View Full Version : Worst Fans?

Pages : 1 [2]

24/01/2005, 5:28 PM
In this order:

1. Bohs- for the unfounded arrogance ("Big Club" :rolleyes: ) and the crap atmosphere in dalymount.
2. Home Farm- or maybe that deserves a separate thread called "Worst fan." :rolleyes:
3. Every team in the country which has little brats running out of control- nothing more annoying- pats and bray especially bad for this.
4. bandwagon fans of any club- especially the crowd who show up to the cross when the going is good and still abuse the players, the manager etc- we must have at least 100 of these prats.
5. The holier-than-thou fans. Anyone from any club who feels the need to pontificate about their own greatness over and over and over.............

24/01/2005, 5:43 PM
have to be waterford fans

for a local derby in the cross, they travel very bad in n umbers in comparison to the amount of city fans that travel.its only twice a year for fock sake

24/01/2005, 5:45 PM
^^^

Percenatge-wise of what they have for their home games, they are not so bad really.

24/01/2005, 5:58 PM

I'm not a huge fan of WUFC fans either- the atmosphere down there is brutal- real sing when yer winning types

1 9 2 8
24/01/2005, 6:15 PM
ha ha i remember takin over your little stable behind the goals!! :D :D
If I remember correctly ye didn't wait too long there ;) :D

24/01/2005, 10:55 PM
To be fair Macy, there are only a very small number of City fans who are like that. I mean, I could just turn around and say the same about Longford due to Max Powers behaviour, and Patrick D etc.

excuse me gary but i am entitled to air my thoughts, you don't like them tough.

worst fans, for me cork, thats my choice......

and i have to say its the small number of city fans on this board and not the offical one off the web site.

25/01/2005, 3:35 AM
Maybe we're not so bad after all. I expected a ton of nominations for Rovers fans as "worst fans". Despite the noise, and colour we bring to the league, some people can't see past the headlines that the minority create.

The worst fans title has to go jointly to Home Farm, and UCD fans. They have so few fans, who never create an atmosphere for any match - period. They'll never be asked to leave the ground separately, or need a police escort after games, like what happens to us occasionally.

25/01/2005, 8:53 AM
The worst fans title has to go jointly to Home Farm, and UCD fans. They have so few fans...They'll never be asked to leave the ground separately, or need a police escort after games, like what happens to us occasionally.
Sorry, but that has to be one of the stupidest posts ever on this board. We (and Dublin City fans) are the worst fans because we've never gotten a police escort?! :rolleyes: You're in danger of stereotyping Rovers fans as fans who enjoy getting into trouble and take pride in needing police attention. You're also largely confusing "worst fans" with "fewest fans".

I'll let you away with it a bit because it was half four and drink might have been involved... :rolleyes:

25/01/2005, 9:16 AM
Please give me an example of when this has ever happened in recent times??

I'm guessing here Colm but was there not an occasion last season where there was about 8000 at a European match and then the next home league game there was "only" about 1500 (most other teams would still love that).

I can't remember the opposition but I'm sure City got beat 1-0 and it was lashing down all night, might've been Bohs?? I can remember a thread where some of ye were moaning about it.

Pablo Escobar
25/01/2005, 9:24 AM
cork.......
Imagine being jelous of a club that wins fu*k all.

But I couldn't know your pain! Imagine being from Longford!

25/01/2005, 10:01 AM
I'm guessing here Colm but was there not an occasion last season where there was about 8000 at a European match and then the next home league game there was "only" about 1500 (most other teams would still love that).

I can't remember the opposition but I'm sure City got beat 1-0 and it was lashing down all night, might've been Bohs?? I can remember a thread where some of ye were moaning about it.
Yes it was a game against Bohs, in between the Malmo games, and most people got f*cking pneumonia for their troubles....:( . A downpour all day long, ****ed down all through the game, City dominated the entire match, yet Grant got a poxy goal before half time to win it. And yes, all this in front of about 1800 people.....:mad:

25/01/2005, 12:44 PM
Dundalk fans. For years they were always there or thereabouts but they had pathetic support. The towns obsession with wankpool is nauseating as well. But what clinched it for me was one of the last times we were there and after the game taking down my Rovers TRICOLOUR when 2 local scummers spat on it :confused:

Also b**z fans. Absolutely ****s with their casual crap and they even have a flag to celebrate their "casualness". How cringe inducing. Feel sorry for their normal fans who are outnumbered by some prime waste.

But truly I love all God's children :D

joey B
25/01/2005, 1:13 PM
Was'nt to fond of Rovers fans a few years ago when they came to Ballybofey in the cup , after the game they proceeded to jump on and kick cars.

joeraki
25/01/2005, 7:01 PM
Dundalk fans. The towns obsession with wankpool is nauseating as well.

So ya seen a few too many lads with Liverpool jerseys on, and all of a sudden the whole town is some sort of little scouse land :rolleyes:
God knows what you could call Dublin if thats the case

ConfusedBlue
25/01/2005, 8:16 PM
for a local derby in the cross, they travel very bad in n umbers in comparison to the amount of city fans that travel.its only twice a year for fock sake

We can't get them to attend games in the RSC but yet you want them to travel to Turners Cross.Get real they'd have nose bleeds if they crossed the county boundary!!!!

26/01/2005, 4:18 AM
Sorry, but that has to be one of the stupidest posts ever on this board. We (and Dublin City fans) are the worst fans because we've never gotten a police escort?! :rolleyes: You're in danger of stereotyping Rovers fans as fans who enjoy getting into trouble and take pride in needing police attention. You're also largely confusing "worst fans" with "fewest fans".

I'll let you away with it a bit because it was half four and drink might have been involved... :rolleyes:

So you would rather attack the poster, rather than the post. My last post had nothing to do with drink, whether it was at 4.30am, or 4.30pm. :mad:

You misunderstood me also. I awarded the title of worst fans to both clubs because they have very few fans, and what fans they have are as quiet as a mouse during the entire game. They bring zero atmosphere to any game their team plays in. It must be very disheartening for both clubs' players knowing that even for home games, the away team always has more fans, because they don't have enough fans of their own to support them.

No, we don't enjoy the label we get, and the negative publicity we attract, especially as 95% of the fans never cause any trouble. But then again UCD and Home Farm's fans who attend their games don't have to be harassed by stewards, put in segregated areas of grounds, be asked to wait for the opposition fans to leave the ground before we can, or need police escorts after away games, because of the reputation of a small number of our fans. As they have so few fans, it's not worth the bother.

26/01/2005, 11:39 AM
Cobh without a shadow of a doubt when they travel in numbers its like the little dredgings of the towns sewers being looked after by a handful of morons :mad:

26/01/2005, 5:57 PM
Was'nt to fond of Rovers fans a few years ago when they came to Ballybofey in the cup , after the game they proceeded to jump on and kick cars.

Who us or Shams? :confused:

26/01/2005, 5:59 PM
We can't get them to attend games in the RSC

could be another reason why waterford have the worst fans

26/01/2005, 6:06 PM
what are you on about????? typical lims supporter :rolleyes:

Sorry but have to agree with him too when ye came up for a game at the Showgrounds before ye really disgraced yerselves ;). Drunken Hooligans! :D

26/01/2005, 6:44 PM
So you would rather attack the poster, rather than the post. My last post had nothing to do with drink, whether it was at 4.30am, or 4.30pm. :mad:
My very first line said that it was the stupidest post I had ever read - how you interpret that as attacking the poster, I don't know.

You misunderstood me also. I awarded the title of worst fans to both clubs because they have very few fans, and what fans they have are as quiet as a mouse during the entire game.
I understand you perfectly well. I said that that view was nonsense in terms of classifying us/Dublin City fans as the worst in the league. I said you were confusing "fewest" and "worst". I repeat it here just in case it had trouble getting through the first time.

But then again UCD and Home Farm's fans who attend their games don't have to be harassed by stewards, put in segregated areas of grounds, be asked to wait for the opposition fans to leave the ground before we can, or need police escorts after away games, because of the reputation of a small number of our fans. As they have so few fans, it's not worth the bother.
Can't believe you actually wrote that again. Congratulations. You now have the two stupidest posts I have ever read. We had stewards kick some of out of Turner's Cross a few years ago for drinking in the stand - does that make us good fans now? :rolleyes:

To even associate good fans with police escorts is a disgrace. Such posts and views have no place within the eL. The league have enough of problems as it is.

26/01/2005, 7:22 PM
disgraced ye more like it!taking over yere shed was brilliant!!

Ya for all two minutes, til we ran down and got ye out of there :p

26/01/2005, 7:35 PM
I can't remember, what was the final score? :confused: :D

26/01/2005, 7:42 PM
ye won 3-2 when our keeper ****ed up and also ye were awarded a goal that never crossed the line.....

:D :D :D :D

1 9 2 8
26/01/2005, 9:48 PM
ramblers05 your making it sound like it was a big deal ye stood in the shed for two minutes. You must be a real hard man two minutes...... :rolleyes:

joey B
27/01/2005, 9:51 AM
It was the Shams :mad:

ConfusedBlue
27/01/2005, 1:40 PM
but honestly,ye 2 are the only ones who have had trouble with Cobh fans.
We've had our fair share of bother with Cobh.I remember a Cup game down in Colman's couple of years ago(Kirby scored the winner from the spot for us,we won 1-0),there was a bit of bother in the ground and our bus was surrounded when we got back to it.All little scumbags ranging in age from 10-21+ armed with bricks and bottles.We got a Garda escort out of there but got stopped in the middle of town,one of the little scumbags accused 1 of our fans of assaulting him.The Gardai brought him onto both of our buses to identify his attacker,which he couldn't do.It later turned out it was 1 of his own lot assaulted him!!!!
Another time up in the RSC(we were still in the First Division),some of them arrived down for a game(not too sure if it was a league game or League Cup),think it finished 2-2 with "Donuts" Golden scoring twice for them!!There was at least 6 of them removed from the ground!!!

As Lim till i die said

Cobh without a shadow of a doubt when they travel in numbers its like the little dredgings of the towns sewers being looked after by a handful of morons

SligoRoversfan
27/01/2005, 6:35 PM
ye never bring fans from cobh anymore,where are yes now?? :D

28/01/2005, 3:42 AM
A. My very first line said that it was the stupidest post I had ever read - how you interpret that as attacking the poster, I don't know.

B. I understand you perfectly well. I said that that view was nonsense in terms of classifying us/Dublin City fans as the worst in the league. I said you were confusing "fewest" and "worst". I repeat it here just in case it had trouble getting through the first time.

C. To even associate good fans with police escorts is a disgrace. Such posts and views have no place within the eL. The league have enough of problems as it is.

A. I consider the reference in your previous post, to drink being involved at the time of my earlier post, to be personally attacking the poster. You will find throughout these boards, that my posts have been submitted at or around that time. They are coherent, punctual, and can be understood. This is a 24-hour open forum, I can only post at those times, so what on earth has drink got to do with it?? :confused:

B. Throughout this thread, many posters have named certain clubs for having worst fans based on their lack of numbers, and/or lack of noise. I selected two clubs for those reasons. What is confusing about that?

C. Since when did I associate good fans with police escorts? I was merely trying to explain, that our fans receive special treatment from certain clubs when we visit their grounds, based on the reputation of 5% of our support. Such treatment is unnecessary and unfair, to those of us who make up the law-abiding majority, who just want to watch the game, free of dramas, and distractions, like fans of other clubs.

I hope my latest post has cleared up any earlier confusion.

28/01/2005, 12:24 PM

There's only one Rovers pal. If he had meant sligo he would have said so...........

28/01/2005, 12:32 PM
My last word on this topic...

A. I consider the reference in your previous post, to drink being involved at the time of my earlier post, to be personally attacking the poster. You will find throughout these boards, that my posts have been submitted at or around that time. They are coherent, punctual, and can be understood. This is a 24-hour open forum, I can only post at those times, so what on earth has drink got to do with it?? :confused:
I still don't see how you construe that as attacking the poster. If anything, I was giving you an excuse for such a silly post and was giving you the benefit of the doubt. I was very deliberatly avoiding attacking the poster.

B. Throughout this thread, many posters have named certain clubs for having worst fans based on their lack of numbers, and/or lack of noise. I selected two clubs for those reasons. What is confusing about that?
I have never made issue with your lack of noise comment. You are the only person so far to single out UCD and Dublin City on the basis of low fans (A face did mention both fanbases, but only in passing). I merely pointed out to you that few wasn't necessarily bad.

C. Since when did I associate good fans with police escorts? I was merely trying to explain, that our fans receive special treatment from certain clubs when we visit their grounds, based on the reputation of 5% of our support.
Your original post ("The worst fans title has to go jointly to Home Farm, and UCD fans...They'll never be asked to leave the ground separately, or need a police escort after games, like what happens to us occasionally.") inferred that you were almost proud to be escorted out of a ground, and it certainly implied that if bad was defined as not getting an escort, conversely, getting an escort has to be good. Otherwise there was no point drawing the analogy. It was, therefore, at best a fairly pointless analogy to draw.

I hope my latest post has cleared up any earlier confusion. ;)

1 9 2 8
28/01/2005, 3:00 PM
There's only one Rovers pal. If he had meant sligo he would have said so...........

Yeah there's only Rovers and it's us.... Your Shams and you know you are

eoinh
28/01/2005, 3:12 PM
worse fans has to be waterford united
cos they have none since they sacked jimmy mcgeough.

what an ******* there chairman must be. :mad: :( :mad:

Dont be so dogmatic in your opinions, youre not infalible you know!

fosterdollar
28/01/2005, 3:13 PM
Dont be so dogmatic in your opinions, youre not infalible you know!
Wahey. And I was going to let it slide :D Nice one eoinh

28/01/2005, 4:02 PM
cause we have noting to play for the past few seasons so why would we waist our time going up to the middle off no where?

Cos real fans support their team through thick and thin. :rolleyes:

31/01/2005, 12:37 PM
Yeah there's only Rovers and it's us.... Your Shams and you know you are

Keep telling yourself that. Who you think you got the name from?

joey B
31/01/2005, 1:13 PM
As far as Im concernd Shamrock Rovers are the real Rovers.

Hibs4Ever
31/01/2005, 1:26 PM
cause we have noting to play for the past few seasons so why would we waist our time going up to the middle off no where?

Thats some support you got there :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

joey B
31/01/2005, 1:45 PM
Jesus with supporters like you ,you would'nt want enemies :rolleyes:

31/01/2005, 2:03 PM
Dundalk. I used to get on really well with all the Dundalk fans I met and have never had any hassle at Oriel Park. On their last few trips to our neck of the woods though there support has consisted of a crowd of overweight, aggressive middle aged weirdos who seem hellbent on causing friction with their own players, with the match officials, with our support and amongst themselves.

Athlone get an element of knacker teens as well. Not so much the last few times I've been there though. Ditto for Kilkenny a coupla years ago but they so little support now that it's not really an issue is it? (And when a Limerick fan can criticise your attendance figures you know you're in trouble).

Other than that I've never really had any problems with fans. It'll surprise people to hear that I don't even have much of a thing against Cobh anymore. They're rivals for sure but the poisonous edge seems have vanished of late.

31/01/2005, 5:29 PM
Hve to agree with SLK about the "travelling few" Dundalk fans pure overage welfare scum. Their grand before and after the game but if a dog passed they'd go for it. Rem being spat on by Dundalk fans in orial some years ago too. But most of their fans including the guy who ans the fone at vodafone are dead on!

joeraki
31/01/2005, 5:59 PM
Hve to agree with SLK about the "travelling few" Dundalk fans pure overage welfare scum. Their grand before and after the game but if a dog passed they'd go for it. Rem being spat on by Dundalk fans in orial some years ago too.

Whatever about been spit it, why would anyone want to mix with the other teams fans for anyway ?

31/01/2005, 7:52 PM
Whatever about been spit it, why would anyone want to mix with the other teams fans for anyway ?

Errr... because these are Irish football fans/teams, and not English ?

Because with the very odd exception it happens amicably at every other ground in the EL ??

Because it also happens at Irish internationals ?

Why wouldn't you want to mix with other fans ? It doesn't automatically have to result in aggro...

fgmxx
31/01/2005, 8:52 PM
overweight, aggressive middle aged weirdos who seem hellbent on causing friction with their own players, with the match officials, with our support and amongst themselves.

....like the local fat lunatic who racially abused a Dundalk player two seasons ago , and tried to start a row last season ?

02/02/2005, 6:18 PM

now that says it all really. Thats the type of "spirit" we like in the EL. :rolleyes:

joeraki
02/02/2005, 8:05 PM
now that says it all really. Thats the type of "spirit" we like in the EL. :rolleyes:

Right to me football is about rivalry. I love(d) it when the likes of Bohs and Rovers play in Oriel. One set of fans on either side, loads of stick, buzz in the air, proper terrace atmosphere. Forgive me if I don't want to wave my happy EL flag and play kiss chasing or whatever with my new mates for the day.

02/02/2005, 10:15 PM
Right to me football is about rivalry. I love(d) it when the likes of Bohs and Rovers play in Oriel. One set of fans on either side, loads of stick, buzz in the air, proper terrace atmosphere. Forgive me if I don't want to wave my happy EL flag and play kiss chasing or whatever with my new mates for the day.
I agree. The rivalry is what makes it. I love going for a drink with opposing fans before and after games, but for the 90mins, its abuse and more abuse all the way :D

03/02/2005, 2:05 PM
I love going for a drink with opposing fans before and after games

Yeah but JoeRaki frowns on this Eanna, you bad widdle boy! :p

joeraki
03/02/2005, 4:10 PM
Yeah but JoeRaki frowns on this Eanna, you bad widdle boy! :p

Never said anything about before and after ;)