View Full Version : Interesting Rumour

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Junior
22/12/2004, 8:14 PM
I'd applaud him myself, but then again I like honesty. And he was the one Celtic player who called it as it was - struggling against Inverness Cally something or other is just a hilarious farce...

The guy was a **** - walked out on his team mates when a game was only half way through.

Is this a quality you'd look for in a player?

22/12/2004, 10:41 PM
OK,abolish the Marching season & all vestiges of Br*t rule in Ireland.....Then I'd take it seriously.......
fair enough- as long as the wolfe tones are banned, the AOH aren't allowed march anymore and we adopt a new inclusive national anthem........ :)

nah, davros I agree with most of what you say re the north. I'm just sick of people linking it to 2 teams in Scotland.

liam88
22/12/2004, 11:04 PM
Gypsyfella-not all EL fans hate the Celts-I love ''em (though of course I'm just a Cobh glory supporter arn't I eoinh!); think it's time people stopped pretending they have no Irish links. If they don't like Celtic fine-no need to go preaching to the world about it. Our fans arn't all biggots either!
Rangers have a very long history of secaterianism and violence which Celtic have never even touched on!

22/12/2004, 11:08 PM
I don't hate Celtic at all. I always shout for them if they're on tv (unless they play an Irish team) I just hate a lot of the idiots who "support" them- and then think they're republicans because they're weraing a hooped jersey. Thats all.

Celtic have Irish links, but they ARE Scottish. simple really.

22/12/2004, 11:09 PM
Like it or not......
I don't. that was the point! I know it wont disappear any time soon, but it doesn't mean I have to just accept it and/or like it

SaucyJack
23/12/2004, 2:21 AM
a bunch of Irish clerics set up a football club to help the Irish (Catholic) community in Glasgow, the club becomes relatively very successful., a very nice story, call me sentimental, but I like it..another club in the city somehow becomes rabidly anti-Catholic and rabidly anti-Irish.

..Irish Catholics immigrants and their offspring do the same in other far-flung places, various universities have been started by Irish clerics, one of the top 15 universities in the U.S., Georgetown University was founded by an Irish cleric,..Boston College, DePaul etc etc...open to everyone regardless of faith, or lack of faith...did other universities pop up to counter these institutions like in Glasgow with rabid anti-Catholicism?...can anyone name anything that relates to the Celtic-Rangers thing in other countries where Irish immigrants have settled? just curious.

23/12/2004, 8:13 AM
he was aBoro player was he not?
Cardiff actually. ;)

Donal81
23/12/2004, 8:27 AM
Just saw this thread now. There are some clowns on this forum, that's for sure.

23/12/2004, 8:42 AM
It took you three months to work that out? :D

:D PP

lopez
23/12/2004, 9:27 AM
a bunch of Irish clerics set up a football club to help the Irish (Catholic) community in Glasgow, the club becomes relatively very successful., a very nice story, call me sentimental, but I like it..another club in the city somehow becomes rabidly anti-Catholic and rabidly anti-Irish.
Funny how that happened. Call 'Rangers' a sectarian institution if you like, but that wasn't the intention of its founders. If it was, the last thing they would have done was help Celtic by providing their first opponents.

..Irish Catholics immigrants and their offspring do the same in other far-flung places, various universities have been started by Irish clerics, one of the top 15 universities in the U.S., Georgetown University was founded by an Irish cleric,..Boston College, DePaul etc etc...open to everyone regardless of faith, or lack of faith...did other universities pop up to counter these institutions like in Glasgow with rabid anti-Catholicism?...can anyone name anything that relates to the Celtic-Rangers thing in other countries where Irish immigrants have settled? just curious.I don't think the Bob Jones University has an American football team. Come to think of it, they're not even affiliated to the NAACA. :D

Just saw this thread now. There are some clowns on this forum, that's for sure.Well spotted! :cool:

23/12/2004, 9:32 AM
Just saw this thread now. There are some clowns on this forum, that's for sure.
:D :D :D :D

23/12/2004, 9:37 AM
FWIW 3 players born in what now is the Republic of Ireland played for Rangers in the last century. I have the exact stats at home and think I posted them on here before.

Alex Craig from Galway played over 200 times for the club. James Lowry McAuley from Portarlington made a handful of appearances if I remember correctly. The most prominent of all was Alex Stevenson from Dublin who played here for Dolphin in the early 30's and got a few caps as well albeit not when at Ibrox. I think he got them all at Everton. Rangers came to Dalyer for a friendly in 1933 to play Dolphin as part of the transfer. They also met Bohs on numerous occasions in Friendlies before WW2.

I don't particularly like Rangers FC btw. They play on the sectarian element of their rivalry. They tolerate sectarian singing of their fans particularly away fans. But they are not the only ones. ;)

23/12/2004, 9:48 AM
The most prominent of all was Alex Stevenson from Dublin who played here for Dolphin in the early 30's and got a few caps as well albeit not when at Ibrox.
Earned his first cap whilst at Dolphin, then had to wait fourteen years for his second (an Irish, and possibly world, record.)

23/12/2004, 10:01 AM
Earned his first cap whilst at Dolphin, then had to wait fourteen years for his second (an Irish, and possibly world, record.)

He was capped for the All Ireland Ireland team in between - have the stats but not online.

Total aside but it appears in the 1930's players did not play for both associations at the same time. Jimmy Dunne among others who would have been top stars seemed not to be picked by us when they were playing in the same year for Northern Ireland. This changed after WW2.

23/12/2004, 10:05 AM
still reading the Indo instead of using your own brains?!?!?

Barry Ferguson was booed cos he played for Rangers
Neil McCann was booed cos he played for Rangers

Barry is Protestant
Neil is Catholic...

now tell me how it's bigoted.

Anyone, bueller, anyone?

Fecking bigoted, Celtic-hating, west brit t.wats....

So assuming us fans of Limerick, shelbourne Cork City etc are west Brits ****s and anti Irish bigots for not supporting a British club what does that make fans of a real British club eg Celtic.

BTW was it the Greenock Morton Irish who called Neil McCann a Judas and a traitor?

23/12/2004, 10:34 AM
I'd put the farm on Rory Delap. Rangers were in for him when he moved from Derby to Southampton but he apparently decided it'd hurt his international career. I wouldn't be suprised if he's decided that as two goals against Arsenal at Highbury didn't bring him onto the radar -he has no international career.

town73
23/12/2004, 10:43 AM
Richard Dunne. As replacement for Boumsong.

SaucyJack
23/12/2004, 11:23 AM
FWIW 3 players born in what now is the Republic of Ireland played for Rangers in the last century. I have the exact stats at home and think I posted them on here before.

Alex Craig from Galway played over 200 times for the club. James Lowry McAuley from Portarlington made a handful of appearances if I remember correctly. The most prominent of all was Alex Stevenson from Dublin who played here for Dolphin in the early 30's and got a few caps as well albeit not when at Ibrox. I think he got them all at Everton. Rangers came to Dalyer for a friendly in 1933 to play Dolphin as part of the transfer. They also met Bohs on numerous occasions in Friendlies before WW2.

I don't particularly like Rangers FC btw. They play on the sectarian element of their rivalry. They tolerate sectarian singing of their fans particularly away fans. But they are not the only ones. ;)

any of them Catholic G.Spain?????...

gypsyfella
23/12/2004, 11:45 AM
so arveladze and all those other guys were part of that history were they? I forgot shota was the grandmaster of the georgian orange lodge :rolleyes: there's bigotry on both sides of that divide and I'm sick of all of it

awwwwwwwwwwwwwww

poor you...
have you had to put up with iT? friends killed because of institutionalised racism and sectarianism.....

typical me fein attitude to life there....

gypsyfella
23/12/2004, 11:50 AM

..Irish Catholics immigrants and their offspring do the same in other far-flung places, various universities have been started by Irish clerics, one of the top 15 universities in the U.S., Georgetown University was founded by an Irish cleric,..Boston College, DePaul etc etc...open to everyone regardless of faith, or lack of faith...did other universities pop up to counter these institutions like in Glasgow with rabid anti-Catholicism?...can anyone name anything that relates to the Celtic-Rangers thing in other countries where Irish immigrants have settled? just curious.

good point SJ.

in fact Rangers FC won the sum total of NOTHING before the arrival of CFC onto the Scottish scene... they took it upon themselves to be the 'Protestant' team of the nation and so it began....

23/12/2004, 11:51 AM
awwwwwwwwwwwwwww

poor you...
have you had to put up with iT? friends killed because of institutionalised racism and sectarianism.....

typical me fein attitude to life there....
:confused: :confused: what has that got to do with anything? as it happens yes I have friends and family from the 6 counties who have suffered from this cráp, and also friends from palestine who have suffered even more. Fortunately none of them have been killed.

I agree with a lot more of what Celtic "fans" and Celtic fans say, then I with their counterparts from Rangers. But bigotry is bigotry- end of story. Just because one type of bigotry is closer to your own beliefs doesn't make it less wrong

gypsyfella
23/12/2004, 11:56 AM
:confused: :confused: what has that got to do with anything? as it happens yes I have friends and family from the 6 counties who have suffered from this cráp, and also friends from palestine who have suffered even more. Fortunately none of them have been killed.

you saying that the whole issue has you 'sick'....
do you live in Glasgow? do you know what society is like there... it is not the two sided coin you often mention....

Scotland on Sunday newspaper had a front page report recently tha Catholics are 3 times more likely to be attacked in Scotland than any other ehtnic group.

this all blends with the football and social structures of the country. one of the most respected commentators in Scottish media (Graeme Spiers) touched a nerve when he wrote about it recently, stating that (despite him growing up a Rangers fan) he found them to be of a more sinister, bigoted strand, than any other club in Scotland.

If you;ve never been there you really wont understand it.

23/12/2004, 11:58 AM
you saying that the whole issue has you 'sick'....
do you live in Glasgow? do you know what society is like there...
no. and you've just reinforced my point. It's in Glasgow. Not in Ireland. Which is why I'm sick of people making it out to be an irish issue. thank you for confirming my point

23/12/2004, 12:10 PM
any of them Catholic G.Spain?????...

No idea.

23/12/2004, 12:24 PM
This thread has just gotten ridiculous. Whether or not it was started in a means to annoy people or not I don't know. But it turning into this is ridiculous.
Gypseyfella you have not once contributed to the actual subject of this thread but you have turned it into a slanging match. You started off by abusing the poster and that was it. Then you started waffling on about rivalries bigots et al and partially into a debate into how green and white Mark Viduka was.

Jesus christ some of us like to surmise what Irish International might be moving where and the fact that the club rumoured to be involved was Rangers made it even more juicier.

This site can be a joke sometimes.

Donal81
23/12/2004, 1:06 PM
This thread has just gotten ridiculous. Whether or not it was started in a means to annoy people or not I don't know. But it turning into this is ridiculous.
Gypseyfella you have not once contributed to the actual subject of this thread but you have turned it into a slanging match. You started off by abusing the poster and that was it. Then you started waffling on about rivalries bigots et al and partially into a debate into how green and white Mark Viduka was.

Jesus christ some of us like to surmise what Irish International might be moving where and the fact that the club rumoured to be involved was Rangers made it even more juicier.

This site can be a joke sometimes.

Spot on, I was interested a while ago but couldn't be bothered following this rubbish, what could have been an interesting debate turned into a schoolyard mouthing-off session.

gypsyfella
23/12/2004, 1:25 PM
Spot on, I was interested a while ago but couldn't be bothered following this rubbish, what could have been an interesting debate turned into a schoolyard mouthing-off session.

'an interesting debate' - begun with no-named speculation by a fella who called the celtic fans 'oktobebigots'....

i think that deserved a comment... to highlight his ignorance if nothign else..

for the record i doubt ANY Irish int'l will be in Ibrox's home dressing room anytime soon....

23/12/2004, 2:17 PM
It'd be Maybury if it was anyone...........he grew up a protestant in Ireland supporting Rangers. And good luck to him as it has no bearing on his ability as a footballer-which is all that matters

23/12/2004, 2:29 PM
Glasgow Celtic: The Pride of Ireland...
did you miss geography classes in school or something?

Bondvillain
23/12/2004, 2:30 PM
'an interesting debate' - begun with no-named speculation by a fella who called the celtic fans 'oktobebigots'....

While not one to speak on behalf of other board members, I dont believe "okto...." was a reference to all Celtic fans in general, but just to the Hardcore Celtic set who went as far as to set up a website Called "Ok2boo" to promote & protect the activity of Booing players with either a current or past rangers association when they played for their national teams against Ireland. Very big and clever, but thats neither here nor there.

Oversimplification, perhaps, But I think that deserved a comment... to highlight that ignorance is in the eye of the beholder...

23/12/2004, 2:31 PM
While not one to speak on behalf of other board members, I dont believe "okto...." was a reference to all Celtic fans in general, but just to the Hardcore Celtic set who went as far as to set up a website Called "Ok2boo" to promote & protect the activity of Booing players with either a current or past rangers association when they played for their national teams against Ireland. Very big and clever, but thats neither here nor there.
agreed. I have no problem with genuine celtic fans (as i have repeatedly pointed out) but i do have major issues with the idiots who see wearing a hooped jersey as their contribution to "the cause" when they hardly know what the cause really is

23/12/2004, 2:37 PM
Which is limited to the extent that Ian Harte is easily better....the H*ns are welcome to him.......he's not good enough for international football!

well if he is playing for Rangers he'll be at a huge club. unlike Harte

23/12/2004, 2:46 PM
Aye,but what about those :rolleyes: who do 'know'........ ;)
no prob with them

23/12/2004, 2:50 PM

for the record i doubt ANY Irish int'l will be in Ibrox's home dressing room anytime soon....

Further to other comments. Yes my reference was at the minority of Celtic fans who indulge in sectarian or racial abuse.

It is not ok to Boo players because of the club they play(ed) for. Neither is it ok to hurl sectarian abuse at them. If it continues we may well end up with a far bigger fine than the derisory one handed out to Spain this week or much worse.

I know many decent Celtic fans. but there is also a scum element ttached to the club in this country and presumably in Scotland as well.

23/12/2004, 3:17 PM
If it was to happen, I'd say fair play to McLeish for breaking down barriers but in all honesty I'd put my mortgage on it not happening.

The powers that be at Ibrox could never allow it due to the uproar it would cause...people ripping up season tickets etc. It would hit the club in the pocket so it's a non starter. The player would just be tormented non stop with abuse from BOTH sides of the Old Firm. It really would be unbearable and I'd go as far as saying the player involved would almost certainly receive numerous amounts of death threats.

For those of you that don't live in Scotland this might seem an exageration, but there really would be war.

23/12/2004, 3:54 PM
If it was to happen, I'd say fair play to McLeish for breaking down barriers but in all honesty I'd put my mortgage on it not happening.

The powers that be at Ibrox could never allow it due to the uproar it would cause...people ripping up season tickets etc. It would hit the club in the pocket so it's a non starter. The player would just be tormented non stop with abuse from BOTH sides of the Old Firm. It really would be unbearable and I'd go as far as saying the player involved would almost certainly receive numerous amounts of death threats.

For those of you that don't live in Scotland this might seem an exageration, but there really would be war.

Why would it be such a problem in Scotland?

Surely Mo Jo was a far bigger issue. Plenty of RCs have played for Rangers since incl many Scottish RCs. Why would an Irish player be more of a problem (no idea what his religion is btw).

i can imagine how it would cause problems for some Celtic fans and no doubt half of Glasgow would loathe him but they hardly like Dado Prso or Nacho Novo as it is.

I'm more concerned re the minority of bigots who follow us that would have problems with it and hopefully we may even see the back of them. A lot of the racism disappeared from English football when all clubs had black players.

gypsyfella
23/12/2004, 5:18 PM
Why would it be such a problem in Scotland?watch how the Rangers fans react to Richie Foran or Noel Hunt next time they play there and tell me....

as for Celtic fans, particularly the Irish ones, they would find it hard to understand why a player from Ireland would want to be seen anywhere near Ibrox. I, for one, could not understand it, and know of some internationals who would never even consider it.

Surely Mo Jo was a far bigger issue. Plenty of RCs have played for Rangers since incl many Scottish RCs. Why would an Irish player be more of a problem (no idea what his religion is btw).

many? em a couple perhaps... but it's not all about religion. it's about joining a club with an inherent hatred of all things Irish. I'm sure you really get it,but you're trying hard to be objective and treat Rangers as though they were Southampton or Norwich... i.e. ordinary fc's...

I'm more concerned re the minority of bigots who follow us that would have problems with it and hopefully we may even see the back of them. A lot of the racism disappeared from English football when all clubs had black players.

'bigots' - why? becasuse they hate Rangers? seriously if you want to be less simplistic about the tags and labels you use this would be a far more interesting thread.

You seem to suggest that all the problems in the OF would dissipate when an Irishman plays for Rangers!! what exactly would that achieve? what did MoJo change? is it different?

I bet, like Rangers sympathisers, you blame Catholic schools for the bigotry in Scotland. Even that found in Ibrox....

1MickCollins
23/12/2004, 6:26 PM
Bigotry exists in Scottish football and there is no good in pointing fingers. Educate the kids and save them from narrow-mindedness. Ban the fans who chant sectarian songs for life. One Catholic piece of white trash looks very much like another piece of Protestant white trash - there isn't a Christian among them.

brine3
23/12/2004, 6:39 PM
I have a hunch it might be Matt Holland.

23/12/2004, 7:49 PM
Bigotry exists in Scottish football and there is no good in pointing fingers. Educate the kids and save them from narrow-mindedness. Ban the fans who chant sectarian songs for life. One Catholic piece of white trash looks very much like another piece of Protestant white trash - there isn't a Christian among them.
amen to that sir. very well said

Cowboy
23/12/2004, 10:07 PM
I'm not sure thats true, has this not alreday been tried with Maurice Johnston?

on_me_head_son
24/12/2004, 4:17 AM

Well said MC. Education is the only way forward in this situation. Unfortunately some people seem to enjoy it so much that they are unable or unwilling to change.

24/12/2004, 5:58 AM
Glasgow Celtic is in our hearts...
Who does our refer to?

Bondvillain
24/12/2004, 7:22 AM
Emmm Thats a tough one.... Do you think I could be referring to Irish Celtic fans...?

:D :D :D

Im glad you cleared that one up, It was kind of a general "our".

I thought it was the whole 'All Ireland Loves the Celts' tripe coming up again.

Bondvillain
24/12/2004, 7:44 AM
I bet, like Rangers sympathisers, you blame Catholic schools for the bigotry in Scotland. Even that found in Ibrox....

Personally, i blame the sh*theads on the terraces who wont let it lie.

24/12/2004, 7:45 AM
I think there should be a new Celtic v Rangers/ Fianna Fail v Fine Gael/ Sinn Fein forum inline with a new ignore forum feature.
For what its worth i'd thought Stephen McPhail had gone for a trial with Rangers before Leeds signed him up.

24/12/2004, 8:04 AM
Why would it be such a problem in Scotland?

It would be a huge problem because of the nature of Rangers fans. As has been pointed out, it is a fact that they roundly boo and scream abuse at ANY Irish player that plays for an opposing team at Ibrox.
While both sets of support have narrow minded scumbags, it is my opinion that Rangers are far worse than the Celtic fans.

Take Neil Lennon, he is despised because he is a Catholic that plays/played for Northern Ireland, plain and simple. Rangers are a club that proudly show off their Protestant links and their love of the Crown /Britain. No problem there, Celtic display their their links to Ireland and Catholicism.

The difference being that by that logic, Celtic, you would expect to hate all things English and anyone Protestant from Northern Ireland. But nothing could be further from the truth, we have English protestants playing for us, even English internationals and I've never heard anything even mentioned about it. I can only gauge the opinion of other supporters and myself in saying that should a Protestant Northern Ireland international sign for Celtic, it wouldn't even warrant a line in a newspaper or an eyelid batted.

Therein lies the difference, because it is certain that Rangers fans would go off their heads should a Catholic Irish international sign. Fair enough they burned a bridge with Mo Johnston but there was uproar at the time and it took a long time for a lot of fans to come around to it. I know a couple of Rangers fans (not even that hardcore) who say that at the time the ripped up their season books.

Taking it that further step now would be a bridge too far for a lot of them, not all of course but a majority IMO.

24/12/2004, 8:28 AM
Actually Celtic have had NI protestants in the past - Allen McKnight and I believe Bertie Peacock.

Most fans of all clubs will take any player that plays for them with commitment to their hearts. Yes you had buys burning their season tickets when Mo Jo signed for Rangers. That was really breaking the mould - a former Celtic player, RC who had blessed himself in front of the Rangers fans. An RoI International (even if probably RC) is hardly in the same mould. I'm not aware of any problems with Neil McCann for example.

BTW I know there is a sectarian element to the Rangers support. I know the sing sectarian songs. they are not like Southampton or Norwich however Celtic are the same. In the past Rangers may have been worse but the term "Old Firm" was coined 100 years ago as even then both clubs were working together and playing the sectarian angle to improve their profile.

Even if this transfer doesn't happen an Irish International will sign for Rangers at some stage. No it won't make any difference to the Celtic/Rangers thing as a Swede is still a Fenian bast%^d and a Croat is still a dirty hun in some moron's eyes.

BTW if you want some support read the Rangers and NI messageboards where the same argument is going on re a minority or bigots who think it is ok to abuse Celtic players who play for NI, bring Rangers flags to games

24/12/2004, 8:43 AM
So what happens if they sign Stephen Carr lets say, would they applaud him on the park but still scream vile abuse at i.e. Noel Hunt when Dunfermline come to town. Methinks not.

As I said a lot of their support would accept it and get behind the player but the majority of support would be against it.

Have you ever lived in Scotland at all? I ask not cheekily, but only because you put your points across as if it's no big deal and they would just get on with it ala Sol Campbell's move from Spurs to Arsenal.

The Old Firm is unlike any rivalry in the world, as long as religion is involved there is always going to be hatred and if you lived in Scotland or espeically Glasgow you would understand that this would be no easy undertaking.

24/12/2004, 9:39 AM
Agreed. Happy Christmas to ye all lads :)