View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

KrocBoy
22/11/2010, 5:18 PM
Well I hold my hands up El Nino Coro i was misinformed and i can assure you my sourse will be punished.Making me out to be an idiot in what can only be described as the best think tank forum in the country my deepest apoligies.

Your source need not be punished Goggs. There is 2 or 3 players in Marys squad that played all the way through from schoolboys to the senior side without playing for another club.
Then there would be another 7 or 8 that played most of their schoolboys with Marys but would also have played a season or two with other northside clubs.

KrocBoy
22/11/2010, 5:45 PM
Very early in the season to be giving predictions but I can't see beyond Hall or Rockmount for the league.

From what I've seen Tramore look very poor and are favourites to go down, very little between the rest of the teams in the league but at the moment Marys look most likely to join them in the 1st division next year.

Gobias
22/11/2010, 6:40 PM
S.jennings ,A.leahy , A. Weldon ,R O Leary , K. Murray , J.O Connor , I. O Leary, S. Taggart, R.Goggin. Thats 9 and Clifford and L. O Connor have been at the club for the last 3-4 years.

There is the post for you Goggs

K.Murray and J.O Connor are both still playing underage at the moment but are in the senior squad regularly. I. O Leary and Taggart came up from the juniors at the end of last year.The others have been regulars in the squad for years with the exception of Weldon who was orginally a Blarney player anyway

skinny11
22/11/2010, 8:35 PM
regards the hall winning its very early to be saying that kinda stuff but it would be nice for somebody to break the rockmount / avondale hold as for the intermediate thats a different story just depends on how your draw goes and if you get the luck of the green and dont get aidan o regan reffing as he just fla s cork team s

el nino coro
22/11/2010, 11:39 PM
[QUOTE=KrocBoy;1427852]Your source need not be punished Goggs. There is 2 or 3 players in Marys squad that played all the way through from schoolboys to the senior side without playing for another club.
Then there would be another 7 or 8 that played most of their schoolboys with Marys but would also have played a season or two with other northside clubs.[/QUOT

andy mylod is the only player that came through the st marys ranks

el nino coro
22/11/2010, 11:45 PM
Your source need not be punished Goggs. There is 2 or 3 players in Marys squad that played all the way through from schoolboys to the senior side without playing for another club.
Then there would be another 7 or 8 that played most of their schoolboys with Marys but would also have played a season or two with other northside clubs.

you name me another 1?

Goggs
23/11/2010, 6:47 AM
There is the post for you Goggs

K.Murray and J.O Connor are both still playing underage at the moment but are in the senior squad regularly. I. O Leary and Taggart came up from the juniors at the end of last year.The others have been regulars in the squad for years with the exception of Weldon who was orginally a Blarney player anyway
Thank's Gobias that's fair enough I saw them play in the Kean Cup last season and out of the 11 only one was from Blarney it was the semi-final,that's why i queried it.

Goggs
23/11/2010, 8:49 AM
you name me another 1?
John Murphy never played with any other Senior League side other than Mary's and played all his schoolboy football with them.

Goggs
23/11/2010, 9:02 AM
regards the hall winning its very early to be saying that kinda stuff but it would be nice for somebody to break the rockmount / avondale hold as for the intermediate thats a different story just depends on how your draw goes and if you get the luck of the green and dont get aidan o regan reffing as he just fla s cork team s
Nice one skinny 11 their wasnt any beating about the bush on this particalar ref.Could be worse if some poormsl team could have the misfortune of getting John Lenihan possibly the worst ref in the EU.I think skinny 11 we could be thrown out for our comments or at least get another warning,but doesn't it feel good.:D

el nino coro
23/11/2010, 11:57 AM
John Murphy never played with any other Senior League side other than Mary's and played all his schoolboy football with them.

I was told he has retired due to bad knee injury

Goggs
23/11/2010, 2:11 PM
Jesus El Nino Coro you have the finger on the pulse i only saw him play 4 weeks ago there's no getting the better of you today.

KrocBoy
23/11/2010, 9:15 PM
you name me another 1?

Paul Feehan and I think Darren Hill also have only played with Marys.

Others players like Coker,Barry,Cooney,Goulding and Vitor Mylod would've played most of their schoolboys with Marys.
Stad, Aidan and Anthony O Call played senior only with Marys not sure how many years they played underage.
There is a good core out of that squad that has played most of their football with Marys.

Not that it makes much of a difference how long you've played with a club in my opinion, having watched a few of their recent games the O'Sullivan brothers they signed a few years ago from Grattan played with more heart and determination than any of the more longer serving players.

Plus if there was any good young players coming through the ranks I'm certain they would get the chance to play with the seniors cause they are hardly setting the football world alight at the moment!!!

code red
24/11/2010, 11:18 AM
Blarney made the move to senior around 7 years ago.The had a full squad of local players in the first division and went unbeaten I believe.They signed a couple of lads to strengten the squad for their first year in Premier and finished 4th and runners up in Intermediate cup.The squad they had back then was a squad of older blarney players that had been there for years and Obviously, a club will look to progress after a start like that and with facilities better than most league of Ireland clubs so they had to find decent players to progress. I agree with Goggs that very few of the lads who played in the keane cup final last year were local but to cut a long story short, the club were first to realise this and they are doing their best to bring some youth through.Its not an easy job.When was the last time you saw a youth come through the Rockmount, Avondale ranks.Its not an easy thing to balance but I reckon that Blarney who may not challenge for the league this year and have a very good team and could beat anyone on their day, i think they will benefit long term and that whats the clubs wants.
When that team has people like keane, O Leary ,Weldon , Clifford and a decent manager (Moynihan) , they will never be far off the mark.

Ps. I'm not involved with Blarney but I have played out there in the past. SJ.

el nino coro
24/11/2010, 12:16 PM
Paul Feehan and I think Darren Hill also have only played with Marys.

Others players like Coker,Barry,Cooney,Goulding and Vitor Mylod would've played most of their schoolboys with Marys.
Stad, Aidan and Anthony O Call played senior only with Marys not sure how many years they played underage.
There is a good core out of that squad that has played most of their football with Marys.

Not that it makes much of a difference how long you've played with a club in my opinion, having watched a few of their recent games the O'Sullivan brothers they signed a few years ago from Grattan played with more heart and determination than any of the more longer serving players.

Plus if there was any good young players coming through the ranks I'm certain they would get the chance to play with the seniors cause they are hardly setting the football world alight at the moment!!!

coker and barry played with leeds cooney played with maymount alongside aidan and anthony o callaghan and later played with nufarm,darren hill and stuart coakley played schoolboys with rockmount,as far as i know goulding only signed for st marys this year from grattan.

as for anything coming through the ranks these days,it prob due to the fact the club has no junior youth or u17 teams and you could not expect a 16 year old to make the step up straight away

Goggs
24/11/2010, 3:01 PM
Blarney made the move to senior around 7 years ago.The had a full squad of local players in the first division and went unbeaten I believe.They signed a couple of lads to strengten the squad for their first year in Premier and finished 4th and runners up in Intermediate cup.The squad they had back then was a squad of older blarney players that had been there for years and Obviously, a club will look to progress after a start like that and with facilities better than most league of Ireland clubs so they had to find decent players to progress. I agree with Goggs that very few of the lads who played in the keane cup final last year were local but to cut a long story short, the club were first to realise this and they are doing their best to bring some youth through.Its not an easy job.When was the last time you saw a youth come through the Rockmount, Avondale ranks.Its not an easy thing to balance but I reckon that Blarney who may not challenge for the league this year and have a very good team and could beat anyone on their day, i think they will benefit long term and that whats the clubs wants.
When that team has people like keane, O Leary ,Weldon , Clifford and a decent manager (Moynihan) , they will never be far off the mark.

Ps. I'm not involved with Blarney but I have played out there in the past. SJ.

Very balanced summary code red good to know the history, i'm giving them a bit of a bashing in this forum I just hope they return to their roots and return to be a real local club again i'm going to ease of them for a while.

ball-hop
24/11/2010, 4:59 PM
Douglas Hall v UCC - big league match tonight in the Mardyke. Looking forward to seeing if the 'Hall can maintain their current good form.

Wee bit chilly, will need to wrap up well

KrocBoy
24/11/2010, 5:57 PM
coker and barry played with leeds cooney played with maymount alongside aidan and anthony o callaghan and later played with nufarm,darren hill and stuart coakley played schoolboys with rockmount,as far as i know goulding only signed for st marys this year from grattan.

as for anything coming through the ranks these days,it prob due to the fact the club has no junior youth or u17 teams and you could not expect a 16 year old to make the step up straight away

Coker and Barry did play with leeds but I'm certain they played a few years with Marys at schoolboys level too. I was told Goulding played all his schoolboys with Marys before joining Grattan and that the others mentioned above played at youths level with Marys.

Also you were right John Murphy has picked up a knee injury but I was told he has no plans to pack it in just yet!!

Wasn't aware they had no junior or youth teams this year though, did leonard lyons pack it in? wasn't he managing the juniors out there? ideally you would want to be getting 1 or 2 players a year off the youth that would be pushing for a place in the senior side.

KrocBoy
24/11/2010, 6:01 PM
Douglas Hall v UCC - big league match tonight in the Mardyke. Looking forward to seeing if the 'Hall can maintain their current good form.

Wee bit chilly, will need to wrap up well

Hall will have too much up front for UCC I'd say, should be a good game to watch though both excellent passing sides.

ball-hop
24/11/2010, 8:50 PM
Douglas Hall 1 UCC 0
Deccie scored the 'Hall goal about 10 minutes into the second half. UCC threw everything but couldn't break down the 'Hall defence. Wilkie and Moorsey outstanding.

Gobias
25/11/2010, 9:19 PM
Rockmount 1-2 Blarney Utd
Blarney went 1 up after 10 and went 2 up just before half time, Rockmount got 1 back at the start of the 2nd half. Both teams had a man sent off 70 minutes in and Rockmount another sent off in injury time.
Blarney played well and were the much better team for the 1st half but sat back in the 2nd, Rockmount missed 1 or 2 chances to level the game but Blarney were able to hang on for a deserved win

Clifford
26/11/2010, 10:06 AM
Ballinhassig away Sun morning for us. Any directions from Fermoy? Help appreciated.

Silly Billy G
26/11/2010, 10:31 AM
Blarney went 1 up after 10 and went 2 up just before half time, Rockmount got 1 back at the start of the 2nd half. Both teams had a man sent off 70 minutes in and Rockmount another sent off in injury time.
Blarney played well and were the much better team for the 1st half but sat back in the 2nd, Rockmount missed 1 or 2 chances to level the game but Blarney were able to hang on for a deserved win

It was bloody cold up there !
Blarney good value for their win i thought. Rockmount missed 2 good chances to level it and blarney had a couple on the break as well to extend lead. Rochmount looked very dangerous on set pieces (as usual to be fair) and scored from one where Blarney keeper could have done a bit better, Sendings off a bit handbags and ref could have handled whole situation a bit better, 2 yellows there and would have been no scene and game could have progressed. Ken Coleman was excellent in the middle - best i have seen him play for Blarney.

Silly Billy G
26/11/2010, 10:39 AM
Ballinhassig away Sun morning for us. Any directions from Fermoy? Help appreciated.

http://www.blarneyunited.com/How_To_Get_There.htm

Bufc2010
26/11/2010, 10:51 AM
It was bloody cold up there !
Blarney good value for their win i thought. Rockmount missed 2 good chances to level it and blarney had a couple on the break as well to extend lead. Rochmount looked very dangerous on set pieces (as usual to be fair) and scored from one where Blarney keeper could have done a bit better, Sendings off a bit handbags and ref could have handled whole situation a bit better, 2 yellows there and would have been no scene and game could have progressed. Ken Coleman was excellent in the middle - best i have seen him play for Blarney.

took me a good half an hour after i got home to thaw out!!
Agree with you 100% billy g
a fair assesment of the game
kenny ran the show aswell i tought
i only saw the second half
very exciting game

mayfield utd
26/11/2010, 7:34 PM
Blarney played well and were the much better team for the 1st half but sat back in the 2nd, Rockmount missed 1 or 2 chances to level the game but Blarney were able to hang on for a deserved win.i heard billy cronin derek clark and pat keane were also sent off from the line can anyone tell us what happened that 3 was sent off from the line

Gobias
26/11/2010, 9:00 PM
.i heard billy cronin derek clark and pat keane were also sent off from the line can anyone tell us what happened that 3 was sent off from the line

Don't think Cronin and Clark were sent from the line unless i missed that but if its true it could have only been for shouting at the ref which they were doing throughout the match. Pat Keane wasn't on the line but playing and was sent off for a bit of handbags with Gaffney who was also sent off (Both reds were a bit harsh, Yellow each would have done the job)

26/11/2010, 9:00 PM
Midleton 1-0 Avondale Utd
Dale with most of the play but like in recent weeks unable to convert.
Caught then by who else but Knowlsey.

Goggs
27/11/2010, 1:01 PM
Went down to watch Midleton V Avondale great game very exciting thought Avondale had most of possession in the first half but thought Midleton created more chances in the second. It's proving to be a very tough league this season take Hall out of it and anyone can beat anyone.

Goggs
27/11/2010, 1:05 PM
There's some cracking games on over the weekend if the weather holds Everton v Hall, and Tramore V Blarney,any predictions for Everton match.

Reznik
27/11/2010, 1:20 PM
There's some cracking games on over the weekend if the weather holds Everton v Hall, and Tramore V Blarney,any predictions for Everton match.

Have u any opinion on the blarney v rockmount match on last thursday?

Goggs
27/11/2010, 1:40 PM
I don't so I'm just going to finish my humble pie if you don't mind Reznik.

Goggs
27/11/2010, 1:46 PM
Don't think Cronin and Clark were sent from the line unless i missed that but if its true it could have only been for shouting at the ref which they were doing throughout the match. Pat Keane wasn't on the line but playing and was sent off for a bit of handbags with Gaffney who was also sent off (Both reds were a bit harsh, Yellow each would have done the job)
Referees have to be alot stronger this season towards the Rockmount bench in terms of the shouting and intimidation which flows freely from it. For a club of their stature their behaviour from the bench is nothing short of deplorable.

Goggs
27/11/2010, 1:53 PM
Douglas Hall 1 UCC 0
Deccie scored the 'Hall goal about 10 minutes into the second half. UCC threw everything but couldn't break down the 'Hall defence. Wilkie and Moorsey outstanding.
Hey Ball-Hop what was the story with a few of the Hall players abusing John Caulfield after ye scored against UCC the other night.

Clifford
28/11/2010, 12:01 AM
http://www.blarneyunited.com/How_To_Get_There.htm

Thanks kindly. Hope it gets the all clear weather wise.

Carpet
28/11/2010, 1:57 AM

I predict theres no chance of any games tomorrow cos its freezing out there,getting to that time of year again with a lack of games due to weather.great to see rockmount lose the other night maybe there time is up.lets all hope for the best

skinny11
28/11/2010, 8:07 AM
Hey Ball-Hop what was the story with a few of the Hall players abusing John Caulfield after ye scored against UCC the other night.
i want suprised they did it because he had a go at deccie after 1 challenge and as usual mouthed for the whole game

Clifford
28/11/2010, 3:01 PM
Fermoy beat ballinhassig 2-1 today. Two up at half time and cruising, slacked off a bit sec half. Late pen for ballinh made for an interesting end, but never in doubt really.

Ringmahon away again next Sat the weather permits.

mayfield utd
28/11/2010, 3:17 PM
mary's v mayfield off

Silly Billy G
28/11/2010, 4:12 PM
Blarney won 2-0 away to tramore this morning

ringmahon4ever
28/11/2010, 5:18 PM
ha ha what film was that in

Reznik
28/11/2010, 6:55 PM
ha ha what film was that in

Rocky 12...:D

ringmahon4ever
28/11/2010, 11:43 PM
Rocky 12...:D
why was the comment by goggs deleted..was it all a big lie or what

29/11/2010, 1:05 PM
why was the comment by goggs deleted..was it all a big lie or whatUnsubstantiated Allegation, not allowed here.

wesleyBHFC
30/11/2010, 11:35 AM
Ballinhassig v Ballincollig Sunday morning should be a cracker. Local derby with tense rivalries between both managers and players! Any opinion on the game and who to look out for?

Reznik
30/11/2010, 4:06 PM
Anyone know if Rockmount v UCC is going ahead tonight?

wesleyBHFC
30/11/2010, 8:32 PM
called off due to the weather!!!

Reznik
30/11/2010, 8:49 PM
Anyone know if goggs has been banned? It turns out the story he said wasnt actually total lies! There was a big fight but it wasnt as bad as he first thought! Surely he hasnt been banned over this! Bring back Goggs...

Sparky
30/11/2010, 9:36 PM
He didnt really name names or go to tarnish somebody's reputation. He just said what he heard but with no malice intended I think. I dont think he is banned but would hate to lose anyway that is contributing to this blog and has football at heart. Time will tell I suppose.

ringmahon4ever
30/11/2010, 11:54 PM
think it said he was suspended..it seems to be if theres any violence mentioned in someones comment it gets deleted..maybe he added on arms and legs but theres stil a bit of truth to it which makes a good read.i wonder have we got a member of the msl operating this forum ha ha..... bring back goggs :)

Carpet
01/12/2010, 1:32 AM
bring back goggs he has one of the true foot.ie greats. his in depth knowledge of the game is up there with Mourinho, Billy Cronin,Brian Murray and ferguson. very very harsh if hes banned. if razor could be half the sport goggs is the world of foot.ie would be a better place.Bring goggs back,I hope this brings a tear to goggs' eyes when he sees the support he has