View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

21/07/2008, 11:57 PM
Heard kinger signed for rockmount, great addition, lovely footballer

Clifford
22/07/2008, 11:38 AM
Yes apparently we have signed the lad Kinger from Ramblers, along with Blake and Butt from Castleview. Also Steph Hurley has re signed.

The bad news I had last week is that Alan Weldon is going back to play with his buddies at Blarney. I'm gutted as he's a class act on and off the pitch and I'll miss watching him on a reg basis.

Good luck Al, pleasure knowing you and to all the lads coming in and returning best of luck.

mayfield utd
29/07/2008, 1:02 PM
steph hurley is back pre season training with mayfield i was talking to him the other day he said he wanted to go back to rockmount but feared he might not get in the team and if he was sitting on the bench for 2 long he would have packed up playing.he also told me about alan weldon going 2 blarney

Clifford
30/07/2008, 8:21 AM
steph hurley is back pre season training with mayfield i was talking to him the other day he said he wanted to go back to rockmount but feared he might not get in the team and if he was sitting on the bench for 2 long he would have packed up playing.he also told me about alan weldon going 2 blarney

Fair play to Steph, game time is better at this stage as he loves being involved. Cracking bloke and I wish him all the best as usual if he has decided that way.

Allstar
30/07/2008, 6:14 PM
Have mayfield signed anyone?? Another year in the 1st division. Must be gutted.

mayfield utd
31/07/2008, 4:52 PM
ya it was a nightmare to finish 1 pt off the top and still not go up we have the same team as last season with a few extras a guy called lawson from Tramore Ath looks like a good player a few under age guys have also step up mrya dennehy son looks a very good player at 16,17 years of age we played 2 pre season game against some dublin crowd and he scored 3 goals in 2 game and his a winger

Clifford
10/08/2008, 5:45 PM
Mount beat Mallow 1-0 this morning, Beech scored. Pre season game, nice run around.

Yoda01
11/08/2008, 3:53 PM
Mount beat Mallow 1-0 this morning, Beech scored. Pre season game, nice run around.

any new signigs clifford?

Clifford
13/08/2008, 12:17 PM
any new signigs clifford?

See below for my post last week Yoda, none of the played yet, but training mad, apparently Steph isn't coming back now though.

Yes apparently we have signed the lad Kinger from Ramblers, along with Blake and Butt from Castleview. Also Steph Hurley has re signed.

The bad news I had last week is that Alan Weldon is going back to play with his buddies at Blarney. I'm gutted as he's a class act on and off the pitch and I'll miss watching him on a reg basis.

Good luck Al, pleasure knowing you and to all the lads coming in and returning best of luck.

Yoda01
13/08/2008, 2:11 PM
See below for my post last week Yoda, none of the played yet, but training mad, apparently Steph isn't coming back now though.

whoops! my bad. apologies.
ya heard steph is staying at mayfield, who have appointed dave hill as gaffer, if anything they will be fit and well drilled this year and should be in contention also! besides that, not hearing much about any clubs just yet, i suppose you won't know who's where until the season kicks off, looking forward to it already.

gee wizz
14/08/2008, 10:22 AM
Anyone got the draw for the keane cup, and when the games are to be played nothing on the msl site so far.

ball-hop
14/08/2008, 11:23 AM
From what I hear, we've got Ballincollig, Mary's and Midleton.

It seems like it was only yesterday that the season ended. Here we go again....

rhealy
14/08/2008, 12:13 PM
Anyone got the draw for the keane cup, and when the games are to be played nothing on the msl site so far.

Keane cup games begin Saturday week, the 23rd, there are also games the following Thursday and again the Saturday after. The fixtures were on the website earlier this week but for some reason the link has been removed.

rhealy
15/08/2008, 6:44 AM
From the MSL website - Full list of Keane Cup Fixtures

Group Matches
Weekend 22/23/24 August 2pm KO
===============================
Avondale Utd v Youghal Utd
Tramore Ath v Ringmahon Rangers
Glasheen v Carrigaline Utd
Casement Celtic v Templemount Celtic
Everton v Leeds
Blarney Utd v Lakewood Ath
Ballinhassig v Cobh Wanderers
Douglas Hall v Midleton
Fermoy v Mallow Utd
Mayfield Utd v St Mary's

Thursday 28th 7pm KO
====================
Youghal Utd v Tramore Ath
Ringmahon Rangers v Avondale Utd
Casement Celtic v Carrigaline Utd
Templemount Celtic v Glasheen
Leeds v Passage
Lakewood Ath v Castleview
Cobh Wanderers v College Corinthians
Midleton v Ballincollig
Mallow Utd v Bandon
Mayfield Utd v Rockmount

Weekend 30/31 August 2pm KO
===========================
Tramore Ath v Avondale Utd
Youghal Utd v Ringmahon Rangers
Templemount Celtic v Carrigaline Utd
Casement Celtic v Glasheen
Passage v Everton
Castleview v Blarney Utd
College Corinthians v Ballinhassig
Ballincollig v Douglas Hall
Bandon v Fermoy
Rockmount v St Mary's

Spiderpig
19/08/2008, 11:51 AM
Hi lads, I used always follow UCC and their matches but moved away around a year ago but Iam back now, was just woundering where the following players are playing now or are they even playing??? Always thought they were excellent players,

Peter Cuthbert - Goalkeeper
Brendan O Connell - Goalkeeper

Owen Costine - Center Half
Alan ryan - Center Half
Paul O Brien - Center Half

Shane Hennessey
Gramham Wilshaw

As far as I know all were internationals at university standard, where are they now. Any info would be appreciated

ball-hop
19/08/2008, 3:21 PM
Brendan O'Connell is with Avondale; Graham Wilshaw was with Rockmount last season - still there Cliff?
Can't help on any of the others...

Clifford
20/08/2008, 3:47 PM
Wilshaw was with Mount last season, injured for most of it, cracking player was a big loss. Hope he get's it right this season.

Yer man Shane Henessey (Wanchope?) if it is the same lad had a good season with us two seasons ago, but not sure where he is now.

Allstar
20/08/2008, 6:01 PM
Cuthbert's with midleton and o connell and o brien are with avondale

Spiderpig
21/08/2008, 7:48 AM
Cheers lads, ya cliff thats the fella, lunatic but outstanding player, found out too Costine and Ryan are in Dublin, O Brien was in america but came back half way through the season and joined avondale but I found out that he has now gone and is playing in scotland, and Cuthbert doesnt have a club, honestly he is an outstanding player, great adddition to any team looking for a keeper, when hes fit one of the best in the league honestly.

Who do people think for the league??? Rockmount, Avondale, Hall??????

minty
21/08/2008, 1:34 PM
O'Brien playing in Scotland??that's hilarious,he wasnt even making the Avondale squad last season when they were picking 20 man squads for cup games in Dublin etc and supposedly they only had 21 at training.
Wilshaw is a top player alright and Cuthbert and O'Connell are both outstanding keepers.
As far as being internationals....they all were except for O'Brien as far as i know

Spiderpig
21/08/2008, 1:52 PM
must be gone by the way side so like most players. Looking foreard to season starting, alot of quality around this year. Looking forward to seeing blarney, reckon they could be pushing for a cup. Not strong enough for the league yet or to challenge for it but reckon they could get a good cup run or even get one of the local cups. Would be nice for them, good decent club

minty
21/08/2008, 3:21 PM
Ya they're not a bad club...Ray O'Leary is a great talent!
I think Paul O'Brien has a nick-name, "Scobes" I think they call him...was never really that good and never even got a trial for the Irish University squad!We played UCC in his last year with them and he was only a sub...he got 10 mins at the end when the game was over at right back.Saw "Scobes" playing a few junior games with UCC and he was good enough at that level.

Spiderpig
21/08/2008, 4:21 PM
I must have had the wrong player, apologies. Ray O Leary = Outstanding, and now with the addition of Alan Weldon

Spiderpig
22/08/2008, 7:44 AM
Lads any one know anything about Cobh Wanderers??? Havent heard much about them during the summer. Have they gained/ lost any players???

gee wizz
22/08/2008, 8:13 AM
Lads any one know anything about Cobh Wanderers??? Havent heard much about them during the summer. Have they gained/ lost any players???

Lost one player, up to the A-league with the ramblers, could be a tough year for us as we had the smallest squad in the division last year the fact that the ramblers have a team in the A-league has stopped a lot of good young players joining us as they see that league as a more attractive option than playing in the msl premier:confused:

minty
22/08/2008, 8:38 AM
Don't worry about it spider pig but i actually think you have the right guy alright...i told the lads at training last night and they had a good chuckle about it...he's well known for being a poor player,supposedly never misses a training in fairness though!I saw him score 2 og's against us one day and 1 was a lob from around the half way line!

mayfield utd
23/08/2008, 10:45 AM
mayfield season started last night and we couldn't have got off to a worst start hammered 4-0 at home to st marys schoolboy denfending for all 4 goals they had 4 free headers inside our box with no mayfield player within 10 yards of the goalscorers besides that the whole team was poor with little to no shoots on goal and to make things worst marys r not even a good team bring on rockmount thursday night cos we can't do any worst than that display

villager
26/08/2008, 7:47 AM
Ok chaps, time for your predictions for this season who will win the prem who will be relegated, promoted from the 1st. heres how i see it.
1st rockmount 2nd douglas hall 3rd avondale 4th st. marys 5th blarney 6th ballincollig 7th everton 8th castleview 9th ucc 10th cobh wanderers.

don't really know anything about ucc its too early yet but their time has to be up soon and i reckon it could be this year. wanderers were just about a one man show last year and hes gone from what people are saying so they will be too, probably without a win all season. douglas will push hard this year strong all round squad.

1st division to premier will be ringmahon and midleton with mayfield and leeds running them close, but its 2nd division for passage and tramore.

glasheen and templemount will come up from the 2nd with youghal hot on their heels and who knows what cit could be this year.

cups. donie forde-douglas hall. keane cup-everton.

no cork team for the fai this year sorry boys l.s.l strong again this year.

bet i wont be too far out what do the opposition have too say.

gee wizz
26/08/2008, 8:03 AM
nice to see we are tipped to go down again:D

villager
26/08/2008, 8:22 AM
yes ramblers are gone for sure

27/08/2008, 2:18 PM
yes ramblers are gone for sure

Shouldn't that be Wanderers??:D

Cathal Lordon signed for Blarney from Ballincollig did he?.................they could be dark-horses to challenge the top 3.

villager
27/08/2008, 4:20 PM
Relagation looms large for both teams from the island town i think. Just thought you were on about Ramblers with the crest you have on display. How did Wanderers do in pre-season matches and the opening Keane cup match.

villager
27/08/2008, 4:24 PM
Shouldn't that be Wanderers??:D

Cathal Lordon signed for Blarney from Ballincollig did he?.................they could be dark-horses to challenge the top 3.

We are keeping quiet about our chances as is the Blarney way, could be in there or abouts, personally i think we need 2 more players to challenge strongly for the league, don't rule out a good cup run though.

27/08/2008, 11:47 PM
How did Wanderers do in pre-season matches and the opening Keane cup match.

I'm not sure how the senior team are doing, afaik............not very good!

But the Wanderers Junior Team won the pre-season Barry Wall cup and lost 4-3 vs Avondale in their equivalent of the Keane Cup.

offside rule
28/08/2008, 8:01 AM
Relagation looms large for both teams from the island town i think. Just thought you were on about Ramblers with the crest you have on display. How did Wanderers do in pre-season matches and the opening Keane cup match.

Beat Ballinhassig 1-0 away on Sunday morning in Keane Cup, playing Corinthians tonight where another win(hopefully) will se us through to the 1/4 finals on Keane Cup.
Pre-season played in a tournament run by Midleton.
Lost to Ballincollig 3-2, and Midleton 3-0 . . . had a descimated squad,goalkeeper had work commitments and some players on hols!. Wouldnt look too much into that!.

Will be a tough Season for Wanderer's (second season syndrome), butI think ur getting ahead of yourself tipping them to get relegated!!!. Also saying they wont win a game is very harsh for a team that finished 5th last seaon. (alot of teams dont like coming down to cobh to play)

gee wizz
28/08/2008, 9:14 AM
As with every team in the league, the wanderers will have to take every game as it comes there are no easy games in the msl premier divison that is why the msl teams have done so well in the intermediate cup throughout the years

villager
28/08/2008, 2:26 PM
Shouldn't of said they would not win a game did not mean to be insulting. Good they got the season proper off with a win, but didn't Cobh have a good record in that Midleton tournament i was there last season when we lost on penalties to them (should of won that one)and i think they were playing Midleton or Mallow in the final to win the 3 in a row. From what i heard the team is not as strong as then and they were only ok to be fair. (ONLY MY OPINION SO DON'T GO KILLING ME). Ballinhassig was no test to be fair, Corinthians should be a better indication of how things are going. Best of luck post the result up after the match so i can eat more of my words:o

villager
28/08/2008, 10:59 PM
Anyone know any results from the junior cup or keane cup matches played over the last couple of days, i'm actually away till next tuesday myself (work not pleasure:mad:) but would like to keep up to speed though.

Clifford
29/08/2008, 12:22 PM
Rockmount beat Mayfield last night 3-0. Didn't get to it, but think Beech and Ross got on the scoresheet.

Bad news emerging though is that Slatts has an injury keeping him out for a few months. Not sure about it at the moment, but will keep posted.

29/08/2008, 1:49 PM
Rockmount beat Mayfield last night 3-0. Didn't get to it, but think Beech and Ross got on the scoresheet. A draw will do Marys so in the final game, whens that on Cliffy?

Two Touch
29/08/2008, 2:43 PM
Mallow beat Bandon 9-0 last night to qualify for the Keane Cup quarter finals.A bit one sided to say the least. TBF, it was tough on Bandon having to come to Mallow on a Thursady eve for a 7 o'clock ko & they looked as if they struggled to put out a team.

mayfield utd
29/08/2008, 7:46 PM
mayfield left in 3 soft goals again against mount played them off the park for 45 minutes only to go in 2 down soul destroying for the lads mount r not as good as they use 2 b there weak in midfield no ball winners in midfield since doyler and steph left there good enough on ball i think mount could finish outside the top 2 this season for the 1st time in a long time

Footballer
30/08/2008, 11:49 AM
mayfield left in 3 soft goals again against mount played them off the park for 45 minutes only to go in 2 down soul destroying for the lads mount r not as good as they use 2 b there weak in midfield no ball winners in midfield since doyler and steph left there good enough on ball i think mount could finish outside the top 2 this season for the 1st time in a long time:

I hear Aidan O' Mahony has joined from Corinthians. He's a quality player on his day and would the ball winner/hard worker.
I heard Jammer & Beechinor only came on at half time & they were missing 2 other first 11 players.
I wouldn't write them off just yet. Same goes for Avondale after their loss to Ringmahon.
The top teams seem the only use the Keane cup to try things out.

Regarding Mayfield, watched em against Marys. Quite poor in fact shocking!!! & from what I hear about Thursdays game Mayfield controlled the 1st half(by far) but still could of been 4 down. Rockmount then brought on Jammer & Beechinor & should of won by 5 or 6
The played the best football a couple of seasons ago in the Prem but still got relegated.

I'd tip Marys to go through from the Group

mayfield utd
30/08/2008, 2:51 PM
:

I hear Aidan O' Mahony has joined from Corinthians. He's a quality player on his day and would the ball winner/hard worker.
I heard Jammer & Beechinor only came on at half time & they were missing 2 other first 11 players.
I wouldn't write them off just yet. Same goes for Avondale after their loss to Ringmahon.
The top teams seem the only use the Keane cup to try things out.

Regarding Mayfield, watched em against Marys. Quite poor in fact shocking!!! & from what I hear about Thursdays game Mayfield controlled the 1st half(by far) but still could of been 4 down. Rockmount then brought on Jammer & Beechinor & should of won by 5 or 6
The played the best football a couple of seasons ago in the Prem but still got relegated.

I'd tip Marys to go through from the Group
ya against marys there were really poor in fact ur been a bit kind in saying they were shocking they never showed up that day. Aidan O' Mahony is a great player on his day didn't know he was after signing mayfield always had a problem with a goalie and denfence for as long as i remember i can't remember them having a good goalie and denfence hopefully dave hill can at lease sort out there denfence and the lads pick up a good goalie

31/08/2008, 9:23 PM
I'd tip Marys to go through from the GroupGood call, Rockmount 1-1 St Marys today, No details only I heard Willie Byrne missed a penalty.

villager
01/09/2008, 1:32 AM
M.S.L website is gone poor again very slow putting ip the results after games. How did Keane cup groups finish up are many premier teams left? I see Cobh got turned over at home to Corinthians as i predicted, did Ringmahon knock out the mighty Avondale, another tip of mine for promotion to the premier. Did Carrigaline progress out of the softest group i hope they didnt leave me down. Did someone try to say Mayfield will be good this season because they have Dave Hill....they could have him, Sven, Trappatoni,Ferguson and Scolari and they'd still be awful...loyalty is one thing but don't be blinded my friend. Ballincollig v Douglas Hall how'd that finish that one really intrests me. Come on my friends get typing.....:p

ball-hop
01/09/2008, 7:51 AM
'Hall beat Ballincollig 3-1 - Deccie, David Hackett and Donogh O'Donovan. Through to Q-Finals. Away to Corinthians on Thursday night.
Things have not yet settled - it'll take a few weeks to see what shape the teams are in

Yoda01
01/09/2008, 10:23 AM
'Hall beat Ballincollig 3-1 - Deccie, David Hackett and Donogh O'Donovan. Through to Q-Finals. Away to Corinthians on Thursday night.
Things have not yet settled - it'll take a few weeks to see what shape the teams are in

is that derek O'Donovan aka dunna?

that was me that thought mayfield would do well this year with the addition of dave hill as manager! haven't seen them play yet but from what i hear there **** poor! is this true?

i wouldn't be judging any teams by the keane cup as lots of teams try out different things for those games!

ball-hop
01/09/2008, 2:14 PM
is that derek O'Donovan aka dunna?

that was me that thought mayfield would do well this year with the addition of dave hill as manager! haven't seen them play yet but from what i hear there **** poor! is this true?

i wouldn't be judging any teams by the keane cup as lots of teams try out different things for those games!

I wouldn't be entirely sure... but our "O'Donovan" used to play with Leeds. Any help?

ball-hop
02/09/2008, 8:32 AM
Yoda... one and the same "Dunna". He's one of the incoming players to the 'Hall during the summer. Good to see an early goal from him :)