View Full Version : More Cork Thuggery
iceman
30/04/2005, 10:21 PM
The only people who reported these "stitches" were Drogheda Utd staff. It is more than possible there were no stitches and that these "stitches" (non existent ones)were used to dirty the good name of City
The stitches were inserted in the Dressing Room by the Cork City FC doctor - perhaps he could tell you how many was needed. GROW UP.
30/04/2005, 11:17 PM
The stitches were inserted in the Dressing Room by the Cork City FC doctor - perhaps he could tell you how many was needed. GROW UP. It was 3 stitches. Lads, I dunno why anyone is squabbling over whether or not he got the stitches- he did. I have no time for Dan Connor, and as I've already said, I think he bears a massive amount of responsibility for causing the tension if the first place, but he did get cut, and he did need stitches.
30/04/2005, 11:19 PM
Murphy having been red carded against Rovers on the walk across to the dressing rooms had another go at O'Connor.
And? Lets face it, what happened wasn't the most pleasant incident, but the blame was 50/50 there IMO, and it wasn't the most violent incident you're likely to see on a football pitch. It was only handbags really- still should not have happened though.
How much longer before the league do something about Cork? But I forgot, sure the rules don't apply to them :rolleyes:
you're either being very sarcastic, or you need to get out a bit more ;)
Shelsman
03/05/2005, 12:52 PM
Cork Fans threw an object at Owen Heary when he was taking a throw in during the second half last night. Heary pointed it out, then quickly played on.
03/05/2005, 12:54 PM
There were also a few who ran down to the barrier and started making gestures at the new stand like they wanted a fight, the cowards ofc knowing full well that the gaurds wouldn't let them through anyway.
03/05/2005, 1:01 PM
Cork Fans threw an object at Owen Heary when he was taking a throw in during the second half last night. Heary pointed it out, then quickly played on.
Obviously 1 (singular) idiot did it. He should have been thrown out and reported to the club to be banned. it was pretty obvious on tv and the (crap) ref should have reported it. My guess though that it was a plastic Leucozade bottle that the players have thrown to them by the coaches. If so, how did one get to the stands :confused:
There were also a few who ran down to the barrier and started making gestures at the new stand like they wanted a fight, the cowards ofc knowing full well that the gaurds wouldn't let them through anyway.
I fecking hate it when people do that :rolleyes: Some people really have to grow up. You know yourself that they would be the first to complain if another clubs fans did it to them.
03/05/2005, 1:05 PM
Didn't see that, if it's true it's unacceptable (though given the stuff that was thrown at Georgie as he was being carried off injured, you can't really talk). I thought Heary was the best player on the field last night, the battle between Kearney and himself was the best aspect of the game.
As for the those who ran down to confront the Shels fans...idiots (probably drunk ones), maybe they were trying to get a flag back or something ;)
Temperatures ran higher than I've seen from a City crowd for a long time last night, saw some young one (probably one of the famous J-lo's) spitting at the linesman, which was unacceptable (and she wasn't the only one).
Then again the Shels' skangers who walked across the pitch to celebrate in front of us didn't help matters either. I've never seen a steward at Shels enforce the 'keep off the pitch at full time rule'. Apart from that the stewards did a good job to calm a lot of incredibly angry City fans, so fair play, although Chuck did look very nervous at times.
In the end, All EL clubs have some pocket of idiots who the majority of us would prefer weren't there. unfortunately, beggars can't be choosers and poorly funded clubs by in large need their money and their support.
To answer an earlier issue, the Shed hasn't had racist chanting of any sort since that Moses started sitting somewhere else.
I was embarished by some of the actions of city "fans". No excuse for those incidents.
Shels had feck all stewards & those that they did have seemed to make good decision not to confront those city "fans".
Maybe they only threw water ballons at Heary? AFAIK thats not an offence in Tolka-land.
In contrast with the Rovers stewarding on friday night i think its generallt below standard in Tolka. Never enforced kids off the pitch. Never taken action on people netring pitch to throw objects at opposition manager.
03/05/2005, 1:24 PM
In contrast with the Rovers stewarding on friday night i think its generallt below standard in Tolka.
You wont find anyone arguing with that, it's an ongoing issue at Tolka Park, the stewards are simply absolute rubbish.
My guess though that it was a plastic Leucozade bottle that the players have thrown to them by the coaches. If so, how did one get to the stands :confused:
Danny Murphy, John O'Flynn and a few other City players were in amongst the Rebel Army crowd!!!!
bluemovie
03/05/2005, 2:45 PM
Was that a Russian linesman by any chance?
03/05/2005, 3:16 PM
Danny Murphy, John O'Flynn and a few other City players were in amongst the Rebel Army crowd!!!!
Ratting them up are ya? :eek: :D
You wont find anyone arguing with that, it's an ongoing issue at Tolka Park, the stewards are simply absolute rubbish.
its only to be expected. Shels do what they want as regards everything else, so why not stewarding as well. rules- what are they? :rolleyes:
03/05/2005, 4:22 PM
its only to be expected. Shels do what they want as regards everything else, so why not stewarding as well. rules- what are they? :rolleyes:
Yeah, if only we could live in the utopia of glass bottles, flares and all sorts raining down onto the pitch like a good law abiding club.
03/05/2005, 5:23 PM
Not 1 thing was thrown at Georgie as he was leaving the field,if their had been i would have f*cked out whoever did it.
03/05/2005, 6:09 PM
Cant comment on last night as I only saw some of it on tv but Ive definitly seen plenty of stuff thrown in Tolka when Ive gone there as a City fan and as a neutral (I think most of it is saved for the Bohz guys though). The stewards are fairly crap there, I mean, how hard is it to keep the kids off the pitch after full time when there is a cage going around so much of the pitch? :( It seems that only Cork and Bohz make any sort of effort on this issue. (sorry, its a pet hate)
03/05/2005, 6:51 PM
Liverpool payed the officials in the champions league semi-final,the whole of the ball never crossed the line. :D
rebel army no1
03/05/2005, 9:17 PM
Something was thrown at around 3 city fans in the second half as they walked back from the chipper in front of the new stand, and after the game around 10 dublin scum ran on to the pitch making gestures for us to come on and have a fight. SCUM
IMO its time the FAI made stewarding part of the UEFA licence. Clubs should be forced to pass a stewarding licence which would be tested during the season. The licence is already supposed to ensure segregation of fans which virtaully no club has done.
Away fans should be provided with their own food & toilet facilities. I know City have made changes at the cross for this but aside from Rovers in Dalymount (can still mingle at halftime for food) not seen any attempts elsewhere.
03/05/2005, 9:24 PM
Fully agree, it's a very important issue for clubs that is often just ignored. It can lead to some serious incidents down the line if it's neglected further.
glad to see we can agree on something. ;) in fairness to the shels stewards last night, they weren't nearly as confrontational as usual and that helped defuse a situation that was very tense. still not good enough though.
bluemovie
04/05/2005, 11:20 PM
Cork needn't worry about getting the two goals against Portadown. Cup Final referee John Feighery is going to be in charge. My advice is use two or three balls. Portadown won't know what's hit them and Feighery won't give a **** cos he doesn't know the rules. :mad:
05/05/2005, 10:27 AM
Cork needn't worry about getting the two goals against Portadown. Cup Final referee John Feighery is going to be in charge. My advice is use two or three balls. Portadown won't know what's hit them and Feighery won't give a **** cos he doesn't know the rules. :mad:
bitter eh?
although feighrey is an idiot...
Shelsman
05/05/2005, 1:14 PM
Something was thrown at around 3 city fans in the second half as they walked back from the chipper in front of the new stand, and after the game around 10 dublin scum ran on to the pitch making gestures for us to come on and have a fight. SCUM
It was probably a few chips, some of the Shels fans probably felt sorry for some of the scrawny looking Corkies!!! George O'Callaghan could do with a few steaks too!
Seriously though, if they did throw anything then that its extremely bad form and they should be banned.
05/05/2005, 1:15 PM
Seriously though, if they did throw anything then that its extremely bad form and they should be banned.
Fat chance, it's not like it hasn't happened before.
Shelsman
05/05/2005, 2:14 PM
Yes but I think even the Cork fans can readily admit that they have a chip on their shoulder !!!! :D :eek: :D
bluemovie
06/05/2005, 12:51 AM
bitter eh?
although feighrey is an idiot...
AAAAAAAAAAAAAGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
I just found out that he's doing our game in Derry. No point in reviewing the form of either club now, this will just be down to a lottery of what calls he makes. :mad: