View Full Version : Munster Senior League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 [104] 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236

townhall tez
24/02/2012, 8:40 PM
Passage would have a great team of locals who now play in the premier leage,a good few of them on show tonight in moneygourney.... As for Crosshaven getting their award,people should look into the history of the club and the ongoing work being done down there before judging. I hear Cork City's league winning captain Greg O Halloran has signed for them recently too.

townhall tez
24/02/2012, 8:48 PM
Donie Forde Semi Final
Douglas Hall 2-1 Avondale don't think Avondale will lose any sleep over this,silly cup really. Win 2 games and your in a final!!

archie
24/02/2012, 8:51 PM
Blarney Utd 1-2 St.Mary's

beautiful game
24/02/2012, 10:19 PM
Great effort from Douglas Hall tonight. Worked their socks off against a classy Avondale side. Harsh on Avondale to lose it but Douglas Hall proved that with 11 honest players on the pitch you give yourself half a chance.

Mark O'Sullivan and Conor Meade were superb and caused all sorts of problems but hats off to Douglas Hall defensively for keeping them at bay.

Good game but again have to say not a big crowd at it.

If this was a local GAA game you'd have several hundred at it. There was some outstanding players out on that pitch tonight and they deserve to be playing in front of a bigger audience.

Full match report on www.backofthenetcork.ie (http://www.backofthenetcork.ie)

townhall tez
24/02/2012, 11:07 PM
Great effort from Douglas Hall tonight.

Good game but again have to say not a big crowd at it.

If this was a local GAA game you'd have several hundred at it. There was some outstanding players out on that pitch tonight and they deserve to be playing in front of a bigger audience.

Full match report on www.backofthenetcork.ie (http://www.backofthenetcork.ie) Well to be fair if it was a league game or a proper cup tie people would have got out to watch it. This cup isn't very appealing to the masses I'm afraid.

Goggs
25/02/2012, 8:57 AM
Easy known you haven't a clue what goes on behind the scenes of a football club Goggsy, Schoolboys/girls learn to play all by themselves, the lines and goal posts appear with the growth of grass, money falls from the trees and a bid of good will to your local community is only a myth,:o
Steady on lads every club in cork contributes to the community thats the soul purpose of a football club my question is why is Crosshaven singled out for this award instead of any other club what unique qualities does Crosshaven have that say Cobh Carrigtohill Youghal Midleton St Marys etc doesnt have why not give everyone an award what makes Crosshaven so special.Is this like the Special Olympics everyones a winner.

townhall tez
25/02/2012, 9:28 AM
Steady on lads every club in cork contributes to the community thats the soul purpose of a football club my question is why is Crosshaven singled out for this award instead of any other club what unique qualities does Crosshaven have that say Cobh Carrigtohill Youghal Midleton St Marys etc doesnt have why not give everyone an award what makes Crosshaven so special.Is this like the Special Olympics everyones a winner.
I'm not certain about this but I think their celebrating some anniversary this year. Clubs like Douglas mayfield and Corinthians celebrated 40 years recently but I think Crosshaven are around a lot longer. Perhaps Archie could clarify this?

Glenbuck
25/02/2012, 9:41 AM
don't think Avondale will lose any sleep over this,silly cup really. Win 2 games and your in a final!!Always a silly cup when the result goes against the grain...

AvondaleNutter
25/02/2012, 10:10 AM
I'm not certain about this but I think their celebrating some anniversary this year. Clubs like Douglas mayfield and Corinthians celebrated 40 years recently but I think Crosshaven are around a lot longer. Perhaps Archie could clarify this?
Their website says 1898 so fair play to them. Avondale are only in existence 40 years this year

AvondaleNutter
25/02/2012, 10:13 AM
don't think Avondale will lose any sleep over this,silly cup really. Win 2 games and your in a final!!

It's still a cup final which I'm sure they wanted to get into. There was a few rested last night and with out the likes of caulfield, long and spratty they didn't look the same side. Podges kick outs are a big advantage too. Intermediate cup next week to concentrate on

Crosshaven AFC
25/02/2012, 11:16 AM
Crosshaven AFC were founded in 1898 - the club have proof of this from the newspaper the "Cork Constitution" which carried the report at the time. Clubs who think they are good enough to win Club of the Month enter via the FAI website. They are judged on involvement in the Community, Participation levels, Achievements, Facilities, Website, Honours, number of players in Cork Development squads etc etc.... We entered as a club because we tick all of the above boxes. Our website is run by club members & includes the facility to pay your membership online by Laser, play the clubs lotto, news reports, fixtures etc. We have 16 teams in Leagues this year, girls/boys/Ladies/Men. We have had three fundraisers for Charity in the past twelve months, for the CUH, World Transplant Games (for a former member who was taking part) & for Suicide Awareness. Our club has an all weather training area & two full size pitches. We host the O'Connell Cup Final every year for the MSL & in recent years we have loaned pitches to both Cobh Ramblers & Carrigaline when they needed them as their grounds were being developed. We cater for all schools teams free of charge plus three different hockey sides. Our teams have won in the past 5 years, 6 leagues & a cup at different ages. We follow strcitly the FAI code of Ethics. Our clubhouse, dugouts, fencing, gates were all built & installed by members. We have hosted the Man Utd Soccer School for four years. We have had three girls receive Irish trials in the past 12 months. We have 30 FAI qualified coaches. I could go on & on....so you see Goggs there are a host of reasons why Crosshaven won Club of the Month. There are some fabulous clubs in Cork who equally deserve to be honoured, Carrigaline & Rockmount already have, and who knows a Cork team maybe next. These awards are judged by a panel from the FAI, Aviva & numerous sponsors. We as a club are just thankful they selected us. Nobody works in our club for the recognition but it's nice when you get it.

AvondaleNutter
25/02/2012, 12:38 PM
Crosshaven AFC were founded in 1898 - the club have proof of this from the newspaper the "Cork Constitution" which carried the report at the time. Clubs who think they are good enough to win Club of the Month enter via the FAI website. They are judged on involvement in the Community, Participation levels, Achievements, Facilities, Website, Honours, number of players in Cork Development squads etc etc.... We entered as a club because we tick all of the above boxes. Our website is run by club members & includes the facility to pay your membership online by Laser, play the clubs lotto, news reports, fixtures etc. We have 16 teams in Leagues this year, girls/boys/Ladies/Men. We have had three fundraisers for Charity in the past twelve months, for the CUH, World Transplant Games (for a former member who was taking part) & for Suicide Awareness. Our club has an all weather training area & two full size pitches. We host the O'Connell Cup Final every year for the MSL & in recent years we have loaned pitches to both Cobh Ramblers & Carrigaline when they needed them as their grounds were being developed. We cater for all schools teams free of charge plus three different hockey sides. Our teams have won in the past 5 years, 6 leagues & a cup at different ages. We follow strcitly the FAI code of Ethics. Our clubhouse, dugouts, fencing, gates were all built & installed by members. We have hosted the Man Utd Soccer School for four years. We have had three girls receive Irish trials in the past 12 months. We have 30 FAI qualified coaches. I could go on & on....so you see Goggs there are a host of reasons why Crosshaven won Club of the Month. There are some fabulous clubs in Cork who equally deserve to be honoured, Carrigaline & Rockmount already have, and who knows a Cork team maybe next. These awards are judged by a panel from the FAI, Aviva & numerous sponsors. We as a club are just thankful they selected us. Nobody works in our club for the recognition but it's nice when you get it.
Some achievements listrd there. Well done to all at the club

Goggs
25/02/2012, 1:09 PM
Fair play that told me.

archie
25/02/2012, 1:23 PM
Fair play that told me.
I Need say no more oh SPECIAL ONE! :)

ringmahon4ever
25/02/2012, 4:17 PM
there youth team were playing in last 16 of fai youth cup today against our team. that might of been a factor as well.

Chiefscout
25/02/2012, 8:47 PM
Great point today for midleton.mayfield will be gutted from not pushing on after their win away to marys

AvondaleNutter
25/02/2012, 8:56 PM
there youth team were playing in last 16 of fai youth cup today against our team. that might of been a factor as well.

Is that crosshavens youths? How did they get on?

ringmahon4ever
25/02/2012, 11:27 PM
Is that crosshavens youths? How did they get on?no the passage youths.could of been a factor on why they couldn't field team. ringmahon won 4 nil by the way

go for gold
26/02/2012, 12:01 PM
how did cors leeds game finish.must win for both

archie
26/02/2012, 1:13 PM
how did cors leeds game finish.must win for both
Cors won 3-2

boiled egg
26/02/2012, 5:58 PM
It doesnt matter what my club is nutter. All that matters is the amount of knowledge i have of the munster senior league..

boiled egg
26/02/2012, 6:00 PM
Its still a cup at the end of the day. A cup final is a cup final tez..!!

AvondaleNutter
26/02/2012, 7:09 PM
It doesnt matter what my club is nutter. All that matters is the amount of knowledge i have of the munster senior league..
Fair enough boiled egg. We appreciate every view on this forum. I'm loyal to my club and your loyal to ?????

AvondaleNutter
26/02/2012, 7:10 PM
Its still a cup at the end of the day. A cup final is a cup final tez..!!
I agree. Very disappointing for the lads

Glenbuck
26/02/2012, 7:40 PM
Congrats to Brendan O Connell on his award in Dublin tonight.

Chiefscout
27/02/2012, 8:34 AM
Congrats to Brendan O Connell on his award in Dublin tonight.
What a joke that is

el nino coro
27/02/2012, 11:12 AM
What a joke that is
One word COMICAL

AvondaleNutter
27/02/2012, 11:28 AM
One word COMICAL

He has played Irish amateur for the last 3-4 years and has played well so I can see why he's got the award. He's been poor this year but the last few years he was excellent. At least a cork lad has won it I suppose

Chiefscout
27/02/2012, 12:03 PM
He has played Irish amateur for the last 3-4 years and has played well so I can see why he's got the award. He's been poor this year but the last few years he was excellent. At least a cork lad has won it I suppose
He isn't in the top 3 keepers in the league

Dixie's Cousin
27/02/2012, 12:08 PM
Who do ye think should of being nominated from the MSL so lads?

AvondaleNutter
27/02/2012, 12:10 PM
He isn't in the top 3 keepers in the league

Not this Year maybe. But the last few seasons he's been corks best when he was with Avondale and his first season at rockmount

boiled egg
27/02/2012, 12:34 PM
Brendan is a quality goalkeeper and should have won the award 2 or 3 years ago. although i do believe it was the wrong decision he won it this year. I think mark o sullivan was by far the best player in the msl last season and this season..!

AvondaleNutter
27/02/2012, 12:40 PM
Brendan is a quality goalkeeper and should have won the award 2 or 3 years ago. although i do believe it was the wrong decision he won it this year. I think mark o sullivan was by far the best player in the msl last season and this season..!

He's played LOI do I don't think he can be nominated. You have to eligible for the Irish amateurs squad.

beautiful game
27/02/2012, 5:28 PM
Fair play to Brendan. Top keeper for a good few years but these awards are flawed. The whole process is very debatable and it appears that Gerry Smyth seems to have that Republic of Ireland Amateur Team manager's job for as long as he wants it.

Billy Cronin or John Caulfield should have got a crack off it when Rockmount and Avondale were dominating intermediate football.

It's a token gesture and doesn't paint the FAI in a positive light in respect of its approach to amateur football.

Glenbuck
27/02/2012, 6:44 PM
What a joke that isNo joke... Im serious.

Glenbuck
27/02/2012, 6:47 PM
Why cant Cork people give credit when its due...if this was a Dublin thread they would be delighted. Horrible people out there. Well done again Brendan. Nice guy to go with it.

BillysBoots1
28/02/2012, 8:00 AM
Why cant Cork people give credit when its due...if this was a Dublin thread they would be delighted. Horrible people out there. Well done again Brendan. Nice guy to go with it.

Ok he's won an Intermediate award, some people think it's great, some think it's a disgrace and doesn't make sense, enough said move on.

boiled egg
28/02/2012, 6:17 PM
ok lads, was thinking the other day who was the most irritating manager in the msl over the past 5 seasons, wonder if the response i get is the same manager..?

Chiefscout
28/02/2012, 6:28 PM
ok lads, was thinking the other day who was the most irritating manager in the msl over the past 5 seasons, wonder if the response i get is the same manager..?

The fella Lions that managed or manages the st marys juniors.id say I'll have a few in agreement.think it's larry is his first name

villaman10
28/02/2012, 8:27 PM

bit childish ???

AvondaleNutter
28/02/2012, 8:29 PM
bit childish ???

Agreed

Dixie's Cousin
29/02/2012, 7:30 AM

The school boys league forum rang, they want their comment back!

29/02/2012, 7:54 AM
ok lads, was thinking the other day who was the most irritating manager in the msl over the past 5 seasons, wonder if the response i get is the same manager..?Do we get a prize if we guess it right?

BillysBoots1
29/02/2012, 8:16 AM
Do we get a prize if we guess it right?

I know who the best manager has been and is.......

29/02/2012, 8:26 AM
I know who the best manager has been and is.......I like the way you've turned that around Billy.
If that is your real name :D

Chiefscout
29/02/2012, 9:51 AM
I know who the best manager has been and is.......
Ya.its the st marys junior manager.the fella lions :-)

BillysBoots1
29/02/2012, 12:43 PM
Ya.its the st marys junior manager.the fella lions :-)

Sometimes being the best can make you the most irritating

beautiful game
02/03/2012, 11:38 AM
Back of the Net will be in O'Shea Park tonight for the crucial game between Blarney Utd and Leeds. Read the full match report on www.backofthenetcork.ie (http://www.backofthenetcork.ie) later tonight.

New magazine out on Friday, March 16. Any ideas or thoughts lads on the magazine or the website?

What could be added to it as it's all still a work in progress. We have Alan Kelly and Joe Gamble on board as columnists. Anybody out there got any other names in mind?

Chiefscout
02/03/2012, 11:50 AM
Any betting odds for the weekend games coro?

el nino coro
02/03/2012, 1:28 PM
Any betting odds for the weekend games coro?

League
Blarney 4/6 draw 5/2 leeds 3/1
Midleton 11/8 draw 11/5 st marys 6/4
Mayfield 7/5 draw 9/4 douglas hall 7/5

Intermediate cup
Avondale 3/10 draw 7/2 cors 6/1
Everton 6/4 draw 9/4 pheonix 21/10