View Full Version : Loi fixtures w/e 25/2/2019

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

marinobohs
26/02/2019, 7:49 AM
Went in over the ball. Red card all day. Forwards tackle and I don't believe there was malice but in this day and age it's a red.
Good to hear Finn moaning that the ref caused the result. 5 wins and a draw in last six games - that's "unlucky" refs alright 😁

26/02/2019, 7:52 AM
Nice to have 6 points any comment on your own team ez?

If its commenting on a coach's quotes post match, just watch the last 2 John Gill interviews and the same fan's observations on those comments will apply. If there is one thing as consistant as Bohs getting 3 points from Rovers these days it John Gills book of football clichés...as worn out in 2008 as they are now!! :D

marinobohs
26/02/2019, 7:55 AM
Apart from trying to get players booked (they did all game) and surrounding the ref again at full time (they did) what do you think your overpaid hoofballers should do ?
Obviously keeping the ball on the ground was beyond them - hence hoofing the ball up to Carr on his own, back to goal.
You reckon you will finish ahead of a team of part timers ? Well done you - the "project " goes on 😁

26/02/2019, 7:58 AM
Not the first time he's gone into the crowd with excitement. Great to see. Obviously meant a huge amount after the last couple of weeks. He's been under a lot of pressure, good to see him enjoy the positives. He thanked every fan that travelled individually. After the muck Friday, I'd imagine it was a long journey up!

He knows how to work a crowd does JC. The death stares to sections of the crowd booing to getting in amongst the travelling fans after a badly needed win. From social media posts he looked very relieved man. There is no doubting that he is a proud man that cares about the job he is doing and he knows what to say and do to keep the Cork faithful on side.

Kingswood Rover
26/02/2019, 8:01 AM
I think taking Byrne off, who is capable of pushing forward and grabbing a goal, for Carr was an odd substitution. As for not being in the refs ear Finn is well able for that!
Finn was on the bench so was not able to offer some calming advice to the surrounded ref.

26/02/2019, 8:07 AM
Finn was on the bench so was not able to offer some calming advice to the surrounded ref.

He had a good half hour to make his mark didnt he?

Calcio Jack
26/02/2019, 8:22 AM
Went in over the ball. Red card all day. Forwards tackle and I don't believe there was malice but in this day and age it's a red.
Good to hear Finn moaning that the ref caused the result. 5 wins and a draw in last six games - that's "unlucky" refs alright 😁

Keith Ward on RTÉ earlier admiting that for the red it was a 50/50 tackle and he made a meal of it...and also that he hammed it up for the peno.... some call that cheating others will call it ‘clever’ but bottom line is the ref was fooled.... and we’ve failed to beat you in last 6 which is sickening for us and great for you... and that’s why it means so much to both sets of fans

PartySaint
26/02/2019, 8:23 AM
Frustrating night in Richmond, Pats really lacked creativity, as mentioned already sticking with 3-5-2 didn't really make any sense at home to Harps but Harps good value for the draw and could have even won it at the end with a good chance from a corner, restricted Pats to shots from distance and hopeful crosses.

In saying that if you offered us 7 points from our first 3 games I think every Pats fan would have taken it, win onn Friday and it's a great start to the season.

placid casual
26/02/2019, 8:24 AM
Rovers will finish 3rd again this season unless the striker problem,which Bradley says we don't have, is resolved.
Poor game on a poor pitch in a crumbling stadium. Ref hadn't a breeze what was going on.
"Puts on magnanimous voice" Enjoy being top of the league boez.

PartySaint
26/02/2019, 8:25 AM
Rovers will finish 3rd again this season unless the striker problem,which Bradley says we don't have, is resolved.
Poor game on a poor pitch in a crumbling stadium. Ref hadn't a breeze what was going on.
"Puts on magnanimous voice" Enjoy being top of the league boez.

Who finishes ahead of you in first and second?

Dalymountrower
26/02/2019, 8:26 AM
Thought it was the first time we actually deserved something from a bohs game in a while even enough till the ref bottled from a mass pitch invasion from the bohs bench and sent off Greene. What dissapionted me was how nice we were, our players need to be more in the refs ear. Even going off at half time they said nothing to him. Dan Carr has played 5 halves of football for us but bar a decent one in Waterford he is really struggling. He had a shocker last night he was actually an extra defender last night at times. Could not see the penno due to the poor viewing position i had in the Des Kelly so no comment. The amount of times we had the ball in the box in the 2nd half in dangerous areas with no one able to get on the end was painful. Great atmosphere. So summing up still confident enough about the coming season and finishing within 10 of Dundalk. Will we finish higher than Bohemian FC ABSOUTLEY.koh

How many yellow card did your players pick up? Completely undisciplined performance from Rovers. Bohs were there for the taking. Completely disagree about Carr, caused havoc in the Bohs defence, wn every header, Long subbed his marker .
Our goal is to achieve third bottom or better, dont really care where Rovers end up as long as we can constantly humiliate their overpaid galacticos.

26/02/2019, 8:33 AM
Who finishes ahead of you in first and second?

Harps.

Asterix
26/02/2019, 9:10 AM
How many yellow card did your players pick up? Completely undisciplined performance from Rovers.

3, and 4 for Bohs. I wouldn't have said either team were undisciplined.

sbgawa
26/02/2019, 10:00 AM
6 points lads i'm feeling positive again.
That could all disapear by Saturday :)

26/02/2019, 10:00 AM
That was disappointing. Thought the red card was a bit harsh but Greene can't be putting himself in that position. We played some good stuff, particularly with 11 men, and created more chances than we usually do against them. Onward and upward.

sbgawa
26/02/2019, 10:30 AM
Apart from trying to get players booked (they did all game) and surrounding the ref again at full time (they did) what do you think your overpaid hoofballers should do ?
Obviously keeping the ball on the ground was beyond them - hence hoofing the ball up to Carr on his own, back to goal.
You reckon you will finish ahead of a team of part timers ? Well done you - the "project " goes on 

Instead of reveling in your part-time poverty why don't you ask yourself why your board haven't brought investment in or developed an academy.
Or why you as supporters haven't cleaned up your ground to make some parts inhabitable...you will always get a few bob back when your fans show up to watch Rovers.
If avoiding relegation and winning some derbys is the summit of your clubs ambitions its a pretty sad state of affairs.
This bad run for us will end (both teams have had good and bad runs in the past) and then what have you got ??
The project will go on for us for sure ,,,,,and so will your small mindedness.

Pre match i said i'd take a loss against Bohs and beat DFC on Friday if i could as it will have more effect on the title.
Beating Bohs would have been nice but its not the summit of our ambitions for the season.

bohsmug
26/02/2019, 11:12 AM
Instead of reveling in your part-time poverty why don't you ask yourself why your board haven't brought investment in or developed an academy.
Or why you as supporters haven't cleaned up your ground to make some parts inhabitable...you will always get a few bob back when your fans show up to watch Rovers.
If avoiding relegation and winning some derbys is the summit of your clubs ambitions its a pretty sad state of affairs.
This bad run for us will end (both teams have had good and bad runs in the past) and then what have you got ??

Pre match i said i'd take a loss against Bohs and beat DFC on Friday if i could as it will have more effect on the title.
Beating Bohs would have been nice but its not the summit of our ambitions for the season.

Go away out of that. You're raging and everybody reading that knows it. :D

So many attempted digs in one post. :D:D

bohsmug
26/02/2019, 11:13 AM
PS

"Shamrock Rovers, it happened again"

26/02/2019, 11:18 AM
Not like you sbgawa to get sucked in! It looked like a red card to me the way Greene clumsily, not with intent, tried to step over the ball to win it and at pace came down on Ward's ankle. Goes in to the 'seen them given' category. The penalty needs to be seen from another angle but it does look like it was made and Im not even that sure Ward was clipped at the point that he went down. He is a silly boy if he bragged about duping the ref for both incidents on TV. Its a pity that we dont all have shiney new grounds provided for us, Bohs included maybe one day!!

NeverFeltBetter
26/02/2019, 11:27 AM
Not like you sbgawa to get sucked in! It looked like a red card to me the way Greene clumsily, not with intent, tried to step over the ball to win it and at pace came down on Ward's ankle. Goes in to the 'seen them given' category. The penalty needs to be seen from another angle but it does look like it was made and Im not even that sure Ward was clipped at the point that he went down. He is a silly boy if he bragged about duping the ref for both incidents on TV. Its a pity that we dont all have shiney new grounds provided for us, Bohs included maybe one day!!

When did this happen?

With the caveat that you're stuck with one angle to look at, looked a red to me, reckless and onto the ankle. The penalty, don't think he is clipped, but the hand on the shoulder is foolish inside the box.

joey B
26/02/2019, 11:31 AM
Thought the ref got both wrong tbh,seen them given but the player reaction along with Bohs bench played a part for me, the penalty was very very soft he touches his shoulder and Ward goes down like hes shot again Wards very cute and Finn probably wasn't,it's a shame that a massive game is decided on refereeing decisions but I'm sure Bohs could give a flying f**k about that😛😛

wexfordned
26/02/2019, 11:47 AM

For a team that used to be cup specialists how many cup finals have you now lost to Bohs over the last few years?

Stephen Bradley is a great manager doing a wonderful job. I think he deserves a contract extension to keep on implementing "The Project" or whatever that means. All these home grown players coming through to play starring roles for the 1st team last night, such as ???

It's remarkable how players like Luke Byrne, Lopez & Watts can leave Bohemians for full time football at Shamrock Rovers and yet they seem to have disimproved as players. That's quite an achievement, so well done Shamrock

marinobohs
26/02/2019, 11:54 AM

1 BOHS are 100% members owned and always have been we don’t sell out like 50% club.
2. We chose not to go bankrupt and have a new company buy our history off the FAI

3 pretending you don’t care about derbies ? You are having a laugh, still your biggest League game and probably as near as you will get to a “cup final”
4. When it comes to developing young players we are doing fine - without pawning our club. That’s why you offered three of them contracts (Leahy Kelly and Reghba).

5 winning the League ? With Bradser ? Be serious 😁

dundalkfc10
26/02/2019, 11:57 AM

Hurting much?

Northsider
26/02/2019, 12:37 PM

The rage is strong in this one.

sbgawa
26/02/2019, 12:53 PM
Ah for sure just but still happy overall with the start 6 points from 9 is ok.
Sometimes I can't resist calling out small minded eejits.

sbgawa
26/02/2019, 1:04 PM
Thought the ref got both wrong tbh,seen them given but the player reaction along with Bohs bench played a part for me, the penalty was very very soft he touches his shoulder and Ward goes down like hes shot again Wards very cute and Finn probably wasn't,it's a shame that a massive game is decided on refereeing decisions but I'm sure Bohs could give a flying f**k about that����
Over the course of the season you have to hope the bad calls get evened out, thats what i keep telling myself

marinobohs
26/02/2019, 1:59 PM
Ah for sure just but still happy overall with the start 6 points from 9 is ok.
Sometimes I can't resist calling out small minded eejits.

Sure, as long as the loss doesn’t bother you 😆😆😆😆😆😆

26/02/2019, 2:19 PM
1 BOHS are 100% members owned and always have been we don’t sell out like 50% club.
2. We chose not to go bankrupt and have a new company buy our history off the FAI

3 pretending you don’t care about derbies ? You are having a laugh, still your biggest League game and probably as near as you will get to a “cup final”
4. When it comes to developing young players we are doing fine - without pawning our club. That’s why you offered three of them contracts (Leahy Kelly and Reghba).

5 winning the League ? With Bradser ? Be serious 

How exactly is history bought? We have a few quid now, can we buy 10 leagues please?

and not in the Drogheda United type way!

sbgawa
26/02/2019, 3:05 PM
How exactly is history bought? We have a few quid now, can we buy 10 leagues please?

and not in the Drogheda United type way!

Thats a bit harsh Nesta , talk about kicking a lad while he is down, you need to be nicer to your neighbors :)

CorribsideSteve
26/02/2019, 3:38 PM
The Bohs Rovers match was a poor spectacle. Greene should have gotten a yellow, I really don't think it warranted a red. The penalty was very soft too, but just marginally within the bounds of being giveable. Shams spent good portions of the match Jack Charlton 1990 style hoofing overhit balls to nobody in particular, I'd be raging this morning as a Rovers fan over the way they play at times.

marinobohs
26/02/2019, 4:21 PM
The Bohs Rovers match was a poor spectacle. Greene should have gotten a yellow, I really don't think it warranted a red. The penalty was very soft too, but just marginally within the bounds of being giveable. Shams spent the whole match Jack Charlton 1990 style hoofing overhit balls to nobody in particular for the whole match, I'd be raging this morning as a Rovers fan over the way they play.

Funny enough I thought the red card was spot on (you can’t tackle like that anymore) and the pen was a bit soft !

Neither the worst decision I’ve seen this season (even after 3 games) and expect we will see many many more.
I had expected a lot more football from shams (even before the red), maybe the text bad run in derby’s got to them. After the red it was mainly route one, usually aimed at Carr (who I thought held up play well).

Anyway, bring on Waterford 😁

CorribsideSteve
26/02/2019, 4:28 PM
Funny enough I thought the red card was spot on (you can’t tackle like that anymore) and the pen was a bit soft !

Neither the worst decision I’ve seen this season (even after 3 games) and expect we will see many many more.
I had expected a lot more football from shams (even before the red), maybe the text bad run in derby’s got to them. After the red it was mainly route one, usually aimed at Carr (who I thought held up play well).

Anyway, bring on Waterford 
Greene looked like he tried to do a turn, by getting his foot to the ball and spinning himself the opposite direction, but he made a balls of it, he wasn't looking to hurt the Bohs defender IMO. The ref could have been 10-15 yards closer too. Instant yellow and a stern telling off would have done IMO. Each to his own though :) Great crowd, very good atmosphere it must be said. Waterford will be a tough match but as we saw with UCD last night, most teams can give each other a right go.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/02/2019, 6:56 PM
I meant to ask, what’s the “technicality” Drennan and McCabe left on?

Drennan apparently we had an option on which we went to exercise but never sent it by registered post. Amateur stuff if true. Don’t see why people are so worked up about him leaving all the same. Our own fault.

McCabe not really sure. Heard he was off to the States but had issues getting a visa.

mcgonigle
26/02/2019, 9:24 PM
Harvey was the ref for Bohs v Rovers?

26/02/2019, 10:45 PM

I had expected a lot more football from shams (even before the red), maybe the bad run in cup finals got to them. After the red it was mainly route one, usually aimed at Carr (who I thought held up play well).

26/02/2019, 10:52 PM
Harvey was the ref for Bohs v Rovers?

Harvey Price according to most of the Rovers fans :D

27/02/2019, 12:28 AM
Not sure what game people were watching thinking Rovers played hoofball. Played three at the back to enable an extra man in midfield and played a lot of one-touch stuff in the first 25 minutes. The red card obviously changed things but I'd like to see other teams play possession football for an hour with a man down, especially against a good passing team like they are. Bohs played some lovely stuff to ensure we had to chase the ball around for the last hour but thought we had some moments even a man down. If you can't enjoy a game between two good teams trying to play football, then I don't know what to say.

Kingswood Rover
27/02/2019, 6:44 AM
I think they can finish higher, Greene through the middle up front looks effective to me up to that sending off. Dan Carr nice chap but nowhere near good enough, he looked like Bambi on ice and cannot hold a ball up. Agreed we need another striker to support Greene.

Kingswood Rover
27/02/2019, 6:53 AM
How many yellow card did your players pick up? Completely undisciplined performance from Rovers. Bohs were there for the taking. Completely disagree about Carr, caused havoc in the Bohs defence, wn every header, Long subbed his marker .
Our goal is to achieve third bottom or better, dont really care where Rovers end up as long as we can constantly humiliate their overpaid galacticos.
Yes he caused havoc because they worked out that they needed to do feck all to combat his effectiveness as he was doin it himself. Long, good manager by the way kopped on and brought some one else on. I am confused by the analogy Big club = finishing 3rd bottom and humiliating Rovers. I will say one thing in the Big Clubs favor, the way they have become so intrinsically linked into the locality in the last 3 years or so has been an excellent piece of work and bodes well not only for the league but this Rivalry. When the new ground is up and running Crowds will continue to grow. Maybe then the ambition of finishing 3rd from bottom and beating us constantly will be re-accessed.

placid casual
27/02/2019, 7:16 AM
Boez will find a way to f*"k it up. It's what they do. It's who they are.

Dalymountrower
27/02/2019, 8:11 AM
Yes he caused havoc because they worked out that they needed to do feck all to combat his effectiveness as he was doin it himself. Long, good manager by the way kopped on and brought some one else on. I am confused by the analogy Big club = finishing 3rd bottom and humiliating Rovers. I will say one thing in the Big Clubs favor, the way they have become so intrinsically linked into the locality in the last 3 years or so has been an excellent piece of work and bodes well not only for the league but this Rivalry. When the new ground is up and running Crowds will continue to grow. Maybe then the ambition of finishing 3rd from bottom and beating us constantly will be re-accessed.

Fair enough but because of the events of ten years ago and the near demise of the club, there is still no appetite for spending more than we can earn. With no sugar daddy, investment company or €5 million soft loan we can only rely on what we can raise from members fees, fundraising, gate receipts and sponsorship. That puts us at the lower end of signing power and if it wasn`t for Long and Crolly doing such an excellent job, we would be struggling with relegation every year. If, and its a big if, Dublin City Council get their act together and build a new stadium, then the ambition will be for much bigger crowds to be challenging for honours every year.
Between now and then, we will aim to punch above our weight, consolidate the links with communities across Dublin City and Fingal, continue to develop young players and to recruit returning young players from the English meat grinder.

sbgawa
27/02/2019, 8:50 AM
Your board need to look for a suger daddy willing to buy in but leave control with the members,
Shels are on the way up and with their sugar daddy investor will have the pick of the returning kids from England for next season as well as the best of the dublin players not playing full time with Rovers or Pats.
A strong shels will make 3rd from bottom harder to achieve.
I'd rather have bohs in the Premier than Shels (old scars) but unless your board wake up you will find yourselves in the first division.....with your principles intact
The League is changing , Peak 6 is just the start

Real ale Madrid
27/02/2019, 9:13 AM
Your board need to look for a suger daddy willing to buy in but leave control with the members,
Shels are on the way up and with their sugar daddy investor will have the pick of the returning kids from England for next season as well as the best of the dublin players not playing full time with Rovers or Pats.
I'd rather have bohs in the Premier than Shels (old scars) but unless your board wake up you will find yourselves in the first division.....with your principles intact

Investors will only invest if there is money to be made. So far there is no evidence that there is any money in LOI football, except for the odd exception. There is little to no football 'industry' in Ireland. There is only 1 other sport in Ireland that has been able to make a fist of professionalism - and that is Rugby and even that is basically a centrally funded model that has no chance of survival in football.

Give me a club with principles any day of the week.

Northsider
27/02/2019, 9:15 AM

Some bizarre points raised there.

As if sugar daddies grow on trees and getting one in will win us the league. It hasn't worked out well lately for you guys, has it?

You seem to be under the impression also that 3rd from bottom is the height of our ambitions. Recent seasons should have thought you that is nonsense. Let Shels break the bank again chasing the rainbow, I'm far more comfortable with what we are doing.

Remember, we have 2 years in Tolka to plan for, revenue streams are going to be slashed. We have rainy day plans in place to try and counter this.

Getting sugar daddies in, borrowing money to fund a title challenge is pie in the sky stuff.

sbgawa
27/02/2019, 9:43 AM
You don't have to invest in the first team, rovers have invested circa 1 million in the academy and infrastructure,
Throwing money at the first team would be daft but investing in the right areas with some support for the first team is a viable stratagy

sbgawa
27/02/2019, 9:59 AM
As I said above I would rather have bohs in the premier then shels and when shels get promoted a very modest investment will Hoover up the best returning kids who are currently going to bohs.

marinobohs
27/02/2019, 10:47 AM
Boez will find a way to f*"k it up. It's what they do. It's who they are.

Bankruptcy and relegation still hunting dear ?

sbgawa
27/02/2019, 11:10 AM
Let he who is without sin cast the first stone

marinobohs
27/02/2019, 11:12 AM
Let he who is without sin cast the first stone

Remind me again when Bohs were relegated ? Just one occasion will do.
Or indeed when we went bankrupt ?
....in your own time 😁