View Full Version : Friendlies 2016
07/02/2016, 4:13 PM
First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC won a great moral victory today allowing premier division also rans bray wanderers a morale boosting 2 0 win.
Hehe loving the North Korea style posts!
bluewhitearmy
07/02/2016, 8:23 PM
Brays pitch is a disgrace.
08/02/2016, 12:19 AM
Must have spent all the pitch cash on a perimeter wall for the visit of a 1st Division side..
MattB11
08/02/2016, 2:36 PM
Shamrock Rovers lost 2-0 to Dnipro Youths
Nailor
08/02/2016, 3:24 PM
Shamrock Rovers lost 2-0 to Dnipro Youths Under 23's :)
White Horse
08/02/2016, 3:40 PM
From the official competition twitter:
"The players shake hands after an almost one-sided display. FT Score : Dnipro 2-0 Shamrock Rovers"
Good luck to Rovers, in some ways they are flying the flag. But its seem like an awful long way to go for a couple of friendlies against the reserve/youth team of the third best team in Ukraine, the reserve team of a German second division club and the Argentina U23s. It's hard to see how the trip is to be of benefit to the club.
bluewhitearmy
08/02/2016, 5:07 PM
Good luck to Rovers, in some ways they are flying the flag. But its seem like an awful long way to go for a couple of friendlies against the reserve/youth team of the third best team in Ukraine, the reserve team of a German second division club and the Argentina U23s. It's hard to see how the trip is to be of benefit to the club.
Conditions in India would be fantastic for building fitness I would imagine having to train and play in the heat over there will get them in shape very quickly.
White Horse
08/02/2016, 6:33 PM
Conditions in India would be fantastic for building fitness I would imagine having to train and play in the heat over there will get them in shape very quickly.
http://pbs.twimg.com/media/CasxROtUEAAg8hM.jpg
They are getting a good work out, that is for sure.
oldyouth
08/02/2016, 7:20 PM
Shamrock Rovers lost 2-0 to Youths
Forgive me my dream for a moment
gufcfan
08/02/2016, 7:35 PM
its seem like an awful long way to go for a couple of friendlies against the reserve/youth team of the third best team in Ukraine, the reserve team of a German second division club and the Argentina U23s. It's hard to see how the trip is to be of benefit to the club.
It was free and these teams are not in pre-season. Teams of similar standard, if not lower, often play against LOI sides in Ireland.
Having a 3 week long training camp, with the team together in relative isolation, away from other pressures like work or whatever, for that whole time should be a great team-building exercise.
Nailor
09/02/2016, 9:58 AM
David O'Connor's blog on the Indian trip is very good :) http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/latest-news/4152-doc-s-diary-3
White Horse
09/02/2016, 10:07 AM
David O'Connor's blog on the Indian trip is very good :) http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/latest-news/4152-doc-s-diary-3
Not exactly a Saipan level civil war, but tensions can get high when curly wurlys are at stake.
After freezing my nuts off in Tolka on Friday, I'm sure there are a few envious players out there.
09/02/2016, 8:40 PM
Another morale boosting game for Waterford tonight. Restricted Dundalk to just the 8 goals and scored one.
Jd2793
09/02/2016, 9:15 PM
Is this in or around what waterford have for the season then? Aware there was a couple of trialists but looks bleak
White Horse
09/02/2016, 9:25 PM
Is this in or around what waterford have for the season then? Aware there was a couple of trialists but looks bleak
For their sake, I hope they were missing a lot of their first team.
They were very lightweight tonight.
jinxy lilywhite
09/02/2016, 9:45 PM
For their sake, I hope they were missing a lot of their first team.
They were very lightweight tonight.
Men v Boys stuff.
dublinred
10/02/2016, 7:59 AM
Still a few tickets left for Sligo Rovers v Liverpool u21 tonight can pay at the gate , nice touch for Alan Keane.
http://sligorovers.com/news/16/feb/preview-liverpool
10/02/2016, 10:54 AM
Another morale boosting game for Waterford tonight. Restricted Dundalk to just the 8 goals and scored one.
All part of the plan and Roddy's mind games. Get hammered preseason on purpose to be underestimated when the league starts.
Playing Cork was in the MSC?, but then playing Dundalk - the best 2 teams in the country of recent, I dont see what purpose it serves except to show players the where he wants them to be. In the mean time destroy their confidence, or of course to show the board how much work needs to be done, lower expectations and prolong the jobs shelf life.
10/02/2016, 11:42 AM
Cork game was a friendly also. Both Cork and Waterford were knocked out of the MSC.
10/02/2016, 1:27 PM
Rovers 2 1860 2 at half-time. 2 penalties for Munich, a penalty for McCabe and a North volley.
Cuyahoga
10/02/2016, 3:15 PM
Full Tiime : Shamrock Rovers 3 1860 Munich 2. Gavin Brennan with the winner.
10/02/2016, 4:15 PM
Good result for Rovers. League favourites tag on its way!
White Horse
10/02/2016, 4:24 PM
Fair play to Rovers. Good result against a decent side.
10/02/2016, 4:35 PM
Good result for Rovers. League favourites tag on its way!
Oh god no. It was barely the equivalent of a 4-0 win over Waterford, so we're still way behind Cork and Dundalk in the bookies.
Jd2793
10/02/2016, 9:59 PM
Seen we are playing Drogheda tomorrow, anyone clued up on the kind of side they've put together this season?
10/02/2016, 10:24 PM
Sligo kids beaten by Liverpool kids tonight.
White Horse
12/02/2016, 5:42 PM
I was impressed with Drogheda in their friendly with Cork. They have a decent side and their shape is very good. It was obvious Peter Mahon and Giller are doing things right.
It was harder to judge Cork. I was expecting a fitter and stronger side. They don't look like they've stepped up their s&c at all. A few of the lads looked to carrying a little bit weight as well.
12/02/2016, 8:47 PM
Oh god no. It was barely the equivalent of a 4-0 win over Waterford, so we're still way behind Cork and Dundalk in the bookies.
Not at all yiz are more than welcome to the favourites tag - either way you are favourites every season with some pundits even when mathematically impossible to win the league:p
12/02/2016, 9:05 PM
Not at all yiz are more than welcome to the favourites tag - either way you are favourites every season with some pundits even when mathematically impossible to win the league:p
God love poor, misguided Stuey.
13/02/2016, 1:31 PM
Limerick vs Dundalk this evening moved to 7pm in UL.
13/02/2016, 3:49 PM
Cobh 0 LTFC 4 the final score from earlier today.
13/02/2016, 4:36 PM
Athlone Town 2-4 Finn Harps
Played in Mullingar today.
White Horse
13/02/2016, 6:26 PM
Limerick vs Dundalk this evening moved to 7pm in UL.
Failed a pitch inspection, I hear.
Is this due to rain or the after effects of a rugby match?
Olander
13/02/2016, 6:51 PM
Galway United 2-0 UCD
Market's Field
13/02/2016, 6:55 PM
More a case of minding the pitch. Raining all day in Limerick
Market's Field
13/02/2016, 6:56 PM
0-0 at half time in UL
Market's Field
13/02/2016, 7:10 PM
1-0 Dundalk. Been coming since start of 2nd half
Market's Field
13/02/2016, 7:32 PM
2-0 Dundalk
Market's Field
13/02/2016, 7:43 PM
Finished 2-0
13/02/2016, 7:50 PM
First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC taking their foot off the gas at half time.
13/02/2016, 8:14 PM
Failed a pitch inspection, I hear.
Is this due to rain or the after effects of a rugby match?
Seagulls are the issue iv been reliably informed
Sligo Rovers 3 Defence Forces 0
Defence Forces defence let them down in the second half apparently.
oldyouth
13/02/2016, 8:56 PM
Sligo Rovers 3 Defence Forces 0
Defence Forces defence let them down in the second half apparently.
Do you know if many Wexford Youths players lined out for the Defence Forces?
13/02/2016, 10:26 PM
Finished 2-0
Did yous sing them a song at the end?
14/02/2016, 9:08 AM
Total disgrace and highly disrespectful if they didn't!
Well their Twitter update reported 'a 2-0 win for the champions'
Was waiting for another one 'that's why they are .............sadly never came.
14/02/2016, 9:54 AM
We had red carpet and a marching band organised for the Markts Field but it was put on hold when moved to UL. The club hoping to do it if we get them in the Cup.
14/02/2016, 11:55 AM
Athlone Town 2-4 Finn Harps
Played in Mullingar today.
Good to see Rafter scoring in his first appearance.