View Full Version : The foot.ie community FAQ

Pages : 1 [2] 3

23/05/2005, 2:16 PM
Hadn't noticed that he had any (although I was a little tipsy!) but I don't think anyone else would have! :eek:

yeah you guys looked decidedly 2nd hand = totaly banjaxed :D

kudos for the noise generated :cool:

23/05/2005, 2:42 PM
yeah you guys looked decidedly 2nd hand = totaly banjaxed :D
It had the helpful side-effect that I don't remember too much about the game. :D

23/05/2005, 6:41 PM
Ive introduced myself to people by saying "My names troy McClure, you may remember me from such internet sites as foot.ie" :o It usually gets a laugh & how are ya troy, Im such and such.

Gerret & Sir H, if it was the 80's maybe the guy was into The Cure (if it was just eyeliner). Im sure that would explain his popularity with the lady-folk.

Ive met a few from Cork, who I would have happily ignored otherwise and the odd one or two elsewhere. I think I would have known the UCD guys (or atleast Aberdeen Stu & Schumi) anyway, so maybe that fits in with the "Oh, I didnt know you were on foot.ie too" question.

We had 10 ish at the irish fanzine meeting a few weeks ago and will hopefully have another meeting in the next week or 2 so maybe we will beat that number :)

23/05/2005, 10:53 PM
Peader accosted me in Hampden at the friendly against Scotland a few years back with the words

"A Derry fan in Hampden, you wouldn't be Maribor would ye?" :D

I have met a few posters from each club at some stage or another, like Macy met more when I was living in Dublin and inhabiting JW's site

Eire06
24/05/2005, 9:43 AM
Peader accosted me in Hampden at the friendly against Scotland a few years back with the words

"A Derry fan in Hampden, you wouldn't be Maribor would ye?" :D

Gees everyone seems to have met Peadar!!
He gets around does he? :rolleyes:

24/05/2005, 10:29 AM
when I was living in Dublin and inhabiting JW's site

Yeah, about 5 years ago when eircomleague.net was big.
Myself and Philo were working in Amsterdam and used to spend the evening shift winding each other and others up.
Then we started meeting people in real life and had to explain that we were only joking. Actually met a load of people at the Ireland U21 game in Nijmegen.

He gets around does he? :rolleyes:

You make it sound like something sinister! :(

Eire06
24/05/2005, 10:35 AM
You make it sound like something sinister! :(
I'm only joking with ya :o

Xlex
24/05/2005, 12:36 PM
yeah have met quite a few of the old board.

Students, Cork and the Pats lads. Couple of Bohs and Rovers heads.

Vetern of one MB game and BillyG completely done me... never forget it.

Probably know more of the others than I do the Town fans these days. It helps them stay down and behave the way they do...

I'm probably the one who hates Marty calling me by my web handle more than anyone.

And just to add, just so she doesn't give grief ;).... I'm going out with Sinead and I'm sure it isn't me she taught how to kiss.... :p

Started off as an addict but I'm much more calmer now, only let loose when ****ed (off).....

Bring back the message board game.

Users I most like to meet are SLK, Colm and Aface. Just to put a person behind the name. Oh and Macy to odd time for a home game!

24/05/2005, 12:37 PM
I remember being in Paris under the Eifel Tower on the day of the Ireland France game at the big foot.ie meet up trying to spot various members,
I was there and seen that guy aswell... Im the Rooney lad!!!! ;)

24/05/2005, 12:40 PM
I'm probably the one who hates Marty calling me but my web handle more that anyone.
:D :D

Eire06
24/05/2005, 12:43 PM
I was there and seen that guy aswell... Im the Rooney lad!!!! ;)
Wayne Rooney in disguise??

24/05/2005, 12:44 PM
yeah have met quite a few of the old board.

I spotted you and Sinead in Dublin airport after the Portugal game (standing behind Dunne and Macken) but was too busy wolfing down my Full Irish to talk to you. :)

Xlex
24/05/2005, 12:48 PM
your defo homeless, I've spotted you at the airport more times.

Spotted Dunner alright but Macken didn't get any notice.

Was frigged that morning so you wouldn't have got much of a responce.

just a a side note: Peader is well known as a closet Bohs supporter having gained press accredation for an european away game somewhere in europe?

On another note. Remember James and Leonard?? down Longford enjoying the local hospitality...

Cork had a serious love affair with Longford for a period. Éanna anyone??

24/05/2005, 12:50 PM
Wayne Rooney in disguise??
Every one kept calling me Rooney and signing it to!!! :eek:

Eire06
24/05/2005, 12:54 PM
Every one kept calling me Rooney and signing it to!!! :eek:

Think I met you in Paris, the night after the match outside O'Sullivans...
If it was you, saw you on the Dart in Dublin at the Faroes game too... Had strange flash backs of Paris and singing that to you alright.... Sorry :o

24/05/2005, 12:55 PM
your defo homeless, I've spotted you at the airport more times.

I know, people are always saying that to me.
I'm usually in a world of my own when I'm travelling.

Was frigged that morning so you wouldn't have got much of a responce.

I was in bad shape myself.
Only managed my breakfast after a dose of Motilium, Zantac and Nurofen Plus.

Remember James and Leonard?? down Longford enjoying the local hospitality...

Galway in the Cup could be the big away trip this season.
I think the European Odyssey detracted from Longford last season. :)

just a a side note: Peader is well known as a closet Bohs supporter having gained press accredation for an european away game somewhere in europe?

Oh that's a sly dig now!
I was on my back from Helsinki and decided to stop off at Halmstads (http://www.halmstadsbk.se/) in Sweden.
Nothing more than any other football fan would have done.

24/05/2005, 1:00 PM
Think I met you in Paris, the night after the match outside O'Sullivans...
If it was you, saw you on the Dart in Dublin at the Faroes game too... Had strange flash backs of Paris and singing that to you alright.... Sorry :o
That was me.... Ah your grand it was funny!!! Was that you and your mates talking to me at the Dart???? And i was outside o sullivans aswell :)

24/05/2005, 1:01 PM
Haven't met anyone off here yet!!

Think I met you in Paris

saw you on the Dart in Dublin at the Faroes game too...

Smaller world than you thought, eh Eire06!? ;)

Babysis
24/05/2005, 1:12 PM
Ah Eire06, be warned now your on a slippery slope. it starts with meeting one or two people, or bumping in to them, and the next thing you know you have met the majority of the people you speak to on here :eek:

I look forward to meeting you and KT. :)

24/05/2005, 1:25 PM
Oh that's a sly dig now!
I was on my back from Helsinki and decided to stop off at Halmstads (http://www.halmstadsbk.se/) in Sweden.
Nothing more than any other football fan would have done.
Well that explains the away game, don't know how that explains all the bohs home games spent cheering on from the touchline (literally) :D

24/05/2005, 1:33 PM
don't know how that explains all the bohs home games spent cheering on from the touchline (literally) :D

Where's your evidence that there was any cheering done? :p

All I need now is Philo or Niamh to pipe up and mention the total fabrication about me being photographed in a Bohs shirt in Urlingford. :o

Eire06
24/05/2005, 2:00 PM
That was me.... Ah your grand it was funny!!! Was that you and your mates talking to me at the Dart???? And i was outside o sullivans aswell :)

Ya I was with a crowd from Kerry and Cork in Paris think I was chattin to you then and a few of you friends..

Remember gettin on the Dart after the Faroes and my brother goes theres Wayne Rooney..
its was very funny you looked a bit embarrassed alright...
lucky for you that you don't really look like him, there is a resemblance in the build thats all, so your ok!! :D

Smaller world than you thought, eh Eire06!?

So it is a very small world!! :D
you don't know who your talking to half the time on here!!

Eire06
24/05/2005, 2:02 PM
I look forward to meeting you and KT. :)

Think if we did have a meet up all the boys would pick on us three... but I'm sure we'd be well able for them! :D

Babysis
24/05/2005, 2:12 PM
Think if we did have a meet up all the boys would pick on us three... but I'm sure we'd be well able for them! :D
Having met most of them, Id say we are well able for them ;)

24/05/2005, 2:17 PM
We still do. It's just that the love affair is a bit more difficult when we can only play a flying visit on a tuesday/thursday night instead of spending an entire wekend of debauchery up there :D

All I need now is Philo or Niamh to pipe up and mention the total fabrication about me being photographed in a Bohs shirt in Urlingford. :o
I wonder is that photo still around..........

24/05/2005, 2:18 PM
:) think due to the nature of my job i am mainly a lurker and not a poster these days so forgive me if u dont know who i am.. never met any1 here that i didnt kno already but i spose the most interesting people i wud like to meet would be dahamsta , eanna , plastic paddy , sligoman , petmuller , siemprered

24/05/2005, 2:33 PM
Ya I was with a crowd from Kerry and Cork in Paris think I was chattin to you then and a few of you friends..

Remember gettin on the Dart after the Faroes and my brother goes theres Wayne Rooney..
its was very funny you looked a bit embarrassed alright...
lucky for you that you don't really look like him, there is a resemblance in the build thats all, so your ok!! :D

:p I remember it very well, ah i was only messing when i walked off!! And ye i think, but don't know if i was talking to you. I was downing the Litre bottles of Smirnoff ice, and after that fosters. I wasn't even supposed to get on their coach, i only met them over there cos we were on a different package!!! we were on the edge of the circle, YE??? :confused:
I think the same, i don't really look like him, BUT everyone persists on saying it to me....

Eire06
24/05/2005, 2:39 PM
:p I remember it very well, ah i was only messing when i walked off!! And ye i think, but don't know if i was talking to you. I was downing the Litre bottles of Smirnoff ice, and after that fosters. I wasn't even supposed to get on their coach, i only met them over there cos we were on a different package!!! we were on the edge of the circle, YE??? :confused:
I think the same, i don't really look like him, BUT everyone persists on saying it to me....

Can't remember where exactly we were standing... Think it was at the edge alright when I met ya.. Great weekend anyway...

You are lucky you really don't look like him.. It is just the build and us lot being blind drunk!!
We were singing to a fella who was like Robbie Keane too!! Well he liked to think he was!! :rolleyes:

24/05/2005, 2:46 PM
Can't remember where exactly we were standing... Think it was at the edge alright when I met ya.. Great weekend anyway...

You are lucky you really don't look like him.. It is just the build and us lot being blind drunk!!
We were singing to a fella who was like Robbie Keane too!! Well he liked to think he was!! :rolleyes:
Ah i can remember alright, BUT again i was drunk also.... I am lucky, but p'pl as i've said before will still call me it as they believe i do.... Ah well! Best 5 days i've ever encountered. I met Juninho Paulista formerly of Boro and Celtic in Euro Disney. The man is tiny. :eek:

24/05/2005, 2:54 PM

One of the most horrific sights I ever did see....a City fan putting on a Bohs shirt without a gun being pointed at his head :(

24/05/2005, 2:56 PM
Apart from that have meet quite a few ppl off the boards. Was sharing a house with two of the most famous GUFC fans for awhile and once came home to find the house full of Derry fans on a stop off on their way home...
Fairly bizarre that night was. :eek:

24/05/2005, 2:57 PM
a City fan putting on a Bohs shirt without a gun being pointed at his head :(

It was a bet, Niamh!
You kept saying I'd burst into flames...

Was sharing a house with two of the most famous GUFC fans for awhile

I stood with JC at the China game.
Hadn't seen him in a while.

aido_b
24/05/2005, 2:57 PM
One of the most horrific sights I ever did see....a City fan putting on a Bohs shirt without a gun being pointed at his head :(

He aint the only one, another City lad who posts on these boards "Padjoe" currently has in his possesion one of my Bohs jerseys! Jaysus you're all turning to Bohs!

24/05/2005, 2:59 PM
It was a bet, Niamh!
You kept saying I'd burst into flames...

well isn't that what is supposed to happen when ya wear the devil's clothes i.e. another jersey besides your own?!

Your own free will Peadar :eek:

24/05/2005, 3:03 PM
Your own free will Peadar :eek:

Some guys wear make-up, some guys wear women's clothes, I just had to dabble in cross-club-dressing before I settled down.
We all do crazy things when we're young and foolish! :o

24/05/2005, 3:06 PM
Some guys wear make-up, some guys wear women's clothes, I just had to dabble in cross-club-dressing before I settled down.
We all do crazy things when we're young and foolish! :o

Well ya were wearing a City shirt the last time I saw ya, so ya seem to be on the road to recovery. Times that are best forgotten eh?! ;)

24/05/2005, 3:10 PM
ya seem to be on the road to recovery.

There will never ever be that nigling curiosity in my mind about what it would be like to be in another clubs colours.
City through and through!

How many others can say that!? :p :D

24/05/2005, 3:19 PM
Ah Eire06, be warned now your on a slippery slope. it starts with meeting one or two people, or bumping in to them, and the next thing you know you have met the majority of the people you speak to on here .

I look forward to meeting you and KT.

yup! same here, should be a laugh! :D

Think if we did have a meet up all the boys would pick on us three... but I'm sure we'd be well able for them!

They would try, but not a hope! ;) :D

Eire06
24/05/2005, 3:21 PM
yup! same here, should be a laugh! :D
They would try, but not a hope! ;) :D
It would be interesting alright...
Can you imagine what the totty thread would be like after it, we could analyse all of them!!! :rolleyes: But I suppose that works both ways :eek:

24/05/2005, 3:23 PM
It would be interesting alright...
Can you imagine what the totty thread would be like after it, we could analyse all of them!!! :rolleyes: But I suppose that works both ways :eek:

:D yeah, i think we'd get murdered if we brought them into the Totty Watch thread..... :D

24/05/2005, 3:24 PM
i think we'd get murdered if we brought them into the Totty Watch thread...

I don't think we could justify bringing any of you into the Totty Watch thread.
Even cartoon characters get in ahead of you! :eek: :D

Eire06
24/05/2005, 3:26 PM
Even cartoon characters get in ahead of you! :eek: :D
:mad:
Well you've only seen Babysis and you did say someplace on here that she was goodlooking... :eek:
Just cause your on it don't be getting a big head now, it was a boy who put you up!! :rolleyes:

24/05/2005, 3:27 PM
Even cartoon characters get in ahead of you!

Not our fault that you lot are so desperate as to fancying animations... :rolleyes: :D

They don't really exist Peadar! :( :D

Pat O' Banton
24/05/2005, 3:28 PM
I remember being in Paris under the Eifel Tower on the day of the Ireland France game at the big foot.ie meet up trying to spot various members, myself and the Jamaican PM spotted this fella in his 40's standin there in awe of it all, we were convinced it was Pat O'Banton but we didnt have the courage to go up and see. I guess we'll never know but even now myself and the PM still think of that guy as Pat. Not a great story but its my only story about meeting people from foot.ie! :D

The bloke was obviously about 6 foot tall, rippling muscles and a couple of lurvelllly Parisian gals hanging on his every word :eek: :D . However unfortunately it was not me I was in bar hopping for most of the day and never got to the Eifel Tower. So now you do know.

Babysis
24/05/2005, 3:28 PM
I think the safest option is to keep all of us off the totty watch thread :eek:

I have no desire to be analysed by these lot. :D but cant speak for you lot. For the sake of our little community, thats one road I dont think we should go down personnally :p

24/05/2005, 3:29 PM
Well you've only seen Babysis and you did say someplace on here that she was goodlooking...
Just cause your on it don't be getting a big head now, it was a boy who put you up!! :rolleyes:

hee hee :eek: :D yeah! Eanna likes you and your drums! :eek:

Pat O' Banton
24/05/2005, 3:30 PM
Also I got the feeling that Longford's finest, a Mr Pauro7, currently of Kingston was stalking for much of St. Patrick's day. :eek: :D

24/05/2005, 3:31 PM

I have no desire to be analysed by these lot. :D but cant speak for you lot. For the sake of our little community, thats one road I dont think we should go down personnally :p

yeah let's leave it for those special :eek: famous airbrushed people :D

24/05/2005, 3:31 PM
Well you've only seen Babysis

I've seen kt because she posted pictures of herself on the Totty Watch thread.
At least I didn't have to post my own picture! :rolleyes:

Eire06
24/05/2005, 3:32 PM

Yes I think so... Regret even mentioning it actually!!

I've seen kt because she posted pictures of herself on the Totty Watch thread.
At least I didn't have to post my own picture!

Well you haven't seen me... I could be a total hottie for all you know ;)