View Full Version : More Cork Thuggery

Pages : 1 [2] 3

24/04/2005, 9:55 PM
The fact remains though that Dan Connor gave people an excuse for throwing stuff onto the pitch. I'm 99% certain it wouldn't have happened if Connor had just got on with playing the game and ignored the Sheds taunts as most other keepers do.

The first time he acted up in the Cross, I though it was the behaviour of a scumbag but a few people said he just got caught up in the moment of Waterford getting a late equaliser having been 2-0 down. If that was the case and he never repeated it, you could say fair enough and maybe let it go.
The thing is though, he's tried to incite the Shed every time he's come to the Cross since resulting in stuff being thrown on the pitch and on one occasion a fella running on the pitch to try and attack him. He did it in the RSC last year too and a smoke bomb got thrown at him.
He should have learnt his lesson a long time ago but he hasn't.

The point I'm making is why don't other goalkeepers get this treatment from City fans?
Dan Connor's behaviour causes trouble at City matches and for that he should be punished.
I won't argue with any of what you say there. All absolutely spot on. Connor's behaviour is the root of the problem. But it does not give anyone an excuse for throwing anything (never mind a glass bottle) at him. We will get fined for this, and we can have no complaints. But CCFC should also officially contact DUFC and point out Connor's responsibility for the deterioration of the situation, and ask that he behave himself in future. Like I said, I'd like to see a guard behind his goal next game, so that he can be arrested if he incites the crowd.

24/04/2005, 10:01 PM
I'd like to see a guard behind his goal next game, so that he can be arrested if he incites the crowd.

That could be the key to solving the problem.
If Connor was aware there was a cop behind him watching him then he's not likely to turn around and try and incite then crowd which in turn would mean people wouldn't have any reason to throw stuff at him.

24/04/2005, 10:06 PM
That could be the key to solving the problem.
If Connor was aware there was a cop behind him watching him then he's not likely to turn around and try and incite then crowd which in turn would mean people wouldn't have any reason to throw stuff at him.
That and an official warning to Connor telling him to wise up. Then put a few stewards in the back of the Shed, to keep an eye on any idiots, and there should be no repeat.

hamish
25/04/2005, 1:40 AM
I have no problems with you sir hamish whatsoever ok? ;)
Appreciate that, CollegeTillI Die, I don't like to offend anyone or on their points of view. Cheers and thanks.
Lads, watching the yellow cards given to Varga, Bellamy for celebrating "in a provocative fashion" (???) in front of the Rangers fans this morning, Gary Neville's stupidity v Everton and Di Canio's "salute" in Italy among many others, don't clubs/managers have any sort of code of conduct against this type of thing? I see, too, that there were 150 people in a fracas at a Bristol Rovers game today. I also believe that "away from ground" violence is still a major problem in the UK with the usual damage, fear and policing costs etc involved. Could we take this a little away from just Cork City and Connor - has anyone any comments regarding this worldwide scourge which primarily affects football. I'm always afraid to say this, but is it a social or class thing or is it that football is so big that we get a bigger share of idiots who come to games.
I've seen cases in the US and Canada where millions of dollars worth of damage have been caused in places like Vancouver after the local (hockey??) team won some North American competition. Also, we had that Cardiff v Leeds problem a few years ago - remember that? I recall a local Welsh journalist stating that the number of arrests for public disorder at an England v Wales rugby match around the same time were in multiples of the arrests that occured for the Bluebirds game. Is it a societal thing reflected across the board in sports - remember the Dublin GAA fans who invaded Dalymount a few years ago and attacked Cork City fans?
I really do dispair when the main focus on, say RTE's evening news sports, is Bowyer v Dyer, the tapping up cases, soccer violence with the positives hardly ever mentioned.
Finally, I remember talking to a former Dublin hurler, also quite gifted at soccer, who said "I love soccer, Noel, but there are too many gurriers involved". I found that a bit rich and told him that. Is that the attitude most people have about our game. Every minor or major incident makes me dispair more and more, it really does. :(

25/04/2005, 9:56 AM
It'd be interesting to see what was said about the incident when Rovers(?) were in Bray, and someone threw the bottle on the pitch. Just to compare and contrast the reactions...

I did a quick search, but haven't the time to find the inevitable "throw them out of the league" thread...

bluemovie
25/04/2005, 12:14 PM
[QUOTE=pete]You may also remember he out his knee into the head of a Bohs player when outside his penalty box chasing the ball in Dalymount./QUOTE]

Ah come on. That was fairly innocuous, couldn't be sure if it was accidental or not. I reckon Bohs fans forgot that by the end of the night whereas for some reason Cork fans are still upset by it. I don't even need to defend him anymore since we're rid of him, but some of the stuff said on this thread is ridiculous. Yeah, he is a gouger and winds ye up, but that doesn't excuse physically attacking him, throwing bottles and smoke-bombs at him and then wanting the Gardai to arrest HIM. :rolleyes: We don't need that kind of attitude in the League. Cork have great support and are above that.

Can I just warn ye that our current goalkeeper's red hair is in no way a slur on Cork nor a sarcastic jibe at ye and shouldn't be judged as an incitement to riot. Ye'll just have to vent your frustration on your former great Rennie instead on May 13th. :D

26/04/2005, 1:50 PM
Can I just warn ye that our current goalkeeper's red hair is in no way a slur on Cork nor a sarcastic jibe at ye and shouldn't be judged as an incitement to riot. Ye'll just have to vent your frustration on your former great Rennie instead on May 13th. :D

:D :D :D

ConfusedBlue
26/04/2005, 2:32 PM
Dan Connors no angel but some of the nonsense being spouted here about him is complete and utter ****e!!!

That may well be the case. But if he had booted the ball into the crowd, made offensive gestures to spectators and sprayed the contents of his water bottle at a child at YOUR ground, you might not like him either.
Talk about exaggerations,lads come on now the ball was kicked at the perimeter wall in front of the shed and the spraying of water took place out in the center-circle how the Christ do you make out he sprayed it at a child???
Granted he made gestures toward spectators,what team doesn't have at least one player who has made a gesture toward opposition supporters???Your own beloved Georgie and John O Flynn have gestured at us in the past,only this season Paul Keegan got a bit of stick at us and made gestures at us in Flancare Park.
That didn't give us reason to throw objects at them,so why do ye say Connor brought it on himself,Connor deserved it,Connor is scum,etc???????????

higgins
26/04/2005, 3:04 PM
You Cork lads will really go out of your way to defend Cork City FC wont you :mad:

No matter what seems to go on you always have some sort of way to twist things around and come out on the good side. Everyone else is evil and out to get you ??

When George made the dive in the shels game you all defended him when he was clearly in the wrong. At the time I found it rather amusing that you could twist it into him being a saint. Now we have a totally different matter of people throwing stuff onto the pitch and you are saying Dan Connor is the problem :( This has gone on before with backing up Dolan and using his twisted version of events, like fixture lists and so on. You really cn turn any situation around cant you :rolleyes:

Would you look at the threads on here after such incidents. You talk yourselves around into actually thinking your being the victims... Someone posts a BUT or an IF and you all agree then others come on to and say 'yeah thats right' and before you know it you have twisted it around to the FAI the EL Ollie Byrne Shels and the new Pope are all out to get you.

26/04/2005, 3:47 PM
Talk about exaggerations,lads come on now the ball was kicked at the perimeter wall in front of the shed and the spraying of water took place out in the center-circle how the Christ do you make out he sprayed it at a child???
Granted he made gestures toward spectators,what team doesn't have at least one player who has made a gesture toward opposition supporters???Your own beloved Georgie and John O Flynn have gestured at us in the past,only this season Paul Keegan got a bit of stick at us and made gestures at us in Flancare Park.
That didn't give us reason to throw objects at them,so why do ye say Connor brought it on himself,Connor deserved it,Connor is scum,etc???????????
He kicked the ball at the wall and hit a fan- FACT.
He sprayed water at a kid as he was walking down the tunnel to the dressing rooms- FACT.
He is a scumbag- FACT.
What happened on Friday was inexcusable- FACT.
We will get fined for it, and deservedly so- what part of me saying that can you not understand.

26/04/2005, 3:49 PM
You Cork lads will really go out of your way to defend Cork City FC wont you :mad:
of course!

When George made the dive in the shels game you all defended him when he was clearly in the wrong. At the time I found it rather amusing that you could twist it into him being a saint.
I think you'll find that a number of City fans (myself included) accepted that what George did was cheating, and was wrong.

Would you look at the threads on here after such incidents. You talk yourselves around into actually thinking your being the victims... Someone posts a BUT or an IF and you all agree then others come on to and say 'yeah thats right' and before you know it you have twisted it around to the FAI the EL Ollie Byrne Shels and the new Pope are all out to get you.
Some people take things a bit too far, that happens at all clubs- but we're fans, of course we'll defend our club. Thats one of the reasons I was so angry with the bottle being thrown at Connor, is that it damaged our reputation.

The Good Son
26/04/2005, 4:06 PM

Sorry Éanna but there was nobody hit by the ball that day. I was standing about two yards from where it hit the wall and went flying up in the air. If it had hit someone it would have done damage but it didn't. Personally I find it amazing that people get so upset over Connors, he winds up the opposition fans so what. I'd love to see a few more CCFC players do the same it's part of what makes the game enjoyable. I find it amazing that fans are well able to give out grief but any bit given back and it's blue murder.

26/04/2005, 4:08 PM
Sorry Éanna but there was nobody hit by the ball that day. I was standing about two yards from where it hit the wall and went flying up in the air.
My apologies then- I was told by somebody who was standing down there that he had hit somebody.

26/04/2005, 4:30 PM
Sorry Éanna but there was nobody hit by the ball that day. I was standing about two yards from where it hit the wall and went flying up in the air. If it had hit someone it would have done damage but it didn't. Personally I find it amazing that people get so upset over Connors, he winds up the opposition fans so what. I'd love to see a few more CCFC players do the same it's part of what makes the game enjoyable. I find it amazing that fans are well able to give out grief but any bit given back and it's blue murder.

Post of the month from the good son.the fact of the matter is that if hated characters like in corks case Dan Connor weren't in the game it just wouldn't be as enjoyable.

26/04/2005, 6:38 PM
the person who threw the glass bottle as soon outed by people around him and carted off by the guards.

Wrong again eanna just been reading this mornings paper which said the person who threw the bottle got away,was he outed by people around him or protected by people around him.

26/04/2005, 6:47 PM
Wrong again eanna just been reading this mornings paper which said the person who threw the bottle got away,was he outed by people around him or protected by people around him.
And the papers are always right are they? The stewards and a guard came up into the Shed and took the guy away. From what I heard afterwards, they couldn't get anyone who could swear they had seen him throw it, so they were unable to press criminal charges- that doesn't mean he got away with it. He's not welcome back in the Shed, and if he has any sense he'll not show his face at turners cross again- there are a lot of people very angry with him

26/04/2005, 7:03 PM
This story is in this mornings Irish Sun on page 51 on the far right of the page,the story is by Stephen Finn i quote"although the Gardi attempted to make an arrest, it is understood the culprit was not apprehended".

There is no reason to believe that the papers are not telling the truth but from what i can gather a few people posting on here seen the culprit could they not help the Gardi identify him and that way Cork could be sure he never enters the cross again.

26/04/2005, 8:52 PM
This story is in this mornings Irish Sun on page 51 on the far right of the page,the story is by Stephen Finn i quote"although the Gardi attempted to make an arrest, it is understood the culprit was not apprehended".

There is no reason to believe that the papers are not telling the truth but from what i can gather a few people posting on here seen the culprit could they not help the Gardi identify him and that way Cork could be sure he never enters the cross again.
Yeah, I saw it in the Sun alright. Straight up D2 Red, this is what happened:
I was a few rows down from where the bottle came from, I saw it out of the corner of my eye, and then saw it hit the crossbar. Myself and several others saw it hit the crossbar. We turned around and there was a guy standing there, looking very guilty. There was a gang around him- all his buddies, drunken little scuts. The guard and the stewards came up and grabbed one fella, but it was the wrong guy. A few people went over, and spoke to them, and they carted another fellow off- I was told by a couple of people that the guards had got the right guy. I spoke to the head guard and the event controller after and both told me that they couldn't get any witnesses who had actually seen him throw it, so he couldn't be charged.

So to sum it up- we're sure we know who did it, but we didn't actually see it, hence we can't give statements saying we did.

26/04/2005, 9:03 PM
Lads, I'm a drog who was at the match and to be honest I dont know eanna at all, never met the chap but lets be honest hes probably the most level headed cork supporter on here about this incident (even though i dont 100% agree with him!)
(like i didnt hear him make the childish comment that dan connor was totally to balme unlike one other cork fan :rolleyes: )

He's recognised the club should have done better security wise (and hes said the club know this too), he acknowledges Dan is no angel (even though what he did in my opinion was very minimal on this occassion no matter what went on in the past), he acknowledges theres a small amount of teenage scum in the shed, he acknowledges cork should get a fine.

Time to move on in my opinion, lets put this to bed and hope cork will have extra security the next time the drogs are down :cool:

26/04/2005, 9:12 PM
never met the chap but lets be honest hes probably the most level headed cork supporter on here about this incident
you've ruined my reputation now- me level-headed :eek: :D

cheers Cosmo :)

26/04/2005, 9:16 PM
HAha, though sorry to burst your bubble - you're level headed compared to some of the other immature cork lads on here ;)

The Sheliban
26/04/2005, 9:19 PM
This throwing things from out of the safety of a large crowd has to be one of the most cowardly and lowest things imaginable, and it seems to be on the increase. Throwing a broken glass bottle onto a pitch shows a low mentality, as does throwing a flare onto the pitch narrowly missing a linesman, as a Cork gombeen did at Tolka last season.
And in case anyone thinks this is an anti Cork rant, we've had our share of this kind of thing at Tolka recently, mainly young kids, who seem to get away with it.

26/04/2005, 10:06 PM
you've ruined my reputation now- me level-headed :eek: :D

With age comes maturity ;)

Can only those people actually AT the games in question post on this topic in future? Therefore no more posts from me.

26/04/2005, 10:25 PM
This throwing things from out of the safety of a large crowd has to be one of the most cowardly and lowest things imaginable, and it seems to be on the increase. Throwing a broken glass bottle onto a pitch shows a low mentality, as does throwing a flare onto the pitch narrowly missing a linesman, as a Cork gombeen did at Tolka last season.
And in case anyone thinks this is an anti Cork rant, we've had our share of this kind of thing at Tolka recently, mainly young kids, who seem to get away with it.
yup, its happened at most clubs in the league at one stage or another. The important thing is to find and ban the perpetrators, not to slag one club off when it happens to them, or to attempt to excuse it if it happens to your club.

The Good Son
27/04/2005, 7:11 AM
Lads, I'm a drog who was at the match and to be honest I dont know eanna at all, never met the chap but lets be honest hes probably the most level headed cork supporter on here about this incident (even though i dont 100% agree with him!)
(like i didnt hear him make the childish comment that dan connor was totally to balme unlike one other cork fan :rolleyes: )

He's recognised the club should have done better security wise (and hes said the club know this too), he acknowledges Dan is no angel (even though what he did in my opinion was very minimal on this occassion no matter what went on in the past), he acknowledges theres a small amount of teenage scum in the shed, he acknowledges cork should get a fine.

Time to move on in my opinion, lets put this to bed and hope cork will have extra security the next time the drogs are down :cool:

In all fairness Cosmo if you re-read the entire thread again you'll see that every City fan, with one exception was of the same opinion as Éanna. Nobody tried to defend the stupidity of what happened or tried to blame Connors (again one exception).
There was some defending of other accusations made against City fans, but nobody with any inteligence could defend the bottle throwing or try to blame anybody except the bottle thrower.

27/04/2005, 10:56 AM
Apologies so - good to see!!

To be honest some people made it blow all out of proportion :rolleyes: . Its not the first time it happened and it won't be the last time either (we've had incidents with drogheda in the past as im sure every club in the EL has had- and im sure we'll have 1 or 2 incidents in the future - but theres no point in dweling over it - club gets fined, warned of future security, etc and just get on with it).

It's very boring now - thats my last post on the topic ;)

ConfusedBlue
27/04/2005, 12:53 PM
My apologies then- I was told by somebody who was standing down there that he had hit somebody.
So were you told about all these other accusations you made as to why Dan Connor is a scumbag or did you actually witness them Eanna???

27/04/2005, 1:55 PM
So were you told about all these other accusations you made as to why Dan Connor is a scumbag or did you actually witness them Eanna???
I saw him spray his water bottle at the crowd, I saw him stick his fingers up at the crowd, I saw him gesture at the crowd- ok

higgins
27/04/2005, 9:26 PM
I also find Eanna to be very level headed and is always a fairly honest judge of a situation but you did try to aportion too much blame to Dan Connor on this occasion.

You are one of the better fans to have an argument with and always try to remain unbiased and can nearly always see a situation for what it is but to wade into this one even slightly on the Cork City side is wrong. Nobody is out to get you or Cork City, you and others get so defensive too quickly and in this case are wrong.

Not sure where you pulled that FACT out of ;)

Dan Connor did nothing ( ie NOTHNG ) to deserve a bottle being thrown onto the pitch ...

Your mad even trying to partly defend this

27/04/2005, 10:04 PM
Dan Connor did nothing ( ie NOTHNG ) to deserve a bottle being thrown onto the pitch ...
I agree.

The fact that he was acting the ****** doesn't mean what happened was justified. And the fact that what happened was not justified, doesn't mean he was justified in acting the ****** :)

29/04/2005, 10:04 AM
Again, not saying that he deserved to be hit, but what he says here (http://www.eleven-a-side.com/premier/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=17105) is lies; he was not hit by a broken bottle, the goal post was and he was a good bit away and did not even look back when it happened, but while he says "I probably won’t create a massive fuss about it" he then says "a broken vodka bottle came from behind me and stuck in my leg,” said Connor. “It was pumping blood and I had to get treatment" which is a crock of $hit. He's such a cnut :mad:

Jim Smith
29/04/2005, 10:19 AM
I'm in no way defending the throwing of anything but didn't the injury occur before the bottle was thrown? The first missile looked more like a coin or bit of metal to me - I had a good view from near the front of the shed - and I didn't see any blood pumping from a wound.
What happened was bad and City should/will be punnished I,m sure, but Connor should stick to the facts.

29/04/2005, 11:36 AM
2 years ago, he was playing for Waherfur against us at the cross, and he got some mild slagging "Dodgy keeper" chants etc. He made a number of gestures at the crowd, and when waherfur scored he turned around and celebrated right in front of the fans (sticking his fingers up at the crowd among other things). He then started wasting time (understandable in the circumstances i guess, but still infuriating) and at one stage when he was given the ball to take a goal kick, he booted it back into the crowd and hit a fan. As he was walking off the pitch after the game, he sprayed the contents of his water bottle at some kid in the stand. Basically, he was acting the maggot and wound a lot of people up, which meant a lot of tension inside the ground, and some afterwards outside the ground. On every visit since, he has gestured at the fans, which IMO is just making a bad situation worse. On friday night, he was wasting time, waving at the crowd and at one stage was shouting obscenities at the fans right behind his goal. :rolleyes:

he's generally a dirty player too. having seen him play for ireland and for waterford v rockmount, in both games he was a disgrace. after a rockmount player scored against waterford, alan reynolds began screaming at the ref and while he was distracted, an embarressed dan connor ran out and punched the scorer, mid celebration.
its the most vile thing ive seen a human do, let alone an oposition goal keeper.

29/04/2005, 11:40 AM
I'm in no way defending the throwing of anything but didn't the injury occur before the bottle was thrown? The first missile looked more like a coin or bit of metal to me - I had a good view from near the front of the shed - and I didn't see any blood pumping from a wound.
What happened was bad and City should/will be punnished I,m sure, but Connor should stick to the facts.

the bottle hit the cross bar, his leg was struck by either a coin or a bottle top some time before that.

29/04/2005, 11:46 AM
Ignorant comments? I witnessed it myself boy on numerous occasions.
Dogs abuse heaped at Jason Sherlock (when he was with UCD) and it was monkey chanting et al. I witnessed it myself. Perhaps it is not as prevalent now as it was in the mid to late 1990's, but friends of mine who are City supporters who sit in the stand were embarrassed by the behaviour.

ok, so instead of being misinformed youre just bloody lying.
i've never heard a large group of people in the shed making monkey noises. i dont beleive ive heard any SMALL group of people making monket chants.

i had the unfortunate experience of inviting an acquiantance to his second game versus saint pats and the gob****e shouted at one point "osam ya monkey". said gobhite got abuse from everybody including myself and ive never brought him to another game or associated with him since.

if you go to any soccer game you'll hear indiviual biggotry. "**** the dubs". "i follow cork city and i can drive a tractor". "trevor molloy is a junkie midget".

ive never heard ouright racism being a shed-wide thing, and unless we're invaded by some race, i dont think it ever will.

ConfusedBlue
29/04/2005, 12:26 PM
he's generally a dirty player too. having seen him play for ireland and for waterford v rockmount, in both games he was a disgrace. after a rockmount player scored against waterford, alan reynolds began screaming at the ref and while he was distracted, an embarressed dan connor ran out and punched the scorer, mid celebration.

Thats bull**** and you know it Gavin,if you recall correctly it was Vinny Sullivan was sent off for that offence.Connor came out for a cross missed it and clattered into one of their players,he never threw a punch!!!

Again, not saying that he deserved to be hit, but what he says here is lies; he was not hit by a broken bottle, the goal post was and he was a good bit away and did not even look back when it happened, but while he says "I probably won’t create a massive fuss about it" he then says "a broken vodka bottle came from behind me and stuck in my leg,” said Connor. “It was pumping blood and I had to get treatment" which is a crock of $hit. He's such a cnut
So how do you explain him needing stitches in his leg?????

29/04/2005, 12:31 PM
So how do you explain him needing stitches in his leg?????Having mulled over what heppened and having been there (quite important), he was hit with a coin on the right calf but it didn't seem to bother him, then Webb approached him and picked up a coin off the grass and showed it to him, then he went down and the physio came on.
When he got up it was his left leg that was bandaged. :confused:
It was after he went down that the glass broke off the crossbar.
I think the only stitches were the ones tryin to stitch up CCFC.

29/04/2005, 12:34 PM
Thats bull**** and you know it Gavin,if you recall correctly it was Vinny Sullivan was sent off for that offence.Connor came out for a cross missed it and clattered into one of their players,he never threw a punch!!!

unless vinie borrowed the goalie jersey, then yes, connor did punch him and remained on the park.

So how do you explain him needing stitches in his leg?????
as has been said, apparantly he was bull****ting, and not out of character either.

Shelsman
29/04/2005, 1:07 PM
yup, its happened at most clubs in the league at one stage or another. The important thing is to find and ban the perpetrators, not to slag one club off when it happens to them, or to attempt to excuse it if it happens to your club.

Truly the most level-headed statement of the whole thread.

What clubs should do ( seeing as Goalkeepers are the easiest targets ( ie don't move around much and always near the edge of the pitch ) is put up netting behind the goal. If the netting has to start at 6ft up then fine ( to prevent Heysel type Disaster ).

Were there Cork fans at the AC Milan vs Inter Milan game? Just kidding!!!

Seriously though, there should be a standard punishment for

(a) Players goading fans and
(b) Fans throwing objects onto the pitch

This is what happened to Inter:

http://www.uefa.com/competitions/UCL/news/Kind=1/newsId=295903.html

UEFA's Control and Disciplinary Body has ordered FC Internazionale Milano to play their next six European club competition matches behind closed doors as a result of the disturbances at the abandoned UEFA Champions League quarter-final second leg against AC Milan on Tuesday.

They were fined too.

So should a club be punished for the action of one fan? It seems a little unfair initially but then each club must be able to guarantee the safety of the players, officials and fans. If Cork can't stop fans throwing objects onto the pitch I don't think it's unreasonable to make them do someting about it and punished if they don't ( and yes, before the Corkies pipe up, that should apply to ALL eL clubs, YES INCLUDING SHELS!!!! ).

I know some Cork fans will reply that this is an isolated incident but should we really have to wait until it happens again before precautions are taken???

Sure why wear your seatbelt if you're never going to crash!?! :rolleyes: :(

How did a fan manage to get a glass bottle in anyway? I've been to some Dublin Derbys before ( Bohs v Rovers in particular ) and you would often be checked at the turnstiles by the stewards ( with Gardaí to hand ).

29/04/2005, 1:17 PM
How did a fan manage to get a glass bottle in anyway? I've been to some Dublin Derbys before ( Bohs v Rovers in particular ) and you would often be checked at the turnstiles by the stewards ( with Gardaí to hand ).

ive often been checked on the way into the cross, and if i have my college bag with me im always checked. however, you cant have a cavity search and an xray scan for every fan, and unfortunately, if every 3rd fan is patted down and theres a 50/50 chance that you'd get away with having a bottle down your sock or something, then the chances of catching the one langer who throws the bottle are remote :(

Shelsman
29/04/2005, 4:04 PM
Yes but putting up a net behind the goal would work.............

29/04/2005, 4:06 PM
Having mulled over what heppened and having been there (quite important), he was hit with a coin on the right calf but it didn't seem to bother him, then Webb approached him and picked up a coin off the grass and showed it to him, then he went down and the physio came on.
When he got up it was his left leg that was bandaged. :confused:
It was after he went down that the glass broke off the crossbar.
I think the only stitches were the ones tryin to stitch up CCFC.

So he went and got stiches in his leg just to try and dirty the good name of the Cork fans?

Jim Smith
29/04/2005, 4:18 PM
So he went and got stitches in his leg just to try and dirty the good name of the Cork fans?
Speaking as someone who was there, he did not get any stitches during the game and there was no sign of blood on the bandage at the end of the game. So if he did get stitches (and his version of what happened quoted above is somewhat counter factual which should be borne in mind) then he should try and sue someone for unnecessary medical treatment or something :rolleyes:

29/04/2005, 9:11 PM
So he went and got stiches in his leg just to try and dirty the good name of the Cork fans?The only people who reported these "stitches" were Drogheda Utd staff. It is more than possible there were no stitches and that these "stitches" (non existent ones)were used to dirty the good name of City

29/04/2005, 10:47 PM
Did you see Murphy and his thug army at it again today? How much longer will it be before the league stands up to them and does something about it :rolleyes:

30/04/2005, 1:39 PM
Did you see Murphy and his thug army at it again today? How much longer will it be before the league stands up to them and does something about it :rolleyes:
how many red cards have shels this season again?

soylent green
30/04/2005, 4:31 PM
Murphy having been red carded against Rovers on the walk across to the dressing rooms had another go at O'Connor.

30/04/2005, 4:50 PM
Murphy having been red carded against Rovers on the walk across to the dressing rooms had another go at O'Connor.

O'Connor had a go at Murphy (to entice reaction) & Murphy like an idiot took the bait.

Soko
30/04/2005, 5:55 PM
The only people who reported these "stitches" were Drogheda Utd staff. It is more than possible there were no stitches and that these "stitches" (non existent ones)were used to dirty the good name of City

I've been thinking about this too and the number of "stitches " has always varied somewhere between 2-4 but never an exact figure. If Webb hadn't of pointed it out to him I doubt he would have even gone down and there was no blood, as usual theres an awful smell of #### coming from Dan Connors ugly head.

30/04/2005, 6:43 PM

How much longer before the league do something about Cork? But I forgot, sure the rules don't apply to them :rolleyes: