View Full Version : Israel Tickets thread

DesperateDan
25/05/2005, 7:51 AM
I'm looking for 1 ticket for the Israel game.

Much obliged.

Donal81
25/05/2005, 7:58 AM
I'm looking for three! I must join up to a local club, this is ridiculous, every game is the same...

DesperateDan
25/05/2005, 8:01 AM
email the fai and ask them to put you on their block booking scheme. I only had to wait about 18 months. I've got 2 tickets now for every game. Still need a third though for me oul fella!

Donal81
25/05/2005, 8:19 AM
I wrote to the FAI about two years ago asking for that. They only got back to me to tell me that there was a long waiting list. Then, when they announced their new ticket scheme a few years ago which was f*cking extortionate, they wrote to me for that as well. Whenever a friendly isn't selling well, like the one against Canada, they write to me then. When it comes to what I actually want - guaranteed tickets for each home game - they're a useless shower of sh!tes.

It wouldn't annoy me as much as it does if I didn't know first-hand that a bundle go out to corporate clients like AIB. I often get my tickets from that source so maybe I shouldn't knock it (a friend works for them) but I don't see why an AIB bank manager will be walking around next week with 20 tickets while I have none.

DesperateDan
25/05/2005, 8:34 AM
I bought every ticket they offered me while I was on the waiting list (apart from that crazy offer you referred to) so maybe that's the trick. Keep buying for all the friendlies if you can and then you should get sorted.

Donal81
25/05/2005, 9:14 AM
I didn't go to the Canada game because I was away but I go to all the friendlies. They're just a shambles. I appreciate that clubs should get a load of tickets but it's the corporate thing that I can't stand.

25/05/2005, 9:16 AM
YOu cant turn your nose up at Canada etc. To be on the block booking you have to show loyalty and that means going to every home game both competitite and friendly. I signed up to the block booking before when Brian Kerr took charge. I was put on the waiting list and offered tickets for friendly matches and then eventually competitive games where the away allocation was not taken up. A couple of weeks ago i was rewarded with this by eventually been put on the full list which means I have 2 tickets for every home game from now on. This idea that the FAI are useless and that they only offer you tickets for the ones you want. Well I say tough luck. I think the FAI are pretty good when it comes to tickets and they haev a pretty good system in place for home games. I think for away games they should bring in a similar system.

Donal81
25/05/2005, 9:41 AM
YOu cant turn your nose up at Canada etc. To be on the block booking you have to show loyalty and that means going to every home game both competitite and friendly. I signed up to the block booking before when Brian Kerr took charge. I was put on the waiting list and offered tickets for friendly matches and then eventually competitive games where the away allocation was not taken up. A couple of weeks ago i was rewarded with this by eventually been put on the full list which means I have 2 tickets for every home game from now on. This idea that the FAI are useless and that they only offer you tickets for the ones you want. Well I say tough luck. I think the FAI are pretty good when it comes to tickets and they haev a pretty good system in place for home games. I think for away games they should bring in a similar system.

Mate, I don't know where you're coming from here. Like I said above, I go to all the home games and don't turn my nose up at any friendlies because I love following my team. I didn't go to the Canada game because I was on holidays at the time (it was in the summer, if I remember. Actually, I might be mixing Canada up with the US, I can't remember. I went to one but couldn't go to the other). I didn't go to the Czech Republic because I was working and couldn't get it off but I had bought the ticket for it. Apart from those two, I've gone to all of them.

The FAI have only written to me for the Canada game and their ridiculous new scheme. Remember, the Canada game was two years ago this summer. We've played a rake of friendlies since then and I've gone out and bought tickets without them ever offering them to me.

Congrats on getting on the block-booking scheme but I don't think the FAI are pretty good when it comes to tickets. In fact, I think they're brutal. You're experience is a decent one, mine isn't as so far as I know, they give more of a toss about some AIB bank manager than they do about people who actually want to go.

Colm55
25/05/2005, 9:45 AM

Thats easy for you to say because you have access to the tickets, like Donal81, i've been to most of the home friendlies and competitive games over the past few years and struggle to get tickets for them, A lad i know goes to all the games home and away and went to the world cup, and he struggles to get tickets most of the time, how fair is that ? He keeps all his stubbs (as do I) but his loyalty means nothing when it comes to asking the FAI for a ticket.

25/05/2005, 9:46 AM
Getting tickets from Ticketmaster or from another source other than the FAI is no good in the FAI eyes. The trick is not to wait to be offered but to get on to them and ask to be offered tickets for every friendly game. If they can put tickets on ticketmaster they can easily offer tickets to someone on the waiting list. Also I would also advise to always take the tickets regardless of whether you can go or not. One slip up and your are back to square one and bottom of the list again.

25/05/2005, 9:47 AM
The Canada game was in November! You might be confusing it with Turkey or Australia

25/05/2005, 9:50 AM
Thats easy for you to say because you have access to the tickets, like Donal81, i've been to most of the home friendlies and competitive games over the past few years and struggle to get tickets for them, A lad i know goes to all the games home and away and went to the world cup, and he struggles to get tickets most of the time, how fair is that ? He keeps all his stubbs (as do I) but his loyalty means nothing when it comes to asking the FAI for a ticket.

What is stopping anybody else getting access to the tickets. I am notPrivileged . I just wrote a letter and asked to be put on the list. I wrote 3 times in total. Eventually I was put on the list and from then on I have taken tickets. A couple of times they have forgotton to offer me tickets and I have rang up and gave out and got the tickets offered to me. Eventually a few spaces have been freed up on the block booking list and I am now on that list.

TheOwl
25/05/2005, 9:55 AM
Trust me Donal81 will go to great lengths to go Ireland games; he will even get painfully unqualified people to teach his class on a Wednesday night just so he can sneak off to a friendly internationals.

Hey Donal – that’s is you right? Haven’t seen you in Whelans for a while?

Donal81
25/05/2005, 10:02 AM
It is indeed, welcome to foot.ie! Haven't been in Whelan's in ages, true, a bit sick of the place. I'll get back into it, it's still a regular thing?

Donal81
25/05/2005, 10:05 AM
The Canada game was in November! You might be confusing it with Turkey or Australia

Yeah, I can't remember which one, there were a few of them fairly close together. Maybe it was Australia I missed. It was in August 2003, anyway. I distinctly remember getting a letter for the Canada game and I don't receive anything else from them. I've contacted them plenty of times to ask how things are getting on and it's always the same answer. They're an incompetent shower of clowns and I've come across little to change my mind. This is obviously based on my own experiences.

25/05/2005, 10:12 AM
Dosent matter if you miss the game so long as you bought the tickets.
I was in Australia for a year and missed a good few games but still forked
out the cash for the tickets and remained on the list.

TheOwl
25/05/2005, 10:32 AM
It is indeed, welcome to foot.ie! Haven't been in Whelan's in ages, true, a bit sick of the place. I'll get back into it, it's still a regular thing?

Sure I’ve been reading the Eircom League board for ages, just couldn’t be arsed to post. My tiny post count has been limited to talking about Wednesday in the playoffs with some fellow Irish Wednesdayites. I’m heading off the Cardiff on Sunday very excited!

As for Whelans – we still go just not as much, the lovely Catherine is having a BBQ next month though so I might see you there.

onenilgameover
25/05/2005, 10:32 AM
I was stewarding at the Cananda gama and it seems like quite a few people snubbed those tickets as there was only 18,000 there...Missed a cracker of a goal from duffer. If the likes of these lads get kicked off the list for that kind of stuff I say fair play to the FAI. Only way they can assure tickets go to the right fans

TheOwl
25/05/2005, 10:39 AM
It wouldn't annoy me as much as it does if I didn't know first-hand that a bundle go out to corporate clients like AIB. I often get my tickets from that source so maybe I shouldn't knock it (a friend works for them) but I don't see why an AIB bank manager will be walking around next week with 20 tickets while I have none.

Interesting you mention the AIB link regarding tickets, as it was from an AIB source that I got my tickets for Paris and Basel (2-0 defeat).

I know one small department of AIB that has 22 block tickets for home games, can’t imagine how many the company has in total.

The problem is definitely at source because people are always going to use whatever contacts they can to get tickets, and you can’t really blame them for doing so.

I’ll be honest here, I just plain don’t like the friendly matches and just could not be arsed paying 40 odd bills to go and see them.

However, the qualifiers are of course a different matter, and I try to get to every competitive home game.

Thankfully, I have a couple of sources that help me out with tickets, and I should be ok for Israel tickets.

Do I deserve to go the game more than those who go to every friendly game? Of course not! But when it comes to Irish tickets you’ve got to be ruthless, so there is no way I’m giving up a ticket if it falls on my lap.

Having said that, the FAI should develop some sort of loyalty scheme, akin to what they have at English football clubs.

I wanted to go see Wednesday’s away game with Brentford in the playoffs (I was at the home leg) but there was no way I was going to be able to get tickets because of the way they were sold.

First they were sold to season ticket holders who had X amount of stubs from away games,

Then to those were season tickets holders.

Then to members etc etc.

There should be say 5,000 tickets reserved for a game like the Israel match.

They could go on sale first to those who can produce stubs from the three away matches so far.

Then to those who have friendly stubs etc. etc.

And if there is any left they can then go on general sale.

To be fair to the FAI their issuing of part of the North Terrace to Eircom League fans was a great idea as at least they were rewarding people who pump money into Irish football on a weekly basis..

25/05/2005, 10:46 AM
I really dont see why they should change it As I see it

The FAI rewards people who go to every home game. Simple if you got every home game you get a ticket for the next match. You will keep getting tickets until you fail to take a ticket for a match. Seems pretty fair to me.

THe only problem I would have is in relation to away tickets. They should introduce a similar seperate system for away matches. There is no need to produce stubs they have record of who buys what on their system. Its done through numbers rather than people having a drawer full of stubs.

Donal81
25/05/2005, 10:54 AM
Sure I’ve been reading the Eircom League board for ages, just couldn’t be arsed to post. My tiny post count has been limited to talking about Wednesday in the playoffs with some fellow Irish Wednesdayites. I’m heading off the Cardiff on Sunday very excited!

Stick around on this forum for much talk about the Irish boys in Wednesday, Glenn Whelan, etc. There are loads of people on the Ireland forum who know their football but the more specific fans of lower division clubs the better as that's where most Irish chaps are playing football.

TheOwl
25/05/2005, 11:08 AM
Stick around on this forum for much talk about the Irish boys in Wednesday, Glenn Whelan, etc. There are loads of people on the Ireland forum who know their football but the more specific fans of lower division clubs the better as that's where most Irish chaps are playing football.

Well Wednesday fans can't speak highly enough about Whelan. Definitely a player with Premiership potential, I just hope he gets there with Wednesday, as I don't want to see him snapped up by some big club who wont even play him.

Best thing from an Irish standpoint is that he is allowed to develop under Paul Sturrock who in his short time at Hillsborough has already established a god-like reputation.

Some good (Paul Jewell) and many bad managers have tried to turn Wednesday around these last few years, but Sturrock is the first to have made any impact.

A good game to judge Whelan will be on Sunday – you can’t get bigger pressure than a playoff final and Wednesday are bring over 40,000 fans too so the atmosphere should be amazing – a great test for the young lad.

Believe or not there is already a “Glenn Whelan Appreciation Society” amongst Wednesday fans! But Sturrock is the real saviour, as the fans sing…

Thank God for Rupert Lowe
He let Paul Sturrock go
Who needs Mourinho
When we’ve got Paul Sturrocko!

Eirambler
25/05/2005, 1:38 PM
Nice to see Sturrock doing well, He got shafted at Southampton. Its their own fault theyre down (Rupert Lowes to be exact), if they'd held on to Sturrock they'd have been OK.

A lot of people on here have Glenn Whelan down to eventually replace Keane in the holding Midfield role. Don't know myself because I haven't seen him play but from what you said it sounds promising.

TheOwl
25/05/2005, 1:58 PM
He is a different type of player to Keane, but I do think he most suited to a deeper role.

Just a good, all-round, very intelligent player. A sort of League One Xavi Alonso who is not afraid to get stuck in either.

However, having said all that, I've haven't see enough games to make up my mind completly. Sunday will only be the third Wednesday game I've been at this season, while I've watched a futher two live on TV.

25/05/2005, 2:40 PM
From owlsonline.com

Player of the month:
Feb----Glenn Whelan

---------------------------------------------------------
OWLSONLINE YOUNG PLAYER OF THE SEASON 2005
(Must be 21 or under this year)
-------------------GLENN WHELAN--------------

Another player that got off to a slow start, starting as he did with a three match suspension from his Man City days, but he's made up for lost time, and especially of late. He's always going to have a collection of cards each season, but he is a wonderful talent. In the last couple of months or so he really has blossomed. Surely a Player of the Season in the not too distance future, and had he had a brighter start to this season who knows? He's already been talked about as being the new Sheridan, but with a bit more attitude, and of late you really can see that in him. I for one can't wait to see him develop, there is some player in there.

who would have thought that a 21 year old Man City reserve would become the main man in midfield

Drumcondra Red
25/05/2005, 2:50 PM
email the fai and ask them to put you on their block booking scheme. I only had to wait about 18 months. I've got 2 tickets now for every game. Still need a third though for me oul fella!

I can't get tickets either, took your advice DD and I am now on a waiting list along with 2 thousand other people!!! Roll on Croke Park :rolleyes:

TheOwl
25/05/2005, 2:54 PM
Whelan is probably the most important player on the team, let alone in midfield.

onenilgameover
26/05/2005, 11:36 AM
Don't shoot the messenger and this is only second hand info...but suposedly the Israeli have returned some of their tickets and the Fai are now awaiting clearence form the Guards???? (anyone know if this has happened before...Needing clearence I mean) and if they get clearence they will be selling them on Monday on general sale.....

Anyone here any more....???????????

SeanieBoy
26/05/2005, 11:51 AM
Dosent matter if you miss the game so long as you bought the tickets.
I was in Australia for a year and missed a good few games but still forked
out the cash for the tickets and remained on the list.

I agree, I get 2 tickets for every game even if I can't go, you have to take them just to make sure you get tickets for the big games, someone always takes them off me if I can't use them anyway.

Don Vito
26/05/2005, 5:05 PM
I wrote to the FAI about two years ago asking for that. They only got back to me to tell me that there was a long waiting list. Then, when they announced their new ticket scheme a few years ago which was f*cking extortionate, they wrote to me for that as well. Whenever a friendly isn't selling well, like the one against Canada, they write to me then. When it comes to what I actually want - guaranteed tickets for each home game - they're a useless shower of sh!tes.

They are a feckin useless shower and I am really p!ssed off with them at the moment. I joined the block booking waiting list approx 18 months ago and didnt hear a thing off the FAI apart from the offer for the €7,500 tickets, I came on here to find out people on the waiting list have been getting offers for home games (incl. some qualifiers) yet I hadnt heard a thing from them. I recently got in contact with them to see why I wasnt getting any of these offers and got a fairly snotty email back assuring me that these offers had been sent to me, basically calling me a liar :mad: . I appreciate one might have gotten lost in the post, but all of them I think not. Its strange how the offer for the extortinate corporate tickets got to me though. So basically I have missed out on the chance to build up brownie points (which appears to be the way to move up the waiting list) with them because of a balls up with their mailing list and people who joined at the same time as me such as Deperate Dan are on the Block Booking Scheme proper now. Really sickens me. I'm not saying I'm the greatest fan or anything, the main reason for my rant is that I havent been receiving the same treatment as others on the waiting list. As of last week I am no. 740 on the waiting list, all I can hope for is a load more friendlies against really poor opposition to weed out the less dedicated.

Closed Account 2
26/05/2005, 5:06 PM
anyone know of a venue where its possible to watch the match in Stockholm, Sweden ?

Don Vito
26/05/2005, 5:12 PM
Is there anyone out there who is on the block booking waiting list and receives offers for tickets? If so, could you let me know when the offers come out so I can get on to the FAI when I inevitabley do not recieve mine and let them know that I'm not receiving them.

26/05/2005, 5:40 PM
anyone know of a venue where its possible to watch the match in Stockholm, Sweden ?
Stockholm Galway's Irish Pub & Restaurant Kungsgatan 24
111 35
Tel:08-24 75 42 Rev web darts, live sports Coverage disco/pop music, nightclub
Stockholm Shamrock, ' like Cheers' Folkungagatan 102
Stockholm SE, 116 30
+46 8 644 46 45 ref darts n/a
Stockholm Stallet, (theatre)
n/a OwnWWW Rev1 n/a live folk music occasionally
Stockholm O'Learys Bar & Restaurant - SportsBar Kungsholmsgatan 31
Tel: +46 (0)8-654 52 10 email web European Soccer & US Sports food, music
Stockholm O'Leary's Sports Bar -(American Style) Götgatan 11
116 46 Stock.
+46 8 644 69 01 OwnWWW email CB large Screens, Premiership (SKY) Shows Celtic Matches n/a
Stockholm O'Learys Bar & Restaurant - SportsBar Heron City, Dialoggatan 2
Tel: +46 (0)8-505 607 80 email web European Soccer & US Sports food, music
Stockholm Shamrock Folkungagatan 102,
116 30 Stock.
tel:08-644 46 45
Web email n/a n/a
Stockholm The Dubliner Smalandsgatan 8, (Norrmalmstorg)
111 46
Tel: 08 679 7707) OwnWWW ref email Rev1 Celtic Pub, GAA matches shown live music every night
Stockholm The Dubliner SouthSide Hornsgatan 104
SE-117 26
+46 8 669 50 52 OwnWWW ref email Celtic Pub live music every night
Stockholm The Limerick Tegnérgatan 10
Stockholm SE, 113 58,
tel: 46 8 673 19 02 Rev1 ref n/a live music occasionally
Stockholm The Loft Regeringsgatan 66
+46- 8 -411 19 91 ref Rev1 Email n/a live music occasionally
Stockholm Wirstroms ST NYGATAN 13, 111 27 STOCKHOLM
+46 8 21 28 74 CB ref email
Shows Celtic Matches, darts Live bands Wed, Thurs, Fri Sat.

link here (http://www.europeanirish.com/PubsShops/NorthEIrishPubs.htm)

just email/check website of a few of these, should do the job, say they will all be showing it :D

2Olegend
26/05/2005, 7:03 PM
If you get involved with under-age football and your local under-age league, it can be a good way to get into a block and it's enjoyable. It worked for me that's all i can say.

i know this is an emotive issue and sympathise with those that are frustrated beyond words with the fai.

polite letters and sexual favours do NOT work believe me :eek: :D

Closed Account 2
26/05/2005, 7:25 PM
link here (http://www.europeanirish.com/PubsShops/NorthEIrishPubs.htm)

just email/check website of a few of these, should do the job, say they will all be showing it :D

excellent... thanks very much ;)

26/05/2005, 7:47 PM
excellent... thanks very much ;)

No probs, it's a good site if you're ever in Europe and want to find a bar showing Ireland/GAA games :D

Don Vito
27/05/2005, 10:44 AM
If you get involved with under-age football and your local under-age league, it can be a good way to get into a block and it's enjoyable. It worked for me that's all i can say.

i know this is an emotive issue and sympathise with those that are frustrated beyond words with the fai.

polite letters and sexual favours do NOT work believe me :eek: :D

Cheers for the tip but already doing that, sell Lotto tickets, hang nets and mark pitches already with my local club. Think the tickets are taken by people who do alot more than me though so can't really complain on that front.

zinedineontour
28/05/2005, 5:13 PM
not very funny some people here are desperate for tickets ....

jimbob117
28/05/2005, 5:30 PM
You should be barred if you are being serious, i do believe you have broken one of the rules on touting tickets

28/05/2005, 5:34 PM
I don't see the trouble involved in asking someone to meet you at your hotel where you would have been anyway would warrant the 30 Euro charge. I am not sure how you ended up paying 85 Euro in the first place either.

I assume this is a joke post right?

jimbob117
28/05/2005, 5:51 PM
2. you can see that i am not gaining from this almost anything.

If you have 8 spare tickets, and increasing the price by 30e, i figure you may be gaining from it. And asking is it against the law is just silly.

28/05/2005, 6:06 PM
now that i've read your post, i guess that i should forget about the whole idea. i'm not saying this "against" you as a "punishment" or something like that. it's just i thought that it wouldn't be a big affort for me, and people here would aprreciate it. the extra pay is just because that if i'll deal with it, it will take my time during this week and more importantly during the very little time i have on my weekend trip (cordinations etc.) so i think it is only fair (i won't get rich from this thing if this was what you thought...)

I fail to see how if you told someone to be at your hotel in the morning and you exhanged the tickets and money it would take more than a minute. Do you honestly believe you deserve 30 Euro for this small matter? How does one individual come to get their hands on 8 tickets anyway? :confused:

soccerc
28/05/2005, 6:25 PM
This is strange as on another forum an Isreali offered a ticket to users then put it on an auction site where it sold for €122 (approx).

The Israeli FA did not sell any tickets but sent them to an outside agency who charged €45 for a €30 North Terrace Ticket - (there was a €15 handling charge), so I assume these tickets are lower west priced at €50/€60) face and changed €65/€75) so a nice little profit.

If this seller is seeking €115 on what he claims he spent €85 and he has 8 available he stands to profit €240. Now an envelope from Israel next day delivey costs no more than €35, so that knocks his FedEx claim.

Finally The Israeli FA will not accept tickets back as they didn't sell them. I was in contact with the agency trying to source tickets for some ppl here who were seeking them but to no avial.

The person i spoke to told me they sold lots of tickets but didn't expect the number of ppl travelling to match the sales. He indicated that I would easily find Isreali's offloading tickets above face value as it was perceived as very expensive for them to travel to Ireland for the game.

He also told me that most of those buying tickets were members of the IDF who are paid very little during their time in the military and many would see this opportunity of making money to pay for their trips.

I expect ppl will be able to source tickets at face value early next week from more reliable sources ;)

soccerc
28/05/2005, 6:29 PM
the only thing that i don't know/i worry about, is that i don't know the law in ireland, i don't want to get in trouble or something like that for selling these tickets (even they are not overpriced...), and i am realy doing this just because i saw here that people really want tickets for the game. is this against the law? i only have few tickets. do you think i am doing something asgaint the law over there? if there is a little chance that i am, please tell me because i don't mind helping people but i don't want to break the law or something.
If you have the tickets in your hand you will note that their re-sale above face value is not permitted and if you think you are doing a service, think again. Real football fans don't scalp other fans - EVER

28/05/2005, 6:31 PM
Please do not make yourself out to be noble if you are charging almost double face value.

zinedineontour
28/05/2005, 6:42 PM
no wonder the jews have so much money ! tight git..

28/05/2005, 6:43 PM
no wonder the jews have so much money ! tight git..

Eh, you might want to edit that before a mod sees.

zinedineontour
28/05/2005, 6:48 PM
this another ron atkinson moment ,, cant say nowt these days... just dont like the idea of people from israel coming on here touting .. we have enough of those over here

28/05/2005, 6:48 PM
Touts I take it you mean?

zinedineontour
28/05/2005, 6:49 PM
Touts I take it you mean?

sorry yeah touts !!!!!!!!!!