View Full Version : Conor Coventry M Charlton Athletic b.2000
Dammed by faint praise if ever I saw it.
Last night, it was great to see him play, of course, but they made nine changes from Saturday and it was a game they could actually afford to lose & still be comfortably top of their group. Fair play to him for backing himself for another bit to get in there, but he should probably speak to those good clubs Moyes mentioned in January if they still want to talk. We have had countless underage lads play this type of European game.
Yeah he's gonna be 23 in five months and has only played 190mins this season between the qualifiers and two games in the group stages. Ferizaj is five years younger and has played more minutes in Europe this season (307 mins with 203 coming in the group stages).
Overall his senior career at West Ham he's played 248mins and was probably worth one last shot to give it six months with West Ham. They have a small squad, European games, and the tight schedule because of the WC. Mightn't have made a massive difference to his long term future there when you consider Cullen couldn't break through, but might have got him better offers if he got regular minutes off the bench.
tommy_c12000
29/10/2022, 1:59 PM
I wouldn’t be getting too excited that he’s played in a couple of dead rubber games. Surprised me at MK Dons by establishing himself well. I can’t see him making it in prem league. I see him moving on in January, permanently would be my hope. Should try championship level but may end up league one level ultimately
Should take a leaf out of Cullen's book, and if one of those offers was with a good team abroad in a league like Belgium then go for it. Establish yourself in a more technical league for a couple of seasons.
Last thing you want is dropping to the championship and struggle to get game time or playing in a poor team.
tommy_c12000
29/10/2022, 2:18 PM
Agree he would be served better on the continent with his style of play. Whether he is willing to go to the continent is another question
Cullen should have a word with him about his next move. He himself could have dropped down to the championship and gotten stuck around the bottom half of the table. His only championship experience was a half a season with Bolton where he got dropped after ten games and relegation with Charlton.
Two seasons at Anderlecht and he's turning down a move from clubs in Bundesliga and La Liga to work with Kompany again.
31/10/2022, 1:36 PM
Unused sub at OT yesterday. West Ham played really well in second half, great game.
Gets another start in the conference league. They play Blackburn in the league cup next week and could feature if West Ham want to rest players. Hopefully then he looks at getting himself a good loan move while the league's on a break.
Gets a start tonight in the cup.
Reportedly told by West Ham he's free to leave in January.
Eirambler
29/11/2022, 3:20 PM
Not a huge surprise. Got his Premier League debut this season and played a bit in Europe which was nice for him. Hopefully he can find a good club in January.
tommy_c12000
30/11/2022, 12:53 AM
Yes I expected this. Never felt he would make it at a top level. Lacks the athleticism for me. League one/lower championship he may forge a career for himself, alternatively continent experiment would be good
30/11/2022, 1:08 AM
And it's been denied
https://www.patreon.com/posts/coventry-reports-75251915
Yeah they were wrong about the contract cause West Ham nearly always throw in that extra year clause. Was the same with Cullen. Just assumed they didn't know he had that option and put two and two together that the reason he might be sold was because of the contract.
Could still see him leaving in January but definitely be gone come the summer I'd say. Moyes did say after one of the EC matches that he good options to leave in the summer so hopefully he does leave rather than picking splinters from his hole.
Demesne Lad
01/12/2022, 2:14 PM
The 72 (James Ray) suggests that as Ipswich Town have only two fit midfield players at the moment, a move for Coventry in January would be a good idea.
SSN linking him with a loan move to Rotherham.
Move confirmed
Good move for him. He's slowly making his way up the football pyramid. Hopefully he can play 15+ games and prove himself at this level.
It seems like he will need a few seasons in the championship before being able to make the step up to EPL.
CraftyToePoke
05/03/2023, 4:09 AM
Conor Coventry is doing well at Rotherham who are probably safe after today, 9 points in 7 since he joined, 4 points in the 7 before he joined. Fans forums full of praise for him, played the full 90 every game since joining on loan. A lot of talk about other potential midfielders who might come in but our 21s record cap holder will be well known to Kenny.
elatedscum
05/03/2023, 7:17 AM
He’d be in my squad with the deep midfielders being Cullen, Molumby, Hendrick and him
Think he'll only name six midfielders and Cullen, Molumby, Hendrick, Browne, and Knight are surely certs if fit. Don't think he can ignore Smallbone but wouldn't surprise me if Hourihane gets called up.
Think it will come too soon for Coventry unless he names a larger squad with lads coming in to train since both games are in Dublin. Hopefully next season he's gone from West Ham and gets himself a good move. Our closest midfielder in terms of style that we have like Cullen.
05/03/2023, 9:07 AM
Kenny throws in the odd surprise but it would be a massive one to include him given the importance of the France game. And Latvia won't be seen as the time to give him a look. Kenny's said as much about the next two games too.
Eirambler
05/03/2023, 9:12 AM
Would mostly agree with that, surely no way he could justify leaving out Smallbone though. I know you can never be sure what's going on in Kenny's head, but that would be next level closed minded if he wasn't picked. Given Szmodics' current form also there's really no justification at all for involving Hourihane and I'd question whether Browne is doing enough to be in on merit or is it yet another case of it being harder to get out of the squad than get into it.
Coventry probably hasn't done enough to be honest but his USP is that he's the closest like for like replacement for Cullen that we have available to us, which makes him worthy of consideration.
Yeah I don't think he can justify leaving Smallbone out and agree Hourihane should be nowhere near the squad anymore. Though I like Browne and he's our best bet of a midfielder actually scoring a goal.
I'd like to see Szmodics involved as he's a regular for the team that's fourth in the championship so he's gotta be doing something right.
I'd have Coventry involved for that reason alone. Name a bigger squad and have him involved. Don't need to pick him on match days but having him in and training, getting used to the set up will make it easier to throw him in in time. Fair enough it's easier for the IRFU to do but I only see benefits of younger players getting to train more with the senior set up.
05/03/2023, 2:41 PM
If Browne doubles up as wing-back succession he should be in there
elatedscum
05/03/2023, 2:59 PM
I divide it into two groups, the deeper lads and the more progressive lads. I’d like 4 of each in a 28 man squad. The deeper lads are basically:
Cullen
Molumby
Hendrick
Coventry
Hodge
Hourihane
And the more attacking group:
Knight
McGrath
Smallbone
Browne
Sykes (could also be classified differently)
Szmodzics
Ronan
There’s a whole other group who I’ve left off the list entirely who I feel have no chance for a call up like Kilkenny, McCarthy, Azaz, Taylor, Mandriou, Byrne, Phillips etc etc
Eirambler
05/03/2023, 3:03 PM
If Browne doubles up as wing-back succession he should be in there
I'd rather we just called up another wing back, rather than having Browne in there to cover two positions when he's not really good enough in either of them.
CraftyToePoke
05/03/2023, 3:37 PM
Id rather see the younger lads, a Hourihane / Browne / McGrath / Hendrick slanted squad and team over a Sykes / Smallbone / Coventry one is pointless. One set have repeated qualification campaign failures to show & are getting towards the end, the other we will need soon anyway and may do better in time given their chance. Either way, either set, we are coming up short in the group and either set will most likely deliver a similar set of results anyway at this point. Kenny was all about the players coming through, the future, the new methodology & what does it say about his own belief in that if he fails again with the same old faces again ?
& no, this isn't me giving him space to write off another campaign in the name of development, we need to be consistently better all through and he needs to show he can be the manager who could deliver the over achievement of qualification in a better draw because we will need to over achieve to qualify for the forseeable. If he can't it has to be someone else's turn soon.
Demesne Lad
27/07/2023, 11:47 AM
Coventry played for a young West Ham team in their 1-2 defeat away to Ebbsfleet this week.
Fleet 2-1 West Ham United – Ebbsfleet United Football Club | Official Website of the Fleet (https://www.ebbsfleetunited.co.uk/fleet-west-ham-united/)
Demesne Lad
15/08/2023, 3:01 PM
Rotherham manager Matt Taylor had a discussion with Coventry at the end of last season about a possible return to the Yorkshire club. However, the club have now 'gone for a slightly different profile of player'. Coventry (23) has a year left on his contract at West Ham. (Rotherham Advertiser, 10 August).
Eirambler
15/08/2023, 4:48 PM
Not a great sign that probably the weakest squad in the Championship are passing on him. Maybe they'll go back for him before the window closes if they have a space in their squad.
I think the problem with Conor is that, while he's a very tidy player, he doesn't actually do a whole lot in terms of progressing the game much of the time. A lot of neat but lateral passing in his play. Similarly to Lee O'Connor he spent a long time in our Under 21 setup without ever properly kicking on to the seniors and I wouldn't be surprised if, similar to Lee, he ultimately finds his level in the lower divisions - possibly League 1 for Conor.
Linked with a permanent move to Sheffield Wednesday. Club have been given permission to talk with Coventry according to reports. Supposedly has interest from other clubs in the championship, League One (Charlton were named), and the Netherlands.
seanfhear
08/01/2024, 4:17 PM
How about Coventry to Coventry ?
Eirambler
09/01/2024, 7:54 AM
Unfortunately I don't think Coventry is good enough for Coventry at this point in time.
Gotta say this is a disappointing move. Last time he was in League One it was with a team pushing for the league title, but Charlton are currently 13th in the league.
seanfhear
12/01/2024, 11:56 AM
Gotta say this is a disappointing move. Last time he was in League One it was with a team pushing for the league title, but Charlton are currently 13th in the league.
Bring back Alan Curbishly !
Eirambler
12/01/2024, 2:16 PM
League 1 feels about right for Conor at this point in time. He should go well at that level and can be a Championship player within a couple of years. Anything beyond that would be overachieving based on what I've seen of him to date. Nice tidy player, but seems to lack the bit extra that you need to make it to the top.
Similar to Lee O'Connor, winning as many Under 21 caps as that is usually a sign that the player has stalled at that level and maybe isn't reaching the potential that was maybe hoped for them when they were 17 or 18.
12/01/2024, 4:31 PM
He was due to be signed by Wednesday but apparently negotiations broke down over terms.
Trequartista20
12/01/2024, 6:29 PM
Similar career trajectory to Cullen perhaps.
Needed out of West Ham. Hope this can kickstart his career.
Eirambler
13/01/2024, 8:26 AM
Actually forgot that Cullen went from West Ham to Charlton as well. Albeit I think he never signed there permanently, but he was there for two seasons so it kind of felt like he did. However Coventry is making this move 18 months later in his career than Cullen did so will need to hit the ground running here.
14/02/2024, 5:43 PM
Not a great start to his the move anyway.
Conor Coventry dropped from squad as Charlton woes continue (Indo) (https://www.msn.com/en-ie/sports/football/conor-coventry-dropped-from-squad-as-charlton-woes-continue/ar-BB1igHtp?ocid=msedgdhp&pc=ASTS&cvid=e1b665747c6746d48275c09fd733f231&ei=9)
Could find himself in League Two next season as Charlton are now 20th in the league and only 1pt ahead of 21st who've got three games in hand and 2pts above 22nd who've got two games in hand.
Demesne Lad
11/04/2024, 6:55 PM
He was due to be signed by Wednesday but apparently negotiations broke down over terms.
Further information about why Coventry went to League 1 Charlton rather than Championship Sheffield Wednesday. It seems the Addicks got him without paying a fee - and Coventry preferred London to Yorkshire.
Charlton Athletic: Key Conor Coventry West Ham United transfer detail Sheffield Wednesday named (footballleagueworld.co.uk) (https://footballleagueworld.co.uk/charlton-athletic-key-conor-coventry-transfer/)
rebelmusic
15/05/2025, 9:50 PM
Another potential championship player next season. Assuming Keely is moved elsewhere, Charlton would probably suit us if there's any hope of Coventry developing into the midfielder we need
~YTM~
15/05/2025, 10:06 PM
Would love for Keeley to have a great end of the season with a playoff win leading to his Irish debut, but think you're right about Charlton being the ones to win. Even if Orient win and go up you'd hope that they'd get a better move for him in the championship than Orient next season.
charlton with a 1-0 win semi, goal on min 81. CC played the full 90. final v orient on the 25th.
liamoo11
16/05/2025, 5:08 PM
charlton with a 1-0 win semi, goal on min 81. CC played the full 90. final v orient on the 25th.
I see Gilbert played as well. Everything.i checked since gilbert moved there he seemed to be a sub so should be well rested for Wembley
19/05/2025, 7:54 AM
I only saw bits and pieces. Gilbert looks a very "busy" player, a lot of energy about him. Coventry reminds me a bit of Darren Potter. Elegant, head up.
19/05/2025, 11:28 AM
I only saw bits and pieces. Gilbert looks a very "busy" player, a lot of energy about him. Coventry reminds me a bit of Darren Potter. Elegant, head up.
Was Darren Potter slow also?
elatedscum
19/05/2025, 12:26 PM
Was Darren Potter slow also?
Nah Potter wasn't slow. In the way you wouldn't describe Jayson Molumby as slow
seanfhear
19/05/2025, 2:38 PM
Was Darren Potter slow also?Maybe he was deceptive, actually slower than he looked, to dig up that old " joke " !