View Full Version : FAI Cup Final. Cork City V Dundalk 8/11/15
Asterix
09/11/2015, 2:12 PM
It's terrible journalism - there's certainly only 12 seats in those photos.
Looks to me like shoddy workmanship there - I see three weld-joints that have given way, I'd worry about the quality of the metals & joints here - all the damage is done to the metal parts & none to the plastic.
IMO I don't think any club should just 'pay the costs' - I'd be more for asking questions about the build & fit-out quality of the stadium here.
The seats aren't designed for people to be standing on them, if dundalk fans were standing on them and they broke then the club should pay.
Sean South
09/11/2015, 2:23 PM
The seats aren't designed for people to be standing on them, if dundalk fans were standing on them and they broke then the club should pay.
Or the security company for not doing what they are paid to do... It's only a few seats anyway, I don't see why there was a big deal made out of it.
I'll happily supply a Bag of cement,a barrowful of sand and a few nuts and bolts up to Lansdowne to sort out the job if people will stop wittering on about this stupid fcuking non story! What a crock
Will you sort out the away section in Oriel first?
You get the OK from Gerry and it'll be done.
White Horse
09/11/2015, 2:43 PM
That will take more than a bag of cement.
ger121
09/11/2015, 2:43 PM
It made the papers so it's not a non-story. On a good day for the League it was a negative story and could have been avoided. One thing is sure, the seats didn't fold themselves. Maybe instead of getting all agro on here, you should direct your anger towards those from your club who caused the damage.
White Horse
09/11/2015, 2:48 PM
http://images3.naharnet.com/images/60500/w460.jpg?1354029393
The damage is not that bad.
It made the papers so it's not a non-story. On a good day for the League it was a negative story and could have been avoided. One thing is sure, the seats didn't fold themselves. Maybe instead of getting all agro on here, you should direct your anger towards those from your club who caused the damage.
Getting all agro :D
Get Jim Cusack from the Indo on to this story and it'll be a diesel laundering criminal RA border rats wreck national stadium headline in no time ;)
Did it make the print edition?
punkrocket
09/11/2015, 3:51 PM
Building up your core and being fit are two different things.
Agreed, but 2 seasons? come on.
We're talking basics here, same with nutrition.
Quayman
09/11/2015, 8:12 PM
Oh what a night. great atmosphere for the final yesterday. on a sour note the seats didn't get broken. The metal bar collapsed. its designed to do that in the event of crowd congestion. that section was oversold by the fai when taking into account they closed off the first 4 rows of seats so more people had to crowd at the back.
Quayman
09/11/2015, 8:13 PM
Also the same happened with derry fans and seats in a final a few years back.
09/11/2015, 9:08 PM
If it was a choice between that and world peace, I'd pick world peace.
09/11/2015, 9:16 PM
It's terrible journalism - there's certainly only 12 seats in those photos.
Looks to me like shoddy workmanship there - I see three weld-joints that have given way, I'd worry about the quality of the metals & joints here - all the damage is done to the metal parts & none to the plastic.
IMO I don't think any club should just 'pay the costs' - I'd be more for asking questions about the build & fit-out quality of the stadium here.
Back in the day when there were telephone kiosks, in Copenhagen they eventually designed their telephone kiosks to withstand an assault from 4 drunken Swedes.
Perhaps the seats in Lansdowne rd could be designed to an A+++ standard --> can withstand a battering from two 'excited' Dundalk fans.
patrickccfc
09/11/2015, 10:20 PM
Nice of Caulfield to go and talk to the dundalk dressing room after the game
https://mobile.twitter.com/inphosports/status/663669333810393088
White Horse
09/11/2015, 10:23 PM
Nice of Caulfield to go and talk to the dundalk dressing room after the game
https://mobile.twitter.com/inphosports/status/663669333810393088
Yes, and not going through the motions either. I heard the players were very impressed with how sincere he was.
10/11/2015, 1:24 AM
Congratulations Dundalk. Was a rank horrible game but Cork wilted visibly and the goal was inevitable when it came, as was the lack of a fightback. Both teams have played better this season but cup finals tend to do that to you, especially when it's been a few years since either was there.
Real ale Madrid
10/11/2015, 9:33 AM
Don’t buy the argument that we were less fit than Dundalk.
The team that are less technically gifted always have to run more than the team that are more technically gifted. Dundalk can keep hold of possession for long spells and we had to do a lot of chasing closing down etc. just to keep them at bay and not allow them any space. Simply put, that took its toll. Tough loss for us, but we will bounce back.
Got to say despite the Baltic conditions, it was an enjoyable game to be at. The Dundalk fans were a credit to the club – it was a tremendous atmosphere at times. Both sets of supporters were very vocal. Bit dangerous with the flares and fireworks maybe – don’t like to see that kind of thing, but apart from that it was brilliant.
White Horse
10/11/2015, 9:59 AM
Don’t buy the argument that we were less fit than Dundalk.
The team that are less technically gifted always have to run more than the team that are more technically gifted. Dundalk can keep hold of possession for long spells and we had to do a lot of chasing closing down etc. just to keep them at bay and not allow them any space. Simply put, that took its toll.
Interesting thought. I would like to see the distance covered stats to see if your theory is correct.
I notice the Dundalk players are getting irritated with the media consensus that a lot of their success is down to superior fitness. They constantly reply to questions about fitness by pointing our their skill level.
disgruntled
10/11/2015, 11:38 AM
Interesting thought. I would like to see the distance covered stats to see if your theory is correct.
I notice the Dundalk players are getting irritated with the media consensus that a lot of their success is down to superior fitness. They constantly reply to questions about fitness by pointing our their skill level.
Its always more energy sapping when you don't have the ball & skill has a lot to do with ball retention.
punkrocket
10/11/2015, 11:41 AM
Bit dangerous with the flares and fireworks maybe – don’t like to see that kind of thing.
Yeah punk was supposed to have done away with them for all time but they keep on flapping back again
10/11/2015, 12:19 PM
Agree with Real Ale Madrid. The Limerick players were training 3 or 4 times a week and also doing gym sessions so the fitness wasn't really a key factor in our lack of success. Fair enough one or two don't have their fitness where it should be but The vast majority of our players are very fit. Our lack of technical ability and defense errors were more of a factor.
The point about the technically better players have less work to do I always find from playing is correct. If it was as easy as just getting fit then you would have teams doing nothing but running.
Dundalk had the perfect combination of both. They had a very fit squad that were conditioned well, like most the top teams but they also were technically far superior and implemented the teams tactics and game plans much better with accuracy.
In my opinion if you are not fit then you have no business playing football at any higher than junior grade.
White Horse
10/11/2015, 12:23 PM
I noticed no difference in fitness levels when Dundalk and Limerick played in the Markets Field.
The media appear to have settled on a consensus that Dundalk are miles fitter than everyone else. This was epitomised by Rico's rant on Soccer Republic last night. This could well be lazy thinking on their part.
I suspect a lot of players will be cursing this lazy consensus as clubs give them gym programmes for the off season.
10/11/2015, 12:36 PM
Congratulations Dundalk. Was a rank horrible game but Cork wilted visibly and the goal was inevitable when it came, as was the lack of a fightback. Both teams have played better this season but cup finals tend to do that to you, especially when it's been a few years since either was there.
It was lacking a quality that has characterised both teams play this season but rank horrible it was not and not in the context of a cup final (and double winner prospect)where the intrigue value of both teams coping with that pressure from the 2nd half onwards, has also worth
jinxy lilywhite
10/11/2015, 12:41 PM
But its not just about fitness, it's how you use it. Dundalk have enough quality in the middle 3 to allow one to sit back and the other 2 to work more for it. It switches over and over. Also in the full back and the wingers there is enough support there when required either in defence and attack.
Pre season has a lot to do also. We had a longer preseason than other clubs because the squad was sorted shortly after last xmas.
There is a saying that hard work beats talent when talent doesn't work. In our case we were the hardest working team, also the most talented but even key players spoke about th admiration for squad members pushing them all the way in training.
10/11/2015, 12:47 PM
I think it's beyond question Dundalk have an edge in the fitness stakes. It's not a bad thing, so did Barcelona at their peak, so do the All Blacks. There are very skillful teams and very fit teams but the best ones are both.
White Horse
10/11/2015, 12:48 PM
Just saw this interview with Graham Byrne after the final:
"I am always trying to push the lads to their limits whether it is fitness or in nutrition. We are always looking for inches everywhere. This process started three years ago. I told the lads it would take three years for them to feel the absolute true benefit of this. We have streaked away from the other clubs. I’m only as good as people buying into my messages telling them to eat certain things and train a certain way. There was a culture in this country before that players didn’t buy into it and we have the first group of players who have bought into it."
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/15491/fitness-the-key-for-dundalk-double-winners/
10/11/2015, 8:01 PM
As some others have said, I think that Dundalk making other teams run themselves into the ground defending against them has a lot to do with how much fitter they look.
strikeforce
10/11/2015, 8:23 PM
It wasn’t a great game, and the first half was terrible really. As the match wore on it was clear Dundalk would be the one pressing to win the game and especially in ET, I thought at that point it was just one sided, such was the fitness of Dundalk.
I got the impression if ever there was a game for Cork to beat Dundalk yesterday was that match, especially in the first half as we struggled to get a grip of the MF. I thought the same when Cork visited after we played BATE in July (1-1 draw), however once O’Donnell got going, and started his short passing, this seemed to breathe more life and belief into the side. Shields did well to slot into right full, however Towell was quiet enough in normal time, much more lively in ET, and Finn and Horgan were magnificent for most of the game. Mountney made a big difference when he came on, and will be thinking he should have started on the right. For Cork, Bennett was quality at the back, and Gaynor showed some great pace with decent crossing at times. We just got the feeling once it went to ET, there was going to be one winner only.
On Cork’s re-building, I would start with getting rid of Healy, he is far too slow, decent passer and can put in a tackle, but he offers little when the team are on the back foot, not sure about Miller either, but I`d be looking for younger guys in the middle, it’s an area that appears to be holding Cork back, just too slow. Thought that was a dreadful challenge on Gannon, especially the follow up leg coming through, nasty stuff, think this was Buckley, he didn’t even get booked.
Disappointing to read about the seats, and like another fan who mentioned this, it was the first thing someone said to me at work this am, FFS, it had to be negative. The fans have said it was only due to standing, but the photos suggest differently, another fine and probably a deduction from the prize money.
Overall it was a great day out, fantastic to see so many there with their small kids, ourselves included, it was a real big day out for all who went, 25,100 was good turnout, definitely over 10k there from DLK . Achieving another double and the clubs 3rd in total was just a great feeling.
Commiserations to Cork, but who knows if they have more self belief, they could have got something yesterday.
Very honest post Oriel. A lot of us have been saying it for ages now about the way City play. Your spot on when you said Sunday was our chance to beat ye, but we didn't take it and we were not brave enough. Dundalk had a great crowd down fair play to ye. See yous all again next year when we'll do it all again.
10/11/2015, 8:38 PM
I think City are adapting their game and a little more bravery especially away from Turners Cross could lead to a tighter affair in the league again. If we can convert some of that 10-12k support in to season ticket holder or more regular visitors to Oriel Park then it is icing on the cake for winning the double. The atmosphere at times was amazing, Ive not been to an Ireland game so cant compare but 25k of fans that are passionate about their team, a sell-out game at the Aviva would be incredible!
Johnnie C
14/11/2015, 6:40 PM
Noticed a South Armagh lilywhites banner at the game. Do many travel from South Armagh/South Down to games at Oriel ?
Kingswood Rover
14/11/2015, 6:56 PM
loi fans and Ireland fans in the aviva in the passionate support stakes, only one winner thats us. reminds me when 4000 Rovers fans sang their Bolliix out at the Irish "die hard" Liverpool fans, that day still makes my blood boil.
White Horse
14/11/2015, 8:29 PM
Noticed a South Armagh lilywhites banner at the game. Do many travel from South Armagh/South Down to games at Oriel ?
Dundalk have always had good support from places like Crossmaglen and Forkhill. You have to bear in mind that they are only 10 miles away from Dundalk. Both places would consider Dundalk to be their nearest town.
Aye i know a good few Dundalk fans who come from Newry,'Cross,Cullyhanna & Forkhill.Always a good few from Carrick and 'Blayney too.
Dundalk have always had good support from places like Crossmaglen and Forkhill. You have to bear in mind that they are only 10 miles away from Dundalk. Both places would consider Dundalk to be their nearest town. Some of these spots are actually less than 10 miles to Dundalk, but you are spot on re the locality, a lot of people in these areas have Irish mobiles as the signal doesn't kick into the UK networks around there or its very poor. A lot of people travelled from Newry also to support Dundalk on the day. There also would be a fair amount of Dundalk people living in Newry and vice versa. The funny thing about these spots, Forkhill, Cross, etc, they would say 'We're heading into Town' meaning Dundalk, as it is so far closer than Newry.
Here is a suggestion for future FAI Cup Finals, would anyone consider moving the game to a Friday night as that would by in snyc with league games, or would it be too difficult for families to travel to Dublin.
Also how about a Saturday around 4pm?
Just felt with ET we got home around 9pm last Sunday, long day out for families, granted Cork fans had 4 times the distance, for us it was 50 mins home from the Port Tunnel, so we can have no complaints, I'd still be interested if people would think moving to a Fri night or a Sat late afternoon would work better for future cup finals.
15/11/2015, 6:32 PM
Ah, yeah, Friday night with extra time would be ideal for families from Cork . Irish Rail would hold the trains. FFS.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
15/11/2015, 11:04 PM
Crazy. When are you starting working with the FAI oriel?
16/11/2015, 3:00 AM
Ah, yeah, Friday night with extra time would be ideal for families from Cork . Irish Rail would hold the trains. FFS.
Hang on a second! Oriel asked for opinions on 2 options and 2 sarcastic replies on one option. Friday night nope, it would devalue the competition for starters imo. But Saturday? Yes I think it would be better than a Sunday in relation to work on the Monday for one thing. Isnt the FA Cup played on a Saturday? It would make greater sense for fans travelling a distance to have Sunday as a travel option or have Sunday to recover after a long evening travel home. I'm sure absenteeism around Dundalk Monday week ago was unusually high. Saturday evening final would make more sense to me allright!
Friday night would probably be a non runner, but it was only a suggestion ,note it has worked for Ireland internationals. My preference would be to move away from a Sunday afternoon, that slot was probably only in place as up to the end of the 90's most teams played on Sunday afternoons.
Saturday afternoon, with Kick off around 4 or 5 might be a good idea, that would give more options to people travelling, and to enjoy the win or console your sorrows after!
strikeforce
16/11/2015, 10:05 AM
Have to agree with oriel on the Saturday option. As we all know though we are dealing with the fai.
Philosophizer
16/11/2015, 11:00 AM
I don't think Friday is an option but Saturday could work. Having said that, Sunday is still the day when the highest % of people are off work so it's probably best day to have it on.
disgruntled
16/11/2015, 1:11 PM
People need to realise that not everyone lives in Dublin or within the Leinster area.
Can you imagine the chaos there would be with a Sat afternoon kick off.
Parking alone would be madness.
Travelling is easier on a Sunday & with an afternoon kickoff you can still get home at a reasonable time.
Agree with the Sunday, I would prefer a 3pm kick off though.
I had the small lad home by 9.15 last Sunday week but that extra 30 minutes would help.
and obviously move the ladies back so there is no confusion or indignation.
16/11/2015, 3:36 PM
People need to realise that not everyone lives in Dublin or within the Leinster area.
Can you imagine the chaos there would be with a Sat afternoon kick off.
Parking alone would be madness.
Travelling is easier on a Sunday & with an afternoon kickoff you can still get home at a reasonable time.
But the Saturday suggestion was to take account of people who don't live near Dublin :confused:
disgruntled
16/11/2015, 5:09 PM
But the Saturday suggestion was to take account of people who don't live near Dublin :confused:
Sorry but how is a Sat match going to help anyone living outside of Dublin ?
16/11/2015, 5:35 PM
As much as it's great exposure for the ladies, there should only be one final on cup final day. Especially given that the final is held in winter, the pitch condition should be of top condition for the final and not potentially 120 minutes/penalties before the main final even takes place.
Sunday is the only day for cup final. Most people are free on a Sunday and traffic is less of a problem in the city.
3pm Sunday kick-off for me.
17/11/2015, 4:17 AM
Sorry but how is a Sat match going to help anyone living outside of Dublin ?
Presumably because most people don't work the following day so won't have to worry about getting home late.
Pablo Escobar
17/11/2015, 5:49 AM
You'd know it was the off-season without looking at the date. What else can we argue about? 😀
disgruntled
18/11/2015, 10:34 AM
Presumably because most people don't work the following day so won't have to worry about getting home late.
Perhaps it has something to do with living in or near Dublin where distance isn't a problem ?
You still have the problem of parking for those who have to travel a distance & parking in Dublin on a Sat evening wouldn't be easy.
18/11/2015, 11:04 AM
As much as it's great exposure for the ladies, there should only be one final on cup final day. Especially given that the final is held in winter, the pitch condition should be of top condition for the final and not potentially 120 minutes/penalties before the main final even takes place.
The pitch wasn't effected at all by the women's cup final in either of the years it has been played so far. And one of them was in a downpour.
There's zero need to change the cup final from a Sunday. Stop fiddling about stuff that doesn't need changing