View Full Version : Limerick Desmond League 2018/19
Pages :
[
6]
last man back
13/01/2019, 7:37 PM
I heard there was 5 red cards in the Ballingarry/ Broadford game.
westernflow
14/01/2019, 11:29 PM
I heard there was 5 red cards in the Ballingarry/ Broadford game.
Any more details on this?
Kilcornan first loss of the season, they also finished with 10.
Desmond18
15/01/2019, 3:58 PM
Wasn't at the Ballingarry-Broadford game but heard Broadford were very poor & won't challenge for any league going on that result. lad who was at it said Broadford were lucky to get the draw in the end. Sending offs were all well deserved by all accounts but ref poor also & lost control of game completely in last 15 mins.
Ballistinianlad
17/01/2019, 8:24 AM
Twas Ballysteen finished with ten men vs Kilcornan lad. Good game. Could have went either way. Kilcornan should last the pace and get premier. Good young players and a few experienced heads there too
Shearer
18/01/2019, 4:02 PM
Big day Sunday.
An Abbeyfeale win would put them six points clear with a game more played than Rathkeale and Broadford.
A stalemate in the aforementioned and a Broadford win in Kildimo keeps things a bit more open while thrusting Broadford further into title contention.
Big couple of weeks for Abbeyfeale. This game Sunday, Carrick United the following Sunday and St Michael's a fortnight later.
Shearer
18/01/2019, 9:29 PM
Updated Munster Junior Cup draw is out.
Abbeyfeale/Carrick United Vs Broadford/Fenit Samphires in the fifth round.
Winner of that is at home to whoever comes out of Pike Rovers/City Wanderers Vs Waterford Hibs/Borroway Rovers.
fanaticfan
20/01/2019, 7:21 PM
Good result for rathkeale beating abbeyfeale 2-1 this morning. Abbey under pressure now with rathkeale level on points and a game in hand. And broadford winning also beating kildimo 2-1. Granagh beat carrig 6-1. Glin beating KB 3-1. Newcastle beating Ballingarry 3-0
Rathkeale B got an awful beating 8-0 at home to AK
southern kid
20/01/2019, 9:17 PM
Did Abbey play 85 mins with 10 men? Heard a very harsh sending off from one or two that were there..great 3 points for ratkeale..
Shearer
20/01/2019, 9:35 PM
Huge win for Rathkeale this morning that blows the title race wide open with Broadford winning too.
Abbeyfeale having a man sent off early on probably didn't make it as good of a contest as it could've been but Rathkeale were fully deserving of the win and could've scored more having missed a penalty in the first half and having the most of the credible chances.
Billy Quirke had some wonderful saves including a penalty. Rathkeale scored two super goals 5 minutes into the second half, the first of which was very much against the run of play (the second I can't recall).
Keith Hartnett, Jack Hennessy and Pa Ahern were superb for Rathkeale and Abbey could not cope with Hennessy constantly chasing down through balls from Hartnett down the wing.
It's kind of hard to pinpoint how much of Abbeyfeale's deficiencies today were caused by that red, they struggled to carve chances of real merit and if it weren't for the goalmouth scramble that led to the goal I'm not sure if they would have scored at all.
Even though it's only their first loss of the season, it is a huge blow. They've 9 games left, including both Rathkeale and Broadford away from home, and can't really afford to slip up.
All in all, it was a good result for the league. Let the games begin.
Gazza29
21/01/2019, 2:12 PM
Huge win for Rathkeale this morning that blows the title race wide open with Broadford winning too.
Abbeyfeale having a man sent off early on probably didn't make it as good of a contest as it could've been but Rathkeale were fully deserving of the win and could've scored more having missed a penalty in the first half and having the most of the credible chances.
Billy Quirke had some wonderful saves including a penalty. Rathkeale scored two super goals 5 minutes into the second half, the first of which was very much against the run of play (the second I can't recall).
Keith Hartnett, Jack Hennessy and Pa Ahern were superb for Rathkeale and Abbey could not cope with Hennessy constantly chasing down through balls from Hartnett down the wing.
It's kind of hard to pinpoint how much of Abbeyfeale's deficiencies today were caused by that red, they struggled to carve chances of real merit and if it weren't for the goalmouth scramble that led to the goal I'm not sure if they would have scored at all.
Even though it's only their first loss of the season, it is a huge blow. They've 9 games left, including both Rathkeale and Broadford away from home, and can't really afford to slip up.
All in all, it was a good result for the league. Let the games begin.
Not good preparation for Abbey losing to a depleted Rathkeale side ahead of two big Munster weekends. Rathkeale could be 6 points clear before Abbey play a league game again
PatRooney
21/01/2019, 9:08 PM
I didn’t realise that Abbey had gone 6 clear in the premier at the halfway point. That’s a considerable advantage at this stage of the season. They will win it with relative ease it looks like now
Do you still think they will win it with relative ease now Gazza?
Gazza29
21/01/2019, 10:06 PM
Do you still think they will win it with relative ease now Gazza?
Yes, 1 defeat in 10 games so don’t get carried away, still a very good team and defending champions
fanaticfan
22/01/2019, 12:29 AM
Anyone can win it between abbey rathkeale and broadford. I think rathkeale will win it this year. Abbey will be knocked out of both Munster Cups in the next 2 weeks. Up against 2 hard teams. Hopefully I'm wrong though
Shearer
22/01/2019, 11:34 AM
https://twitter.com/LgDesmond/status/1087609827478646784?s=19
Desmond Cup First Round draw, games to be played February 3rd.
KB United and Newcastle West Town is the tie of the round.
southern kid
22/01/2019, 5:19 PM
No doubt Abbey are up against it but if any Desmond team can progress against good opposition I wud fancy them at home. I heard Abbey dominated possession (shearer reports says different but all about opinions i guess)last Sunday and only had 10 men for 85 minutes, obviously the scoreline is what counts in the end. Both teams missing 3 or 4 players.. broadford could still be dark horses and have to play ratkeale twice so bit early to predict winners imo..
Gazza29
22/01/2019, 6:58 PM
No doubt Abbey are up against it but if any Desmond team can progress against good opposition I wud fancy them at home. I heard Abbey dominated possession (shearer reports says different but all about opinions i guess)last Sunday and only had 10 men for 85 minutes, obviously the scoreline is what counts in the end. Both teams missing 3 or 4 players.. broadford could still be dark horses and have to play ratkeale twice so bit early to predict winners imo..
Lads Carrick are a big club, but currently have an average team. The are mid table in their league and I’m open to correction but I don’t think they have done anything in Munster or FAI in the past 3 or 4 years. Abbey are a big club currently enjoying their best spell in their history. Surely Abbey must be classed as favourites based on them being at home. As already stated, I know they lost Sunday but they did play more or less the full game against the leagues second best team and only barely lost
PatRooney
22/01/2019, 9:34 PM
Two well taken goals by young Ahern from out by the thatch (Bobby Firmino I think he was calling himself and he celebrating them)
fanaticfan
24/01/2019, 12:06 AM
Aren't rathkeale joint first in the league with a game in hand? Rathkeale game in hand against carrig on Sunday which they should win so wont be second best in the league after Sunday unless they are beaten
Gazza29
24/01/2019, 6:08 AM
Aren't rathkeale joint first in the league with a game in hand? Rathkeale game in hand against carrig on Sunday which they should win so wont be second best in the league after Sunday unless they are beaten
Are Abbey not defending champions? Do champions not equal the best
Griffo
24/01/2019, 8:39 AM
It was a similar game to the Munster Junior tie they played earlier in the year. RATHKEALE went down to 10 men and actually played well with a few chances and a lot of possession.
Also, RK have won the majority of last 5/6 meetings between the two sides and are current Desmond Cup and Premier League Cup champions, only losing league in play off.
I can’t see how you could say one is better than the other.
Two very good, very evenly matched sides.
fanaticfan
24/01/2019, 12:11 PM
Yes in one way but the were the best team last year.
Foxynob44
26/01/2019, 11:59 AM
I agree with a lot of the points made in relation to last Sunday however if Rathkeale are to progress & win the league this season they will need more legs in midfield, they won’t get away with the same man doing the job of two people v often imo, it’s clear they are carrying passengers
Johnnie C
27/01/2019, 4:53 PM
Abbey defeated 2-1 by Carrick with Broadford defeating Fenit 3-1 after extra time. Broadford away to Carrick in round 5.
PatRooney
28/01/2019, 1:43 PM
Reports Ballingarry got the game against Granagh called off due to "unforeseen circumstances" (they were missing 5 players)
fanaticfan
29/01/2019, 10:28 AM
Granagh would probably have beaten them with the 5 players there anyway. Ballingarry terrible this year
Shearer
29/01/2019, 11:20 AM
I kind of dismissed any talk of Ballingarry getting relegated a while ago due to the season still being in its infancy, but even Stevie Wonder can see now that they're in trouble.
Only hope Ballingarry have is of catching Granagh because Carrig have gotten results of late.
PatRooney
29/01/2019, 11:42 AM
Have to agree with you there fanaticfan. The only way I can see them staying up is if they get Anthony Forde back for the rest of the season or more realistically maybe his brother Kevin.
Shearer
03/02/2019, 6:55 PM
There's been a worrying amount of walkovers this season with today having the League's 5th and 6th walkovers recorded.
I get no pleasure out of posting this in case anyone thinks otherwise, just presenting facts.
Ferry Rangers - 2
Abbeyfeale United B - 1
Ballingarry B - 1
Athea United - 1
Rockhill Rovers - 1
Gazza29
03/02/2019, 7:16 PM
There's been a worrying amount of walkovers this season with today having the League's 5th and 6th walkovers recorded.
I get no pleasure out of posting this in case anyone thinks otherwise, just presenting facts.
Ferry Rangers - 2
Abbeyfeale United B - 1
Ballingarry B - 1
Athea United - 1
Rockhill Rovers - 1
I’m not sure if it’s any worse than any other season. Ballingarry B, Athea and especially Rockhill are all serial walkover givers
westernflow
04/02/2019, 11:45 AM
Things are going down hill fast. Some hammerings in the cup games yesterday and a few walkovers. I wonder are the League concerned by these trends or are they happy with the few bob from the fines picked up weekly?
Cruyff
04/02/2019, 1:10 PM
Things are going down hill fast. Some hammerings in the cup games yesterday and a few walkovers. I wonder are the League concerned by these trends or are they happy with the few bob from the fines picked up weekly?
The second one
fanaticfan
05/02/2019, 1:16 AM
Good game this weekend coming. Rathkeale vs Broadford. Rathkeale just shading it for me
Shearer
05/02/2019, 11:43 AM
Good game this weekend coming. Rathkeale vs Broadford. Rathkeale just shading it for me
If they win Sunday then they're well on course to win the league. With that said, Broadford are known for going on lengthy runs from the second half onwards and are still in the hunt. I'd say if you went back over the years a lot of the points they drop come within the first few games.
Heard that NCW Town B really put it up to Abbeyfeale at the weekend (despite the scoreline).
I can't see anything but a Michael's win this Sunday. Top of their league as always and probably will make the final of the FAI provided they don't meet Sheriff. What's more, you can be guaranteed that loss to Abbey a few years ago still burdens them. Best of luck to Abbeyfeale, love this competition.
Gazza29
05/02/2019, 2:22 PM
Premier league opposition for Rathkeale, Abbey and Broadford in the Desmond Cup 2nd round. All 3 also away from home
Desmond18
08/02/2019, 2:02 PM
All the games in city off this weekend bar the FAI... I presume we'll follow with blanket call?
Cruyff
08/02/2019, 3:00 PM
All the games in city off this weekend bar the FAI... I presume we'll follow with blanket call?
They'll wait and see what way tomorrow is first I'd imagine... They are always exaggerating with the warnings
Gazza29
08/02/2019, 5:36 PM
They'll wait and see what way tomorrow is first I'd imagine... They are always exaggerating with the warnings
If there are weather warnings in place at any stage over a weekend then all games should be off no questions asked. They are the experts and should be taken at their word. I don’t think people should be put in needless danger traveling to games over a game of ball. And that’s before we get started on damage done to pitches in a season where we are well ahead of schedule heading into mid Feb
Shearer
08/02/2019, 10:27 PM
Just a note lads:
Alan Murphy, Sean Madigan, Andy Quaid and Marty Madden all represented UL who were runners-up in the Collingwood Cup during the week.
Karl O'Sullivan appeared for the Irish Home-Based Under-21's in a friendly against the Irish Juniors during the week, Killian Brouder was on standby for that squad while Chris Smith was on standby for the Juniors.
Paul Sheehan was capped for the Irish Defence Forces not too long ago too as they qualified for the Military World Cup.
The Enforcer
09/02/2019, 6:29 AM
If there are weather warnings in place at any stage over a weekend then all games should be off no questions asked. They are the experts and should be taken at their word. I don’t think people should be put in needless danger traveling to games over a game of ball. And that’s before we get started on damage done to pitches in a season where we are well ahead of schedule heading into mid Feb
In fairness, after the night we just had the games should be called off first thing this morning. I know the weather is ok today but pitches are soaking and will be destroyed. Force them this week and then we will go a month without games
twotouch
09/02/2019, 7:50 AM
If it’s not needed to call a blanket it shouldn’t be called. Leave it up2 d clubs if pitches are playable let matches be played. Happened a lot last year where pitches were playable but blanket called.
Cruyff
09/02/2019, 9:00 AM
What they'll do is they'll text the club's with good pitches asking for an update, if those clubs come back and say the pitches should be alright tomorrow, then they'll wait as late as possible tonight for club's to check again and then decide.
What'll probably happen is a handful of club's will ring today and say their pitches are unplayable and most others will chance it, lots of clubs have a full team this time of year and won't care about weather or pitches, they'll just want to get their best team out and win a game regardless of what damage it might do.
If enough club's ring in early today and say their pitches will definitely be unplayable then ye'll get ye're blanket call off.
So boys, get onto ye're secretaries straight away and we'll all get to go on the tear tonight 😁
Gazza29
09/02/2019, 11:55 AM
What they'll do is they'll text the club's with good pitches asking for an update, if those clubs come back and say the pitches should be alright tomorrow, then they'll wait as late as possible tonight for club's to check again and then decide.
What'll probably happen is a handful of club's will ring today and say their pitches are unplayable and most others will chance it, lots of clubs have a full team this time of year and won't care about weather or pitches, they'll just want to get their best team out and win a game regardless of what damage it might do.
If enough club's ring in early today and say their pitches will definitely be unplayable then ye'll get ye're blanket call off.
So boys, get onto ye're secretaries straight away and we'll all get to go on the tear tonight 😁
surely if they are going to do it, then please do it before the Irish match. There is no point delaying a decision until late this evening when it’s too late for lads to make plans for their free weekend
twotouch
09/02/2019, 5:14 PM
No blanket cancellation anyways
last man back
09/02/2019, 10:54 PM
Heard Rathkeale v Broadford is a 10.30 k.o in the morning in case anybody is going
westernflow
10/02/2019, 5:27 PM
How did pitches fare today? I was at a game today and the pitch held up quite well. Rathkeale 2-0 winners today also, interesting result.
Abbeyman
10/02/2019, 8:59 PM
Youth quarter finals were down for Saturday gone by , 2 walkovers in the 3 games that were scheduled ??
Cruyff
10/02/2019, 10:37 PM
Youth quarter finals were down for Saturday gone by , 2 walkovers in the 3 games that were scheduled ??
Youths is a total disaster....
Cruyff
10/02/2019, 10:37 PM
How did pitches fare today? I was at a game today and the pitch held up quite well. Rathkeale 2-0 winners today also, interesting result.
They're always overestimating with the weather warnings
westernflow
11/02/2019, 1:16 AM
Worrying trend in the youths league. Interest not there from players, club s or what is the story? Rathkeale have pulled out. NCW, Abbey, Mountcollins, Ferry have all given walkovers this season. Where are we going at all? I genuinely think that if they asked the players, the 2:30pm games are a put off. FAir play to broadford who look on course for another youths title. they seem to be able to keep it going at that age.
Desmond18
11/02/2019, 11:34 AM
I arrived in Rathkeale at 11.30 yesterday for the game but they were already into 2nd half !!!! why was it switched to 10.30 ?? Anyway from what i saw Rathkeale very comfortable & never looked in danger. Broadford did seem to be missing quiet a few like King & O'Brien. Offered very little danger to rathkeale back 3 .... Enright & Hartnett totally controlled midfield. Very hard to see them slipping up now for the year in league & cup with possibly Abbeyfeale only threat to them for the double.