View Full Version : Limerick Desmond League 2018/19

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17

Langerdan007
15/05/2019, 2:52 PM
At this stage is there any hope at all of the season finishing out?????

As said above an outside person is required now, for any hope of bringing all parties together and with the clear conflict of interest between the club in question and the board
The statement from the refs clarifying their point of view being released is welcome but shows they are in for the long haul on this one
Sad day if a season is basically abandoned

Foxynob44
15/05/2019, 4:38 PM
Very strange that the referees statement hasn’t received more support than 26 likes on FB. Is there any chance that the clubs are actually still backing the leagues handling of the case. Ye better setup Facebook pages lads and get liking ;)

Gazza life isn't about likes on social media, as previously mentioned you haven't responded to any valid questions on this forum, I will humour you a minute though & on one of your points last night you said why don't we fire all the current refs bar maybe four & train up new refs; where do you purpose these new refs come from?. Cos do you not realise none are coming through & if we don't have refs the Desmond league is finished forever...Honest question & would prefer an honest answer not a smart arse one please.

Foxynob44
15/05/2019, 4:40 PM
At this stage is there any hope at all of the season finishing out?????

As said above an outside person is required now, for any hope of bringing all parties together and with the clear conflict of interest between the club in question and the board
The statement from the refs clarifying their point of view being released is welcome but shows they are in for the long haul on this one
Sad day if a season is basically abandoned

Langerdan007 I think only two viable options; either remove abbey teams or have 3 refs at abbey games(as per the refs request).. we can get season dealt with in next month & regroup in close season.

dutchie
15/05/2019, 5:34 PM
Is it true that kildimo and breska were docked points for abusing a referee, but when you assault one there is no punishment , makes no sense , abbey have to face sanctions regardless of what clout they have on the committee, is there previous precedent when a referee was assaulted, it's surely not the first time.

Foxynob44
15/05/2019, 6:23 PM
Is it true that kildimo and breska were docked points for abusing a referee, but when you assault one there is no punishment , makes no sense , abbey have to face sanctions regardless of what clout they have on the committee, is there previous precedent when a referee was assaulted, it's surely not the first time.

Dutchie I believe a ncw player pushed a ref after he was sent off maybe a decade or more ago down in clounreask in a league play off match against Rathkeale & got at least a years suspension.. I could be wrong tho, but never heard of a physical assault after a match in recent times in DL..

snafu
15/05/2019, 7:10 PM
So now the first player who admitted to the offense and received punishment is now back-tracking and is saying he is innocent.
Soon Abbeyfeale will be saying that there was no soccer match at all

runinglate
15/05/2019, 10:40 PM
So we are at Wednseday, has there been any contact from the league in relation to the situation.?
I presuming the leader issue is going to have the refs statement published tomorrow, the only saving grace is there is a big match on the ennis road which will take most of the ink.
The fact there was no fixtures published in the observer would mean we cant have any games this week even if we strike agrement over the mid night oils. Will we see a statment of apolgy to the refs from the league ?
Also as stated above it might be time to do away witb 11 a side youths football and seriously consider 17s or futsal going forward.

Langerdan007
16/05/2019, 8:27 AM

Not sure if either were docked points
Breksa one saw a game abandoned due to a ref receiving abuse, game subsequently awarded as a walkover

Kildimo had an issue where a game was abandoned I think when there was some controversy over a goal i think - not sure on the sanctions/details

Ballistinianlad
16/05/2019, 9:56 AM
The thing that worries me is that has now escalated from the refs not being happy with Abbeyfeale to the refs now having an unworkable relationship with the management committee of the Desmond league.
It may take more than an apology to even bring the refs to the table at this stage

Kennycon
16/05/2019, 10:14 AM
The thing that worries me is that has now escalated from the refs not being happy with Abbeyfeale to the refs now having an unworkable relationship with the management committee of the Desmond league.
It may take more than an apology to even bring the refs to the table at this stage
The ref was assaulted, I would imagine it will be a long process.

Langerdan007
16/05/2019, 10:18 AM
Ya the deterioration between both isn't good news, your 2 options Foxynob may not even be viable now

fanaticfan
16/05/2019, 10:31 AM
Whoever honestly thinks the referees are making up fake accounts commenting on this really need to have a look at themselves. I could be wrong but I believe there is ex referees active on here that no longer referee as a result of constant abuse. Which proves the referees are 100% correct with the stance they have taken. Without the refs we have no game.

I remember one instance where a referee took so much abuse in a youths match he had to be persuaded to return to the pitch for the second half by opposition players. He is no longer reffing.

Also shearer already mentioned the futsal, this might be an idea or way of finishing out the season or maybe go with that from the start next season. Just an idea.

Yes I remember few years ago rathkeale youths were at home in a game. Cant remember who they were playing but the away side abused the referee and the referee was probably in his early 20s and the referee was nearly crying and wouldnt come out for the second half. He isnt a referee anymore.

fanaticfan
16/05/2019, 10:37 AM
You might add. That would suit you down to the ground anyway "Shearer" as the majority of games you watch seen to be in the LDL rather than supporting your local team and league. What are you trying to do now get the best players that are left in the league to go into the LDL. Who exactly are these people turning their nose up at him? Players, management and supporters of the LDl is it. Do us all a favour and give it a rest. You won't get away with giving it this and that inside there because you'll be told where to go. Rant over

If a fella wants to go watch rathkeale vs killeaney then off with him. But if janesboro are playing balla I know I'd rather go see the match in the city. If Shearer wants to go and watch better football in the city then he can. It's his decision

The best players left in the league are better off playing in the LDL. Who would want to play in a league after all this happening. The league is a joke.

CraftyToePoke
16/05/2019, 11:34 AM
You might add. That would suit you down to the ground anyway "Shearer" as the majority of games you watch seen to be in the LDL rather than supporting your local team and league. What are you trying to do now get the best players that are left in the league to go into the LDL. Who exactly are these people turning their nose up at him? Players, management and supporters of the LDl is it. Do us all a favour and give it a rest. You won't get away with giving it this and that inside there because you'll be told where to go. Rant over

Let the man watch games wherever he likes, isn't it the game as a whole we all followed in the first place.

westernflow
16/05/2019, 6:59 PM
The League table shows Kildimo were docked points for their incident with Granagh and the ref, game was abandoned late on and Granagh got the win. Breska v AK went 3-0 to AK, who were leading 2-1 at the time, but no points deductions. Were there any difference with these? Also, the fact the abbey game was over makes it even worse, and that the ref was assulted, unlike the verbals seen in the other 2, surely the book should be thrown at the team and the club.

GrassRoots
16/05/2019, 8:31 PM
Westernflow that's a great solution, let's all go throwing books. This situation has gone from serious to almost laughable (not laughable at the assault, that is obviously a serious matter) but laughable because everyone seems to have an opinion and nothing seems to be getting done. Who has the answers to all the questions? Who's in charge of the situation?

fanaticfan
17/05/2019, 1:15 AM
In other Desmond news, Are kildimo the worst team to ever play in the premier division?

Gazza29
17/05/2019, 6:10 AM
There has been enough negativity on this from all sides over the past few weeks, it’s probably time to give it a rest now and hope that there is enough maturity on both sides to negotiate a compromise as soon as possible. In the mean time, anyone want a crack off the Team of the Season, I don’t think we have done it before

Ballistinianlad
17/05/2019, 7:36 AM
In other Desmond news, Are kildimo the worst team to ever play in the premier division?

Very unlucky in some games. Rockhill were worse in my opinion

Gazza29
17/05/2019, 8:40 AM
Very unlucky in some games. Rockhill were worse in my opinion
Much much worse. If memory serves me, Adare were pretty bad as well a few years back

DesmondLad
17/05/2019, 9:23 AM
Last word...
I have participated in and supported the Desmond league for a long time and never thought things could deteriorate so badly so quickly. There was always a healthy relationship between the management of the league and the referees and that looks like it has broken down completely. Hopefully some good people can start mending bridges and football is restored to the League. Unfortunately some honest dedicated people will walk away when all this is settled and that will be a huge loss to football. People that know the truth and remain silent...shame on you. Here's hoping that the culprits are named and punished severely for their cowardly assault. On a separate issue how do the schoolboy league have to pay so much for using clounreask when they are the people training coaching and bringing forward future generations of youth and junior players. There should be a nominal charge to cover cutting the grass lining the field etc for the groundsmen who by the way do a fantastic job but the fees are I think excessive. I fear the fallout from "sneezegate " might result in a decline of reports and yellow cards going back to the League and subsequently a loss of revenue then all other levels of funding will need to be looked at.

Shearer
17/05/2019, 12:56 PM
I don't want to see any competition not completed, but personally it would be particularly upsetting if the Desmond Cup wasn't wrapped up.
People will argue for the Premier Division League title but for me the Desmond Cup is the holy grail as is reflected by the brilliant coverage the final gets in the Observer every year (hat tip to Frank Nelligan and the Observer).

Ballistinianlad
17/05/2019, 1:47 PM
Thinking way ahead here and probably prematurely. But if this season is called off and an agreement is made in the summer. Are we looking at an 11 team premier? Kildimo down as they are gone anyway with ak and adare up.

Cruyff
17/05/2019, 1:47 PM
Desmond League Statement on the leader website:

The Limerick Desmond Football League are actively pursuing avenues of solving the dispute with the Limerick brance of the ISRS and will not be commenting further until such avenues are fully explored. The Management Committee of the Limerick Desmond Football League”

Langerdan007
17/05/2019, 2:48 PM

The Limerick Desmond Football League are actively pursuing avenues of solving the dispute with the Limerick brance of the ISRS and will not be commenting further until such avenues are fully explored. The Management Committee of the Limerick Desmond Football League”

T'would fill you with confidence :rolleyes:

runinglate
17/05/2019, 10:13 PM
T'would fill you with confidence :rolleyes:
Just wondering am i right in saying league has to be finished end of June as per rules.
With cups still to be played and all teams having to play last two fixtures together the clock is really ticking.
The fact the league have said they wont comment until they exchaust all avenues, i think it is now down to the refs to lay down there demands, and if they are willing to work with current commitee or not. I have no issue with commitee and feel sorry for the servants of the league but if the ref wont play ball something has to give.

westernflow
18/05/2019, 12:52 AM
In Fariness toKildimo, they were promoted by default as the NCW merger meant they didn't go up as league winners.

Ballistinianlad
18/05/2019, 10:35 AM
In Fariness toKildimo, they were promoted by default as the NCW merger meant they didn't go up as league winners.

Agree and they will probably go back up next season. They are that type of team

Shearer
19/05/2019, 8:13 PM
That happened months ago. Stack by all accounts playing well, will be in an Oscar Traynor final shortly.
Fair play to Shane Stack who started for their 1-0 win against the Kilkenny District League in the final.

Soreloser
20/05/2019, 12:10 PM

They don't even know what branch of the ISRS they are dealing with so how is this going to get solved

Shearer
20/05/2019, 7:29 PM
No games again this weekend unless a miraculous breakthrough is made in the next 24 hours before the Observer comes out.

Langerdan007
20/05/2019, 8:02 PM
Anyone know if there is any meetings ongoing? are the two of them even in contact?

LimkRef
21/05/2019, 9:10 AM
Hopefully it gets sorted soon

Ballistinianlad
21/05/2019, 9:59 AM
From what I know of, there has been zero communication between the league committee and the referees. Iv also heard that three or 4 of the refs will not work with the current management committee going forward.
Complete deadlock.

GrassRoots
22/05/2019, 7:55 AM
Any update re meeting last night

Desmond18
22/05/2019, 8:38 AM
Nothing from meeting last night so I’m afraid that’s it for the season...an absolute disgrace & shocking treatment of players & managers of respective clubs who have trained since last July... clubs that were going to be promoted & cup semis/finals all gone !!! The death of the Desmond league as we know it.

runinglate
22/05/2019, 10:22 AM
Nothing from meeting last night so I’m afraid that’s it for the season...an absolute disgrace & shocking treatment of players & managers of respective clubs who have trained since last July... clubs that were going to be promoted & cup semis/finals all gone !!! The death of the Desmond league as we know it.

Are we expecting anything official, Does anyone know if clubs are being kept in the loop on this? I have heard nothing from my club.

You would think if we don't get a round of fixtures in by Friday 31st to finish will be a struggle.

DesmondLad
22/05/2019, 1:25 PM
What a mess. The league have done nothing to restore our season. What happened to exploring all avenues to find a resolution??We lose our season for what, a thug who abbey and League protect. I am sickened for all clubs, their hard work will go unrewarded. I assume the league will hide away again, no communication with clubs, no statement, nothing. How long do we as clubs stay patient/frustrated. I can't see a completion of this season at this stage. I have said it before and I'll say it again, it's in the clubs hands now if we want our season to end. We have done nothing for long enough. We now Need to band together and call an EGM to sort out our season cause obviously the league we put in place can't or won't. They are happy to see it slip away. Alarmingly, They seem to have no problem threatening the commencement of next season either. We have all paid fees to the league for what? An incomplete season, all Cup competitions reneged on. We know what the league are good at, doing nothing. They have been doing that for nearly 10 weeks now. Are we going to do the same and let it all our hard work be in vain?

Langerdan007
22/05/2019, 1:37 PM

Is there a hard date whereby the season can not go beyond? Someone mentioned further up about not being able to go into June

Ballistinianlad
22/05/2019, 2:22 PM
Another club meeting Monday. Surely it’s make or break time for the season?

runinglate
22/05/2019, 2:25 PM
Is there a hard date whereby the season can not go beyond? Someone mentioned further up about not being able to go into June

Well I presume registration must expire at some stage, that we have to reregister every year.

Wheter that is June 30st or July 31st I am not sure. Has the league ever gone to July in recent years?

Griffo
22/05/2019, 7:05 PM
Abbey are the only club with a part to play in this. The league requires refs and a committee to operate. Remove Abbey and put the other clubs and members first, as they’re the only ones completely innocent in this mess. It’s not rocket science or an attack on Abbey, it’s common sense.

Desmond18
22/05/2019, 9:29 PM
Abbey are the only club with a part to play in this. The league requires refs and a committee to operate. Remove Abbey and put the other clubs and members first, as they’re the only ones completely innocent in this mess. It’s not rocket science or an attack on Abbey, it’s common sense.

I couldn’t agree more.Surely they must be gone by the weekend.

fanaticfan
24/05/2019, 9:52 AM
The league are a laughing stock. Everyone of the league committee members should step down for the following season. Once again embarassing from the league. From now on,if theres no oscar traynor team entered for the league, do what the city league done and put the league champions as our squad. Look at janesboro. They won this years oscar traynor because the city didnt have a team either.

dutchie
24/05/2019, 10:17 AM
Janesboro would probably beat a combined Desmond tean 8 nil.

desmond tutu
24/05/2019, 11:04 AM
You sound like a man that would make a good committe member if the league folds fanaticfan.....they've only giving up there time like others voluntarily over the years to try and run a league as best they can and to be fair have done an excellent job...
I've been following the abbeyfeale story now with great interest and I wonder how many clubs would be willing to throw there entire youth team under the bus for the sake of a ref who we all know can be a bit of a Walter mitty and has been down this route a few years back.By all accounts if a league deal with suspensions and fines which I'm sure they did referees need to except this.. As for your opinion on Oscars trainer team you would go well to find anyone other then Broadford rathkeale or abbeyfeale who can compete with the likes of janesboro.

LimkRef
25/05/2019, 2:26 PM
Hello every 1

fanaticfan
26/05/2019, 5:10 PM
Well at least the league would be presented by the league champions. Better than having no team entered in the oscar traynor imo. Imo it would be better to get rid of the abbeyfeale youths them than not finishing the season at all. The league and all clubs are suffering because of it all.

Hello limkref

LimkRef
26/05/2019, 8:40 PM
Well fanatticFan

twotouch
27/05/2019, 8:13 AM
Rumour mill in full swing again from hearing over the weekend that the league issued abbey with a proposal to get the league finished but abbey rejected it. Gazza you might be able to fill us in a bit more. What right have abbey rejecting anything at this stage