View Full Version : Michael Moore

hamish
23/04/2005, 11:01 PM
Any Michael Moore fans out there? Just got his book "Will they ever trust us again?" and the stories from various US soldiers in it makes it a dreadful if enthralling read. I have all his stuff - books and videos/DVDs. What I'm really interested in if any of you attended his appearance in Dublin (UCD/Trinity???) a year or so ago. I'd be interested to learn what you thought of him. I'm convinced the US is entering a pre-fascist state and going to hell in a handbasket and the likes of Moore, Al Franken and co are fighting am uphill battle in all this. What do you think, given that Shannon is used to as a stopover for US troops to/from Iraq etc etc.

24/04/2005, 12:17 AM
Ever so slightly not the question you asked, but I've read two of his books ("Dude, Where's My Country" and the other one - can't remember the name), and he comes across as being very annoying. That's not to say he isn't right most of the time - Bush is an absolute gobsh!te, etc. - but I've found that if you read his views on a subject where you don't agree with - for me, abortion - he's an incredibly patronising, self-righteous writer. "My view is best and pooh to all who think otherwise!" kins of stuff. Also found that he wasn't as funny as he'd been made out to be. He's onto the right kind of topics we need to address in the world today, and if he helps waken the Yanks up, fair enough, but not exactly my cu pof tea, I'm afraid...

24/04/2005, 12:26 AM
He's onto the right kind of topics we need to address in the world today, and if he helps waken the Yanks up, fair enough, but not exactly my cu pof tea, I'm afraid...
Yeah, that would be my take on him as well. Have to admit I found Al Franken's book (name escapes me right now) much better

hamish
24/04/2005, 1:01 AM
Ah no probs Pineapple Stu, I didn't expect/want it to be a Moore love fest. Yeh, he can be the overbearing type but i reckon that some of that is due to the nature of US society/media where you don't get attention unless you adopt an inyerface attitude. However, I do worry about the way the US is going because that Faux "News"/anything liberal = antichrist attitude is beginning to seep into Irish media at the moment. I heard a few radio discussions lately where the liberal tag was used US style - think it was Pat Kenny's radio show. You know that what happens in the states often arrives over here and after years breaking the yolk of old repressive Ireland, I'd hate to think we might slip back into that type of scene. As a very young kid, I can remember the late 50s and early 60s and, believe you me, I can still taste the greyness, backwardness, poverty of mind and body of those days. Much of today's modern Ireland, of course, has adopted many of the ususal waste and frivalency that goes with wealth so I suppose it's not all nirvana - look at the hospital wards and I've seen more than I would have liked to over the past few years - but I never ever want to go back to those grey days again when playing a game of bloody soccer meant you were English-loving, traitorous and a general low life. I like Moore, without worshipping him, because he refuses to be cowed down by a media establishment (not just Faux) that has become an asslicking, conservative attachment to White House PR machine. I don't agree with you on abortion - I'm proud to say that, in my teaching days, I helped (a little) to refer a few kids to Cura who really were helpful and anything but the hard Cathloic outfit they are sometimes made out to be - just good people who really helped.. I still think that women have a right to choose but DO think that many unwanted pregnancies are produced from people getting ****ed, using no protection and, if they are affluent enough, grabbing the first plane to England, usually with Manny and Daddy's help. I realise of course that many poor, married women take the boat or plane also so it's not just a wealthy/solve-the problem or little Mary's future in business or college is riuned. To be utterly honest with you, I support women's right to chose BUT I do feel uncomfortable/confused about the abortion issue and that's probably the residue of Cathloicism that is part of me. Therefore, I fully und
erstand and respect your opinion on abortion because I've been trying to work my way through it for years. And let's not forget the blokes who impregnate and get off their responsibilities with little or no blame/costs of upringing etc. It reminds me of Jesse "The Body Ventura" when he was Minneasotta (I think) Governor, when asked by an unmarried couple with kids why there was so little financial support for unwed mothers, replied "Why the fcuk did you two get knocked up in the first?" He remined them that contraception was available in that area etc etc. Ventura was a wrestler, ok, but fought in Vietnam and was terrifically articulate and passionate in Operation Truth - check the website - he may still be on it.
Christ, I can never stick to a topic but I appreciate your replay as I didn't think too many would be interested. Cheers, man. :)

hamish
24/04/2005, 1:23 AM
Yeah, that would be my take on him as well. Have to admit I found Al Franken's book (name escapes me right now) much better
Cheers and thanks to you, Eanna. Jeez, I thought you were over on another thread bitchslapping poor old CollegeTillIDie and would be too busy coming here. I really should have broadened the thread to include Franken/Howard Dean/Media Matters/Newshounds/Air America etc etc. I love Franken - have all his books and like Moore, I love it when they tear apart the lies of those idiots Billy O'Reilly and Sean InSanity - thank God St. Paddy got rid of some of the snakes! I have all Frankens books and Best of The O'Franken Facor CDs if you ever want a read/listen, give me a shout. You probably know he's on Air America between (Irish time) 5pm and 8pm on the web. He's the dirtiest laugh I ever heard!
I still rhink Moore and Franken are vital to the US to stem the tide of the most corrupt, cowardly and dishonest shower of chickenhawks that ever ran a democratic country and am quite prepared to tolerate their mannerisms etc if their message is an honest one.
John Fogerty's song "Fortunate Son" is as relevant to now as it was in 1960's.
One last point, I have a good excuse but why aren't you two, Eanna and Pinapple Stu, not out drinkin', partyin' and talent searching at this hour of the night - Shame!!!! :D :D :D But thanks again guys for replying.

Gerrit
24/04/2005, 3:38 AM
I haven't read his books yet, but from what I have read in interviews with him and reviews it seems like an interesting bloke with -in gerenal- a good realistic view on American society.

And I agree there with Pineapple Stu, Bush is a disgrace. I have a deep hatred against capital punishment and never liked Bush, as he is a walking death penalty promotion pamflet. Apart from that I also hugely disagree with his views on abortion and gay marriage, and the war in Iraq is IMO a joke.

jofyisgod
24/04/2005, 10:25 AM
Good books (just recently read Stupid White Men), but take what he writes with a pinch (or even a ton) of salt. I certainly wouldn't base any serious political ideas or research on what he writes. His books do manipulate data and personalities in very negative way, making it seem like all people who have ever spoken to GW Bush are monsters. To be honest, he wouldn't have been so successful if this stuff was written, for example, under Clinton, He's riding the wave, as it were, of 'unpopularity' of GW Bush. Good reads all the same.

24/04/2005, 7:59 PM
Thought Bowling for Columbine was his best work yet. He gpot onto the street to do origibal interviews.

Didn't think Stupid White Men was that well written. Farenheit 9/11 was over-rated too as just collection of archive footage for cheap laughs.

I don't think he political books are very original as can find the same information elsewhere which is probably why i think hes not so great.

hamish
25/04/2005, 1:11 AM
Thanks a millions for all those opinions folks. I think he did a lot of work, though, during Slick Willy's tenure - against exploitative corporations and such like. I liked the various stories where he fought for unionisation in stores and removing bullets in WallMart. I think, by rediculing the the likes of Charlton Heston (NRA President) who made a very callous speech near Columbine almost immediately after the massacre, he made a fair case against that horrible organisation and Heston's moral/ethical barreness.
Thanks again, but did any of you attend his visit to Dublin - I'd love to hear about it.
Cheers.

25/04/2005, 8:21 AM
Read the books and watched the films. Bowling for Columbine would be his best work imo. Whether you actually like his style or not, you've got to credit him for getting the issues publicity - even if it is only by the right wing yank press giving him shít.

Sir Hamish - can you please use shorter paragraphs? It's just too difficult to read it (esp in work ;) )

25/04/2005, 8:40 AM
Broadly speaking I like the guy and agree with his politics -though he has a tendency to spin, over simplify and can stretch credulity and probability to reach some of his conclusions.

I've read Stupid White Men and Dude Where's My Country and I'd strongly recommend them both.

While I consider myself pro-choice I do find some of his rhetoric on this emotive issue quite frankly unhelpful.

I also think it's ironic and rather american that he considers himself a green but drives an SUV (an irreconsilable contradiction he at least acknowledges)

Metrostars
25/04/2005, 3:56 PM
I think Moore is a little over the top sometimes, some of his theories in F-911 was quite a stretch to say the least. While I have not read his other books, I though Stupid White Men was quite good. As for Franken, I listen to Air America some times but I find Franken difficult to listen to. He doesnt have a good delivery and some of their skits come off very lame.
On another point, some people outside the US view all the american people as being brainwashed by Fox News and the conservative radio commentators. It really depends on where you are, this is quite a large country and here in the North East it is quite liberal. Last week I was on a business trip to Tennesee and people are very different down there.

monkey magic
25/04/2005, 5:15 PM
i think moore's message is, in general, right and he has done a lot to highlight the serious problems facing american society in general, and the thugs who are running that country. his delivery however leaves a lot to be desired and as someone pointed out earlier, he comes across as annoyingly self rightous and contemtuous (doubt if thats spelt right) if you happen to disagree with his beliefs on a particular subject. bowling for columbine is a gripping read and imo his best work by a long shot. i was, to say the least dissapointed with farenheit/911, whilst there is a lot of good points made,its credibility is damaged by his points scoring and attempts to 'get one over' on bush and co.

hamish
25/04/2005, 6:04 PM
Read the books and watched the films. Bowling for Columbine would be his best work imo. Whether you actually like his style or not, you've got to credit him for getting the issues publicity - even if it is only by the right wing yank press giving him shít.

Sir Hamish - can you please use shorter paragraphs? It's just too difficult to read it (esp in work ;) )
Apologies, Macy, I'll really have to cop my self on re. the long paragraphs but, to be honest, I get so thrilled at the give and take of all the responses, that I try to "get it all out" and before I know it, half a page is full!! Auld fcukers like myself, you what we're like, once we start, we don't know when to shut up. From now on, I'll really work at the edit, promise! :o

hamish
25/04/2005, 6:14 PM
I think Moore is a little over the top sometimes, some of his theories in F-911 was quite a stretch to say the least. While I have not read his other books, I though Stupid White Men was quite good. As for Franken, I listen to Air America some times but I find Franken difficult to listen to. He doesnt have a good delivery and some of their skits come off very lame.
On another point, some people outside the US view all the american people as being brainwashed by Fox News and the conservative radio commentators. It really depends on where you are, this is quite a large country and here in the North East it is quite liberal. Last week I was on a business trip to Tennesee and people are very different down there.
I take your point, MetroStar, the vote John Kerry got in November proves that there are millions in the US who are not brainwashed. I'm also aware of the regional differences but isn't right wing radio a huge factor, also, in the US? I really worry at the influence Limbaugh, Malkin and Savage have. I remember Ireland when we we were stuffed with reactionary crap, from pulpit, screen, radio and newspapers and it wasn't a pretty place to live in . I'd hate to think that a country I genuinely love and had such a great time when there would see more a more power given to the right wing - witness the current scene vis-avis "activist judges", filibustering etc. What do you think and I hope you are not offended by my comments - I genuinely care. :(

Metrostars
25/04/2005, 7:45 PM
I take your point, MetroStar, the vote John Kerry got in November proves that there are millions in the US who are not brainwashed. I'm also aware of the regional differences but isn't right wing radio a huge factor, also, in the US? I really worry at the influence Limbaugh, Malkin and Savage have. I remember Ireland when we we were stuffed with reactionary crap, from pulpit, screen, radio and newspapers and it wasn't a pretty place to live in . I'd hate to think that a country I genuinely love and had such a great time when there would see more a more power given to the right wing - witness the current scene vis-avis "activist judges", filibustering etc. What do you think and I hope you are not offended by my comments - I genuinely care. :(

Despite the last presidential election results, I don't really see a trend towards a more right wing state. It's not like Bush won in a landslide. One can say that well he got the most votes ever but you can turn the coin and say that more voted against him than any other president. Limbaugh, whether you agree with him or not is a great communicator and some people can be sucked in. But conservative radio has it's audience already captured.

As for the current judges issue, it is really just politics between the dems and the repubs. It would be the same hankering if it were the other way round.

The biggest problem in providing an opposition is that the Democrats were poorly led. Kerry could have been a good candidate but he lost me and many others when he got wishey washy on whether the war in Iraq was justified. He wanted to be on both sides of the fence. He also could not shake his "New Englander-I'm smarter than you" image and that don't fly down south. I would have been happier if Dean was selected to run though he is a little off the wall.

hamish
25/04/2005, 8:24 PM
Despite the last presidential election results, I don't really see a trend towards a more right wing state. It's not like Bush won in a landslide. One can say that well he got the most votes ever but you can turn the coin and say that more voted against him than any other president. Limbaugh, whether you agree with him or not is a great communicator and some people can be sucked in. But conservative radio has it's audience already captured.

As for the current judges issue, it is really just politics between the dems and the repubs. It would be the same hankering if it were the other way round.

The biggest problem in providing an opposition is that the Democrats were poorly led. Kerry could have been a good candidate but he lost me and many others when he got wishey washy on whether the war in Iraq was justified. He wanted to be on both sides of the fence. He also could not shake his "New Englander-I'm smarter than you" image and that don't fly down south. I would have been happier if Dean was selected to run though he is a little off the wall.
Agree with you re. Howard Dean. Hadn't he a great record in Vermont with good healthcare etc and a local economy in the black. I agree with you re. Kerry but I thought that the Swift Boat campaign was a disgrace. Any time I heard Dean interviewed - on BBC, US TV amd even Irish Telly, I felt he was to the point, articulate and with his achievements, above, would have made a great President.

25/04/2005, 10:27 PM
Saying millions voted for Kerry doesn't make a great case for intelligent Americans as from what i could tell he was an idiot in his own way.

Gareth
25/04/2005, 10:41 PM
I don't like Moore's books or attitude. His points are at times very valid and in some cases definately need to be highlighted. My problem is his "Jerry Springer" approach and his very clear to be seen ego. I am right, you are wrong approach to things grows tiresome, and in some ways he becomes what he preaches against. A man unable to see anything other than the side he stands on. A more balanced, less sensational approach to matters is required for me to take his work seriously. But then maybe with all his sensationalism, he is using the only approach possible to get past the thick craniums of some of the worlds population?

hamish
26/04/2005, 4:29 AM
Great stuff, guys. I'm really learning a lot. Isn't it amazing how the UK and Irish media give Michael Moore such hero status, like he can do no wrong while you lads take a more critical and deeper view. You know what, I'm gonna look at the various videos and re-read his books and maybe gain a little better perspective. I still think that his views are pretty genuine and probably may be a reaction/over-reaction to a US media which appears to have lost its critical approach without the nuances in the various issues involved.
That could be a criticism of Moore, he doesn't do nuance, does he?
Thanks a million again, lads - as I've said before on other posts, Foot.ie is the place to go. I cannot understand why a lot of you don't contribute to local media re. even football 'cos you're damn better than the sihte which passes for sports journalism in this country - with a few exceptions, of course.
AND I'm not being patronising to any of you, just appreciative and full of admiration. Cheers. :)
Thanks a million - but did anyone see him in Dublin??? Sometimes the "live" experience can cut through better than the books/videos etc.

Bolnoy Bratchny
26/04/2005, 8:23 AM
I didn’t see him in Dublin but my girlfriend was there. He basically just signed a load of books and then went on a twenty-minute rant, mostly about abortion. She said a lot of what he said didn’t go down well with the crowd and he came across as being very obnoxious.

Not addressing any of you lads but I really think too many people read Moore/Franklen et al and form opinions based only on this. I agree with most of what these guys say but I don’t see Bush as been particularly worse than previous U.S presidents.

I find the most insightful books about this topic are history books as this is just history repeating itself. If you read books such as Fahrenheit 451, Animal Farm, Brave New World or 1984 you will be amazed at their relevance to what’s happening today even though they were written up to fifty years ago.

rebs23
26/04/2005, 10:52 AM
Michael Moore. WHY???
I can't understand peoples admiration of this guy?
He is an idiot/fool/wrong/misrepresentation of the facts/misquote/quote out of context/plain bloody wrong/
It just baffles me!

ken foree
26/04/2005, 11:56 AM
Michael Moore. WHY???
I can't understand peoples admiration of this guy?
He is an idiot/fool/wrong/misrepresentation of the facts/misquote/quote out of context/plain bloody wrong/
It just baffles me!

he certainly spins things his own way but -factually- i don't think anything was found to be incorrect in farenheidt 911. he challenged the 'other side's' legal team to sue him for it if they found anything they could prove untrue. they.. couldn't. he's heavy-handed and way over-the-top at times for sure, a style that often defeats his purpose more than helping. but challenging the morass and fear dominant in the u.s. is vital in times like these so hats off to the man for that, at least.

ken foree
26/04/2005, 12:04 PM
Despite the last presidential election results, I don't really see a trend towards a more right wing state. It's not like Bush won in a landslide. One can say that well he got the most votes ever but you can turn the coin and say that more voted against him than any other president.

that's bang-on metrostars about the so-called 'mandate' dumbya feels he's garnered -and there's even a consensus among (obviously) the left in the u.s. that the '04 elections were nicked as well (through disenfranchisement of democrat minorities, voting machine irregularities that ALL favored the incumbent, exit poll data not adding up, etc.).

and if that's true, if actually more people *intended* for kerry to win, it would be a sweet ironic justice for the thieves as they'll face the possibility of a lame-duck 2nd term: unable to pass any of their legislation through because of public opposition. a public that obviously didn't vote for them in the first place! hahahaa i hope so. they're already seeing how out of touch domestically they are with most americans on the social security and shiavo's feeding tube.

26/04/2005, 12:06 PM
I don't like Moore's books or attitude. His points are at times very valid and in some cases definately need to be highlighted. My problem is his "Jerry Springer" approach and his very clear to be seen ego. I am right, you are wrong approach to things grows tiresome, and in some ways he becomes what he preaches against. A man unable to see anything other than the side he stands on. A more balanced, less sensational approach to matters is required for me to take his work seriously. But then maybe with all his sensationalism, he is using the only approach possible to get past the thick craniums of some of the worlds population?
Hit the nail on the head there Gareth

hamish
26/04/2005, 10:33 PM
that's bang-on metrostars about the so-called 'mandate' dumbya feels he's garnered -and there's even a consensus among (obviously) the left in the u.s. that the '04 elections were nicked as well (through disenfranchisement of democrat minorities, voting machine irregularities that ALL favored the incumbent, exit poll data not adding up, etc.).

and if that's true, if actually more people *intended* for kerry to win, it would be a sweet ironic justice for the thieves as they'll face the possibility of a lame-duck 2nd term: unable to pass any of their legislation through because of public opposition. a public that obviously didn't vote for them in the first place! hahahaa i hope so. they're already seeing how out of touch domestically they are with most americans on the social security and shiavo's feeding tube.
To use Dart (the game, not train) terminology,Eanna, 180!!! The Schiavo polls must have come as shock to the US right who exploited this case in the most disgusting manner possible.
I'm disagree with rebs23 - I watch Faux "News" occasionally and it is incredibly easy to demolish the "opinions" of O'Reilly, Malkin, Hannity, Gibson and co. For example, O'Reilly has this boycott of France going on and claimed recently that the "Paris Review" backed up his claim that French exports to the US were down because of the boycott. There is no such magazine called "The Paris review" - he just made it up. Rush Limbaugh does this every day so debatable statistics are not all Moore's forte. A lot of things Moore has stated are true and I'm afraid that it can be easier to hammer him for his mannerisms etc - Jesus, I do it myself. I still feel he has played an important role in the US to an limited extent.

hamish
26/04/2005, 10:35 PM
Fcuk it, sorry - that was reply to Ken Foree/red23, not you Eanna, apologies to you all - time for the tablets! :o

hamish
26/04/2005, 10:48 PM
I didn’t see him in Dublin but my girlfriend was there. He basically just signed a load of books and then went on a twenty-minute rant, mostly about abortion. She said a lot of what he said didn’t go down well with the crowd and he came across as being very obnoxious.

Not addressing any of you lads but I really think too many people read Moore/Franklen et al and form opinions based only on this. I agree with most of what these guys say but I don’t see Bush as been particularly worse than previous U.S presidents.

I find the most insightful books about this topic are history books as this is just history repeating itself. If you read books such as Fahrenheit 451, Animal Farm, Brave New World or 1984 you will be amazed at their relevance to what’s happening today even though they were written up to fifty years ago.
Thanks Bolnoy Bratchny - Bush?? Failure in every area of private business and sport he managed - bailed out by family friends, ran Texas in to debt, running US into record debt, making a sihte of the Iraq/Middle East situation, surrounded by the biggest bunch of imcompetents in US history, who else would employ them, about to despoil the arctic with oil drilling for minimal gain (except for his oil friends), putting social security in the hands of the stock market, new "clean air" technology which will actually make America's environment dirtier, introduced the 5 minute execution decision in Texas, etc etc etc. Even Reagan was better and he was asleep half the time!
Surprised at the reaction to Moore - thought he got outstanding ovations etc but the media obviously had their hearing aids off!! Cheers. ;)

Bolnoy Bratchny
27/04/2005, 11:34 AM
Yeah i know all about Bushs history and there is no denying what a complete c*** he is. I just feel that Americans foreign policy today, which is what most people are annoyed about, is more or less the same has it has always being.

To quote (or rather paraphrase) Winston Churchill "the americans can always be relied upon to do the right thing, but only after exhautsing every other possiblity".

I suppose it annoys me to see the whole industry that has built up around anti-Bush books/films/web sites, go into any bookshop and you cant find a decent book because all shelf space is given to AntiBush and that feckin Da Vinci Code muck.

ken foree
27/04/2005, 12:19 PM
Yeah i know all about Bushs history and there is no denying what a complete c*** he is. I just feel that Americans foreign policy today, which is what most people are annoyed about, is more or less the same has it has always being.

I suppose it annoys me to see the whole industry that has built up around anti-Bush books/films/web sites, go into any bookshop and you cant find a decent book because all shelf space is given to AntiBush and that feckin Da Vinci Code muck.

yea it can be irritating but not a tenth as much as the oil/military/industrial corporate complex that dubya et al feel the need to provide new markets for (read: victims, environment, 'brown people who can't govern themselves' to paraphrase the boy king). stupid white men indeed.

ken foree
27/04/2005, 12:22 PM
I just feel that Americans foreign policy today, which is what most people are annoyed about, is more or less the same has it has always being.

...and that feckin Da Vinci Code muck.

you're right about this first point, what's the stat under clinton? 500,000 iraqi children under the age of 5 killed via the sanctions throughout the 90s. worth remembering them coz they've largely been forgotten.

and you're right about the 2nd point too, those books are poo :D

hamish
27/04/2005, 5:18 PM
Agreed, Slick Willy was no great shakes either, except at getting at good BJ.
But, there's something particularly nasty about Bubble Boy and his neo-con friends. Not one of the likes of Cheney, Pearl etc ever fought in a war and did their damnest (Cheney, 5 times dodged Vietnam - "I had other priorities"). Yet these guys have no qualms about sending soldiers, usually from deprived backgrounds, to be mutilated in a war without even decent armour for their humvees. At least Clinton did something about Bosnia but, yeh, he failed miserably, as you rightly stated, in Africa etc.
Look, the various books you mentioned are strident and of the "I'm right and fcuk anyone who disagrees" mentality but it is possible to read 'em and sift out the crap from the truth.
Check out Newshounds, via The Smudge Report. When they criticise the likes of Faux "News", they at least quote word for word, their opponents statements (even mannerisms, coughs are included) and systematically criticise those statements, including the context they are made in. Media Matters is another good site.
I'm sure you guys know all this already, in any case.
As for the De Vinci Code, a load of bo...x. It reminds me of all the nonsense books that came out in the late 60s/early 70 about the Bermuda Triangle/God being an astronaut etc. I can't remember the author's name but he made a fortune on a series of books on this. I thnk his first name was Eric.

ken foree
27/04/2005, 6:27 PM
heh, "chariots of the gods" weren't they. nazca lines as ancient runways, the sphinx a duty-free shop for spacefaring egyptians.. i believe it! ;)

hamish
27/04/2005, 6:41 PM
Ken Foree to my rescue again. That's the one. I'm :o to admit I bought it and the follow ups!! :eek: Yeh, remember the Nazca bit, allright. I'll be damned if I can remember his name, it is/was Erik not Eric and Gaybo had him on the Late Late. I think he was Swiss and jailed for some sort of corruption. In retrospect, the books are sihte but at the time, a lot of people really were into his spaceman/God stuff.Amazing, isn't it.

hamish
27/04/2005, 10:05 PM
Hey Ken Foree, I remember the name - Eric or Erich Von Danekan - spelling might not be write but it sounds like that.

lopez
27/04/2005, 10:30 PM
Saw him on his tour of the UK a couple of years ago in Camden and it came across as a bit of a 'champagne socialist' - loads od talk but FA action. Someone in the audience (a press and celeb night it might be added - I spotted Alan Rickman and wanted to ask him to do his Dev 'Theee Ireesh Republic...' number) asked where were all the poor and ethnics were at his shows. Then he wanted us to throw away our nectar (rewards cards) while he makes a mint on his shows. B*llocks.

However, despite the usual Bush-loving UK media onslaught, couldn't fault his Fahrenheit 9/11. Does make me laugh that people in the US think he's some sort of lefty. :rolleyes: FFS!!

hamish
27/04/2005, 11:55 PM
Thanks Lopez, yeh, he's no lefty, that's for sure. I've just seen a programme I recorded called Pandora's Box which encompasses the military industrial complex one of you guys mentioned above and it was the most bizarre programmes I've ever seen. It had everthing - Dr. Strangelove type characters, the Rand Corporation, various Presidents locked in a kind of Alice in Wonderland situation throughout the last 40 or so years. You just gotta see it. It ties in beautifully with all this discussions we're having. I'll keep an eye out for it and let you know when it comes up again - it was on UKTV History.
By the way, guys, I used the word write instead of right in my above post - sorry about that - no joking, I used to be a remedial teacher!!! Jesus Christ! :eek: :o

hamish
28/04/2005, 12:06 AM
Hey guys, re. above post - Pandora's Box is on again. . at 9am TODAY Thursday, 26th April on UKTV History and repeated at 10 am on UKTV History +1. Let me know if you got a chance to see it or a recording of it and I'd like to hear what you think. Cheers.

hamish
28/04/2005, 12:14 AM
Oh siht, it's also on at 3pm and 4pm plus 9pm and 10pm on the same channels. I didn't think it would be repeated so quickly.

lopez
28/04/2005, 8:43 AM
Channel 4 (for those that can get it) showing 'Size me Up' tonight at 9pm.

Aberdonian Stu
28/04/2005, 8:49 AM
Or "Supersize me" as it's known (I'll assume there was some gag in the name you used for it).

lopez
28/04/2005, 9:46 AM
Or "Supersize me" as it's known (I'll assume there was some gag in the name you used for it).Apologies. No joke intended. Still too early in the morning for me. :o

ken foree
28/04/2005, 12:02 PM
Hey Ken Foree, I remember the name - Eric or Erich Von Danekan - spelling might not be write but it sounds like that.

that's the guy alright. musta made a fortune on that stuff..

28/04/2005, 3:45 PM
Or "Supersize me" as it's known.

I recommend it. Its very good.

You'll get hurry at the start as he munching burgers but will be pout off them as he gets the McTummy aches :eek:

Gareth
28/04/2005, 3:58 PM
Erick Van Danken!! Ha, Return of the Supergods and some such. Lots of books out there on the mysterious similiarities between artifacts found in South America and Africa and one or two books from another author who's name eludes me wrote about one particalur guy, Lord Patel I think and how two separate tombstones when the images on them are put on perspects and placed over each other told a story as you keep one static and turn the other. Then they go and ruin it all by saying something crazy like "Its Aliens!!!" :)

28/04/2005, 8:09 PM
Or "Supersize me" as it's known (I'll assume there was some gag in the name you used for it).

Watching that now, at least the guy doesn't have as an annoying accent/way of talking as mike moore :D

hamish
28/04/2005, 8:17 PM
Got another thing re all the above - found it on the website. It's a CBC programme on the US media - hope this works = it's on:
http://www.cbc.ca/fifth/video_player.html?fifth_sticks.
Have this saved in my favourites but not able to paste (right word?) it just yet onto this thread.
Kerr's Tribe, bless her patience, showed me how to do this but am not quite ready just yet to attempt this technological thing. Afraid, I'll fcuk up my laptop.
Any try the above internet thingy - did it work for you?
Hey, by the way, Pandor's Box starts on UKTV History + 1 at 10pm - in case any of you are interested and missed today's early programmes. Cheers. ;)

hamish
28/04/2005, 8:19 PM
FCUK ME - the link works - major, MAJOR achievement for SirHamish. :D :D
Pathetic, I know, but an improvement's an improvement, right?? :o

28/04/2005, 8:20 PM
Just polishing my halo and wings now..... :D

Well done, don't be showing off now! :D :D

28/04/2005, 8:25 PM
ugh, the guy just boked after eating a supersize meal :eek: