05/03/2016, 6:12 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=uk5pKWsOqJg&feature=youtu.be
Great goal by Marco Chindea last night

total hoofball
05/03/2016, 6:41 PM
Bray have 2 ticket sellers tonight for a possible 2000 attendance. Crazy

D24Saint
05/03/2016, 6:42 PM
It was the same for their first home game v Drogheda last year I missed the first 15 mins.

hitman07
05/03/2016, 7:49 PM
There was new high end looking camera attached to our main stand I assume it was part of the new system for betting companies.

no games were available so far and again none tonight to stream. any ideas on why this isnt working?

thomas72
05/03/2016, 7:57 PM
FT Limerick fc 4 UCD 1
Arron greene 2, shane Tracey, Chris mullhall

Olander
05/03/2016, 8:02 PM
FT Limerick fc 4 UCD 1
Arron greene 2, shane Tracey, Chris mullhall
Impressively misspelling three of your own players names :p :D

Limerick will be hard to stop in the First Division this year.

joey B
05/03/2016, 8:29 PM
Looks like Sligo have adopted Ollie Horgan's football philosophy .................

05/03/2016, 8:39 PM
First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC really should have scored another 5 or 6 tonight.

When are the Premier Fixtures for 2017 out?

patrickccfc
05/03/2016, 8:41 PM
Did extra time see into the future somehow?

Bray Wanderers 1 - 3 Dundalk
45' + 3' - And that's it. The champions had to work very hard for their win, but it was fully merited on the second half which was played almost exclusively in Seagulls territory. Mick Cooke will rue the three individual mistakes that led Dundalk's goals, and he knows he'll have a lot of work to do to make them into a top-half club.

Bray Wanderers 1 - 3 Dundalk
81' - Goal - It takes less than a minute for Dundalk to make the extra man count as Ronan Finn beats Peter Cherrie with a shot from outside his box. It wasn't a great shot by any means, but Cherrie found himself rooted to the spot as he was beaten on his near post.

Quayman
05/03/2016, 8:43 PM
Handy win for us in the end tonight. bray as per every Cooke team. hoofed and kicked lumps. pitch was in an awful state also. football couldn't be played on it. bobbled everywhere. Ref as with normal league standards was shocking.

Cuyahoga
05/03/2016, 8:49 PM
Full Time : Sligo Rovers 0 Shamrock Rovers 2 .

05/03/2016, 9:05 PM
It was a massacre in Limerick tonight. Seriously, we chould have had 8, or even 10.

Aaron Greene went past UCD players like I go past my 5-year old son in the park.

redarmyfaction
05/03/2016, 9:07 PM
Full Time : Sligo Rovers 0 Shamrock Rovers 2 .
Refereeing was a joke about 8 yellows and two reds in a game that lacked any intensity, players afraid of their lives to get involved. Brought a non regular up he now regards the league as a joke.

05/03/2016, 9:23 PM
Handy win for us in the end tonight. bray as per every Cooke team. hoofed and kicked lumps. pitch was in an awful state also. football couldn't be played on it. bobbled everywhere. Ref as with normal league standards was shocking.
Pitch was horrible alright but same for both sides.Thought the ref was ok although he fairly dished out the cards in the 2nd half(prob had enough of the persistent Bray fouling).Getting into the ground was a fiasco,half the Dundalk crowd was still outside the ground when Kilduff scored his first,like 2 gates open for what Bray knew would be a huge away support is very poor to put it mildly.Finn is brilliant,masterclass out there tonight.

White Horse
05/03/2016, 10:22 PM

I was expecting more from Bray. There are some decent players there. The number of cards and fouls gives the impression of a high intensity performance on their part but it wasn't like that. They were very flat.

A controlled performance from Dundalk. Finn and O'Donnell imperious.

The pitch looked great when we arrived at the ground, but when the game started the ball couldn't roll without bobbling all over the place. The same for both teams but it curtailed the quality of football that could be played.

The two real negatives for me was Bray having two ticket sellers for a game that was always going to attract a big crowd. The second negative was the numerous flares. They don't care that it will just result in fines. Selfish idiots.

oriel
05/03/2016, 11:19 PM
Totally agree on both negative points, the flares were just being let off one after the other too. There should have been better organisation on selling tickets, fans were queuing from 715 -720 and loads didn't get in until almost 10 mins into the match and missed the first goal.

Dundalk were very comfortable in the end, but we needed that third goal, well taken too by Finn who had a great game with O'Donnell.

Overall a very good start and great to see one of the strikers get off and running with two goals.

joey B
05/03/2016, 11:44 PM
Shamrock Rovers fans apparently displayed a banner calling Dave Robertson a war criminal tonight ...................

06/03/2016, 12:48 AM
Shamrock Rovers fans apparently displayed a banner calling Dave Robertson a war criminal tonight ...................

Apparently also burned one of their own flags too when burning a Sligo one.

06/03/2016, 12:52 AM
Pity we can't play them Easter week.

red bellied
06/03/2016, 1:02 AM
They also clouted oaps over the head in the pub on Churchill.

placid casual
06/03/2016, 7:07 AM
I predicted Sligo would get relegated that s year.
Nothing I saw last night changed my mind. A run of the mill exercise for the Hoops.Brando us the one jewel we possess

06/03/2016, 8:53 AM
Bray warned all patrons to attend early. Obviously to busy skulling pints before the game. We were in at 7.10. Wouldn't have been an issue if they have Q'd up when they arrived at the ground first.

oriel
06/03/2016, 9:43 AM
I was in the que at 715 exactly and there was probably 200 in the que at that point, the problem was the lack of planning by Bray with only 2 selling tickets from the hatches. One club member was doing his best walking up and down the que offering to sell tickets for exact change only, but overall this was poorly managed when they knew a large away support would be going.

Next time I go I'll be getting my tickets at least 45 mins before ko if I arrive that early, but the traffic into the town was dreadful, took 20 -30 mins at least to get to the ground from the outskirts.

D24Saint
06/03/2016, 10:25 AM
Bray warned all patrons to attend early. Obviously to busy skulling pints before the game. We were in at 7.10. Wouldn't have been an issue if they have Q'd up when they arrived at the ground first.

Are you for real , so fans should scuttle along like nice little customers at the behest of Bray Wanderers. I don't know about you but going to games is a social occasion and people are entitled to have a pint before hand as if they went just for the entertainment provided they wouldn't come back. The lack of proper organisation is systemic in the league , clubs whinge about poor crowds & then can't handle them when they do come.Its not just bray at fault for this either but the vast majority of clubs.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/03/2016, 10:34 AM
I predicted Sligo would get relegated that s year.
Nothing I saw last night changed my mind. A run of the mill exercise for the Hoops.Brando us the one jewel we possess

If we're getting relegated on that performance then ye must be a mid table side.

Very encouraged by that performance considering it was a 2 goal defeat and we ended up with 2 lads sent off! Feared for us at half time but much the better team when it was 10 v 11. Shams were always going to grab a second on the break at the and as we still kept pushing forward trying to get an equaliser.

Good crowd and big turnout of that lot. As well behaved as always.

greywanderer
06/03/2016, 10:44 AM
I was in the que at 715 exactly and there was probably 200 in the que at that point, the problem was the lack of planning by Bray with only 2 selling tickets from the hatches. One club member was doing his best walking up and down the que offering to sell tickets for exact change only, but overall this was poorly managed when they knew a large away support would be going.

Next time I go I'll be getting my tickets at least 45 mins before ko if I arrive that early, but the traffic into the town was dreadful, took 20 -30 mins at least to get to the ground from the outskirts.

Dundalk arrived with 4 bus loads of supporters at around 6.30 and stopped right outside the ticket office, nobody went to buy tickets at this time, instead they all went for pints. Ticket office was open for business but nobody thought of planning ahead. .

bluewhitearmy
06/03/2016, 11:01 AM
nobody thought of planning ahead. .

Including Bray, no excuses for em to be honest it's terrible planning on the clubs part.

greywanderer
06/03/2016, 11:27 AM
Including Bray, no excuses for em to be honest it's terrible planning on the clubs part.

Bray had staff in place for people to purchase tickets in time to gain entry, but other's decided to go to the pub instead. . All it took was one person from each bus to buy 20 tickets at 6.30. .

Quayman
06/03/2016, 11:34 AM
Dundalk arrived with 4 bus loads of supporters at around 6.30 and stopped right outside the ticket office, nobody went to buy tickets at this time, instead they all went for pints. Ticket office was open for business but nobody thought of planning ahead. .

What utter nonscience are you talking. I was on one of those buses and about 80 percent of us did queue up when the buses landed. It took nearly 30 mins to get a ticket as only two lads were selling them. One couldn't count and kept mischanging people. There were bray fans also queuing at this ticket office so yes bray are to mostly blame for this.

D24Saint
06/03/2016, 11:50 AM
Is this the Airtricity league or the temperance league.In Ireland people go to the pub before sporting events this causes a late surge so clubs should be prepared.Im not saying that some small delays can't happen in certain circumstance but missing the first fifteen minutes of a game is unacceptable , I'm not picking on Bray as there were delays in Richmond on Friday aswell.

White Horse
06/03/2016, 12:03 PM

I can't believe what I'm reading. Is the LOI so flush with fans and support that the onus is on fans to organise tickets for games?

Pablo Escobar
06/03/2016, 12:17 PM
This happened to us last year too for the FAI cup semi final. Even though there were 2 people selling, it still seemed to move incredibly slowly.

06/03/2016, 1:07 PM
Nice video put together by Jungleview Derry supporters from the game.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kv0HXYwG98E

Dave Scully goal 1-0

Ryan Currans goal 2-0

redarmyfaction
06/03/2016, 2:32 PM
Unlike said support who are mere criminals, up to their usual unpleasantness last night, but fair play to them it wasn't them who gave eugenics a bad name even if they made the phrase Shamrock Rover's scum a tautology.

gufcfan
06/03/2016, 4:26 PM
Brought a non regular up he now regards the league as a joke.Smart fella.

codology
06/03/2016, 5:25 PM
Rovers were decent enough,Sligo will do ok but won't finish with 11 too often.I normally defend Rover support but to see one of their former directors getting battered by his own "supporters" needs to be dealt with.

06/03/2016, 5:32 PM
I have no idea how to imbed them here but for those who want to be entertained the goals from First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FCs win v UCD are up on the club's Facebook page.

The club have apologised for the fact that it's only the goals but the video of the chances First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC created was much much too large to upload.

06/03/2016, 5:33 PM

That pitch is an affront to God.

06/03/2016, 5:34 PM
That pitch is an affront to God.
Clubs already resorting to underhanded gardening tactics to stop First Division Champions 2016 Limerick playing.

06/03/2016, 5:39 PM
Clubs already resorting to underhanded gardening tactics to stop First Division Champions 2016 Limerick playing.

Heard Cabinteely even have a rugby team playing on theirs

Roddy Collins was seen out on the RSC pitch this morning with a shovel and three of his piebald ponies.

White Horse
06/03/2016, 5:42 PM
Heard Cabinteely even have a rugby team playing on theirs

Not that unusual in the LOI. There has been a rugby team playing in Turners Cross for years now.

I hear they are trying to start up a football team there this season.

06/03/2016, 6:01 PM
I have no idea how to imbed them here but for those who want to be entertained the goals from First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FCs win v UCD are up on the club's Facebook page.

The club have apologised for the fact that it's only the goals but the video of the chances First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC created was much much too large to upload.

06/03/2016, 6:20 PM
Nice fine for these.

http://www.irishtimes.com/polopoly_fs/1.2562024.1457273818!/image/image.jpg_gen/derivatives/box_620_330/image.jpg

KeepersBall
06/03/2016, 6:39 PM
Decent strike but the keeper looks like he'd struggle to stop a 46A outside the ground, what deaf huck was he at

D24Saint
06/03/2016, 6:51 PM
Seeing different reports on social media about Rovers causing trouble in Sligo in regards to banners & other antisocial behaviour any truth in it ?

redarmyfaction
06/03/2016, 7:13 PM
Rovers were decent enough,Sligo will do ok but won't finish with 11 too often.I normally defend Rover support but to see one of their former directors getting battered by his own "supporters" needs to be dealt with.

I have to ask a question here, you 'normally defend Rover support to see one of their former directors getting battered by his own "supporters" needs to be dealt with.', so you condone OAP's being assaulted in O Neiil's on Churchill (as reported on this thread,) by Rover support, but make a distinction when one of your own is battered by the slack jaws. There appears to be types associated with your outfit.

(1) The Shavs, offensive to ear and eye, wearing expressions of puzzled stupidity, like animals in pain, faces smeared with white powder of dubious provenance as they embarrass the league , Ireland and humanity.

(2) The Shavvie Pointers, those who seek to justify or rationalise the Shav's behaviour, out of some sense of exceptionalism.

codology
06/03/2016, 8:02 PM
I have to ask a question here, you 'normally defend Rover support to see one of their former directors getting battered by his own "supporters" needs to be dealt with.', so you condone OAP's being assaulted in O Neiil's on Churchill (as reported on this thread,) by Rover support, but make a distinction when one of your own is battered by the slack jaws. There appears to be types associated with your outfit.

(1) The Shavs, offensive to ear and eye, wearing expressions of puzzled stupidity, like animals in pain, faces smeared with white powder of dubious provenance as they embarrass the league , Ireland and humanity.

(2) The Shavvie Pointers, those who seek to justify or rationalise the Shav's behaviour, out of some sense of exceptionalism.
The only distinction I make is that Rovers are responsible for the behaviour of their fans in grounds,there really is very little they can do to police outside grounds and in case there is any doubt,I would throw away the key for any fu.... r who behaves like a neanderthal.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/03/2016, 8:34 PM
Seeing different reports on social media about Rovers causing trouble in Sligo in regards to banners & other antisocial behaviour any truth in it ?

Can only really comment on what I saw in the ground

Seat thrown onto the pitch pre game.

Someone removed by the Gardai in the first half.

Looked over at one stage and they were burning a flag of some sort

Another time they were trying to break off one half of an advertising hoarding. When I looked back again it has been removed but not sure if this was precautionary or they had managed to break it off.

There was a huge crowd of them there and I'm not saying they're all involved in this but it's a regular occurrence whenever they turn up.

They had a banner saying something like Shame on Sligo for hiring a War Criminal as well but I think stuff like that is going to be happening a lot.

White Horse
06/03/2016, 8:58 PM
Can only really comment on what I saw in the ground

Seat thrown onto the pitch pre game.

Someone removed by the Gardai in the first half.

Looked over at one stage and they were burning a flag of some sort

Another time they were trying to break off one half of an advertising hoarding. When I looked back again it has been removed but not sure if this was precautionary or they had managed to break it off.

There was a huge crowd of them there and I'm not saying they're all involved in this but it's a regular occurrence whenever they turn up.

They had a banner saying something like Shame on Sligo for hiring a War Criminal as well but I think stuff like that is going to be happening a lot.

I must be getting de-sensitised to hooliganism from Shamrock Rovers fans.

After witnessing Rovers "fans" attacking a house where people were holding a wake, I find these events less than shocking.

By the way, I had an interesting conversation with a Rovers fan in the middle of the away crowd in Bray on Saturday night. I asked him what he was doing there and he said that he loves LOI football but can't stand being associated with Rovers away fans so decided on a short trip to Bray rather than going to Sligo.

El-Pietro
06/03/2016, 9:07 PM
Not that unusual in the LOI. There has been a rugby team playing in Turners Cross for years now.

I hear they are trying to start up a football team there this season.
Sure didn't Dev himself score a penalty at the Box in a rugby game once upon a time. So the famous table quiz question goes. "Which former President scored a penalty at Turners Cross?"