View Full Version : Irn Bru Cup 2018
EatYerGreens
13/10/2018, 9:45 PM
Sligo beaten 2-0 by Motherwell under-20s.
Bohs beat Sutton United 4-3 on penalties after a 0-0 game
Very poor by Sligo.
I'd have expected more from Bohs as well to be honest - playing at home and in the form they've been of late. Attendance reported as 1,130 though - which wasn't bad at all given the weather.
With Coleraine losing to Connah's Quay, that leaves them and Bohs as the only forrin types in the quarter final draw. What chance they'll come out of the hat together, I wonder ? ;)
14/10/2018, 11:18 AM
Sligo are probably secretly delighted to be out surely given the additional wages they’d have to pay if they were still in it?
Johnnie C
14/10/2018, 11:20 AM
Still, it's very poor to be knocked out by an under 20 outfit. Bohs being taken to pens by a tier 5 team from England isn't mighty impressive either but at least they got through.
sparky12345678
14/10/2018, 11:57 AM
Still, it's very poor to be knocked out by an under 20 outfit. Bohs being taken to pens by a tier 5 team from England isn't mighty impressive either but at least they got through.
Was it a regular full team? Did they play as intensely as a league game.
While its understandable why it might not be taken that seriously, the league is over, European places have all been decided and Bohs narrowly missed out on the FAI Cup final surely they can muster some motivation to play teams that should be beatable if LOI really is as good as we say it is. (granted its not the top 2-4 LOI teams but still...)
I am curious since we often say that the top 2 (atm Dundalk/Cork) would be able for the Scottish premiership sans Celtic (and Rangers?) or the top half of tier 3..(?). Is it just that its not being taken seriously? Setanta seemed to have a bit more buzz...?
14/10/2018, 12:24 PM
The Setanta Cup pitched the best clubs in IL and LoI + other silverware winners. I think that alone would give it more bite aside from the bragging rights on this island. The Iron-Bru Cup also seems to be poorly covered, advertised etc. Maybe for clubs involved there is more attention payed but beyond that I didnt even know the games were on this weekend and heard nothing about it.
red bellied
14/10/2018, 1:45 PM
Sligo are probably secretly delighted to be out surely given the additional wages they’d have to pay if they were still in it?
Supporters are secretly delighted that hopefully the committee will finally see reason and not give Lytttle an extension after yesterday's result.
colonelwest
14/10/2018, 2:46 PM
Was it a regular full team? Did they play as intensely as a league game.
While its understandable why it might not be taken that seriously, the league is over, European places have all been decided and Bohs narrowly missed out on the FAI Cup final surely they can muster some motivation to play teams that should be beatable if LOI really is as good as we say it is. (granted its not the top 2-4 LOI teams but still...)
I am curious since we often say that the top 2 (atm Dundalk/Cork) would be able for the Scottish premiership sans Celtic (and Rangers?) or the top half of tier 3..(?). Is it just that its not being taken seriously? Setanta seemed to have a bit more buzz...?
Was at this yesterday before heading for Landsdowne then after, toss up between the two games on which was better or worse, arguably same could be said either way for both!
Pretty much full strength team with one or two changes, intensity from Sutton and Bohs wasn't lacking at all, Sutton had 2 lads booked in the first 15 mins or so for tasty challenges and Bohs playing great ball out from the back but a bit lacking in the final third. Sutton's 10 and 7 were their best players on the day, no idea of their names but they stood out miles for them, the rest of them were the usual physical English lower leagues kick and rush merchants.
Sutton manager got himself sent off in the first half as well for constantly mouthing off and abusing the ref. Decent crowd at it, with about 75 or so from Sutton over, the Jodi was fairly full & despite not being the greatest 90 mins was fairly enjoyable given the novelty of the competition, plus having pints in the Jodi while watching a game will always go down well! The shoot out at the end was gas, no one in the stand had a clue whether it was going to extra time or a replay, soon as it was called load of the ultras legged it into the empty Des behind the goal for the shootout. Bohs miss two in a row and then Supple saved one, scored one and saved the next then with Sutton cracking their last against the crossbar for Bohs to win it.
Quarter finals are down for 17–18 November so would presume nearly all the Bohs lads will be out of contract so they'll have to tack on a few weeks extra to the wage bill!
14/10/2018, 4:27 PM
wonder was there any tv cameras in dalymount as I know a few weeks ago BT sport showed a previous round involving Sutton Utd on the non league show?
Shearer
14/10/2018, 6:37 PM
Supporters are secretly delighted that hopefully the committee will finally see reason and not give Lytttle an extension after yesterday's result.
Rumour has it he's signing on for two years, just needs to be made public.
Ezeikial
14/10/2018, 9:33 PM
Rumour has it he's signing on for two years, just needs to be made public.
Your rumour is not sitting well with Daniel McDonnell
Sligo Rovers set to part company with manager Gerard Lyttle
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/sligo-rovers-set-to-part-company-with-manager-gerard-lyttle-37418912.html
Shearer
14/10/2018, 9:36 PM
Yeah I was just about to say, read it elsewhere a contract was on the cards.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/10/2018, 9:43 PM
Hopefully the indo report is the accurate one
patrickccfc
14/10/2018, 11:08 PM
Highlights of the bohs game
https://youtu.be/R_pSlia5U2Y
First minute of the video consists of the lad talking about the churches visible from the ground lol
15/10/2018, 12:08 PM
its in the sun too so must be something in it!
marinobohs
15/10/2018, 12:20 PM
Speaking to a few Sligo fans I would be surprised if his contract was renewed. Apart from avoiding (yet again) changing manager nobody seems to have much positive to say about him so cant see why the club would offer him a new contract.
15/10/2018, 12:51 PM
Speaking to a few Sligo fans I would be surprised if his contract was renewed. Apart from avoiding (yet again) changing manager nobody seems to have much positive to say about him so cant see why the club would offer him a new contract.
ever since we knocked them out of the fai cup last season Lyttle was always destined to fail. I am amazed he has lasted this long!!
**FrOsTy**
15/10/2018, 6:58 PM
What is the situation now with Bohs? I believe the 1/4 final is on November 15th or something, a week or two after the LOI season comes to an end with FAI Cup final.
Is it going to cost them a fortune to continue in the competition?
15/10/2018, 8:48 PM
Highlights of the bohs game
https://youtu.be/R_pSlia5U2Y
First minute of the video consists of the lad talking about the churches visible from the ground lol
I hadnt been passing too much attention but had a look at the highlights there, what a penalty shootout for drama. Very England of old stuff, its no wonder their manager was pacing around the opposite penalty box even with 2 chances to finish the tie and then losing it when 99% of the time those off the bar types go in off the keeper. You'd have to be gutted if a Sutton fan but the elation for Bohs fans must have been great. Name on a trophy!! They had a decent wee crowd with them. The commentator with his nerdish interest in church spires you'd think he'd have known who Phil Lynott was lol
sbgawa
15/10/2018, 10:19 PM
Yeah I was a huge Lizzy fan kept waiting for him to mention him.
In fairness they were much better known here than in th e UK.
ToberonaTornado
16/10/2018, 1:44 AM
Motherwell Colts v Sligo Rovers on Saturday -
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tJyI0dOQtLI
Real ale Madrid
16/10/2018, 9:21 AM
What is the situation now with Bohs? I believe the 1/4 final is on November 15th or something, a week or two after the LOI season comes to an end with FAI Cup final.
Well if they win that the Semis are not until mid Feb so would tie in with 2019 pre-season.
marinobohs
16/10/2018, 11:01 AM
With all bar two (I think) of the first team out of contract the club will have to either extend the contracts (where players agree to) or seek alternative players. some may have holiday / family commitments or may just want to leave at season end. the semi final (should we progress) is not until February so should fit in with preseason training for next season (although we may have to start back earlier) so could be a decent try out for players looking for contracts. interesting development.
EatYerGreens
16/10/2018, 1:29 PM
You'd hope they'd have thought about all of this before they entered. It may explain why Pats weren't interested.
Though as I say, you'd hope...
patrickccfc
16/10/2018, 3:09 PM
Bohs drawn at home to East Fife.
Trying to get the game brought forward apparently..
EatYerGreens
16/10/2018, 3:14 PM
Bohs drawn at home to East Fife.
Trying to get the game brought forward apparently..
Haha ! An Irish team trying to get a Scottish team to change its season around to help them in a Scottish tournament they elected to join :D
Like I said - you'd hope they'd have thought about the implications of entering the tournament in advance :)
marinobohs
16/10/2018, 3:32 PM
Haha ! An Irish team trying to get a Scottish team to change its season around to help them in a Scottish tournament they elected to join :D
Like I said - you'd hope they'd have thought about the implications of entering the tournament in advance :)
Is there a suggestion Bohs wont be able to play it on the date advertised ? hardly surprising they would want to try and bring it forward but if not successful they will just have to field a team on the original date.
Dalymountrower
16/10/2018, 4:01 PM
Not like you EYG to have a random crack at Bohs!
We will field a team come what may.
EatYerGreens
16/10/2018, 5:05 PM
Not like you EYG to have a random crack at Bohs!
We will field a team come what may.
Jesus - get the chip off your shoulder lad ! :D I'd have said the same about any club.
You have to admit though, it is funny.
16/10/2018, 5:55 PM
I hadnt been passing too much attention but had a look at the highlights there, what a penalty shootout for drama. Very England of old stuff, its no wonder their manager was pacing around the opposite penalty box even with 2 chances to finish the tie and then losing it when 99% of the time those off the bar types go in off the keeper. You'd have to be gutted if a Sutton fan but the elation for Bohs fans must have been great. Name on a trophy!! They had a decent wee crowd with them. The commentator with his nerdish interest in church spires you'd think he'd have known who Phil Lynott was lol
yeah he was very good!!
Love the way he zeroed in on all the spires around the ground but completely overlooked the actual Spire! :bulgy:
marinobohs
17/10/2018, 9:05 AM
Jesus - get the chip off your shoulder lad ! :D I'd have said the same about any club.
The club was aware of it, sure Pats cited it as a reason they didn't enter. Apologies that they didn't run it by you first :rolleyes:
Dalymountrower
17/10/2018, 2:30 PM
Jesus - get the chip off your shoulder lad:acne: ! :D I'd have said the same about any club.
Yeah, you really are a hoot Grandad, hang on to that sense of humour, any more crackers like the one below?
"A very big Bohs travelling support ........ I guess it's easy to travel in numbers for a Wednesday night fixture when you don't have jobs to get up for the next morning."
sbgawa
17/10/2018, 6:05 PM
"A very big Bohs travelling support ........ I guess it's easy to travel in numbers for a Wednesday night fixture when you don't have jobs to get up for the next morn[/I]ing."[/QUOTE]
Come on ......that was funny
marinobohs
18/10/2018, 8:51 AM
"A very big Bohs travelling support ........ I guess it's easy to travel in numbers for a Wednesday night fixture when you don't have jobs to get up for the next morn[/I]ing."
Come on ......that was funny[/QUOTE]
Great to see fans of the country clubs sticking together against us Dublin clubs ;)
ToberonaTornado
13/11/2018, 12:26 AM
Live match for the hard core among yee coming up on Friday evening.
Queens Park v Connah's Quay @ Hampden Park on BBC Alba with k/o 7:45pm.
Any word on a new date for the Bohs v East Fife match?
15/11/2018, 3:39 PM
Live match for the hard core among yee coming up on Friday evening.
Queens Park v Connah's Quay @ Hampden Park on BBC Alba with k/o 7:45pm.
Any word on a new date for the Bohs v East Fife match?
February
marinobohs
16/11/2018, 10:49 AM
February
No definite date yet (as far as I know) early Feb mooted but a few whinges in Scotland about delay.
“We are Bohs, we play when we want 😎”
ToberonaTornado
16/11/2018, 11:37 AM
No definite date yet (as far as I know) early Feb mooted but a few whinges in Scotland about delay.
“We are Bohs, we play when we want 😎”
You'd wonder how far their patience can be pushed? Of course the organisers seen this problem(re:Irish teams)before invites were handed out:rolleyes:
marinobohs
16/11/2018, 2:19 PM
You'd wonder how far their patience can be pushed? Of course the organisers seen this problem(re:Irish teams)before invites were handed out:rolleyes:
Promoters, FAI and SFA were aware of the possibility before it started.Main moans are from Peterhead (who Bohs knocked out) but some lesser moans from clubs that might have fancied their chances. the whole thing was handled badly IMHO by whomever (SFA ?) runs the competition. The position should have been clarified before this.
16/11/2018, 2:48 PM
Why are Peterhead moaning?
sbgawa
16/11/2018, 3:33 PM
LOI club involved in Europe post Christmas, did we ever think we'd see it happen.
Although if the game gets shoved back another month or so Brexit might change all that
marinobohs
16/11/2018, 3:44 PM
Why are Peterhead moaning? Because Bohs beat them.Officially they appear to be moaning about 'foreign teams' getting into their competition and depriving Scottish clubs of cash.But mainly it appears to be a case of sour grapes.
Shearer
16/11/2018, 4:25 PM
Copa90 have a video up on YouTube about the competition that I watched a few weeks back.
The general consensus is that people don't want clubs outside of Scotland in the competition, that they just want clubs to make up the numbers and lay down for the Scots. There will be uproar if a non-Scottish club wins the competition.
ToberonaTornado
16/11/2018, 10:36 PM
Connahs Quay through.
Apparently their a full time side :hypnotized::(
17/11/2018, 8:23 AM
Connahs Quay through.
Apparently their a full time side :hypnotized::(
Being the sad fecker I am I watched this game over the nations league crap last night, very enjoyable. Never knew Queens Park played at Hampden, it would be like Longford playing home games in the Aviva. Anyway, Connah’s Quay are indeed full time and you can tell by their physical condition. Not sure why they would finish in a LOI setting but they’d certainly be in no danger of relegation that’s for sure.
total hoofball
17/11/2018, 10:20 AM
Being the sad fecker I am I watched this game over the nations league crap last night, very enjoyable. Never knew Queens Park played at Hampden, it would be like Longford playing home games in the Aviva. Anyway, Connah’s Quay are indeed full time and you can tell by their physical condition. Not sure why they would finish in a LOI setting but they’d certainly be in no danger of relegation that’s for sure.
TNS and Connah's Quay definitely would be no lower than 6th in our league
Also Queens Park days playing out of Hampden are numbered, SFA buying the ground off them and Queens Park likely to end up playing in a ground next to it called Lesser Hampden
RathfarnhamHoop
17/11/2018, 1:00 PM
We actually have our own version of the queen's Park in Hampden thing with the two rugby clubs (remember the old clubhouses in two corners?) that play there, not sure how often they play in Lansdowne Road or how often Queens Park do but just thought you'd like to know something similar does happen.
Also Queens parks days in Hampden are numbered as someone else pointed out.
18/11/2018, 1:31 AM
Because Bohs beat them.Officially they appear to be moaning about 'foreign teams' getting into their competition and depriving Scottish clubs of cash.But mainly it appears to be a case of sour grapes.
Can see their point about foreign teams but can't imagine they're losing out on money. From what I can see, the Bohs game had a bigger crowd than their usual games, presumably because more away fans travelled/it was a novelty.
EatYerGreens
18/11/2018, 11:36 AM
Can see their point about foreign teams but can't imagine they're losing out on money. From what I can see, the Bohs game had a bigger crowd than their usual games, presumably because more away fans travelled/it was a novelty.
The Scottish Football League is a member-run body.
If Peterhead - or any other club - are unhappy with teams from outside Scotland being invited to enter the Irn Bru Cup, they've had ample opportunity to challenge it formally over the last few years. And they can challenge it formally for the next year too through the appropriate mechanism (which I suspect they won't do).
Of course - if they were genuinely opposed to it, the time to raise it would've been before they were knocked out by a non-Scottish team.
ToberonaTornado
19/11/2018, 11:01 PM
Semi-final draw will take place on this Weds.(21st Nov)
Teams involved -
Bohs/East Fife
Connahs Quay
Edinburgh City
Ross County
Semi-final ties are due to be played on the weekend of February 16/17, with the final scheduled for March 23/24.
https://spfl.co.uk/news/date-for-irn-bru-cup-semi-final-draw-45184