View Full Version : LOI Fixtures October 14th-17th

Pages : 1 2 [3]

17/10/2016, 11:22 PM
I thought they brought in a rule after we had Richie Ryan and Blinkhorn miss the 2010 cup final with yellow cards totting up that players wouldn't miss the cup final cause of yellow cards anymore?
That's right. Players will only miss the cup final if they're serving a red card suspension

wonder88
17/10/2016, 11:23 PM
Sad to see that crowd figure at Pats. They really need to do some basic promotion/marketing of the club and what they have to offer. What not offer some free/cheap tickets for a game like tonight to youngsters etc for example.

White Horse
18/10/2016, 12:07 AM
Thought the presidents cup was a turning of the tides kind of game and that belief was reinforced by the two victories over ye after that.

Too much was read into those games. The same weaknesses continue to exist. No plan B except hoof it to the little man.

18/10/2016, 1:55 AM
Sad to see that crowd figure at Pats. They really need to do some basic promotion/marketing of the club and what they have to offer. What not offer some free/cheap tickets for a game like tonight to youngsters etc for example.

Well Caulfield did say that it was unusual playing with no atmosphere and that his team were lulled in to that lack of urgency and hence lost the game! So on this occasion a low crowd turnout would seeming have helped us!!

18/10/2016, 1:59 AM
Jesus, I thought Rovers managers were good at making excuses. That's an absolute banger. Fair play.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
18/10/2016, 7:54 AM
Well Caulfield did say that it was unusual playing with no atmosphere and that his team were lulled in to that lack of urgency and hence lost the game! So on this occasion a low crowd turnout would seeming have helped us!!

How many fans did a Cork team challenging for the league bring?

Real ale Madrid
18/10/2016, 8:15 AM
Jesus, I thought Rovers managers were good at making excuses. That's an absolute banger. Fair play.

Has said stuff like that on numerous occasions. Had a go off Limerick one time before they moved in to Markets Field and after another Pats game complained that Dublin clubs don't market their games.

Manager in blaming everyone but himself shocker. Caulfield is just more creative than most. I'm sure he'll move onto Dugout positioning and fixture congestion in the future.

jinxy lilywhite
18/10/2016, 9:08 AM
Question for Cork fans do you think postponing the 3rd dundalk fixture from sept to October would of made a difference?

18/10/2016, 9:33 AM

If only they had thought of that. Like most LOI clubs I have no doubt they are doing their best but a meaningless game on a Monday night on the back of a woeful season and up against the biggest fixture in the English calendar was always going to be near impossible to sell.

El-Pietro
18/10/2016, 10:08 AM
How many fans did a Cork team challenging for the league bring?
The league was over before last night.

El-Pietro
18/10/2016, 10:09 AM
Question for Cork fans do you think postponing the 3rd dundalk fixture from sept to October would of made a difference?
In hindsight maybe. We were unlucky in that the same two players got called up again ahead of the Dundalk game. I don't think we could have beaten you without Kevin and Seanie. But by the time we played you Kevin was dead on his feet. He should have been taken off when we were 3-0 up in Galway.

I stand behind postponing the game though. We would have been playing with two hands tied behind our backs.

oriel
18/10/2016, 2:13 PM
I think Cork are a good side, the problem is they have been up against a brilliant side for the last 2 seasons, and a very good side for 2014, for me this was Cork's best chance to win the league (2014). That last game they 'only' needed a draw but Dundalk won it easily in the end. I think overall the amount of missed opportunities will haunt them more than anything.

The loss and draw at home to Sligo and Bohs in the same week this season, that Dundalk lost away to Galway and Bray, both suffering euro hangovers, was a huge turning point and it was the chance for Cork to take advantage and they couldn't. They also drew too many games, and this took away from the two wins over Dundalk. I still think Cork improved on last year, now they will need to improve again to challenge next season, coming runners up 3 years in a row is tough though. There is no doubt about that.

Older members might recall Bohs had something similar with the 4 in a row Rovers team from 84-87, think they came 2nd to Rovers at least twice, then for added insult Rovers took their best players too.

Would Cork fans consider winning the FAI Cup to be a successful season ? Its nothing to be sniffed at, I think it should be seen as a good season if they win it. Also Dundalk will be back from a fairly tough evening you would think in St Petersberg. I think I heard the plans are to stay an extra night in Russia on the Thursday night, and travel back on Friday, but its still going to be a tough preparation.

El-Pietro
18/10/2016, 2:22 PM
Ask me on the day. Right now it feels like a consolation at best. I think this is the closest we've come to winning a title. I know we took it to the last day in 2014, but that was a weird season with a lot of last minute winners, and we didn't ever really think we had a chance, up until Dundalk started dropping points late on. This year felt like the year we were going to do it.
Maybe if last weeks game had been held the Sunday or Monday after the season ended we'd have run you closer. I think after losing last week the title was gone. Maybe if Rovers had done something on Friday we might have had a chance, but heads were down on Friday, and I'd say similar last night.

Tiredness comes in many forms. Physical tiredness is one thing, but while we were fighting for the title it was easy to ignore. I'm sure Dundalk are physically exhausted, but mentally they are able to keep going because they have so much left to fight for. Our team has nothing left to play for now, not in the league at least.

18/10/2016, 3:04 PM
To be fair to Cork, I saw the same thing happen with Pats in 2012. We ran Sligo close but when they beat us, we just stopped playing and Drogheda ended up 2nd. No doubt Pats were the 2nd best team though

The difference was Pats went on to win the league in 2013 of course.

Cork looked all out of idea last night. Clearly a one off as they showed in the cup game how superior they are to Pats. The only issue now is Caulfield the man to bring them on? They will hardly get a better chance to win the league as this year

18/10/2016, 7:56 PM
Cork looked all out of idea last night. Clearly a one off as they showed in the cup game how superior they are to Pats. The only issue now is Caulfield the man to bring them on? They will hardly get a better chance to win the league as this year

In fairness to Pats as well, I think we showed a good bit more fight in the game last night than we did in the semi final. I don't know why this would be the case, logically you'd have thought it should have been the other way around. I can't help thinking if we'd shown that attitude more often during the season we could have got Europe again. Let's face it, neither Rovers or Derry are anything special.

placid casual
18/10/2016, 9:17 PM
If pats didnt have Christy Fagan, they'd be relegation material.
you better hope he signs up again next year. you should expect a brennan or two anyway!:p

disgruntled
19/10/2016, 11:08 AM
I think Cork are a good side, the problem is they have been up against a brilliant side for the last 2 seasons, and a very good side for 2014, for me this was Cork's best chance to win the league (2014). That last game they 'only' needed a draw but Dundalk won it easily in the end. I think overall the amount of missed opportunities will haunt them more than anything.

The loss and draw at home to Sligo and Bohs in the same week this season, that Dundalk lost away to Galway and Bray, both suffering euro hangovers, was a huge turning point and it was the chance for Cork to take advantage and they couldn't. They also drew too many games, and this took away from the two wins over Dundalk. I still think Cork improved on last year, now they will need to improve again to challenge next season, coming runners up 3 years in a row is tough though. There is no doubt about that.

Older members might recall Bohs had something similar with the 4 in a row Rovers team from 84-87, think they came 2nd to Rovers at least twice, then for added insult Rovers took their best players too.

Would Cork fans consider winning the FAI Cup to be a successful season ? Its nothing to be sniffed at, I think it should be seen as a good season if they win it. Also Dundalk will be back from a fairly tough evening you would think in St Petersberg. I think I heard the plans are to stay an extra night in Russia on the Thursday night, and travel back on Friday, but its still going to be a tough preparation.

I would agree with what you say.
I look forward to the Cup Final as I see it as a reason for further progress & not as a consolation prize. I think our best eleven can put it up to Dundalk on the day in a one off game. Some of our guys will have a point to prove because it is likely that at least four or five of our present squad won’t be with us next season.

sbgawa
19/10/2016, 4:00 PM
I would agree with what you say.
I look forward to the Cup Final as I see it as a reason for further progress & not as a consolation prize. I think our best eleven can put it up to Dundalk on the day in a one off game. Some of our guys will have a point to prove because it is likely that at least four or five of our present squad won’t be with us next season.

Who do you think will be leaving your squad?

disgruntled
24/10/2016, 11:09 AM
Who do you think will be leaving your squad?

I would expect Healy,Holohan,Turner, D Morrissey & probably Mulcahy to go+one or two keepers.
Most of those were bench players.
If we lose any more then major rebuilding will be needed.