View Full Version : 2018 UEFA European Under-17 Championship
IsMiseSean
11/05/2018, 9:26 PM
My money is on Parrott to ruffle a few Dutch feathers.
samhaydenjr
12/05/2018, 2:11 AM
This guy Daishawn Redan of Ajax seems to be the main man for the Netherlands, he has scored ten of their eighteen goals in this competition (including qualification). You could say he's their Adam Idah.
Daishawn Redan?? Something about that has a familiar ring - Daishawn Redan...Daishawn Redan:think:... DE SEAN REDDAN!!! QUICK!! TO THE GENEALOGY RECORDS!!
Seriously, well done to the U17 team on making the last eight, more comfortably than last year in spite of defeat in their first game. And while we talk justifiably about the potential of the forwards in the team, it should be noted that, in nine games so far in this competition, this team has only conceded three times - so we seem to be solid in defence also (knock on wood). By the sounds of it, they'll have to up their game against the Dutch, but even if they don't, reaching this stage two years on the trot augurs well for the future... and Troy Parrott will still be U17 next year (as will OkoFlex if we can tempt him back)
liamoo11
12/05/2018, 11:23 AM
Hopefully the fai put a big effort into next years tournament spread the games around the country and organise high quality friendlies seeing that we will have no qualifiers.
Okoflex could be in tricky situation as brits can cap him in the qualifiers and tie him in which we won't be able to cause we don't have qualifiers. Obviously if brits did cap him which they absolutely will try to as he is main starter for their 16s he can still come back for future age groups.
12/05/2018, 4:35 PM
Hopefully the fai put a big effort into next years tournament spread the games around the country and organise high quality friendlies seeing that we will have no qualifiers.
Okoflex could be in tricky situation as brits can cap him in the qualifiers and tie him in which we won't be able to cause we don't have qualifiers. Obviously if brits did cap him which they absolutely will try to as he is main starter for their 16s he can still come back for future age groups.
According to wikipedia - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019_UEFA_European_Under-17_Championship#Venues - the venues have been confirmed as Tallaght Stadium, Turners Cross, Eamonn Deacy Park, and the new Finn Harps stadium
12/05/2018, 4:36 PM
Monday's quarter final against the Dutch will be 7:00pm kick off in Chesterfield
12/05/2018, 8:59 PM
Was at the Bosnia game along with another of this parish.
This Is an absolutely quality Irish side, to the point that they don't play like a typically Irish side.
Until he went off I'd say Luca Connell was Ireland's best player, and it was an absolute rocker of a.challenge that injured him.
It would not be a lie to sat that Ireland should Have scored 4 or 5. Idah in particular missed a couple of great chances but in saying that the goal he scored was a beautiful goal.
The Irish defenders deserve a special mention for the way they played.fooyball. Great control, composed on the ball heads up football. Collins and Ledwidge were superb and when the situation allowed they were taking the ball deep into Bosnian territory. McEntee wasnt as effective going forward but he wasn't bad either. If anything when Connell got injured and Ledwidge went left back and McEntee centre back the replacement right back Murphy made a huge difference. He immediately gave an impetus on the right side and couple with Parrott coming back into the game and an excellent second half from Ty Wright it meant there was a threat down both flanks.
I having spoke to a few of the played boys who were at the Belgium game a few have said that murohy was slaughtered hence why he was dropped.
First 25 mins Parrott was excellent and the danger man. Brennan has a nice understanding with Idah it seems. Coffey was very industrious and a serious runner but looked a little lacking in the ball skills. Won't judge him on one viewing. Wright was slow.to get going. But second half he plagued the Bosnians and they couldn't handle him.
goalkeeper didn't have a lot to do. He's been signed to Preston too I've heard.
Strangely they.made 3 substitutions that of anything made them stronger. What's even.more impressive is that the first substitution involved 3 changes to the line up and it didn't effect them.
Seems to be a great rapport amongst the group. I think they're in a great position. Nobody expects anything from them given Holland's form.
Holland were serious spectators as were Italy at the game. Got chatting briefly to a Dutch honcho say beside me. I asked him did he learn anything. One - you learn something every match and if you don't your doing something wrong. Two you won't beat ireland in the air.
I hope the second sentiment is lost in translation stereotyping because that team didn't play aerial football despite being equipped to do so. "Long" balls were calculated passes into feet or diagonal over the full backs for Parrott and Wright to cut back on.
My worry is that Idah won't get the same amount of chances that he got against Bosnia. He should have scored in the first minute but a lack of composure and an unnecessary extra touch killed him when he should have scored. He had at least three other chances that definitely should have gone in including missing from 3 yds when it was harder to hit the bar as he did.
Very enjoyable game and George's Park is a beautiful albeit remote facility.
12/05/2018, 9:07 PM
The FA brought in a few groups of kids for the game and at times they made some lovely noise. It's a pity they won't play the games in the evening next year as scheduling won't allow it with only 4 venues but I.hope the FAI give as many kids the opportunity as possible to get to the games for free. There is absolutely no reason why schools in Tallaght shouldn't be given freebies to boost crowd numbers. 480 odd in George's Park yesterday and the vast majority of them were relations of both sides from.what I saw or in our block there was a couple of locals who are going to every game in the area. You don't have that possibility withnusnnext year as the venues are so spread out. Burton George's Park chesterfield and Loughborough are all relatively close. Absolutely no reason why belfield bowl and even Dalymount couldn't be used also. Particularly when final group games have to be played.
13/05/2018, 8:33 AM
The FA brought in a few groups of kids for the game and at times they made some lovely noise. It's a pity they won't play the games in the evening next year as scheduling won't allow it with only 4 venues but I.hope the FAI give as many kids the opportunity as possible to get to the games for free. There is absolutely no reason why schools in Tallaght shouldn't be given freebies to boost crowd numbers. 480 odd in George's Park yesterday and the vast majority of them were relations of both sides from.what I saw or in our block there was a couple of locals who are going to every game in the area. You don't have that possibility withnusnnext year as the venues are so spread out. Burton George's Park chesterfield and Loughborough are all relatively close. Absolutely no reason why belfield bowl and even Dalymount couldn't be used also. Particularly when final group games have to be played.
I don't see why someone couldn't get to three of the four grounds at least. It's not like we're a very big country.
To be honest, I'd say whoever made that Wikipedia article picked four grounds at random. I don't see the new Finn Harps stadium being ready on time. More likely to be in Sligo if there is to be a ground used in the North-West.
Would be much better off having a good spread to the grounds, and give people a chance to get to watch a major underage tournament, it's not like these come around too often, and any big events are already held in Dublin. Nice chance to show off some of our better grounds around the country to visitors.
johnnyc
14/05/2018, 10:47 AM
Is the Holland match definitely on the TV lads? I've checked several sites and it's not listed.
14/05/2018, 10:49 AM
Is the Holland match definitely on the TV lads? I've checked several sites and it's not listed.
says it is here...
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2018/0513/963256-ire-u17-quarters/
johnnyc
14/05/2018, 2:28 PM
Still not listed on the Sky epg. :/
14/05/2018, 2:56 PM
Still not listed on the Sky epg. :/
RTE own online TV guide doesn't have it listed either but they are definitely showing it. Assume it means Soccer Republic gets bumped to 9pm instead.
14/05/2018, 3:05 PM
its weird, it's not on the TV listings on rte.ie, but this article says it'll start at 6:30: https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2018/0513/963256-ire-u17-quarters/
Watch Ireland Under-17's European Championship quarter-final with Denmark on RTÉ 2 Television and online on RTÉ Player from 6.30pm
ArFella
14/05/2018, 3:20 PM
It's up there now, Soccer Republic bumped to 11:15pm https://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=2678&stc=1
johnnyc
14/05/2018, 5:24 PM
Phew! Kind of sums up the poor way coverage of this tournament has been handled. Surely if they'd show the other Ireland matches, they would have attracted a decent sized TV audience?
14/05/2018, 5:36 PM
Watching the build up on RTE, is it just me, or does Stephen McPhail look a bit like Gerard Butler now?
14/05/2018, 5:48 PM
Kerr on a rant about the new setup in the schoolboy leagues now. Basically repeating his arguments from his article in the Independent, that League of Ireland clubs are not entitled to run the new leagues because they "don't care".
Olé Olé
14/05/2018, 6:39 PM
I was just after typing that the ref has been dreadful (against Idah and Parrott) and then I see that nudge on Tyriek Wright on 39 minutes. Crazy not to give it.
Olé Olé
14/05/2018, 7:22 PM
Idah, Parrott and Collins. Serious futures ahead of them on the basis of tonight so far.
14/05/2018, 8:00 PM
wow just in the door and turn on the penos, thats **** poor from the ref
sidewayspasser
14/05/2018, 8:01 PM
Absolutely outrageous stuff at the end of the shootout... :shock:
14/05/2018, 8:02 PM
Shocking stuff. Looks like his foot was still on the goal line too. Heartbreaking for the poor lad.
NeverFeltBetter
14/05/2018, 8:03 PM
Despicable, petty, small act by the official. Just shocked by that. Retake if you must, but sending him off is the act of a nitwit.
14/05/2018, 8:07 PM
If it's the rules, you can't blame the ref.
Similar thing happened in the Asian underage final (See the "unusual stuff" thread in the world forum)
I didn't see the incident, just the detail - but I don't think you can say "Retake but don't send him off"
Obviously a horrible way to go out
14/05/2018, 8:14 PM
Horrible way to lose. Ref played by the rule book to be fair to him. The Dutch probably deserve to go through over the 80 minutes.
This group of players will bounce back stronger.
Noel King is hard to listen to.
14/05/2018, 8:17 PM
If it's the rules, you can't blame the ref.
apparently ref warned the dutch keeper twice for coming off his line. why no yellow so? is it only a yellow if the keeper manages to save the pen? bizzare if thats the case
Olé Olé
14/05/2018, 8:19 PM
I was just after typing that the ref has been dreadful (against Idah and Parrott) and then I see that nudge on Tyriek Wright on 39 minutes. Crazy not to give it.
I thought the ref was a gob****e but didn't think he'd be capable of that. There was one stage in the second half where he asserted his power over Tyreik Wright because Wright didn't pay him enough attention. A really small man.
Being aware that he was within his rights (if he was) to send off Corcoran demonstrates enough about his character
Fair play to O'Neill also. A well known and respected person in the sport telling him what he thinks of him is no harm for that fella.
NeverFeltBetter
14/05/2018, 8:27 PM
There's no consistency to how that section of the rules is enforced, in football generally.
NeverFeltBetter
14/05/2018, 8:31 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/RTEsoccer/status/996120160665649152?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fd-18071076374180126963.ampproject.net%2F152546168315 9%2Fframe.html
Case in point.
14/05/2018, 8:50 PM
The Dutch keeper isn't off his line. No issues with that.
I think possibly the issue for the Irish keeper is the run he takes at the start (here (https://twitter.com/RTEsoccer/status/996118013387522049) it is for those who haven't seen it); it certainly looks like he takes a run-up while the Dutch player is also running up. It's different to our missed penalty.
The FIFA guidelines (https://www.fifa.com/mm/document/afdeveloping/refereeing/law_14_the_penalty_kick_en_47369.pdf) possibly shed some light. First off, it's the linesman's job to spot keeper infringements, not the ref - the referee looks for infringements from players other than the keeper. So it's wrong to blame the ref here. He took advice from his linesman.
Secondly, the RTÉ commentators didn't have a clue what they were talking about (wondering if we "didn't want to risk" bringing on the sub keeper for the final penalty; you are only allowed make a sub in a shoot-out if a keeper is injured)
Thirdly, slides 9 and 10 show a keeper with one foot almost still on the line - this is a foul, presumably because one foot is well off the line. In that case, the Irish keeper infringed. But only slightly. It seems he starts behind the line too, to allow him make a bit of a charge while not coming off his line; that's also not allowed, but I think he should be called up for that before the kick is taken.
The only other thing I can see is the section on feinting, which is allowed unless it's unsporting behaviour. Technically, the rule cites "feinting to take a penalty kick", which obviously the keeper can't do. But I wonder did the ref take the view that the apparent charge at the taker constituted unsporting behaviour?
Bungle
14/05/2018, 9:01 PM
Idah, parrott and collins definitely looked the pick of the bunch.
Really bodes well for the future.
14/05/2018, 9:20 PM
The Dutch goalie's right foot has clearly moved forwards before the Irish saved Penalty.
14/05/2018, 9:25 PM
I don't think that's at all comparable to the Irish keeper in fairness.
I know it's technically not the rule, but there's a big difference in movement, which is obvious if you watch the two kicks in real-time.
The Dutch static during the run-up and really only moves to dive just before the kick is taken - as opposed to Corcoran, who appears to charge at the taker in the run-up.
14/05/2018, 9:37 PM
Keepers feet are in the same position,both right foot slightly forward and left foot on the line.
14/05/2018, 9:47 PM
But what about Corcoran's charge?
Watch them in real time and there's a clear difference in movement towards the ball that a snapshot won't show
14/05/2018, 9:52 PM
Every peno shoot out I've ever seen at any level from under 8 to Champions League contain similar moves from both keepers without the Ref resorting to retakes and certainly not a yellow card for it,have you ever seen a keeper yellow carded for moving before a penalty kick?
14/05/2018, 9:56 PM
Every peno shoot out I've ever seen at any level from under 8 to Champions League contain similar moves from both keepers without the Ref resorting to retakes and certainly not a yellow card for it,have you ever seen a keeper yellow carded for moving before a penalty kick?
In fairness, the rule came in for the beginning of the 16-17 season. We haven't had much chance to see it being enforced. Ref was left with no choice. AR flagged the movement.
14/05/2018, 10:36 PM
Didn't deserve a yellow though
14/05/2018, 10:43 PM
Didn't deserve a yellow though
The rules explicity define it as a yellow card though. Referees warn the keepers before shootouts for the last 2 years.
Comic Book Guy
14/05/2018, 10:48 PM
First yellow for the keeper was as bad imo, time wasting half way through the second half 🤔.
Responded really well after going behind.
Parrot looks like a good prospect. Colin o Brien conducted himself with great dignity post match.
14/05/2018, 11:02 PM
Very similar thing happened in the Iran v Qatar U-19 qualification match recently. Keeper saved a penalty in a shoot out, thought he had won the match, instead got a second yellow. Incredibly, the outfield player who had to go into goal saved the retaken penalty and they won anyway.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n26Rk7f6kfs
samhaydenjr
15/05/2018, 1:26 AM
Very disappointing way to go out - like many people, my initial reaction was shock and bafflement at Corcoran getting sent off, having never heard of something like this happening before - like others I'm sure, I was questioning the sanity and/or ethics of the ref, but thanks to those who checked the rules, I do now acknowledge that he was within his rights to apply a law, which while seemingly draconian in its application, was brought in to stamp out a practice that has probably robbed many teams of deserved victories because of the crucial situations where it arises.
So let's try to focus on some positives out of this tournament, because there are a number of them. For the second time in a row, we qualified for the UEFA U17 Championships Finals and got out of the group stages - this may be a sign that we are starting to see systematic development of young talent in Ireland. While we didn't go further than last year, we performed better this year - in spite of our defeat to Belgium, we didn't receive any hammerings and got out of the group more comfortably - and while we were stretched by a Dutch team that had beaten Germany and Spain, we fought back and took them all the way. We had the top scorer in the qualifiers (Idah) and we currently have one of the top scorers in the Finals (Parrott). It's clear that a few of these lads will go on to have good careers with Idah, Parrott, O'Reilly and Cassidy all potential candidates for first team breakthroughs next season and more of the squad at big English clubs than last year (admittedly that can be a double-edged sword). And Parrott and Corcoran will get another shot next year, at home.
15/05/2018, 6:34 AM
The rules explicity define it as a yellow card though. Referees warn the keepers before shootouts for the last 2 years.
Just out of curiousity, do you know what the exact rule change is?
I'm just trying to find something in the rulebook to explain what happened, but you sound like you know something specific.
I'd say it's entirely possible Corcoran didn't even know he was breaking a rule, which would make it worse. But when refs make bizarre decisions, it's often better trying to understand why the decision was made rather than having a go at them. Not his fault if he applies the rules correctly.
Insidetherock
15/05/2018, 8:26 AM
Just out of curiousity, do you know what the exact rule change is?
I'm just trying to find something in the rulebook to explain what happened, but you sound like you know something specific.
I'd say it's entirely possible Corcoran didn't even know he was breaking a rule, which would make it worse. But when refs make bizarre decisions, it's often better trying to understand why the decision was made rather than having a go at them. Not his fault if he applies the rules correctly.
This was part of a wholesale change to laws by the International Board in March 2017
Law 14 - Penalty-kick
Section 3
If, after having given the signal for a PK to be taken, the referee sees that the goalkeeper is not in his right place on the goal-line, he shall, nevertheless, allow the kick to proceed. It shall be retaken, if a goal is not scored.
If, after having given the signal for a PK to be taken, and before the ball has been kicked, the goalkeeper moves his feet, the referee shall, nevertheless, allow the kick to proceed. It shall be retaken, if a goal is not scored.
If, after the referee has given the signal for a PK to be taken, and before the ball is in play, a player of the defending team encroaches into the penalty-area, or within ten yards of the penalty-mark, the referee shall, nevertheless, allow the kick to proceed. It shall be retaken, if a goal is not scored.
Crucially however: (my underline)
The player concerned shall be cautioned.
Because the Irish keeper had already been booked, he was now sent off.
Also, because he was sent off, and not injured, he could only be replaced by someone allowed on the pitch at the end of the game.
What you've just seen is a referee, doing his job and applying the Laws of the Game the way he's been trained to do.
However, he will be roundly castigated by people who've never reffed a game in their life
DeLorean
15/05/2018, 8:53 AM
And 'cautioned' actually means yellow carded, yes? As opposed to being warned.
Insidetherock
15/05/2018, 9:18 AM
yep, caution means yellow card.
Its already been said here, but the keepers first yellow was utterly idiotic. For time wasting with twenty minutes left.
Although it doesn't do much to help the u17s last night, it will probably now make keepers less likely to waste time to run down to penalty kicks in the future.
15/05/2018, 9:23 AM
http://www.thefa.com/football-rules-governance/lawsandrules/laws/football-11-11/law-12---fouls-and-misconduct
The yellow card communicates a caution and the red card communicates a sending-off so yes, a caution = yellow card. My initial reaction when I saw our keeper saving it was that he was well off his line but the slow motion doesn't make it quite as clear. I wasn't surprised by the fact that he asked for it to be taken again. What I am a bit unclear about is if you can be cautioned/sent off during a penalty shoot out, why can't you make substitutions during a shoot out?
I thought we were too defensive throughout the game and when we need to up our game and score, we did. Should we not have tried to play on the front foot throughout rather than playing for the lottery that is penalties.
Two other annoying things: the Irish commentators were utterly crap.
Shane Ross decided to call at my door in a meet and greet exercise in the neighborhood with 5 minutes left on the clock. He hadn't a clue that the game was on and yet he is the Minister for Sport.
15/05/2018, 9:27 AM
I didn’t see last night’s game but I hear they played conservatively, deliberately keeping things tight as the first priority. It may not be the best window to assess how good or bad these guys are.
Unless I heard Brian Kerr’s quotes out of context, I’ve got to say I disagree with his immediate assessment of the Emerging Talent Programme and what it’s producing. I was at the Bosnia game (having the pleasure of watching it with our own Kingdom) and here is what I texted to some friends straight after.
“Some serious talent in the U17s. Both CBs big strong and ball playing. Kameron Ledwidge the stand out for me but Nathan Collins good too. Connell left back looks the part as did the sub full back Max Murphy when he came on.
Tyrieke Wright right midfield receives the ball brilliantly in tight situations and has the skill to escape attention. Parrot was in and out of it but when in it he was really proactive. Idah was a mixed bag. Great athlete but lazy choices and poor execution sometimes. Lovely finish for his goal but could have had a couple more. McEntee another giant and good on the ball. Knight a talented CM, Coffey has physical presence but didn’t show much as a footballing midfielder. Brennan looks like Wes but didn’t get into the game enough. Keeper Corcoran didn’t have much to do. Bosnia keeper a fully grown giant! Looks about 30.
In general we looked a good team, organised and fully cohesive. Both CBs happy to carry the ball forward until they are challenged. Nearly ballsed it up once but the team move like a unit, much like Germany at senior level, which is great to see in an Irish team. My criticism is that maybe they’re a bit too technical, but in truth 4 or 5–1 wouldn’t have been unfair. We isolated their defence at ease at times but finishing was a bit panicked, Idah and Wright in particular. They track back well and put in some good tackles, none in desperation either. A few hairy moments but that’s what you’d expect in 80 mins of football.”
Highlight of the day for me was Andy Reid saying hello to me
DeLorean
15/05/2018, 9:43 AM
Shane Ross decided to call at my door in a meet and greet exercise in the neighborhood with 5 minutes left on the clock. He hadn't a clue that the game was on and yet he is the Minister for Sport.
Word has it he set his Sky box to record Home & Away and was devastated to find it had recorded some obscure footie match instead.
15/05/2018, 9:46 AM
From what I'm hearing Collins is already in the Stoke 23's. His brother is with UCD too.