View Full Version : LOI Fixtures October 14th-17th

Pages : 1 [2] 3

patrickccfc
15/10/2016, 7:25 PM
Drogs one up on ucd and cobh one up in athlone. ucd missing out as it stands

patrickccfc
15/10/2016, 7:42 PM
Half time and ucd managed to equalize. Still not enough for them as it stands with cobh winning in athlone

White Horse
15/10/2016, 7:44 PM
I suspect there could be a few more twists and turns in the next 45 minutes.

patrickccfc
15/10/2016, 7:49 PM
I reckon cobh will be grand, can't see them slipping up. Just a case of who comes out on top in Drogheda

Titan
15/10/2016, 8:28 PM
Why was the shels v Waterford game "interrupted" does anyone know?

atfconline
15/10/2016, 8:32 PM
https://twitter.com/RadioCleary/status/787387786835943425

patrickccfc
15/10/2016, 8:34 PM

https://mobile.twitter.com/WaterfordUnited/status/787387460921729024?p=p

gufc2000
15/10/2016, 8:37 PM
Cobh game has finished, they won 2-0. Play-off place secured.

patrickccfc
15/10/2016, 8:39 PM
Delighted for cobh. Not sure if they will make it up this year, but would love if they did.

El-Pietro
15/10/2016, 8:42 PM
Drogheda - Cobh. Assume the Cobh home game will be next Saturday? Hope so anyway, would like to head down to it, and we're playing Friday night.

15/10/2016, 9:15 PM
Any word on where he'll go or if he'll stay? I'd love to see him at Dundalk. McMillan has scored 15 league goals this season, a fit Christy Fagan would be getting nearly 30 in that team.

Nope, no inside info. Can't see him staying though, unfortunately. I'd imagine you lot are probably favourites to get him, now that you've got literally gazillions in the bank (bastids :()

Hope he's a massive flop for you (not bitter as you can see )

15/10/2016, 9:20 PM
A top-quality striker and goalkeeper are probably the only things Dundalk are missing, and even so they've got on pretty well without. A fit Fagan up there would be ominous for Cork and the rest of the league.

HarpoJoyce
15/10/2016, 9:48 PM
Drogs 2:1 UCD
Drogheda had the better of the opening minutes, hitting the post. UCD had chances to win but Stephen McGuinness was excellent. Stretched full length in the first half. Then twice pushed efforts onto the bar from Jay Mclelland and Greg Sloggett.

UCD FANS were well looked after by Drogheda Utd. Best of Luck in the Play-Offs.

Ezeikial
15/10/2016, 9:56 PM
A top-quality striker and goalkeeper are probably the only things Dundalk are missing, and even so they've got on pretty well without. A fit Fagan up there would be ominous for Cork and the rest of the league.

Apart from a goalkeeper and striker, I'd also expect Stephen Kenny to be targeting a right winger plus a replacement for Horgan if he moves.

There may be further recruitment, depending on what other squad players move on

15/10/2016, 10:10 PM
I'd also expect Stephen Kenny to be targeting a right winger
Chris Turner?

Ezeikial
15/10/2016, 10:17 PM
Chris Turner?

Can Gary Twigg play right wing?

Edit: There is probably as much chance of Neale Fenn being offered terms as either of the above

15/10/2016, 10:21 PM
I was referring to http://www.theredcard.ie/news/?p=1101 :)

Titan
15/10/2016, 11:03 PM
https://twitter.com/RadioCleary/status/787387786835943425

https://mobile.twitter.com/WaterfordUnited/status/787387460921729024?p=p

Thanks.
thought it was odd but actually probably to be expected.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
16/10/2016, 8:34 AM
In fairness to Stephen bradley he's ditched a lot of seasoned pros rather then continue with guys with poor attitudes...he has almost (quick prayer) qualified us for europe when under fenlen it looked unlikely...he's also blooded a load of young guys that will grow for the experience. Id give him a cracker at next season.

Ye were fourth with Fenlon (29 points from 16 matches) and still fourth with Bradley (22 points from 15 matches). Europe was maybe looking unlikely with Fenlon as it looked like it might only be the top 3 in the league that got it. Definitely gone backwards since the switch but it's the LOI so everything could change next season.

Sean South
16/10/2016, 9:22 AM

BD protest over the move to Dalymount

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TytEmFoipWQ

16/10/2016, 9:52 AM
That's the biggest turnout of them I've seen in about ten years.

They should do kiddie candle waving day every week.

sbgawa
16/10/2016, 9:58 AM
[QUOTE=Nah Nah Nah Nah;1894447]Ye were fourth with Fenlon (29 points from 16 matches) and still fourth with Bradley (22 points from 15 matches). Europe was maybe looking unlikely with Fenlon as it looked like it might only be the top 3 in the league that got it. Definitely gone backwards since the switch but it's the LOI so everything could change next season

I agree with the points per game but if fenlon was still here we would be in about the same position playing dull and boring football with none of the young players getting a look in. We are in a far better place now, we just need to sign some decent senior pros with the right attitude.

16/10/2016, 10:53 AM
Nice of the Shels fans to hit the keeper with the flare. ****s.

Hard to have too much sympathy for them really given they sold their ground years ago and were happy to enjoy the days out in the sun it bought them.

Anyways, off to Tolka again next season, annoyingly. Thought we were a better technical side than Drogheda, but struggled to create too many openings. Drogheda had an advantage in that they could afford to sit back and hit us on the break, which they did well. But still, hardly out of the top three all season, hit the bar twice in the last match, couple of penalty calls turned down, and then dumped down to fourth on the last day. Not fun...

Sean South
16/10/2016, 11:19 AM
That's the biggest turnout of them I've seen in about ten years.

They should do kiddie candle waving day every week.
You must be a OAP. Most BD lads are in their 20s and 30s

16/10/2016, 1:58 PM
It's kind of hard for me to know. Most BD lads don't go to games and I'm not a member. :good:

I withdraw my comment. Those are mainly fully grown men showing up for one game to protest against nothing. :good:

RathfarnhamHoop
16/10/2016, 5:42 PM
Of those who played last night, it is hard to see Trevor Clarke, Sean Boyd, Sean Heaney, James Doona or Luke Kiely turning into medal winners at Shamrock Rovers next season.

Maybe not next season but youve got to remember their ages and especially Clarke (out of position due to Osam and Byrne being out for the season pretty much) and Boyd have been really good this year. Heaney has the makings of a very good defender and id back him to make a real impact next year with the right center back partner(s). So yeah maybe not league winners next year without serious additions but a 2nd/3rd finish would be great then maybe in two seasons push for the league. Thats the problem with the LOI everyone only looks to the next year instead of 3/5 years down the line and id much rather win regular titles down the line with a bunch of players developed in the club than win one next year then none for a while then another with the same old journey men.

Simon Madden is in serious decline. Rovers would be well rid of him.
Are you being sarcastic or do you just not know who Madden is? Been brilliant all year and still probably one of the best right backs in the league.

White Horse
16/10/2016, 5:53 PM
Are you being sarcastic or do you just not know who Madden is? Been brilliant all year and still probably one of the best right backs in the league.

I watched him, home and away, for a couple of seasons when he was the best right back in the league.

16/10/2016, 5:56 PM
Fair play to you for spending that much time following Derry City up and down the country.

legendz
16/10/2016, 8:57 PM
Fair play to Cobh for making the play-offs.

patrickccfc
17/10/2016, 7:04 PM
Pats 1 up on us, Fagan with the goal

patrickccfc
17/10/2016, 7:35 PM
1-1, Benno

patrickccfc
17/10/2016, 8:31 PM
Didn't see this happening tonight, but we are heading for a defeat. Vernon puts pats back in front.

patrickccfc
17/10/2016, 8:38 PM
Christ, 3-1.

Very disappointing this

WoodquayBoy
17/10/2016, 8:42 PM
That's a result - and that's the title

Yossarian
17/10/2016, 8:43 PM
Didn't see that coming but very happy. One win needed to win the league now.

patrickccfc
17/10/2016, 8:49 PM
Didn't see that coming but very happy. One win needed to win the league now.

Congratulations lads. Possibly the best of the 3 title wins? We try again next year.

P.S Please let us have the cup at least

D24Saint
17/10/2016, 8:53 PM
Delighted with that really helps raise the spirts , what a cracker by Sam Verdon.

Yossarian
17/10/2016, 9:01 PM
P.S Please let us have the cup at least

Eh no! The results tonight will also help the fixture congestion. If we beat Bohs then the last two games are meaningless.

On the cup final, I saw a tweet that said Bolgers yellow was his 8th of the season so he could miss the final.

ger121
17/10/2016, 9:03 PM
A week and a half ago it looked like City had turned it around. 3 games later it's 'Good night Vienna' It is the #GreatestLeagueInTheWorld

jinxy lilywhite
17/10/2016, 9:08 PM
Fantastic achievement. This was the most impressive of the other 2. Taking into account the European matches and that it was a phenomenonal achievement.
I actually did think Cork would catch us and win the title even after last week's match but words cannot describe this team

Really do feel for Cork as they are a good team and deserve some reward for it. Thankfully they have the presidents cup

patrickccfc
17/10/2016, 9:14 PM
On the cup final, I saw a tweet that said Bolgers yellow was his 8th of the season so he could miss the final.

I'm always for keeping these things separate. Suspensions in the cup should be only for cards accumulated in the cup.

Kiki Balboa
17/10/2016, 9:20 PM
A lot of Dundalk fans (well the ones I know) did not think we had the legs for both a european run and another league... I think cork dropped points at important moments to drive that home and missed an opportunity. In saying that its not over yet , but it certainly gives dundalk a lot more room to rest players coming into the final and other European games.

Side note, only 300-400 at the Pats game ? (I have seen on twitter)... If thats true , what an absolute shame. They won the league only 3 years ago and did well in europe this year. No mid table team in Ireland should have that crowd anyways on a monday or not.

sparky12345678
17/10/2016, 9:20 PM
The results tonight will also help the fixture congestion. If we beat Bohs then the last two games are meaningless.

Fair play.
I hope they can go into the Zenit game on a bit of a high now and not be too tired... would be a pity in the home leg to get hammered... :S

patrickccfc
17/10/2016, 9:21 PM
Really do feel for Cork as they are a good team and deserve some reward for it. Thankfully they have the presidents cup

Your compassion doesn't soften the blow. Very frustrating if it weren't for ye, we could be the ones getting the three in a row. Thought the presidents cup was a turning of the tides kind of game and that belief was reinforced by the two victories over ye after that. The critical part was the games we dropped points in after we exited Europe. 7 days ago I thought we would do it, and now here we are 7 points behind. Football is a strange old game.

Kiki Balboa
17/10/2016, 9:29 PM
Your compassion doesn't soften the blow. Very frustrating if it weren't for ye, we could be the ones getting the three in a row. Thought the presidents cup was a turning of the tides kind of game and that belief was reinforced by the two victories over ye after that. The critical part was the games we dropped points in after we exited Europe. 7 days ago I thought we would do it, and now here we are 7 points behind. Football is a strange old game.

Yeah, must be a strange feeling to finish second 3 times. I thought the changing point for Dundalk was wining the league Cup in 2014, and so the presidents cup could have been for cork, as its always important to break that duck. This is the first year that Cork ended with a better head to head in the league and to still not push it to the end must be frustrating. Cork did look like a different animal with Maguire up front and are kind of in an Arsenal position now, would take a brave/reckless (only time would tell) decision to get rid of caulfield

oriel
17/10/2016, 9:40 PM
I always believed Dundalk would win it, even with the european matches and the run of league games to squeeze in, as apart from the Zenit match, Cork had the same schedule. I just felt Kenny had the players focused, and apart from the Sligo blip, it never really looked like we would allow Cork to get past us. Cork may have got a huge boost with that 5-0 away win in Galway, but they still had to come to Dundalk and win, I never thought that would happen, we were stronger all over the park that night.

It is a fair suggestion though, if it wasn't for Dundalk and Kenny, Cork could possibly won a league during 2014-16, but I`m not so sure Caulfield is the right man, he doesn't strike me as a league winning manager. He has a chance in the cup final though to finally get some silverware.

On the near certainty that we do win the league now, this has to be one of the best ever league titles by Dundalk given the progress the club has made in Europe with a chance of making the last 32 in the EL.

If we do win it on Sunday night at home to Bohs, that will be title no 12 for the club, incredible achievement really, considering 8 seasons from 1999/00 to 2008 were spent in the FD, and before 2014 it was 19 years since the last title.

17/10/2016, 9:44 PM
Side note, only 300-400 at the Pats game ? (I have seen on twitter)... If thats true , what an absolute shame. They won the league only 3 years ago and did well in europe this year. No mid table team in Ireland should have that crowd anyways on a monday or not.

Yeah, very poor crowd. I'm didn't think it was that low (I'd have thought maybe double that ?) but I couldn't see the full stand from where I was. Regardless, we should be doing much better. Combination I think of our pretty lousy season, Monday night, and Man U/Liverpool on the box.

The result helped though :p Probably our best performance of the season, for spirit and guts alone. This team doesn't show enough fight and commitment for my liking at times, but it was there tonight. Get O'Brien typified it,terrific performance. Two lovely goals from Christy Fagan (trying to curry favour with his new employers ?) and especialy Sam Verdon. Would have preferred that performance in the cup, but such is life.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
17/10/2016, 9:58 PM
Eh no! The results tonight will also help the fixture congestion. If we beat Bohs then the last two games are meaningless.

I thought they brought in a rule after we had Richie Ryan and Blinkhorn miss the 2010 cup final with yellow cards totting up that players wouldn't miss the cup final cause of yellow cards anymore?

17/10/2016, 10:43 PM
Well done Dundalk, best team won in the end (assuming you don't do a Rovers on it).

Ezeikial
17/10/2016, 11:03 PM
Well done Dundalk, best team won in the end (assuming you don't do a Rovers on it).

Devon Lock is dead and buried