View Full Version : Shamrock Rovers ask RTÉ to stay away from Tallaght to boost crowds

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

Dalymountrower
21/09/2015, 10:39 AM
Broke, near broke, squandering cash reserves? It's always great fun to watch the fur flying when the Hoops are in distress

Not too long since Dundalk were in that position, I wouldn't tempt fate if I were you given the precarious position of your home ground.

White Horse
21/09/2015, 10:43 AM
Not too long since Dundalk were in that position, I wouldn't tempt fate if I were you given the precarious position of your home ground.

The situation with Oriel Park is not "precarious". That is hyperbole.

Ezeikial
21/09/2015, 2:27 PM

It is always a great source of comfort and humour to be able to have a laugh at the models clubs expense.

It used to be the same with Bohs too.

colonelwest
21/09/2015, 6:09 PM
Maybe one day the corpo/ county council can buy us all grounds to play in!

21/09/2015, 7:41 PM
I can't wait until about 50 years time when Longford are randomly good, so I can be an arse to everyone on internet forums.

placid casual
21/09/2015, 8:58 PM
Those who enjoy their own emotionally bad health and who habitually fill their own minds with the rank poisons of suspicion, jealousy and hatred, as a rule take umbrage at those who refuse to do likewise, and they find a perverted relief in trying to denigrate them.

22/09/2015, 1:08 AM
Its tongue in cheek with Dundalk fans obviously! :D

redobit
22/09/2015, 12:58 PM
Moving from cash reserves of over a million Euro at end of 2011 to a position of nil cash reserves and the playing budget greatly reduced may not mean we're broke but we're in a very precarious position in terms of cash flow- hence the pressure to qualify for Europa and the ultimate responsibility for that rests solely with the board- and Dalymountrower articulates the boards errors perfectly.

So not broke but above is how many of ' these people' feel.

Did Shams not build a training ground with the Europa money.

24/09/2015, 11:09 AM
Going back on topic - back in the early 2000's, there were payments for TV, weren't there? Seem to remember it being £4,000 for the home team, £2,000 for the away team. Or was that only in the cup? We've had so few live league games it hasn't come up a whole lot... £4,000 in 2001 would be the equivalent of over €7000 now I reckon.

24/09/2015, 11:13 AM
Setanta also used to pay for their live Setanta Cup games.

I think €4k (home) & €2k (away) was the figure there too

25/09/2015, 3:30 PM
"RTÉ have announced they will show the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division match between Shamrock Rovers and Dundalk at Tallaght Stadium on Friday, October 9. The match will now kick-off at 7.25pm with the RTÉ2 programme commencing at 7pm."

http://www.sseairtricityleague.ie/news/6458-rte-to-show-shamrock-rovers-v-dundalk?

Yossarian
25/09/2015, 3:32 PM
"RTÉ have announced they will show the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division match between Shamrock Rovers and Dundalk at Tallaght Stadium on Friday, October 9. The match will now kick-off at 7.25pm with the RTÉ2 programme commencing at 7pm."

http://www.sseairtricityleague.ie/news/6458-rte-to-show-shamrock-rovers-v-dundalk?

Not a surprise really. In fairness if Cork don't win tonight then we could possibly win the league that night.

dundalkfc10
25/09/2015, 3:42 PM
Not a surprise really. In fairness if Cork don't win tonight then we could possibly win the league that night.

If Cork win tonight and we win tomorrow. We could still win it in Talaght if Cork fail to win the same night (They are playing Drogheda away of all teams)

So basically no matter what happens, if we win tomorrow.. We will have a chance to win it in Tallaght.

Hopefully Rovers give us as many tickets as we need and not be c**ts over it if we win tomorrow

PartySaint
25/09/2015, 3:45 PM
If Cork win tonight and we win tomorrow. We could still win it in Talaght if Cork fail to win the same night (They are playing Drogheda away of all teams)

So basically no matter what happens, if we win tomorrow.. We will have a chance to win it in Tallaght.

Hopefully Rovers give us as many tickets as we need and not be c**ts over it if we win tomorrow

They need the money so they'll be sending as many tickets to Dundalk as they can.

25/09/2015, 6:11 PM

K/0 now changed to 7.45pm #compromise

wonder88
25/09/2015, 11:01 PM
I think Pat Fenlon and Shamrock Rovers overvalue their "product" in terms of what it is worth to TV companies. Is it on a par with the GAA club championships on tg4, or what Irish Racing is worth to RTE? Sport compared to drama is relatively cheap to produce, but if a fee has to be paid I think tv firms will look elsewhere or towards format/reality tv type programmes.

25/09/2015, 11:03 PM
Do RTE pay nothing, or do they pay to the FAI who just don't pass it on?

jinxy lilywhite
26/09/2015, 12:02 AM
It's included in the fee that they paid the fai for internationals.

Though this will change now because uefa now have collective agreements for the qualifiers.

26/09/2015, 12:19 AM
It's included in the fee that they paid the fai for internationals.

Though this will change now because uefa now have collective agreements for the qualifiers.
It's been in effect since the current qualifying campaign began. If RTE pay anything to the FAI, the clubs don't get any of it.

oriel
26/09/2015, 1:04 PM
It's absolutely vital that the bigger clubs get together at the end of the season and start negotiating with the FAI over a fairer deal. We all know the RTE deal includes LOI games, and monies go directly to the FAI as part of the International games, but the simple fact remains. Clubs get NOT ONE CENT for appearing live on TV.

I think a fair deal would be €5k per game, and for sporting integrity I would build in a small fee for the away side too, a nominal €1k even would be small boost to them, so €6k per game, and that's damn cheap too.

colonelwest
26/09/2015, 1:45 PM
It's absolutely vital that the bigger clubs get together at the end of the season and start negotiating with the FAI over a fairer deal. We all know the RTE deal includes LOI games, and monies go directly to the FAI as part of the International games, but the simple fact remains. Clubs get NOT ONE CENT for appearing live on TV.

I think a fair deal would be €5k per game, and for sporting integrity I would build in a small fee for the away side too, a nominal €1k even would be small boost to them, so €6k per game, and that's damn cheap too.

As has been mentioned a few times that was the case under the old FAI/ RTE deal but all the TV rights are centralised through UEFA since this international campaign began last year. The only thing Frank and Irene can sell is the rights to the friendlies.

Between them RTE & Setanta they show,what, around 30 games a season? Even 10k a game is sweet fa to RTE, over the course of the season/ year, it's half a feckin Tubridy or Ray D'Arcy. Say 7.5k to the home team (which is roughly 500 people on the gate) 2.5k to the away team.

For me though although the TV thing is important the big one is the participation fees and prize money and will be top of the list until it gets sorted. Absolutely insanity it costs more to enter the league than you get back in prize (or tv) money unless you win the league, discounting european money entirely as that comes from UEFA.

chickennuggets
26/09/2015, 2:37 PM
When does the current FAI/RTE deal expire?

28/09/2015, 9:27 PM
When does the current FAI/RTE deal expire?
November 2018 - they renewed before the start of this season.

White Horse
02/10/2015, 9:38 PM
If Shamrock Rovers are concerned that live coverage results in reduced crowds, why are they supplying a limited allocation to tickets to Dundalk?

http://www.dundalkfc.com/shamrock-rovers-ticket-details/

02/10/2015, 9:42 PM
Could guess that might be a Gardaí request. Nothing to stop most Dundalk fans turning up in neutral clothing and getting into the home end anyway.

White Horse
02/10/2015, 9:45 PM
Could guess that might be a Gardaí request. Nothing to stop most Dundalk fans turning up in neutral clothing and getting into the home end anyway.

I was told that it has nothing to do with the Gardai. Taillight is a big stadium and segregation is not a problem.

Ezeikial
02/10/2015, 9:49 PM

I suppose it is possible that this stupidity could have originated from either the Gardai or Shamrock Rovers.

According to the Dundalk website the reasons provided are two-fold

Dundalk FC have received a limited allocation of approximately 700 tickets for this match due to ground and security restrictions

It sounds total bull**** to me - there will not be any capacity issues and the security risks will be dramatically escalated with away supporters entering the home end incognito

02/10/2015, 10:03 PM
In fairness though, 700 is an awful lot more than the away section usually holds. Dundalk will get almost a full quarter of a stand themselves.

Ezeikial
02/10/2015, 10:09 PM
In fairness though, 700 is an awful lot more than the away section usually holds. Dundalk will get almost a full quarter of a stand themselves.n

Are you suggesting that you think this is a fair and sensible approach?

02/10/2015, 10:36 PM
n

Are you suggesting that you think this is a fair and sensible approach?

Fair, yes. Sensible, possibly. Anything that hands the advantage to the away side is a bit silly if you ask me. Don't forget, Rovers will have league position and extra prize money to play for. With that in mind, they probably looked at the game in a number of ways:
a) How much revenue can we get without being outnumbered by away fans.
b) Do we really want to risk 1,500+ rowdy and potentially drunk Dundalk fans clashing with Rovers fans and general local population after the game?
c) Can the away turnstiles/exits cope with 1,500 people going through them?
d) Can we afford the added garda presence/security costs for that many away fans?
e) F*ck Dundalk.

placid casual
02/10/2015, 10:56 PM
Option (e) is the most plausible.

mcgonigle
03/10/2015, 9:01 AM
Option (e) is the most plausible.

If that is the case it doesn't say much about the people that run your club. Complaining 3 weeks ago about tv affecting crowds and revenue (which I agree with) and then turning their nose up at additional revenue. Things can't be that bad if Rovers can afford to turn down money just to stick two fingers up at their superiors.

White Horse
03/10/2015, 9:06 AM
It makes Shamrock Rovers look like absolute amateurs to go public about "TV coverage reducing crowds" and then turn around and impose limits on fans going to the next televised game.

This is the sort of stuff that makes the league look like a joke to the wider sporting public.

dundalkfc10
03/10/2015, 11:40 AM
This has just made the potential for trouble even more likely

Theres gonna be a few hundred Dundalk fans in the home end.

dundalkfc10
03/10/2015, 11:40 AM
Plus u can buy tickets online which I know a few who have already

White Horse
03/10/2015, 11:48 AM
Plus u can buy tickets online which I know a few who have already

Very handy. Saves taking time off work and queuing up at Oriel Park at 10am on Monday.

https://www.shamrockrovers.ie/online_store/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=144

dundalkfc10
03/10/2015, 11:56 AM
Great bunch of lads

Ezeikial
03/10/2015, 12:27 PM
Very handy. Saves taking time off work and queuing up at Oriel Park at 10am on Monday.

https://www.shamrockrovers.ie/online_store/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=144

It is also clear from the piece on the Dundalk website, that Rovers are also acting up with the allocation of concession and child tickets

Dundalk FC have received a limited allocation of approximately 700 tickets for this match due to ground and security restrictions. Included in that allocation is a very limited amount of concession and juvenile tickets.

The Rovers on-line booking system should also prove handy in accessing discounted tickets when the miserly official allocation is sold out

03/10/2015, 12:32 PM
Is there anything to be said for selling the allocation and then asking for more?

Ezeikial
03/10/2015, 12:36 PM
Is there anything to be said for selling the allocation and then asking for more?

Apparently it has already been clarified by Rovers officials that no further tickets will be provided

manic da hoop
03/10/2015, 4:59 PM
The away section in Tallaght holds 700 which is, incidentally more than double the size of travelling support that Dundalk have taken to any previous league game in Tallaght. Assuming Dundalk's demand exceeds this number, which section of the ground do Dundalk fans here recommend they go to? For the record, there is of course additional costs incurred by the club when visiting numbers exceed a certain figure (extra stewards, gardai, turnstile blocks etc) which means that the financial gain from selling a couple of hundred extra tickets is pretty much cancelled out.

White Horse
03/10/2015, 6:05 PM
The away section in Tallaght holds 700 which is, incidentally more than double the size of travelling support that Dundalk have taken to any previous league game in Tallaght. Assuming Dundalk's demand exceeds this number, which section of the ground do Dundalk fans here recommend they go to? For the record, there is of course additional costs incurred by the club when visiting numbers exceed a certain figure (extra stewards, gardai, turnstile blocks etc) which means that the financial gain from selling a couple of hundred extra tickets is pretty much cancelled out.

Think of all the costs you are saving by the home support falling to such low levels.

Can you not fit the thousand or so home fans into one of the stands and let Dundalk have the other?

That would be pretty effective segregation and would cut down on security costs.

manic da hoop
03/10/2015, 6:50 PM
Think of all the costs you are saving by the home support falling to such low levels.

Can you not fit the thousand or so home fans into one of the stands and let Dundalk have the other?

That would be pretty effective segregation and would cut down on security costs.

Presumably you're suggesting something similar too, if the roles were reversed, Dundalk fans being told by their own club to vacate the shed in order to accommodate a larger than normal Rovers crowd. Financial and security reasons aside, I don't know why any self-respecting club would do that.

Yossarian
03/10/2015, 7:38 PM
Presumably you're suggesting something similar too, if the roles were reversed, Dundalk fans being told by their own club to vacate the shed in order to accommodate a larger than normal Rovers crowd. Financial and security reasons aside, I don't know why any self-respecting club would do that.

To be honest if it was Rovers coming to Oriel to maybe win the league I'd want as few of their fans there as possible.
I think the issue here may be more to do with Rovers complaining about reduced attendances at televised games and now restricting the attendance themselves at the very next televised game.
Personally I don't see a huge issue, plenty of Dundalk fans won't travel to Tallaght normally for various reasons so I just hope that everyone who usually travels to our games there get to this game.

manic da hoop
03/10/2015, 7:57 PM
To be honest if it was Rovers coming to Oriel to maybe win the league I'd want as few of their fans there as possible.
I think the issue here may be more to do with Rovers complaining about reduced attendances at televised games and now restricting the attendance themselves at the very next televised game.
Personally I don't see a huge issue, plenty of Dundalk fans won't travel to Tallaght normally for various reasons so I just hope that everyone who usually travels to our games there get to this game.

The concerns over the recent live match had little or nothing to do with the potential Cork crowd that would have come, but everything to do with how the home support was affected on the night. Our club does need to address our falling attendances - there are a number of reasons for this, including TV - but we're talking strictly about our own support here.

As a fan I'm not in the slightest bit concerned by how many visiting supporters ever travel. Financial gains from larger crowds are usually cancelled out by increased security costs, and this game is no exception. I'm satisfied, in this instance, that the club is acting in its own best interest by restricting the away support to what it can safely accommodate in the away section.

White Horse
03/10/2015, 8:03 PM
I'm satisfied, in this instance, that the club is acting in its own best interest by restricting the away support to what it can safely accommodate in the away section.

This has nothing to do with security and everything to do with ego. Most clubs would do the same, to be fair.

However, none would been as foolish to have recently requested no TV coverage due to falling crowds.

It makes Rovers look foolish and very small.

manic da hoop
03/10/2015, 9:21 PM
See post 93. You sure?

I would fully expect any other club in the same situation to base their decisions in their own club's interest.

White Horse
03/10/2015, 9:27 PM
See post 93. You sure?

I would fully expect any other club in the same situation to base their decisions in their own club's interest.

In the context of the request for no TV coverage due to small crowds? You bet.

Amateur stuff from your board.

jinxy lilywhite
03/10/2015, 10:10 PM
From the model club, well I never.

What will happen is loads of folks will buy a ticket online or go plain clothed into the rovers end away from your ultras.
If people want to see the match then they will get a tickets.

For me i am torn because I hate giving that shower any of my money

oriel
04/10/2015, 10:49 AM
Rovers now have tweeted a match poster in German, translated 'all German fans welcome'

Still only 700 tickets going to the away side. Pure and utter arrogance.