View Full Version : Limerick Desmond League 2018/19

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17

sportsfanatic
22/03/2019, 3:43 PM
Anyone hear what went on back in Abbey Tuesday night. Broadford vs Abbey in youth game. Supposedly trouble after the game where the ref was spat on and attacked. He rang the guards???

Crazy stuff if true, you never hear of this out here?

Cruyff
22/03/2019, 5:11 PM
Anyone hear what went on back in Abbey Tuesday night. Broadford vs Abbey in youth game. Supposedly trouble after the game where the ref was spat on and attacked. He rang the guards???

Crazy stuff if true, you never hear of this out here?

Need to be careful what's said here, but let's just say I wouldn't contradict you with the exception of the last bit, there was an in person visit to the local station I'm told...
Going to be serious ramifications for Abbeyfeale if what I'm being told is true

Johnnie C
23/03/2019, 9:59 PM
And rightly so, this kind of ****e just isn't acceptable. There have been a number of incidents involving refs this season. FAI need to come down hard on those involved in this cowardly stuff.

Red_Devil
25/03/2019, 1:59 PM
Hi all. Does anyone know the league's plan in relation to summer soccer. I know that the schoolboys are starting this year but how do they plan to implement this into senior soccer.

Shearer
25/03/2019, 6:07 PM
Hi all. Does anyone know the league's plan in relation to summer soccer. I know that the schoolboys are starting this year but how do they plan to implement this into senior soccer.
I suppose it'd have to go to a vote first (not trying to be smart with you), which there was rumblings of at last year's AGM.
With regard to actually implementing it, you'd play a short season which the schoolboy league (and the League of Ireland in 2002/03) have done.
I know Mayo play Summer League and I think that it'll be here, and everywhere else, sooner rather than later whether by the league's own decision or by the FAI forcing it across the board.

robotwarsfan
25/03/2019, 8:46 PM
I suppose it'd have to go to a vote first (not trying to be smart with you), which there was rumblings of at last year's AGM.
With regard to actually implementing it, you'd play a short season which the schoolboy league (and the League of Ireland in 2002/03) have done.
I know Mayo play Summer League and I think that it'll be here, and everywhere else, sooner rather than later whether by the league's own decision or by the FAI forcing it across the board.

I’ve heard a few times of different people that the FAI want calendar season for every junior league by 2021, not 100% if true, highly unlikely

westernflow
25/03/2019, 11:42 PM
It was brought up by Ballysteen and was rejected by around 9 votes earlier this season.

Round Tower
27/03/2019, 10:52 AM
I’ve heard a few times of different people that the FAI want calendar season for every junior league by 2021, not 100% if true, highly unlikely

Yes it's true, all leagues in the ROI has to play summer soccer by 21, we have being playing SS since 95, best thing we ever did, but leagues management has a duty as well. The ML insisted on proper pitches, dressing rooms and a perimeter fence around all pitches

westernflow
28/03/2019, 3:31 AM
Dressing rooms? Some teams haven't bought goals since 95, not to mind try to secure dressing rooms.

Abbeyman
28/03/2019, 7:57 PM
Rugby will be the big winner at schoolboy level in the coming years . Next week is seeing the first clashes with a lot of midweek soccer games up against GAA . It might be manageable to play 2 sports if the clubs work together but those who play soccer , football and hurling are only going to get injuries and could do long term damage . Not sure where 3 codes are fairly strong , rathkeale , broadford , kildimo , Adare perhaps .
Newcastle should have enough to field soccer only players .

Round Tower
28/03/2019, 10:35 PM
Rugby will be the big winner at schoolboy level in the coming years . Next week is seeing the first clashes with a lot of midweek soccer games up against GAA . It might be manageable to play 2 sports if the clubs work together but those who play soccer , football and hurling are only going to get injuries and could do long term damage . Not sure where 3 codes are fairly strong , rathkeale , broadford , kildimo , Adare perhaps .

Here in Mayo it would be soccer and football, in my own club we would have youths in boys and girls from U12 to U18's, in most cases the kids play both codes without much coperation.
Actualy in soccer, for the first 1/2 of the season the age groups are the uneven age groups, U13, 15 , 17's while later they go the even age groups U12, 14, 16 and 18's.

Shearer
29/03/2019, 12:42 PM
Rugby is a million miles off of GAA and Football with regard to number of clubs and playing numbers nationwide, even more so in West Limerick. I wouldn't lose a wink of sleep over it.

Ballistinianlad
30/03/2019, 9:52 AM
Anyone see Tom Clancys tweets re the Desmond league and its current state. Agree with him tbf. League is going downhill. Would summer soccer improve things? I know my own club proposed it. Without even asking us players I might add.

Abbeyman
30/03/2019, 7:22 PM
The league runs from late August to mid June as it is so you could say we already have summer soccer .

Shearer
30/03/2019, 8:09 PM
Anyone see Tom Clancys tweets re the Desmond league and its current state. Agree with him tbf. League is going downhill. Would summer soccer improve things? I know my own club proposed it. Without even asking us players I might add.
I'm sure if you were to call down to the Rathkeale House Hotel you'd be told otherwise. I'm sure there are ̶H̶a̶n̶d̶j̶o̶b̶s̶ handshakes all round about how the League and Irish Football in general is great place and you can bet your arse JD has given a few crumbs off the table to sweeten everything even more.

Back_Of_The_Net
01/04/2019, 8:38 AM
Scores from the weekend?

westernflow
01/04/2019, 8:57 AM
Desmond Cup:
Pallaskenry 2-4 Glin Rovers
Rathkeale 1-0 Ballingarry

Div One Cup:
Athea 1-5 AK
Ballysteen 0-0 Breska Rovers (breska win 2-4 on pens)

Div Two
St Itas 5-2 Rockhill

Youths:
Breska w/o from Shannonside
Div 2 Cup semi:
Mountcollins 2-0 St Itas

Munster Youths Semi:
Villa FC (Waterford) 2-2 Broadford Utd (Villa win 5-4 pens AET)

fanaticfan
01/04/2019, 10:33 AM
Hard luck to Broadford yesterday. A bad way to lose a semi final on penalties.

Shearer
03/04/2019, 9:59 PM
As above, commiserations to Broadford. Some achievement to get that far, penalties are a lottery.

Just see the draw for the Last 8 of the Desmond Cup, AK Vs Broadford is an interesting one.

Ballistinianlad
03/04/2019, 10:43 PM
Glin release statement supporting Delaney.

twotouch
04/04/2019, 6:32 AM
Could you throw up the draw Shearer

westernflow
04/04/2019, 9:28 AM
Broadford and AK is interesting in that it will show how far AK are off the top table.

As for Glin, fair play to them, being so insecure that they felt the need to attack the Dublin Media. Delaney has hos claws in the grassroots and they are not for moving.

Shearer
04/04/2019, 9:30 AM
Could you throw up the draw Shearer
AK United Vs Broadford United
Abbeyfeale United Vs Newcastle West Town
Carrig Celtic Vs Rathkeale
Glin Rovers Vs Askeaton

sportsfanatic
04/04/2019, 11:55 AM
Glin Rovers Vs Askeaton

Well easy to say who’s going to be in semi’s!
Broadford
Abbey
Rathkeale
Glin

Shane Stack of Rovers gone to Janesboro and Noel callanan also not playing with NCW Town either I heard?. You would think there would be a buzz around Newcastle West after the amalgamation but obviously not. Mid table and some good players leaving. Pity I was hoping they’d challenge the big two at the top.

No Abbey fixtures for the 3rd week in a row. Ref’s refusing to go back without two assistants.

Shearer
04/04/2019, 12:37 PM
Shane Stack of Rovers gone to Janesboro and Noel callanan also not playing with NCW Town either I heard?. You would think there would be a buzz around Newcastle West after the amalgamation but obviously not. Mid table and some good players leaving. Pity I was hoping they’d challenge the big two at the top.
That happened months ago. Stack by all accounts playing well, will be in an Oscar Traynor final shortly.
I'd say a lot of the reason they departed is due to the club being neither here nor there - Can't win the league, can't get promoted, an outside chance of winning a cup. And so, when you've the chance of going to one of the biggest clubs in Limerick it's hard to say no.

Their mid-table position is a bit self-inflicted. Used to happen with Rovers before where they'd peter out for the remainder of the season when it was clear they couldn't get relegated and couldn't win the title. They're not the only club guilty of it, but I guess you'd like to see a bit more ambition.

The players are there for definite, a lot of that squad barely missed out on a Desmond Cup Final last year and would have had the beatings of Abbeyfeale in the final.
There's a lot of local lads playing away from home, and If they could get a hold of Marty Madden, AJ O'Connor and maybe even Gary Shanahan who is not playing at the moment they'd have a top squad. Hopefully they can get a real title charge on next year.

southern kid
05/04/2019, 7:34 PM
Ya heard about the abbeyfeale and referee saga, it's a big mess for league and according to a ref and a league member it's likely to drag on as refs are digging there heels in..first of all let me say I do not in any way agree with a official being attacked or abused..if stories are true about a youths team player and referee I can not understand what it has to do with abbeyfeale junior teams especially there A team.. the whole league will suffer as last 4 game have to be played together.. I only heard yesterday who the referee was that was involved, it's not first or 2nd time this ref has being involved in incidents and I think everyone agrees he is not a top ref(I'm being kind there).. the league need to sort this out asap. Ratkeale will be loving this as they go further and further ahead and are now clear favourites to win league.. They should have another definite 3 points Sunday..

Griffo
06/04/2019, 11:07 AM
Refs ability is irrelevant. If the runours are true it’s an absolute disgrace and I’m surprised it’s not getting more attention.

I saw a match recently, days after this incident, where the ref ran off the pitch at the final whistle as if he just wanted to get out of there in case of trouble. They have a near impossible job and incidents like this one being reported are no help to anyone.

Could the club be proactive, get the people involved and punish them, throw them out of their club, set an example that this behaviors is unacceptable. Might help the club and league resolve the matter more quickly.

Soreloser
06/04/2019, 2:32 PM
Ya heard about the abbeyfeale and referee saga, it's a big mess for league and according to a ref and a league member it's likely to drag on as refs are digging there heels in..first of all let me say I do not in any way agree with a official being attacked or abused..if stories are true about a youths team player and referee I can not understand what it has to do with abbeyfeale junior teams especially there A team.. the whole league will suffer as last 4 game have to be played together.. I only heard yesterday who the referee was that was involved, it's not first or 2nd time this ref has being involved in incidents and I think everyone agrees he is not a top ref(I'm being kind there).. the league need to sort this out asap. Ratkeale will be loving this as they go further and further ahead and are now clear favourites to win league.. They should have another definite 3 points Sunday..

If the youths fellas that did it have not owned up then maybe they could be playing with junior teams and the refs would not know them so probably right not to take any chances, the fact that you mention the ref not being a top class ref should have nothing what so ever to do with it, Everybody has an opinion about whether a ref is top class or useless but everybody does not then go out and punch them just because they think they were wrong, Maybe its the club that need to take the responsibility for this if they want to get their teams playing again but I suppose that might not be what they want to hear.
If the club members and committee and especially the idiots that caused the problem in the first place have not got the guts to tell the league who did it in the youths game then good luck to Rathkeale and all the other teams, its not their fault that one club are not gettin games
Saw an ad in the schoolboys section of the observer saying that there is a refs course in limerick next weekend, I wonder how many fellas from out around Abbeyfeale or anywhere else in the desmond league are doing that training. my bet is on 0.

Foxynob44
06/04/2019, 4:11 PM
Fair play to the refs for digging their heels in, we all have disagreements with them but at the end of the game we shake their hand & move on to the next game.. it doesn't matter whether or not a ref is perceived as being a top ref or not he/she doesn't deserve to be punched or spat on by anyone, to even suggest that it is somehow his fault cause he is not perceived as a "top ref" & not his first time involved in incidents shows the lack of intelligence that is out there at the moment & you should retract that comment Southern Kid.. I hope the perpetrators are found out & are dealt with the fullest punishments available & it is brought up by both local & national media to ensure it is not brushed under the carpet. its not Rathkeale or anyone elses fault what happened & the problem lies with Abbeyfeale & their players to sort out & hopefully they will nominate a few club members to go on a refs course & see how hard the job is.

southern kid
06/04/2019, 7:52 PM
Ya agree about your comment about referee course, def need more and that would allow fixture sec to leave the poorer ones at home as at present his hands are tied. It's only all 2nd hand info but apparently the club identified the players involved and league have dealt with it with suspensions and fines.. my point about the ref in question not being the best was maybe it's blown out of proportion, I know for 100% from a previous report from an incident the whole truth was not told by same ref to league, and again I'm not condoning what happened that time either, like ballotelli said' why always me' comes to mind..

Soreloser
06/04/2019, 11:26 PM
Ya agree about your comment about referee course, def need more and that would allow fixture sec to leave the poorer ones at home as at present his hands are tied. It's only all 2nd hand info but apparently the club identified the players involved and league have dealt with it with suspensions and fines.. my point about the ref in question not being the best was maybe it's blown out of proportion, I know for 100% from a previous report from an incident the whole truth was not told by same ref to league, and again I'm not condoning what happened that time either, like ballotelli said' why always me' comes to mind..

Jesus Southern Kid that's a bit strong saying you know 100% that the truth was not told in another incident,but if you are 100% sure of it then you should probably provide the evidence to the league and get the record corrected. I remember years ago the Refs threw a fella out because he told lies so I'm sure they would treat any evidence you have very seriously. i'd be just a bit worried that there seems to be loads of info out and about saying that there has been suspensions and fines but still the refs won't go to Abbeyfeale without linesmen, surely if they knew that someone was suspended they would not be staying away, or do you have inside info that the refs have not been told about yet. (just sayin)

southern kid
07/04/2019, 8:00 AM
No inside info but they have no game this wknd with 8 teams put playing so u would presume it's down to refs, could be totally wrong and may have free wknd requested. As I said earlier for everyone involved I hope it's sorted soon as we had good year with weather and don't want this to drag on whole league or cup competitions..or else league just remove them from competition and let everyone else move on.. as for the other incident, I'm gone from that club as is most other lads involved at that time...

Shearer
07/04/2019, 2:34 PM
Feenagh's walkover this morning means they're relegated.

fanaticfan
07/04/2019, 6:08 PM
Must have been a cracker in glin. Glin beating Broadford 5-4 in the league cup

southern kid
07/04/2019, 6:59 PM
Great result for glin..keeps their season alive, sounds like a cracker..another 3 points for ratkeale to stretch their lead at the top.. can't see them relinquishing that now..interesting week ahead for league committee to get league back on track with all fixtures. Well done to ak on winning the first junior trophy of season last nite..

Couscous8
08/04/2019, 10:07 AM
Glin Rovers Vs Askeaton

Any dates for cup draws?

Griffo
09/04/2019, 4:47 AM
Any idea when Friday night games will be introduced?
There is a stretch there now, would be great to get additional games in soon to wrap things up in May.

Desmond18
09/04/2019, 9:40 AM
Must have been a cracker in glin. Glin beating Broadford 5-4 in the league cup

Cracker of a game !!!! Lots of mistakes from both teams led to a great spectacle. People on about the incident regarding ref in abbeyfeale a few weeks back should have seen the standard of refereeing in this game... atrocious to say the least !!!! A player will get seriously hurt with this man in charge some day.... I know they have an awful job to do & we wouldn't be able to play or watch without them but mother of god !!!! Has John O'Hara watched this guy ??

Red_Devil
09/04/2019, 1:35 PM
Cracker of a game !!!! Lots of mistakes from both teams led to a great spectacle. People on about the incident regarding ref in abbeyfeale a few weeks back should have seen the standard of refereeing in this game... atrocious to say the least !!!! A player will get seriously hurt with this man in charge some day.... I know they have an awful job to do & we wouldn't be able
to play or watch without them but mother of god !!!! Has John O'Hara watched this guy ??

Who was the ref? Not saying that excuses the behavior. Being angry with a referee and confronting them is a normal reaction but being spat at and threatened is a different level.

robotwarsfan
09/04/2019, 6:53 PM
Lads on the Abbeyfeale incident, there youths are scheduled at home Saturday with only 1 ref so the problem maybe solved. Either way there’s more than 2 sides to the story which I’ve heard multiple times with different things getting added. On the flip side, it doesn’t look good on the league with 2/3 games abandoned due to incidents with refs this season alone does it?

Desmond18
09/04/2019, 8:14 PM
P O’Brien...it was so bad at one stage both teams were laughing at decisions...again I hate giving out about referees as it’s a thankless job but he’s insanely bad

southern kid
09/04/2019, 9:18 PM
Lads I agree refs are poor but there is 2 or 3 decent ones, I don't agree with naming them on here though, iv had A few things to say about refs recently but think it's a bit unfair to put there names up..

fanaticfan
10/04/2019, 11:14 PM
Friday 19th April is the first evening game

Desmond18
11/04/2019, 12:36 PM
Normally wouldn't but it was so bad like probably the worst i ever saw !!!!

Shearer
11/04/2019, 2:34 PM
Kildimo deducted three points from that game against Granagh a while back. Didn't they get the points originally i.e. the game has been deemed void?

robotwarsfan
11/04/2019, 2:41 PM
Kildimo deducted three points from that game against Granagh a while back. Didn't they get the points originally i.e. the game has been deemed void?
No sure Granagh won the game. Surely if Kildimo were docked points for being the cause of game abandonment why didn’t it happen to the other teams as well?

westernflow
12/04/2019, 1:32 PM
Where did you see that they were deducted the points? AK and Granagh have been given the wins for two abandoned games this season. Abbey youths was a cup game so I'm not sure what non-financial penalty they could be given.

Shearer
12/04/2019, 2:43 PM
Where did you see that they were deducted the points? AK and Granagh have been given the wins for two abandoned games this season. Abbey youths was a cup game so I'm not sure what non-financial penalty they could be given.
Observer.

southern kid
13/04/2019, 9:54 AM
I hear all Abbey games pulled again this weekend.heard it from a referee..anyone else hear this? Thought it was sorted by league wit suspensions and fines?? If its true, will league ever be finished if Abbey are not thrown out.???

Shearer
13/04/2019, 10:43 AM
If its true, will league ever be finished if Abbey are not thrown out.???
Let's not get ahead of ourselves here