View Full Version : LOI Fixtures October 14th-17th
patrickccfc
14/10/2016, 6:07 PM
Big night in the premier division tonight. Got absolutely drowned walking to the cross, it would want to be worth it. Could be a tricky one with harps still needing points but also maybe we can take a bit of frustration out on them after Tuesday night. Weather is shocking so there's sure to be a small crowd.
Best of luck to shamrock rovers tonight, be great to secure European football next year :cool:
wonder88
14/10/2016, 6:17 PM
Good opportunity for Wexford tonight, if the Galway lads put in a performance anything like last Saturday. It could be difficult for Dundalk, the lack of recovery time must(regardless of what people say) has to have an effect. Win tonight crucial for them.
Pats 1 up in Bray. Yay.
Dundalk bossing it v Rovers but missing quite a few chances. Some miss by McEleny.
14/10/2016, 7:17 PM
Wexford winning and Longford losing - so as it stands, barring a big turnaround in goal difference, Longford will be relegated tonight.
Cork and Dundalk the only two scoreless matches.
14/10/2016, 7:31 PM
Cork 1-0 Harps. 44th minute corner. Harps held out well until then and it's a fairly open game.
patrickccfc
14/10/2016, 7:39 PM
Cork 1-0 Harps. 44th minute corner. Harps held out well until then and it's a fairly open game.
It's fairly open alright but the weather is absolutely atrocious, ball holding up when a pass is attempted. Good to get the break through before half time.
14/10/2016, 8:10 PM
Farcical conditions in Cork led to their second goal. It's ten times worse than it was in Sligo when the game was called off.
14/10/2016, 8:14 PM
Rovers' defence would be a shambles at under 10 level calling for offside for that second goal
14/10/2016, 8:18 PM
The Town doing it in tonight. This run in is epic.
There was an actual yelp in the pub tonight when the Massey's goal was scored (match isn't on the TV).
Amazing what a bit of success does for a team. It's a long time since Petrolgate.
14/10/2016, 8:21 PM
Wexford 5-0 up on Galway. Feck sake.
14/10/2016, 8:23 PM
Wexford 5-0 Galway now.
Thankfully Tommy Dunne is gone. I wonder did his replacement say "Well we won't lose 5-0 again" after losing to Cork?
14/10/2016, 8:24 PM
Wexford 5-0 Galway now.
Thankfully Tommy Dunne is gone. I wonder did his replacement say "Well we won't lose 5-0 again" after losing to Cork?
I wonder did the players say "let's make a few quid on this one".
WoodquayBoy
14/10/2016, 8:28 PM
Wexford 5-0 Galway now.
Just goes to show Dunne wasn't the problem, the players are. 5-0 defeat last week, 5-0 so far tonight
Pats 1 up in Bray. Yay.
Oh FFS. One up to 2-1 down, for the second game in a row against Bray. Worst season since the Jeff Kenna horror show for Pats. Horrible times. Just let it end now. Dread to think what Cork and Dundalk are going to do to us. What's really depressing is that there is no reason to believe it will be any better next season.
14/10/2016, 8:36 PM
Comeback on in Galway. 5-2 now.
14/10/2016, 8:41 PM
5-3 in Wexford!
14/10/2016, 8:42 PM
5-4! Holy fook..
El-Pietro
14/10/2016, 9:03 PM
Farcical conditions in Cork led to their second goal. It's ten times worse than it was in Sligo when the game was called off.
If it wasn't for our fixture list I'd say theres a good chance the game would have been called off.
To be fair, we'd have scored a bunch more but for the weather. Dooley and O'Connor kept leaving the ball behind them when attempting to dribble.
patrickccfc
14/10/2016, 9:25 PM
If there was a game that I felt dundalk could slip up in, it was tonight. Can't see them dropping points anywhere else now.
Definitely could've had a few more tonight but the ball held up every time a through ball was played in. As said above, it probably would've been called off it it wasn't for our fixture list.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/10/2016, 9:41 PM
If there was a game that I felt dundalk could slip up in, it was tonight. Can't see them dropping points anywhere else now.
Definitely could've had a few more tonight but the ball held up every time a through ball was played in. As said above, it probably would've been called off it it wasn't for our fixture list.
Shams are a mess at the moment. One of their easier games of the run in.
placid casual
14/10/2016, 9:51 PM
We've qualified for europe, and we're trying out some kids.
no big deal.
says a lot about the league that a very very mediocre side like Rovers can finish ahead of 8 other teams.
fair play to dundalk by the way. they do play better away from home in my opinion
WoodquayBoy
14/10/2016, 10:18 PM
Grass as opposed to plastic
jinxy lilywhite
14/10/2016, 10:35 PM
no big deal.
says a lot about the league that a very very mediocre side like Rovers can finish ahead of 8 other teams.
fair play to dundalk by the way. they do play better away from home in my opinion
We were at home :p
Great win. Disappointed we didn't score more to get the gd up a little. Rovers were awful.
Not over yet. 3 wins out of 4.
sbgawa
14/10/2016, 10:36 PM
no big deal.
Agreed . Sign some decent experienced players with the right attitude for next season and we will be fine.
White Horse
14/10/2016, 10:56 PM
Whoever is the manager of Shamrock Rovers has some big decision to make for next season. The positive is that there was no shortage of effort from most of the players. They were outclassed but they never stopped trying.
I didn't realise Miele was on the pitch until he was subbed. What has happened to him? Some say he is heading to Dundalk. If so, Kenny might to having second thoughts after that anonymous performance.
Simon Madden is in serious decline. Rovers would be well rid of him.
15/10/2016, 12:33 AM
Thought we really put it up to Dundalk for the first two or three minutes.
15/10/2016, 12:35 AM
Whoever is the manager of Shamrock Rovers has some big decision to make for next season. The positive is that there was no shortage of effort from most of the players. They were outclassed but they never stopped trying.
I didn't realise Miele was on the pitch until he was subbed. What has happened to him? Some say he is heading to Dundalk. If so, Kenny might to having second thoughts after that anonymous performance.
Simon Madden is in serious decline. Rovers would be well rid of him.
Miele's contracted for next year. Which is just as well for him because he's been awful the past few months.
joey B
15/10/2016, 12:45 AM
The relegation battle isn't quite settled yet thanks to Galway forgetting to start a back four! But in fairness Wexford will need to find results in Cork and Sligo a tough ask ,too tough im hoping!!!
Ezeikial
15/10/2016, 9:31 AM
The gap between Rovers and Dundalk just continues to grow.
When you consider that the Rovers margue close-season signings were Dean Clarke and Gary Shaw it is perhaps not surprising. There may be some potential in some young Rovers lads - Sean Boyd and Trevor Clarke have provided some glimpses over the season - but the difference between the teams last night was massive.
6-0 would not have flattered Dundalk.
legendz
15/10/2016, 9:44 AM
The gap between Rovers and Dundalk just continues to grow.I suppose along with Dundalk's quality, they have the football intelligence to learn from their European experience against tougher opponents?
poster
15/10/2016, 10:18 AM
We've qualified for europe,
Not yet you haven't.
D24Saint
15/10/2016, 10:23 AM
Awful awful evening in Bray id rather a trip to the dentist than having to endure any more of the drivel that we have been dishing up this season just want to see the back of season 2016.
White Horse
15/10/2016, 10:42 AM
Great to hear some of the Dundalk lads and Stephen Kenny on RTE radio with Marian Finucane this morning.
The national broadcaster should be getting behind the leagues representatives in Europe.
sbgawa
15/10/2016, 11:16 AM
The gap between Rovers and Dundalk just continues to grow.
When you consider that the Rovers margue close-season signings were Dean Clarke and Gary Shaw it is perhaps not surprising. There may be some potential in some young Rovers lads - Sean Boyd and Trevor Clarke have provided some glimpses over the season - but the difference between the teams last night was massive.
6-0 would not have flattered Dundalk.
In fairness to Stephen bradley he's ditched a lot of seasoned pros rather then continue with guys with poor attitudes...he has almost (quick prayer) qualified us for europe when under fenlen it looked unlikely...he's also blooded a load of young guys that will grow for the experience. Id give him a cracker at next season.
15/10/2016, 11:29 AM
Awful awful evening in Bray id rather a trip to the dentist than having to endure any more of the drivel that we have been dishing up this season just want to see the back of season 2016.
Absolutely. Horrible, horrible season, even though we won a trophy. Hard to know where we go from here. We've disimproved every season since we won the league. If we're not going to have the quality of that side you'd at least like to see a bit of fight and competitiveness from the team. We've still got some good players, which makes it more frustrating. Clarke, O'Malley, O'Brien, Bermingham, Hoare, Desmond, Byrne, Fagan, Barker. We shouldn't be 8th in the table.
15/10/2016, 11:34 AM
Most of those you've listed have been stinking this season. Bermo has been very good and Fagan has flashed for some games but the rest have had more poor games than good games this year. Hoare is unrecognisable from the player we saw in 2015
15/10/2016, 11:46 AM
Miele's contracted for next year. Which is just as well for him because he's been awful the past few months.
Any chance Dean Clarke might be leaving?
Ezeikial
15/10/2016, 11:53 AM
In fairness to Stephen bradley he's ditched a lot of seasoned pros rather then continue with guys with poor attitudes...
Agree 100% that credit is due to the Rovers management for this. But how could it be any surprise that Gavin Brennan, Killian Brennan and Danny North would have poor attitudes?
...he's also blooded a load of young guys that will grow for the experience.
Of those who played last night, it is hard to see Trevor Clarke, Sean Boyd, Sean Heaney, James Doona or Luke Kiely turning into medal winners at Shamrock Rovers next season.
Maybe the ambition is to replace UCD as the prime developer of young players?
sbgawa
15/10/2016, 12:11 PM
Agree 100% that credit is due to the Rovers management for this. But how could it be any surprise that Gavin Brennan, Killian Brennan and Danny North would have poor attitudes?
Of those who played last night, it is hard to see Trevor Clarke, Sean Boyd, Sean Heaney, James Doona or Luke Kiely turning into medal winners at Shamrock Rovers next season.
Clarke and boyd are Def good enough remember they are only 18 . So are a few of the others at least to be squad members while they develop. Clubs ambition will be shown by the next signings. I'm hopeful from what I'm hearing but I guess time will tell.
White Horse
15/10/2016, 12:25 PM
Clarke and boyd are Def good enough remember they are only 18 . So are a few of the others at least to be squad members while they develop. Clubs ambition will be shown by the next signings. I'm hopeful from what I'm hearing but I guess time will tell.
If Rovers get in some senior players with good attitudes and combine that with the undoubted talent of some of the homegrown younger lads, there could be the makings of a good team. I do get the impression that there are too many voices at Rovers, all pulling in different directions.
The usual swapping of players with Pats will not work this time.
dublinwanderer
15/10/2016, 12:38 PM
terrible conditions in bray last night but fair play to both teams in trying to play football. I think Bray were the better team over the 90 and really tried to pass the ball around. 2 good set piece goals from great corners by Lynch. Cherrie will be disappointed with conceding the Pats goal though.
Good form continues for Bray with Rovers away and Cork home left, will be an interesting end of season and even more interesting off season with rumours of more strengthening being confirmed all before Christmas!
placid casual
15/10/2016, 1:18 PM
Not yet you haven't.
good man. i wasnt in great form after last nights game, but you've just made me laugh.;)
keep your fingers crossed eh!
Kingswood Rover
15/10/2016, 1:43 PM
Shamrock Rovers really struggling, Duffer looking perplexed on the bench i am all for giving youth a chance but it has to be in a nurturing way. We are so far of the pace now its mid table humdrumness for us for the next few seasons. As for the 3 wise men that pick the team, too many cooks methinks.
JDsJocks
15/10/2016, 2:14 PM
I thought Chris Shields was immense when he came on to replace O'Donnell. Really important player for them over the next few weeks.
15/10/2016, 3:11 PM
UCD 0-1 Dundalk
Rovers 0-3 Dundalk
They've a way to go to catch us it seems. :-) (And that's not something I get to say every day!)
Most of those you've listed have been stinking this season. Bermo has been very good and Fagan has flashed for some games but the rest have had more poor games than good games this year. Hoare is unrecognisable from the player we saw in 2015
Maybe so, but they are still our best players I think. I left Jamie McGrath out of the list, who also hasn't done much this year but is still among the best we have. The Dennehys, Cawley, Kelly, Corcoran and possibly Timlin should all go. We will possibly go the same route as Rovers next year and bring more kids through. Have heard lots of good things about Markey, but he hasn't broken through yet. Freely looks very promising at the back. Midfield is our major problem, and a new striker is going to be needed when Fagan goes (as he surely will).
sbgawa
15/10/2016, 3:36 PM
If Rovers get in some senior players with good attitudes and combine that with the undoubted talent of some of the homegrown younger lads, there could be the makings of a good team. I do get the impression that there are too many voices at Rovers, all pulling in different directions.
The usual swapping of players with Pats will not work this time.
Couldn't agree more. Only pats player I'd like is Christy fagen. As regards pulling in different directions the clear out should help with that.
sbgawa
15/10/2016, 4:39 PM
UCD 0-1 Dundalk
Rovers 0-3 Dundalk
They've a way to go to catch us it seems. :-) (And that's not something I get to say every day!)
: )
Yossarian
15/10/2016, 6:50 PM
and a new striker is going to be needed when Fagan goes (as he surely will).
Any word on where he'll go or if he'll stay? I'd love to see him at Dundalk. McMillan has scored 15 league goals this season, a fit Christy Fagan would be getting nearly 30 in that team.
15/10/2016, 7:24 PM
Any chance Dean Clarke might be leaving?
Doubt it. Think he's signed for next year and assume he'd prefer to live in Dublin.