TheBoss
28/07/2016, 12:58 AM
I think this tweet sums it up:
https://twitter.com/dubderbyfacts/status/758329386282123264
patrickccfc
28/07/2016, 6:49 AM
Cork City in:
Dave Mulcahy (Bohs)
I can't quite get my head around that one.
Just came across this on extratime, strange one alright and also no official announcement from the club that I've seen? The mind boggles anyway...
patrickccfc
28/07/2016, 6:52 AM
I think this tweet sums it up:
https://twitter.com/dubderbyfacts/status/758329386282123264
Inject something alright, but not youth
Philosophizer
28/07/2016, 8:45 AM
Are City a bit short on CBs?
Mulcahy is older, but he's still got a quality football brain and is in surprisingly good shape for a 38 yr old. I loved watching him outwit young lads over the last few yrs with his experience and his game intelligence.
Not a bad back-up to have if Bennett or Browne get injured throughout the rest of the season.
28/07/2016, 10:06 AM
That's it. Cork were struggling for defenders with Dunleavy and Kavanagh out. Beattie even had to play full back recently.
Mulcahy knows the game and can still absolutely do a job in a good Cork side
oriel
29/07/2016, 12:27 AM
Fair play to him at 38 for being involved in a PD side, that's some going.
I think one of Dundalk's greatest ever players, Tommy McConville was 41 in his last season in LOI, I'm sure it was with Mons, around 87/88. Alfie Hale, who incidentally played with Tommy for Ireland I think, was also in his 40's playing LOI.
I'm also sure it was Hale who has the record of the biggest gap ever in seasons between first and last euro appearance for a Loi club, 1966 and 1986, possibly both with Waterford.
I'm open to correction on any of the above.
ToberonaTornado
29/07/2016, 1:23 PM
Richie Purdy gone on loan to Drogs i thought i seen yesterday.....
29/07/2016, 8:16 PM
Longford Town
In
Gaius Makouta from Crétil-Lusitanos Football Club in France He is the 2nd french national to play for us!
Out
Daniel O Reilly( saw it on twitter so no idea to what club)
Bray Head
31/07/2016, 2:16 PM
Alan Kehoe ex Shels has joined Bray Wanderers.
gufc2000
03/08/2016, 5:09 PM
Galway United Out:
Cormac Raftery (released)
Olander
03/08/2016, 5:22 PM
Galway United Out:
Cormac Raftery (released)
Supposedly signing for Athlone Town. If true, they've signed a very good player.
04/08/2016, 5:10 PM
Sligo have signed former Harps midfielder, American lad Pat McCann. Centre midfielder who was with us in 2013 and 2014.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
04/08/2016, 7:13 PM
Sligo have signed former Harps midfielder, American lad Pat McCann. Centre midfielder who was with us in 2013 and 2014.
Any good?
Hardworking and with a good strike. Great attitude. Surprised to see him at premier level but he's a good guy so hope he does well. Except against us. I hope that is the worst performance in the history of football.
04/08/2016, 7:34 PM
Any good?
Pretty much as Mr. A said, he's got a great attitude, lacking in that bit of quality, but strong and willing to put his foot into a tackle. Was a bit of a fans favourite at Harps mostly for his work-rate, and basically being American.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
04/08/2016, 8:13 PM
Hardworking and with a good strike. Great attitude. Surprised to see him at premier level but he's a good guy so hope he does well. Except against us. I hope that is the worst performance in the history of football.
We've already done that against ye this season!
13/08/2016, 12:53 PM
We've signed from Christian Castells from Romanian side Ceahlăul.
He's a Spanish centre half, a position we badly need cover for.
Bit of a journeyman, but probably experienced.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cristian_Castells
Alan Matthews possible Cousins replacement on the grapevine
19/08/2016, 12:03 PM
Finn Harps out:
Michael Rafter (released)
Matt Crossan (Fanad United)
Raymond Foy (released)
Our player of the season last year, Foy, released. Can't get my head around it.
19/08/2016, 12:06 PM
Finn Harps out:
Michael Rafter (released)
Matt Crossan (Fanad United)
Raymond Foy (released)
Our player of the season last year, Foy, released. Can't get my head around it.
Strange one, unless he's the one who asked to be released.
19/08/2016, 12:33 PM
Strange one, unless he's the one who asked to be released.
That's how it's looking.
Philosophizer
19/08/2016, 12:43 PM
Was he getting any games this year, Nigel?
Hardly going to sign for anyone else is he? Both Derry and Dundalk apparently looking for players...
19/08/2016, 1:23 PM
Can't imagine Derry or Dundalk signing him. He'll either head off to America or sign for an Irish League side I'd guess.
He got a handful of games, but intermittent and largely sub appearances. It's made all the more baffling that Molloy has been brutal and keeping his place in the team.
El-Pietro
19/08/2016, 1:31 PM
LOI clubs can't sign players from other LOI clubs at this point. Only free agents who were out of contract at the end of the window on July 31st/August 1st.
donnrua
19/08/2016, 2:15 PM
Fair play to him at 38 for being involved in a PD side, that's some going.
I think one of Dundalk's greatest ever players, Tommy McConville was 41 in his last season in LOI, I'm sure it was with Mons, around 87/88. Alfie Hale, who incidentally played with Tommy for Ireland I think, was also in his 40's playing LOI.
I'm also sure it was Hale who has the record of the biggest gap ever in seasons between first and last euro appearance for a Loi club, 1966 and 1986, possibly both with Waterford.
I'm open to correction on any of the above.
Al Finucane I think was 44 when he played his last season in the top flight with Waterford and he was 43 when he played his last European game for them against Bordeaux. Still went on to play a season or two with Newcastlewest in the 1st division after that....
20/08/2016, 10:40 AM
Derry City have signed Max Karner from Levski Sofia.
Another Austrian, this time a centre half.
Said before, but Shield mentioned again how you get better value for money on the continent compared with the LoI/IL.
dcfc_1928
20/08/2016, 10:56 AM
Back to Ballinamallard for Foy? He had a decent enough spell there before.
Derry City have signed Max Karner from Levski Sofia.
Another Austrian, this time a centre half.
Said before, but Shield mentioned again how you get better value for money on the continent compared with the LoI/IL.
Actual footage of Shiels authorising this signing:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uncMunNM2-8
White Horse
25/08/2016, 10:27 AM
Dundalk add Dean Shiels and Alan Keane to the squad.
http://www.dundalkfc.com/keane-shiels-added-ranks/
disgruntled
26/08/2016, 11:00 AM
Two signing that bring a wealth of experience to the club.
Shiels has a good goal scoring record from midfield.
29/08/2016, 6:58 AM
Dylan Watts - UCD to Leicester is confirmed.
Expected to make his debut on Tuesday away to Sheffield United. Leicester's academy team have been let into the Johnstone's Paint Trophy (or whatever it's called these days)
Amazing move, and obviously best of luck to him!
04/10/2016, 6:33 PM
Dylan Watts making his Leicester debut tonight in the boycotted Cup.
05/10/2016, 5:00 PM
Big dent in Wexfords survival hopes:
Wexford (out):
Danny Furlong
Stephen Last
Conor O'Keefe
Eric Molloy
Aidan Mulligan
El-Pietro
05/10/2016, 5:22 PM
Big dent in Wexfords survival hopes:
Wexford (out):
Danny Furlong
Stephen Last
Conor O'Keefe
Eric Molloy
Aidan Mulligan
What happened there? Why would they leave so close to the end of the season?
05/10/2016, 5:42 PM
What happened there? Why would they leave so close to the end of the season?
Well..it's not been confirmed by the club yet, but ForzaForth has suggested in the Wexford forum that two of them have emigrated. Suggestions are that Danny Furlong had a toy out of the pram moment.
El-Pietro
05/10/2016, 5:55 PM
Danny Furlong isn't all that great anyway, but they can't afford to lose anyone right now. Best case scenario they are looking at a playoff.
gufcfan
05/10/2016, 7:53 PM
Danny Furlong isn't all that great anyway
This sounds harsh but some players are great at FD level, but just don't have it in them to cut it in Premier. Different game.
El-Pietro
05/10/2016, 8:21 PM
Hes had two stabs at the Premier Division now. He didnt look remotely like a footballer for Cork City (though there were extenuating circumstances). He recovered well at Wexford and was scoring for fun last season, but this year he is the poster child for the jump between divisions. I wish him well, but like many before him the Premier Division looks to be a step too far for him.
With that said, hes their joint top scorer in the division with 4 goals. I thought Murphy had more than 4, he got off to a flyer.
Al Finucane I think was 44 when he played his last season in the top flight with Waterford and he was 43 when he played his last European game for them against Bordeaux. Still went on to play a season or two with Newcastlewest in the 1st division after that....
Al Finucane and Tommy Mc were great friends too, on Finucane, I think I read he holds the Irish record (can't be too many elsewhere actually come to think of it) for years gap between last and next European club appearance with the same club. He played ECWC with Waterford in 1985 or 86 and previously played in the EC for the last league winning brilliant Waterford side of the late 60's / early 70's. I think it may have been 1972 v 1986, a span of 14 years, some going.
Ps on the Wexford players, how in the name of god can they not be contracted to the end of the LOI season at the end of the month?
Ezeikial
07/10/2016, 8:02 PM
Ps on the Wexford players, how in the name of god can they not be contracted to the end of the LOI season at the end of the month?
Their contracts would almost certainly be to the end of the season - do you think Wexford should sue them?
07/10/2016, 9:55 PM
All amateurs no?
07/10/2016, 10:05 PM
I had heard that some of the Wexford lads were heading to New Zealand alright.
According to Shane Keegan on Newstalk LOI podcast all but 3 of their squad were on amateur deals so there was no way to prevent this.
Ezeikial
08/10/2016, 7:47 AM
According to Shane Keegan on Newstalk LOI podcast all but 3 of their squad were on amateur deals so there was no way to prevent this.
Amateur or professional makes little or no difference if the player do not want to play.
10/10/2016, 7:53 AM
Shamrock Rovers Out:
Killian Brennan
Why leave by mutual consent when the season is nearly over? Usually if a player is gone this close to the end of the season there is no announcement, they just sit out the end of the season.
10/10/2016, 4:30 PM
Shamrock Rovers Out:
Killian Brennan
Why leave by mutual consent when the season is nearly over? Usually if a player is gone this close to the end of the season there is no announcement, they just sit out the end of the season.
he must have made a stand when Gavin left suddenly!
11/10/2016, 12:25 AM
Shamrock Rovers Out:
Killian Brennan
He was signed up until the end of 2017
But the main reason was a bit of Rovers playing up to their own fans after Friday's loss to Bohs. Brennan left last week
sbgawa
12/10/2016, 8:54 PM
He was signed up until the end of 2017
But the main reason was a bit of Rovers playing up to their own fans after Friday's loss to Bohs. Brennan left last week
Bad attitude. Was delighted when we signed him but based on what I'm hearing we are better off with him gone. Roll on next season....
oldyouth
13/10/2016, 7:22 AM
Danny Furlong remains a Wexford Youths player and will be included in our squad for tomorrow's game V Galway
sbgawa
21/10/2016, 12:55 PM
I see todays Irish Indo are saying Darren Meenan is a rovers target for next season..
That would be a good start to putting a squad together.