View Full Version : European Championships - France 2016

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11

31/05/2016, 9:38 PM
Geysir talking sh1te as usual and the "sauces" and voices in his head :D

Westwood in Keane too.

31/05/2016, 9:39 PM
That attacking line up would look a million mile better if the 4th forward was Padraig Amond.

3 strikers????

31/05/2016, 9:39 PM
Glad Westwood made it. Rest of the calls marginal enough. Meyler probably pips Gibson as he's a bit more versatile.

31/05/2016, 9:40 PM
I was really hoping Murphy played his way out...

Yup. He was gash. Had a sneaky suspicion that Westwood would make it. He seemed too chirpy on the sidelines.

SwanVsDalton
31/05/2016, 9:42 PM
Yeah, same as. Its fascinating how quickly your faith can unravel in managers :)

And all over a third-choice keeper too. Although I'd like to think Westwood is way, way ahead Given but I'm fearful.

Murphy and McGeady are lucky guys, though at least McGeady looked a bit better in the second half. I was nay too impressed with Gibson (and he looks really unfit) but I think Quinn and Meyler is one samey midfielder too many.

To be honest, I'm not convinced any of these players are going to have much bearing on how our Euros goes. From tonight's starting 11, Clark, Hendrick and maybe Ward, if we need Brady to play further forward, will be having an impact.

McCarthy has been underwhelming in green and coming off a poor season but after seeing out midfielders tonight, and Arter drop out, I'm relieved to see he made it. Hopefully he gets fit and stays fit.

TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 9:43 PM
Out of the attacking players Long, Hoolahan and McClean are the only ones who inspire much faith. Walters at a stretch.

Would like to see Ward start at full back on the back of another solid performance and Brady pushed further forward.

Good to see Westwood included. Hopefully Keane can roll back the clock if he comes off the bench but I haven't seen any evidence he can do it recently.

Dread Murphy getting on that pitch.

IsMiseSean
Meyler very lucky Arter got injured.
McGeady lucky we don't really have an alternative & MON loves him.
Murphy should do the lotto in the morning.

DannyInvincible
Geysir talking sh1te as usual and the "sauces" and voices in his head :D

I wouldn't be so quick to accuse others of talking ****e about Westwood's potential place in the squad...

Neither.that [Westwood] knows he isn't in the squad and saving face by looking happy and unperturbed.

:p

31/05/2016, 9:45 PM
I meant is obviously.:P

31/05/2016, 9:45 PM
Out of the attacking players Long, Hoolahan and McClean are the only ones who inspire much faith. Walters at a stretch.

Would like to see Ward start at full back on the back of another solid performance and Brady pushed further forward.

Good to see Westwood included. Hopefully Keane can roll back the clock if he comes off the bench but I haven't seen any evidence he can do it recently.

Dread Murphy getting on that pitch.

And to think I thought in Poznan that Ward played himself out of his Ireland career.

Keane had to be in that squad. Murphy was terrible tonight and I honestly thought he was a goner.

eekers
31/05/2016, 9:46 PM
That attacking line up would look a million mile better if the 4th forward was Padraig Amond.

3 strikers????

Walters and McClean have more chance playing as a striker in Euros than either Murphy or Keane.

This whole squad thing is people getting annoyed about which players get to hang round the Irish hotel for 3 weeks. Waste of time worrying about who our unused subs will be.

In saying that O'Dowda should have gone as a learning experience.

TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 9:47 PM
Meyler very lucky Arter got injured.
McGeady lucky we don't really have an alternative & MON loves him.
Murphy should do the lotto in the morning.

I would take Pilkington over McGeady. Can double up as another forward - although he wasn't too impressive against Slovakia. Would also fancy Pilkington more to score a goal or deliver an incisive pass.

Also thought Hayes had done enough to deserve another chance in these games. More so than someone like O'Kane.

Irwin3
31/05/2016, 9:50 PM
Gibson & McGoldrick > Meyler & Murphy for me.

IsMiseSean
31/05/2016, 10:00 PM
It's great Westwood is going but he's likely going as 3rd choice which is ridiculous.

SwanVsDalton
31/05/2016, 10:04 PM
Did Westwood always know he was going? If we're going to get forensic, he's rocking a humongous grin in the squad release picture.

31/05/2016, 10:04 PM
Heartless celebration over Forde missing out, at least you could have waited until he left the building.
Obviously Westwood said mea culpa and O'Neill was faith bound to forgive him, Westwood is a good catholic boy after all and gained a last ditch reprieve.

This looks to be the weakest squad we have ever sent to a Finals but that can also depends on how O'Neill sets them up. The team has been hit and miss since the play offs (mostly miss), much remains to be seen.

31/05/2016, 10:11 PM
Pilkington, Doyle and even O'Dowda more deserving of places than Murphy, McGeady and Meyler. Better players, simples.

Clark and Ward did well tonight I thought. Clark a real threat in the air. Felt for Gibson, I like what he tried to do tonight. I'd be surprised if more than 15 or 16 players get on the pitch in June.

I can see Westwood starting. I felt in real time that MON was putting Forde on as a gesture. Watched tha game on catch up as got stuck at work.

31/05/2016, 10:14 PM
Ireland Squad - https://drive.google.com/open?id=1GgEwm5u3NkZMjPOc8T4MLrP8YT4&usp=sharing

31/05/2016, 10:16 PM
The fact that Doyle remained for the Colorado game at the weekend, do you think it's because he was told that he was unlikely to make the final 23? Or did he fail to make the final 23 because he remained in Colorado. The former for me.

SwanVsDalton
31/05/2016, 10:21 PM
The fact that Doyle remained for the Colorado game at the weekend, do you think it's because he was told that he was unlikely to make the final 23? Or did he fail to make the final 23 because he remained in Colorado. The former for me.

Pretty sure O'Neill said a few days ago they had a chat about it and decided there was no point him travelling over when he was unlikely to make the squad. So definitely the former afaik.

31/05/2016, 10:30 PM
I think we're taking around 4 players if not more who are out of form or offering nothing from a squad perspective.

I can easily see Arter (crocked I know), O'Kane, O'Dowda and Pilkington figuring in September.

Happy with the defensive options. Much as he frustrates me we need McCarthy to be fully fit. Alan Byrne seems to know his stuff so I assume he'll be fit. Meyler can on,y be justified if we're defending a lead.

Brady, Long, Coleman, Wes, McClean and Walters are going to be key players. There are about 4 or 5 passengers lucky to be making the trip.

In fairness, the point about picking fringe players all together is valid. Maybe McGeady, for example, would play better in our first XI.

Oh, and both goals would have been prevented by Whelan :)

31/05/2016, 10:33 PM
Doyle's tweet was classy tonight.

Respect him even more.fair play to him.

backstothewall
31/05/2016, 10:36 PM
I'm very happy with that. If it was me and I had a clean slate I would maybe have brought Jack Byrne in earlier and taken him in place of Quincy but otherwise I would have made exactly the same decisions.

DannyInvincible
31/05/2016, 10:38 PM
Pilkington, Doyle and even O'Dowda more deserving of places than Murphy, McGeady and Meyler. Better players, simples.

Clark and Ward did well tonight I thought. Clark a real threat in the air. Felt for Gibson, I like what he tried to do tonight. I'd be surprised if more than 15 or 16 players get on the pitch in June.

I can see Westwood starting. I felt in real time that MON was putting Forde on as a gesture. Watched tha game on catch up as got stuck at work.

I'd like to think that now Westwood is there, he'll get the shout, but do you reckon O'Neill would make such a call and simply drop Randolph?

I agree, I'd rather see Doyle in ahead of Murphy. Murphy was terrible tonight and hasn't done much in an Ireland shirt.

O'Dowda looked fresh and energetic whilst McGeady's career has nose-dived - poor again tonight - but would have been a major surprise to see O'Dowda make it.

Wouldn't have minded Gibson ahead of Meyler for something a bit different.

NeverFeltBetter
31/05/2016, 10:38 PM
Man, seeing Forde left out and Given selected...I just can't get on-board with that. McGeady my only other major concern, though if Keane is even slightly crocked I question what purpose he'll serve, whether we're defending a lead or chasing a game.

31/05/2016, 10:47 PM
Squad numbers are interesting....
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cj0Z4X4UkAAS7Cm.jpg

TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 10:58 PM
Keogh feeling the pressure after Clark's MOTM performance and emergence of Duffy.

http://www.the42.ie/richard-keogh-ireland-belarus-2799052-May2016/

“Personally I’ve had a very good season, I was lucky enough to win Player of the Year at Derby, and I’ve got to make sure I take that form when I’m playing for my country.”

31/05/2016, 10:59 PM
Man, seeing Forde left out and Given selected...I just can't get on-board with that. McGeady my only other major concern, though if Keane is even slightly crocked I question what purpose he'll serve, whether we're defending a lead or chasing a game.

Gutted about that as well. I'll never forgive Given over 2012. By all means bring him to the tournament. But Forde's Ireland career is over now in such a horrible fashion. Rather like Killer's.

NeverFeltBetter
31/05/2016, 11:15 PM
Depending on how things go in France, Forde could find himself back in the fold before too long.

SwanVsDalton
31/05/2016, 11:26 PM
Fair play to David Forde who just stopped to sign a load of autographs minutes after being cut from the Euro squad. Tough night for him.

Love his style. Bad season for him, can't have too many complaints but still would have taken him over Given. Keep the chin up big lad.

Edit: O'Neill made mention of Forde as the toughest decision as per the Irish Times (http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/keiren-westwood-in-ireland-squad-for-euro-2016-1.2667878).

He kept us in the game in Germany and we got that great point which was hugely significant in our qualification. He’s been great around the place as well and that decision was very difficult because he’s been excellent. It’s just his lack of game time recently at Millwall obviously hasn’t helped but that was disappointing.

TrapAPony
31/05/2016, 11:32 PM
Lads, Forde is a very average keeper. In any event sitting on a bench in League 1 gives you absolutely no right to be going to the Euros as anything other than a fan. I do not feel one little bit sentimental. Given is another one past it... If only Elliot was fit. The likes of McGeady can count his lucky stars we have very few wingers. Pilkington would have offered far more or even take a chance on O'Dowda who is young and has no fear. As for Murphy he offers zilch - 20 games and no goals. McGoldrick or even Doyle are better and it is a pity we did not tryout Scott Hogan beforehand. The only one I feel sorry for is Harry Arter.

SwanVsDalton
31/05/2016, 11:34 PM
Lads, Forde is a very average keeper. Sitting on a bench in League 1 gives you no right to be going to the Euros in any event. I do not feel one little bit sentimental. Given is another one past it... If only Elliot was fit.

You got a heart of ice TAP, but Fordey would melt it no problem if he had the chance...

CraftyToePoke
31/05/2016, 11:39 PM
I'd like to think that now Westwood is there, he'll get the shout, but do you reckon O'Neill would make such a call and simply drop Randolph?

I agree, I'd rather see Doyle in ahead of Murphy. Murphy was terrible tonight and hasn't done much in an Ireland shirt.

O'Dowda looked fresh and energetic whilst McGeady's career has nose-dived - poor again tonight - but would have been a major surprise to see O'Dowda make it.

Wouldn't have minded Gibson ahead of Meyler for something a bit different.

No, I think Westwood being one of the three is as far as MON will bend on this.

I'd agree re Murphy / Doyle, he doesn't have the level in him and it's being exposed badly. Sammon offered more IMO, and that's saying something.

McGeady needs to reward MON for this, he is owed. Lets hope it arrives in the form of a spectacular memory for us all. But I have doubts it will.

Well Gibson didn't go and get game time in Jan, like MON suggested he & McGeady needed to. McGeady did, in a fashion. At least he tried to.

Surely would have been Arter over Quinn ?

31/05/2016, 11:40 PM
if Keane is even slightly crocked I question what purpose he'll serve, whether we're defending a lead or chasing a game.

Someone has to lift the trophy...

gastric
31/05/2016, 11:49 PM
For me, Marc Wilson despite being pretty out of form before his injury, is a big loss going into a major tournament. His versatility and experience will certainly be missed.

TheOneWhoKnocks
01/06/2016, 12:28 AM
But O'Neill has offered a glimmer of hope, particularly Arter who was forced to withdraw from the squad against Belarus because of a thigh injury.

“There is always going to be disappointment the minute you have more than 23 players, obviously. The players accepted that at the time.

“We made a decision based on a number of things, there is no point in me going into detail tonight but that is the squad I have.

“Harry’s definitely one. He has picked up this injury which is going to take a little time and I had to make an assessment on that, James McCarthy, obviously Robbie Keane. There is a stage where you have to say ‘well listen here, I want to make sure some players are going to be fit’.

“I think Harry is very much in my thoughts at this minute and who knows, if players don’t come through there is a possibility of things happening at the other end.”

Ah here. This is beginning to just reflect badly on people now. If he isn't going to be fit, he isn't going to be fit. Get a full pre-season in and come back for the WC Qualifiers. His fitness isn't the be all and end all to our hopes.

Keane doubtful for Sweden game. Which is probably the only game I would fancy him to have any kind of impact in.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/euro-2016/martin-oneill-reveals-robbie-keane-may-not-be-fit-for-euro-2016-opener-against-sweden-34763165.html

Irwin3
01/06/2016, 1:57 AM
I really thought Gibson would get in. Tonight was the first game Meyler has started since April 19th. Meyler has never started a competitive game for Ireland in midfield. And then when you compare both player's performances tonight, there was only one who was at least giving it a go even if it didn't really come off. Bad luck Gibson. No minutes at the last euros and now not in this one at all. And no club too.

P.S. I hate to be negative on a player (Meyler) and I know Gibson hasn't exactly pushed for inclusion but even so, I'm having trouble seeing this particular decision.

TrapAPony
01/06/2016, 4:30 AM
Why didn't MON just name Arter in the 23 and if not fit on time to then call up Quinn/Meyler instead of the other way around.

Olé Olé
01/06/2016, 8:28 AM
I really thought Gibson would get in. Tonight was the first game Meyler has started since April 19th. Meyler has never started a competitive game for Ireland in midfield. And then when you compare both player's performances tonight, there was only one who was at least giving it a go even if it didn't really come off. Bad luck Gibson. No minutes at the last euros and now not in this one at all. And no club too.

P.S. I hate to be negative on a player (Meyler) and I know Gibson hasn't exactly pushed for inclusion but even so, I'm having trouble seeing this particular decision.

Agreed. In a direct comparison, I thought Gibson showed more on the night. I know some of his long balls didn't find the man but the pitch was tight and at least he tried them. Meyler's passing was very, very simple. Walked out the gate thinking Gibson had won that battle.

Olé Olé
01/06/2016, 8:32 AM
Very surprised by Murphy getting the nod. He did a job against Scotland at home. Last night he was just poor. With Hendrick playing off Murphy, we were completely unable to keep the ball up high. Different story when Long and Hoolahan came on. Hendrick improves when they're about, which worries me slightly about him going forward but there are no doubts about his selection.

And I agree- Sammon offered more. As did Caleb Folan, being brutally honest.

01/06/2016, 8:53 AM
Main thing to come out of that game really is that we don't want to have to use our subs...

When you add in that the North beat Belarus 3-0 on Friday, that was a poor result. Can't have too many complaints about it either; started off well in either half, then let them back into it both times and they scored. Only bringing on some first-teamers - Long and Hoolahan - turned the game for us. Super assist for Ward's goal from Long. All a bit worrying.

O'Dowda did surprisingly well when coming on. Christie was good going forward but poor at the back. Given had no chance with either goal and pulled off one excellent save; couldn't really ask for much more. Quite happy he's going as it puts off the day when there's no-one in an Irish finals squad older than me. :) Westwood should be going of course, but I don't see why all the other keepers have gotten run-outs in the friendlies this year; Westwood has one cap in the last three years (45 minutes v England). And then he's squad number 1? Strange. Have they just taken the qualifying squad numbers and given Westwood Forde's number?

Anyways - 12 days to go!

gastric
01/06/2016, 9:24 AM
Very funny p#ss take by Paul Howard! God Bless our John.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/the-lost-shoe-diaries-part-1-1.2667490

01/06/2016, 9:56 AM
Agreed. In a direct comparison, I thought Gibson showed more on the night. I know some of his long balls didn't find the man but the pitch was tight and at least he tried them. Meyler's passing was very, very simple. Walked out the gate thinking Gibson had won that battle.
Meyler's been around the squad for the whole campaign and has done well in a few odd jobs he's been given. I think Gibson had to make a case for himself and he looked heavy like he was treading water at times, his passing was off as if precision wasn't a priority, but it was an awful match for him to be making an outstanding impression, the team were a shapeless shambles last night.
Nevertheless there would be a hope that Gibson could gain a bit more sharpness whereas Meyler will always be Meyler, therefore Gibson would have been my choice also.

In one fell swoop our Derry contingent has been slaughtered, only two left standing.

backstothewall
01/06/2016, 10:01 AM
The thing about Meyler is you get the feeling he could do a job just about anywhere at a pinch. In the absence of Marc Wilson his adaptability has maybe tipped the scales in his favour

Fixer82
01/06/2016, 10:02 AM
I felt Gibson was trying too hard to make an impression. He kept moving the ball and tried a forward pass as much as possible, something Whelan doesn't do too much.gibson knew the clock was ticking and his body language when he was subbed said it all. He knew he wouldn't be on the plane. Felt for him.

01/06/2016, 12:09 PM
http://www.theguardian.com/football/ng-interactive/2016/jun/01/euro-2016-the-complete-guide-to-every-squad-and-every-player-in-france

Profiles of every team and every player at the Euros:

Martin O'Neill's side are more positive than they were towards the end of Giovanni Trapattoni's reign, and the new coach has used the attacking Robbie Brady as a left-back in a 4-2-3-1 formation.
STRENGTHS

This is an extremely hard-working side (think Jon Walters) and Shane Long's speed and aerial power up front will trouble most defences.
WEAKNESSES

O'Neill's biggest problem is in central defence, where Richard Keogh is a definite starter but Ciaran Clarke, John O'Shea and Marc Wilson have all had difficult seasons.

01/06/2016, 12:12 PM
A bit of a lazy description of the team especially the defence. I think it'll be O'Shea and Clark myself. Even if he's proved right about Keogh it's still a speculative call in my opinion. Duffy has quite a chance too. Wilson's difficult season isn't really relevant!

01/06/2016, 12:14 PM
In fact I think central defence is where I am least worried!

Sorry for second post, can't see edit button on my mobile.

CraftyToePoke
01/06/2016, 12:23 PM
Agreed, that's very casual. At least find out who's in the squad before penning words they are well paid for like.

01/06/2016, 12:31 PM
some great memories from euro 88 in this programme last night...
http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/euro-2016-qualifiers-30004079/10580075/