Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Israel Tickets thread

Need ticket for Israel game

I'm looking for 1 ticket for the Israel game.

Much obliged.

I'm looking for three! I must join up to a local club, this is ridiculous, every game is the same...

email the fai and ask them to put you on their block booking scheme. I only had to wait about 18 months. I've got 2 tickets now for every game. Still need a third though for me oul fella!

I wrote to the FAI about two years ago asking for that. They only got back to me to tell me that there was a long waiting list. Then, when they announced their new ticket scheme a few years ago which was f*cking extortionate, they wrote to me for that as well. Whenever a friendly isn't selling well, like the one against Canada, they write to me then. When it comes to what I actually want - guaranteed tickets for each home game - they're a useless shower of sh!tes.

It wouldn't annoy me as much as it does if I didn't know first-hand that a bundle go out to corporate clients like AIB. I often get my tickets from that source so maybe I shouldn't knock it (a friend works for them) but I don't see why an AIB bank manager will be walking around next week with 20 tickets while I have none.

I bought every ticket they offered me while I was on the waiting list (apart from that crazy offer you referred to) so maybe that's the trick. Keep buying for all the friendlies if you can and then you should get sorted.

I didn't go to the Canada game because I was away but I go to all the friendlies. They're just a shambles. I appreciate that clubs should get a load of tickets but it's the corporate thing that I can't stand.

YOu cant turn your nose up at Canada etc. To be on the block booking you have to show loyalty and that means going to every home game both competitite and friendly. I signed up to the block booking before when Brian Kerr took charge. I was put on the waiting list and offered tickets for friendly matches and then eventually competitive games where the away allocation was not taken up. A couple of weeks ago i was rewarded with this by eventually been put on the full list which means I have 2 tickets for every home game from now on. This idea that the FAI are useless and that they only offer you tickets for the ones you want. Well I say tough luck. I think the FAI are pretty good when it comes to tickets and they haev a pretty good system in place for home games. I think for away games they should bring in a similar system.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    YOu cant turn your nose up at Canada etc. To be on the block booking you have to show loyalty and that means going to every home game both competitite and friendly. I signed up to the block booking before when Brian Kerr took charge. I was put on the waiting list and offered tickets for friendly matches and then eventually competitive games where the away allocation was not taken up. A couple of weeks ago i was rewarded with this by eventually been put on the full list which means I have 2 tickets for every home game from now on. This idea that the FAI are useless and that they only offer you tickets for the ones you want. Well I say tough luck. I think the FAI are pretty good when it comes to tickets and they haev a pretty good system in place for home games. I think for away games they should bring in a similar system.
    Mate, I don't know where you're coming from here. Like I said above, I go to all the home games and don't turn my nose up at any friendlies because I love following my team. I didn't go to the Canada game because I was on holidays at the time (it was in the summer, if I remember. Actually, I might be mixing Canada up with the US, I can't remember. I went to one but couldn't go to the other). I didn't go to the Czech Republic because I was working and couldn't get it off but I had bought the ticket for it. Apart from those two, I've gone to all of them.

The FAI have only written to me for the Canada game and their ridiculous new scheme. Remember, the Canada game was two years ago this summer. We've played a rake of friendlies since then and I've gone out and bought tickets without them ever offering them to me.

Congrats on getting on the block-booking scheme but I don't think the FAI are pretty good when it comes to tickets. In fact, I think they're brutal. You're experience is a decent one, mine isn't as so far as I know, they give more of a toss about some AIB bank manager than they do about people who actually want to go.

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    Thats easy for you to say because you have access to the tickets, like Donal81, i've been to most of the home friendlies and competitive games over the past few years and struggle to get tickets for them, A lad i know goes to all the games home and away and went to the world cup, and he struggles to get tickets most of the time, how fair is that ? He keeps all his stubbs (as do I) but his loyalty means nothing when it comes to asking the FAI for a ticket.

Getting tickets from Ticketmaster or from another source other than the FAI is no good in the FAI eyes. The trick is not to wait to be offered but to get on to them and ask to be offered tickets for every friendly game. If they can put tickets on ticketmaster they can easily offer tickets to someone on the waiting list. Also I would also advise to always take the tickets regardless of whether you can go or not. One slip up and your are back to square one and bottom of the list again.
    In Trap we trust

3,498 Posts
    The Canada game was in November! You might be confusing it with Turkey or Australia

Quote Originally Posted by Colm55
    Thats easy for you to say because you have access to the tickets, like Donal81, i've been to most of the home friendlies and competitive games over the past few years and struggle to get tickets for them, A lad i know goes to all the games home and away and went to the world cup, and he struggles to get tickets most of the time, how fair is that ? He keeps all his stubbs (as do I) but his loyalty means nothing when it comes to asking the FAI for a ticket.

What is stopping anybody else getting access to the tickets. I am notPrivileged . I just wrote a letter and asked to be put on the list. I wrote 3 times in total. Eventually I was put on the list and from then on I have taken tickets. A couple of times they have forgotton to offer me tickets and I have rang up and gave out and got the tickets offered to me. Eventually a few spaces have been freed up on the block booking list and I am now on that list.
    Last edited by NeilMcD; 25/05/2005 at 9:58 AM.
    In Trap we trust

Was Dublin, then Madrid, then Paris, now London
    Trust me Donal81 will go to great lengths to go Ireland games; he will even get painfully unqualified people to teach his class on a Wednesday night just so he can sneak off to a friendly internationals.

Hey Donal – that’s is you right? Haven’t seen you in Whelans for a while?

It is indeed, welcome to foot.ie! Haven't been in Whelan's in ages, true, a bit sick of the place. I'll get back into it, it's still a regular thing?

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979
    The Canada game was in November! You might be confusing it with Turkey or Australia
    Yeah, I can't remember which one, there were a few of them fairly close together. Maybe it was Australia I missed. It was in August 2003, anyway. I distinctly remember getting a letter for the Canada game and I don't receive anything else from them. I've contacted them plenty of times to ask how things are getting on and it's always the same answer. They're an incompetent shower of clowns and I've come across little to change my mind. This is obviously based on my own experiences.

30 Posts
    Dosent matter if you miss the game so long as you bought the tickets.
    I was in Australia for a year and missed a good few games but still forked
    out the cash for the tickets and remained on the list.

Quote Originally Posted by Donal81
    It is indeed, welcome to foot.ie! Haven't been in Whelan's in ages, true, a bit sick of the place. I'll get back into it, it's still a regular thing?
    Sure I’ve been reading the Eircom League board for ages, just couldn’t be arsed to post. My tiny post count has been limited to talking about Wednesday in the playoffs with some fellow Irish Wednesdayites. I’m heading off the Cardiff on Sunday very excited!

As for Whelans – we still go just not as much, the lovely Catherine is having a BBQ next month though so I might see you there.

I was stewarding at the Cananda gama and it seems like quite a few people snubbed those tickets as there was only 18,000 there...Missed a cracker of a goal from duffer. If the likes of these lads get kicked off the list for that kind of stuff I say fair play to the FAI. Only way they can assure tickets go to the right fans

Quote Originally Posted by Donal81
    It wouldn't annoy me as much as it does if I didn't know first-hand that a bundle go out to corporate clients like AIB. I often get my tickets from that source so maybe I shouldn't knock it (a friend works for them) but I don't see why an AIB bank manager will be walking around next week with 20 tickets while I have none.

Interesting you mention the AIB link regarding tickets, as it was from an AIB source that I got my tickets for Paris and Basel (2-0 defeat).

I know one small department of AIB that has 22 block tickets for home games, can’t imagine how many the company has in total.

The problem is definitely at source because people are always going to use whatever contacts they can to get tickets, and you can’t really blame them for doing so.

I’ll be honest here, I just plain don’t like the friendly matches and just could not be arsed paying 40 odd bills to go and see them.

However, the qualifiers are of course a different matter, and I try to get to every competitive home game.

Thankfully, I have a couple of sources that help me out with tickets, and I should be ok for Israel tickets.

Do I deserve to go the game more than those who go to every friendly game? Of course not! But when it comes to Irish tickets you’ve got to be ruthless, so there is no way I’m giving up a ticket if it falls on my lap.

Having said that, the FAI should develop some sort of loyalty scheme, akin to what they have at English football clubs.

I wanted to go see Wednesday’s away game with Brentford in the playoffs (I was at the home leg) but there was no way I was going to be able to get tickets because of the way they were sold.

First they were sold to season ticket holders who had X amount of stubs from away games,

Then to those were season tickets holders.

Then to members etc etc.

There should be say 5,000 tickets reserved for a game like the Israel match.

They could go on sale first to those who can produce stubs from the three away matches so far.

Then to those who have friendly stubs etc. etc.

And if there is any left they can then go on general sale.

To be fair to the FAI their issuing of part of the North Terrace to Eircom League fans was a great idea as at least they were rewarding people who pump money into Irish football on a weekly basis..

I really dont see why they should change it As I see it

The FAI rewards people who go to every home game. Simple if you got every home game you get a ticket for the next match. You will keep getting tickets until you fail to take a ticket for a match. Seems pretty fair to me.

THe only problem I would have is in relation to away tickets. They should introduce a similar seperate system for away matches. There is no need to produce stubs they have record of who buys what on their system. Its done through numbers rather than people having a drawer full of stubs.
    In Trap we trust

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast