View Full Version : Interesting Rumour
22/12/2004, 1:58 PM
Heard from a source in Scotland that a Republic of Ireland International could be on the move in the January transfer window and would become the first RoI player to play for a certain Glasgow club in over 70 years.
Wonder how the ok2beabigot crew would respond to that. Actually stir up problems with the bigots on both sides.
I think it best not to name him yet. I haven't seen anything in the press.
22/12/2004, 2:00 PM
Heard from a source in Scotland that a Republic of Ireland International could be on the move in the January transfer window and would become the first RoI player to play for a certain Glasgow club in over 70 years.
Wonder how the ok2beabigot crew would respond to that. Actually stir up problems with the bigots on both sides.
I think it best not to name him yet. I haven't seen anything in the press.
Are we allowed to speculate though? My money's on Roy Keane! :D
Bring Back Mick
22/12/2004, 2:05 PM
Alan Maybury...................................
dublinred
22/12/2004, 2:07 PM
Would be Civil war in Glasgow , again would depend on the player , Morrison , Carsley or Kiely wouldn't stir the emotions as much as the Keanes. Personally I could not care less if an Irish plaayers moves between british clubs , my money would be on Alan Maybury going form Hearts to Rangers.
22/12/2004, 2:12 PM
Just to say it is not Alan Maybury nor the other occasional squad member who grew up as a Rangers fan.
Not going to deny anyone else.
I don't see why any Irish player moving between British clubs should cause an issue.
barglee
22/12/2004, 2:14 PM
tell us who!!!
Eirenua
22/12/2004, 2:22 PM
ex hearts boss Craig Levein has confirmed interest in bringing Maybury from Hearts to Leicester. Maybury is out of contract at end of season
22/12/2004, 2:23 PM
I'd be happy to see Maybury join Rangers. An Irish player has to take the plunge with them sooner or later. It would also serve to expose the bigots good and proper.
I can't think who else it would be though.
:) PP
22/12/2004, 2:25 PM
Wonder how the ok2beabigot crew would respond to that.
Wonder how the Rangers fans would respond to it. Most Irish-Celtic fans wouldn't have a problem with it, the booing in Lansdowne has ended which proves it was a bit of fun. The Rangers fans still boo Celtic players though.
Click on the register link on this page:
http://www.gersfans.co.uk/forum/register.asp?FID=0
Where's our country in locations? :rolleyes:
Rangers fans are worse so its them you should be worried about but I'll try not to go into that.
Can't think of anyone off hand other than the obvious Alan Maybury. I doubt its true TBH.
Ahh man, don't tell me Duffer is joining Partick Thistle. :eek: Why does he want to chuck away champions league football to join them. :confused:
Dublin12
22/12/2004, 2:27 PM
I would love to see an Ireland player at Rangers,it would be one of the most talked about transfers ever and great for football,certainly stir things up.Please let it be true :D
Karlos
22/12/2004, 2:30 PM
Let's hope it's Chippy Brady taking over the manager's job!! I'd like to think he'd have silimilar success to his time at Celtic! :eek:
Only joking - Couldn't give 2 hoots if an Irish player plays for Rangers, no big deal to me. Would certainly make interesting viewing to see how the fickle bigot fans dealt with it at Lansdowne Road - wonder if it's 'OK to boo' your own!! :rolleyes:
22/12/2004, 2:31 PM
Would certainly make interesting viewing to see how the fickle bigot fans dealt with it at Lansdowne Road - wonder if it's 'OK to boo' your own!! :rolleyes:
Well if they didn't boo an Aussie Ger I doubt they'll boo an Irish Ger...
No big deal if anyone does Join Rangers, has to happen at some stage. Boumsong is likely to leave, so i'd put money on a defender, John O'Shea maybe.
22/12/2004, 2:35 PM
No big deal if anyone does Join Rangers, has to happen at some stage. Boumsong is likely to leave, so i'd put money on a defender, John O'Shea maybe.
He wouldn't join them after last year.
22/12/2004, 2:36 PM
It would be one of the funniest deals of all time if it was Liam Miller. Or McGeady for that matter...
22/12/2004, 2:42 PM
It would be one of the funniest deals of all time if it was Liam Miller. Or McGeady for that matter...
I think Miller would be even better. The Celtic fans aren't particularly keen on him anymore as it is! ;)
Aidan_mc
22/12/2004, 2:45 PM
Derry City FC are set to lodge a £30m bid for Ronaldinho following a recent club fundraising event.... :D
monutdfc
22/12/2004, 2:59 PM
When McLeish moved to Rangers there was talk of him signing Nicky Colgan. Colgan was reported to have said that he couldn't move to Rangers because he would fear for his family.
I'm not sure if he meant his family in Scotland or back home in Drogheda.
gypsyfella
22/12/2004, 3:06 PM
Gspain you are truly a p. rick.
'Oktobeabigot' exposes you as such - you really have no clue of the history of a club like Rangers do you?
okto boo bigots would be a better phrase...
T.wat.
Karlos
22/12/2004, 3:07 PM
I'd like to think that's the case too but one act of normality doesn't cover the countless acts of mindless abuse I've witnessed unfortunetly.
Dublin12
22/12/2004, 3:10 PM
Conor
Do you think Robbie could go anywhere near Tallaght if that happened.
Karlos
22/12/2004, 3:11 PM
Gspain you are truly a p. rick.
'Oktobeabigot' exposes you as such - you really have no clue of the history of a club like Rangers do you?
okto boo bigots would be a better phrase...
T.wat.
and of course your now going to detail the bigotted remarks that Averladze, Lovenkrands, Van Bronkhorst, Numan et al made about the Irish Team in the build up to the games against us!!
Can't wait! Excitement Overload! :D
gypsyfella
22/12/2004, 3:11 PM
still reading the Indo instead of using your own brains?!?!?
Barry Ferguson was booed cos he played for Rangers
Neil McCann was booed cos he played for Rangers
Barry is Protestant
Neil is Catholic...
now tell me how it's bigoted.
Anyone, bueller, anyone?
Fecking bigoted, Celtic-hating, west brit t.wats....
22/12/2004, 3:12 PM
I'd like to think that's the case too but one act of normality doesn't cover the countless acts of mindless abuse I've witnessed unfortunetly.
Well maybe there'd be a hundred or so people booing the next Rangers player at Lansdowne, it certainly makes a change from the 20,000 odd that booed when it started off.
Karlos
22/12/2004, 3:18 PM
still reading the Indo instead of using your own brains?!?!?
Fecking bigoted, Celtic-hating, west brit t.wats....
sorry I'm still laughing here at this, this must be a wind up :D
We are biggoted becaused we choose not to boo players who play for a scottish team at Irish International Matches - interesting logic! :eek:
I do believe it was yourself who called the Rangers players bigots when you reffered to them in your 'okto boo bigots' line!!!! :eek:
macdermesser
22/12/2004, 3:22 PM
well .. what about Carr or O'Brien at Newcastle? Aren't they after Boumsong .. so maybe some sort of swap deal and money.
nah .. actually that is pretty unlikely come to think of it. ..
Robbie Keane and Miller are self-professed celtic fans, so I couldn't see him going to Rangers.
I think if this rumour is true at all .. then it must be someone like Colgan or Maybury .. or someone who is not a regular at his club. Or maybe someone like Rowlands at QPR or a player from the Championship.
gypsyfella
22/12/2004, 3:24 PM
sorry I'm still laughing here at this, this must be a wind up :D
We are biggoted becaused we choose not to boo players who play for a scottish team at Irish International Matches - interesting logic! :eek:
jesus, read what you want to read eh!
no its because you hold a general and wide reaching hatred of a club that is more Irish than many in this land, because, what? oh theyre popular!
sad to think that you could hve so much self-loathing it's embarrassing really. Youre actually worse than the EPL supporting barstoolers who you also claim to loathe.
Is there room for any respect or support in the hatred filled souls of a tormened eL fan!?!? lol
Celtic fans boo Rangers players - imagine the horror!! I have spoken to many English-based irish players in the international team and they have much less outrage than you ****s, but of course they dont have the angst you seem to have!.
its funny, a lot of you have more in common with Rangers than Irish-Celtic fans, which if it wasnt so outrageous, would be hilarious.
Isn't it funny that FIFA and UEFA can have it within them to award the Irish and Scottish and other nationalities who support Celtic, yet the island which spawned the club is full of hatred...
Sad.
gypsyfella
22/12/2004, 3:25 PM
I do believe it was yourself who called the Rangers players bigots when you reffered to them in your 'okto boo bigots' line!!!! :eek:
talking about the institution.... as you know, but choose to ignore for your ill-advised attempt at an argument..
players come and go, fans and club histories remain... it doenst matter who was being booed, you should really wise up...
gypsyfella
22/12/2004, 3:27 PM
Funny? How? Funny like a clown?
sniff.....
SaucyJack
22/12/2004, 3:28 PM
correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't the crux of the whole Ranger's thing is that they haven't signed a Catholic from the Republic or N.I.? I believe Rangers have had players from the Republic in the last 100yrs, just not Catholic, and for a club that considers itself "big"(well at least the fans do) it's kind of odd that most of the "big" or mid level clubs in England recruit in the Republic, yet they don't(have heard that they actually scout Catholics in the Republic now, don't know if it's true, wouldn't wanna be the guinee pig in that experiment). can whoever started this thread give us the age range of the player in question?
gypsyfella
22/12/2004, 3:31 PM
correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't the crux of the whole Ranger's thing is that they haven't signed a Catholic from the Republic or N.I.? I believe Rangers have had players from the Republic in the last 100yrs, just not Catholic, and for a club that considers itself "big"(well at least the fans do) it's kind of odd that most of the "big" or mid level clubs in England recruit in the Republic, yet they don't(have heard that they actually scout Catholics in the Republic now, don't know if it's true, wouldn't wanna be the guinee pig in that experiment). can whoever started this thread give us the age range of the player in question?
there was a player from the 26 WHO PLAYED FOR them in this century... but it was short lived and it not well documented. they also DO, i believe, have a couple of guys looking at players in this country at the mo, and i know that a few lads went on trial from belvo over the last cpl of years. no one has signed yet, and i think its fairly likely that it wont happen for a long time.
cant see why someone would really want to sign for a club thaty is so outwardly anti-Irish but its the choice of the indvidual concerned.
Karlos
22/12/2004, 3:32 PM
jesus, read what you want to read eh!
no its because you hold a general and wide reaching hatred of a club that is more Irish than many in this land, because, what? oh theyre popular!
sad to think that you could hve so much self-loathing it's embarrassing really. Youre actually worse than the EPL supporting barstoolers who you also claim to loathe.
Is there room for any respect or support in the hatred filled souls of a tormened eL fan!?!? lol
Celtic fans boo Rangers players - imagine the horror!! I have spoken to many English-based irish players in the international team and they have much less outrage than you ****s, but of course they dont have the angst you seem to have!.
its funny, a lot of you have more in common with Rangers than Irish-Celtic fans, which if it wasnt so outrageous, would be hilarious.
Isn't it funny that FIFA and UEFA can have it within them to award the Irish and Scottish and other nationalities who support Celtic, yet the island which spawned the club is full of hatred...
Sad.
Wow, I missed my post where I said I loathed Glasgow Celtic!! Don't let my shareholding Glasgow Cletic cousins find out or I won't be invited around for Christmas! Mate, you seriously need to have a read over the posts again as your adding 2 + 2 and getting 5.
I've no problem with Celtic Fans booing Rangers as long as they go to Parkhead or Ibrox to do it. Ireland Matches at Lansdowne Road do not exist to facilitate Celtic or any other clubs fans with a chance to abuse other players. You want to abuse Rangers players, coolio, whatever floats your boat, buy a ticket for Parkhead mate. If I lived by your logic I'd be booing Robbie Keane at Lansdowne every time for being a Spurs player!!! :eek:
I think all the hate is one directional here.
gypsyfella
22/12/2004, 3:36 PM
I've no problem with Celtic Fans booing Rangers as long as they go to Parkhead or Ibrox to do it. Ireland Matches at Lansdowne Road do not exist to facilitate Celtic or any other clubs fans with a chance to abuse other players. You want to abuse Rangers players, coolio, whatever floats your boat, buy a ticket for Parkhead mate. If I lived by your logic I'd be booing Robbie Keane at Lansdowne every time for being a Spurs player!!! :eek:
I think all the hate is one directional here.
i have a ticket for Paradise, as i do for Dalymount, but your point about Spurs being the same as Rangers (i.e. you arch nemesis) doesnt hold true. Well unless you misunderstand the difference between Celtic v Rangers and Spurs v Arsenal....
i dont think the hatred of 'all things Irish' exists at Spurs does it!
thats a fairly normal footballing rivalry, but as you know thats not the case in Glasgow.
dublinred
22/12/2004, 3:40 PM
Think this whole post was a wind up to see how long it would take to get to 3 pages on Celtic v Rangers b*llsh1T.
22/12/2004, 3:42 PM
Who??? :confused:
Karlos
22/12/2004, 3:44 PM
i have a ticket for Paradise, as i do for Dalymount, but your point about Spurs being the same as Rangers (i.e. you arch nemesis) doesnt hold true. Well unless you misunderstand the difference between Celtic v Rangers and Spurs v Arsenal....
i dont think the hatred of 'all things Irish' exists at Spurs does it!
thats a fairly normal footballing rivalry, but as you know thats not the case in Glasgow.
Ok fair point, but Arsenal are to me what Celtic are to you. Arsenal are dear to my heart and Spurs fans hate all things Arsenal - I've run the gauntlet at White Hart Lane 3 seasons running now and him still here to tell the tale!
Still the actions of these morons doesn't make me associate with players trying to earn a living at the club. Do you really believe that foreign players like Lovenkrands, Van Bronkhorst, Numan et al, signed for Rangers to join the anti-Irish institution. B.S., they went because it's a job and football is there job.
By all means head to Parkhead and boo the institution but you will not persuade me that individual non-institutionalised rangers players deserve to be abused by Celtic fans at non-celtic games i.e. Ireland Matches! :D
gypsyfella
22/12/2004, 3:49 PM
Do you really believe that foreign players like Lovenkrands, Van Bronkhorst, Numan et al, signed for Rangers to join the anti-Irish institution. B.S., they went because it's a job and football is there job.
By all means head to Parkhead and boo the institution but you will not persuade me that individual non-institutionalised rangers players deserve to be abused by Celtic fans at non-celtic games i.e. Ireland Matches! :D
i do believe they went for a job - as did Catholics like mcCann, Amorouso, Ricksen and others - like Gattusso who subsequently denounced the club when leaving as a place where he was told to bless himself indoors before a match, where 'a catholic must stop being catholic'... etc..
i think the stuff at Lansdowne is more humourous than sinister to be honest, and the media here where wholly unable to deal with the complexities of the issue and turned it into a simplistic 'bigoted and sectarian' story as they always do with Celtic. shamefully.
It would be fair more appropriate to point out the reason for the booing, not just the act itself.
And while we're at it, why would anyone Irish want to defend Rangers? bizarre!!
oh a real example of bigoted - booing (just for you gspain)...
Rangers player Shota Arveladze (a devout orthadox Georgian) booed for crossing himself in a friendly with Linfield in Belfast! now thats bigoted..
dublinred
22/12/2004, 3:50 PM
if lizard head signs a roi player there will be a riot--I mean how will they be able to sign about being up to thier necks in fenian blood then? mick mccarthy went to take a throw in in his first old firm game at ibrox and they were all hissing "fenian *******" at him-poor old mick didn't know the **** they were on about but asked his wife when he got home.She explained.
"Oh I guess i'm one of them then he said.
Doesn't stop the United fans singing "Feed the Scousers" or "We all hate leeds sc*m" when Rooney and Smith are playing.
22/12/2004, 3:52 PM
Who??? :confused:
Muscat.
22/12/2004, 3:58 PM
Wasn't at the Gers when we played them was he???? Millwall wasn't it..... :confused:
4tothefloor
22/12/2004, 4:04 PM
Is it Rory Delap? He was linked with Rangers before, but decided against moving. My money is on Delap anyway.
22/12/2004, 4:13 PM
Wasn't at the Gers when we played them was he???? Millwall wasn't it..... :confused:
Well, he played for against Ireland in August just after his move from Rangers, before he had played a game for Millwall. Rooney asked people not to boo and low and behold, there were no boo's.
http://quickstart.clari.net/qs_se/webnews/wed/ah/Qfbl-irl-aus.Rc-x_DaI.html
gypsyfella
22/12/2004, 5:00 PM
i think you'll find he was playing for Milwall only 10 days later - he hardly played for Rangers at all to be honest and NEVER played against Celtic...
dont remember the match to be honest or much details... Moore didnt play either...
what was the reaction to Viduka??
22/12/2004, 5:08 PM
i think you'll find he was playing for Milwall only 10 days later - he hardly played for Rangers at all to be honest and NEVER played against Celtic...
dont remember the match to be honest or much details... Moore didnt play either...
Vidmar came off the bench and don't think he got booed either.
gypsyfella
22/12/2004, 5:31 PM
Vidmar came off the bench and don't think he got booed either.
he was aBoro player was he not?
gypsyfella
22/12/2004, 5:32 PM
I'd applaud him myself, but then again I like honesty. And he was the one Celtic player who called it as it was - struggling against Inverness Cally something or other is just a hilarious farce...
aye right! and refusing to come out for the second half when your team is up the creek is an honest and upstadning thing to do....??
some twisted morals there mate.... you sure youre a football fan?
22/12/2004, 6:01 PM
he was aBoro player was he not?
Yeah but was 5 years at Rangers. If Rooney and Kerr hadn't said what they did Vidmar and Muscat would have been booed.
so arveladze and all those other guys were part of that history were they? I forgot shota was the grandmaster of the georgian orange lodge :rolleyes: there's bigotry on both sides of that divide and I'm sick of all of it
Amen to that,but Never forget who started the whole sick ball rolling......Clue;Not the Indigenous population of Ireland.......
yeah, but if you start the blame game and saying "you started it" then it starts all over again. enough!