View Full Version : 2017 season
hollocaine
21/03/2017, 1:49 PM
Danny O'Connor interview
http://www.extratime.ie/articles/18538/an-interview-danny-oconnor/
Cabo had 3 good chances and took 2 of them. We had 2 good chances and took neither. Not much else happened and once again there was very little skill and endeavour on show. All teams, bar Athlone, will be organised and hard to break down so it was no surprise that we found it hard to get in on the Cabo goal.
Our problem is in midfield. I like Boyne and I think he’s suited to the advanced role in a 4-4-1-1 formation. It was a pity he went off. Zambra plays the ‘Glenn Whelan role’ fine. Then there’s O’Connor. He takes too much time on the ball. As a result he rarely can pick out Sully and usually just plays another lateral pass to a full back or winger. We need a central player to be making the early pass to open up teams.
Kelly did well to get 9 years in the Premier Division. He never looked like a proper Premier Division player and now he doesn’t look too special in the First either. He’s either unfit or not bothered, or both. McGlade hardly kicked a ball at Pats last year so hard to criticise him too much so far. He’s very slight and needs the early ball in behind the full back to run on to. When faced one-on-one, he usually does nothing.
Defensively we’re ok. Would like to see Tristan get a start ahead of Langtry but hard to know either way. Some of Skinner’s deliveries were poor, but he was probably as bored watching the game as we were.
21/03/2017, 6:34 PM
Any link for that Marty?
cant remember where I saw it. But if I do across it I will post here!
stop press! thanks hollocaine I checked SSE ,league of ireland and 42.ie but never extratime. Doh!
sorbothegreek
22/03/2017, 11:14 AM
With each advancing year my first game of the season is coming later and later into the year. I too was wondering if we really could be as bad as had been portrayed after the Cobh game and it turns out that yes, yes we could well be that poor. I'd agree with Hollocaine in that it could easily have been 2-2 if some of our better chances had scraped in but we would have been lucky and Cabo went close on other occasions too hitting the crossbar in the first half.
On first look and i'll admit that i could yet be proven wrong, there are a number of areas on concern. To start, Skinner's distribution into a cross wind meant that two thirds of his kick/throw outs were sent out of play. It almost had to be seen to be believed. That nobody was coming short or instructed to come short was the only thing more ridiculous. Of the defense and in descending order i thought Friel looked descent if unspectacular, Walsh and O'Reilly were poor enough, caught out the only times there were any serious questions asked of them. And finally we have Langtry. He seems eager anyway and tried to get forward but nothing he was trying to do was coming off. Maybe, hopefully it was just one of those days.
I thought McGlade looked ok and again was trying to do something. The rest of the midfield didn't stand out and in fairness to them them they probably controlled most of the possession without doing much with it.
Mulhall looked ok when he came on and Sully wasn't at the races at all though both could well have scored if the ball had gone the other side of the post. That said those were the only real chances we created.
All in all it was as poor as anything i've seen in recent years, as poor as the first year we came down the last time but with players that you would expect to be better. That's the most disappointing aspect. I think that year we expected nothing more, this year and on paper i'd have expected us to be better than what i saw the other night.
22/03/2017, 8:38 PM
At least you have seen more home football than me Sorbo. I have made the decision to go to more away games than home as being at home matches makes me miserable as sin. The Shels match will be my first home match in a few wks time.
Any time I have seen us play away I thought we played well at times and it all came together in Athlone. The atmosphere is always way better away too. But now when I think about it, even with AMs first spell in charge of us our away form was always better than our home. Maybe that was because back then fans wise we were better vocally away than at home.
thats my take on it anyway. I would have Cobh as favourites to win it. I never thought we were going to win it this season as it was too soon.
hollocaine
26/03/2017, 12:59 PM
'F..k off the lot of ye'
Just in case ye missed it, those words were the perils of wisdom offered by our manager a couple of minutes after the 2nd UCD goal last night. Granted, he was shouting at the team after once again they gave away possession cheaply. In the quiet surroundings of the Bowl, it was easily heard all over the ground. The point being, we're in for a long season with Mathews in charge. It'll be easier to change the manager than change the squad.
It's all Athlone's fault of course. Had they not had their off-the-field problems last season, Mathews would not have been available when Cousins left us in August. Alas, it is what it is. He clearly is unable to motivate this group of players.
As for the game, we were beaten by a very average UCD team. Cabo were better last week. Even with UCD's 5-man defence for the last 30 mins, we had a few chances which our impotent strikeforce wasted. Maybe a big performance will come next week against Waterford, but it hardly looks likely.
If things continue, then Mathews can be the one to 'f..k off' and bring his henchman Doherty with him. Give Cronin the job and let's see what he can do.
26/03/2017, 2:57 PM
The sooner he's got rid of the better. I still believe we've got a decent squad of players there that can make something of this season. It won't be happening with him in charge though. I for one am shocked that a manager who's achieved next to nothing in the last 10+ years is once again failing at a club. Who could possibly have seen this coming?
26/03/2017, 4:31 PM
The sooner he's got rid of the better. I still believe we've got a decent squad of players there that can make something of this season. It won't be happening with him in charge though. I for one am shocked that a manager who's achieved next to nothing in the last 10+ years is once again failing at a club. Who could possibly have seen this coming?
he seems soured with what happened with Cork city in 08 .After winning the Setanta Cup hes never being the same. Look I wanted him to succeed but after seeing that ****e there yesterday he better get his skates in order or else. With every passing game the support is reducing less and less. There was no bus yesterday due to lack of interest. Who would blame them? I dont know if Cronin has in him but maybe if thats the avenue we have to go so be it.
26/03/2017, 5:22 PM
I really want Mathews to turn this around but even those who were happy with his appointment would freely admit he was the easy option for our board. At the moment the team looks totally unorganised (what are we doing in training?), playing Langtry at LB is a failure and playing Mulhall in midfield last night was one of the worst tactical decisions I've ever seen. Il give Alan credit for his half time changes, they gave us a lift and as said above even with 5 at the back we should have scored a few but that was more down to a very young team getting very tired, exactly what happened to them when they played waterford recently I was told by a UCD supporter. If we lose to Waterford that's 9 points already, IMO that would be too much to turn around even at this early stage. Just like last year with cousins everyone is calling for change but no one is saying who we should try and get in? There's a very small pool out there. I always wanted Trevor Croly and would still want him with the club then looking at a long term plan from grassroots up with him in charge as he did great work off the field with rovers. However as I said I'm still behind Mathews and hoping we can start our season on Saturday. Cmon de town.
29/03/2017, 4:28 PM
So what are we thinking for Saturday night? First change that should be made is the keeper but don't expect that to happen. Friel had a nightmare against UCD and doesn't look to be getting forward like he did in pre season, probably knows how exposed we are at the back and doesn't want to go forward. O'Reilly is going well at centre half just needs to stop giving away silly fouls, that will come with experience. Walsh needs to just do basics and stop trying to over play and hel be fine. Langtry is a disaster at LB id play Tristan there but again don't expect that to happen.
Midfield is killing us, McGlade can't start after his performance last week, even if Don is only 50% fit id start him. We've no options in the middle so Wel have to persist with Kev and Zambra. He can't start Mulhall in midfield again or he wants shooting.
For all our signings we really don't have many options. Sully up front goes without saying. Overall I'm not confident at all. Should be a walk in the park for waterford
hollocaine
30/03/2017, 8:50 AM
If anything, Skinner is least culpable for what's gone on so far this season. It's in outfield positions where change is needed more. We've no real options in most positions so don't expect wholesale changes. Sully hasn't been in great form either. He obviously should start but we would have picked up at least 3 more points if he was sharper in front of goal. It's indicative of the month we had that he was awarded POTM. Bar a hat trick against Ragball Rovers, he hasn't covered himself in glory.
30/03/2017, 11:02 AM
If anything, Skinner is least culpable for what's gone on so far this season. It's in outfield positions where change is needed more. We've no real options in most positions so don't expect wholesale changes. Sully hasn't been in great form either. He obviously should start but we would have picked up at least 3 more points if he was sharper in front of goal. It's indicative of the month we had that he was awarded POTM. Bar a hat trick against Ragball Rovers, he hasn't covered himself in glory.
He hasn't been great no but he's worked his socks off in every game unlike a lot of them. He must be frustrated with the ball been launched at him when he's up against centre halfs twice his size.
31/03/2017, 1:32 PM
Just heard while waiting in the train station in Longford that Noel Haverty is out another six weeks which is a massive blow but good to see a lot of our players are fully fit for tommorrow night.
31/03/2017, 9:04 PM
Just heard while waiting in the train station in Longford that Noel Haverty is out another six weeks which is a massive blow but good to see a lot of our players are fully fit for tommorrow night.
Claiming to be fit anyway, looking at Don when he came on last week there's no way he was even 50% back but we need him badly so here's hoping it goes well
L.T.F.C.
15/04/2017, 11:35 PM
Well it was nice to have that win. Horrible performance though.
Forgot to mention: Shoutout to all a ye that think Kevin O'Connor's legs are gone - you're still all wrong! What a goal!
15/04/2017, 11:54 PM
Well it was nice to have that win. Horrible performance though.
Forgot to mention: Shoutout to all a ye that think Kevin O'Connor's legs are gone - you're still all wrong! What a goal!
Performance wasn't vintage although wouldn't call it horrible but my first thought driving home after the match was how we all got carried away after beating athlone 3-0 and hoping this isn't going to be similar. A win over Cobh is required or tonight means nothing. Kev had his best game of the season tonight but shutout to Daniel O'Reilly who has been our best player this season, some transformation from the lad released by cousins last season. Big future ahead of him.
L.T.F.C.
16/04/2017, 10:57 AM
Performance wasn't vintage although wouldn't call it horrible but my first thought driving home after the match was how we all got carried away after beating athlone 3-0 and hoping this isn't going to be similar. A win over Cobh is required or tonight means nothing. Kev had his best game of the season tonight but shutout to Daniel O'Reilly who has been our best player this season, some transformation from the lad released by cousins last season. Big future ahead of him.
Daniel O'Reilly was fantastic last night, great job at CB.
Cabs88
16/04/2017, 11:46 AM
It's been a long wait, but great to get the win at home. Curran's first goal was a great finish, as was Kev's goal. We'll need to improve against Cobh, but hopefully last nights result will be the start of a few wins.
17/04/2017, 10:26 AM
delighted for Enda Curran as he shows great commitment for us. He has being getting better and better with every passing game from what I have seen of him. he comes from good football stock as his elder brother Nicky Curran played with Galway Utd 11 years ago with the likes of one Eric Lavine!
thought Danny O Reilly has great organistional ability. at one stage I thought he was going to fight with one of our own defenders but you know what that sort of spirit is badly needed. Please god that the next two games will go well even tonight as it will only increase confidence.
17/04/2017, 7:59 PM
That's a great result tonight lads. Looking forward to the inevitable let down in Cobh 😂
18/04/2017, 3:47 AM
We were fierce impressive tonight. Jack Brady yet again was superb. He made some superb saves and made some great catches.
Also Boyne was superb.he made an excellent sliding challenge to win the ball. He got a beautiful header for the first.
Mcglade can be frustrating to watch but made a great run off the wing for a second after a richocet.
I notice with us lately that the more we get behind them more and more the more they play better!
18/04/2017, 9:59 AM
2 good wins in 3 days, although Shels offered little on both occasions. Boyne's goal last night was a nice one, bullet header at the near post from a Chambers cross. Brady made 2 very good saves at 1-0 but apart from that we were never really threatened and always looked in control.
Hopefully those 2 wins will help spring board our season, although Cobh away will be very tough. Henderson probably the best manager in the division and he has them playing good ball. Apparently they were very unlucky to lose in Waterford a few weeks ago so it won't be easy down there.
18/04/2017, 11:32 AM
2 good wins in 3 days, although Shels offered little on both occasions. Boyne's goal last night was a nice one, bullet header at the near post from a Chambers cross. Brady made 2 very good saves at 1-0 but apart from that we were never really threatened and always looked in control.
Hopefully those 2 wins will help spring board our season, although Cobh away will be very tough. Henderson probably the best manager in the division and he has them playing good ball. Apparently they were very unlucky to lose in Waterford a few weeks ago so it won't be easy down there.
Hendos done a great job down there. Saw he tweeted last night saying he was extremely disappointed with their performance against waterford in the cup game so I'd expect a massive reaction from his players on Saturday similar to when he tweeted after the thrashing they received from Cabinteely.
Next 4 games are make or break for our season IMO. Cobh a, athlone h, CABO a, UCD h. After those games we go to Waterford so we really would want to be winning all 4 of these games
14/05/2017, 10:02 PM
So our season is officially done and we haven't even reached the summer break. We have (at least) the second biggest budget in the league and we're struggling to get past a team in the table who are literally not trying some weeks. Pathetic stuff. The worst thing is, the rest of the teams in the division are really, really poor. There's no stand out team amongst them yet we're still one of the worst of a very bad bunch. Tony Cousins was not and is not a good football manager, but when given a decent squad of players in this division he at least had us competitive. And they were much stronger versions of the first division than this one is too. Mathews is a fraud and the sooner he's gone the better. Although at this stage it's not going to make an ounce of difference to this season.
15/05/2017, 10:22 AM
So our season is officially done and we haven't even reached the summer break. We have (at least) the second biggest budget in the league and we're struggling to get past a team in the table who are literally not trying some weeks. Pathetic stuff. The worst thing is, the rest of the teams in the division are really, really poor. There's no stand out team amongst them yet we're still one of the worst of a very bad bunch. Tony Cousins was not and is not a good football manager, but when given a decent squad of players in this division he at least had us competitive. And they were much stronger versions of the first division than this one is too. Mathews is a fraud and the sooner he's gone the better. Although at this stage it's not going to make an ounce of difference to this season.
Hard to argue any of your points there. I've defend Mathews and the coaching staff up until now and while I missed Saturday's game the reports were that the players didn't seem to know what they were doing or what the plan was, I haven't seen that since the home defeats to CABO and Cobh so for that to raise its head again at this stage of the season suggests the work isn't been done on the training ground and that lies with the management team, who to their credit are trying everything to fix the problems but it's just not working. I do feel the players we signed aren't good enough, Dylan McGlade in particular looks an absolute dud. Like you said there's no point in changing the management team now but that raises the question of what we do next? Can we justify paying out the second highest wages in the division for what at this moment in time is the 2nd worse team in the league? Should we go near enough amateur for the rest of the season and play the 19's? If big clubs like Pats come down next season is that a route we should go down for a few years Coz let's face it the crowds can't get much lower if anything a few locals in the team might bring out a few new faces. Not saying that is the route we should go down but interested to see what people think we should do for the rest of the season if we lose on Friday.
15/05/2017, 2:44 PM
to be honest what has happened so far this season I was expecting this to be honest. I am enjoying this season much better tbh. At least we broke our home jinks and won a few away matches.
But it got out of control with us being second favorites. We were never in the running in the first place and wont be next year. Its all about rebuilding Im afraid.But the club better get its act together in getting more footfall through the place as theres no atmosphere or life in the place any more.
hollocaine
15/05/2017, 4:08 PM
Marty, are you for real??!! Or was that one of the best rustles this forum has ever seen?! There’s nothing enjoyable about this season. At least last year we were in the Premier, so although it was grim we were still able to watch decent players in opposition teams. This year we’re losing to glorified under-21 teams.
Are you honestly accepting that losing twice to a very average UCD team is ok? Or taking one point from two games against f..kin Cabo is acceptable?! It’s a dismal return for a team with a good blend of youth and experience to mount a serious promotion push this season. Waterford are really average as well so the top 3 are gonna have a good battle for top spot if things continue. We should be in the mix as well. Instead, we’re nowhere.
Nothing summed up the season more that the demoralizing site of McGlade putting on his gloves on Saturday as he was about to come on as sub on a mild May evening. Embarrassing.
The only way to improve the ‘footfall’ is by improving what happens on the pitch. People want to see good performances and goals. In turn, the attendance/atmosphere might pick up.
The pitch at the CCS is good, facilities are fairly good overall and I presume the player's needs/payments are being met. On that basis, the club has it's act together. The team do not
15/05/2017, 8:56 PM
Marty, are you for real??!! Or was that one of the best rustles this forum has ever seen?! There’s nothing enjoyable about this season. At least last year we were in the Premier, so although it was grim we were still able to watch decent players in opposition teams. This year we’re losing to glorified under-21 teams.
Are you honestly accepting that losing twice to a very average UCD team is ok? Or taking one point from two games against f..kin Cabo is acceptable?! It’s a dismal return for a team with a good blend of youth and experience to mount a serious promotion push this season. Waterford are really average as well so the top 3 are gonna have a good battle for top spot if things continue. We should be in the mix as well. Instead, we’re nowhere.
Nothing summed up the season more that the demoralizing site of McGlade putting on his gloves on Saturday as he was about to come on as sub on a mild May evening. Embarrassing.
The only way to improve the ‘footfall’ is by improving what happens on the pitch. People want to see good performances and goals. In turn, the attendance/atmosphere might pick up.
The pitch at the CCS is good, facilities are fairly good overall and I presume the player's needs/payments are being met. On that basis, the club has it's act together. The team do not
Spot on
16/05/2017, 6:58 AM
Its not personal but I didn't enjoy going to matches last year as I wasn't well for a long time and had fallen out with people. Maybe I'm showing my age but I'm not taking the footie seriously anymore. I just take things day by day. My priorities are changing now.
16/05/2017, 10:27 AM
While I agree with everything Hollocaine said I wouldn't use the word enjoying but I'm not as wound up going to games this season as I was in 2016. That was without a doubt the worst season I've ever endured supporting De Town. I've just accepted the fact we aren't very good this season and it's going to take years for us to get back to the premier if we ever do at all.
hollocaine
16/05/2017, 12:31 PM
While I agree with everything Hollocaine said I wouldn't use the word enjoying but I'm not as wound up going to games this season as I was in 2016. That was without a doubt the worst season I've ever endured supporting De Town. I've just accepted the fact we aren't very good this season and it's going to take years for us to get back to the premier if we ever do at all.
How? We were losing to professional/mostly professional teams last year. Almost 3 months into this season and our only wins have been against Shelbourne Kids and Athlon€ Town.
This season was our chance to get back up as next year will be even harder with 3 coming down.
We've been pathetic. Mathews cannot motivate the players. Ye won't like this but Cousins would definitely have us higher up the table with this squad. No question. Anyway, his time has passed so let's not go there.
We'll just have to look forward to 16 more games of O'Connor taking 4 touches too many on the ball, McGlade doing step overs and going nowhere, Curran giving out to the rest of the team (as if he's Ronaldo), Kelly with his head in his hands after another f..k up, Cowan getting injured, Skinner having nothing to do and Mathews sounding as arrogant as always in his pre and post match radio interviews.
16/05/2017, 2:58 PM
How? We were losing to professional/mostly professional teams last year. Almost 3 months into this season and our only wins have been against Shelbourne Kids and Athlon€ Town.
This season was our chance to get back up as next year will be even harder with 3 coming down.
We've been pathetic. Mathews cannot motivate the players. Ye won't like this but Cousins would definitely have us higher up the table with this squad. No question. Anyway, his time has passed so let's not go there.
We'll just have to look forward to 16 more games of O'Connor taking 4 touches too many on the ball, McGlade doing step overs and going nowhere, Curran giving out to the rest of the team (as if he's Ronaldo), Kelly with his head in his hands after another f..k up, Cowan getting injured, Skinner having nothing to do and Mathews sounding as arrogant as always in his pre and post match radio interviews.
I know Mathews isn't popular on here but I've interviewed him several times this season and he's far from arrogant, himself Gary and Kevin are absolute gentlemen and yes I'm aware that's absolutely useless if we aren't getting results but I don't seem to remember cousins been labelled arrogant when he took shots and people in his post match interviews and refused to walk away when it was clear we had no chance of staying up under him. At the end of the day it's cousins and the boards fault we are in the first division at all this year, there's no way we should have been finishing below wexford last season, that's on them. This current squad of players isn't good enough and you're spot on in what you've said about all those players in the above post but if losing 6-0 to cork and losing 4 times to Wexford was embarrassing last season can you imagine this squad of players in the top flight they wouldn't win a single game no matter who's in charge. Simple fact is we have no legs in midfield (as you've pointed out with O'Connors over playing of the ball all the time) and it's dragging the entire team down.
L.T.F.C.
16/05/2017, 7:29 PM
I'm going to batter the next fool that says that Kevin O'Connor's legs are gone.
20/05/2017, 1:39 PM
I'm going to batter the next fool that says that Kevin O'Connor's legs are gone.
he is gone. he was very poor last night. every single player except for Tristan were poor. And for McGlade and Curran they should be ran out of the club. pair of them were a disgrace last night.
I was prepared to give Mathews a chance but after last night I have had enough.
22/05/2017, 2:41 PM
O'Connor is dust. He was goosed last season and he's even harder to watch this season. On pure footballing ability, he's probably our best player. But when his legs literally can't make him do stuff as quickly as it needs to be done then he needs to be sent packing. How him and Zambra have played almost every minute available to them this season is a mystery. Kealan Dillon isn't great but he's not a winger where he was playing on Friday. He surely deserves a run in midfield at this stage as that's where we're getting killed in every game. Zambra is one of the worst players technically I've ever seen play for us. The lad can't pass a ball more than 5 yards, which is fair enough if he was good at "screening" the back 4 which I presume is his main duty, but he's absolutely ****e at that too. He offers nothing. I'm wore out watching opposition attacking midfielders picking the ball up between our defence and midfield and having free reign to pull strings. It's terrible stuff.
L.T.F.C.
18/06/2017, 12:36 AM
Good result in the end, but we should have buried them. Kealan Dillon was by far our best player on the night, had a great game - shocked he was subbed off. Kevin O'Connor had a decent game, but as others have said, he always takes a touch or two too many. I would have been disgusted if we hadn't won, but it does say that we need to be scoring far more than what we're at.
18/06/2017, 11:34 AM
I thought it was a shocking game. Didn't really enjoy it at all until Kelly's free kick snuck in at the end haha. Cobh are woeful hard to believe they are second. Says it all about the division.
20/08/2017, 12:29 AM
Bump. Been a good couple of weeks! How many goals does Davy have for LTFC now? 70 plus?
20/08/2017, 9:01 AM
Bump. Been a good couple of weeks! How many goals does Davy have for LTFC now? 70 plus?
Needed 31 at start of season to reach 100, how many has he got this season?
20/08/2017, 9:22 AM
Well he has the three hat tricks don't recall him scoring aside from that so far. That would make 78.
20/08/2017, 5:51 PM
Well he has the three hat tricks don't recall him scoring aside from that so far. That would make 78.
Sounds about right
20/08/2017, 5:52 PM
yeah sully has only scored the three hattricks this season for us! saw the updates and thought it was a mistake from earlier in the season in the earlier games v Athlone. raging i couldnt make it.. Think he has got 9 goals in 15 appearances this season. Saw update from Paul Buttner on twitter about him.Good to have him back!
Keen2win
20/08/2017, 7:26 PM
So are we going to win the league next year lads or what's the story?
21/08/2017, 4:53 PM
So are we going to win the league next year lads or what's the story?
well based on the evidence its looking good. Fenn has bought well in the transfer window and Peter Hopkins is a quality act! If we can keep this team together I will give us a fighting chance! Sully is back to his best after his long injury.
22/08/2017, 6:19 AM
well based on the evidence its looking good. Fenn has bought well in the transfer window and Peter Hopkins is a quality act! If we can keep this team together I will give us a fighting chance! Sully is back to his best after his long injury.
Just hope to God we keep Fenn in the off season, seems to be impressing plenty in the league already
22/08/2017, 7:54 AM
Not sure where he'd go that's a genuine step up, Sligo or Limerick maybe if they got rid of their managers. Don't know much about him personally, does he have a family in Dublin? Ideally he'll want to stay for another while. He was talking about planning and building for next year in his interview with Shannonside after the game. I always think his interviews are impressive. No bull or cliches.
22/08/2017, 10:16 AM
Agree that he comes across well in interviews. He was on the LOI Podcast with Dan McDonnell and Johnny Ward last week and he mentioned that he was hoping to earn a contract for next year so hopefully we get him tied down ASAP.
22/08/2017, 1:03 PM
fenn always does his fair bit of plugging for his favourite tailors which are in liffey st i believe.him and daire doyle do kids camps somewhere in dublin.
22/08/2017, 6:21 PM
Agree that he comes across well in interviews. He was on the LOI Podcast with Dan McDonnell and Johnny Ward last week and he mentioned that he was hoping to earn a contract for next year so hopefully we get him tied down ASAP.
Good point, get through on Friday and they should get a contract on the table asap
L.T.F.C.
02/09/2017, 4:57 PM
Missed the first half last night as I totally forgot the game was on! Had the happy coincidence of being in the chipper at the time so I had a great time watching!
Didn't see the first goal, the second was great. Kealan Dillon buried the ball across the pitch out to the left wing, but Kaleem intercepted our own pass, passed it to Sully, who slotted between the keeper's legs. They had some great chances, but their finishing was poor. Chambers gave away the penalty, brilliantly saved by Brady.
From the second half performance, I thought Hopkins and Don played well, Jake Kelly was okay when he came on but I don't rate him at all. Great three points!
02/09/2017, 8:36 PM
I was in the same boat LTFC. Didnt realise coming off the 145 bus from city centre thats its a good 20-25 min walk to the ground. If I did do this again would I be better off going to Blackrock directly and where would you go off? I just timed my arrival 5 mins before Sam Verdons 1st goal! from what the lads were telling me Cabo were all over us and should have put us away in the first half.
But the second goal was sublime.. superb pass from Kaleem to Sully who I thought was offside but he must have timed it well! its some run we are on..
I think we can give Cork a game considering way Cork are playing at present. Cant go to damn match as someone else is on annual leave that night so will have to rely on town twitter!