View Full Version : LOI & FAI Cup fixtures w/e 2/9/16

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

04/10/2016, 10:48 PM
Finn Harps got a point tonight.

I thought this would be headline news.

patrickccfc
05/10/2016, 7:14 AM
Would I be wrong to assume that the positioning of fans will be the opposite to last year, with our fans being on the smaller side? Or how is that decided?

On the attack last night, those scumbags, that bottled a 14 year old and pushed an elderly man to the ground, I hope their caught, named and shamed. Absolutely disgusting.

GCdfc
05/10/2016, 7:48 AM
Great to win last night. Another big day in Landsdowne. It's also great to see Shiels have another rant!

Sad that there was trouble yet again in Derry. I know a lot of people who won't travel there because of safety. http://talkofthetown.ie/dundalk-fans-attacked-in-derry-following-fai-cup-semi-final-victory/

In a statement Derry-based Sinn Féin councillor Patricia Logue insisted that those responsible for the attacks did not represent the community or Derry City Football Club, instead attributing the incident to a gang “intent on starting trouble, causing injury and damaging property.”

Typical Sinn Fein. Not our problem. Well it is your problem. It is your community where you live. Help get the police in to prevent it from happening again. It's time to drag the city out of the middle ages.

Surely the FAI have to do something about it. Maybe time to give Shiels something else to whine about and have Derry games in a neutral venue.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
05/10/2016, 7:56 AM
Finn Harps got a point tonight.

I thought this would be headline news.

We haven't scored in 5 games now and with the run ye had been on 0-0 was an obvious bet (that I didn't do).

Ezeikial
05/10/2016, 8:00 AM
Surely the FAI have to do something about it. Maybe time to give Shiels something else to whine about and have Derry games in a neutral venue.

This probably should have a separate thread (is there one already existing?)

Why are there insufficient measures in place for the safety of visitors?

05/10/2016, 8:01 AM
A draw was 3/1 before the game. Wish I'd lumped on really.

GCdfc
05/10/2016, 8:10 AM
This probably should have a separate thread (is there one already existing?)

Why are there insufficient measures in place for the safety of visitors?

Maybe two threads. Kenny Shiels rants probably deserves one by itself.

White Horse
05/10/2016, 8:31 AM
Would I be wrong to assume that the positioning of fans will be the opposite to last year, with our fans being on the smaller side? Or how is that decided?

It is an FAI occasion, so they have to make the call.

Their expectation last year was that Cork would bring a lot more fans than Dundalk, understandably so given that Cork has four or five times the population of Dundalk. It didn't work out that way.

However, I would expect Cork to bring a lot more fans this year. Cork were way off Dundalk last year and many lukewarm fans might have been put off making the long and expensive trip. Cork are a completely different proposition this year as there is nothing between the teams.

Ezeikial
05/10/2016, 9:08 AM
Cork are a completely different proposition this year as there is nothing between the teams.

Cork have definitely improved and narrowed the gap this season over last, but this is being a tad generous.......

El-Pietro
05/10/2016, 9:14 AM
Cork have definitely improved and narrowed the gap this season over last, but this is being a tad generous.......

Yeah, given that we've beaten you three times this season there clearly is a gap.

05/10/2016, 9:29 AM
Well, here we are again. From what I can gather, there was a bit of a shouting match between some Dundalk fans and the local scumbags, and a bottle got thrown which hit a young Dundalk fan.
Separate to that (but likely by the same scumbags), the bus that was parked beside the Gasyard was vandalised.
Whilst the bus incident could have been prevented by parking in the main car park, it doesn't excuse it.
For what it's worth, the young lad is OK, and the Dundalk fans were taken home on one our supporters' club buses.

Fact is that of all LoI grounds, the Brandywell is in the roughest area. The problems aren't related solely to Derry matches (building a bonfire on a dual-carriageway, for example). Other towns have the same issues, but don't have the main football stadium bang in the middle of it. The problems in that area of town will take some solving, and I don't think the club can really do all that much about it.
It was interesting to note that some of the more 'traditional' Republican politicians were about last night, condemning it all. Same fellas a few months ago were quite defensive of them, maybe we're seeing a change?
I wouldn't blame any away fan for not going to the Brandy, it puts enough Derry people off from going to. Fact is though that we're not moving from there, unfortunately, so a big effort is needed locally to sort this out once and for all.

One the match, better team won. Dundalk had less chances, but took what they created. Some complaints about the penalty, but I think it was the correct decision, by the additonal assistant, I might add.
What I've noticed is that whilst the gap between Dundalk and the rest of the league may not be massive, what really helps is that Dundalk don't really make many mistakes. I noticed one obvious one last night. We made countless.
One weird moment was after Kilduff scored and started aggressively goading us. We were left thinking 'we did we do to ye?'. I quite like Kilduff and Dundalk in general, thought it was strange. Kind of reminded me of when Gerard Doherty done the same thing in Turner's Cross. They haven't forgiven him since, it's pretty funny.

Yossarian
05/10/2016, 9:41 AM

I would imagine it will be the same. It makes logistical sense having Dundalk fans in the North/East stands as we can exit down Bath Avenue and the buses will be on the road straight to the Eastlink.

Calcio Jack
05/10/2016, 10:21 AM
Hopefully one of the benefits of Brexit will be the removal of Derry from our league as their cavalier look the other way attitude to away fan safety just isn't acceptable and it appears they have no appetite/inclination/or capability of doing anything about it.

White Horse
05/10/2016, 10:28 AM
Well, here we are again. From what I can gather, there was a bit of a shouting match between some Dundalk fans and the local scumbags, and a bottle got thrown which hit a young Dundalk fan.
Separate to that (but likely by the same scumbags), the bus that was parked beside the Gasyard was vandalised.
Whilst the bus incident could have been prevented by parking in the main car park, it doesn't excuse it.
For what it's worth, the young lad is OK, and the Dundalk fans were taken home on one our supporters' club buses.

Fact is that of all LoI grounds, the Brandywell is in the roughest area. The problems aren't related solely to Derry matches (building a bonfire on a dual-carriageway, for example). Other towns have the same issues, but don't have the main football stadium bang in the middle of it. The problems in that area of town will take some solving, and I don't think the club can really do all that much about it.
It was interesting to note that some of the more 'traditional' Republican politicians were about last night, condemning it all. Same fellas a few months ago were quite defensive of them, maybe we're seeing a change?
I wouldn't blame any away fan for not going to the Brandy, it puts enough Derry people off from going to. Fact is though that we're not moving from there, unfortunately, so a big effort is needed locally to sort this out once and for all.

One the match, better team won. Dundalk had less chances, but took what they created. Some complaints about the penalty, but I think it was the correct decision, by the additonal assistant, I might add.
What I've noticed is that whilst the gap between Dundalk and the rest of the league may not be massive, what really helps is that Dundalk don't really make many mistakes. I noticed one obvious one last night. We made countless.
One weird moment was after Kilduff scored and started aggressively goading us. We were left thinking 'we did we do to ye?'. I quite like Kilduff and Dundalk in general, thought it was strange. Kind of reminded me of when Gerard Doherty done the same thing in Turner's Cross. They haven't forgiven him since, it's pretty funny.

The organisers of the bus that was attacked are extremely grateful to the stewards of Derry City FC. They came to their rescue when they were cornered in a bar by a mob of yobs. The police were called but would not come to the assistance of the stranded Dundalk fans. There lies the problem. Derry City must play in an area that is policed. This has to be sorted out before the start of next season. This is the fundamental issue.

White Horse
05/10/2016, 10:29 AM
I would imagine it will be the same. It makes logistical sense having Dundalk fans in the North/East stands as we can exit down Bath Avenue and the buses will be on the road straight to the Eastlink.

Good thinking. There will be plenty of room for everyone.

dundalkfc10
05/10/2016, 10:34 AM

One weird moment was after Kilduff scored and started aggressively goading us. We were left thinking 'we did we do to ye?'. I quite like Kilduff and Dundalk in general, thought it was strange. Kind of reminded me of when Gerard Doherty done the same thing in Turner's Cross. They haven't forgiven him since, it's pretty funny..

Last time our buses were smashed last season, they were parked in the ground and it happened when exiting the ground!

Time for you to play matches behind closed doors or at neutral venue till ya get the problem solved

El-Pietro
05/10/2016, 10:46 AM
Kind of reminded me of when Gerard Doherty done the same thing in Turner's Cross. They haven't forgiven him since, it's pretty funny.
And we'll never forget it. Its been 8 and a half years now!

Ezeikial
05/10/2016, 10:55 AM
Thanks brendy éire for giving your insights.

I sincerely hope that Derry City FC take a more strident approach

Diluting the responsibility?
What attempts did DCFC make to advise travelling fans of this?

This simply will not cut it!

If the club are unable or unwilling to resolve this, then the FAI or Licencing body will have to.

Ezeikial
05/10/2016, 11:01 AM
Yeah, given that we've beaten you three times this season there clearly is a gap.

Oh dear - there was I thinking that they still used the league table!

If Cork finish as champions, I'll doff my cap to you sir. Until then I'll still believe the evidence of my own eyes

oriel
05/10/2016, 11:38 AM

Ah El P, now behave, it's all about what happens after the fat lady has sung, and she is not even out on stage yet.

We beat Pats twice from 3 league games in 2013 and still finished second to them, a key match was in mid September, when Pats were too strong for Dundalk, won 2-0 and ended up worthy champions.

If Cork win the league, they will also be worthy winners as they will probably have to win again against Dundalk or at least not lose next Tuesday. There are two more games between the two, you could lose both and win nothing, so let's park the 3 wins for now, one of which was a pre season warm up.

The point still remains, Cork have improved this year, no question about that, and they have got closer to the standard Dundalk are at.

ThePrisoner
05/10/2016, 11:39 AM
Apparently, there are 30 Dundalk fans being hid in pub by a brave landlord while a mob of locals try to get in to attack them. Fans are calling the police who tell them that they can't enter the area as it is "unsafe". Is this Ireland in the 21st century?

I know there's a whole 'history and whataboutry' regarding policing in NI but for one of Her Majesty's Constabularies, and the only fully armed and a very well equipped one at that, to state it was 'unsafe' for them to respond just beggars belief.

oriel
05/10/2016, 11:49 AM
Hopefully one of the benefits of Brexit will be the removal of Derry from our league as their cavalier look the other way attitude to away fan safety just isn't acceptable and it appears they have no appetite/inclination/or capability of doing anything about it.

A worrying part of Derry's set up is the policing of this area, we all know the brandywell area has challenges and that the club have struggled to maintain security around the ground, it has to be pointed though out that these type of incidents on away supporters are usually carried out by small mobs from adjoining estates who weren't even at the match.

However in late 2016, it's ridiculous that the Police cannot be called to attend to serious incidents outside or near a football grounds,with the response 'We don't go there'

Has it not been the case in NI that the PSNI have said 'there are zero no go areas for us', it seems ridiculous if this is still not the case. There are plenty of areas around South Armagh for example that I have seen PSNI patrols of late, and for the first time in probably decades.

I was told by two who were at the match that it should be mentioned that DCFC stewards and Derry fans were a great assistance to Dundalk fans last night. However the latest incident is not good news.

Anyway back to football, Derry should still make Europe and that will have to be seen as a successful season. I think there was 3,000 at the match last night, so that shows there is scope for good support. Shiels may be a bit of a crackpot but he's done a very good job this season, no doubt about that.

Ezeikial
05/10/2016, 12:15 PM
I was told by two who were at the match that it should be mentioned that DCFC stewards and Derry fans were a great assistance to Dundalk fans last night. However the latest incident is not good news.

I meant to acknowledge this too in my earlier post. In general, Derry supporters are a great bunch and great craic, whether as visitors to Oriel or as hosts in Derry.

However that does not mask the problem, and it is clear that it is not being dealt with effectively as these incidents rumble on from one season to the next.

It cannot wait for a serious injury or fatality to occur

El-Pietro
05/10/2016, 12:25 PM
Oh dear - there was I thinking that they still used the league table!

If Cork finish as champions, I'll doff my cap to you sir. Until then I'll still believe the evidence of my own eyes
League table is irrelevant in a cup final...

Ezeikial
05/10/2016, 12:30 PM
League table is irrelevant in a cup final...

LOL

But the Presidents Cup win and your two league wins over Dundalk are relevant?

El-Pietro
05/10/2016, 12:38 PM
LOL

But the Presidents Cup win and your two league wins over Dundalk are relevant?
When talking about the cup final yes, in terms of teh gap between the teams in head to head games.

White Horse
05/10/2016, 12:44 PM
When talking about the cup final yes, in terms of teh gap between the teams in head to head games.

They were three very different games. I wouldn't place any importance on a pre-season friendly. Teams use these to build up fitness levels and to experiment with formations.

The game in Oriel was very even, as even as the 2014 decider and the game in 2015.

The key game from Cork's perspective was the game in Turners Cross in June. Cork won that comprehensively by outplaying Dundalk. It was a better performance than the 5-0 win in Tallaght, in my opinion.

05/10/2016, 1:50 PM
Poor quality video, but, regardless, Cretaro couldn't have possibly put this further into the air. Quality.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PsnFYNWJKk4

ToberonaTornado
05/10/2016, 3:12 PM

A can of beer was thrown at Killer when he scored.If it had've been me i'd have climbed in to the stand to get the wee scrote who threw it and fu*k the "goading" as you call it.

Some win for Dundalk and an excellent match.

SwanVsDalton
05/10/2016, 3:32 PM
A worrying part of Derry's set up is the policing of this area, we all know the brandywell area has challenges and that the club have struggled to maintain security around the ground, it has to be pointed though out that these type of incidents on away supporters are usually carried out by small mobs from adjoining estates who weren't even at the match.

However in late 2016, it's ridiculous that the Police cannot be called to attend to serious incidents outside or near a football grounds,with the response 'We don't go there'

Has it not been the case in NI that the PSNI have said 'there are zero no go areas for us', it seems ridiculous if this is still not the case. There are plenty of areas around South Armagh for example that I have seen PSNI patrols of late, and for the first time in probably decades.

What the PSNI say and the reality are two different beasts. There are effective no-go areas in NI, and the Brandywell is just one.

The situation is unsustainable and I think the club has failed to address it. They are right to point out a certain amount of powerlessness, but they can, of course, control where and how away fans enter and exit the ground. That might not entirely solve the issue but to not try something at this point would be a major dereliction. It's embarrassing tbh.

There are zero quick answers to this problem but the club can't sit on its hands or simply say it'll do more with the community. The least fans deserve when travelling to football is to know they will get home safe.

05/10/2016, 4:38 PM
Piece in Derry Journal- DCFC to meet PSNI. http://www.derryjournal.com/news/crime/police-to-meet-with-derry-city-following-attacks-1-7614959

Just read this also: http://www.derryjournal.com/news/crime/disgust-at-attacks-on-dundalk-fans-1-7614274

Colr. Donnelly posted: “Windows were broken, tyres slashed and ‘UTH’ and other slogans sprayed on it.

What the flip is that about? Does UTH have some meaning I don't know about or were these wee scrotes declaring their allegiance to the Harps?

05/10/2016, 4:58 PM
It's the same gombeens who caused a stir in Finn Park earlier this season. They call themselves City Service Crew and are all between around 15 and 18 years old.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
05/10/2016, 8:36 PM
Piece in Derry Journal- DCFC to meet PSNI. http://www.derryjournal.com/news/crime/police-to-meet-with-derry-city-following-attacks-1-7614959

Just read this also: http://www.derryjournal.com/news/crime/disgust-at-attacks-on-dundalk-fans-1-7614274

What the flip is that about? Does UTH have some meaning I don't know about or were these wee scrotes declaring their allegiance to the Harps?

Up The Hoods supposedly.

ToberonaTornado
05/10/2016, 8:54 PM
It's the same gombeens who caused a stir in Finn Park earlier this season. They call themselves City Service Crew and are all between around 15 and 18 years old.

In all fairness to them they run a good bus service ;) More reliable than that Harps54 crew i hear :D

05/10/2016, 9:52 PM
In all fairness to them they run a good bus service ;) More reliable than that Harps54 crew i hear :D

Buses wouldn't be good craic if they were reliable.

EatYerGreens
06/10/2016, 1:09 AM

I'm pretty sure those involved in the hassle outside the Brandywell probably haven't set foot inside a League of Ireland game for a long time, if at all. Its local scrotes out to cause bother, nothing to do with football.

ToberonaTornado
06/10/2016, 1:51 AM

http://www.imcdb.org/i028824.jpg

06/10/2016, 11:14 AM
I'm pretty sure those involved in the hassle outside the Brandywell probably haven't set foot inside a League of Ireland game for a long time, if at all. Its local scrotes out to cause bother, nothing to do with football.

It is if football supporters keep getting attacked:rolleyes:

EatYerGreens
06/10/2016, 2:09 PM
It is if football supporters keep getting attacked:rolleyes:

If you get punched outside a shop, does that mean it's a problem with retail ?

It wasn't one set of football fans attacking another, which is what was being claimed earlier on here.

It was a group of hoods who hadn't been at the game attacking outsiders for sh!ts and giggles. No doubt they'd have been there had it been a late night game of any other sport, so it wasn't specifically about football. They're probably also picking fights with other young lads in the neighbourhood the rest of the time. It wasn't football-related or football-inspired.

06/10/2016, 2:12 PM
Then why did they attack Dundalk fans rather than home fans?

dundalkfc10
06/10/2016, 2:39 PM

It wasn't one set of football fans attacking another, which is what was being claimed earlier on here.

It was a group of hoods who hadn't been at the game attacking outsiders for sh!ts and giggles. No doubt they'd have been there had it been a late night game of any other sport, so it wasn't specifically about football. They're probably also picking fights with other young lads in the neighbourhood the rest of the time. It wasn't football-related or football-inspired.

what nonsense are you talking?

Of course its a football problem, in the last 3 years on the top of my head it has happened us 3 times, Rovers twice, Cork!

The same young lad who was boasting on facebook about attacking fans the other night has a picture of himself and group of lads with a CSC, City Service Crew at a Derry game and this was painted on the sevens bus from Dundalk (pic on twitter)

Why does it not happen when their is GAA on?

ForzaHoop
06/10/2016, 3:14 PM
The same lads who did damage at Harps are in brandywell most weeks, the CSC muppets at the opposite end to away supporters
So unfortunately for the 99% of descent Derry fans these few muppets are ruining things for your Club

06/10/2016, 3:35 PM

Actually you do, pubs and night clubs do have a responsibility for their patrons (in or outside of their premises), not least they wont get a license from the garda (I am from Mullingar, trust me.......I know what I am talking about here, lol!)

It is about football, we are talking about football fans getting regularly attacked while going to see their team play in Derry. Doesn't matter what they do the rest of the time.....

EatYerGreens
06/10/2016, 4:53 PM
Why does it not happen when their is GAA on?

The main reason is probably because the GAA games are on at daytimes, not at night. These problems only seem to happen under the cover of darkness.

Also - the GAA ground in Derry is a bit nearer the city centre, and the main entrances to Celtic Park are towards the city centre rather than the Bogside and Brandywelll. They're also not located next to a badly lit maze-like housing estate where it's easy for people to congregate and then pop out quickly.

sbgawa
06/10/2016, 4:53 PM
800 tickets sold by rovers for the bohs match on Friday !

sbgawa
06/10/2016, 4:54 PM
End of season optimism for next season : )

dundalkfc10
07/10/2016, 9:07 AM
The main reason is probably because the GAA games are on at daytimes, not at night. These problems only seem to happen under the cover of darkness.

Also - the GAA ground in Derry is a bit nearer the city centre, and the main entrances to Celtic Park are towards the city centre rather than the Bogside and Brandywelll. They're also not located next to a badly lit maze-like housing estate where it's easy for people to congregate and then pop out quickly.

You not going to reply to the rest of my post or only the bit where you have an argument?

EatYerGreens
07/10/2016, 2:02 PM
You not going to reply to the rest of my post or only the bit where you have an argument?

I know literally zero about the other stuff you've posted - no idea if it's god's truth or absolute bullcrap. So there's no point in me responding on it really.

dundalkfc10
07/10/2016, 2:26 PM
I know literally zero about the other stuff you've posted - no idea if it's god's truth or absolute bullcrap. So there's no point in me responding on it really.

So your not aware of this happening before?

ToberonaTornado
07/10/2016, 10:13 PM
City service crew or whatever they're called pictured below.:o

The Dundalk supporters mini-bus is clearly daubed 'csc' .

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CuCYNexXgAExpMm.jpghttps://pbs.twimg.com/media/CuCYNzaWgAAQhU5.jpg