View Full Version : LOI & FAI Cup fixtures w/e 2/9/16
White Horse
02/10/2016, 7:08 PM
Very disheartening when you think of the side we had two or three years ago.
The 2013 side had everything you look for in a team. I don't understand how it fell apart for Pats. There is good work been done with younger players, I've been impressed with the u19 teams when I've seen them. What impact will not having European football have on the budget though? The best players are likely to be picked up by other teams.
joey B
02/10/2016, 9:09 PM
Dundalk Derry was an enjoyable game to watch,Derry deserve alot of credit for getting back into it but Dundalk will be kicking themselves ,should have had the game well killed ,Sava didn't cover himself in glory for either goal aswell.
Pats Cork wasn't half as enjoyable,everything about Pats from the crowd to the players and management felt stale ,going through the motions even ,desperate home crowd for a semi final aswell.
Cork should have had a couple more in the 2nd half they didn't even have to play that well actually,if you ever needed a video on how not to defend a 1 on 1 watch Corks third ,Shocking from Dennehy who looked poor all game.
El-Pietro
02/10/2016, 9:10 PM
Great day in Inchicore for City. Decent traveling crowd and I thought we were loud for most of it. Pats were not terrible today, we were just a little better in certain areas. Certainly not a easy victory. I especially enjoyed Maguires first goal. I don't remember him scoring a headed goal before.
That brace takes him to 24 for the season in all competitions.
The result also pretty much finalises the European Qualifiers (though the CL spot is still to be decided). Sligo are 11 points back with a game in hand. 11 points in 5 games is nigh on impossible to make up.
sbgawa
03/10/2016, 1:18 PM
Great day in Inchicore for City. Decent traveling crowd and I thought we were loud for most of it. Pats were not terrible today, we were just a little better in certain areas. Certainly not a easy victory. I especially enjoyed Maguires first goal. I don't remember him scoring a headed goal before.
That brace takes him to 24 for the season in all competitions.
The result also pretty much finalises the European Qualifiers (though the CL spot is still to be decided). Sligo are 11 points back with a game in hand. 11 points in 5 games is nigh on impossible to make up.
Pats are only 8 points Derry and 9 behind Rovers IF (big if) they win their 3 games in hand.
But I agree if rovers or Derry lose it from here we / they don't deserve it.
El-Pietro
03/10/2016, 2:00 PM
Two of Pats games in hand are against Dundalk and City. They have to play us twice. If they can win those games and make up the gap then they will have earned a spot in Europe.
El-Pietro
03/10/2016, 4:21 PM
I must say i've never seen the First Division 2016 Champion Limerick fans so quiet! There goes the unbeaten streak.
Interestingly, Cork City also lost one game in our First Division Championship season in 2011. Also to a fellow Munster side, though ours was in June so we never had any real chance at going the full season unbeaten. Limerick will be a very interesting side to watch in the off season and in the early part of next season. Lots of changes on the way I think (based on nothing but my own opinion and random mutterings here and on twitter and the likes)
legendz
03/10/2016, 5:57 PM
A quick internet poll shows 120% of our fans want Russell gone.
Board need to act quickly.
Hearing rumours some of our travelling support sacked part of cobh aswell.
Which if true is entirely understandable.
Ye'll need the board to make a wise decision with a massive season coming up. There's still a buzz with the return to the Markets Field. Ye had good crowds getting behind the great escape push last season and ye had great support in the league cup final.
People who haven't been going to games are talking of going to games next year as part of night's out. Off the back of Dundalk and Cork going well in Europe as well, there's a strong possibility of getting more people going to games on a regular basis.
Going to Thomond Park to watch Munster was part of many nights out. Limerick are moving in the right direction to be a prominent part of that.
White Horse
03/10/2016, 6:32 PM
Two of Pats games in hand are against Dundalk and City. They have to play us twice. If they can win those games and make up the gap then they will have earned a spot in Europe.
Given their anaemic display yesterday, I would not put any money in it.
Neither would I, sadly. I can see the season petering out big time now.
The point about losing players is a worry. Wouldn't be surprised to see Fagan go.
(I'm feeling super optimistic at the moment, as you can tell :neutral:)
sbgawa
03/10/2016, 7:45 PM
Not getting any euro money next year has to reduce pats budget seriously. You'll do well to hang on to the bigger earners fagen . The dennehys ...it's ridiculous how important the euro money has become.
legendz
03/10/2016, 8:04 PM
Not getting any euro money next year has to reduce pats budget seriously. You'll do well to hang on to the bigger earners fagen . The dennehys ...it's ridiculous how important the euro money has become.
Well ye had the money and it seems a club without it will rise above ye to take the final European place.
sbgawa
03/10/2016, 9:06 PM
Well ye had the money and it seems a club without it will rise above ye to take the final European place.
?? My point is that the euro money is becoming so big that it risks distorting the league. Fair play to derry this year but it means pats are weaker
El-Pietro
03/10/2016, 9:35 PM
Theyd do well to be rid of the Dennehys. Billy anyway.
legendz
03/10/2016, 9:46 PM
?? My point is that the euro money is becoming so big that it risks distorting the league. Fair play to derry this year but it means pats are weaker
If European money was such an advantage we wouldn't be seeing poor Derry take a European place from Pat's. How have ye let the advantage slip? Was money spent badly?
Is it beyond Sligo, Pat's, Galway and Limerick to compete with the current top 4 next season?
Unless the top 4 have less than 7 days between 2 European games ye might exert influence as best ye can that games are not pushed back. Ye can make hay while they are cashing in on the European sunshine! ;)
sbgawa
03/10/2016, 11:02 PM
If European money was such an advantage we wouldn't be seeing poor Derry take a European place from Pat's. How have ye let the advantage slip? Was money spent badly?
Is it beyond Sligo, Pat's, Galway and Limerick to compete with the current top 4 next season?
Unless the top 4 have less than 7 days between 2 European games ye might exert influence as best ye can that games are not pushed back. Ye can make hay while they are cashing in on the European sunshine! ;)
Wow bitter and twisted or what...I hope the sun always shines for you. My point stands I think euro money has thecan end up distorting the league and believe it or not I'm not talking about dundalk ...life outside.....I'm talking about the couple of hundred grand for even one round.
04/10/2016, 12:35 AM
So what exactly is distorting the league? That the top 3 or 4 this season will on merit compete in Europe and reap financial reward? The only thing of recent that was even remotely distorting about clubs' European involvement was UCD's fine displays last season in EL and Shamrock Rovers this season with their relative stature in League of Ireland but Id call that more amusing than distorting!
No offence UCD fan!
White Horse
04/10/2016, 7:24 AM
Wow bitter and twisted or what...I hope the sun always shines for you. My point stands I think euro money has thecan end up distorting the league and believe it or not I'm not talking about dundalk ...life outside.....I'm talking about the couple of hundred grand for even one round.
If your objective is to stop "distorting" factors then you have your work cut out. Lots to do.
No money investment from People like Sullivan and Kelliher.
Clubs with big crowds would need to subsidise clubs with no crowds.
No subsidising of club grounds for the likes of Shamrock Rovers (and Bohs in the future).
sbgawa
04/10/2016, 9:37 AM
If your objective is to stop "distorting" factors then you have your work cut out. Lots to do.
No money investment from People like Sullivan and Kelliher.
Clubs with big crowds would need to subsidise clubs with no crowds.
No subsidising of club grounds for the likes of Shamrock Rovers (and Bohs in the future).
All of the above are valid points to varying degrees but my original point was that I felt sorry for Pats (genuinely !) because if you look at their average crowd basic Maths would dictate that Euro money is almost the same income as a full season of ticket sales (taking into account concessions and season tickets etc).
They are a side that tries to play a decent brand of football (managed by one of the leagues best managers) and their budget for next year will probably be a lot lower meaning they lose some of their better players simply because they didn't qualify for Europe. Lots to do for sure and I don't have the answers, bottom line we need to get bigger crowds and more promotion of the league so that the European money (as well as other things) are less big a factor.
500 extra on the gate at each home match would be almost 200k in revenue....there's the only real answer, Dundalk this year and a repeat by someone next year will help.
El-Pietro
04/10/2016, 10:02 AM
Won't their budget be reduced the year after next? They will get the money from this years Euro run for next season. Its 2018 when they won't have that money, by which point they may have qualified again.
sbgawa
04/10/2016, 10:36 AM
Won't their budget be reduced the year after next? They will get the money from this years Euro run for next season. Its 2018 when they won't have that money, by which point they may have qualified again.
Fair point but either way they will have a gap year, also LOI clubs often borrow against their euro money as they have the expenses involved to pay at the time both travel etc and players bonuses.
But yeah there might be a one year semi safety net, I guess we will know when they are resigning players or next year.
I hope they plug the gap Buckley deserves a bit of luck/credit
Ezeikial
04/10/2016, 10:41 AM
their budget for next year will probably be a lot lower meaning they lose some of their better players simply because they didn't qualify for Europe.
It's chicken and egg -
The loss of some of their better players is the main reason they didn't qualify this season
St Patricks Athletic: Brendan Clarke; Ian Bermingham, Darren Dennehy, Sean Hoare, Ger O’Brien; Lee Desmond, Graham Kelly (Michael Barker, 74) ; Billy Dennehy (Dinny Corcoran, 79), Jamie McGrath, Conan Byrne (Mark Timlin, 74 ); Christy Fagan.
http://www.extratime.ie/articles/17675/fai-cup-report-st-patricks-atheltic-1-3-cork-city/
The absence of Europe along with few realistic prospects of the league could lead to further players wanting to exit.
Christy Fagan and Sean Hoare are the obvious players that might attract attention from the top two, although Ian Bermingham, Conan Byrne and Jamie McGrath are all decent players
dundalkfc10
04/10/2016, 12:06 PM
Anyone know if any radio station in Derry does commentary on their games?
Dundalk FM not travelling
04/10/2016, 12:12 PM
Drive 105 usually have coverage.
jinxy lilywhite
04/10/2016, 12:57 PM
Radio foyle generally have derry matches
04/10/2016, 1:05 PM
Drive 105 as stated, or possibly BBC Radio Foyle. Either way, there'll be live updates at least on both of those. Failing that, you'll be able to get the dodgy BWIN stream somewhere handy.
04/10/2016, 1:18 PM
Both Drive 105 and Radio Foyle will have full commentary.
patrickccfc
04/10/2016, 6:56 PM
Derry 1 up after 3 minutes
White Horse
04/10/2016, 7:26 PM
Dundalk got a penalty. Holy fcuk!
patrickccfc
04/10/2016, 7:35 PM
Dundalk got a penalty. Holy fcuk!
11- 4 now is it?
White Horse
04/10/2016, 7:52 PM
11- 4 now is it?
I expect Kenny to mention that comparison after the match. Managers never miss an opportunity for a moan.
White Horse
04/10/2016, 8:43 PM
Dundalk won 2-1 and take on Cork City in the final.
If the FAI market this right, they could get at least 40,000 in the stadium. But they won't bother their arse.
patrickccfc
04/10/2016, 8:44 PM
So, a repeat of last year it is.
jinxy lilywhite
04/10/2016, 8:45 PM
So, a repeat of last year it is.
Hopefullythe same result too
Ezeikial
04/10/2016, 8:45 PM
If the FAI market this right, they could get at least 40,000 in the stadium. But they won't bother their arse.
The marketing boffins at Ticketmaster will ensure that tickets are hard to get and still only sell half the capacity
patrickccfc
04/10/2016, 8:46 PM
I'm sorry, did you just mention "FAI" and "market" in the same sentence.
patrickccfc
04/10/2016, 8:47 PM
Hopefullythe same result too
I'll disagree with that comment
El-Pietro
04/10/2016, 8:48 PM
Congrats to Dundalk. Will be a great occasion for the final. I wonder how often have two teams had a chance to do a double this late in the season? 2005 we played Derry in the semi when both teams were chasing it.
Listened on the radio, sounded like a good game. Derry gave ye a right battle it seems.
White Horse
04/10/2016, 8:50 PM
The marketing boffins at Ticketmaster will ensure that tickets are hard to get and still only sell half the capacity
Corner sections in the upper tier will go on sale first.
Serious danger that Dundalk and Cork are going to pull well away from the rest of the league for the foreseeable future. On the other hand, it's the LOI, so I'm sure they'll find a way of f**king up and throwing it all away :p
dundalkfc10
04/10/2016, 9:04 PM
Dundalks only bus that travelled tonight, group of 16 year olds attacked leaving the ground and all windows smashed!
No wonder they can't get away crowds!
White Horse
04/10/2016, 9:12 PM
Dundalks only bus that travelled tonight, group of 16 year olds attacked leaving the ground and all windows smashed!
Sorry to hear that. I won't go to the Brandywell by bus. I usually drive and it is never a bother.
Overthemoon
04/10/2016, 9:17 PM
Hope no one hurt, Derry need to do something about it, the supporters are grand but this typpe of thing happens too often that's why the T+M bus hasn't been there in a while, last time we had a cold trip home with missing windows. Sooner or later someone is going to be badly hurt.
patrickccfc
04/10/2016, 9:24 PM
Very disappointing to hear that has happened. Always enjoyed visiting the brandywell, always felt safe there, haven't been there in a few years but it seems this a recurring issue with fans being attacked like this.
White Horse
04/10/2016, 9:36 PM
James Rogers of The Examiner and The Argus tweeted the following:
"A Dundalk supporters minibus was destroyed by fire outside the Brandywell tonight"
Its getting out of hand up there. There must be adequate law enforcement and security to protect the lives of people.
Louth4sam
04/10/2016, 9:46 PM
I find it hard to believe that there are some parts of this island that are completely lawless.
The FAI really need to step in here and insist that away fans are protected
Post on Derry forum:
Saw a Dundalk fan get hit by a bottle at Ladbrokes. Saw the lads who did it leg it into the gasyard and then loop back round but there was a crowd of Derry fans surrounding the Dundalk fellas by that stage.
Scary sounding stuff. Hope no one badly hurt.
White Horse
04/10/2016, 10:06 PM
Apparently, there are 30 Dundalk fans being hid in pub by a brave landlord while a mob of locals try to get in to attack them. Fans are calling the police who tell them that they can't enter the area as it is "unsafe". Is this Ireland in the 21st century?
rebel
04/10/2016, 10:10 PM
Apparently, there are 30 Dundalk fans being hid in pub by a brave landlord while a mob of locals try to get in to attack them. Fans are calling the police who tell them that they can't enter the area as it is "unsafe". Is this Ireland in the 21st century?
The same thing happened to a group of Cork City fans there last season.
Louth4sam
04/10/2016, 10:11 PM
Brandwell should be refused a LOI licence if fans safety cannot be guaranteed. It's as simple as that
Like FFS it's not in the middle of Syria. Drag yourselves out of the 1960s Derry
jinxy lilywhite
04/10/2016, 10:22 PM
This is serious developments. I hope all are ok.
If dcfc can't ensure safety of traveling supporters then they should play elsewhere.