isnt rovers fans denying that there was an incident, there wasnt. Shels fans invade the pitch after EVERY game, and when we do it we are hooligans?
Blaming us for all your ills is getting very tiresome.