View Full Version : Shamrock Rovers ask RTÉ to stay away from Tallaght to boost crowds
jinxy lilywhite
04/10/2015, 10:56 AM
Ein ticket bitte. Danke, auf wiedersen
mcgonigle
04/10/2015, 11:05 AM
Did the tweet mention the champions elect? Seeing as they're so keen to market the game they would want to mention the only decent thing that'll be on show
White Horse
04/10/2015, 11:09 AM
Rovers now have tweeted a match poster in German, translated 'all German fans welcome'
Still only 700 tickets going to the away side. Pure and utter arrogance.
More like desperation.
Small club😩
04/10/2015, 11:15 AM
German colours are the same as Dundalk's too. Might be a lot of Germans there. Most of them cheering on Dundalk strangely.
04/10/2015, 11:24 AM
Ein ticket por favor. Merci, auf wiedersen
Fixed your post there Del Boy.
jinxy lilywhite
04/10/2015, 11:42 AM
Fixed your post there Del Boy.
Oh mongetout
I've heard the 700 tickets is on advice by the Gardai. Would an additional 500 or so really be that much of a big deal?
mcgonigle
04/10/2015, 2:08 PM
I've heard the 700 tickets is on advice by the Gardai. Would an additional 500 or so really be that much of a big deal?
Shhhh it's more craic blaming Rovers.
I do think that the away section could be slightly extended to make up to 1000 without creating security concerns. Realistically there won't be many Rovers, also there was no problem putting Rovers fans in the west stand with us for the setanta cup a few years ago
Dalymountrower
04/10/2015, 3:10 PM
Papellen bitte.
Ezeikial
04/10/2015, 3:48 PM
That is possible - but I really doubt it. If the Gardai had significant security concerns, the first step would be to make the match all ticket. It is not so for very obvious reasons
sulywaterfordfc
04/10/2015, 5:40 PM
With the additional cost of more people running the turnstiles, more stewards, more Garda etc. and with the cost of expanding the away section area whilst potentially p***ing off regulars whom may not be able to sit in there regular spot. And with the increased risk of trouble, is it really worth for Shams Rovers to give additional tickets ATM then what the current away section holds? If the benefit to Rovers was a couple of hundred quid then imo it isn't worthwhile to have say potentially 2,000 home supporters and 1,500 away supports as it won't feel like a home game and any advantage they have from playing at home is out the window for the say of small money.
Plus if Dundalk requested more tickets a day or two before the game who is to say they'll be able to get more security (Gardas, stewards etc) at such little notice to meet the demands.
I highly doubt Dundalk would give away half of their ground if you swap the situations round. Nor should they be expected to or any club for that matter
Have the allocation for away supporters sold out?
Have Dundalk brought more then 700 to a league game on there travels this season?
Not this season, but this is a possible chance to win the league on Friday. The last biggest away league support in recent years was between 1k and 1300 v Pats in Sept 2013.
I still think Rovers could have made more available. It's not as if there will be a massive over demand from Rovers fans for the match.
White Horse
04/10/2015, 7:15 PM
Have the allocation for away supporters sold out?
Have Dundalk brought more then 700 to a league game on there travels this season?
Tickets going on sale tomorrow. Expected to see out quickly.
We brought over 700 to Drogheda, but normally our away support doesn't reach those levels. It takes a really big game to get people to travel in those sort of numbers. The last one that comes to mind was the "decider" in 2013 when we brought about 1,000 to Inchicore. Pats gave us about half the ground that day.
sullanefc
04/10/2015, 8:02 PM
Pats gave us about half the ground that day.
Small club mentality.
oriel
04/10/2015, 10:46 PM
Tickets going on sale tomorrow. Expected to see out quickly.
We brought over 700 to Drogheda, but normally our away support doesn't reach those levels. It takes a really big game to get people to travel in those sort of numbers. The last one that comes to mind was the "decider" in 2013 when we brought about 1,000 to Inchicore. Pats gave us about half the ground that day.
I forgot about the Drogs a away games, 20 mins trip down the M1 helps ofcourse.
I highly doubt Dundalk would give away half of their ground if you swap the situations round. Nor should they be expected to or any club for that matter
In previous seasons when we could only get around a thousand at a match we may have. Of course that would depend if we were in the same position as Rovers moaning of loss of revenue and looking like fools when there is potential to increase revenue.
A lot of moaning going on but I'd seriously doubt anyone half way determined to make the game will miss it.
Couch Potato
05/10/2015, 8:59 AM
Why do people feel there will be a need for extra guards and stewards, that would only be the case if an always closed part of the ground was being opened to allow extra fans to the game.
The number of matchday staff matches the potential capacity of any ground it MUST especially in this league when no one has a clue how many people will be there otherwise games could be under staffed.
There are usually more guards in Tallaght for games then you see in the Aviva so I'm not buying that as an excuse.
I can't see any Dundlak fan who wants a ticket not being able to get one granted they may have to go colourless but just buy a ticket for home stand and goin early and sit at the end nearest away fans.
Well we had a somewhat similar situation in Oriel last season. For the League Cup final instead of giving Rovers half the ground we just extended the capacity of a truly awful away end. (And then the FAI stewards wouldn't let them use the new stand.)
This is primarily revenge and frankly it's hilarious to see Rovers reduced to such pettiness, especially when their whining about attendances and actively targeting Germans tourists. It's amazing how far they've slipped in the past couple of years. If only they could have found a decent manager after Mick O'Neill departed. Still at least they've got that situation sorted now with Nutsy in place. Step 1 in the master plan... replace Ronan Finn with Gavin Brennan. (At least they didn't let Finn go to a rival club.)
dundalkfc10
05/10/2015, 10:46 AM
This is just going to be mayhem on Friday in Tallaght. I know of my own bus which is full with 52, at least 30 will have home tickets and I know of another bus which is full and nobody on it has a Season Ticket (which means they will all be in the home end)
You do have to wonder how the Gardai come up with these ideas. I still see they are selling tickets online aswell!
White Horse
05/10/2015, 10:56 AM
Why do people feel there will be a need for extra guards and stewards, that would only be the case if an always closed part of the ground was being opened to allow extra fans to the game.
The number of matchday staff matches the potential capacity of any ground it MUST especially in this league when no one has a clue how many people will be there otherwise games could be under staffed.
There are usually more guards in Tallaght for games then you see in the Aviva so I'm not buying that as an excuse.
I can't see any Dundlak fan who wants a ticket not being able to get one granted they may have to go colourless but just buy a ticket for home stand and goin early and sit at the end nearest away fans.
Perhaps Shamrock Rovers can give Pats a phonecall and ask them how to manage a game with a big away crowd?
PartySaint
05/10/2015, 11:51 AM
This happens every time we play in Tallaght, our allocation sells out and some always have to buy tickets for the home end. Cover up your colours, get a ticket and walk down and sit beside the away end. There'll be plenty of room in the home end I'm sure.
White Horse
05/10/2015, 12:24 PM
This happens every time we play in Tallaght, our allocation sells out and some always have to buy tickets for the home end. Cover up your colours, get a ticket and walk down and sit beside the away end. There'll be plenty of room in the home end I'm sure.
Thanks for the advice.
I'm hearing that the ticket allocation sold out this morning and that no tickets will go on sale tomorrow to non season ticket holders.
seand
05/10/2015, 12:37 PM
If we have sold out 700 just to season tickets holders we'll probably have about the same again paying into the home end. Surely from Rovers' point of view it makes more sense to push the plastic barrier down a few rows and contain the additional Dundalk fans in that end of the main stand. The alternative is a load of aggro with at least a third of the rest of the stand occupied with Dundalk fans spread among the Rovers fans. I'd suggest there might be a bit of 'banter' between rivals too. It's going to be nuts.
dundalkfc10
05/10/2015, 1:04 PM
Tickets all gone in Oriel.
Id recommend anyone going to Tallaght from Dundalk to arrive early as its gonna be mayhem outside the ground
Dundalk getting an additional 100 tickets. Seems to be the limit.
http://www.dundalkfc.com/shamrock-rovers-ticket-update/
Yossarian
05/10/2015, 6:26 PM
Dundalk getting an addict all 100. Seems to be the limit.
Seriously, they restrict our numbers attending the game and are now pawning their junkies off on us aswell.
Louth4sam
05/10/2015, 6:45 PM
Dundalk getting an addict all 100. Seems to be the limit.
Have since heard that these will be snapped up by season ticket holders and no tickets will go on general sale.
White Horse
05/10/2015, 6:53 PM
Have since heard that these will be snapped up by season ticket holders and no tickets will go on general sale.
This could get very messy. I can't get over the number of buses that are fully booked and hardly a season ticket holder on any of them.
I'm going to be in the ground an hour before kick off. The outside of the ground will not be a nice place to be.
placid casual
05/10/2015, 7:03 PM
jaysis, the amount of hot air on here would have got the Graff Zeppelin off the ground!
if you have a ticket for the game then whats the problem? if you dont just watch it on the tv at home, or in your local.
and perhaps calm the f**k down a bt , ye.
dundalkfc10
05/10/2015, 7:04 PM
Very handy. Saves taking time off work and queuing up at Oriel Park at 10am on Monday.
https://www.shamrockrovers.ie/online_store/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=144
This could get very messy. I can't get over the number of buses that are fully booked and hardly a season ticket holder on any of them.
I'm going to be in the ground an hour before kick off. The outside of the ground will not be a nice place to be.
Yeh their will be as many going without tickets than with tickets
ger121
05/10/2015, 9:59 PM
Exactly what Party Saint said. It's been done before by other clubs so don't see what the big deal is. You'd swear you were the 1st club to sell out their allocation for the away end. There is always an acceptable solution.
White Horse
05/10/2015, 10:04 PM
We didn't realise that going into the home end was such an accepted practice.
It'll all work out but Rovers could have saved a load of hassle by just giving Dundalk half the west stand in the first place. Regardless of what they do there'll be 1,000+ there from Dundalk, their handling of the situation has guaranteed a significant number of possibly drunk probably obnoxiously triumphalist* Dundalk fans sprinkled among their family/corporate/neutral section.
(* Yes, I intend to be obnoxiously triumphalist if we seal the deal)
Calcio Jack
06/10/2015, 9:21 AM
It'll all work out but Rovers could have saved a load of hassle by just giving Dundalk half the west stand in the first place. Regardless of what they do there'll be 1,000+ there from Dundalk, their handling of the situation has guaranteed a significant number of possibly drunk probably obnoxiously triumphalist* Dundalk fans sprinkled among their family/corporate/neutral section.
(* Yes, I intend to be obnoxiously triumphalist if we seal the deal)
Like it or not the reality is that the Gardai set the security requirements and that includes leaving a tranche of empty seats in the Main stand between the away support and they the home support , that allied to the design of the stand means you can't 'split' the allocation in two.
In relation to comments here that away fans will easily get tickets on the night for the home end - that happened once before against Pats and caused serious problems - the 'security plan for Friday will ensure that won't happen- downside might be a number of Dundalk fans may purchase tickets but then won't gain admission and also won't get a refund- so don't say you weren't warned.
White Horse
06/10/2015, 9:28 AM
In relation to comments here that away fans will easily get tickets on the night for the home end - that happened once before against Pats and caused serious problems - the 'security plan for Friday will ensure that won't happen- downside might be a number of Dundalk fans may purchase tickets but then won't gain admission and also won't get a refund- so don't say you weren't warned.
Which is it?
Some people are saying it's a non issue. Just pay in to the home end and you'll be grand.
You're saying it won't be grand.
There are at least five coaches booked by people without tickets.
Louth4sam
06/10/2015, 9:35 AM
What would be worse have a couple of hundred lads in a stand where they can be controlled or a couple of hundred lads walking around tallaght looking for somewhere to watch the game
PartySaint
06/10/2015, 9:41 AM
What would be worse have a couple of hundred lads in a stand where they can be controlled or a couple of hundred lads walking around tallaght looking for somewhere to watch the game
They'll get in, the game won't be anywhere close to a sell out.
How hard can it be to walk up to a ticket office and say 'One ticket please' and walk into the ground?
Anyone who wants to get in will get in.
eelmonster
06/10/2015, 9:44 AM
All the Dundalk lads planning on arriving without tickets have to do is practise their German accents. Just don't mention the war.
Like it or not the reality is that the Gardai set the security requirements and that includes leaving a tranche of empty seats in the Main stand between the away support and they the home support , that allied to the design of the stand means you can't 'split' the allocation in two.
None of that stops Rovers moving the orange plastic divider two or three blocks down the stand though. Logisitically it is not a problem to accomodate 1,000 - 3,000 away fans in Tallaght- astounding as it seems they managed to host large away crowds for Setanta and EA finals recently. The unmovable sacrosanct orange plastic divider was shifted down the stand. I understand that Rovers want to do what's best for Rovers and they may well want to fook Dundalk over considering the grimness of the away section in Oriel, but logistics isn't the reason for the ticket restrictions.
Calcio Jack
06/10/2015, 10:34 AM
None of that stops Rovers moving the orange plastic divider two or three blocks down the stand though. Logisitically it is not a problem to accomodate 1,000 - 3,000 away fans in Tallaght- astounding as it seems they managed to host large away crowds for Setanta and EA finals recently. The unmovable sacrosanct orange plastic divider was shifted down the stand. I understand that Rovers want to do what's best for Rovers and they may well want to fook Dundalk over considering the grimness of the away section in Oriel, but logistics isn't the reason for the ticket restrictions.
Think you're missing the point - only the Gardai can sanction the moving of the divider ( expect they will to accommodate max 800) dividing the stand in half won't happen as that would entail having to ask a number of members / season ticket holders vacate their designated seats in the middle of the Main stand. That also explains why for Setanta final the stand was split ie it was an FAI event so the security etc was controlled by the FAI/Garda this Rovers Members weren't entitled to access their designated seats
So time to put to bed the inference that our intention is to fook you over.
seand
06/10/2015, 10:44 AM
Fair enough. Maybe its the gardai saying 'under no circumstances can the orange plasticky thing be moved a couple of blocks, we'd rather have a couple of hundreds drunk ticketless Dundalk fans milling around outside a half-empty stadium than dare to move the sacred orange plasticky thing'. I'll be working on my finest Tallaght/Schleswig Holstein accent to ensure I'm in (the Rovers section of) the ground well before the literal and metaphorical kickoff.
White Horse
06/10/2015, 10:48 AM
Local retailers in Dundalk are doing a brisk trade in German football scarves. Guaranteed entry to Tallaght for German football supporters.
Calcio Jack
06/10/2015, 11:16 AM
Fair enough. Maybe its the gardai saying 'under no circumstances can the orange plasticky thing be moved a couple of blocks, we'd rather have a couple of hundreds drunk ticketless Dundalk fans milling around outside a half-empty stadium than dare to move the sacred orange plasticky thing'. I'll be working on my finest Tallaght/Schleswig Holstein accent to ensure I'm in (the Rovers section of) the ground well before the literal and metaphorical kickoff.
Just don a grey wig and practice saying ".. Greetings pixie heads.."
seand
06/10/2015, 12:17 PM
Shamrock Rovers, sie lieben das hoofball, jawohl?
06/10/2015, 1:46 PM
When was the last title secured by an away side at Tallaght? I think AGS will have their work cut out for them Friday as its pretty likely there will be a welcoming party for Dundalk fans crossing the bridge from the shopping centre side!
sulywaterfordfc
06/10/2015, 5:23 PM
Well we had a somewhat similar situation in Oriel last season. For the League Cup final instead of giving Rovers half the ground we just extended the capacity of a truly awful away end. (And then the FAI stewards wouldn't let them use the new stand.
That's all good and well but both of those were finals where the FAI run the security as you've said yourself so to use these as examples are pointless. Given its a final both clubs are entitled to an equal share of the tickets. In this case its just a league so its a different story. And if its the Gardai making the decision on the restriction then there's nothing Rovers can do. People are moaning and they don't know why Rovers can't give more then what 7/800 other then hearing from there mate said or from reading posts on social media.
dundalkfc10
06/10/2015, 5:34 PM
Very handy. Saves taking time off work and queuing up at Oriel Park at 10am on Monday.
https://www.shamrockrovers.ie/online_store/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=144
That's all good and well but both of those were finals where the FAI run the security as you've said yourself so to use these as examples are pointless. Given its a final both clubs are entitled to an equal share of the tickets. In this case its just a league so its a different story. And if its the Gardai making the decision on the restriction then there's nothing Rovers can do. People are moaning and they don't know why Rovers can't give more then what 7/800 other then hearing from there mate said or from reading posts on social media.
I'm more concerned what there going to do with the Dundalk fans who show up. Theres hundreds booked on buses etc with no tickets
I have mine anyway so I'm not fussed. Just think a practical solution would be to let them congragate in one block.
Surely the guards will not want them out on the streets anyway as I can't see the pubs in Tallaght accommodating them.
White Horse
06/10/2015, 7:02 PM
In terms of Dundalk fans getting into the home end, are Rovers fans more Damo or more Ivor?
http://images.entertainment.ie/images_content/rectangle/620x372/DamoIvor.jpg
Stole this of one of our lads twitter :D
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CQoFdCUVEAA2v2D.jpg