View Full Version : Conor Coventry M Charlton Athletic b.2000
liamoo11
26/09/2018, 8:12 PM
Conor Coventry rumoured to be included in west ham's squad for tonight's league cup game against Macclesfield
Great Call tets On for full second half
Olé Olé
26/09/2018, 9:01 PM
Had a look at his Twitter feed and, much like every other teen player we have, it's dominated with Conor McGregor. In all honesty, it wouldn't be a bad idea to leverage him in the circumstances we are finding ourselves in with Rice, Kelly and Grealish. Whatever you think about his actions and words etc, he is very proud of his Irishness.
liamoo11
30/09/2018, 4:45 PM
Given the hysteria around declan rice switching can we assume coventry will be capped against denmark or wales?
30/09/2018, 7:31 PM
No we can't
27/10/2018, 12:16 AM
Coventry omitted from the West Ham U23s squad for their game against Leicester. The Hammers' senior team is suffering a bit of an injury crisis ahead of their game against Leicester as well....
Could be something, could be nothing.
liamoo11
27/10/2018, 5:22 PM
great call tets. Maybe now we cap him in Denmark?
26/12/2018, 10:58 AM
Linked with a loan move in January, Crawley and Charlton interested according to Twitter
liamoo11
27/12/2018, 5:51 PM
nice to see him make the bench tonight
DeLorean
30/12/2018, 7:55 PM
Does anybody know how Coventry qualifies exactly?
Olé Olé
30/12/2018, 8:06 PM
Not sure but he made some positive noises a couple of months ago: https://www.whufc.com/news/articles/2018/october/10-october/coventry-hoping-continue-dream-2018-ireland-duty
I cringe at myself posting about "positive noises" given that Rice couldn't have made any more positive noises than kissing his badge etc. Christ.
greendeiseboy
30/12/2018, 8:28 PM
Does anybody know how Coventry qualifies exactly?
Irish mother, so a more direct link than Rice
Olé Olé
30/12/2018, 8:39 PM
Irish mother, so a more direct link than Rice
Ah very good.
That said, Rice's father might say he's Irish himself too! Obviously not Irish-born so you are right that it's less direct.
Olé Olé
14/06/2019, 3:35 PM
https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/coventry-pins-colours-to-irish-mast-ahead-of-brazil-clash-38211107.html
A good Mammy's boy!
elatedscum
14/06/2019, 7:21 PM
i'd say his mother left pretty young though, spoke to her after a 21s game and she had a pretty strong London accent. (She also seemed just being with pride for him)
As far as I'm concerned Sean Rice is Irish, she's Irish and as long as he feels it, Conor is Irish.
15/02/2021, 4:33 PM
named on the bench for tonight's game against Sheffield United, along with Odubeko
CraftyToePoke
31/08/2021, 4:42 PM
Has joined Peterborough United on loan, for the season AFAIK.
Championship football time for him in a side he should get in.
Trequartista20
31/08/2021, 7:55 PM
How Arter, who's been in notable decline for at least three years - as further evidenced by his drop down to the third tier and Charlton today - made it into the squad ahead of of talented young players with careers on the rise like Coventry, Kilkenny and Doyle-Hayes is well beyond me.
31/08/2021, 8:34 PM
Coventry has 3 senior appearances for West Ham in the league cup, 7 for Lincoln City in League One, and none for Ireland. Arter has more to offer a squad than Coventry. Maybe not for much longer, but for now he does. Frustration with the lack of quality available to us doesn't magically make the untested young fellas ready to take on Portugal. If this loan goes well, and Coventry is playing steadily in the Championship, he'll be in line for a cap before long.
seanfhear
31/08/2021, 9:29 PM
How Arter, who's been in notable decline for at least three years - as further evidenced by his drop down to the third tier and Charlton today - made it into the squad ahead of of talented young players with careers on the rise like Coventry, Kilkenny and Doyle-Hayes is well beyond me.
Arter did praise Kenny quite a bit.
01/09/2021, 2:06 PM
Has joined Peterborough United on loan, for the season AFAIK.
Championship football time for him in a side he should get in.
It's a great move. For him, for Posh, and for West Ham. He's been a great player for us at 21s, and his partnership with Molumby - fleeting as it was - was promising.
Every time I hear his name I have this mindseye image of him in the centre circle moving a pass from Molumby on the right, one-touched with the inside right boot behind him across to the left to Dara O'Shea undercutting him on the outside. The type of move I literally cannot remember seeing an Irish senior midfield player doing in my adulthood, if ever.
CraftyToePoke
05/01/2022, 1:21 PM
Recalled by West Ham having had minimal impact & little playing time for a poor side.
tommy_c12000
05/01/2022, 7:15 PM
I am not surprised. He didn’t have any impact since the move. Similar to his lack of impact at Lincoln.
While he’s a nice passer, he always seemed to me to lack the natural athleticism to make it at the top level in midfield. Let’s see if he can drop down a division or two to finish the season strongly on another loan, rather than dwindle at PL2 level. He’s at a crucial juncture of his career.
18/01/2022, 3:00 PM
Heading to MKDons on loan now. Should see him get some more playing time. Could still be a solid longer term option as defensive midfield cover, at the moment he's probably fallen behind Kilkenny and is well behind Cullen now in the pecking order.
tommy_c12000
22/02/2022, 9:57 PM
Nice to see him go well with MK Dons. MOTM in todays 2-0 win with Troy a close second. Up to 3rd in table.
Saw his game yesterday as they were playing my team Charlton, I do not think I am being biased, but he was MOM with a brilliant assist also, close behind was Troy, definitely now playing as an attacking midfielder, ran everywhere, in a good way, missed a one to one with the goalkeeper (Troy), when he made a brilliant run, ball lobbed through to him, but miscontrolled with only the keeper to beat. looking forward to seeing more of both.
MK Dons fans love him and were talking about the possibility of being able to get him again for next season after the third or fourth game. His assist last night was excellent.
23/02/2022, 9:20 AM
Lovely little through ball. It must do something to highlight the gap between second and third tier though if his loan spell at Peterborough was ended early but he seems to be a hit at MK Dons. (There can be other factors too of course, but that should be one)
It's definitely one alright. The Championship is a tough league to play in and it's the strongest second tier league around. If it was a stand alone league it would probably rank high enough.
MK Dons as a team might suit his style better than Peterborough. There's also the fact his loan move happened at the last second so didn't get a pre season with his new team, which might have helped when playing for a team just promoted.
Hopefully we get to find out next season if MK Dons get promoted and he returns to them on loan. Compare him with Cullen and their careers look a bit similar. While Cullen had the season and a half at Bradford starting week in week out for a play off team, when he got the loan move to Bolton in the championship they dropped him after ten games and didn't renew his loan in January. Ended back up in League One next season with Charlton who went on to win the play offs. While Charlton got relegated their first season up he was starting week in week out for them.
Good interview by David Sneyd with Coventry.
08/08/2022, 10:59 AM
Made his first premier league appearance yesterday, the 196th Irish player to appear in the competition - Bazunu was the 195th a day earlier
samhaydenjr
09/08/2022, 1:56 AM
Great to see - if he can continue to get minutes and Smallbone continues to establish himself at Stoke and if O'Dowda, Hendrick and Brady can get their careers back on track, then our midfield will start to look a little less threadbare
Fixer82
09/08/2022, 7:28 AM
Great to see - if he can continue to get minutes and Smallbone continues to establish himself at Stoke and if O'Dowda, Hendrick and Brady can get their careers back on track, then our midfield will start to look a little less threadbare
I don’t think we’ll ever see Brady in green again
If Brady is starting and fit he'll be back in the squad come September.
Can't see Coventry getting much minutes at West Ham. Won't be too many matches this season where West Ham are out of the game so easily. And still only got a minute in a game that was over long before that.
third policeman
09/08/2022, 6:03 PM
If Brady is starting and fit he'll be back in the squad come September.
Agree if he is fit and playing he’d be an improvement on a number of current squad members and an option for LWB position.
Olé Olé
09/08/2022, 6:28 PM
Agree if he is fit and playing he’d be an improvement on a number of current squad members and an option for LWB position.
Absolutely. His quality on the ball is miles ahead of McClean and Stevens, he would be an improvement as you say.
liamoo11
09/08/2022, 7:09 PM
Absolutely. His quality on the ball is miles ahead of McClean and Stevens, he would be an improvement as you say.
Totally. By far our best option at left wing back gives him space to use his quality. Equally as bad defensively as mcclean as McLean showed for Ukraine s goal
Starts tonight for West Ham in the conference league play off.
Trequartista20
18/08/2022, 7:24 PM
Starts tonight for West Ham in the conference league play off.
Fantastic stuff.
tommy_c12000
18/08/2022, 7:49 PM
How’s is playing?
He's done alright. Kept it simple and tidy playing 82mins. Bang of pre season friendly off this game really. With their options in midfield think they really should have brought Cullen back when he was going cheap.
On the bench this evening for the second leg.
mark12345
25/08/2022, 11:24 PM
Came on midway through the second half and was followed by Okoflex. Hammers won 3-0.
BOOMSHAKALAKA
27/10/2022, 6:10 PM
Starts tonight v Silkeborg. Let's hope he impresses. Close to having another breakthrough on our hands.
third policeman
27/10/2022, 9:27 PM
Second highest rating according to BBC report
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/63404741
Hopefully it helps put him in the shop window for a move.
third policeman
28/10/2022, 12:09 PM
Hopefully it helps put him in the shop window for a move.
Hopefully he gets game time at West Ham and becomes a regular PL player.
Or we can be realistic and admit if he wants to make it as an Ireland international and PL player down the line he'll have to follow Cullen in leaving West Ham.
Moyes mentioned last night that Coventry had the opportunity to leave but opted to stay at West Ham this season.
Moyes comments:
“Conor is a good player and it has been difficult to get him some minutes,” said Moyes. “We have had Flynn and with all of the competition we have got it has been difficult.
Conor had plenty of chances to leave but we wanted him to stay. He is such a good lad and a good trainer. He is a great competitor. He is the captain of the Republic of Ireland’s under-21s.
“We had Josh Cullen who is very similar that here. Went to Anderlecht and Burnley. Playing for the full [Ireland] team. Wouldn’t surprise me if Conor followed the same path. He is doing great and we like him a lot. He had the chance to go in the summer.
“He had a chance to go out in the summer, and he had a couple of good clubs [interested], but we like having him because he’s such a good boy. He’s low maintenance, trains great, great with the rest of the players. He’s a good boy to have around.”
CraftyToePoke
28/10/2022, 3:59 PM
Moyes mentioned last night that Coventry had the opportunity to leave but opted to stay at West Ham this season.
Moyes comments:
“Conor is a good player and it has been difficult to get him some minutes,” said Moyes. “We have had Flynn and with all of the competition we have got it has been difficult.
Conor had plenty of chances to leave but we wanted him to stay. He is such a good lad and a good trainer. He is a great competitor. He is the captain of the Republic of Ireland’s under-21s.
“We had Josh Cullen who is very similar that here. Went to Anderlecht and Burnley. Playing for the full [Ireland] team. Wouldn’t surprise me if Conor followed the same path. He is doing great and we like him a lot. He had the chance to go in the summer.
“He had a chance to go out in the summer, and he had a couple of good clubs [interested], but we like having him because he’s such a good boy. He’s low maintenance, trains great, great with the rest of the players. He’s a good boy to have around.”
Dammed by faint praise if ever I saw it.
Last night, it was great to see him play, of course, but they made nine changes from Saturday and it was a game they could actually afford to lose & still be comfortably top of their group. Fair play to him for backing himself for another bit to get in there, but he should probably speak to those good clubs Moyes mentioned in January if they still want to talk. We have had countless underage lads play this type of European game.