View Full Version : Foot.ie decides - Ireland's best home kit
Pages :
[
2]
12/11/2020, 6:56 PM
The 17-18 kit is grand and all like, but it has to be the Italy 90 shirt. Has to be short odds for the overall prize too.
Fixer82
12/11/2020, 7:03 PM
1990 all day long
12/11/2020, 7:42 PM
06-08 in round 3
Italia 90 round 4
Closed Account 2
12/11/2020, 7:52 PM
Italia 90, then daylight.
Eirambler
12/11/2020, 9:53 PM
Italia 90 - easy one.
elatedscum
12/11/2020, 11:58 PM
90. Might vote for the 17-18 in the playoff.
Eminence Grise
13/11/2020, 7:43 AM
Italia 90 for me. Something classic and no nonsense about the shape and cut. The vertical stripes in the sleeves add to it.
2017-18 looks like an upmarket t-shirt.
13/11/2020, 7:47 AM
The Stan kit knocks out the current effort on a score of 8-4.
Could blow it up now in the other tie, but we'll stick by the rules and let it run until the evening. (I'll add my vote for Italia 90 though - a classic in the perfect shade of green)
We've another finals kit next up though - the Euro 2012 kit with the hooped socks.
https://www.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/02248/ireland-football_2248991b.jpg
And facing that is the Brian Kerr kit, which nearly got us tot he 2006 World Cup but for an Henry master-stroke (and some dubious tactical decisions which let slip too many leads against Israel)
https://m0.sportsjoe.ie/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/20172318/2004.jpg
Eminence Grise
13/11/2020, 7:54 AM
By default, the Brian Kerr kit.
Those 2012 socks are hideous, and the alternating shades of green in the wide stripes are just wrong.
13/11/2020, 8:36 AM
2006 kit
backstothewall
13/11/2020, 9:00 AM
13/11/2020, 9:04 AM
2006..stop the fight,the striped socks have had enough...:D:D
Fixer82
13/11/2020, 9:28 AM
2006. That 2012 kit was as bad as the football we played in 2012
13/11/2020, 10:30 AM
Italia 90, in spite of not loving the pattern on it.
I really like the 06 kit, other than the gack crest, so it wins that one handily enough for me.
13/11/2020, 12:48 PM
Italia 90, and 2006 Kerr era. Two classic shirts, although nothing wrong with either opposition.
Razors left peg
13/11/2020, 2:34 PM
The Kerr kit
13/11/2020, 5:23 PM
A whitewash there for the Italia 90 kit and it'll be a big hitter in the rounds to come.
Also currently a whitewash in the Euro 2012 v Kerr kit battle. Still time to change that though.
And in the meantime, it's a real clash of eras. It's the 2012/13 kit or the "Conor Sammon" kit -
https://s1.reutersmedia.net/resources/r/?m=02&d=20121016&t=2&i=664138076&w=780&fh=&fw=&ll=&pl=&sq=&r=CDEE89F1LVK00
And it's up against what looks like a kit borrowed off the IRFU, from 1985/86
https://img2.thejournal.ie/inline/1488867/original/?width=630&version=1488867
13/11/2020, 5:26 PM
I actually like both of those very much. I'll go 12/13 just on the shade of green.
elatedscum
13/11/2020, 5:43 PM
i'll go for the Euro 2012, maybe for sentimental reasons. The 14th of November 2011 was one of the most entertaining and enjoyable nights of my life (the night of the second game against Estonia) and there's a photo of myself and my best friend wearing that jersey that night...
i'll go for the earlier jersey that McGrath is wearing, but i like both...
Fixer82
13/11/2020, 6:05 PM
85/86.
Don't ever remember seeing that kit before. Mustn't have been around for long
13/11/2020, 7:15 PM
No contest. Italia 90.
13/11/2020, 7:17 PM
By default, the Brian Kerr kit.
Those 2012 socks are hideous, and the alternating shades of green in the wide stripes are just wrong.
Use this as my vote.
13/11/2020, 7:19 PM
And it's up against what looks like a kit borrowed off the IRFU, from 1985/86
https://img2.thejournal.ie/inline/1488867/original/?width=630&version=1488867
ONeill's deserve a reminder that they should stick to the Garrison game, rather than making kits for actual garrisons (or something snide to that effect). A Hand-y vote for 85. Geddit? geddit?
Fixer82
13/11/2020, 7:58 PM
ONeill's deserve a reminder that they should stick to the Garrison game, rather than making kits for actual garrisons (or something snide to that effect). A Hand-y vote for 85. Geddit? geddit?
None of that makes sense
Razors left peg
13/11/2020, 7:59 PM
None of that makes sense
Glad Im not the only one :D
13/11/2020, 8:00 PM
Well, the Eóin Hand pun does.
It mayn't be a good pun, but it makes sense :)
13/11/2020, 8:30 PM
85/86,old school "Eire" kit;)
(Re the 12/13 kit-whatever went wrong with feeding the fish btw?)
backstothewall
13/11/2020, 8:55 PM
I actually like both of those very much. I'll go 12/13 just on the shade of green.
I vote 85/86 for the same reasons
Eirambler
13/11/2020, 9:22 PM
The Brian Kerr kit is easily the best of those two.
Eminence Grise
13/11/2020, 10:51 PM
Rugger-bugger style jersey or not there's a real no muss no fuss about that 85-86 jersey, and it gets my vote. I'd buy it as a retro jersey quicker than most other ones so far.
Of course, there might be some subliminal trickery at play in having a pic of God himself wearing it!
Sammon kit - fine, nothing wrong with it. But no design classic.
14/11/2020, 9:06 AM
Another whitewash as the Kerr kit defeats the Euro 2012 hoops 10-0, and installs the hoops as an early favourite for worst kit, which we'll be voting for later on...
The rugby kit holds an early lead over the 2012/13 kit (which I'll cast my vote behind btw - there's some decent 80s efforts on the way now, but I'm not gone on that particular one). Votes taken all day.
But - more 80s? Here we go. There's the 86/87 kit which was the one we wore when qualifying for a finals for the first time ever -
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DmiUmLpU8AUBLHS.jpg
And it's up against a novel design with white and orange pinstripes running down it, worn from 83 to 85.
https://amp.independent.ie/incoming/abec1/39176368.ece/AUTOCROP/h400/page30_robinson.jpg
Fixer82
14/11/2020, 9:16 AM
I’ll go 83-85 as the Liam Brady one is basically Italia 90 without the boomerangs and the orange stripe in the collar
Razors left peg
14/11/2020, 10:28 AM
Tough one, made my decision based on which kit I'd like to wear myself now. 86/87 by a hair. Other one pretty cool too
14/11/2020, 11:32 AM
86-87 by far,the stripey one hideous imo,Liam Brady just about to fouled by the looks of it in the 86 strip.
14/11/2020, 11:37 AM
That “kit” - an important distinction - is probably my favourite kit on the whole. It’s the only time we’ve got the all green exactly right.
It’s kind of strange that we went from that to thenEuro 88 kit which is weak IMO compared to other Adidas efforts at the same championship.
The 86/87 kit gets my vote.
14/11/2020, 11:38 AM
That pic is taken just before Brady releases Stapo for the penalty foul iirc.
Fixer82
14/11/2020, 11:47 AM
86-87 by far,the stripey one hideous imo,Liam Brady just about to fouled by the looks of it in the 86 strip.
I love that kit but I do wish it was an orange stripe instead of a gold one. Although that might not work.
The 86-87 is very nice too. It's a close one for me
elatedscum
14/11/2020, 2:09 PM
86-87 For me
14/11/2020, 2:31 PM
86/87 for me. It may be sacrilege, but I prefer it to the Italia 90 kit. The 83-85 one is awful.
14/11/2020, 5:44 PM
I make that a quieter 5-3 win for the 85/86 kit, and the 2012-13 kit goes into the repechage.
Still taking votes on the 80s derby, but two more kits now for your consideration. First up is the WC2002 qualifying kit, modelled here by Steve Finnan actually scoring a goal -
https://m0.sportsjoe.ie/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/20171941/2000.jpg
And it's up against the Euro 88 kit, which carried over into Italia 90 qualifying as well -
https://www.thesun.ie/wp-content/uploads/sites/3/2018/06/NINTCHDBPICT000417023057-e1530302120716.jpg
Fixer82
14/11/2020, 5:55 PM
2000-2002 Steve Finnan for me. Reminds me of the great performance in Netherlands.
An unusual jersey in that I never saw that material in another jersey. Nice collar too.
Never understood the netting in the sleeves of the '88 jersey. To keep your upper arm cool?
boovidge
14/11/2020, 6:01 PM
Finnan kit because I had it as a kid. Great shade of green and comfy to wear.
14/11/2020, 6:22 PM
Euro 88, and that’s the bottom line, cause Stone Cold says so.
Eminence Grise
14/11/2020, 7:51 PM
86-87 the winner for me.
That 83-83 effort … ye gods! Pinstripe pandering to the Hooray Henrys of the era. The prawn sandwich brigade before there were prawn sandwiches.
Euro 88 in the late kick-off. The sleeve hoops were a little weird, but iirc drop shoulders were in round then and that showed off the look. Only thing was you needed square shoulders to pull it off and I was a scrawny wee runt with, as père Grise often noted, a chest like a hen's forehead, and no hope of filling the jersey!
Razors left peg
14/11/2020, 8:12 PM
88, hated the other one. Was like a towel
14/11/2020, 9:04 PM
88 for me too. I like both pretty well. Both designs incorporate a little orange well. I guess the shamrock crest swings it.
Eirambler
14/11/2020, 9:04 PM
Euro 88 kit - finding it hard to separate the kits from the success or lack of success that was achieved in them. Still though, much prefer it to the 2000/2001 kit.
14/11/2020, 9:06 PM
1986/87 one, and euro 88 for the fact it was my first irish shirt, and i can just about still manage to fit into it, with the belly and all, lol
14/11/2020, 9:27 PM
Steve Finan one for me.
15/11/2020, 12:11 AM
86/87 for the first one.
I'm torn over the second..McGrath adidas is an almost perfect jersey, destroyed by the sleeve choice. The Finnan one was the perfect shade of green, proper now-vintage collar, but was a horrible baggy mess too. McGrath just shades it.