View Full Version : Summer Window Transfer Rumours 2016

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

blue til i die
19/07/2016, 10:09 AM
So adding Dublin based seasoned Premier Division level players to your squad who would be commanding decent part-time wages + massive travel expenses isn't adding to your budget?

Fair play to Waterford's BOM this season, they're giving Paul Kelly some run for scam of the year.

Of course it's adding to the budget. Alan Byrne and Robert Bayly coming down for the wages of the local lads who were released? Not a chance.

And the BOM? Roddy is running the show himself. He's answerable to nobody. It's disgusting what's going on and the control he has. The sooner he's gone from the club the better. Roddy making sure the family get sorted. Alan Byrne's "debut" summed it up brilliantly. The club would be better off folding and starting fresh without him, and stop this "jobs for the lads".

How anybody thinks Roddy is good for the club I really don't know. Over the weekend Navan Town played Waterford United to open their new ground. Roddy said in his column yesterday that he could only get 9 players and took two from Navan. Turned out that NONE of the players at all were Waterford United players...it's almost like he draws attention to it to p1ss off the fans and annoy more and more people around the club about the sh1t that goes on. Sooner he f*cks off the better!! :mad:

19/07/2016, 10:25 AM
Dylan Watts (UCD) to Leicester is a strong rumour.

Good replacement for N'Golo Kante there. Hopefully we can get some of their £30m in that case!

19/07/2016, 4:36 PM
Of course it's adding to the budget. Alan Byrne and Robert Bayly coming down for the wages of the local lads who were released? Not a chance.

And the BOM? Roddy is running the show himself. He's answerable to nobody. It's disgusting what's going on and the control he has. The sooner he's gone from the club the better. Roddy making sure the family get sorted. Alan Byrne's "debut" summed it up brilliantly. The club would be better off folding and starting fresh without him, and stop this "jobs for the lads".

How anybody thinks Roddy is good for the club I really don't know. Over the weekend Navan Town played Waterford United to open their new ground. Roddy said in his column yesterday that he could only get 9 players and took two from Navan. Turned out that NONE of the players at all were Waterford United players...it's almost like he draws attention to it to p1ss off the fans and annoy more and more people around the club about the sh1t that goes on. Sooner he f*cks off the better!! :mad:

he mentioned in his column about havin no backroom staff in Navan. is Aaron Callaghan departed or what?

blue til i die
19/07/2016, 10:32 PM
he mentioned in his column about havin no backroom staff in Navan. is Aaron Callaghan departed or what?

He's still assistant manager alright, he was in the dugout on Friday in UCD with Roddy anyway. Can't imagine a friendly v Navan Town high on the priorities list considering it was a team of 11 strangers :D :D

disgruntled
20/07/2016, 10:45 AM

Waterford were a basket case before Roddy came & him going won't change that.

Burnsie
20/07/2016, 1:53 PM
Dylan Watts (UCD) to Leicester is a strong rumour.

Good replacement for N'Golo Kante there. Hopefully we can get some of their £30m in that case!

Celtic??

20/07/2016, 2:04 PM
Nope, City.

Though funny, when I first asked about the rumour, that was the exact reply I got as well!

It was mentioned in the UCD forum here, and Julian Canny mentioned it on Twitter as well. Obviously not 100% reliable sources, but there seems to be something in the air anyway.

bluewhitearmy
20/07/2016, 2:10 PM
Hearing some talk we may be in for Darren Dennehy.

El-Pietro
20/07/2016, 2:59 PM
Hearing some talk we may be in for Darren Dennehy.

So you've given up any hope of improving your defence then?

20/07/2016, 3:13 PM
So you've given up any hope of improving your defence then?

I had a word with Martin Russell about it Monday evening. We're going to put young Darren last man back and play fly keeper next season.

MeathDrog
20/07/2016, 4:20 PM
http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11688/10507338/burton-manager-nigel-clough-is-hoping-to-offer-irish-teenager-ryan-delaney-a-permanent-deal

Good move for him if it happens.

ForzaForth
20/07/2016, 4:54 PM
What a disgraceful slur by Burton Albion's Nigel Clough in relation to the Youth's Ryan Delaney - "he hasn't played at a high standard in football."

Seriously, hope Ryan can get the contract - a fantastic lad.

Edit: Ryan played as a sub in Burton's 3-0 defeat of Stoke.

ForzaForth
20/07/2016, 9:50 PM
Ryan Delaney to Championship side, Burton Albion, now appears to be confirmed looking at the messages on his Twitter account.

20/07/2016, 11:05 PM
Well I suppose playing as an amateur in the Premier Division isn't a great standard in terms of the Championship. Bit of an odd comment from a guy who led the club up from the regional leagues in England a few years back though.

20/07/2016, 11:13 PM
Does playing as an amateur classify as a standard though? He's playing at a decent standard, none much different to what Burton have been playing the past few years. His rate of pay has been of a low standard compared to the average Championship player though.

20/07/2016, 11:48 PM
It would certainly give a context to the players he's playing with, if not quite against.

CraftyToePoke
21/07/2016, 3:29 AM
Poor from Clough, needless. Yes, no one will argue it's going to be a steep uphill jaunt, however he can say all that without speaking as he did. I mean, if there's nothing over here standard wise, whats his Championship side panning for gold here for in the first place.

21/07/2016, 3:50 AM
Poor from Clough, needless. Yes, no one will argue it's going to be a steep uphill jaunt, however he can say all that without speaking as he did. I mean, if there's nothing over here standard wise, whats his Championship side panning for gold here for in the first place.
Moyes said similar about Coleman when he went to Everton. Guessing it's half hedging his bets if it doesn't work out and half giving himself an option of claiming credit if it does.

CraftyToePoke
22/07/2016, 2:12 AM
Moyes said similar about Coleman when he went to Everton. Guessing it's half hedging his bets if it doesn't work out and half giving himself an option of claiming credit if it does.

From memory Moyes was patronising, condecending to a point where it was hard to listen to & remain calm, but Clough there is openly dismissive, he can achieve all you point out as his strategic aims without insulting hook line and sinker the game as a whole here. You would think after his father finding Tommy Gaynor and Roy Keane before him, he would exhibit a bit more manners, and cop on.

22/07/2016, 2:20 AM
Nigel Clough doesn't have his father's talent, but he doesn't have his blunt manner. Although, to be fair, I could see his father saying the exact same about Keane.

disgruntled
22/07/2016, 8:35 AM
Cloughts father was also a condescending so & so but got away with it because of his talent as a manager. Nigel is nothing like the manager his father was.

Comic Book Guy
22/07/2016, 3:43 PM
Ramblers have signed Conor Ellis and Craig Donnellan on loan from Cork City until the end of the season. Don't know much about Donnellan but Conor Ellis has been on fire at under 19 level.

El-Pietro
22/07/2016, 3:49 PM
Hes a potential superstar, but hes very light. Will be interesting to see how he gets on below.

Jd2793
22/07/2016, 5:20 PM
Donnellan should do very well for ye down there looked the part anytime ive seen him

disgruntled
22/07/2016, 5:29 PM
Ramblers have signed Conor Ellis and Craig Donnellan on loan from Cork City until the end of the season. Don't know much about Donnellan but Conor Ellis has been on fire at under 19 level.

Donnellan is an excellent prospect.
A bit light but tough.
If he can improve on his strength there is no reason why he won't be a future star.

24/07/2016, 3:38 PM
Just seen that Gary Twigg has signed for Coleraine in the IL. Puts an end to any speculation that he was to come back to the LOI.

Ezeikial
24/07/2016, 3:52 PM
Just seen that Gary Twigg has signed for Coleraine in the IL. Puts an end to any speculation that he was to come back to the LOI.

There must be a time delay for you Nigel -

Portadown striker Gary Twigg agrees move to Coleraine

16 July Football

Coleraine boss Oran Kearney has moved to strengthen his striking options with the addition of forward Gary Twigg.
Glaswegian Twigg, 32, who has been at Portadown for the past three and a half years, has signed a one-year deal with the option of a second.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/36815265

24/07/2016, 5:46 PM
There must be a time delay for you Nigel -

http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/36815265

Don't see how that makes any difference to the fact that I just seen it. I cannot reverse time and see it earlier.

patrickccfc
24/07/2016, 8:00 PM
Don't see how that makes any difference to the fact that I just seen it. I cannot reverse time and see it earlier.

Don't think you'd understand LOST if you watched it then

24/07/2016, 8:07 PM
Don't think you'd understand LOST if you watched it then

No, the difference there is I wish I could reverse time and not see the ending of that.

ToberonaTornado
24/07/2016, 8:34 PM
ICYMI Nigel :D

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2012/08/25/article-2193587-14B12307000005DC-600_634x407.jpg

Yossarian
28/07/2016, 6:39 PM
Darren Meenan on his way from Oriel. Not sure where to. I believe it's a discipline issue that has him on his way.

D24Saint
28/07/2016, 6:42 PM
Darren Meenan on his way from Oriel. Not sure where to. I believe it's a discipline issue that has him on his way.
I'd take him back in a heartbeat.

Yossarian
28/07/2016, 6:47 PM
I'd take him back in a heartbeat.

Give us Christy Fagan and you can have him!! 😁

D24Saint
28/07/2016, 6:51 PM
Give us Christy Fagan and you can have him!! 😁
No dice without Christy we are totally screwed ;)

28/07/2016, 6:52 PM
Would love to see Meenan back at Finn Park, but somehow I don't see it happening.

White Horse
28/07/2016, 6:55 PM
Would love to see Meenan back at Finn Park, but somehow I don't see it happening.

Rumoured to be going to Tallaght with Miele moving in the opposite direction.

28/07/2016, 7:27 PM
Left Harps due a discipline issue also, although he was very young at the time.

Yossarian
28/07/2016, 7:33 PM

I'd be very surprised if Rovers let Miele go.

28/07/2016, 8:28 PM
Would love him at Longford

28/07/2016, 8:47 PM
Would love him at Longford

Don't think he's looking for First Division football.

29/07/2016, 8:31 AM
Kenny Shiels has been trying to sign Daniel Kearns, but we can't afford him apparently.
http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city-shiels-twice-failed-in-bid-for-sligo-rovers-winger-daniel-kearns-1-7500125

sulywaterfordfc
29/07/2016, 10:16 AM

Miele extended his contract till the end of next season last night according to the LOI supplement in the Mirror. They're also reporting Dundalk and Rovers are after Brian Murphy.

White Horse
29/07/2016, 10:27 AM
Miele extended his contract till the end of next season last night according to the LOI supplement in the Mirror.

Rovers eventually ponied up the cash, a good deal for Miele.

The move for Meenan was their fallback if they couldn't persuade Miele to stay.

29/07/2016, 11:59 AM
Don't sell my Miele
My Brando Brando Miele

TheOneWhoKnocks
29/07/2016, 12:53 PM
Greg Bolger linked with Hacken.

patrickccfc
29/07/2016, 1:23 PM
Greg Bolger linked with Hacken.

He wouldn't be ARSEd going there

29/07/2016, 4:54 PM
Don't think he's looking for First Division football.

http://www.reactiongifs.com/r/2012/11/OohBurn.gif

Tuppence ha'penny looking down on tuppence as my old man likes to say!

Ezeikial
29/07/2016, 5:12 PM
Miele extended his contract till the end of next season last night according to the LOI supplement in the Mirror. They're also reporting Dundalk and Rovers are after Brian Murphy.

As far back as early July The Sun were suggesting that Dundalk wanted Brian Murphy. Stephen Kenny dismissed it completely at the time.

http://leagueofireland.ie/index.php/2016/07/05/dundalk-stephen-kenny-brian-murphy/

Town Legend
29/07/2016, 6:44 PM
We've released Danny O'Reilly and signed another French lad. Midfielder and it's not Pogba!