View Full Version : Week 1 Fixtures - 3rd/4th March
El-Pietro
06/03/2016, 9:09 PM
Can only really comment on what I saw in the ground
Seat thrown onto the pitch pre game.
Someone removed by the Gardai in the first half.
Looked over at one stage and they were burning a flag of some sort
Another time they were trying to break off one half of an advertising hoarding. When I looked back again it has been removed but not sure if this was precautionary or they had managed to break it off.
There was a huge crowd of them there and I'm not saying they're all involved in this but it's a regular occurrence whenever they turn up.
They had a banner saying something like Shame on Sligo for hiring a War Criminal as well but I think stuff like that is going to be happening a lot.
Not defending any of the actions of Rovers fans at all (don't even have a clear picture of what happened to be honest) but is anyone suggesting there was a problem with the banner? While its probably a little over the top, any former Royal Marine coming to work in football in Ireland must know what to expect?
White Horse
06/03/2016, 9:10 PM
Sure didn't Dev himself score a penalty at the Box in a rugby game once upon a time. So the famous table quiz question goes. "Which former President scored a penalty at Turners Cross?"
I didn't know that. I must be a nerd, I love these little bits of history.
El-Pietro
06/03/2016, 9:12 PM
I didn't know that. I must be a nerd, I love these little bits of history.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turners_Cross_%28stadium%29#History
Cork Constitution (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cork_Constitution), then a rugby and cricket club, was the first club to lease the Turners Cross grounds in 1897. (A once popular trivia question was "Which President of Ireland (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/President_of_Ireland) scored a penalty at Turner's Cross?" The answer is Éamon de Valera (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C3%89amon_de_Valera) (1882–1975) who in his early years played rugby (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rugby_football) for Rockwell. The penalty in question was during a Rockwell vs Cork Constitution rugby match in the Munster Cup.)
Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/03/2016, 9:14 PM
Not defending any of the actions of Rovers fans at all (don't even have a clear picture of what happened to be honest) but is anyone suggesting there was a problem with the banner? While its probably a little over the top, any former Royal Marine coming to work in football in Ireland must know what to expect?
Nope no one has a problem with the banner that I'm aware of. Just put it in as an aside. It's going to be happening in most games like I said.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/03/2016, 9:16 PM
I must be getting de-sensitised to hooliganism from Shamrock Rovers fans.
After witnessing Rovers "fans" attacking a house where people were holding a wake, I find these events less than shocking.
By the way, I had an interesting conversation with a Rovers fan in the middle of the away crowd in Bray on Saturday night. I asked him what he was doing there and he said that he loves LOI football but can't stand being associated with Rovers away fans so decided on a short trip to Bray rather than going to Sligo.
Like I said I'm only commenting on what I saw in the ground. There's a few of stories of their usual antics away from the ground.
El-Pietro
06/03/2016, 9:20 PM
Nope no one has a problem with the banner that I'm aware of. Just put it in as an aside. It's going to be happening in most games like I said.
Fair enough, saw it grouped in discussion with the other stuff on social media as well and was surprised. Perhaps its just because of everything else and its easy to group it together.
It will be interesting to see Derrys reaction to him.
LOI_Fanatic
06/03/2016, 9:56 PM
Saturday night, from a Rovers perspective.
We played ok,not spectacular,but we got the job done,Sligo look as if they will cause alot of problems for clubs this season,they are very physical and will finish alot of games with less players than they started with.
on the off the field events,some of our so called fans who dismantled advertising hoarding,threw bins and seats onto the field and at one stage had a sheet of plywood from somewhere, should be banned from attending Rovers games but that wont ever happen imo.
the garda,when asked why they weren't doing anything just grunted back at us.If they had of done there job and started lifting lads maybe it wouldnt of been so bad.
As for the " Robertson war criminal,Shame on sligo,TAL" banner, if people got offended by that then id hate to see the reaction to the reception he'll get when he visits the brandywell.
06/03/2016, 10:09 PM
Seat thrown onto the pitch pre game.
Must have been Dundalk fans!
Briuk
06/03/2016, 10:45 PM
Could anyone watch the games in Bwin or any other place? I could only wath Saint Patrick's - Galway
07/03/2016, 6:58 AM
https://m.soundcloud.com/drive105mnl/kenny-shiels-reaction-after
Kenny Shiels doesn't make excuses, except for the greatest excuse for defeat I've ever heard.
"The dugout is placed at a disadvantage to us halfway into their half".
Obviously, in Finn Park, the teams don't switch around at half time either.
For a man who doesn't make excuses, all he's done is blame everything possible except for his teams dire performance on Friday night. I'd be embarrassed to be a Derry fan listening to him.
07/03/2016, 7:00 AM
Could anyone watch the games in Bwin or any other place? I could only wath Saint Patrick's - Galway
From what I understand, in certain grounds, internet connection was the problem with the lack of broadcasts the other night.
I'm told it'll be up and running in Finn Park for the next home game against Shamrock Rovers on Monday next.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
07/03/2016, 8:17 AM
Fair enough, saw it grouped in discussion with the other stuff on social media as well and was surprised. Perhaps its just because of everything else and its easy to group it together.
It will be interesting to see Derrys reaction to him.
I'd say it'll be tasty alright. At least there's a greyhound track around the place.
07/03/2016, 8:39 AM
"The dugout is placed at a disadvantage to us halfway into their half".
Is there not a rule about this - that dugouts have to be equidistant from the half-way line?
I've seen it in a few grounds in Ireland, and wondered about it.
07/03/2016, 9:00 AM
Is there not a rule about this - that dugouts have to be equidistant from the half-way line?
I've seen it in a few grounds in Ireland, and wondered about it.
The dugouts in Finn Park are in the same place they've always been and nobody has ever complained about them. See the image below, the home dugout is just left of the halfway line, the away dugout is at the edge of the centre circle. It's the most ridiculous excuse I've ever heard for a defeat.
http://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=2409&stc=1
Nugget
07/03/2016, 9:06 AM
Listenend to part of the extratime podcast this morning. How Ollie Horgan can sound quite so miserable after winning the first game of the season is beyond me.
PartySaint
07/03/2016, 9:32 AM
Galway fully deserved their win on Friday night. Pats new midfield very poor. I miss Brennan, Forrester and Bolger :-(
White Horse
07/03/2016, 9:34 AM
I miss Brennan, Forrester and Bolger :-(
How does a team replace a midfield of that quality? Saints fans will be talking about that midfield in 50 years time.
07/03/2016, 9:35 AM
The dugouts in Finn Park are in the same place they've always been and nobody has ever complained about them. See the image below, the home dugout is just left of the halfway line, the away dugout is at the edge of the centre circle. It's the most ridiculous excuse I've ever heard for a defeat.
yeah thanks, that's great, but nothing to do with what I asked, which is whether there is some rule about where dugouts should be positioned.
We should stick the Derry dugout right behind the nets next time just for the giggle.
PartySaint
07/03/2016, 9:40 AM
How does a team replace a midfield of that quality? Saints fans will be talking about that midfield in 50 years time.
Add in Fahey and 20+ Goals Conan Byrne in 2014 and now we have Shane McEleney playing centre mid :(
(McEleney was decent on Friday in fairness to him.)
07/03/2016, 12:05 PM
Still fecked off with our performance on Friday night. We were outstandingly brutal. We'd nothing at all on the wings, with no service going to Patterson, hence his two shots all game. I'd be seriously worried that we'll struggle for goals this season again. Doherty stood still for the first goal, he should have come out and gathered it. No idea what was going on with the second (unless it was offside). Our tactics didn't really change the whole game either, which is less than encouraging.
Can't make excuses for that muck we seen (though I've heard from backroom staff that the dugout in United Park gives a poor view, so I'd guess it's much the same at Finn Park), we were beaten by a poor enough side due to general lack of effort and poor tactical decisions.
On Harps, they're a slight improvement from last season, but they showed far more heart than ourselves. I reckon they'll find it difficult this season though.
Re: the flares, it was the same crowd who were causing bother in Longford on the last day of the season in October past. A few older lads with some younger hangers on. As far as I could tell, I didn't recognise any of them, and don't think they go to the Brandywell. I know Harps have photos of them, but I don't know what good that will be. They'll pick the odd match to turn up to and cause a bit of bother (and accrue some fines for ourselves). The solution would be for them to be identified by Derry and for Derry stewards to stop them at the gates of away grounds. I doubt that'll happen though. I'd add that I think the guards/stewards could have been a bit more heavy-handed with them, not many were thrown out.
On the match night organisation, it really wasn't well planned. The view in Finn Park is horrific at the best of times, I accept, and there was some more space in our section down towards the Chestnut Road end, but people weren't aware of this space. Using the Navenny entrance should not be considered for future games. The path is too narrow, people are reluctant to move on down the terrace, some people stood at the River end wall and it was really only a matter of time before someone went behind the barrier and stood on the slope of the River end.
Next time, go back to using the Chestnut Road end as we've done for years and stick a manned barrier at the River end. The addition of an extra chip van was good though, do that again.
07/03/2016, 12:28 PM
FAI and Gardai request was to use the river end entrance, and to use the gantry side. Harps complied with every instruction given. There's an awful lot wrong with Finn Park, but when you're told what to do by the FAI and Gardai, you can't go against their wishes.
But it's funny, Limerick fans used the same entrance and lower end of the stand beside the river end last season and caused no problems.
marinobohs
07/03/2016, 12:58 PM
Strange match. We looked fairly comfortable till the goal. After that we went to pieces. Anto had a mare. Some positives to take from the game but I worry about us in the final third. On to next week. It's been a long winter.
Tight match up until Antos fcuk up :mad: (first of two). Bohs were set up to play for 0-0 and were lost when 2 goals went in. finished strongly but overall Cork were better side and deserved the 3 points.
Galway and Harps the surprise results of Matchday(s) 1, especially Galway, must be their lucky leprechaun inspiring them on.
07/03/2016, 2:42 PM
Still fecked off with our performance on Friday night. We were outstandingly brutal. We'd nothing at all on the wings, with no service going to Patterson, hence his two shots all game. I'd be seriously worried that we'll struggle for goals this season again. Doherty stood still for the first goal, he should have come out and gathered it. No idea what was going on with the second (unless it was offside). Our tactics didn't really change the whole game either, which is less than encouraging.
Can't make excuses for that muck we seen (though I've heard from backroom staff that the dugout in United Park gives a poor view, so I'd guess it's much the same at Finn Park), we were beaten by a poor enough side due to general lack of effort and poor tactical decisions.
On Harps, they're a slight improvement from last season, but they showed far more heart than ourselves. I reckon they'll find it difficult this season though.
Re: the flares, it was the same crowd who were causing bother in Longford on the last day of the season in October past. A few older lads with some younger hangers on. As far as I could tell, I didn't recognise any of them, and don't think they go to the Brandywell. I know Harps have photos of them, but I don't know what good that will be. They'll pick the odd match to turn up to and cause a bit of bother (and accrue some fines for ourselves). The solution would be for them to be identified by Derry and for Derry stewards to stop them at the gates of away grounds. I doubt that'll happen though. I'd add that I think the guards/stewards could have been a bit more heavy-handed with them, not many were thrown out.
On the match night organisation, it really wasn't well planned. The view in Finn Park is horrific at the best of times, I accept, and there was some more space in our section down towards the Chestnut Road end, but people weren't aware of this space. Using the Navenny entrance should not be considered for future games. The path is too narrow, people are reluctant to move on down the terrace, some people stood at the River end wall and it was really only a matter of time before someone went behind the barrier and stood on the slope of the River end.
Next time, go back to using the Chestnut Road end as we've done for years and stick a manned barrier at the River end. The addition of an extra chip van was good though, do that again.
Never knew Derry had that issue with those scumbags until that game in Longford last year. Started fighting with themselves and then when thrown out they made their way round the back of section o and started throwing stones and one even attempted to scale the floodlights to get in at the home fans. Derry fans are one of the most welcoming and friendliest in the league and you could see that night they wanted nothing to do with the scumbags, really hope ye get it sorted
thomas72
07/03/2016, 5:16 PM
https://youtu.be/zMfFrgbi1bo
Goals from Limerick v UCD
SwanVsDalton
07/03/2016, 9:08 PM
FAI and Gardai request was to use the river end entrance, and to use the gantry side. Harps complied with every instruction given. There's an awful lot wrong with Finn Park, but when you're told what to do by the FAI and Gardai, you can't go against their wishes.
But it's funny, Limerick fans used the same entrance and lower end of the stand beside the river end last season and caused no problems.
Intense, highly-anticipated derby match presents different safety and security issues shocker.
I hope Harps will feed back to the FAI/Gardai on it - the walk along the single-file River End before kick-off was a bit of a disaster and felt intrinsically unsafe.
07/03/2016, 10:52 PM
Add in Fahey and 20+ Goals Conan Byrne in 2014 and now we have Shane McEleney playing centre mid :(
(McEleney was decent on Friday in fairness to him.)
Indeed. That's quite a midfield to have to replace. Agree with you about McEleany. I don't think he's the answer we need in centre mid, but I was pleasantly surprised by some of his touches on the ball on Friday. I can't see that midefield being first choice for long. Maybe Keith Treacy will offer us something, and Timlin probably needs to start. It's only one game though. We were poor, but let's see how it goes. (Defending was awful for all of the goals too by the way.)
ForzaHoop
08/03/2016, 2:59 PM
My question is if this did happen, with 2000 people at the Game why no video or photo of the flag on fire
Harps supporters gave photos to Gardai of lads throwing flares etc
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/0307/773265-dunphy/
Dunphy also weighed in on the troubling scenes in Sligo this weekend, as Shamrock Rovers made a winning start to their SSE Airtricity League Premier Division season against the Bit O’Red.
A Sligo flag was set on fire during the game, while a small section of travelling fans chanted: “We’re Shamrock Rovers, we’re burning your flag.”
There were also reports of advertising hoarding having been damaged and skirmishes in the away end.
“I think zero tolerance is what you have to have,” Dunphy said.
“I was at Millwall in the mid-60s when this football hooliganism, as they called it, started, and the police were very tolerant and civilised with the people responsible, and it grew and it grew.
“You’ve got to crack down on it from the beginning and have no tolerance for it whatsoever, no matter what you have to do; close grounds, prosecute people.
“Once you let it grow and show the slightest bit of tolerance, then it becomes a fetish.
“Guys who wanted to cause trouble - no interest in football - they turn up at the match, there’s a prospect of a fight or trouble and they love that.
“You’ve got to be very, very tough.”
White Horse
08/03/2016, 3:07 PM
Dunphy should stick to English football. Why do RTE even ask him to comment on Irish football?
redarmyfaction
08/03/2016, 3:33 PM
My question is if this did happen, with 2000 people at the Game why no video or photo of the flag on fire
Dunphy also weighed in on the troubling scenes in Sligo this weekend, as Shamrock Rovers made a winning start to their SSE Airtricity League Premier Division season against the Bit O’Red.
A Sligo flag was set on fire during the game, while a small section of travelling fans chanted: “We’re Shamrock Rovers, we’re burning your flag.”
There were also reports of advertising hoarding having been damaged and skirmishes in the away end.
“I was at Millwall in the mid-60s when this football hooliganism, as they called it, started, and the police were very tolerant and civilised with the people responsible, and it grew and it grew.
“You’ve got to crack down on it from the beginning and have no tolerance for it whatsoever, no matter what you have to do; close grounds, prosecute people.
“Once you let it grow and show the slightest bit of tolerance, then it becomes a fetish.
“Guys who wanted to cause trouble - no interest in football - they turn up at the match, there’s a prospect of a fight or trouble and they love that.
Did they manage to get the flag lit? I thought that the ability to make fire marked the transition from simian to human so I would be surprised if they did.
ThePrisoner
08/03/2016, 3:44 PM
According to The Sligo Champion there were four arrests, three adults and one juvenile, arising out of Saturday night's incidents. The juvenile was released without charge and the three adults were up before a special sitting of the District Court on Sunday. Released on bail. Whilst the article did not give their names and addresses it stated that they travelled to the game by bus. Would a reasonable guess be that they were shams supporters?
Will be interesting to see the outcome of this.
dublinred
08/03/2016, 3:55 PM
According to The Sligo Champion there were four arrests, three adults and one juvenile, arising out of Saturday night's incidents. The juvenile was released without charge and the three adults were up before a special sitting of the District Court on Sunday. Released on bail. Whilst the article did not give their names and addresses it stated that they travelled to the game by bus. Would a reasonable guess be that they were shams supporters?
Heard the guy who hit the OAP on the head with a bottle was captured via CCTV , a few months in Castlerea would be a nice sentence .
PartySaint
08/03/2016, 3:55 PM
No direct bus from Tallaght to Sligo, not possible.
ThePrisoner
08/03/2016, 4:00 PM
No direct bus from Tallaght to Sligo, not possible.
Excellent point. I'm sure they'll get you to represent them at the hearing.:D
redarmyfaction
08/03/2016, 4:08 PM
Heard the guy who hit the OAP on the head with a bottle was captured via CCTV , a few months in Castlerea would be a nice sentence .
"Castlerea is too good you young man, food and sex on tap, no a community service is what I have in mind, 250 hours cleaning the toilets in Dalymount Park".
placid casual
08/03/2016, 6:54 PM
Think Rovers will need to up their game if they have pretensions of challenging Dundalk. It was laboured win,albeit against a limited side. Think Brando' s form will be the tipping point between relative success and another season of mediocre dross.
Maybe we can get some of the loanees fron west ham sooner rather than later. Could make all the difference.:)
08/03/2016, 7:55 PM
Ollie Horgan is gonna be on OTB on NewsTalk soon.
White Horse
08/03/2016, 8:04 PM
Ollie Horgan is gonna be on OTB on NewsTalk soon.
An interview of boundless optimism no doubt.
08/03/2016, 8:40 PM
Without having listened to it, let me guess what he said.
"We were very lucky to beat Derry".
"If we stay up, it'll be a bigger achievement that being promoted".
"We'll do very well to get any points out of any games".
"We're no good".
MattB11
08/03/2016, 9:11 PM
"We'd do well to stop Dundalk hitting double figures on Friday"
09/03/2016, 12:16 AM
Without having listened to it, let me guess what he said.
"We were very lucky to beat Derry".
"If we stay up, it'll be a bigger achievement that being promoted".
"We'll do very well to get any points out of any games".
"We're no good".
Don't forget "I'm a terrible manager."
gufcfan
09/03/2016, 1:14 AM
"Honestly, I think we should stay at home."
buzz442
09/03/2016, 2:09 AM
Think Rovers will need to up their game if they have pretensions of challenging Dundalk. It was laboured win,albeit against a limited side. Think Brando' s form will be the tipping point between relative success and another season of mediocre dross.
Maybe we can get some of the loanees fron west ham sooner rather than later. Could make all the difference.:)
Sligo Rovers "a limited side" my arse, they were the far better side on Saturday, playing a far more entertaining brand of football and but for on the field antics, throwing themselves on the floor at every opportunity and conning the referee they would have lost the game. Sligo Rovers maybe a new young team but they will learn fast and are a talented bunch who will do well this year in the league.
As for Shamrocks fans, they were a disgrace!
LOI_Fanatic
09/03/2016, 11:12 AM
the flag was set on fire,it was removed from Mooneys bar before the game. but the so chant never happened. if anything it was " We're Shamrock Rovers,We'll do what we want"
09/03/2016, 2:11 PM
Is this problem with Rovers fans only a new thing?
Honest question. We've never had any trouble with them, in fact, we've always had a really good relationship with Rovers fans.
Hopefully all will go smooth next Monday night....
09/03/2016, 2:53 PM
Honest question. We've never had any trouble with them, in fact, we've always had a really good relationship with Rovers fans.
There is a small number of scrotes who come out of the woodwork for games with Bohs, Dundalk and Sligo and try to cause trouble. They're egged on by a small number of sad old men who are also rarely seen at games. Because these people don't actually follow the football team, they seem to mistakenly think there's some sort of rivalry with Sligo and target it as their big trip on the ****.
09/03/2016, 4:24 PM
the incident with the OAP was that in Mooneys as well?
09/03/2016, 7:33 PM
There is a small number of scrotes who come out of the woodwork for games with Bohs, Dundalk and Sligo and try to cause trouble. They're egged on by a small number of sad old men who are also rarely seen at games. Because these people don't actually follow the football team, they seem to mistakenly think there's some sort of rivalry with Sligo and target it as their big trip on the ****.
Saturday away games would obviously bring more of them out as well. A similar element travelled to Longford on a few occasions and did damage in pubs in Longford and nearby towns including foot.ie's spiritual home, Tarmonbarry. I think we moved any home games against ye away from the Saturday night recently.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
09/03/2016, 8:17 PM
the incident with the OAP was that in Mooneys as well?
Nah in O'Neills
redarmyfaction
09/03/2016, 8:18 PM
Keep losing to them and keep calling them Rovers and ye should be OK.