View Full Version : Fixtures 9th - 12th March

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

10/03/2018, 11:57 AM
I suppose all of them will be judged over the course of a season rather then a few matches.
Very true alright.

10/03/2018, 12:14 PM
Nesta99 is right that players have gone from the Conference and done well - you can add in Finnan and Kinsella there too - but they are very much the exception. I think some on here forget that when saying LoI players should be more represented in the national squad*, or that English clubs should be shelling out far more for LoI players than they currently do. And I think that Cleary (and indeed Hoban) coming in from doing nothing at a low enough level in England to start off so well with Dundalk highlights that.

If we were getting a fraction of some of the deals offered by English clubs for confererence and L2 players we'd be less inclind to feel insulted by offers that are actually made to us. Fees offered are exploitive and dont represent value to anyone bar the buying club. The low offer does not indicate a high level of risk when offers are give by clubs L1 and below. It has little to do with playing standards in our leagues and much more to do with our lack of organisation and support from the FAI, the take hand and all attitude to finances - we are ripe to be bullied in to letting players go cheap.

Ezeikial
10/03/2018, 12:34 PM
Is it not slightly - humbling, maybe - that a player last seen not getting his game at a relegation-threatened Conference team can make such an immediate impact in the LoI?

Anyways, not a great game in the Bowl last night. One of Limerick/Bray will still be in the Premier next season on last night's showing I think.

Fairly obviously the latter, given the reasons I stated.

Of course. Best of luck to the guy. And Hoban.

Not really relevant to the topic at hand though; international football has a much wider gulf than league football.

Nesta99 is right that players have gone from the Conference and done well - you can add in Finnan and Kinsella there too - but they are very much the exception. I think some on here forget that when saying LoI players should be more represented in the national squad*, or that English clubs should be shelling out far more for LoI players than they currently do. And I think that Cleary (and indeed Hoban) coming in from doing nothing at a low enough level in England to start off so well with Dundalk highlights that.

* - I'm aware that in the Ireland forum, I've suggested Cummins and Hoban deserve consideration for the preliminary squad, but that's largely because our striking options are so limited at present.

What unadulterated nonesense

Prior to trying to reignite his career in the League of Ireland, a young inexperienced player goes on loan to a conference team and you suggest that League of Ireland supporters should be humbled (feeling of inferiority?) by the fact that he then plays well in his first few games in LoI!

Your reason for dismissing the Chvedukas / international football comment is equally laughable on the basis of a gulf in standards, when that appears to be the very point that you are trying to highlight in the case of Cleary doing well so far in League of Ireland

PS - I can only laugh at your asterixed attempt to justify your contradictory Cummins / Hoban comments

10/03/2018, 2:05 PM
If we were getting a fraction of some of the deals offered by English clubs for confererence and L2 players we'd be less inclind to feel insulted by offers that are actually made to us. Fees offered are exploitive and dont represent value to anyone bar the buying club. The low offer does not indicate a high level of risk when offers are give by clubs L1 and below. It has little to do with playing standards in our leagues and much more to do with our lack of organisation and support from the FAI, the take hand and all attitude to finances - we are ripe to be bullied in to letting players go cheap.
Not sure I agree with all of this.

Definitely, the clubs and the FAI are an issue. If the FAI generated more money for the league/put more into it, or if the clubs had a modicum of organisation and could get beyond hand-to-mouth existence and one-year contracts, that would help.

OK, Vardy for £1m is exceptional, and he's justified it in a way no LoI player has done since maybe Keane. But what fees are L2/Conference clubs getting? It's hard to see for sure - lots of undisclosed transfers - but this site (https://www.transfermarkt.com/conference-national/transfers/wettbewerb/CNAT/saison_id/2017) suggests that the 24 clubs in the Conference earned about €900k between them this season. Are we really doing that badly by comparison - taking end-of-contract deals into account - given that the lower half of the LoI Premier in particular is probably lower Conference standard at best; maybe lower? Fees do get more serious from League One alright (€7m this year), and certainly that's a target the FAI/LoI should be actively aiming for, but have shown no such inclination to.

But I think ultimately, Cleary, Cummins and Hoban's initial success indicates the overall standard is in the league is still a lot lower than we'd like to acknowledge it is, and that's absolutely reflected in the transfer fees too. The fees reflect, in part, the historically high chance that a player will flop. (All this is no reason not to enjoy the league, of course)

If Ez could get beyond the usual slinging of insults and could make an actual point, I'm sure I'd be happy to debate it.

sbgawa
10/03/2018, 2:12 PM
I tghink there is an element of fresh start as well that helps whether you are coming intok the league or just transferring within the league. Look at Gary McCabe at bray last year.

total hoofball
10/03/2018, 2:32 PM
I'd add Sean kavanagh into that equation he looks a fantastic talent . Two motm performances two goals and looks like he can play anywhere. We were asking ourselves last night how on earth did this guy not make a career in the UK? I suppose all of them will be judged over the course of a season rather then a few matches.
Remember seeing Kavanagh play for Fulham in the Championship a couple of times and on highlights and thought he looked very good at that level. I also thought the same of Shane O'Connor when he was playing for Ipswich in the Championship who is now floating around in the First Division these days

There are examples every season of young Irish players in the UK looking to take one step back (to the LOI) to go two-steps forwards (back to the UK at Premier League/Championship), works out for some like Keith Fahey and Richie Towell and in the majority for others like Shane O'Connor it just doesn't happen for them again once they are back here.

I feel the right LOI team and right time is a huge factor in returning Irish players using the LOI as a launchpad to make it again in the UK, Rovers do look on the up now and if Kavanagh maintains his excellent start he might well be back in the Championship this time next year

10/03/2018, 2:36 PM
Very rusty performance from Harps last night. Understandable really, but it'll take a few games for this side to gel. Credit to Shelbourne for getting back into it, but Harps really should have finished them off a few times and probably should have been 2-0 or 3-0 before Shelbourne scored, from what was an absolute howler from Gallagher.

On another note though, Gallagher made one of the best saves I've ever seen in Finn Park from point blank range.

We're going to give someone a hammering this year.

10/03/2018, 2:37 PM
Well that's taken as read.

Ye might even beat someone 4-0 as well. :)

total hoofball
10/03/2018, 2:39 PM
Everyone in the First Division will be giving Athlone a hammering this year. Think the rest of the 9 teams look solid enough so it will be rarity to see anyone outside of Athlone conceding 5+ goals in any game this season

10/03/2018, 2:48 PM
Well that's taken as read.

Ye might even beat someone 4-0 as well. :)

We'll make sure to reserve our wrestling match for Collie O'Neill and co.

10/03/2018, 2:55 PM
Sounds like an improvement on recent seasons so :)

Olander
10/03/2018, 3:29 PM
Anyways, not a great game in the Bowl last night. One of Limerick/Bray will still be in the Premier next season on last night's showing I think.
It wasn't a bad game to be fair. Both teams tried to play, there was plenty of rustiness and both teams will feel they had chances to win it. I think you're reading a bit too much into the game, we're only two games into the season after all.

We can only improve, we looked very disjointed at times and you could see that UCD were sharper in general and had the better of the play, but I'd expect that with them having the Collingwood, etc. We had a very fractured pre season and it shows big time.

I thought we had the better of the "clear cut" chances and Murphy could've and probably should've scored late on and McCormack drew an impressive save from Kearns after turning Kougoun inside out in the first half. That said, Ryan had to make a few important saves for us too.

We were probably three players off our strongest eleven last night. Robbie Williams (injured), Alex Byrne and Carlton Ubaezuonu will hopefully start against Cabo.

Overall, a draw was probably a fair outcome. I would expect both teams to be challenging for the title come the end of the season. At the very least, both to be in the top 4.

10/03/2018, 3:36 PM
Thought it was scrappy myself, with dodgy defences at times. Far from the worst I've seen; just not great. But no bothers if you have a different view obviously. The Collingwood sounds great, and is, but it does mean a surprisingly fractured pre-season for us too, cos not all the squad are eligible to play.

Was surprised that Ubaezuono was on the bench actually; was he injured?

Agree you'd expect both to be in the top 4 alright.

redarmyfaction
10/03/2018, 3:38 PM
I’d consider play ‘bad’ and winning a good thing, wouldn’t you? It’s by no means a fluke we’re tied top and Sligo and near the bottom and we then beat Sligo. We deservedly beat Pats and Derry prior to the fixture. You talk about how many shots a team has had on target, that is irrelevant if they don’t go in the goal. The only thing matters is the number that go into the net. Nonetheless 9/12 points and only lost to last years league winners certainly no way we could complain, great start to the season.

Games ye played against Derry or Pats are hardly relevant either and my comment about two of three ain't bad was a compliment, but seeing you are so ungracious in victory, let me say, the day will not be long before your club will be back playing in front of 156 people at a corporation running track or a bord na cgon whippet facility.
You see success in the LOI is not just about winning trophy's it's also about getting the people out game after game season after season and never, ever ever having to supporting 2.0 versions of clubs at a venue obtained via the largesse of the state or the FAI in any of their incarnations.

Olander
10/03/2018, 3:47 PM
Thought it was scrappy myself, with dodgy defences at times. Far from the worst I've seen; just not great. But no bothers if you have a different view obviously. The Collingwood sounds great, and is, but it does mean a surprisingly fractured pre-season for us too, cos not all the squad are eligible to play.

Was surprised that Ubaezuono was on the bench actually; was he injured?

Agree you'd expect both to be in the top 4 alright.
Carlton was carrying an injury over the last few weeks of pre season which ruled him out of starting against Athlone and understandably, players kept their places in the team after a decent win. He has definitely played his way into the team now though I think.

Robbie Williams was injured, he's a very important player for us. An under-19 graduate started instead of him. In fairness, he didn't do too badly in his place but I wouldn't want to be making a habit out of that.

Alex Byrne not starting was a strange decision, we lacked shape and bite in the centre of the park and UCD cut through us a few times with ease, Conor Barry is not a central midfielder...

oriel
10/03/2018, 5:40 PM
Watched the Dundalk-Cork game on EirSports....... The only real downside of the evening was the commentator insisting on pronouncing the goalscorer as "whoobun" ...

When he was with Dundalk the first time, 2013-2014, he mentioned this, it's the local way of pronouncing his name in Galway, with an extra O.

CorribsideSteve
10/03/2018, 6:37 PM
When he was with Dundalk the first time, 2013-2014, he mentioned this, it's the local way of pronouncing his name in Galway, with an extra O.

Fair enough, it just sounds off somehow, something not quite right with how it's pronounced like that.

sulywaterfordfc
11/03/2018, 1:22 AM
Games ye played against Derry or Pats are hardly relevant either and my comment about two of three ain't bad was a compliment, but seeing you are so ungracious in victory, let me say, the day will not be long before your club will be back playing in front of 156 people at a corporation running track or a bord na cgon whippet facility.
You see success in the LOI is not just about winning trophy's it's also about getting the people out game after game season after season and never, ever ever having to supporting 2.0 versions of clubs at a venue obtained via the largesse of the state or the FAI in any of their incarnations.

Aren’t majority of the clubs in the leagues renting their ground? What relevance do the Venus have. I’m not ungracious in defeat, I was just pointing out. If we can play bad and win that’s a good sign. Why the sense of bitterness from you? Nasty reply imo

I think it’s Rich coming from a Sligo fan having a dig at our dire financial state in recent years, you were in the same position as us not long ago. Completely taken my comment up wrong. I’d consider these type of results the important ones. Regardless of anything else. League of Ireland football would of ended in Waterford in 2016 if it wasn’t for Lee Power so I’ll be as obnoxious as I want because during the run into the end of 2016 I expected to not see a game anything soon. I do always find a high level of bitterness among the Sligo support since the win the league in 2012 (?) online

Ezeikial
11/03/2018, 8:57 AM
* - I'm aware that in the Ireland forum, I've suggested Cummins and Hoban deserve consideration for the preliminary squad, but that's largely because our striking options are so limited at present.

As an aside, it seems I've been forced again to review my opinion of Cummins. I thought he was muck in the Presidents Cup, despite a tidy finish for the 4 th goal. He then goes and scores 4 in barely 120 minutes of league action - stimulating some drama queens to screech for his international consideration .

On his return to Oriel for a real match, a league humbling, former conference loanee puts him in his pocket.

Is Cummins limited or Cleary exceptional?

If Dan Cleary continues this form he might even be able to raise the flagging and demoralised spirits of the whole league community,

11/03/2018, 9:08 AM
Aren’t majority of the clubs in the leagues renting their ground?

Would say seven of the clubs own their grounds at least?

Harps, Sligo, Athlone, Longford, UCD, Cobh and Pat's be the only ones who own their grounds?

sulywaterfordfc
11/03/2018, 10:16 AM
Would say seven of the clubs own their grounds at least?

Harps, Sligo, Athlone, Longford, UCD, Cobh and Pat's be the only ones who own their grounds?

My thought was;

Blues, Bohs, Bray, Derry, Rovers, Shels are council owned.

Dundalk, Cork, Galway, Limerick, Cabinteely, Athlone (?) renting privately.

FAI owned, Drogheda, Wexford, Cobh (?)

Club owned, Harps, Sligo, Pats, Longford, UCD.

Obviously open for correction I had a few beers last night 😂

I was thinking 5 were club own. I had thought Cobh for some reason was FAI owned like United park for some reason and to be honest I couldn’t even tell you why. Athlone do they actually own there ground - Isn’t there a court currently in place, Athlone claim they received a gift to pay off the ground and the stadium group claim Athlone stopped paying rent and owe them a substantial amount as they own the ground?

Regardless still the majority to be fair. Without the council you’d wonder what Blues, Rovers, Derry, Bray would be doing. Bray they’d be dumped in a field in the middle of nowhere if it wasn’t for the council owning the ground I suspect. I’d be shocked if the other three have better grounds then what they have - Especially us and Rovers, think both have fantastic facilities, only down side to the RSC the distance from the pitch. By 3020 Bohs and Shels might have a state of the art stadium. Financially I assume it’ll help Bohs to clearing so of the debt (?)

Open for correction, Nigel you seem like you know your stuff, so I sure you might have more insight then myself. Let’s be honest I’m a spoof - and I’m being serious too 😂🙈

11/03/2018, 10:27 AM
My thought was;

Blues, Bohs, Bray, Derry, Rovers, Shels are council owned.

Dundalk, Cork, Galway, Limerick, Cabinteely, Athlone (?) renting privately.

FAI owned, Drogheda, Wexford, Cobh (?)

Club owned, Harps, Sligo, Pats, Longford, UCD.

Obviously open for correction I had a few beers last night 😂

I was thinking 5 were club own. I had thought Cobh for some reason was FAI owned like United park for some reason and to be honest I couldn’t even tell you why. Athlone do they actually own there ground - Isn’t there a court currently in place, Athlone claim they received a gift to pay off the ground and the stadium group claim Athlone stopped paying rent and owe them a substantial amount as they own the ground?

Regardless still the majority to be fair. Without the council you’d wonder what Blues, Rovers, Derry, Bray would be doing. Bray they’d be dumped in a field in the middle of nowhere if it wasn’t for the council owning the ground I suspect. I’d be shocked if the other three have better grounds then what they have - Especially us and Rovers, think both have fantastic facilities, only down side to the RSC the distance from the pitch. By 3020 Bohs and Shels might have a state of the art stadium. Financially I assume it’ll help Bohs to clearing so of the debt (?)

Open for correction, Nigel you seem like you know your stuff, so I sure you might have more insight then myself. Let’s be honest I’m a spoof - and I’m being serious too 😂🙈

Yep Cobh is fai owned, they sold it when the hit financial issues to keep afloat. They only have so many years to buy it back at a cut price or the fai keep it and won’t sell it for less than it’s worth

11/03/2018, 11:43 AM
UCD the college own the Bowl, not the club. Remember it's been the home of the rugby team for 80+ years. The football team are only there 10 years.

11/03/2018, 11:45 AM
By 3020 Bohs and Shels might have a state of the art stadium.
Sounds about right the way it's been dragging already.

ForzaForth
11/03/2018, 12:08 PM
Ferrycarrig Park is jointly owned by the FAI and Wexford Football League.

11/03/2018, 12:47 PM
Dundalk have released a statement about the glass and bottle throwing. Good to see them acknowledge it and work to change it. Once too often for city fans I'd imagine though, I'd say most won't be returning anytime soon, understandably.

I was definitely impressed by Cleary and obviously Dundalks defensive record so far speaks for itself. But none of our players asked any questions of them really, all over the park. I haven't seen that for a long term. Dundalk were well fired up, as expected, and it just seemed like the game bypassed our lads. A good response tomorrow night, and I wouldn't really be concerned,these things happen. But tomorrow night is huge.

White Horse
11/03/2018, 1:34 PM
I'm glad the club have released a statement. Too often, these incidents are glossed over, as Clubs don't want to give credence to them having occured. That is a short sighted approach that gives yobs the impression that they can act as they like.

While a statement is positive, I want to see action taken. The people involved have no place in Oriel Park.

I can understand Cork fans being reluctant to return, but if the right steps are taken, I hope that they will in time see Oriel Park as a safe, if uncomfortable, place to see a game.

11/03/2018, 2:20 PM
Hopefully. But the last time I was in oriel we had golf balls and stuff thrown at us. This time others had this experience. I wouldn't be rushing back. The statement is a good thing but the lack of security was a primary issue and the club don't actually seem to have taken any responsibility for letting it happen. That's disappointing and I hope that's addressed as well as trying point ban the scumbags involved

11/03/2018, 3:18 PM
Drogheda 4-0 up on Athlone after an hour in what's their first game of the season.

Hard to tell if Drogheda are any good or if Athlone are just really crap.

Edit - sorry, it's now 5-0 up after an hour.

bluemovie
11/03/2018, 3:55 PM
Over the moon with Waterford's start. If we got 7 points from the opening four games, I'd have been delighted so 9 is incredible. A draw would've been a fair result on Friday, but we had the ability to see out a lot of second half pressure and nick the win. Delighted with that. A good few knocks after a tough game so there are doubts over Hery, Holohan, Keegan, Aborah, Akinade, O'Halloran for tomorrow. I'm feeling confident that we'll avoid a relegation battle and finish somewhere between fourth and seventh.

Fair play to the Sligo stewards and cops. They provided an away section for us this time, were sound out and acted quickly when a Sligo fans ran to the away section and threw a flare right at kids' faces just after the final whistle. The head cop said they were going to treat it as "assault with a firearm" in which case, he's in major trouble. Thanks to the Sligo fans who helped catch him and bring him to the guards - they're a truer reflection of their fans. Nobody hurt luckily enough.

SeanDrog
11/03/2018, 4:27 PM
Drogheda 4-0 up on Athlone after an hour in what's their first game of the season.

Hard to tell if Drogheda are any good or if Athlone are just really crap.

Edit - sorry, it's now 5-0 up after an hour.

I was at the game (6-0), could have been 10-0 but I couldn’t judge our level as tbh Athlone were dire. We beat them but I need to see us against better opposition before I can judge properly.

11/03/2018, 8:36 PM
Over the moon with Waterford's start. If we got 7 points from the opening four games, I'd have been delighted so 9 is incredible. A draw would've been a fair result on Friday, but we had the ability to see out a lot of second half pressure and nick the win. Delighted with that. A good few knocks after a tough game so there are doubts over Hery, Holohan, Keegan, Aborah, Akinade, O'Halloran for tomorrow. I'm feeling confident that we'll avoid a relegation battle and finish somewhere between fourth and seventh.

Fair play to the Sligo stewards and cops. They provided an away section for us this time, were sound out and acted quickly when a Sligo fans ran to the away section and threw a flare right at kids' faces just after the final whistle. The head cop said they were going to treat it as "assault with a firearm" in which case, he's in major trouble. Thanks to the Sligo fans who helped catch him and bring him to the guards - they're a truer reflection of their fans. Nobody hurt luckily enough.

Sligo have had a schooligan problem for a few years now. The club have been made more than aware of it on social media, everyone in the town knows who they are and I’m just shocked they haven’t had their heads kicked in yet. This is the sort of crap that happens when clubs don’t take action against repeated trouble makers

patrickccfc
12/03/2018, 10:27 AM
Big game down here tonight. Rovers coming down off the back of a brilliant result on Friday and us needing to shake off that poor performance and defeat against Dundalk. Big performance needed tonight, even at this early stage it's important not to lose 2 games in a row.

sbgawa
12/03/2018, 11:07 AM
Another game that feels bigger than 3 points tonight, i'll have to remind myself about that after the match win lose or draw.
This might sound a bit silly but even though we won 6-0 against Bray and 6-1 against Derry both games were nip and tuck until half time, I'm hopeful rather than confident about tonight, I'd take a point and the hope that comes with it :)

PartySaint
12/03/2018, 11:08 AM
Two pretty poor teams in Dalymount on Friday night, neither will be pushing for Europe come the end of the season but both good enough to avoid relegation.

Ezeikial
12/03/2018, 11:14 AM
Poor JC whinging again about how Dundalk "targetted" Conor McCormack and that he had to be taken off after 21 minutes as a result.

Its not clear if that was Dundalk players feigning being fouled that led to this or whether it was the Dundalk crowd being unpleasant to him, or whether the ref remembered his red card history. It's obviously nothing to do with Conor McCormack's multiple fouling or losing the head with all around him, including his own team mates

McCormack was replaced after just 21 minutes in the 1-0 defeat to the Lilywhites at Oriel Park, and Caulfield admits he feared the Louth man would be sent off.

“Conor is a phenomenal player, he loves it here, and we love him. The problem you have is he was targeted,” the Cork City boss said yesterday. “In his history, he was sent off three times previously against Dundalk with other clubs, so it’s one of those situations where he’s on his last warning with 70 or 80 minutes of the match to play.

“It’s a very hard decision to make. you don’t want to do it but you are aware the next tackle he’s going to go because it was that kind of hostile atmosphere. It was difficult but there’s no issue with Conor.
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/john-caulfield-trusts-targeted-skipper-conor-mccormack-468194.html

I hope that none of the nasty Rovers folk upset him tonight, taking advantage of his delicate state

I think I might send Conor a bunch of flowers and a nice snowflake card to cheer him up

White Horse
12/03/2018, 11:15 AM
Another game that feels bigger than 3 points tonight, i'll have to remind myself about that after the match win lose or draw.
This might sound a bit silly but even though we won 6-0 against Bray and 6-1 against Derry both games were nip and tuck until half time, I'm hopeful rather than confident about tonight, I'd take a point and the hope that comes with it :)

Fascinating tie in Turners Cross tonight.

A lot depends on whether Bennett plays. Cork desperately need him. Cork are dangerous through Sadlier and Sheppard. Sadlier will be a big test for Boyle, but I would expect Clarke to be able to deal with Sheppard.

Cork's back four will struggle to contain Burke, Miele, Finn, and Kavanagh.

sbgawa
12/03/2018, 11:47 AM
I'd say Boyle will be out he looked pretty hobbled when he came off Friday, so Joey O Brien might make his debut tonight.
Bolger is still down as doubtful but i don't see Bradser rushing him back in. He didn't play Finn against Dundalk or Bray rather than risk him being out for longer.

Ezeikial
12/03/2018, 11:59 AM
Fascinating tie in Turners Cross tonight.

A lot depends on whether Bennett plays. Cork desperately need him. Cork are dangerous through Sadlier and Sheppard. Sadlier will be a big test for Boyle, but I would expect Clarke to be able to deal with Sheppard.

Cork's back four will struggle to contain Burke, Miele, Finn, and Kavanagh.

Absolutely fascinating

Cork's defeat at Oriel is bad news for Rovers as they are likely to be really fired up.

Cork are very powerful in midfield and incisive in the wide positions; Rovers could struggle to contain them on the flanks. Boyle appears to be doubtful, but if he plays he will need a lot of help to deal with Sadlier.

Bennett playing is almost essential for Cork - otherwise Shaw should dominate Aaron Barry and Conor McCarthy. Centre back and centre forward are areas of weakness in this Cork team from what I have seen of them

Midfield is likely to be no place for the faint-hearted tonight. Bradley says Rovers are disciplined this season (despite the 2 red cards in pre-season) - I doubt it and will not be surprised if there is a red card or two!

I don't agree with the narrative that Cork played badly on Friday - I think that did as well as what they were allowed. If Rovers have the right tactics and attitude they could get something from this game

Ezeikial
12/03/2018, 12:04 PM
Memo to travelling Rovers fans - please be respectful and quiet when Snowflake is on the ball

mcgonigle
12/03/2018, 12:05 PM
Poor JC whinging again about how Dundalk "targetted" Conor McCormack and that he had to be taken off after 21 minutes as a result.

Its not clear if that was Dundalk players feigning being fouled that led to this or whether it was the Dundalk crowd being unpleasant to him, or whether the ref remembered his red card history. It's obviously nothing to do with Conor McCormack's multiple fouling or losing the head with all around him, including his own team mates

I hope that none of the nasty Rovers folk upset him tonight, taking advantage of his delicate state

I think I might send Conor a bunch of flowers and a nice snowflake card to cheer him up

You got there before me. Hilarious stuff from Caulfield. Poor shy, intimidated Conor forced into multiple fouls by the Dundalk bullies! At one stage he looked like he was going to deck Beattie. He had lost the plot completely.

sbgawa
12/03/2018, 12:14 PM
The Pats match will be interesting as well , hard to know how good Pats are , their results are a bit all over the place.
Dundalk should have to much for them all over the Park but they will be up for it as a result tonight will give them a great start to the season.

sbgawa
12/03/2018, 2:05 PM
Rather Hilariously I see JC quoted as calling for a "passionate and hostile" atmosphere tonight in a "massive game".
I hope none of our lads are upset :)

Crosshead
12/03/2018, 2:37 PM
Memo to travelling Rovers fans - please be respectful and quiet when Snowflake is on the ball

The only memo anyone from Dundalk should be issuing to travelling fans is a health warning about the away end in Oriel.

12/03/2018, 2:47 PM
The Pats match will be interesting as well , hard to know how good Pats are , their results are a bit all over the place.
Dundalk should have to much for them all over the Park but they will be up for it as a result tonight will give them a great start to the season.

I'm not that hopeful really. Dandork (copyright Ger Canning) are obviously better than us on paper, but we gave Cork a decent game, so who knows. As you say, our results are a bit up and down so far. Still we appear to be better than last year, so at least there is progress. I like Garvan in the middle, and Clarke up front looks decent too. Conan Byrne is still a class act too.

Ezeikial
12/03/2018, 2:54 PM
The only memo anyone from Dundalk should be issuing to travelling fans is a health warning about the away end in Oriel.

As we speak the letters are being prepared for the visiting Waterford fans on Friday.

In the meantime, it is reasonable to express concern for the well-being of your captain - if he was not already traumatised by events last Friday, his managers comments must be causing him all sorts of anxiety.

I see from the Examiner article that to help him recover JC has given him a guarantee that he will play every match this season

He’ll be in the team tomorrow and every week from now on. Hopefully tomorrow we will see a totally different performance.”

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/john-caulfield-trusts-targeted-skipper-conor-mccormack-468194.html

Crosshead
12/03/2018, 3:21 PM
As we speak the letters are being prepared for the visiting Waterford fans on Friday.

In the meantime, it is reasonable to express concern for the well-being of your captain - if he was not already traumatised by events last Friday, his managers comments must be causing him all sorts of anxiety.

I see from the Examiner article that to help him recover JC has given him a guarantee that he will play every match this season

Nowhere in that Examiner piece does it suggest JC says McCormack was targetted by fans, and he clearly means being targetted by players looking to draw another yellow out of him.

But I suppose if my club's sorry excuse for a ground was the scene of embarrassment due to either the facilities or some of the attendees, I might look for a handy deflection too.

jinxy lilywhite
12/03/2018, 3:35 PM
Nowhere in that Examiner piece does it suggest JC says McCormack was targetted by fans, and he clearly means being targetted by players looking to draw another yellow out of him.

But I suppose if my club's sorry excuse for a ground was the scene of embarrassment due to either the facilities or some of the attendees, I might look for a handy deflection too.

To be fair no dundalk fan is deflecting attention from what happened post game. Everyone I have spoken to have been disgusted by one or two people's actions and we hope the perpetrators are caught and dealt with. If this happened on the steet people would be calling for them to be locked up.

El-Pietro
12/03/2018, 3:53 PM
There is at least one Dundalk poster who is consistently deflecting on this issue, both here and on OW.
On the other hand I don't think I've seen any city fans deflecting from the poor performance, nor do I see JC giving excuses. He is usually quite magnanimous in defeat.
Some people saying that he was unhappy with the hostile atmosphere but then hypocritically calling for the same tonight at TX. I don't think hes being hypocritical, I think he is saying that the occasion/atmosphere unsettled/unfocused McCormack and that contributed to a poor performance from us. I don't think he was saying that the Dundalk fans should be quiet.

PartySaint
12/03/2018, 4:00 PM
I'm not that hopeful really. Dandork (copyright Ger Canning) are obviously better than us on paper, but we gave Cork a decent game, so who knows. As you say, our results are a bit up and down so far. Still we appear to be better than last year, so at least there is progress. I like Garvan in the middle, and Clarke up front looks decent too. Conan Byrne is still a class act too.

We just need Dundalk to get a few lads sent off.

I reckon they're going to give us a hammering tonight