View Full Version : Pre-Season Fixtures

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

10/02/2018, 11:12 AM
You've you get past us first!

(Who are Sure Sport?)

10/02/2018, 11:24 AM
Some American club from Maryland. We played them during the week and won 4-0. I think Wexford played them too.

10/02/2018, 12:28 PM
I was at our game against them on Tuesday. They came out for their warm up 15 min before kick off in tracksuit bottoms and their keeper was wearing our kit and played in tracksuit bottoms. They looked like a bunch of lads out for a game of Astro. We played crap and won 4-0 I actually said to the lads with me if pats played a full team they’d win 11-0, I wasn’t far off. Whoever invited these over needs to shake their heads total waste of time playing games like that.

monkey9
10/02/2018, 1:11 PM
Sure Sports were so comically bad, it started to get a bit awkward towards the end just watching it. They're no team at all. They really wouldn't be any better than you're average hungover Sunday League side. They looked like a group of mates who won a competition to play Pat's at Richmond in the final pre-season game.

Eminence Grise
10/02/2018, 2:17 PM
(Who are Sure Sport?)

No idea, but, unusually, they may let you down.

10/02/2018, 2:37 PM
Finn Harps 1-1 Derry City FT

Michael O'Connor scored in the last minute for Harps to cancel out Ronan Hales goal for Derry.

10/02/2018, 3:08 PM
(Who are Sure Sport?)

Exactly ! Seriously though, I don't think I've seen a weaker team at Richmond. It was so easy. Nothing learned from it in terms of the coming season, but on the other hand a nice run out with a few goals can't do any harm I suppose.

10/02/2018, 4:01 PM
Longford 0-1 Redacted

Dennehy with the goal.

10/02/2018, 4:47 PM
Longford 0-1 Redacted

Dennehy with the goal.

:D:D..............

sbgawa
10/02/2018, 5:06 PM
rovers 1 Brentford reserves 2
Good game, rovers were the better team for the first half , made 11 changes and let in two late goals,
good work out, roll on bohs

bluemovie
10/02/2018, 5:29 PM
Waterford 2 Shelbourne 2

Ezeikial
10/02/2018, 6:03 PM
Honestly, I wasn't even talking to these Brentford lads

https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/752785659782373376/ZInsQ2LH_bigger.jpgBeesotted Brentford‏ @Beesotted (https://twitter.com/Beesotted)

They’ll be dancing on the streets of Dundalk tonight as #BrentfordFC (https://twitter.com/hashtag/BrentfordFC?src=hash) B team kept their word and beat @ShamrockRovers (https://twitter.com/ShamrockRovers) today in Dublin by 2-1. Goals from Theo Archibald & Jarvis Edobor

https://twitter.com/Beesotted/status/962397030583808001

sbgawa
10/02/2018, 6:11 PM
:) :) :)

13/02/2018, 8:56 PM
Town having a testing workout against Ashbourne United. Currently 10-0 up. I had to look hard to find out what league they’re in (LSL Div 3A). Nothing to be gained except fitness.

Athlone only beat them 2-0 last week though.

Edit 11-0 now sorry. Closing in on Pats’ score against the Americans.

13/02/2018, 9:02 PM
Ah here. I thought we weren't going to get matched at all, and now it's two of ye at it...

13/02/2018, 9:28 PM
We took the foot off the gas at 11. Leaves them with a little bit of self respect still.

13/02/2018, 9:35 PM
12 or nothing here Longfordian; sorry.

13/02/2018, 9:39 PM
We were playing adults (some anyway, probably). Not a fecking primary school.

13/02/2018, 9:59 PM
Inishowen League 0-1 Finn Harps tonight.

Just the one goal is enough for us thank you very much.

Fester
14/02/2018, 9:03 PM
Cobh Ramblers 7-1 Ringmahon Rangers FT.

17/02/2018, 4:28 PM
Finn Harps beat Manulla FC 6-2 today in Manulla.

John O'Flynn x3, Michael O'Connor x2 and Jesse Devers with the goals.

17/02/2018, 8:31 PM
Newbridge Town 1 LTFC 2.

18/02/2018, 7:22 PM
Newbridge Town 1 LTFC 2.

was Sean Prunty involved? I know Cody Mulhall played for Newbridge...

18/02/2018, 8:51 PM
No idea if he was there or is involved with them, I wasn’t there, but I don’t think he ever did actually come back as a player.

12/06/2018, 9:44 AM
Derry have lined up a couple of IL pre-season friendlies.
Home to Cliftonville on 22nd June, and home (or away, take your pick) to Institute on 28th July.

22nd is the 'break' weekend, so presumably we'll rest our main squad.

Johnnie C
12/06/2018, 12:01 PM
Cobh Ramblers v Aberdeen on Saturday June 30 at 2pm.

oldfan
13/06/2018, 6:03 PM
Shams v Celtic 6th (I think) July
St Pats v Newcastle 17th July

23/06/2018, 7:29 AM
The Derry-Cliftonville match has been moved to 2nd July at Solitude.
Coleraine-Derry is down for 7th July.

23/06/2018, 8:35 AM
LTFC playing Oxford United on 10 July. I think they’re playing UCD the following night.

07/07/2018, 4:50 PM
Finished Shamrock Rovers 0-7 Celtic this afternoon. They're improving at least.

UCD v Oxford now at 5pm on Wednesday to allow the Oxford players and staff watch the England semi-final later at 7pm.

Ezeikial
07/07/2018, 5:04 PM
Finished Shamrock Rovers 0-7 Celtic this afternoon. They're improving at least.

How did Mannus play?

Is he likely to start ahead of Buzunu next week?

10/07/2018, 1:00 AM
How did Mannus play?

Is he likely to start ahead of Buzunu next week?
Mannus let a couple in I'd have expected him to save, to be honest. Bazunu will play against AIK, which he has earned on merit. Mannus will have to fight for his place, which is only right, and I'm sure Alan knows the same having watched Gavin the past couple of weeks.

sbgawa
10/07/2018, 7:28 AM
That's a bit harsh Charlie , I didn't think he had a bad game made a couple of outstanding saves as well.
I think he will start against AIK . Bazunu has been excellent but at 16 to be playing a European game against strong opposition?,
I think he needs protecting a bit. a kid his age shouldn't be under that sort of pressure, hes only 16 in 5th year in school

10/07/2018, 7:46 AM
Did no harm to Dylan Watts a couple of years ago.

Though keeper is a somewhat unique position obviously.

10/07/2018, 8:37 AM
Did no harm to Dylan Watts a couple of years ago.

Though keeper is a somewhat unique position obviously.

He dropped 2 high balls at the Cross and looked under pressure in the air. Id be surprised if he started given how vital commanding your area is in Europe. He's a great shot stopper though and I'm sure the rest will come with experience.

sbgawa
10/07/2018, 8:48 AM
I was behind the goal and one of the crosses he dropped was as a result of a shove by the cork forward which the ref didn't see (terrible ref).
He did drop one simple one though but to be fair to him I don't remember him dropping one in any of the other matches , he is very commanding of his box in general .
Notwithstanding that id rather have Manus in goal , I just think its too much to expect from a 16 year old.

Ezeikial
10/07/2018, 9:10 AM
If Bazunu played and did well against AIK his transfer value would rocket.

Hardly an issue that Rovers would consider

sbgawa
10/07/2018, 1:29 PM
Scouts have been watching him for a long time over lots of matches , 1 good or bad performance won't change much.
I still think he is to young to put under that kind of pressure but then I would probably have played Manus in Cork ............

Ezeikial
10/07/2018, 1:39 PM
Scouts have been watching him for a long time over lots of matches , 1 good or bad performance won't change much.
I still think he is to young to put under that kind of pressure but then I would probably have played Manus in Cork ............

Are you seriously suggesting that a fine performance by Bazunu in the more pressurised atmosphere of the Europa League against quality opposition like AIK would not further impress watching scouts?

If Rovers want to add some zeros to his transfer value, clean sheets against such 'heavy hitters' as Bray and Limerick are not where it is at.

sbgawa
10/07/2018, 2:00 PM
Yes I am ....sort of....scouts don't sign players on the basis of one match as even average players have the odd day when they look good and fantastic players don't look good every day.
It would be a help but that's all. Equally if he plays and does badly it won't kill the interest in him. its a double edged sword.

11/07/2018, 6:31 AM
Mannus let a couple in I'd have expected him to save, to be honest. Bazunu will play against AIK, which he has earned on merit. Mannus will have to fight for his place, which is only right, and I'm sure Alan knows the same having watched Gavin the past couple of weeks.

Went to see St.Johnstone play a few times last season as my missus is in college over there. Mannus didn’t look great in any of the games tbh

RathfarnhamHoop
11/07/2018, 8:47 AM
Went to see St.Johnstone play a few times last season as my missus is in college over there. Mannus didn’t look great in any of the games tbh

https://www.modernfitba.com/blogs/2018/5/31/season-review-goalkeepers

Statistically the best keeper in Scotland last year.

RathfarnhamHoop
17/07/2018, 7:29 PM
St pats friendly is live on YouTube
https://youtu.be/YhSM9iQDA4Y