View Full Version : Shamrock Rovers ask RTÉ to stay away from Tallaght to boost crowds

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

patrickccfc
06/10/2015, 9:03 PM
Thread should be re-named Shamrock rovers ask away fans to stay away to reduce crowds

White Horse
06/10/2015, 9:33 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CQqWqvpWEAAmSLW.jpg

At least two buses of German fans from Dundalk heading to Tallaght on Friday following Shamrock Rovers kind invitation. Unreal the amount of German flags being made by various shops in the town.

06/10/2015, 10:01 PM
Im sure the FAI will have a word and common sense will prevail!!!

At least it is on TV as imagine the 200 bus loads of Dundalk Fans that would arrive in Tallaght otherwise!

GCdfc
07/10/2015, 7:47 AM
Im sure the FAI will have a word and common sense will prevail!!!

At least it is on TV as imagine the 200 bus loads of Dundalk Fans that would arrive in Tallaght otherwise!

I heard it will actually be 217 bus loads travelling to Tallaght.

seand
07/10/2015, 8:15 AM
Rovers are ramping it up now, saying there'll be a strict ejection policy for any naughty Dundalk fans in the home end. I hope none of the German tourists accidentally applaud a good Dundalk passing move or they'll be out on their ear.

Have to admire Rovers' consistency- has any club worked so tirelessly on trying to get people not to watch them? TV cameras... no thanks. Away fans.... no thanks. Pat Fenlon football.... yes please!

07/10/2015, 8:43 AM
Maybe Dundalk should erect a big screen at Oriel and charge €5 in.

dundalkfc10
07/10/2015, 8:57 AM

Considering all our fans are going to Tallaght, Their would be no point!

White Horse
07/10/2015, 9:03 AM

Great idea. Rather then fans watching games live, let then watch the game in a half empty stadium on the TV.

I'm surprised that this nugget didn't make it into the Conroy Report.

Asterix
07/10/2015, 10:25 AM
Im just dissapointed we're not charging you lot €20 into our main stand.

07/10/2015, 10:57 AM
I'm a Germany fan (no exaggeration they're a class act to see play) so ive been extended an invite by Shamrock Rvers, I just happen to follow Dundalk too!

07/10/2015, 11:10 AM
I heard it will actually be 217 bus loads travelling to Tallaght.

I didnt include the 17 buses of school children as they'd walk straight in - stubborn, defiant and maybe a bit rowdy when they are in a huff so they'd have no hassle mixing among the civilised Rovers fans!

dundalkfc10
07/10/2015, 11:23 AM
I'm a Germany fan (no exaggeration they're a class act to see play) so ive been extended an invite by Shamrock Rvers, I just happen to follow Dundalk too!

1 Sure way of getting in the home end, is just buy a cheap Celtic scarf in town, go into the home end, dump the scarf and watch us become Champions (hopefully)

07/10/2015, 11:30 AM
This "strict" policy came into force after the Pats 4-0 win in Tallaght in August 2013. Pats sold out away section quite early but (as per the norm) plenty of Pats fans just paid in on the night. A second "away section" was formed the opposite side of the main stand too. There were plenty of complaints from Rovers fans.

The following year (and each game since), they have stated no Pats fans will be allowed in the home end. Doesn't stop some people going in, but it is a bit funny seeing a third of the stadium empty and others at home wanting to go to the game

White Horse
07/10/2015, 12:08 PM
.. it is a bit funny seeing a third of the stadium empty and others at home wanting to go to the game

Another 500 tickets would have satisfied demand. There would still be at least 2,000 empty seats.

How difficult can it be to segregate fans in a half empty stadium?

Ezeikial
07/10/2015, 12:27 PM
Rovers are ramping it up now, saying there'll be a strict ejection policy for any naughty Dundalk fans in the home end.

As reported on RTE website

Shamrock Rovers have warned Dundalk supporters that they will be ejected from the ground if they purchase tickets for the home sections of Tallaght Stadium for Friday’s SSE Airtricity Premier Division match.
Dundalk fans have quickly snapped up an allocation of 800 tickets in the North end of the main stand and there will be no further allocation for security reasons due to the segregation policy at the ground.
A victory for Stephen Kenny's men will ensure back-to-back league crowns.
The match is live on RTÉ2 and RTÉ Player from 7.45pm.
Rovers stated: "There will be a strict ejection policy in operation on match night to remove any away fans who are not in their allocated area."
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2015/1007/732998-rovers-ask-dundalk-fans-not-to-enter-home-sections/

This has the potential to be a complete farce.

Ezeikial
07/10/2015, 12:29 PM
This "strict" policy came into force after the Pats 4-0 win in Tallaght in August 2013. Pats sold out away section quite early but (as per the norm) plenty of Pats fans just paid in on the night. A second "away section" was formed the opposite side of the main stand too. There were plenty of complaints from Rovers fans.

The following year (and each game since), they have stated no Pats fans will be allowed in the home end. Doesn't stop some people going in, but it is a bit funny seeing a third of the stadium empty and others at home wanting to go to the game

Do you know if anyone was ejected?

07/10/2015, 12:45 PM
Do you know if anyone was ejected?

I don't know of any, sorry. I do know people that didn't bother going though

seand
07/10/2015, 1:26 PM
I'll be able to watch quietly without drawing attention to myself if required (I've watched Liverpool from the away end at Anfield and the home end at Old Trafford) but I'm hoping there'll be a large enough group of Dundalk fans in enemy territory that we'll just be ignored and left in peace. No lack of Shamrock Rovers fans in the Jodi stand at the Dublin derby, incidentally.

07/10/2015, 1:30 PM
If a load of Dundlak fans get in to the home end there's no way in hell the stewards will launch in and start ejecting them unless they want trouble

PartySaint
07/10/2015, 2:07 PM
If a load of Dundlak fans get in to the home end there's no way in hell the stewards will launch in and start ejecting them unless they want trouble

Exactly. There wont be any hassle at the game at all, unless people go looking for some of course.

Ezeikial
07/10/2015, 2:54 PM
Exactly. There wont be any hassle at the game at all, unless people go looking for some of course.

Agreed.

Although the "There will be a strict ejection policy in operation on match night to remove any away fans who are not in their allocated area." seems fairly aggressive and appears to suggest all sort of hassle for visitors if the stewards and/or Gardai so decide

GCdfc
07/10/2015, 2:54 PM
As reported on RTE website

Shamrock Rovers have warned Dundalk supporters that they will be ejected from the ground if they purchase tickets for the home sections of Tallaght Stadium for Friday’s SSE Airtricity Premier Division match.
Dundalk fans have quickly snapped up an allocation of 800 tickets in the North end of the main stand and there will be no further allocation for security reasons due to the segregation policy at the ground.
A victory for Stephen Kenny's men will ensure back-to-back league crowns.
The match is live on RTÉ2 and RTÉ Player from 7.45pm.
Rovers stated: "There will be a strict ejection policy in operation on match night to remove any away fans who are not in their allocated area."
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2015/...home-sections/

This has the potential to be a complete farce.

Isn't the allocated area is what is printed on the ticket? :confused:

PartySaint
07/10/2015, 3:22 PM
Technically everyone there on Friday will be an away fan as it's the council's ground...

07/10/2015, 3:32 PM
Id classify any German fans as away fans just cause it suits me in this situation, if they were in Oriel they would become one of our own! Even so this is more like picking teams in a school yard. For all the predictions of mayhem, my own included, this is sitting up to be a total anti-climax where the games ends in a draw as Rovers put 11 men in the box, nobody has hassle at the ground bar the usual drunken mob type, the flying column style attack by the natives on friendly visitors that happens as per the norm, with the Gardai watching from a distance. Fenlon will jump around on the touchline and have a megaphone in the 4th officials ear - totally average match night in tallaght!

dundalkfc10
07/10/2015, 4:48 PM
If Drogheda beat Cork,it don't matter what happens in Tallaght

07/10/2015, 4:56 PM
Well however unlikely that Cork will fall to Drogheda it's not the worst scenario not to win in Tallaght only for Drogheda to put us over the line:p

Ezeikial
07/10/2015, 5:17 PM
"There will be a strict ejection policy in operation on match night to remove any away fans who are not in their allocated area.".

Maybe it's a typo - could they mean an injection policy?

08/10/2015, 12:12 AM
Agreed.

Although the "There will be a strict ejection policy in operation on match night to remove any away fans who are not in their allocated area." seems fairly aggressive and appears to suggest all sort of hassle for visitors if the stewards and/or Gardai so decide

Cast your mind back to the ticket disaster for Scotland V Ireland at Celtic Park and there were rumours of fans going to be ejected from the home end but because of the mass numbers it was never going to happen, this is exactly the same

08/10/2015, 2:18 AM
A load of hoodoo about nothing. Rovers have to say away fans won't be let into the home end for obvious reasons, as other clubs do when the away team is expected to bring more than the allocated amount. Like every other LOI team, Rovers won't turn away people who want to buy tickets as long as they're not being stupid. We've had the same situation in Oriel.

08/10/2015, 2:19 AM
Maybe it's a typo - could they mean an injection policy?
Nah, that's earlier in the day :)

patrickccfc
08/10/2015, 6:28 AM
Any truth in the rumour that there has been a large increase in people attending German for beginners classes particularly in the dundalk area?

GCdfc
08/10/2015, 7:34 AM
Any truth in the rumour that there has been a large increase in people attending German for beginners classes particularly in the dundalk area?

Nein.

08/10/2015, 7:37 AM
It's the genuine Germans I'm worried about. There's every chance they'll get labelled Dundalk fans if the ticket office can't understand them.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/10/2015, 9:37 AM

They could try and master the English language first of all

dundalkfc10
08/10/2015, 9:52 AM
They could try and master the English language first of all

Coming from a Sligo fan.

I was working in Tallaght yesterday afternoon and went into Tallaght Stadium and bought 3 home end tickets for friends and the fella selling them had no care in the world that I have the biggest Dundalk accent ever.

These statements by Rovers are obvs a scare tactic, just to try to keep the amount of fans coming to go into the home end at a minimum

Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/10/2015, 10:04 AM
It'll be fine but I wouldn't be jumping about the place and roaring on Dundalk from the home end either. Shams have your money at that stage and I would think would be well within their rights to kick Dundalk fans out that were being boisterous if they wanted too.

Hulsey
08/10/2015, 11:10 AM
It'll be fine but I wouldn't be jumping about the place and roaring on Dundalk from the home end either. Shams have your money at that stage and I would think would be well within their rights to kick Dundalk fans out that were being boisterous if they wanted too.
Exactly, there will be zero problems unless people decide to create them. All it takes is one idiot acting the clown to cause hassle for everyone

Ezeikial
08/10/2015, 12:21 PM
Exactly, there will be zero problems unless people decide to create them. All it takes is one idiot acting the clown to cause hassle for everyone

Are you talking about the security heads here?

Hulsey
08/10/2015, 7:36 PM
Are you talking about the security heads here?
Could as easily be ground security as a Dundalk fan, or a Rovers fan for that matter. Wasnt ment as a dig at Dundalk fans

Real ale Madrid
09/10/2015, 8:30 PM
Saw a good few Dundalk fans celebrate not in the Dundalk section there. Much ado about nothing!

Asterix
09/10/2015, 9:24 PM
Saw a good few Dundalk fans celebrate not in the Dundalk section there. Much ado about nothing!

About 25 of them , they got no hassle, they were never going to. Big overreaction all week from dundalk.

09/10/2015, 10:29 PM
Almost at OP and the Lilywhite bar now,we've made history for the club in tallght tonite and i'm going on a 2 day bender! scup the thowwn we deserved that LEAGUE win!!!

10/10/2015, 3:36 AM
Almost at OP and the Lilywhite bar now,we've made history for the club in tallght tonite and i'm going on a 2 day bender! scup the thowwn we deserved that LEAGUE win!!!
Fair play, well-deserved. Congratulations lads.