View Full Version : LOI PD fixtures series 33 - Friday 27th October

Pages : 1 [2] 3

28/10/2017, 6:35 PM
Average attendances next year will show whether it's a success or not

Success isn't shown in attendance figures.

El-Pietro
28/10/2017, 6:37 PM
If that was his intention it was a bad joke and I don't think it was clear. Plenty of people didn't think so including some Cork fans. Fact that he was sober makes it a worse joke.

Anyway the 5th can't come quick enough!
Went down very well among those there! You need to lighten up a little

White Horse
28/10/2017, 6:40 PM
Went down very well among those there! You need to lighten up a little

I wouldn't boast about that.

Asterix
28/10/2017, 6:44 PM
Dundalk fans love a moan, nothing wrong with what he did.

placid casual
28/10/2017, 6:53 PM
As if anyone connected to dundalk are arbiters of taste!

MattB11
28/10/2017, 6:54 PM
What did he do?

mcgonigle
28/10/2017, 7:04 PM
Dundalk fans love a moan, nothing wrong with what he did.

You're right, you wouldn't see Rovers fans getting upset about about something like that...... 🙄

ToberonaTornado
28/10/2017, 7:05 PM
Anyone got a link for Foot.ie? I seem to have stumbled in to the LOI banter Facebook page:D

dundalkfc10
28/10/2017, 7:05 PM
What did he do?

Grabbed the mic when on stage and sang “**** the lillywhites” for a bit!

Our players don’t need motivation for next week but McNulty will certainly have made them that bit hungier.

Obvs a very classless individual.

mcgonigle
28/10/2017, 7:08 PM
What did he do?

At last nights celebrations he was asked to say a few words and repeated his "f*ck the Lilywhites" chant, was only a joke though apparently. I'd be embarrassed if it was one of our lads and I'm sure Kenny wouldn't be too impressed but that's just me

28/10/2017, 7:21 PM
I heard a rumour that next year it's 4 up and 1 down

I heard that too, after the mid season split into 2 groups of 5, the bottom 2 from each group go down. Genius!

sidewayspasser
28/10/2017, 7:23 PM
A 13 team Premier?
That would at least be something that hasn't been tried before (if I'm not mistaken).

El-Pietro
28/10/2017, 7:32 PM
What did he do?

He was asked if he wanted to give another speech after last year, he tried to wave away the microphone, and then broke out into an awful rendition of "F*** the lilywhites", and finished it up with they're f***ing ****. Incredibly insulting stuff, I'm sure. We should lock him up.

El-Pietro
28/10/2017, 7:33 PM
Grabbed the mic when on stage and sang “**** the lillywhites” for a bit!

Our players don’t need motivation for next week but McNulty will certainly have made them that bit hungier.

He did not grab the mic. He was trying to hide away from the interviewer! Love how upset hes got ye all! I'm sure your players think its hilarious too.

El-Pietro
28/10/2017, 7:34 PM
It lasted all of about 15 seconds by the way!

sbgawa
28/10/2017, 8:00 PM
I heard that too, after the mid season split into 2 groups of 5, the bottom 2 from each group go down. Genius!

I also heard they there is a joker card. All the non relegated teams get their names put in a hat and in front of a sell out crowd in the Aviva one name gets pulled out and they get relegated as well.

mcgonigle
28/10/2017, 9:22 PM
He did not grab the mic. He was trying to hide away from the interviewer! Love how upset hes got ye all! I'm sure your players think its hilarious too.

Honest question what do you think of it, bit embarrassing or funny and glad he did it? It wouldn't have been that hard to resist, didn't take much persuasion. I think it probably was a joke but was a brain fart.

Each to their own but I'd be embarrassed and unimpressed if it was one of ours. Anyway roll on the 5th, hopefully he'll have no reason to be making speeches or phone calls

28/10/2017, 9:27 PM
by the way i know people are saying that shane keegan is unfortunate that he has brought down two teams two years in a row but the question I would like to ask is that he had departed Wexford last season before the season ended to Galway?

El-Pietro
28/10/2017, 9:41 PM
Honest question what do you think of it, bit embarrassing or funny and glad he did it? It wouldn't have been that hard to resist, didn't take much persuasion. I think it probably was a joke but was a brain fart.

Each to their own but I'd be embarrassed and unimpressed if it was one of ours. Anyway roll on the 5th, hopefully he'll have no reason to be making speeches or phone calls
Thought it was great craic, and a good callback to last year. It was a couple of sentences, and the only mention of Dundalk all night. Mark is a legend among City fans. Hes been at City his whole career, was a sub in 2005, was one of the first players to sign for us in 2010 in the first division on reduced money and has proven himself to be one of the best keepers in the league over the past few seasons. He might not be our best ever keeper, but in a team of cult players hed be first choice in goal. I'm sure the Dundalk players won't give it a second thought and if they need to use this as motivation for the Cup final then something is wrong. We've beaten your lot to the last two major trophies, I'm sure thats motivation enough. Bring on the double!

Ezeikial
28/10/2017, 11:19 PM
You shouldn't worry so much about what he thinks about you!

To be fair El Pietro, the concern is more about whether he actual has a capacity to think at all.

Thought it was great craic, and a good callback to last year.

Each to their own I suppose - many Cork fans are understandably embarrassed by his lack of a class. I couldn't care much either way, although I think it points up a growing insecurity in Cork

Link to his performance
https://www.facebook.com/SoHoBarCork/posts/10155498500748580

El-Pietro
28/10/2017, 11:24 PM
Many Cork fans? About two or three have expressed a negative opinion of it. The vast majority there were laughing and joining in with him. Look forward to his next speech on Sunday night when we complete the Double. Ye can focus on him all ye want then!

Nah Nah Nah Nah
28/10/2017, 11:35 PM
by the way i know people are saying that shane keegan is unfortunate that he has brought down two teams two years in a row but the question I would like to ask is that he had departed Wexford last season before the season ended to Galway?

I think you’re asking about when he joined Galway. Technically it was announced after Wexford lost the playoff but the world and its mother knew he was gone now heading into the second leg.

29/10/2017, 7:06 AM
Link to his performance
https://www.facebook.com/SoHoBarCork/posts/10155498500748580
Great that we have the internet where everyone can get offended at the least thing.

High philosophy? No.

Bit of craic given the circumstances? Yes.

An indicator of growing insecurity in Cork and all the other crap Dundalk fans are labelling it? Would ye ever get a grip.

Ezeikial
29/10/2017, 8:49 AM
Great that we have the internet where everyone can get offended at the least thing.

High philosophy? No.

Bit of craic given the circumstances? Yes.

Are you offended? No?

Me neither

An indicator of growing insecurity in Cork and all the other crap Dundalk fans are labelling it? Would ye ever get a grip.

Labelling a range of diverse comments as "crap" says a fair bit more about you then the collection of posters that you refer to.

I am doubtful if you have a willingness to understand my comment about growing insecurity in Cork, but given the fact that Cork City have displayed relegation form over the last third of the season it is hardly difficult to understand why there might be some doubts in the minds of both players and supporters going into the cup final.

McNulty's drink-fuelled rant last year clearly illustrated his fixation with how Cork were trying to emerge from the shadow of constantly finishing runners-up to Dundalk in the previous cup final and 3 previous leagues, along with operating in their shadow when it came to European achievements. The way that he chose then to focus on Dundalk rather than on his own teams achievement in winning the cup was cringe inducing. His recent bar performances indicates that he is still absorbed with this.

When they went on the incredible unbeaten run over 22 league games, the talk was all about setting new records in the league and perhaps even becoming 'invincibles' by going unbeaten over the season.

The relegation form they have shown in the last 11 league games is only brightened by a decent display against Dundalk in the Turners Cross game and by limping to the Cup Final.

They know that by losing to Dundalk next week takes a further shine off their superb season and will set further doubt in train, particularly fueled by the expected departures of key players.

Obviously re-signing and new signings from both teams will be critical as to how next season shapes up, but the nervousness and doubts in Cork are almost palpable. McNulty's brain-dead roaring is just another part of this growing insecurity.

White Horse
29/10/2017, 8:55 AM
Many Cork fans? About two or three have expressed a negative opinion of it. The vast majority there were laughing and joining in with him.

Thanks for confirming what many suspected.

The Donie Forde
29/10/2017, 9:28 AM
He just hates PNE since they took Seani and Kev from us.
No way was this Dundalk-related at all.

29/10/2017, 9:33 AM
Labelling a range of diverse comments as "crap" says a fair bit more about you then the collection of posters that you refer to. I am doubtful if you have a willingness to understand my comment about growing insecurity in Cork
Good man Ez; throw out an aul random insult rather than try make any actual point.

Is talking about Dundalk insecurity now? You prattle on about other clubs more than anyone else on foot.ie - are you insecure?

There's lots of crap - a diverse mix, if you want - on here about the incident. A sample -

many Cork fans are understandably embarrassed by his lack of a class
Sounds like you making stuff up.

a completely classless individual

the concern is more about whether he actual has a capacity to think at all.
Because he started a harmless football chant? Right so. Chalk us all up as brain dead and classless so.

I'd be embarrassed if it was one of our lads
This is possibly true - though general football history shows that fans will defend their own clubs to the hilt, so I'd actually doubt if push came to shove that mcgonigle would be embarrassed (or at least admit to it). I think it's just a little bit hypocritical.

Then there's the post that was deleted as well of course.

So - crap? Yeah, I think so.

Seriously - before the internet, no-one would have cared about what McNulty did. Now we have every amateur Dundalk psychologist having their say and trying to gain the moral high ground or score internet points off it.

Ezeikial
29/10/2017, 9:40 AM
Good man Ez; throw out an aul random insult rather than try make any actual point.

That is exactly what you did with your "crap" comment.

I have tried, obviously in vain, to explain and expand on my point about insecurities

It is a almost a classic Trumpian tactic to accuse others of exactly what you are doing yourself.

29/10/2017, 10:06 AM
You did expand on the insecurity stuff. Doesn't mean it isn't crap. I've explained why. I've also pointed out exactly which other comments were crap and why. You're just throwing around insults, making stuff up (I suspect) and dismissing things as "Trumpian" without actually addressing any of the points.

Ezeikial
29/10/2017, 10:12 AM
You did expand on the insecurity stuff. Doesn't mean it isn't crap. I've explained why. I've also pointed out exactly which other comments were crap and why. You're just throwing around insults, making stuff up (I suspect) and dismissing things as "Trumpian" without actually addressing any of the points.

Stu, I'm afraid I gotta just leave you sitting with your misery on this one.

You are entitled to express your opinions - tis a pity you feel the need to express them in such insulting and provocative terms, while repeatedly dismissing other peoples opinion as "crap"

29/10/2017, 10:25 AM
Nice to see you addressing the points raised again there Ez.

sbgawa
29/10/2017, 10:53 AM
In breaking news Leo varadker has asked shamrock rovers fans to stop chanting " in your inchicore slums" at st Patrick's athletic supporters , apparently he thinks it is very hurtful and really shows an insecurity of rovers fans 're conditions in Tallaght. Recommended chants for all clubs from now on are GO ROVERS GO or some similar inofensive chant. All banter is banned as the snowflakes are melting and no one should comment about other teams. Comments on your own team should be positive and encouraging in nature and respective of diversity.
Diversity in this case to be where on player is good and one player is crap.

Straightstory
29/10/2017, 11:03 AM
That's very embarrassing stuff from McNulty. He just comes across as a yob. Is this what he's normally like? The fact that he hadn't been drinking obviously makes it even worse. No excuse at all for this type of brutish behaviour.

bluewhitearmy
29/10/2017, 11:12 AM
Racist remarks a few weeks ago = Barely a word

McNulty sings a song as a mess= Full inquest and a psychological report of why he would do such a thing.

Never change Foot, never change.

El-Pietro
29/10/2017, 12:29 PM
If there is any insecurity here I think its coming from the fans who are over analysing 6 words from a player who just won the league. No one in Cork is spending this much time worrying about Dundalk right now

PartySaint
29/10/2017, 1:00 PM
I couldn't care much either

Are you sure?

redarmyfaction
29/10/2017, 2:24 PM
Janey Mac, the Dunnies are waging interwebz warz on 2 fronts on Foot atm, look how worked out for Hitler.

mcgonigle
29/10/2017, 6:58 PM
No one in Cork is spending this much time worrying about Dundalk right now

I hope this is the case. I would also hope that everyone connected with Dundalk FC is thinking about nothing but Cork City, it's the only thing that matters right now.

29/10/2017, 8:50 PM
Are you sure?

No better way to show how much you don't care about something than posting repeatedly about it.

RathfarnhamHoop
29/10/2017, 11:09 PM
No better way to show how much you don't care about something than posting repeatedly about it.

At least they seem to have moved on from Bradley

mcgonigle
30/10/2017, 9:59 AM
At least they seem to have moved on from Bradley

As long as Rovers don't we'll be happy

sbgawa
30/10/2017, 1:29 PM
First full season as manager integrated 15 players finished 3rd in the league reached one final and beaten in semi of another. Imagine how good he will be after 20 years. Although that's logic so I shouldn't a waste it on here :)

sullanefc
30/10/2017, 1:44 PM
Jaysus, the comments have certainly rattled a few dalk fans thats for sure. I think some may need to start going to rugby matches for more gentlemanly behaviour.

P stu, raises a good point also re the Internet age and taking offence. I'm sure this kind of thing has happened for years prior to camera phones and not a word said about it. He was clearly referencing his drunk rant last year and making a joke of it.

As for insecurities, City and dalk have been 1 & 2 for the last 4 years. There is bound to be needle between the two sets of players (be it captured on camera or not). Needle adds a bit of spice to football IMO. Man utd v Arsenal, Keane v Vieira was the golden age of epl IMO. The needle there did no harm for the game.

Matches between City and dalk will always have something on the line, with one team trying to avenge a previous loss (a match, a league, a cup etc). I'm sure the dalk players have a plenty of motivation, without the McNulty video. It would be disappointing for their fans if they didn't.

mcgonigle
30/10/2017, 1:57 PM
First full season as manager integrated 15 players finished 3rd in the league reached one final and beaten in semi of another. Imagine how good he will be after 20 years. Although that's logic so I shouldn't a waste it on here :)

Yes that's sound logic alright! Look forward to Rovers competing at the club world cup in 5 seasons with Bradley at the helm 👍

RathfarnhamHoop
30/10/2017, 2:21 PM
Yes that's sound logic alright! Look forward to Rovers competing at the club world cup in 5 seasons with Bradley at the helm 👍

Just to add some perspective your lord and saviour Stephen Kenny finished 4th in the first division and lost 12 of 36 league games, that's not too dissimilar to Bradley's record this season and it was in the first division not the premier.
He's a young manager learning all the time which is clearly visible in the difference in results and performances between the first and third round of fixtures.

jinxy lilywhite
30/10/2017, 2:43 PM
Just to add some perspective your lord and saviour Stephen Kenny finished 4th in the first division and lost 12 of 36 league games, that's not too dissimilar to Bradley's record this season and it was in the first division not the premier.
He's a young manager learning all the time which is clearly visible in the difference in results and performances between the first and third round of fixtures.

That was with longford town who at the time were perennial bottom 2 side of the forst division. If you are going to make comparison then at least compare like with like. Or maybe rovers are the modern day longford town

placid casual
30/10/2017, 2:57 PM
You will never win 4 in a row.
And you will never get a better chance. And your manager knows it. And its heartening to know he knows it.
And even Donald Rumsfeld knows it!!

RathfarnhamHoop
30/10/2017, 3:09 PM
That was with longford town who at the time were perennial bottom 2 side of the forst division. If you are going to make comparison then at least compare like with like. Or maybe rovers are the modern day longford town

I know Longford were consistently rock bottom at the time but I was expecting youd be aware with the nature of the first division in that where you finish the year before is no indicator of where youll finish next season. Thus i ignored the fact he took over a poor Longford.

sbgawa
30/10/2017, 3:11 PM

Lol that's logic all right go back to complaining about cork lads singing , reasoned debate on certain subjects is just a distant dream on here

GCdfc
30/10/2017, 3:45 PM
You will never win 4 in a row.
And you will never get a better chance. And your manager knows it. And its heartening to know he knows it.
And even Donald Rumsfeld knows it!!

Not sure what you mean. You are talking as if 4 in a row is still on. :confused: It must be sad to still live in the 1980's. Such a depressing time for the country.