View Full Version : League of Ireland Condolences Thread
Pages :
[
6]
D24Saint
18/08/2022, 11:03 AM
It said in the Indo he did stadium announcements in Dalymount, just wondering if he was the chap on the pitch at half time during Bohs games. Condolences to his family and to all his mates at Bohemians.
Dermobohs
18/08/2022, 8:02 PM
It said in the Indo he did stadium announcements in Dalymount, just wondering if he was the chap on the pitch at half time during Bohs games. Condolences to his family and to all his mates at Bohemians.
No the pitch side lad is Paul Duffy, mono was the bar manager, delivery taker, daytime shop server, ideas man for work needing done, he showed visiting fans around dalyer , looked after younger fans like his own kids and is an irreplaceable loss to us.mr bohs, a real legend of the club. Players and managers come and go, but this hero showed why a fan owned club is a thing of passion. There’s a go fund me account set up to aid his too young family, please throw a few bob in if you’ve got it.
ger121
18/08/2022, 10:39 PM
Just to add to what Dermo said above. Here is the link to the Go-Fund me page for Mono’s family. I hope it is ok to post this link.
https://gofund.me/7a3d1baa
ontheotherhand
18/08/2022, 11:11 PM
Rest in peace Mono.
ToberonaTornado
21/08/2022, 2:53 AM
RIp Mono(Derek) the kind of volunteer every club needs.
I remember him well from away days at Dalyer and he was one sound fella.
Condolences to his family,his bohs mates and everyone that loved him.
One of the good guys .......
RIP
ToberonaTornado
24/08/2022, 2:27 AM
Des Casey RIP.
Des was a former FAI & UEFA administrator
Mr.Casey was also the honorary Club President of Dundalk FC his family own OP
He was a legend in Dundalk and beyond the town.
May he RIP.
24/08/2022, 8:27 PM
Des Casey RIP.
Des was a former FAI & UEFA administrator
Mr.Casey was also the honorary Club President of Dundalk FC his family own OP
He was a legend in Dundalk and beyond the town.
May he RIP.
Yeah heard it on LOI podcast with Johnny Ward and Dan McDonnell. Very sad news. May he rest in peace. I remember him in the press conference with Big Jack at press announcement. Was it him that interviewed JC for the job I wonder?
24/08/2022, 9:21 PM
RiP Des Casey. His legacy and that of his family leaves every Dundalk fan, past, present and in the future in immeasurable debt for the times they have facilitated in Oriel Park, good and bad - without the bad we wouldnt really appreciate the good. Des Casey is not a man whose influence on local, national football and indeed European football can really be expressed in a few sentences. But I think what will stand the test of time is that regardless of the jumped up, self-important failures that came after his days, his contribution to the betterment of our game, his integrity never in question and as some desperately worked to unpick rules that he was key in implementing, to break up and prevent cabals and corruption, he ultimately saw them all off in the end though even if in latter years it was from a distance. It has often been discussed about who Oriel Park or any (new) stand should be named after, many suggestions made but few were Des Casey and I suspect that was because it was known that he would have had many many others before himself. It would certainly be fitting if the subject comes up again that he tops the list.
One amusing incident I was present for at Oriel Park was when a new steward was placed at the players and officials entrance. Des had forgotten his pass and the steward would not let him in as he had been instructed to strictly not let anyone one who didnt have a pass no matter what. Off Des went with no protest, no tantrums or the 'do you know who I am' routine. The steward was quietly then told that he had just refused entry to the owner of the gaff, Honourary VP of the FAI and was recently Vice President of UEFA so not at all a chancer, and the poor chap was quite embarrassed as while he may not have known the person he did know the name. When Des returned the steward was all apologies and Des simply complimented him on doing his job properly, he was at no fault in any way, and that the pass will be remembered next time. A big man with a fierce but quiet manner. I would loved to have seen him in action as a Trade Unionist too!!!
https://www.uefa.com/returntoplay/news/0278-15f1cc622487-e8c63564b793-1000--irish-football-mourns-des-casey/
(Im pretty sure it was the same night that Brian Kerr as RoI manager was asked to show his ticket/pass or move out of the 'nice' seats in the stand, the look on his face was priceless and obviously why he has beef about Oriel Park and its pitch;). That steward was also quietly tipped off on who he was throwing out of his seat though thinking back it would have been fun to just let it play out a bit longer. I suspect Des Casey might have mischievously enjoyed that one too).
30/09/2022, 9:23 PM
Brian Mullins, the Dublin GAA legend but also Director of Sport at UCD. Would have been a driving force behind the redevelopment of the UCD Bowl at the time the football club left Belfield Park to move in, for example, and also played a huge role in developing the scholarship programme. Obit here (https://www.ucd.ie/newsandopinion/news/2022/september/30/brianmullins1954-2022/) on the UCD website.
ToberonaTornado
25/11/2022, 1:50 PM
Roy Mackin RIP
A lifetime supporter and great servant to Dundalk.
I'm sure programme collectors and early arriving away fans from other clubs would recognize him.He was a gent and great craic too. He was the sort of volunteer every LoI club needs.
He'll be sorely missed at OP
RIP Roy
https://www.dundalkfc.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/11/1662310-scaled-e1669212924612.jpg
Dermobohs
28/12/2022, 8:41 PM
Any bohsmen on here might want to know, the father of our former manager Aaron Callaghan passed away, funeral details on RIP.ie, condolences to the family.
Peter Thomas died yesterday. He was Waterford's goalkeeper from the glory days of the 60's and 70's and reckoned to be one of the best goalkeepers in LOI history and won 2 Ireland caps. He made almost 600 appearances for Waterford ,winning 5 league titles and an FAI Cup.
Calcio Jack
20/01/2023, 9:23 AM
Peter Thomas died yesterday. He was Waterford's goalkeeper from the glory days of the 60's and 70's and reckoned to be one of the best goalkeepers in LOI history and won 2 Ireland caps. He made almost 600 appearances for Waterford ,winning 5 league titles and an FAI Cup.
He appeared for the LOI against the Italian league B team (back in the day such fixtures took place) he swapped shirts with their keeper and thereafter for years used to wear that shirt which was way ‘cooler’ than the standard LOI one….. a wonderful keeper RIP
20/01/2023, 10:39 AM
Rip Tommo had 2 seasons with Galway Rovers brilliant Keeper and a gentleman.
Legendary Harps volunteer Ronan Roddy https://www.donegallive.ie/news/local-news/1014345/sad-passing-of-popular-stranorlar-man.html
Neish
21/01/2023, 12:43 PM
Legendary Harps volunteer Ronan Roddy https://www.donegallive.ie/news/local-news/1014345/sad-passing-of-popular-stranorlar-man.html
Such a civil and at times witty lad. Was always there at the gate or to escort the ref off. Match night won't be the same without him
Great to see a big turn out at the funeral this morning
D24Saint
21/01/2023, 7:29 PM
Our ex groundsman Anto Maguire recently passed away. He was head groundsman from 03-22. He only recently retired before sadly passing away. He got as good a send off as can be expected with the Pats first team lining the way into the church. He was a well respected member of the Pats community and will be sadly missed RIP.
https://www.stpatsfc.com/news.php?id=9282
24/01/2023, 3:14 PM
..and his English compadres of the time (Bryan and Matthews) also died within the past few years. I remember them all well. RIP. The nemesis of Rovers except in the Cup.
joey B
31/01/2023, 12:01 PM
Declan McDowell, cup winner with Harps in 1974,played for his hometown team Derry City as well, 10th in all time appearances for Harps....
13/02/2023, 7:36 AM
Theo Dunne - UCD manager for 20 years, including our Cup win and the Everton games. Also the only Irish player to captain an LoI side in the Camp Nou - Shels in 63
Real gent; was still going to the Bowl 18 months ago when in the early stages of dementia. Had been in a care home the last year or so
Uncle of Richie Dunne, father of Tommy, grandfather of Evan Caffrey and Gavin Molloy (both at Shels now)
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-41070161.html
Dermobohs
13/02/2023, 8:02 AM
Great Irish football man, RIP
13/02/2023, 8:54 PM
Great Irish football man, RIP
Didnt know that it was Theo that won the FAI Cup for them. The Dunnes are one of the great football families in this country. May he rest in peace.
07/06/2023, 1:49 PM
Former St Pats player Gints Freimanis has died of cancer in Latvia at 38. He signed for us at one point but we couldn't register him as far as I can recall. I think it was because he wasn't a free agent at the end of the window or something. RIP it's such a young age to go.
2 Year Contract
07/06/2023, 2:21 PM
Former St Pats player Gints Freimanis has died of cancer in Latvia at 38. He signed for us at one point but we couldn't register him as far as I can recall. I think it was because he wasn't a free agent at the end of the window or something. RIP it's such a young age to go.
Spent a season with Pats in 2009 but only played 2 games due to a couple of serious long term injuries. I had one or two interactions with him and he was a sound lad. 38 is no age to go, RIP
07/06/2023, 9:41 PM
Yeah correct Longfordian think that was when Aaron Callaghan was in charge or it could have being the next manager after that!
07/06/2023, 11:07 PM
Yeah correct Longfordian think that was when Aaron Callaghan was in charge or it could have being the next manager after that!
Think I remember him playing in a friendly and being an absolute baller, that's awful news. May he RIP
ForzaForth
08/06/2023, 8:42 AM
Trina Cleary, cancer campaigner, who has died aged 38, was the wife of former Wexford Youths player, Stuuy Lawlor. Condolences to Stuuy and all his family.
08/06/2023, 10:19 AM
Could have been indeed Marty. It was hard to keep track of all the comings and goings in those years at the time never mind now.
19/06/2023, 12:50 PM
Karolis Chvedukas, who played for Dundalk and Waterford a few years ago, has passed away in Lithuania at the age of 32.
SPXcyan
19/06/2023, 1:58 PM
Iki pasimatymo Karoliai, he was a solid player, gone far too young.
Sorry to hear this, he started very well for Dundalk in 2018 league winning season, unlucky with injuries.
RIP
Dermobohs
22/06/2023, 2:19 PM
Rovers great Ronnie Nolan, RIP
22/06/2023, 6:33 PM
John Delaney Snr. Obviously a divisive character but still a former FAI officer so RiP. The brevity of tributes is probably more a legacy of Junior tbh.
22/06/2023, 6:54 PM
Rovers great Ronnie Nolan, RIP
Ah that's sad. Was UCD manager for much of the 70s too; think he was at the club dinner only last year (along with Kevin, his namesake)
Nah Nah Nah Nah
22/06/2023, 8:32 PM
John Delaney Snr. Obviously a divisive character but still a former FAI officer so RiP. The brevity of tributes is probably more a legacy of Junior tbh.
Joe??
Dermobohs
22/06/2023, 8:34 PM
He was a corrupt oul ******** .
D24Saint
22/06/2023, 8:50 PM
He was a corrupt oul ******** .
I remember hearing about overcharging for Italia 90 tickets or something similar.
Dermobohs
22/06/2023, 9:13 PM
And bags of cash and tickets in a hotel room at usa94, he was a tout and creaming money like nobody’s business, junior was taught to freeload and steal at a young age. Our national side is in a state as is our league, because of absolute thieving ****e like these ****ers.
sbgawa
22/06/2023, 10:06 PM
Just because your old and been around the game for a long time doesnt mean you arent a ****** when you die.
Like Father like son
24/06/2023, 10:15 PM
Joe/John same difference! Harsh lads! Fair but harsh!
ToberonaTornado
27/06/2023, 1:53 AM
The Beast from the East - RIP kaz
Dermobohs
12/07/2023, 7:59 PM
I hear former bohs and I think Derry winger Stephen Mallon lost his brother at a very young age recently, sympathies to him
Dermobohs
12/08/2023, 6:29 PM
Bobby Best , club photographer at shamrock rovers, by all accounts a gent, RIP
D24Saint
13/08/2023, 12:07 PM
Condolences to Rovers and his family of course. It’s all sad to see these club stalwarts pass on.
Shinkicker
14/08/2023, 3:58 PM
Bobby Best , club photographer at shamrock rovers, by all accounts a gent, RIP
I knew Bobby really well about 30 years ago, before I moved from Dublin. He was partially responsible(with several others) for keeping hundreds if not thousands of kids off the streets of Kilmore West and the Coolock area through football. He was the backbone of Kilmore Boys, working tirelessly and without any real recognition for as long as I can remember. He would be on the Oscar Traynor road almost every Saturday and Sunday supporting the underage and senior teams. Although we were a club that had nothing, with Bobby on board we had everything and everyone still talks about the great times and memories we had.
Many Thanks for the fantastic memories Bobby RIP.
joey B
14/08/2023, 4:08 PM
I knew Bobby really well about 30 years ago, before I moved from Dublin. He was partially responsible(with several others) for keeping hundreds if not thousands of kids off the streets of Kilmore West and the Coolock area through football. He was the backbone of Kilmore Boys, working tirelessly and without any real recognition for as long as I can remember. He would be on the Oscar Traynor road almost every Saturday and Sunday supporting the underage and senior teams. Although we were a club that had nothing, with Bobby on board we had everything and everyone still talks about the great times and memories we had.
Many Thanks for the fantastic memories Bobby RIP.
Great tribute to him,sounds like a great fella….
cláirseach
14/08/2023, 5:05 PM
Yeah, seemed like a great person and like he lived a great life. Loved the stories of him handing out the print outs to the kids at the matches in the 90s. RIP.
14/08/2023, 8:55 PM
Yeah heard of Bobby Best years ago when I buy the Shamrock Rovers programmes whenever I was up there in Dublin. Sounded like a hardworking gentleman may he rest in peace. What age was he?
Dermobohs
30/08/2023, 1:03 PM
Joe Carr, mr “half time raffle” at dalymount, Joe was the first one you’d bump into after coming into the ground, supporter and volunteer for 70 yrs.
A real bohs man and a gent, RIP
30/08/2023, 8:32 PM
Joe Carr, mr “half time raffle” at dalymount, Joe was the first one you’d bump into after coming into the ground, supporter and volunteer for 70 yrs.
A real bohs man and a gent, RIP
Very sorry to hear this. Would know Joe Carr from the Irish football program club which Im a member of! May he rest in peace.