View Full Version : Fixtures 9th - 12th March
09/03/2018, 12:08 PM
9 March Bohemians v St. Patrick’s Athletic Dalymount Park 7.45 pm.
9 March Dundalk v Cork City Oriel Park 7.45 pm. Eir Sports 2
9 March Limerick v Bray Wanderers Markets Field 7.45 pm.
9 March Sligo Rovers v Waterford The Showgrounds 7.45 pm.
9 March Shamrock Rovers v Derry City Tallaght Stadium 8.00 pm
Mon. 12 March Bray Wanderers v Sligo Rovers Carlisle Grounds 7.45 pm
Mon. 12 March Cork City v Shamrock Rovers Turner’s Cross 7.45 pm
Mon. 12 March Derry City v Limerick Brandywell Stadium 7.45 pm
Mon. 12 March St. Patrick’s Athletic v Dundalk Richmond Park 7.45 pm
Mon. 12 March Waterford v Bohemians R.S.C. 7.45 pm
Fri. 9 March Cabinteely v Cobh Ramblers Stradbrook 7.45 pm
Fri. 9 March Drogheda United v Athlone Town United Park 7.45 pm
Fri. 9 March U.C.D. v Galway United The UCD Bowl 7.45 pm
Fri. 9 March Finn Harps v Shelbourne Finn Park 8.00 pm
Sat. 10 March Longford Town v Wexford City Calling Stadium 7.30 pm
09/03/2018, 12:10 PM
Bradley reeling in expectations - https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/2281571/stephen-bradley-reckons-people-need-to-understand-shamrock-rovers-are-not-ready-to-challenge-for-the-title/
Cork team news - http://www.corkcityfc.ie/home/2018/03/08/team-news-coverage-for-dundalk-game-3/
https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/2279123/conor-mccormack-insists-cork-city-will-be-up-for-the-fight-against-dundalk/
https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/2279023/dundalk-star-dane-massey-feels-cork-city-game-is-already-a-must-win-for-lilywhites/
09/03/2018, 3:03 PM
Not getting too excited about this.
I'm still expecting something to go wrong and a fourth game in a row to be postponed..
placid casual
09/03/2018, 4:19 PM
Nothing less than 6 points for Rovers over the next few days is good enough..
sbgawa
09/03/2018, 4:29 PM
Nothing less than 6 points for Rovers over the next few days is good enough..
4 points will do me..and id be happy with that
wonder88
09/03/2018, 5:31 PM
Derry, under Shields anyway, have a decent record in the capital against the Dublin big 2. While game in Oriel rightly will capture most media attention, two interesting games for me in the Premier are in Sligo and Limerick.
I am not as sure as the predictions on this forum for a Galway win at UCD tonight. While hoping for the win, there was a lot of sloppy play in the game v Athlone, so a bit of worry there. While unable to get to game, tonight or Monday, great to have the LoI back.
NeverFeltBetter
09/03/2018, 7:39 PM
Limerick and Bray playing out one of the worst games of football ever in the Markets Field. One shot on target so far.
I love a hard luck story as much as the next man and that will be the spin but this is a tragic start for us again.
I was hopeful but this is really going tits up.
The problem with bedding in periods is that you lose your crowds early on and they wont come back to watch a team languishing in mid-table mediocrity at best.
L.T.F.C.
09/03/2018, 8:56 PM
Jaysus Cork were dirt.
sbgawa
09/03/2018, 9:03 PM
Six two games in a row ! Derry kept going in fairness but they look very poor.
patrickccfc
09/03/2018, 9:21 PM
Didn't get to watch the game tonight but going by updates we were poor enough. For all the chances dundalk had, they only score from a bad mistake by nults. Mcnamee had a great chance to equalize, seen the video of it and he should be scoring that.
No need to panic only 4 games in and still in top albeit on goal difference only.
Rovers will be well up for Monday, 12 goals in 2 games is good going and they will be well confident. Expect a big response from us in that game.
09/03/2018, 9:22 PM
Bray were absolutely and utterly atrocious. We were ever so slightly better.
CraftyToePoke
09/03/2018, 9:28 PM
Bray were absolutely and utterly atrocious. We were ever so slightly better.
What way was the surface ?
09/03/2018, 9:29 PM
What way was the surface ?
Absolutely and utterly atrocious also.
redarmyfaction
09/03/2018, 9:47 PM
I love a hard luck story as much as the next man and that will be the spin but this is a tragic start for us again.
I was hopeful but this is really going tits up.
The problem with bedding in periods is that you lose your crowds early on and they wont come back to watch a team languishing in mid-table mediocrity at best.
Ya, we wuz robbed alright, but Cork or Limerick didn't Rob us, that said Waterford had 3 on target, scored 2, the keeper was glacial for the second maybe he was unsighted, but I would put it down to a lack of concentration as he spent the second half picking his nose so little did he of Waterford who must surely be flattered by their position.
White Horse
09/03/2018, 9:47 PM
Great to get the three points, but the finishing was a horror show.
It should have been a comfortable win by five or six goals.
Cork were poor by their standards. McCormack being taken off after 20 minutes made a huge difference. I like him as a player but he needs to be calmer on the pitch when playing Dundalk. He was very unprofessional tonight and let him team mates down. Sadlier is a class act and a joy to watch.
However what has me scratching my head is why Shamrock Rovers didn't sign up Daniel Cleary. This lad will be the best centre half in the league, by a mile.
sbgawa
09/03/2018, 9:55 PM
Budget was gone I reckon. Coughlin that signed for bray was apparantly wanted as well but no mon no fun.
Still happy enough with the start so far compared to last year. A point in cork on Monday and the season is well and truly up and running
White Horse
09/03/2018, 10:03 PM
Budget was gone I reckon. Coughlin that signed for bray was apparantly wanted as well but no mon no fun.
Still happy enough with the start so far compared to last year. A point in cork on Monday and the season is well and truly up and running
You don't look like you are missing him, but this lad is seriously good.
sbgawa
09/03/2018, 10:12 PM
Yeah he was good on trial.
Oh to have your riches :)
Should be a good game in cork on Monday didn't see your game obviously but seems like cork were poor, they'll be up for it on Monday but our lads will be confident after the last few matches. Pity we screwed up against bohs.
jinxy lilywhite
09/03/2018, 10:36 PM
Yeah he was good on trial.
Oh to have your riches :)
Should be a good game in cork on Monday didn't see your game obviously but seems like cork were poor, they'll be up for it on Monday but our lads will be confident after the last few matches. Pity we screwed up against bohs.
We are operating on the 4th highest budget. Cork rovers and waterford are higher ;p
09/03/2018, 10:41 PM
Agree with above. If dundalk could finish they'd save had 6. We won't play that badly again, it was a comedy of errors the whole time. Badly missed Benno and McCormack when he went off. Big game now Monday against a flying rovers team.
White Horse
09/03/2018, 10:41 PM
We are operating on the 4th highest budget. Cork rovers and waterford are higher ;p
Very true, the players are bag packing in Tesco tomorrow. Give them your support.
ToberonaTornado
09/03/2018, 10:42 PM
McCormack.
Brilliant player.
Chip on the shoulder or some other grievance he personally holds against Dundalk renders him null and void when it comes to playing against us,i dunno?(4 sending offs against us and even more yellow cards offences?)
Made an ar$e of himself tonight before being hauled off after 15 minutes. and him the skipper for the night.:rolleyes:
If we can sharpen up in front of goal then we'll win the league.
Back 4 and gk excellent for us tonight.Hard to fault any tbh.Dan Cleary again 10/10.
Midfield - 9/10 - Duffy always wanting to score.Some pace on him.
Forwards - Hoban makes life awkward for df's.He was guilty of a few misses but i think he'll be sharper soon.Murray- a right pain for the Cork MF and df's.Terrific player.
Good match.
Enjoyed the game
Enjoyed the victory 10x as much.
Mon the town.
sullanefc
09/03/2018, 10:42 PM
City poor tonight. Very naive performance. We need to get wise to the dark arts as Dundalk so expertly executed tonight.
White Horse
09/03/2018, 10:45 PM
McCormack.
Brilliant player.
Chip on the shoulder or some other grievance he personally holds against Dundalk renders him null and void when it comes to playing against us,i dunno?(4 sending offs against us and even more yellow cards offences?)
Made an ar$e of himself tonight before being hauled off after 15 minutes. and him the skipper for the night.:rolleyes:
I've never got the impression he has a grudge against us. He just seems hyper motivated against Dundalk.
Some days it works for him. Tonight it didn't.
09/03/2018, 10:55 PM
Disappointing to hear glasses and bottles were thrown a the away fans while they were being held back after the game. If the Gardaí are going to insist on holding people back, they need to keep them safe. Our family enclosure have said they'll no longer be running buses to oriel
White Horse
09/03/2018, 10:58 PM
Shameful behaviour if these reports are true. I hope these louts are identified and appropriate action is taken.
RathfarnhamHoop
09/03/2018, 11:32 PM
However what has me scratching my head is why Shamrock Rovers didn't sign up Daniel Cleary. This lad will be the best centre half in the league, by a mile.
I'd say the budget impact to improvement ratio just wasn't worth it at the end of the day, we've already got Grace whos in my opinion the best centre back in the league, Gilchrist who's been great bar a few communication issues, Lopez who was brilliant with grace last season. Thats 3 very good centre backs to have with the likes of Bone, Byrne, O'Brien (probably) who can fill in there in a jam it's not a position we really needed to spend big to get someone in there. We effectively got Kavanagh instead and I'm very happy with that all things considered.
Ezeikial
10/03/2018, 12:56 AM
City poor tonight. Very naive performance. We need to get wise to the dark arts as Dundalk so expertly executed tonight.
Is a little grace in defeat possible?
10/03/2018, 1:20 AM
We tried to sign him but he ended up signing for another team for some reason.
Good show from Rovers tonight. The sloppy goal was annoying and Derry created plenty first half, but that's a game that we'd have lost 1-0 last year. Kavanagh is class and Burke is starting to motor. Still concerned about Horgan and Boyle - hopefully the latter will come good at least.
10/03/2018, 1:22 AM
Had to laugh at Beattie accusing Benson of diving tonight because a) it was a clear foul and b) he's Steven Beattie.
ToberonaTornado
10/03/2018, 1:45 AM
I've never got the impression he has a grudge against us. He just seems hyper motivated against Dundalk.
Some days it works for him. Tonight it didn't.
LOL
smh
He's a wee precious snowflake :)
This is football we;re talking about.
Glad for him anyway :D
ToberonaTornado
10/03/2018, 6:14 AM
Thats rich. Try asking St Stephen Kenny. He might issue a statement for you.
Christ on a bike.
Whats rich?What has this to do with Stephen Kenny?Make fcuking sense or pish off the ball.
sullanefc
10/03/2018, 6:20 AM
Christ on a bike.
Whats rich?What has this to do with Stephen Kenny?Make fcuking sense or pish off the ball.
Apologies. I quoted the wrong post. I meant to quote this:
Is a little grace in defeat possible?
I will edit above.
sullanefc
10/03/2018, 6:24 AM
Tried to edit and post gets deleted. This site is crap. No wonder its in the toilet.
placid casual
10/03/2018, 6:36 AM
Great to get a resounding win against one of our bogey sides. Might shut shield up for awhile. Hopefully the sane next week against pats, another bogey side for us.
Cleary wanted a summer get out clause in his contract to go back to uk,Rovers said no thanks and off he went to Dundalk. We have Grace, so he's not missed tbh.
What a steal we got from Derry getting Kavanagh, he's looks the business..
A draw on Monday will do fine now, but if we can keep the ball away from the Horgan disaster area we might even win!
sulywaterfordfc
10/03/2018, 6:50 AM
Ya, we wuz robbed alright, but Cork or Limerick didn't Rob us, that said Waterford had 3 on target, scored 2, the keeper was glacial for the second maybe he was unsighted, but I would put it down to a lack of concentration as he spent the second half picking his nose so little did he of Waterford who must surely be flattered by their position.
I’d consider play ‘bad’ and winning a good thing, wouldn’t you? It’s by no means a fluke we’re tied top and Sligo and near the bottom and we then beat Sligo. We deservedly beat Pats and Derry prior to the fixture. You talk about how many shots a team has had on target, that is irrelevant if they don’t go in the goal. The only thing matters is the number that go into the net. Nonetheless 9/12 points and only lost to last years league winners certainly no way we could complain, great start to the season.
ger121
10/03/2018, 8:40 AM
Tried to edit and post gets deleted. This site is crap. No wonder its in the toilet.
Blasphemy!!!!
Comfortable win in the end by Dundalk, but should really have won that by more. Good work all over the park and midfield did very well after losing it for a bit to finish strong, including Benson with his dreadful penalty miss.
Tremendous defensive display by Dundalk with Cleary leading the way, he is looking very much like Boyle already, enjoyed that 'didn't sign for rovers as wanted a get out UK clause. Hoare in a somewhat surprise selection beside him looked very smooth.
Cork are a decent side and Sadlier is without doubt their best player, he is excellent to watch but he was restricted to long shots last night. Looking back on chances, Cork had that opportunity from McNamee but that was as close as they got, Dundalk should have won it by more.
I never understood why they made McCormack captain, Bennett or Buckley surely? he is good at what he does, breaking up the play but he is limited, and being taken off after 20 mins or so summed up his night. Dreadful mistake by McNulty, then again, couldn't have happened to a nicer fella.
Solid start by Dundalk now, unbeaten and no goals conceded and still not hitting top form yet.
10/03/2018, 10:00 AM
Is it not slightly - humbling, maybe - that a player last seen not getting his game at a relegation-threatened Conference team can make such an immediate impact in the LoI?
Anyways, not a great game in the Bowl last night. One of Limerick/Bray will still be in the Premier next season on last night's showing I think.
White Horse
10/03/2018, 10:36 AM
Is it not slightly - humbling, maybe - that a player last seen not getting his game at a relegation-threatened Conference team can make such an immediate impact in the LoI?
He destroyed Cork's centre halfs last night, as he did against Limerick. He didn't look all that great when up against Grace, a quality centre half, and I think Bennett would have been a different proposition for him last night.
Like everything else in the league, there are pockets of quality but not consistent quality.
10/03/2018, 10:48 AM
Is Cleary not a defender? How does he destroy another centre-half? Do you mean centre-forwards? Or just that he was noticeably better than the opposition centre-halves?
(Or are we talking about different players altogether?)
White Horse
10/03/2018, 10:51 AM
Is Cleary not a defender? How does he destroy another centre-half? Do you mean centre-forwards? Or just that he was noticeably better than the opposition centre-halves?
(Or are we talking about different players altogether?)
I thought you were talking about Hoban. Perhaps, he is another example of the point you were making.
CorribsideSteve
10/03/2018, 10:54 AM
Watched the Dundalk-Cork game on EirSports. Dundalk were off the pace with their finishing abilities, Duffy in particular, had a few standard enough chances and fluffed them, but all of that will ease out as the season progresses I'd imagine. They could and should have won 5-0. Cork offered nothing bar Macnamee's chance and surely won't play that badly again this year. There was a little bit too much unsavory needle from Dundalk though. Karl Sheppard got fairly roughhoused by Massey at different points and he was lucky not to get booked. As for Chevdukas, how on earth did he stay on the field after that moment of madness near the end? I understand it's passionate against your biggest rivals but there could have been a few red's in that game last night. The only real downside of the evening was the commentator insisting on pronouncing the goalscorer as "whoobun" ...
10/03/2018, 10:54 AM
I thought you were talking about Hoban. Perhaps, he is another example of the point you were making.
Hoban is at least a known from his prior spell at Dundalk, but yeah, I guess you're right that the two could go together alright.
Just when you look at players like that, it doesn't seem to fit with suggestions that LoI players should be in the senior international squad regularly, or that they should be commanding E250k+ transfer fees.
10/03/2018, 11:16 AM
Players have been signed from the Conference or similar levelsand even below and made an impact at EPL sides albeit the exception than the norm, Ian Wright and Vardy off the top of my head. I get your point but factor in confidence, coaching, motivation, luck, etc etc and there are probably a good few more quality players in the lower tiers of football/LoI that given a different set of circumstances could be commanding large weekly wages and getting capped. A different sporting example would be Agassi in tennis dropping to a local tennis circuit to find form and climbed back to win one more slam event. I know he had shown his ability beforehand but if his form collapsed at a different point in his carreer he may never have gotten to the ATP circuit.
Ezeikial
10/03/2018, 11:30 AM
Do you feel personally humbled or is this some sort of collective humbling that you are suggesting?
I think it is a positive reflection on Dan Cleary that he has been so exceptional in his 3 league appearances to date.
Before signing for Dundalk, Karolis Chvedukas was last seen playing in a full international match against England, yet has not been able to command a starting place so far in this Dundalk side.
Neither of this observations on player history either "humble" or boost the league's supporters - however I suspect that both players will prove to be exceptional in the league and in european football this season
White Horse
10/03/2018, 11:39 AM
Watched the Dundalk-Cork game on EirSports. Dundalk were off the pace with their finishing abilities, Duffy in particular, had a few standard enough chances and fluffed them, but all of that will ease out as the season progresses I'd imagine. They could and should have won 5-0. Cork offered nothing bar Macnamee's chance and surely won't play that badly again this year. There was a little bit too much unsavory needle from Dundalk though. Karl Sheppard got fairly roughhoused by Massey at different points and he was lucky not to get booked. As for Chevdukas, how on earth did he stay on the field after that moment of madness near the end? I understand it's passionate against your biggest rivals but there could have been a few red's in that game last night. The only real downside of the evening was the commentator insisting on pronouncing the goalscorer as "whoobun" ...
I also thought Chevdukas should have been red carded, no intention of winning the ball, just swept through the back of the player. I think the referee was disgusted at the unsportmanslike way Cork chose to keep playing when a player was clearly injured.
This should not influence his decision but no one likes this sort of callousness on the pitch. Massey was also lucky not to get booked for persistent fouling.
Dundalk were aggressive, but if you want to beat Cork you have to match their aggression. This is what we didn't have in our performances against them in 2017. We were too nice and tried to played through them.
Last night performance was similar to how we used to play against them in 2014-2016.
As Kenny told the players beforehand, match their aggression and your quality will be the difference.
10/03/2018, 11:41 AM
Do you feel personally humbled or is this some sort of collective humbling that you are suggesting?
Fairly obviously the latter, given the reasons I stated.
I think it is a positive reflection on Dan Cleary that he has been so exceptional in his 3 league appearances to date.
Of course. Best of luck to the guy. And Hoban.
Before signing for Dundalk, Karolis Chvedukas was last seen playing in a full international match against England, yet has not been able to command a starting place so far in this Dundalk side.
Not really relevant to the topic at hand though; international football has a much wider gulf than league football.
Nesta99 is right that players have gone from the Conference and done well - you can add in Finnan and Kinsella there too - but they are very much the exception. I think some on here forget that when saying LoI players should be more represented in the national squad*, or that English clubs should be shelling out far more for LoI players than they currently do. And I think that Cleary (and indeed Hoban) coming in from doing nothing at a low enough level in England to start off so well with Dundalk highlights that.
* - I'm aware that in the Ireland forum, I've suggested Cummins and Hoban deserve consideration for the preliminary squad, but that's largely because our striking options are so limited at present.
sbgawa
10/03/2018, 11:52 AM
I'd add Sean kavanagh into that equation he looks a fantastic talent . Two motm performances two goals and looks like he can play anywhere. We were asking ourselves last night how on earth did this guy not make a career in the UK? I suppose all of them will be judged over the course of a season rather then a few matches.